Skip to main content

Full text of "Representative men and old families of southeastern Massachusetts : containing historical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families"

See other formats


REPRF:SENTATi\'E MEN 
and OLD FAMILIES of 

SOUTHEASTERN 
MASSACHUSETTS 



CONTAINING 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 01' PROMINENT AND 
REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS AKP GENEALOG- 
ICAL RECORDS OF MANY OF THE '.'ID FAMILIES 



ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME III 



J . H BEERS & CO 
CHICAGO 
1912 



sv 



^ 



f 60 



^ 



NDEX 



:<iu Families 843, 1141 

kin, Francis T 1141 

kin, Mrs. Franklin S.... 1141 

Jcin, Peleg P 843 

-kin, Thomas , 1143 

Jbro Family 1C14 

.Iden Families 1506, 1704 

Jd. n, George N 1507 

ildon, Lucas W 1704 

Uger, Mrs. Abbie A 1614 

ilger, Arthur M 896 

Uger Families 

894, 949, 1231, 1C13 

Llger, Frank S 949 

iJger, Newton II Ml'3 

ilger, Stillman 1231 

Jger, Rev. William R...- .895 
.lien, Edward H..i%V.'.'. .■ 856 

lien, Ethan <"■/;•.■.'»'. ITBl 

Jlen Families. .■.•.'..'■..'. i 

70, 350, ifeO, lets,. 1764 
Hen, OeoFgef '^' iE?.v . .'.1?^' 897 
lien, Gidpon, Jl". ... . . . I': 365 

lien,- Gid^9 ' iff. . . , :.■ Mgo 

en, -Gabeit -A . . ...-.v,.' -356 
: en,- Mrs.- Hriifatio Ai>'.v-'- 3S6 
lien, James- W. .';'. r.lV.v'-' sSft 

len, '9m4ii b.^.=k!.:.... IS'Sl 

^en, ■gsfeiirt .W. 1739 

lenrMrfl. gopbia A 1631 

len, .TjieBtos "F 1678 

leA, 'vy^lte* . S 357 

my. .BejtjftHiin E 824 

Mrs, Emily M 82fi 

FaHJiJies 

... - 670, 691, 824, 1662 

, Norman L 1663 

". •, William 672 

) Family 26 

.; Frederick L 2.9 

J 3, Miss Mary S 30 

:Sj Hon. Oliver 27 

Oes. Hon. Oliver, Jr.... 28 
Jithony, Benjamin H.... 48 

ithony, Da.iiel A 1550 

nthor.y, Edmund 45 

r.tlif.ny, Edmund, Jr. . . . 43 

athcny, Mrs. Ella F 1264 

ithouy F?nilies . ..45, 1550 
ithony, ■;',-.s. St,ra. C... 46 

■clier Pa -lily 108 

ehcr. Dr. j.i^on R 109 



Arnold Familie3.480, 1302, 1336 

Arnold, Franklin G 1302 

Arnold, Moses N 482 

Arnold, Wallace E 484 

Arnold, \Ailliam B... 483 

Arnold, Wilson W.... 1335 

Ashley, Mrs. Bettie H.. .. 1322 

Ashley, Charlea S. ..... . 151 

Ashley Families 150, 1321, 1783 

Ashley, George B 1783 

Ashley, Henry T 1322 

Ashley, Jeffp.rson 1114 

Athferton, LeBaron 923 

Atwood, Alton B 611 

AtWood, Benjamin S 210 

Atwood, Charles A., M. D. 758 

Atwood, Charles H ...... . 1564 

Atwood, Charles N ... 60S 

Atwood Families 

210, 009, 758. 9(50, 1333, 

1306, 1.543, 156.!. 1616, 1788 

Atwood, George S 1333 

Atwood, Gustavus 1616 

Atwood, Dr. . Joseph ;.. 1366 

Atwood, Jofeiah ,W; : 1564 

Atwood, Levi ..'.-,. .;^ .,'.. 17^8 

Atwood, MarcMsr .'.;'.-'. ... - I5rf3 

Atwood, Wiiliaih B.. ;.. .. SflO 

Averell, iEilwird "E 1317 

Averill ^"(lAverell) F.imily. 1317 
Ajier . . (Ayers, Avres) 

Simily \ 1517 

Babeock Family I.'52X 

Bacon, Etenezer . 858 

Bacon Family 878 

Bacon. Mrs. Lucretia M.. 858 

Builcy Familv 18 

Baker, Charles A 1127 

Baker. Cliarles F 295 

Baker, Charles L 1127 

Baker Families 

295, 572, r-7. 1099, 1126, 1319 

Baker, Capt. L:°orge 1087 

Baker, Capt. Josluia G... 57? 

Ballon Family ..,, 435 

Ballon, Walter 455 

Barden Family 677 

Barden, Mrs. Louise B . . . . 681 

Barden, Winthrop F 081 

Barker, Anson J 'iR9'i 

Barker, Capt. Cliarles W. . 1410 



Barker, Edward 208 

Barker, Mrs. Emily K 1411 

.Barker Families 

207, 331, 1410, 1524, 1655 

Barker, Orville A 1526 

Barnett, George D 1778 

Bajney, Algernon H 1015 

Barney Families 1014, 1003 

Barney, Morgan 1064 

Barrows Families 611, 1275 

Barrows, Fletcher L 1277 

Barrows, Horatio l275 

Bartlett Families.841, 1079, 1255 

Bartlett, Frederick D 841 

Bartlett, Horace 1255 

Bass Family 517 

Bassctt, Charles A 319 

Bassett Families 317, 1413 

Bassett, Lester E 1415 

Bassett, Rufus W 319 

Bassett, Thomas B 320 

Bates, Mrs. Anna W...524, 530 



BaWles, mvid W J 769 

Battles Family . . 1767 

Battles, Joseph 1770 

Baxendale, John V 1676 

Baxendale. .John W 1670 

Baxendale, Tliomar, A 320 

Baylies, Charles S 528 

Baylies Familv 524 

Baylies, John 'B 525 

Baylies, Mrs. Mary C 525 

Baylies, William 525 

Beal, Charles A 341 

BeaKsl Families 338, 905, 1179 

Beal, Mrs. Florence L 340 

Beal, George A 3?J 

Beal, George C 340 

Boal, Herbert A ,340 

Beals, Arthur L., M.D.... 1179 
Beals (Beal) Families.... 

.338, 905, 1170, 1514 

Beals, Isaiah A 1 180 

Beals, Joseph E 906 

Beals, Walter L 907 

Bearrp Mrs. .Tpffer.''on S. . . 1533 



INDEX 



Jearse, Erastus T. ...... . 1524 

learse Family 1522 

ieattie, John 12-'.6 

ieattie, William 1226 

ienjamin Family 21S 

ienjamin, Isaac W 213 

Ienjamin. Mrs. Olive L... 2J4 

lennett Families 1511, 1716 

tennett, Henry H 1746 

tennett, William A lf)13 

tent Family o35 

lent. William H 037 

lesse Families 954, lo27 

tesse, Frank A 956 

tickford Family ......... 752 

iickford, George E... 753 

iickford, Mrs. Mary T... 755 

lird Family 422 

lishop Family 1779 

Slackinton, Amos S,,,..,.. 1474 

tlackinton Family...,..,, 1472 
ilackmcr (Blaekmor j) 

Family 1530 

tlackmer. Herderv, A 1531 

tlackstoiie, Ali red V., .iVl.D. 562 

ilackstone Family ...... 560 

ilaekstone, HoUis M...... 56 1 

Hake Family ........... 714 

Hake. James Edwin...... 71'i- 

llanding Family ........ 1310 

Handing, Willinm \V 1315 

Hiss, Charles E 977 

diss. Miss Cordelia L 078 

Hiss Families .....SOS, 976 

Hos.som, Alonzo 0.. 147f-' 

Hossom Family , 1475 

iodge Family :I516 

iodge, John 'P 1517 

ionney, Klliot L 83!) 

Jordeii, l^j'rs. Abbie L 340 

iorden, IHiss Anna H . 13 

$ordon, I\Ir^. BerUia V.., VMyQ 

Jorden, ]\!rs Betl'.aiia B.. 419 

Jordeji, Miss Carrie L. . . . 18 

iorden, Chares F 1247 

'prden, Ed- in 555 

-•Olden, j\Irs. Ellen F 14 

5orden Farailie.s 

8, 82. 417, rj5S, 1228, 1248 
Jorden, Henry F., M.'D.. . 'l2?.>j 

iorden, .Jonathan .... 554 

iorden, Kathaniei B 84 

iorden, N.^thaniel B., Jr.. 8f) 

iorden, Philip D. . , .' , l2go 

iorden, Philip H 419 

iorden. Col. Richard.. 9 

iorden, Richard B.. ...... IH 

3orden, Bobert K......... 1250 

^ordf , Sc ...... . 87 

Bord( ,, Jr gg 

Bordc homaii J.. ,. 11 

Souri id W. . , ., . . li',91 

Bouri r , . jgyri 

'3our sh ........ m\ 

3owe 1244 

Bowe A 1241:; 

Boyd Ibert G...... (44 

Boyd r C l.-!!? 

Boyd V 142 

Boyc [sabella W.. 147 

Boy< ,ce C 147 

Bra<lford. <;ornelius F 1305 



Bradford Families 

915, 1284, 1,305 

Bradford, Miss Frances M. 916 

Bradford, Lewis G 915 

Bradford, Miss Mary E... 1080 

Bradford, Mrs. Mary E... 1307 

Bradford, William 1079 

Braley, Mrs. Annie E.... 949 

Braley Families 304, 948 

Braley, Capt. Sierra L 948 

Brayton, Mrs. Caroline E. 125 

Br.ayton, Dayid A 122 

Brayton, Miss Elizabeth H. 123 

Brayton Family 120 

Brayton, Miss Harriet H. . 124 

Brayton, Hezekiah A 124 

Brayton, John S 123 

Brayton, Miss Julia W... 122 

Brayton. William B 122 

Brett, Ellis 239 

Brett Families 

'?39, 360, 516, :i764 

Brett. Henry A. ............ . 363 

Brett. William F .36? 

Tirett, Zenas F . . . . ... 368 

'..I ;.;'. Abram T , 999 

'. •■->•■- '^-milies 

•i.?r :•• ■"<). 911, 1000, 

.: M) :.!S4, 3 58), i6Q(i 

Brig'gs, Fr.i. .i ... 731. 

Brijggs, George . . 1596 

Briggs, George R. . . . . 1246 

Briggs, Seih'M 1354 

Brightmnn, Cliarles O.. 851 

Brightiii.Tn, Charles P ■''49 

Brightmnn, Miss Eva St. C. iC .' 

Brightman Families. . .850, 164V 

Brjghtman, Hathaivay .... 1648 

Broiison Family ......... 397 

Brcnson. Dr. John 'R. ...... .397 

Brown Families. 608, 127S, 1771 

Brown. Tsaai- A 1772 

Brown, ilarcus A 1273 

Brownell, Alvin C 1030 

BroUTiell, Benjamin F 1481 

Brownell, Mrs. Deborah D. 181 
BroMTiell, Mrs. Evelyn H 

Brownell Families 

091. n.'is. lonn. 1177. 1 

14 1 630 

iJi-'^wnell, Fenner 1472 

Brownell, Fen^ier C 1472 

Brownell, Isaac T T17H 

Brownell, .Toseph 09!'. 

BroMnell. William H 1030 

Br.vant Families 368, 1699 

B.'vant. Walter C 867 

Bviffinglon, Darin'-. .. 1.368 
Buffiirton (Buffinr 

milies 1 //OO 

Biiffinton, Frar IV07 

BiifBnton, Mr .. 9,17 

Buffmton. 0' ... 1707 

Billiard F- 1020 

Bullard, .D J019 

Bidlock .am J.. (296 

Bur\p 16S9, 1673 

Bun 1674 

Eu- B 1660 

P nilv 1519 

.vidT 1668 

.imilies 793, 1665 

Jnr\is 1666 



Burt Families ..... 781. 

Burt, Henry P 

Burt, Samuel P. 

Burt, T. Preston 12, 

Bushee, Albert A 179j 

Bushee, Charles H 1790 

Bushee Family 1789 

Byram Family 517 

Cady Family 1050 

Cady, Frank L 1050 

Cahoon, Mrs. Annie J.... 559 

Cahoon, Ellery C 558 

Cahoon Family. . 558 

Caldwell, Benjamin 1108 

Caldwell Family 1108 

Canedy Family 1452 

Canedy, Zebulon L 1452 

Capron, Evevert S , , 1533 

Oapron. Family , 1582 

Capron, Harford .A, .... 1583 

Carleton Family 1750' 

Carleton, (George H........ I7i)0 

Carlcton, Mrs. Marv W.,. 1751 

Carpenter, Mrs. Eliza J.. 1583 

Carpenter Faniilies. , ,1342, 1578 

Carpenter, .t''rank I. 642 

Carpenter, M. -.. I.i'avrici, 1>. t.501 

Carpenter, Kyyi'-y L 1580 

Carpente.r, L.i'iniiii ....... (,581 

Carpenter, Siiopa.od W.... 1580- 

Carr Faia)l.v , (534 

Oarr, Simecn IJ, .. ...... 1534 

Gary, Oha, .s K , ISG4 

Cai'\ Fa.ntlio;; 3()0, 517, 1504 

Can, ^ Irs .Watilda F 363 

€a,ry, William H 300- 

Case, Charles .\ 1663 

v.- ,1 Charles K I74i> 

Cas I'-.tiilies 1663, )74S 

Case, ,'1 1's. Nellie M 1 0'i4" 

Caswell, Mna. Eli/.a J 1640', 

Caswell Fiimily 1639 

Caswell. Wii.'iam H 1639, 

Chaee, Arthur F., M.D.... -^•' 
Chace, Benjamii, S. .... 

Chace, Charles .♦ ... iC 
Chaee (Cli.nse\ ; I'.iiJJes 
 132, 237, 1513, ..,-,4, '.?.18, 

• •U3, lt..l6 

Chaee, Frnnk C... . l'^2C 

Chnce. Frank M i-'SH 

Chiiee. George .\\ "38 

Chace, George Rk •OS 

Ch:.ce, Rev. OljadiVh '>5 

n- , Mrs. Sarah A :"■ 

Walter F )K 

Warren )8 

Villiani B. M (8 

lain F.amily ;03 

liii, L.oyfid 111. ... . 1O2 

Cleave I an-' ,4... 70 

t uiiilii::.-, I ; 9tj0, i 195 

Ci -mv >V .... l»66 

Clu ieph . . 1196 

Chn -l L.. I.:i43 
Chas Famiii- , 
132. , S-Vi. x^l^, 

13^3. 1015 

Chase, t 133 

Child Fa 1252 

Church F, i52. 740, 12.54 

Church, N. 552 



INDEX 



Vll' 



Church, Miss Sarah C 553 

Churchill, Alexander 1607 

Churchill Families 840, 941, 1266 

Churchill, George 1266 

Churchill, Newton 942 

Clapp Family 518 

Clark Familv 954 

Clark, Maj. Herbert A 448 

Clark, Mrs. Melissa C 1713 

Clark, Nicholas A 1712 

Cleaveland Family 1189 

Cleaveland, Walter F 1190 

Clifford, Charles W 165 

Clifford Family 163 

Clifford, John H 164 

Clifford, Walter 166 

Cobb Families 1450, 1719 

Cobb, l^ler 1450 

Colby, Mrs. Ann P 1356 

Cole, Elmer B 1333 

Cole Families.. 1022, 1329, 1718 

Cole, Henry H 1332 

Cole, Leander S 1719 

Cole, Mrs. Rosa A 1720 

Cole, Theron M 1331 

Conant Family 382 

Conant, Marcus 383 

Conant, Prelet D 737 

Corniell, Arthur I., M.D... 1418 

Conneli, Br. Charles W 1417 

Connell Family 1416 

Conneli, William 1416 

Cook, Charles C 1350 

Cook, ChafJes E 1329 

Cook, Em'eU L 98« 

Cook Families 

986, 989, 1040, 1230, 1292, 1349 

Cook, Gen. Henjy Clay 1041 

Cook, Henry W.' 1294 

Cook, Miller, Jr. .V,. 1204 

Cook, Randall W 987 

Cook, Robert 372 

Cook, Samuel H 1031 

Cook. Mrs. SaratfP 1032 

Cppeland, Mrs. .Caroline A. 635 

Copeland, Davis 633 

Copeland Families 

127, 631, 1526, ^558 

Copeland, George -. . 129 

Copeland, Dr. George W. . . 127 

Copeland, Heman 634 

Copeland, Horatio F., M.D. 129 

Copeland, Ira 632 

Copeland, Mrs. Julia H. . . 127 

Copeland, Lvman E 1558 

Copeland, VVarren T 1526 

Cornpll, Daniel H 1128 

Cornell Families 980, 1127 

Cornell, Pardon 981 

Cortbell, Miss Clara 503 

Cortbell, Elmer L 504 

Cortliell Family 501 

Cofthell, -James L 503 

Corthell, Hon. William P. .. 501 

Couch, Darius N 137 

Couch Family 136 

Couch, Leonard C 138 

Covel, Alphonso S 1097 

Corel, Benjamin 1097 

>vel, Ben'iamin F 1098 

Covel Family 1096 

Covel, Thomas D 1098 

Covell Family 1623 



Covell, Capt. George A... 1623 
Covell, William P 1624 

Crandall, George N 757 

Crandall (Crandell) Fam- 
ilies 694, 756 

Crandell, Mrs. Abby D 695 

Crandell, Arthur R., M.D. 694 

Crane Families 644, 1493 

Crane, Joshua E 646 

Crapo Family 1 

Crapo, Henry H 2 

Crapo, Hon. William W.. 4 

Crocker, David 876 

Crocker Families 876, 1457 

Crocker, Harvey 1458 

Crocker, Mrs. Louise S . . . 1459 

Cromwell Family 583 

Crowell, Capt. Elkanah... 1300 

Crowell Families 1298, 1649 

Crowell, Isaiah 1301 

Crowell, Capt. Sturgis 1297 

Crowell, Thomas F 1649 

Cunmiings, Mrs. A. Emm<a 690 
Cuumiings, Benjamin .... 689 

Cummings, Charles S 690 

Cummings Familv 087 

Curtis, Charles H 1763 

Curtis Families 793, 1763 

Curtis, Mrs. S. Adelaide. 1764 

Gushing Families 807. 1281 

Cushman, Andrew B.. M.D. 1001 
Cushman, Bradford K.... 1154 

Cushman, Emery 181 

Cushman Families 

105, 180, 995, 1002, 1133, 

1154, 1741 

Cushman, Henry E 182 

Cushman, Henry W 182 

Cushman, Herbert E 108 

Cushman, Job S 1134 

Cushman, Seth L 107 

Cushman, William H 108 

Danforth, Mrs. Adelaide W. 

-. 729, 983 

Danforth Family 1786 

Danforth, Minot L 1786 

Darling Family 676 

Darling, Joseph M 676 

Dassance, Mrs. Carrie F.. 1266 

Davis, Amos N 898 

Davis, Charles S 565 

Davis, Capt. Cornelius A.. 899 

Davis, Capt. Elijah G 897 

Davis, Mrs. Emma B 789 

Davis Families 

562, 717, 788, 896, 1552 

Davis, Henry L 788 

Davis, Howland 566 

Davis, Capt. Joseph F 898 

Davis, Mrs. Mary A 307 

Davis, Mavnard A 712 

Davis. Xathan S 897 

Davis, Robert T., M.D 378 

Davis, Samuel M l.')52 

Davol, Bradford D 1066 

Davol Family 1064 

Davol, James C. C 1067 

Davol, Mrs. Mary E 1067 

Davol, Stephen 1065 

Dean, Miss Bertha 850 

Dean, Edgar E., M.D 1256 



Dean, Ellcry C 1280 

Dean (e) Families 

724, 849, 12,57,1280,1486, 1561 

Dean, George A 1561 

Dean, Joshua 1487 

Dean, Miss Marian E 1258 

Dean, Theodore 850 

Dean, William M 727 

Deane, Ashael S., M.D 725 

Delano, Augustine A 1404 

Delano, Charles H. L 820 

Delano Families. .774, 818, 1405 

Delano, George 820 

Delano, Joshua 775 

Delano, Miss Ruth B 775 

Delano, Mrs. Sarah S. B. . . 820 

Denham Families 1286, 1497 

Denham, Thomas M 1499 

Denham, Tilson B 1286, 1497 

Denison Family 566 

Denison, John il 567 

Denison, Mrs. Louise A... 568 

Dennis Family 1687 

Dennie, Fred M 1687 

Dennie, Mrs. .Jessie F 1688 

Dexter Families 829, 1346 

De.xter, Lemuel LeBaron . . 829 

Dill, Charles H 1054 

Donovan, Alfred W 1167 

Donovan, Timothy 1167 

Doty Family 887 

Drake, Albeit B 1200 

Drake, Charles E 1483 

Drake Families 1199, 1483 

Drew Family 1469 

Drew, Fred 1469 

Dring, Miss Caroline A... 815 

Dring, Charles H 815 

Dring, Charles P 812 

Dring Family 812 

Dudley Family 1370 

Dudley, Sumner A 1370 

Dunham, Benjamin F 1691 

Dunham Families 450, 1645, 1691 

Dunham, Oscar E 1646 

Durfee Families 

835, 893, 1447, 1573 

Durfee, George N 894 

Durfee, George T 1448 

Durfee, Nathaniel B 893 

Durfee, Randall N 838 

Durfee, Winthrop C 835 

Dwelley Families 138, 1262 

Dwelley, Jedediah 1263 

Dwelly Family 'IS 

Dwelly, Frank H IrO 

Dwelly, Jerome, M.D lo„ 

Dwelly, Miss Mary B 140 

Dyer, David H SOP 

Dyer, E. Alden, M.D 811 

l>5rer, Edward 81 

Dyer Families 307, 815, 9f 

Dyer, George P 30; 

Dyer, James B 985 

Dyer, Miss Marietta W . . . 985 

Dyer, Samuel B 984 

Eames Family 1599 

Earle, Andrew B 307 

Earle Families . . 305, 1082, 1412 

Earle, Mrs. Hannah E ?f 

Earle, John M.  



liMJiiA 



iiarle, John W 1413 

Earle, Lloyd S 306 

Eaton Families 1340, 1379 

Eaton, Mrs. George 524 

Eddy, Mrs. Ada H 997 

Eddy Families 414, 461 

Eddy, George M . 415 

Edson Familv 1761 

Edson, Simeon W 1761 

Eldred, Davis R 1734 

Eldred Familv 1V34 

Eldridge, Albert S 495 

Eldridge, Miss Almira. . . . 494 

Eldridge, Eli H 494 

Eldridge Family 493 

Eldridge. John H 495 

Ellis, Obed H 1762 

Emerson, Charles 485 

Emerson Family 485 

Estes Family 1240 

Est«s, J. Edmund 1241 

Estes, John H 1241 

Evans, Charles E 1115 

Evans, Edwin H 1115 

Evans Family 1114 

Everson Family 1208 

Everson, Richard A 1209 

Faunce, Adoniram 1748 

Faunce, Charles M 608 

Faimce Families 600, 1748 

Faunce, Walter H 600 

Field, Daniel W 315 

Field Family 313 

Field. Frederic F 317 

Field. William L 314 

Filoon Family 170 

Filoon, Fred Williams.... 178 

Filoon, Dr. Henry H 179 

Filoon, Miss Mabel A.... 17S 

Filoon, Veranus 177 

Flat "• F.'tmilies 759, 1602 

Flagf^, George W 763 

Flagg, Lester G 764 

Flagg, Loren A 1602 

Flagg. W.allaee C 759 

Fletcher, Elmer H 804 

Fletcher, Eustis J 804 

Fletcher Familv 802 

Fletcher, John A 803 

Flint Families 244, 762 

Flint, John D 244 

Fontneau. Fr.ank 1307 

"ostcr Families n04, 1149 

>.'5t-r, John 1104 

■ter, Nathan B i ' 50 

•^er, Mrs. S. Ettie.. . ii51 

Family 490 

William H 493 

>is, James P 353 

rian, Mrs. Clara S. .. 331 

lan, George H 331 

;h, i\Iiss Abby M 533 

,nch, Enoch J 531 

. Knch Families 

461, 528, 791, 1493 

Frn ch, J.nmes H 531 

■""rench, .lob B 532 

•ench, Joseph E 791 

-ch, Samuel 1494 

■, Stoph.m L 530 

Walter L 461 

•"inslow B., ■M.D. 792 



Fi-ost, Mrs. Thomas W 1716 

Fuller Familv 1307 

Fullerton Family 1110 

Fullerton, Richard M 1116 

Furlong. Mrs. W. H 203 

Gammons, Mrs. Amantha B. 1323 

Gammons, Edgar H 1322 

Gammons, Edward A 391 

Gammons, Ephraim H 1089 

Gammons Families ... 1194, 1688 
Gammons, George T. M... 1088 

Gammons, Leonard F 1194 

Gammons, Mrs. Mary E. . . 1195 

Gammons, Noble B 1641 

Gardiner Family 1315 

Gardiner, George N 1317 

Gardner, Mrs. Abigail A.. 521 

Gardner, Arnold D 1213 

Gardner, Charles H I'il2 

Gardner, Mrs. Emma E... 1212 

Gardner Families 932, 1210 

Gardner, Francis L 1212 

Gardner, Leander E 1211 

Gardner, ]\Irs. I^Iartha J... 140 

Gardner, Orrin A 934 

Gates Family 368 

Gates, Samuel P 368 

Gee, Frederic A Ill 

Gibbs Families.. 742, IC 1, 1210 

Gibbs, George 742 

Gibbs, Mrs. Mane W 1218 

Gibbs, Mrs. .Judith ( Cole) B. 1022 

Gibbs, Capt. Lot H 1210 

Gibbs. Capt. Stoph<n B... 1022 

Giftord, Abram 1738 

Giffnrd, Benjami-. F 1773 

GifToril, Charier F 1019 

Gifford, Edmund L 1594 

Gifford Families 

700, 874, 944, 979. 1364, 

1594, 1739, 1772 

Gifford. Ferdinand H 701 

GiiTord, Gideon 701 

Gifford, Henry H 1618 

Gifford, Dr. .John H 980 

Gifford. Tx>vi 1618 

Gifford. Obed A 1737 

Gifford, William 94.") 

Gifford. William II 945 

Gifford. William L 1360 

Gilbert. .Tulius C II 98 

Goddard. Mrs. Alice IM. .. 1580 
Goddnrd. Col. George B .. 1587 

Goff F.auiilies 332. 1337 

Goff, Frederic E 334 

Goff, William H 332 

Goldthwaite, Emerson 1362 

Goldthwaite Familv 1301 

Gooding F.amilies 800, 1476 

Goodwin, Scniucl 1767 

Gorham, Ephraim A 1510 

Gorham Familv 1509 

Goulding Family 1500 

Goulding, J.ames H 1501 

Goulding. I^wis 1 500 

Coward. EdAvin T 1013 

Coward Family lnl3 

Gray Family 1009 

Gray. Winslow 1069 

Greene Fnmilies 832, 1303 

Greene. William S 834 

Crinnell. Artliur G 227 

Grinnell Familv 223 



Grinncll, Frederick 225 

Grinnell, .Joseph G 227 

Grinnell, Lawrence 225 

Grinnell, Miss Mary R. . . . 227 

Grinnell, Richard W 227 

Grout F.amily 517 

Grout, Mrs. Zira R 657 

Guild, Emmons D 924 

Guild Families 709, 924 

Gurnev, Mrs. Chloe R 301 

Gurney, David B 736 

Gurney Families 299, 735 

Gurney, Henry 1343 

Gurney, Lysander F 299 

Hadley, Eugene J 872 

Hadley Family 870 

Hadlev, Jacob B 870 

Haffards, Griffitts M 728 

Hall, Andrew H 723 

Hall. Everett C 335 

Hall Families 335, 720 

Hall. Frederick S 722 

Hamblin Familv 1684 

Hambly, Mrs. Clarence E.. 1595 

Hammond, Edgar B 1177 

Hammond J^'amily 1175 

Hannuond, Heniy F 1177 

Hancock Family'. 1384 

H.ancock, Portus B 1384 

Hanson. Frederick 1034 

Hanson. Thomas R 1634 

Harding. David E :il)2 

Harlev," Harry B 1397 

Harley, James B 1396 

Harley, Mrs. M:irv E 1397 

Harlo'w Families 190, 966 

Harris, Benj.amin W 54 

Harris Family 54 

Harris, Robert 56 

Hart, Alljert T 1766 

Hart Familv 1705 

Hartley, Mrs. Mary J 418 

Hartsliorn. Mrs. Alice R. . 471 
Hartshorn, George F. ... '170 

Hartshorn. George T 471 

Hartshorne (Hartshorn) 

Family 469 

Haskell, Edward 992 

Haskell. Mrs. Louisa B.82. 992 

Hastings, Alton B n3i 

Hastings Family 1131 

Hatch Family 7315 

Hatch, George E 1536 

Hatch. Rev. Leonard B., 

D. D 731 

Hathaway, Clarence M. . <"il5 
Hathaway, Edward E. . . . 014 
Hatliawa'y, Mrs. Ellon A.. 1198 
Hathaway, Mrs. Ellen R.. 1312 
Hathawnv Families ..012, 

625. 782. 800. 1190. 1309, 1.502 

Hathaway, Francis 1313 

Hatliawa'y, Capt. Henry C. 024 

Hnthaw.ay, Herman H 1502 

Hatliaway. Horatio 1312 

Hathaway. .Tames H 783 

Hathawa'v. John B 027 

Hathawav, Cajit. Judah . . . 800 
Hathaway, Mrs. Maud C. . C,\5 

Hathawjiy, Samuel . 613 

Hath.nwav. Samuel E 015 



INDEX 



IX 



Kathaway, Sainuel W. , til-l 

Hnthawav, William J. .. 1190 

Hauthaway, Charl«s L. . . 28SI 

Hauthaway, Charles AI. . . 288 

Hauthaway, Frank M. .. 2!)) 
Hautha«-ay, Jlrs. Susaii 

Aiigusta -JO 

Hiiwes, Edward E., M.D. . 000 

Hawes, Mrs. Eliza P 1394 

Hawes Families 

227, 000, 1183, 1389, 1392 

Hawes, Frederick B 1391 

Hawes, George H 230 

Hawes, Jonathan 1391 

Hawes, Mrs. Mary W 1391 

Hawes, Oliver K." 230 

Hawes. Oliver S 220 

Hawes, Svlvaiuis T 1392 

Hawes, William C 1184 

Hawes, William M 229 

Hawes, William T 1184 

Hawkins, Charles W 997 

Hawkins, Edward L 997 

Hawkins, Edwin M 997 

Hawkins Family 99G 

Hawkins, Henrv C 997 

Hayes, ^Mrs. Helen L 103G 

Hayward, Ernest L 885 

Hayivard Families 234, 884. 1532 

HayAvard, John L 1532 

Hr.yivard, Dr. Jo-ei>h W . . 884 

Hayivard, Walter B., M.D. 88.-. 

Heard Family 517 

Hedge, Barnabas 11 09 

Hedge Family 1 108 

Hedge, Mrs. 'Prisoilla S. .. 1170 

Hersey Family 985 

Hersom Family 1455 

Hersom, Thomus 1455 

Hervey, E. Williams 912 

Hervey Famih" 911 

Hewett, Miss Ellen E. . , . 478 

Hewett Family 477 

Eewett, Herman 47S 

Hewett, Joseph 477 

Hewett. Jus Lin 47 !i 

-'+. Mrs. Mary 0. .. . 479 

""-= Grace A. . . 154:! 

.. 1542 

— 1 



llolUrook, Mrs. Susan J... 1731 

Uollis, Mrs. Esther 907 

Mollis Family 907 

Hollis. John H 907 

Hollywood Family 1083 

Hollywood. Josi h iM 1083 

Holraan, David Jlmory, 

M. D 298 

Holnian Family 296 

Holman, Samuel ^••. 298 

Holmes, Albert W 1424 

Holmes, Barnabas rl. ... 1518 

Holmes, Charles J 280 

Holmes, Cliarles L 281 

Holmes, Edward 395 

Holmes, Ezra 1080 

Holmes Families 

277, 392, 1424, 1518, 1080 

Holmes, Frank H 395 

Holmes, Miss Helen 395 

Holmes, Miss Helen R. . . . 1519 

Holmes, Josiah, Jr 1427 

Holmes, .Tjidge Lemuel Leli. 838 

Holmes, Mrs." Mary A. . . . 281 

Holmes. Paraclete W 390 

Hood, Alfred H 592 

Hood Familv 591 

Hood. William P 591 

Hooper Families 285, 555 

Hooper, Dr. Frederick H . . 555 

Hooper, George M 280 

Horton, Adin B 1237 

Horton, Cliarles M 919 

Horton, Edwin J 444 

Horton, Mr>. Emilv H. .. 447 

Horton, Maj. Everett S. .. 442 

Horton Families 

441, 731, 917. 1230 

Horton, Gideon M 440 

Horton, James J 447 

Horton, Mrs. ilarv J 1237 

Horton, Nathaniel B 1237 

Horton, Raymond M 448 

Hosmei- Familv 1408 

Hosmer, Stcplien D 1408 

Hough Family 453 

Hough, Garry floN 454 

Hough, Gew-go A 454 

Hough, Dr. George T 453 

Hovcy Family . ." IGSl 

Howard, Charles 90 

■'ward, Cyrus 1715 

ard, Daniel vS., Jr 44 

■d, Daniel S.. Sr J' 

', Miss Edith F 

Embert 

'•'ami 



illi-S . . 




iH, 


53'! 




-iveth, 
Kfith, 




-o 


K>Mth, 




993 


Keith, 




43 


Keith, 




995 


Keiih, 


t 


1104 


Keith, 


miah P.. ... 


1515 


Keith 


itt r 

- S 


1682 
1515 


Keith, 


Mary Cobb 


43 


Keith, 


C 


1514 


Keith 


Ivia M.. 


1683 


14. 




43 


488, 




1110 


1352 




1110 


Keith, 



Howland, Abraham H. ... 466 

Howland, Miss Elizabeth K. 155 

Howland Familicjs 

153, 404, 805, 1110, 1323, 1508 

Howland, Mi.ss Mary T... 467 

Howland, Peleg C 154 

Howland, Hon. Weston . . . 467 

Hubbard, Mrs. Clara I. . . . 860 

Hudner Family 1728 

Hudner, Michael T 1729 

Hume, Miss E. Maude . . . 556 

Huiuphrey Families. . 1C25, 1710 

Humphrey, Galen 1026 

Humphrey, George W 1711 

Hunt, Dr. Charles R 522 

Hunt Families. . . .334, 521, 1059 

Hunt, Reuben 1060 

Hussey, Miss Emily Morgan 135 

Hussey, George ...., 135 

Hussey-Morgau Family... 134 

Ingraham Family 1784 

Ingraham, Robert C 1785 

Inness, Thomas B 526 

Ivers, Miss Ella F 265 

Ivers Family 264 

Ivers, Samuel 204 

Jackson, Amos M., M.D. . . 162 

Jackson, Elisha T, 1076 

Jackson Families 160, 1073 

Jackson, James F 1076 

Jackson, John A . 1074 

Jackson, Jolm H., M. D 

Jackson, Oliver H. i*^ P xk:' 

Jackson, Prescott V 1075 

Jackson, Ralph W., M. D. . 161 

Jean, Jean B 1324 

Jenkins Family 400 

Jenkins, George 400 

Jeimey Families ...,1544, 1700 

Jenney, Mrs. Mary A lO-" 

Jenney, Mrs. Mary E i" 

Jenney, Perry P 

Jennings, JMrs. .A.nnie P 
•Tennings Family . . 
.Jennings, Willia' 
Jones, Mrs. A' 

Jones, Au' .i8 

Jones, ^ 235 

Jon'- -.i5, 573 

J .397 



.... 1404 
Ji: 18 

.illen 71S 

Bela . . "54 

Charles . . ' 

Charles P. . . 
Deiiriis Ca»y . . 

Edward V 

Edward H 

Edwfa-d P lo 

Edwin (Brock'-onj . 778 
Edwin (Tn-.i.ton) .. IS' 

Eldon B 

!i]lmev L 1 

F.imilies 

71, 184, 267, 420. 
718, 775, 783, lUr 
, 1420, 1405. ■:5-' 
Frank P 



INDEX 



Keith, George E 20 

Keith, Harold C 23 

Keith, Horace A 267 

Keith, Howard P 1585 

Keith, Martin L 777 

Keith, ]\Ierton S 1424 

Keith, Myron L 25 

Keith, Nahmn Williams.. 1.352 

Keith, Nathan 1145 

Keith, Preston B 75 

Keith, Roland M 489 

Keith, Rufus P 77 

Keith, Miss Sarah E. . . . 185 

Keith, Capt. Seth 382 

Keith, Simeon Elliott 430 

Keith, S. Lorin 400 

Keith. Solomon 400 

Keith, Wallace C, M. D.. 783 

Keitii, Warren R 428 

Keith, Ziba C 779 

Kellev, Charles S 243 

KelleV Families 241, 1411 

Kellev, George W 888 

Kelley, Mrs. Sarah A 244 

Kempton, David B 937 

Kempton Families 936, 1020 

Kempton, INIrs. Susan H. . . 937 

Kent, John S 90 

Kilburn (Kilbourne) Familv lfll9 

Kilbnrn, William J. 1G20 

Kimball Family 130 

King Family 1105 

King, William B HGO 

Riii(i,"nn, Benjamin S 1643 

Kingman, "'alvin D 408 

Kingman Families 

409, 913, 974, 1325, 1540, 1043 

Kingman, Gardner J 1325 

Kingman, Herbert L 013 

Kingman, Horace 974 

Kingman, Josiah W 1320 

jvingman, Mrs. Mary A. . 410 

Kingman, Rufus P 1541 

Kirbv Families 001, 917 

Kirb'y, Holder C. M. D... 003 

KEOwles, Daniel M 190 

Knowles, Edward 196 

Knowles Family 192 

Knowj?s, Henry M 196 

Knowles. Cai^t- John P. . . 194 

Knowles, John P., Jr ' «"• 

Knowles, Joseph 

Knowles, Joseph 

Knowles, Joseph F. ... 
Knowles, Mrs. Mary J. . . 

finowlcs, Thomas H  I5>, 

Knowles, William H 195 

Koi'ock, Mrs. Helen M. .. 1516 

Kol'uok, Lemuel M ISIG 

1/anc, Alonzo 602 

Lane, Mrs. Deborah M. ... 1404 

Lane, Maj. Everett 062 

Lane Famil.es COl , 1402 

Lane, George F 1402 

Lane, Mrs. helcn E 662 

Lane, Jenkins 061 

Lane. Richmond J 661 

Lane. Zenas M 662 

Lawrence Family 1164 

lawrence, Jliss Ida E 1165 



Lawrence, James W llO.'i 

Lawrence. Dr. N. Louise.. 1028 

Lawson Family 1369 

Lawson, Frederick W 1369 

Lawton, Charles H 512 

Lawton, Jlrs. Clara P. . . . .513 

Lawton Family 511 

Lawton, Horace A 512 

Lawton. Mrs. Marv E 512 

Leach Families. . .380. 382, 1084 

Leach, Henry W 1085 

Leach, James C 379 

Leach, Mrs. Phebe 381 

LcBaron Families ...831, 1035 

I.^onard, Cornelius 11. ... 1377 

Leonard, Daniel B 590 

Leonard Families 

587, 1217, 1264, 1277. 137S 

Leonard, Henry T 589 

I,eonard, Job M 1265 

Leonard, Milton H., M.D. 590 

I./eonard, Tlieodore W 1218 

Lewis Families 211, 1008 

Lewis, Zenas \A- 1008 

Lincoln, Edward 346 

Lincoln, Edward E 346 

Lincoln Families. . .06, 343, 1010 

Lincoln, George A 1012 

Lincoln, INIiss Helen P. . . . 67 

Lincoln, Henry C ■'46 

Lincoln, Henry E 1612 

Lincoln, James M ''48 

Lincoln, Mrs. Jennettc A., 1013 
Lincoln, Jonathan T. (de- 
ceased ) i>-i_t 

Lincoln, Leontine '^47 

Lincoln, Lorenzo ^^48 

Lincoln, Miss Mary E 340 

Lincoln, Nathaniel R 348 

Lincoln, Xlieodorc G 67 

Lincoln, Tlieodore L 67 

Lincoln, Gen. Thomas 66 

Lind.sey, Crawford E 215 

Lindsey Family 214 

Lindsev, Mrs. INIary E 210 

Little Familv l'""-!,-. 

Ix)throp. Edwin H 880 

Lothrop Families 31. 880 

Loud Family •"'SO 

Loud, Reuben ''8^ 

Lovell, Dr. Charles E 1076 

Lovell Families 

1076, 1205, 1403, 1624 

 Hcorgc W 1464 

■1 r, 1205 

Lo V ^ 

Lovcring, . ^ •  

Levering, Williau. X ... 

Low, I'hnery ]\I 

Low F'aniilj' 

Luce, Arthur G 

Luce Family 

Luce, Ca]it. Hervey E 

Luce, Matthew 

Lund Family 

Lund, Parkman !M 

Luscomb, Andrew .... 
Lnscomb, Mrs. :Mary ? 
Luther, Charles P. 
Tail her FnmiVcs 



Luther, .Joseph G 1072 

Luth,T, Samuel M 685 

Lvon. Arthur V., M.D 620 

Lyon Family 620 

Macon.ber Families 

1144, 1549, 1028 
IMacomicr, !Miss Harriet P. Io50 
JIacomlier, Capt. John A.. 1H5 

Macomb^r, John C 1029 

Macomb.^r, Joseph L 1549 

Macy. Edwin B 293 

Macv Family 291 

I\Iacv, Frank H 294 

Macy, Frederick 292 

Macy, Frederick B 293 

Macy, George 1 293 

Macv, .Tanes R 294 

^lac'v. Philip E 294 

Jlacy, Thomas W ""' 

Maglathlin Family 

IMaglathlin, Capt. Henry I 
Magri, Countess Lavinia. 

iMakinson F:\.mily 

Makinson, Jnhn F 

^lanchester T'amilv 

Mandell, Augustus H..M.D 

Mandell Family 

!Manley, Albert 

Jtanley Families ....1191, 

Manley, Milo 

Tilann, Cliarles F 

]\Iann Families 673, 

Mann, Frederick C 

Mann. Mrs. Pamelia L. . . 

Manning Family 

Manning, Lucian W 

Marang,' Mrs. Clara Swift. 

Marbei Familv ' 

Marbel, Capt. William P.. 1 

Marsh.all Family 1 

Marshall, Howard T 1 

Marsion, Arthur B., 3d... 1 

Mai>-(on Family ^ 

Mai>lon, ITar-.y T,. ,. 1' 

Marston. Zenas L ^ 

Martin Family ' 

Mar\ in Family ... j? 

Mar\ in, Nelson H 3,.., 

Ma-nn Families .•  

405, 518, 934, 1048. K 
Mason, Fr.ancis A. . . . . 
">'--nn. T^rcflo'-'ck 



INDEX 



XI 



Miller Families 

126, 1004, 1171. 1386, 1419 

Miller, Franklin U 1172 

Miller, Jolin A 1005 

Miller, Southard II 1172 

Milliken, Charles \\., M.D. 301 

Milliken Families :!02, 1481 

Milliken, Jlrs. Helen K. . . 197 

Milliken. Joseph K 1483 

Mitchell Families 282, 287 

Mitchell. Herbert 284 

Mitchell. Isam 283 

Moore, Charles Til 617 

Morey Family 541 

Morgan, Charles W 135 

Morgan Familv 134 

Morse, Alfred B 939 

Morse, Edward N 939 

Morse Families 

937, 1433, 1508, 1774 

Morse, Harrison 1508 

Morse, John P 1773 

Morse, Justin N 940 

Morse, Nahum F 1433 

Morton, Charles H 1364 

Morton, Ephraim S 1181 

Morton Families 

358. 548. 901, 1182, 1303 

Morton, Herbert A 551 

Morton, James M., LL. D. 359 

Morton, James M., 3d 300 

Morton, Hon. Marcus .03, 551 

Morton, Thomas J 550 

Munro (Munroe) Family.. 1775 

Munroe, Miss Charlotte 13. 1770 

Munroe, Josiah 1770 

Nash, Mrs. Clara J 922 

Nash Families 920, 1151 

Nash, Thomas N 921 

Neill, Hon. Joseph 739 

Neill, Mrs. :Mary J. Conant 739 

Nelson Families 458, 1540, 1589 
Nelson, Mts. Hannah 

Coomer 400 

Nelson, John H 1589 

Nelson, Mrs. Blary D. W.. 1592 

Nelson, Sidney Tucker . . . 1549 

Nelson, William H 459 

Newcomb Families . . . 159, 820 
Newcomb, Miss Harriot A. 

67, 160 

Newcomb, Natlianiel 159 

Newcomb, Mrs. Sarah J. . . 

822, 347 

Newcomb. Washington L.. 821 

Newton, Mrs. James E . . . . 984 

Nickerson. Capt. Alfred . . 173 

Noyes, Edward 1503 

Noyes Family 1503 

Nutter, Charles L 255 

Nutter Familv 253 

Nutter, Isaac N 254 

Nutter, Richard W 255 

Nye, Charles H 412 

Nye, Charley H., Jr 413 

Nye, David D 1261 

Nye Families. 329, 412, 785 

1103, 1107, 1234, 1350, 1743 

Nye, James H 1234 

Nye, Obed 785 

Nye, Mrs. Susan C U04 

Nye, Thomas 1104 



Nye. Willard 330 

Nve, Willard. Jr 331 

Nve, William F 1107 

Nye, William L 1357 

Oesting, F. William 982 

Oesting, Mrs. Violetta C . . 982 

Osborn Family 37 

Osborn, Mrs. Hannah F. . . 532 

Osborn, James E 40 

Osborn, James M 39 

Osborn, Judge Joseph .... 37 

Osborn, Weaver 38 

Osborn, William J 37 

Osborne Family 750 

Osborne, William H 752 

Packard, Mrs. AUie V. . . . 1148 

Packard, Davis S 78 

Packard, De Witt. Clinton.. 681 

Packard. Elmer C 513 

Packard Families 78, 111, 326, 

513, 520, 004, 681, 1214, 1258 

1374, 1488, 1036. 1702, 1752 

Packard, Frederick Ill 

Packard, Fred H 604 

Packard, Fred L 1216 

Packard. George A 1702 

Packard, Mrs. Harriet J... 1753 

Packard, Josiah Q 1488 

Packard, Martin 1636 

Packard, Moses A 326 

Packard, Natlian F 1752 

Packard, Nathaniel P.. ... 520 

Packard. Pvobert H 1374 

Packard, Sidney E 1215 

Packard. Sumner T 80 

Packard. Warren B 006 

Page (Paige) Family .... 556 

Paige, Nonius, M. D 556 

Paige, Dr. Onias 558 

Paine, A. Elliot. M. D.... 905 

Paine Family 903 

Park Family 1758 

Park, Frederick Waldo . . . 1758 

Parker. David L 1017 

Parker Families 1016, 1271 

Parker, Capt. Josiah 1467 

Parker, Ward M 1016 

Parker, William C 1271 

Parker, William N 1466 

Partridge. Miss Deborah A. 1372 

Partridge Familv 1371 

Paidl, Mrs. Abbie F 142 

Paull. Elbridge G 1690 

Paull Families . . 141, 1493, 1689 

Paull, John 141 

Pearse Familv 1099 

Pearse, George G 1102 

Pearse, William G 1102 

Pearse, William -H., de- 
ceased ., 1101 

Pearse. William H 1102 

Peck, Capron 1201 

Peck. Clarence A 748 

Peck Families 746, 1200 

Peck, Frank 749 

Peck, Herbert h 748 

Peck, Jathniel A 746 

Peck, Miss Lydia D 1202 

Peck, Russell A 748 

Peckliam, Anson C, M. D. . 1037 



Peckham Families . . . 1038, 1528 

Peckham, Henry C 1527 

Peirce, Mrs. Amanda E... 34 
Peirce, Charles M., Jr. ... 34 

Peirce Family 810 

Peirce, Hon. James P 810 

Penney Family 1725 

Penney, Justin B 1725 

Percival, Henrv M 936 

Perkins Families 

231, 312, 647, 1148, 

1485, 1588, 1600, 1721, 1739 

Perkins, George A 1486 

Perkins, Henry 647 

Perkins, James 1588 

Perkins, Merritt G 233 

Perkins, Oscar C 232 

Perkins, Stillman S 1721 

Perkins, Tliomas H 1488 

Perkins, William (2) 1601 

Perry, Alonzo W 1160 

Perry, A\igustus F 1698 

Perry Families 1100, 1698 

Perry, Mrs. Lucy M 404 

Perry, Mrs. Susan B 1699 

Philbrick, Mrs. Annie E... 349 

Phillips Family 928 

Phillips, Capt. Jacob B. . . . 800 . 

Phillips, Lot 928 

Pickens Families. .411, 641, 811 

Pierce, Alfred 533 

Pierce, A. Martin. M. D. . . 33 

Pierce. Andrew G 35 

Pierce, Anthony 910 

Pierce. Mrs. Caroline L . . . 36 

Pierce, Charles S 157 

Pierce. Miss Clara 911 

Pierce (Pearce, Pearse) 

Families 32,155,533,910, 1491 

Pierce, George R 157 

Pierce, James 1491 

Pierce, Mrs. Lizzie J 34 

Pierce, Mrs. Mary 1492 

Pierce. Otis ^ 36 

Pitts Families 718,1355 

Pitts, Joseph S 1355 

Poisson, Joseph 1260 

Poole, Benjamin F 1058 

Poole Families. 1057, 1130, 1449 

Poole, Isaac B. 1449 

Poole. I. Chester 1450 

Poole, Jerome B 1060 

Pope, Charles E 1455 

Pope Families 922, 1454 

Porter Family 628 

Porter, Henry S 628 

Porter, John 568 

Potter. Andrew H 1235 

Potter, Capt. Alden T. . . . 1043 

Potter Families 1043, 1284 

Potter, Warren B 1286 

Potter, William F 1^57 

Pratt, Augustus 1338 

Pratt, Dr. Charles A 569 

Pratt, Charles H 1372 

Pratt Families.. 796, 1251, 

1338, 1342, 1350, 1372, 1382 

Pratt, Henry K 1251 

Pratt, Henry T 1352 

Pratt, Mrs. Jennie E 1251 

Pratt. Joseph 1381 



INDEX 



i,tt, Mrs. JI. Adah 1452 

At, Prescott H 1341 

sbrey Familr 707 

sbrey, Mrs. "Fannie S... 800 

:sbre.v, Silas D., M. D... 70S 

sbrey, William L 790 

)ctor Family 1702 

Ter Family ■'>75 

Tor, Dr. Loring W 575 

nby Family S22 

nby, Oliver B 822 

idall Family 1732 

idall, George H 1732 

ikin Family 1550 

ikin, Mrs. Kate J 1557 

kin, William 1556 

ikin, William J 1557 

,d, Alexander, M. D. . . 92 

,d, Benjamin B 1407 

d, Mrs. Cynthia A G20 

.d(e) Families 

91, 540, 619, 1407 

d, Joseph R 019 

d. Paddock R 540 

d, William A 92 

ie (Reed) Families... 

49, 341, 853 

- r> 3S8 

"87 

70 

d, Henry G >0 

d, Mrs. Joseph S 1789 

d, L. Alston 342 

i, Lucius 341 

i, Hon. Warren A 49 

lington, Clinton V. S.. 175 
linaton, Ulrs. Elizabeth 

..'!... 174 

lington Family 173 

lington. Hale 175 

lington, Joshua 281 

lington, Robert K 173 

nard, Capt. Robert P.. . 1018 

nard, Capt. William H. 919 

nolds, Bion F 058 

Holds, Charles T 656 

rolds, Edmund D 1670 

lolds, Mrs. Ellen K . . . 653 

lolds, Mrs. Emilv J  • 1205 

lolds. Miss Emma D. . 1432 

lolds, Enos H 1202 

lolds Families 051, 655, 

G. 1202, 1398, 1429, 1671 

olds, Isaac N 1398 

olds. Jav B 657 

651 

6.57 

659 

e I.. 738 

1428 

dds. Mrs. Sarah S... 657 

■s Family 420 

s, George H 421 

■, John B 422 

John C 422 

Marcus M 421 

irlcs L 1123 

■-nee E 1126 



Rice, John A 1122 

Richards, Mrs. Winifred C. 1129 

Richardson Family 541 

Ricliardson, Henry A 542 

Richardson, Miss Linda . . 542 

Roarty Family 1308 

Roarty, James A 1308 

Robbins, Benjamin W. ... 1610 

Robbins Family 1610 

Robbins. Mrs. Frank B. . . , 922 

Robertson, Jolni T 739 

Rodman Family 384 

Rodman, :\Iiss Julia W. , . 386 

Rodman, Thomas I! 384 

Rogers, Asa 1511 

Rogers Families 203. 430 

Rogers, Frank L 1653 

Rogers, Henry Huttleston. 430 

Rogers, Capt. John 1652 

Rotch Familv 247 

Rotch, Morgan 249 

Rotch, William J 248 

Rouuseville, Alden. .Tr. . . . 1640 

Rounseville, Cyrus C 202 

Rounscville Families. .201, 1640 

Rugg. Charles P 1642 

Rugg Familv 1641 

Rugg, Mrs. Mary P 1642 

Ruggles Family 952 

Ruggles, John A 952 

Ruggles, Mrs. Susan R. . . 953 

Russell Families.. 743, 885, 1247 

Russell, George T 885 

Russell, Henrv T 887 

Russell, Sirs. Rubie 7). . . . 888 

Sampson, Elnatlian T. ... 1282 

Sampson Families 

1034, 12S2, 1661 

Sampsoi., George R 1034 

Sanford, Baalis 545 

Sanford, nr. Edward 931 

Sanford, Rev. Enoch, D. D. 931 

Sanford Families 

185. 545, 9.30, 1573 

Sanford, John EllioU 187 

Sanford, Jliss Kate 1 188 

Sanford, Miss L. Aunusta. 931 

Sanford, Philip H 1653 

S.anford. Samuel T 1574 

Sanford, Mrs. Sarah A.... 1653 

Sanford, i\Irs. Susan 1575 

Saverv Families 1569, 1625 

Sawin, Ezekiel R 13SS 

Sawin Family 1386 

Saver, Miss Caroline M... 1119 

SaVer F.amily mS 

Saver, Frederic h 1119 

Saver, William L 1119 

Scat«s Family 1535 

Scates, John 1535 

Scabury, Alexander H. ... SI 

Seabury, Charles P 571 

Scabury Families 80, 569 

Seabury, l\liss Helen H.... 571 

Seabury, Humphrey W. . . 570 

Seabury, Miss jMnry B. . . . 571 

Seabury, Mrs. Sarah W. .. 571 

Sears, Chauneey H 168 

Scars Families 166. 63S 

Sears, Henry W 640 

Severance Fnmilv 1 156 

Sev( -'■ " ■"> T 1157 



Severance, Mrs. ilarvM. .. 1157 

Shaw, Bartlett M. .' 972 

Shaw, Benjamin C 1041 

Shaw, Capt. Charles F. . . . 1186 

Shaw, Mrs. Etta F 1599 

Shaw, Eugene E 696 

Shaw Families 

343, 667, 696. 828, 865, 
972. 1041. 1185, (505. 1598 

Shaw, Francis E 670 

Shaw, Francis M 068 

Shaw, Job L 1 187 

Shaw, John J., U. D 865 

Shaw, Josepli 1505 

Shaw, Linus H 669 

Shaw, William II 1597 

Sherman, Albert S 1555 

Sherman, Elbridge G 1358 

Sherman Families 468, 1170. 1358, 
1519, 1553, 1571, 1720. 1756 

Sherman, .Tames L 1572 

Sherman, Nathaniel B. . . . 1756 

Sherman, Nelson 467 

Sherman. Wilson 1553 

Short Family 888 

Short, Mace B 888 

Short. i\lrs. Nancy B 890 

Shove. Charles M 119 

Shove, Charles 118 

Shove. Edward 119 

Shove Family 117 

Shove, Mrs. Sarah Elnieii- 

dorf 120 

Shove. Walter Frank 120 

Shurtlcff. .Vlbert T 710 

ShurtlcfV Families 709, 959, 1384 
Shurtletr. Mrs. Maria Y. . . 710 
Shurtleff. Nathaniel F. , . . 959 
Shurtleir, Walter I)., M. I). 710 

Simmons F.amily 765 

Simmons. John 767 

Sisson, Arnold B 1654 

Sisson, Mrs. Hannah A. . . 1655 

Slade, Abbott E 651 

Slade, Abner 708 

Slade, David F 474 

Slade Families 

471, 649, 708, 1085, r2,i3, 1479 

Slade, (Jeorge W 1479 

Slade. .(ohn L 1263 

Slade. John P 650 

Slade. .Tonathan 473 

Shade, Mrs. Lois A 650 

Slade. Nathan 1085 

Slade, William L 473 

Slade, Willinm V\ 474 

Small Family 772 

Small, Reuben C 773 

Smith. Dr. Andrew J. . . . 732 

Smith. Bradford 1780 

Smith Families 847, 1780 

Smith, Irani 1791 

Smith. :\lrs. Timothy . 367 

Siiell. David A. . ..'. 1633 

Snell Families 1394, ' "■^. 

Snell. Varanus i 

Snow Families ..208, 1345, x.,..' 

Snow, George G 209 

Snow. George 11 21 1 

Snow, Herbert E 210 

Snow, Levi M 1345 

Snow, Loum 1439 

Snow, Rriberc 1440 



INDEX 



^•mli Families 

440, S42, 1007, 10S9 

-,0\iir George D 1006 

Sout«, Mrs. Hannah 1090 

Soulc Oakea S 1089 

^^o\l\•^ Rufiis A 451 

Srnile Thomas H 453 

Komi I 7orth, Edward 1539 

Soatln/orth, Miss Ella F... 1539 

Soutfiv-orth Families 1539, 1621 

Soutlv/orth, Marcus C... 1G21 

Ppan Family 373 

Sjj.iro Dr. John 374 

:?parr John V 375 

Span w Family 1068, 

■ipai 'i.w, Frank M 1072 

spa 1 -WW, Harry P 1070 

ipar.-.w, Jacob A 1070 

^pari ivv, Solomon E 1071 

par; 'W, Dr. William E... 1071 

■jpar; w, William E., Jr.. 1071 

■pen' ,', Mrs. Anne F 266 

>;.>enc , James W 267 

"^ixiiieo, John 266 

Spencc, William H 267 

.-'lAont Family 1418 

. ;oat., Horace M 1418 

sha-.r Family 1172 

•.-.-S'. William H 1172 

itwviiah Family 1292 

.- ' .,;Trs, Mrs. Alice M 105 

 .^i yle:i Family 103 

S':i:.l-is, Herbert M ,104 

.-•■iiilos, Sylvanus N 103 

: -..rrett, Arthur P 1760 

h'-afis, Mrs. Caroline W.. 1093 

:•:- arns Family 1092 

^;- uns, William L 1092 

Sietsfu Families 257, 663 

-.;-ison, G<orge W 260 

o:<':soa, John M 260 

■.;i^ r vjnij Nahum (deceased) 258 

Stoi sou, Nahmn 260 

Su-i na, Mrs. Ruth B. . . . 260 

Sir.o!ard, Mrs. Sarah M... 1388 

Strol.iidge Family 1492 

Stu;!;ey, Ezekiel R 903 

S: -IJcy' Families 826, 902 

.-■■■ dky, Gideon 827 

S Hi-.Jv, Albert W 500 

Stur.lv, Charles A 500 

Sturdy, Charles H 500 

Sturdy Family 496 

Sturd'^, Frederic E 498 

Stui dy, James H 499 

Sturdy, John F 497 

Sturdy, William A 497 

Stiii (ov^nt Family 1742 

Spllivar^ Mrs. Catherine E. 1605 

Sulln-an, John B 1604 

Suinncjr Family 260 

Swai ,, David G 1758 

Swaii Family 1758 

Swan Family 1656 

is^Ri Henry S., M.D 1659 

U i^K, Mrs'f Matilda J. . . . 1659 

S«^*t, Andrew H 1376 

Ewcci Families 1376, 1789 

S-.veftt, Frank R 1789 

Snnft, Hon. Charles Francis 1294 

Swift, Miss Elizabeth P.. 1561 

BwLl't ' Families 

.114, 199, 256, 1295, 1459, 1559 



Swift, Franklvn K 200 

Swift, Frederick C 1296 

Swift, Humphrey Hathaway 115 

Swift, Moses C 1561 

Swift, Noble P 256 

Swift, Rodolphus Nye 200 

Sylvester, Charles F 908 

Sylvester Families 862, 907 

Sylvester, Frederick O . . . . 909 

Sylvester, George 1 909 

Sylvester, Mrs. Laura G.. 909 

Sylvester, Robert 864 

Sylvia, Antone L 1609 

Taber, Charles S 786 

Taber, Edward S 206 

Taber Families 

205, 474, 711, 786, 1024 

Taber, Frederic 476 

Taber, George H 712 

Taber, Capt. Jacob 463 

Taber, John H 712 

Taber, Mrs. Laura H 786 

Taber, Miss Mary Kempton 1026 

Taber, William G 1025 

Talbot Family 665 

Talbot, George H 665 

Tannatt Family 1743 

Tannatt. James C 1743 

Tappan, Charles H 272 

Tappan, Ephraini H 27 1 

Tappan Family 270 

Tappan, Mrs. Fannie M . . 273 

Tappan, Frank E 273 

Tappan, William C 272 

Taylor, James B 1388 

Teiry Families. . 1253, 1635, 1699 

Terry, Isaiah F 1699 

Terry, Joseph C 1253 

Terry, Capt. Phineas 1635 

Tew Family 1006 

Thacher Family 968 

Thacher, John 970 

Thacher, William T 971 

Thayer Families . . 18, 763, 767 

Thomas, Mrs. Annie C 901 

Thomas Families 899, 1445 

Thompson. Albert C 169 

Thompson Families 

169, 755, 956 

Thompson, ]\Irs. Mareia A. 172 

Thompson, William M. ... 950 

Thomas, William A 900 

Thomson (Thompson) Fa- 
mily 169 

Thorne, William H 1717 

Tlioi-nton Family 847 

Thornton, Elisha. Jr 848 

Thorn+on, John R 848 

Tliumb, Mrs. General Tom 1674 

Tliurber Family 1347 

Thurber. Zimri 1347 

Thurston, Anthony 1724 

Thurston Family 1723 

Thurston, Frank A 1725 

Tillinghast, Mrs. Elizabeth L.1445 

Tillinghast Family 1443 

Tillinghast, John T 1443 

Tillinghast, Joseph 1446 

Tillson Family 1577 

Tillson, HeniT H 1578 

Tillson, Mrs. Lydia C 1578 

Tilton, Charles W 1696 



Tilton Fanvily 1696 

Tobey Families ..265, 305, 1220 

Tobey, William H 1221 

Torrey Family 1053 

Torrey, George W 1056 

Torrey, Josiah A 1054 

Totman Family 828 

Totman, Horace C 828 

Townsend Family 1664 

Townsend, Mrs. W. C 296 

Trafford, Allison W 425 

Trafford, Andrew R 424 

Trafiford, Bernard W 425 

Trafford, Charles A 424 

Trafford Family 422 

Trafford, Henry L 425 

Trafford, Orrin F 425 

Trafford, Perry D 425 

Trafford, William C 424 

Tribou, Charles E 1033 

Tribou Family 1032 

Tribou, John A 1033 

Tripp, Arnold G 1521 

Tripp, Azariah S 275 

Tripp, David K 916 

Tripp Families 274, 916, 1520 

Tripp, Miss Katharine M.. 917 

Tripp, Philip E 277 

Tripp, Hon. Philip J 275 

Tripp, Thomas A 1521 

Trow Family 1708 

Tiow, Frederick L 1708 

Trow, Mrs. Olive H. M 1710 

Tucker, Abram R 1093 

Tucker, Almon H 1137 

Tucker, Charles 1222 

Tucker, Edward T., M.D... 694 

Tucker, Ervin A., M.D.... 1138 

Tucker Families 

516, 692, 1062, 1093, 

1137, 1222 

Tupper, Mrs. Mary Akin . . 844 

Turner Family . . .' 864 

Turner, Mrs. Fannie H . . . . 795 

Turner, Joseph S 794 

Tuttle, Elias A 1159 

Tj'ler Family 1744 

Vigneron Family 375 

Wade, Hon. Albert R 702 

Wade Family 702 

Wade, Mrs. Susan H 704 

Wadsworth Family 1433 

Waite, Benjamin H 1335 

Waite Family 1334 

Waite, Miss Florence L 1335 

^^'alker Family 749 

Walker, George H 714 

Walker, William E 750 

Warner Family 574 

Warner, Richard E 575 

Warren Families 615, 1676 

Washburn, Col. Abram... 881 
Washburn, Mrs. Annie R.731, 733 

Washburn, Azel 1754 

Wa.shburn, Charles G 596 

Washburn, Clinton 699 

Washburn, Elliott, M. D.. 596 

Washburn Families 

188, 522. 593, 608, 698, 

732. 872, 882, 1754, 1781 
Washburn, Francis B 1782 



IXDEX 



Washburn, Fretleiic A S72 

Washburn, George A .^I'o 

Washburn, George R 1783 

Washburn, Jliss Harriet 

M. S 17.J-1: 

Washburn, Herbert T 732 

U"ashburn, Mrs. JIary B.. 723 

Washburn, Mrs. JFarv -J. . . 874 

Washburn, Dr. Nahum... (iHS 

Washburn, Nathan 190 

Washburn, Thomas J -597 

Waterman Family 1223 

Waterman, Fred "E 1224 

Watkins, Miss Emma E . . 285 

Watkins Family 284 

Watkins, William 284 

Watson, Benjamin JI 926 

Watson Family 927 

Watson, Tliom'as R 928 

Weeks, Mrs. Andre^v G 207 

Weeks Family 1679 

Weeks, Capt. William 1079 

Weeks, William J., M. D. . 1080 

Wellington Family 8.56 

Wellington. Dr. jaraes L.. 856 

Weston Families 460, 946 

Weston, Lon 946 

Wetherell Family 1269 

Wetherell, Orin 'B 1270 

Wexel, Mrs. Helen A 1048 

Wexel, Henry 1047 

Wheeler, Mrs. _ da W 1085 

Wheelock Family 399 

Whipple Families 249, 1338 

Whipple, Col. John J 249 

White, AndreNv^M. W.. il.D. 982 

White, Charles P 372 

White, Dr. Clinrles W 961 

White, Mrs. Eliza C 903 

White Families 

100, 370, 890, 901 

White, Francis E . 890 

White, Hon. Jonathan 100 

White, JNIrs. :Margaret T. . . 372 

Whiting, Edward' B 944 

Whiting Family 943 

Whiting, Miss Susan A... 944 



Whitman Family 220 

Whitman, William E 222 

Whitman, William P 220 

Whitmarsh, Ezra S 1134 

Whitmarsh Families 

1134, 1188, 1537 

Whitmarsli, Frederic P IISS 

Whitmarsh, Irying F 1537 

Whitney, Amasa 378 

Whitney, Miss Emma M . . . 378 

Whitney Family 376 

Wilbar,' Charles A 1090 

Wilbar (Wilbor. Wilburi 

Families 1090, 1272, 1400 

XA'ilbor, Alfred G 1400 

Wilbor (Wilbur) Families 

744, 1272. 1400 

Wilbor, Mrs. Louise A 1402 

Wilbur, Daniel 1273 

Wilbur (Wilbor. Wilbar ) 

Families 1090, 1272, 1400 

Wilbur, George E 744 

Wilco.x, Benjamin 1082 

Wilcox Families 479, 1080 

Wilcox, Miss Susan A 1440 

Wilcox, Tliomas 480 

Wilcox, Tliomas B 1080 

Wilkinson Family; 202 

Wilkinson, Samuel W 1259 

Williams, i\Irs. Adelaide X. 

104, 585 

Williams Families 582, 1592 

Williams, George B 580 

Williams, Josepli 1592 

Williams, Mrs. Josephine T. 1445 

Williams, Lewis 585 

Williams, Mrs. ilary Hor- 

ton ' 919 

Williams, Miss .'sarali B.. 587 

Willis, Arthur H 964 

Willis, Charles E 1737 

Willis, Edward M 1736 

Willis Families. .963. 1139, 1735 

Willis, Capt. James M 1139 

Willis, Xathan E 964 

Willis. William H 1735 

Williston, Charles H 1714 



Williston Family 171;; 

Wilmarth Family 1129 

Wilnxarth, William D 1130 

Wing, Charles F 1239 

Wing Families 1095, 1238 

Winslow, Capt. Albert 1288 

Winslow, Miss Betsey B... 1112 
Winslow Families . . . '. .... 

3G4. nil, 1288 

Winslow, Miss Hope 1289 

Winslow, Hudson 1113 

Winslow, William B 1111 

Winsor, Miss Ellen A 500 

Winsor Family 542 

Winsor, Walter P 544 

Winstanley, Emanuel 1632 

Winstanley Family 1632 

Winstanley, .James H 1032 

Winstanley, Miss Lizzie B. 1632 

\\'inter, Eyerett H 599 

Winter Family 597 

Winter, Sanford 597 

Wood Families S45, 11.57 

Wood, emerge S 845 

Wood, Nathan M 1157 

Woodard, Horace F 623 

Wordell, Mrs. Elizabeth D. 992 

Wordell Families 

1152, 1408, 1653 

Wordell, Marcus M 1152 

Wordell, Rodney D 1469 

Wordell, Rufus" E 991 

Wright, Augustus H 95 

Wright, Barzillai E 100.5 

Wright, Edmund 95 

Wright, Ellcrv C 1607 

Wright, Elwiii T 68.5 

Wright Families 92, 686, 1605 

Wright, Rev. Horace W... 9C 

Wright, Mrs. Jane B 95 

Wright, Mrs. Pamelia K.. 95 

Wright, Theodore F 94 

Yoimg, John M 1593 

Zuill Family 1603 

ZuiU, Robert W 1608 



Genealogy — Biography 




I ICE. The Rice family of Eoek- 
land is now represented there 
by that venerable citizen 
Deacon Jolin A. Eice and iiis 
brother Col. Cliarles L. Kice, 
wlio in partnerghip and indi- 
vidnally have long been among 
the leading bu.^inet^s men of the 
town, the latter still active as bead of the fur- 
niture house of C. L. Rice & Son. Both iiave 
been useful in the community to an unusual 
degree, doing their full sbare in advancing the 
interests of the town with unselfish and disin- 
terested zeal, giving time and influence to serve 
their fellow men and ever upliohling the honoi- 
of their own name by honorable and serviceable 
careers. They are descendants in the seventh 
generation from tlie emigrant ancestor of this 
line, Edmund Rice. 

(I) Edmund Rice, born in 1594, in Birk- 
hampstead, England, was a proprietor and 
selectman in Sudbury in 1639. He probably 
came to New England in 1(!38. He had a 
house lot on Old Main street near Mill brook. 
He was one of the first to build in the village 
plot novr Wayland. He built a second house 
in the south part of the town. He received 
his share in the river meadows divided in 
September, 1639, and in the following spring 
and fall ; and he shared in all the various 
divisions of uplands and common lands, receiv- 
ing altogether 247 acres ; he was active in buy- 
ing and selling land and property. He was a 
prominent citizen, selectman in 1639, 1644, 
and later at various times ; was deacon after 
1648; was deputy to the General Court, 1654- 
56. He was one of the petitioners for Marl- 
boro, and received a house and lot, and moved 
there in 16G0. He married ( first ") in England 
Tamazin, who died June 13. 1654. and (sec- 
ond) March 1, 1655, Mercy (Heard) Brig- 



ham, widow of Thomas Brighani. He died 
May 3, 1663. His children, all born to the 
first wife, were: Henry, born in 1616; Ed- 
ward, born in 1618; Thomas, born probably 
in England; Matthew; Samuel; Joseph, born 
in 1637; Lydia (married Hugh Drury) ; Ed- 
mund: Benjamin, born May 31, 1640; Ruth 
(married S. Wells) ; Ann, and ^lary. 

(II) Tbomas Rice, horn prol/ably in Eng- 
land, settled in Sudbury, and about 1664 
moved to the adjacent town of Marlboro. He 
died Xov. 16, 1681, and his will was proved 
April 4, 1682. The will of his widow, Mary, 
was proved April 1], 1715. His family was 
remarkable for the longevity of his children, 
they being: Grace, who ilied in Sudbury Jan. 
3, 1653-54; Thomas, born June 30, 1654; 
Mary, born Sept. 4, 1656 (married Josiah 
White) ; Peter, born Oct. 24, 1658 (jnarried 
Rebecca How) ; Nathaniel, born Jan. 3, 1660; 
Sarah, born Jan. 15, 1668; Ephraini, born 
April 15, 1665 (married Hannah Livermore) ; 
Gershom, born May 9, 1667 (married Eliza- 
beth Haynes) ; James, born March 6, 1669 
(married Sarah Stone) ; Frances, born Feb. 
3, 1670-71 (married Benjamin Allen) ; Jonas, 
born March 6. 1672-73 (married Mary 
Stone) ; Grace, born Jan. 15, 1675 (marr.. '1 
Nathaniel Moore) ; and Elisha, born Dee. , 
1679. 

(TTI) Elisha Rice, born Dec. 11, 1679, ni - 
ried Feb. 10. 1707-08, Elizabeth Wheeler, id 
lived in Sudbury. He had a thirty-acre grant 
of land in 1718 in Worcester and was a 
proprietor there in 1719; the birth of his fifth 
child was recorded in Worcester. He returned 
to Sudbury, where he died intestate in 1761. 
His children were: Eliakini. born Feb. 27, 
1709, who married Mehetabel Tjiverm 
I'jlisha, born March 2, 1711. who died vom ,' ; 
Elisha (2), born Nov. 3, 1713; Julia, b-.ru 



.122 



SOUTHEARTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mareli 20, IvlC; Silas, born Nov. 7, 1719,, 
wlio niari-ied CoiJia Broughtou ; Elijah, bora 
March 5, 1722, who married Huldali Iveyes; 
and Zebulon. 

{IX) Zebulou Rice, horn Jan. 5, 1725, in 
Sudbury, Mass., married Dec. 7, 1749, Susan- 
na Allen, born in 17:i2. Mr. Eice settled first 
in Lancaster, and resided afterward in Boyl- 
ston. He died Dee. 26, 1799. His widow died 
Dec. 17, 1823, m her ninety-second year. 
Their children were: Josiah, born in 1750, 
died in 1756; Zebulon, born in 1752, died in 
1756; Jonas, born in 1751, married Ziliiha 
Townsend; Eliakim, horn in 1756, married 
Hannah Kendall ; Eeuben, born in 1757, mar- 
ried Sarah Metcalf; Susanna, born March 22. 
1759, married Jonathan Lamson ; Elisha, 
born in 1760, married Eunice Farrar; Mary, 
born in January, 1762, married Stephen Ran- 
dall, Jr.; John, born in 1763, died young; 
Luke, born in 1764, married Hannah Knowl- 
ton ; Stephen was born in 1765; Simeon, born 
in 1766. died in 17()7 ; Joseph was born in 
August, 1768; Benjamin, born in January, 
1770, married Lydia Robinson; David, born 
in 1772. married in 1795 Betsey Baker: 
Betsey, boi-n June 3. 1774, married Ezekiel 
Rice; Dolly, born June 5. 1776. married John 
Babcock. 

(V) Stephen Rice, born Dec. 31, 1765, mar- 
ried in 1793 ]\Iatilda Allen (a cousin of Ethan 
Allen). He removed to the State of Vermont, 
settling in Salisbury. In old age he went to 
AA'isconsin, and lived witli his son, Stephen. 
He died at Fort Atkinson, Wis., aged ninety- 
seven years, and his wife at the age of ninety- 
five j-ears. He had two sons and four daugh- 
ters. 

(VI) Alphonso Rice, son of Stephen and 
Matilda (Allen) Rice, born March 8, 1796, at 
Hartland, Vt., grew to manhood there and 
Avas engaged in farming. He lived for a time 
in ^NTorthfield, Vt., where he learned the 
clothier or cloth dresser's trade with Judge 
Paine, who was one of the pioneer manufac- 
turers of Vermont, of wliich State his son was 
later governor. Later he was engaged in busi- 
ness for himself in connection with the dress- 
ing of cloth until 1840, when he removed to 
Brookfield. Vt.. where he pnrchased a farm, 
and continued in agricultural pursuits. He 
spent his later life in AVisconsin, locating at 
Fort Atkinson, where he lived retired, and 
died Aug. 11, 1874, at Brooklyn, Iowa. At 
Warren, Vt., he married Mary Cardell, who 
was born Dec. 13, 1806. daughter of John 
Cardell, a native of Whitehall, N. Y., who 
had settled in "Warren. Mr. and Mrs. Al- 



phonso Rice had children as follows : John A.,. 
born Jan. 29, 1830, is mentioned below; Mary 
M., born Sept. 28, 1831, married Elijah 
Blanchanl ; Louise C, born Jan. 2, 1833, mar- 
ried VVheelock Hatch, and died at Fort Atkin- 
son, Wis., in 1872; Lovina, born Nov. 9, 1834^ 
married Thomas W. Putnam and resides in 
Worcester, Mass. ; Hannah S., born Feb. 18,. 
1836, married Isaac Alden (she died July 8, 
1908, in Minneapolis) ; Carrie C, born Dec. 
13, 1839, married Charles H. Woods, and died 
Nov. 13, 1908, in South Sudbury, Mass.; 
Charles L. was born Dec. 31, 1841 ; Ceorge 
E. was born Dee. 10, 1843; M. Eugene, born 
May 22, 1847, married Adele Jackson. 

(VII) John A. Rice, son of Alphonso and 
Mary (Cardell) Rice, was born Jan. 29, 1830, 
in Northfield, Vt. He was reared on a farm, 
and, not unlike farmers' sons in general, 
worked on the farm in season and attended the 
neighborhood school in winters. At seventeen 
years of age he began teaching school himself, 
an example which was subsequently followed 
by his younger brothers and sisters. This 
vocation he followed for four winters in his 
native State and later at Avon and Randolph, 
in Massachusetts, two winters. When twenty- 
one he went West, and there for several years 
was variously occupied. Returning to the 
East, he was for a time in the employ of his 
Icinsman at what is now Avon, Mass., his 
brother-in-law, Elijah Blanchard, being post- 
master of the place, and as well carrying on 
a general country store. His next experience, 
which proved the real starting point to his 
successful career, was as an assistant to the- 
proprietor, Nahuni Moore, of a dry goods and 
furniture business in the town of East Abing- 
ton (now Rockland), Mass. Mr. Moore was 
then a bu.sy man, legislator, etc., and needed 
someone upon whom he could depend, and it 
was soon proved that he had found that man 
in the person of young Rice, in whom he was 
quick to see the qualities required. One year 
later found Mr. Rice a partner of his employer 
in the business. Soon thereafter the junior 
member of the firm of Moore & Rice, in asso- 
ciation with a Boston man, purchased Mr. 
Moore's interest in the business and for two 
years they carried it on nnder tlie name of 
'Rice & Eldridge. 

The next move of Mr. Rice was farsighted 
and proved one in which he greatly profited. 
Pearly in the Civil war he went West, taking 
from Boston and New York a stock of goods 
for business at St. Joseph, Mo. He found the 
people of that place and vicinity about equally 
divided in sympathy with the North and 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1123 



South, and those in sympathy with the Soutli 
rather eager to get rid of the government 
"greenbacks," lience it was a good place in one 
respect for profitable business. After the war, 
returning to Vermont, he bought the old home 
farm and took up his residence there. A year 
later, however, he was "on the go" again, at 
the end of this period again going to Rock- 
land, where he resumed his old business. He 
was soon burned out, but undaunted by this 
misfortune he continued business in a tem- 
porary location until a new building was 
erected. His brother Clierles L. coming back 
fiom the war, the two became partners in tlie 
business, conducting it together for a short 
period, when it was deemed advisable to divide 
it, John A. retaining the original dry goods 
department, and Charles L. taking the furni- 
ture line. Sutfice it to say that both prospered 
and achieved success therein. John A. con- 
tinued in business many years, retiring from 
active participation in about 1903. He was 
the pioneer in the town in the move of early 
closing of the stores. 

The political atRliations of Mr. Eice have 
been with the Republican party, he also believ- 
ing in Prohibition and abstinence from the use 
of tobacco, etc. He has long been a consistent, 
strong, earnest and useful member of the Con- 
gregational Church of his community, serving 
it for thirty-five years as deacon. One has 
only to read between the lines to judge of the 
value of such a man as is Deacon Rice to the 
community in which his life is being lived. 

On May 30, 1857, Mr. Rice married Sarah 
S. Soule, who was born in Rockland, daughter 
of Josiah and Sophronia (Jenkins) Soule. 
She died in Rockland June 11, 1905, and is 
buried there. Mrs. Rice was a member of the 
Congregational Church, a woman of fine 
Christian character. She was the mother of 
five children : John Willard, born May 7, 1860, 
who died in 1864 ; Edward Lawrence, born 
March 29, 1866, who died in infancy; John 
Wesley, born June 21, 1868; Frederick F., 
born Xov. 19, 1870; and Lester H., born Dec. 
31, 1871. 

(Vlll)' John Wesley Rice, son of John A. 
Eice, born June 21, 1868, graduated from the 
Rockland high school in 1885, and two years 
later from the Boston Latin School. In 1891 
he was graduated from ITarvard, and spent the 
next year abroad in travel and study. In 1898 
he was awarded the degree of doctor of phil- 
osophy by Harvard University, having pre- 
viously received the degree of B. D. from 
Yale in 1895 and from Harvard in 1897. Mr. 
Eice taught Biblical literature two years 



(1898-1900) in Vanderbilt University, Nash- 
ville, Tenn., and was professor of Greek in Ohio 
Wesleyan University, 1902-06. He is now at 
home, looking after his father's interests and 
devoting considerable time to music. He is 
unmarried. 

( VII ) Charles L. Rice, son of Alphonso 
and Mary (Cardell) Rice, was born Dec. 31, 
1841, in Brooklield, Vt. His father, a plain 
New England farmer, but of good hard sense 
and practical, so reared his sons, and Charles 
after the age of twelve years assisted in the 
farm work in season and attended the neigh- 
borhood school in winters, furthering hi8 
studies later at Barre Academy. Then, fol- 
lowing the example of his older brothers and 
sisters, he himself taught school for a period. 
In August, 1862, the Civil war being then on 
in great reality, he could no longer withstand 
the call of his country, and though hardly 
more than a boy enlisted in the 10th Regi- 
ment, Vermont Volunteer Infantry. His mili- 
tary service was one long and honorable and 
most creditable, for he was made of that stuff 
— possessed the type of manhood, those quali- 
ties — that took but the opportunity to bring 
out, and rose step by step from the ranks. On 
Oct. 27, 1863, young Rice was commissioned a 
captain and assigned to Company K, 7th Regi- 
ment of United States Colored Troops. He 
so served until March 4, 1864, when he was 
ordered to Hilton Head, S. C, thence to Jack- 
sonville, Fla., which point he reached about 
the close of the month. Here he was pros- 
trated by an attack of rheumatic fever, from 
which he did not recover until the following 
October. Meanwhile his regiment was trans- 
ferred to the State of Virginia, where he 
joined it after an enforced absence of three 
months. He was then shortly thereafter de- 
tailed with his company provost guard of the 
headquarters of Major General Weitzel. Some 
montlis thereafter he was appointed acting 
assistant inspector general, 1st Brigade, 2d 
Division, 25th Army Corps, and in the spring 
of 1865 his division was ordered to join the 
Army of the Potomac, and was present at the 
surrender of Lee at Appomattox. On May 24th 
following they were ordered to Texas, and in 
June he was detailed acting assistant inspector 
general of the sub-district of Victoria, and in 
February, 18G6, detailed with the same rank 
to the central district of Texas, with head- 
quarters at San Antonio, the last months serv- 
ing on the staff of Major General Heintzel- 
man. On Oct. 13th of that year the command 
was moved east to Baltimore and there mus- 
tered out of the service. Captain Rice having 



112i 



SOUTHEASTERlSr MASSACHUSETTS 



been breveted major and lieutenant colonel of 
volunteers for meritorious service. 

Returning to New England Colonel Rice 
soon located in the town of Rockland, where 
in 1866 he joined his Ijrother John A. Rice in 
a business partnership carried on under the 
firm style of J. A. & C. L. Rice, as dealers in 
dry goods and similar lines. In 187U a furni- 
ture department was added to the business. 
They gave such attention to their business, and 
so managed their affairs, that they were highly 
prospered. The business so grew that two 
years later, in 1872, it was deemed expedient 
to separate the two branches, John A. holding 
the original dry goods line, and (Jharles L. 
the furniture and carpet department. To this 
the latter added in 1874 an undertaking de- 
partment, establishing some eight years subse- 
quently a branch house in South Weymouth, 
which, however, was discontinued on the ad- 
vent of the electric cars. In 1887 he bouglit 
the stock of E. Y. Morgan & Co. in the Payson 
block and continued the place for three years 
as a branch store. The Phoenix block quarters 
seemed ample enough for the business until 
the middle eighties, when it was found neces- 
sary to add buildings in the rear on Park 
street, i^.everal years later an upholstery de- 
partment was adiled and es].)ecial quarters were 
fitted up for it on Park street, which are still 
in use. In 1890 Colonel Rice moved his busi- 
ness to the Gladstone block, which was built 
especially for him, he designing the general 
plan of the building. At this time C. E. Rice, 
his son, entereil the business, since which time 
it has been conducted under the firm style of 
C. L. Rice & Son. This extensive business 
under the management of Colonel Rice and 
his son, with the vim, enterprise and ambition 
that youth ever inspire, has steadily advanced, 
until to-day it is second to none of the retail 
establishments of Rockland. 

Colonel Rice has ever taken a great interest 
in all movements tending to the advancement 
of Rockland and for the welfare of its people. 
Enterprising and progressive, he has been es- 
pecially interested in everything that would 
tend to increase the importance of the place 
as a business center. He was one of the prime 
movers in the organizing of the Rockland 
Commercial Club. He had for years seen the 
benefit of such an organization to the place 
and kept zealously agitating the same until 
he won out, and when his object was eifected 
he was chosen the first executive officer of the 
olub, sustaining this relation for several years. 
Some idea of the success of this organization 
niav be trained from the comment, at the time 



it celebrated its twenty-fifth anniversary, April 
'40, 1909, that it has had the distinction of 
having a longer continuous existence than 
any other similar organization in the State. 
The silver anniversary celebration, a banquet 
at the opera house, was the occasion of the 
most notable gathering in the history of the 
town. There were more than five hundred 
jjresent. Governor Draper being the guest of 
lionor, and members of the General Court and 
representatives of the leading business and 
social organizations of the State were included 
in the number. Colonel Rice, as historian of 
the club, was called upon for an historical 
sketch, the greater part of which we quote, as 
showing the important work done by an or- 
ganization in which he has been interested, 
heart and soul, from its infancy. That his 
judgment in regard to its importance to the 
town was not at fault may be gathered from 
a ]K'rupal. 

"'As the first president of the Rockland 
Commercial Club, I have been asked to give 
yoti a historical sketch on this, its twenty-fifth 
anniversary. I adopted Rockland as my hope 
rorty-threc years ago. At that time in three 
fourths of a mile of the most thickly settled 
])art of the town, the houses and vacant lots 
were enclosed or separated from the street by 
the old-fashioned straight-rail fence. 

"Ten vcars before the organization of this 
club I procured a copy of the by-laws of the 
Brockton Board of Trade and made an effort 
to interest our citizens in forming a similar 
organization in Rockland. Not being success- 
ful in creating the enthusiasm I had expected, 
the matter was dropped until a literary club, 
composed of Judtre Kelley, J. S. Smith, J. B. 
Poole, C. Burleigh Collins, Lawrence Donovan 
and others, was convinced that there was need 
of something beside literary work, and they 
invited half a dozen or more of us to meet 
with them at the Sherman House. After a 
banquet and a bi'ief discussion of the matter, 
a temporary business organization was effected, 
with myself as president, and the literary or- 
ganization passed out of existence. 

"It was urged that Commercial Club might 
be considered the more democratic name, and 
that all classes would be more likely to join 
than if it were called a Board of Trade. We 
spent some days in soliciting members and 
tlicn formed a jjermanent organization with 
between sixty and seventy charter members. 

"At the fir.st meeting after organizing, a 
committee was chosen to present the question 
of a better water supply for the town. At 
subsequent meetings we had guests from 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1125 



Abington, Xortli Abiugton, Whitman and 
Weymouth to fontiuue the di^ic■ussion with us. 
A committee was chosen to petition the gelect- 
meu to call a town meeting to consider the 
matter. The agitation was continued in the 
club and by the townspeople until early in 
18bt), when Rockland and Abington united 
and voted to establisli the present system of 
taking water from Big Sandy Pond. This 
jiartially detailed account of our work in in- 
troducing into our town one of the purest 
water supplies in the State indicates how we 
brought about many other things that I will 
only mention as having been accomplished. 

"In September, 1884, at a special meeting, 
it was voted to raise $4,000 for building a 
factory and establishing the business of tack 
manufacturing, the money to be refunded at 
a specified time, which was done. 

"On Feb. 24, 1885, the town meeting war- 
rant was first discussed by the club, and the 
last one was considered in February, 1909. 

"Through the elTorts of the club, $1,000 was 
contributed as an inducement for the Rubber 
Goring Company to purchase the old skating 
rink and establish its business there. 

"The movement to establish a national bank 
met with a ready response, individuals sub- 
scribing the amount of capital stock required. 
"A movement for a fund for a soldiers' 
memorial resulted in raising about $2,000 
within a short time, for which much credit is 
due Judge Kelley. 

"In 1887 the amount of stock asked for to 
tenable a company to establish a gas plant was 
subscribed, but a move to form an Electric 
Light Company in Abington and Rockland 
led to the giving up of the gas plant and the 
establishing of the present electric light and 
power plant. 

"In 1889, $1,500 was raised by subscription 
to induce B. A. Burrell to transfer his shoe 
business to Rockland, which he did. 

"Discussing the matter of public buildings, 
the club expressed itself by vote, as the sense 
of the meetin«r, that the Rockland Savings 
Bank build a brick block, which was done in 
1891. 

"In 1891 Rockland and Abington, after 
much discussion of electric roads, decided upon 
nearly the present system.. Early in the fol- 
lowing year, Judge Kelley assured us that an 
electric street railway would be, a reality by 
fall. During the same year $20,500 was raised 
by subscription to build a plant for Chipman 
& Calley. The factory is now occupied by Rice 
& Hutchins, who have made several additions 
to the original building. 



"In July, 1894, the club carried out plans 
for an extensive trades display. 

"In 1896, a new sciiool house was discussed, 
and a little later the high school building at 
Howard and Church streets was built. 

"After Miss Angela W. Collins got the 
promise of $12,000 from the Carnegie fund for 
a new library building, the question of com- 
bining the memorial funds was discussed, and 
it continued to be an interesting subject until 
the present building was decided upon. 

"1904, the subject of a new depot was again 
taken up and continued by a good working 
committee on transportation until we were 
provided with our ])resent commodious quar- 
ters. We are glad to recognize Vice President 
and General Manager Byrnes, who is with us 
to-night, as entitled to our best thanks for this 
work in giving it to us. 

"We used our influence in inducing the 
Fred Thompson Blacking Company to trans- 
fer its business from Boston to its present 
plant on Grove street. 

"In 1905, the Emerson Shoe Company of 
Brockton was influenced to locate in Rockland. 
In this case President A. W. Donovan seemed 
to be a committee of one who managed the 
undertaking. 

"Through the influence of the club, a gas 
company has been organized to supply the 
towns of Rockland, Abington, Whitman and 
Weymouth. It is expected that the plant will 
be located in Rockland. 

"Savings bank, life insurance and the in- 
spection of electric wires have been discussed 
the past year. The club has recently instruct- 
ed the committee on new business to consider 
ways and means for building a modern shoe 
factory. The transportation committee has 
helped in arranging for trains, local freight, 
etc. The question of exterminating the gypsy 
and brown-tail moths has been considered at 
length. There has also been a vast amount of 
wofk and discussion on other matters, from 
which we expect fruitage in the future." 

Colonel Rice has long been an active mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church at Rock- 
land : served some twenty-five and more years 
as chairman of the board of trustees of the 
church ; and for a quarter of a century and 
more has taught one class in the Sunday 
school. W'hen the church edifice was destroyed 
by fire, in July, 1890, he rendered valuable 
service in .securing the erection of another 
house of worship, and was chosen chairman of 
the building committee, and in this new edi- 
fice is seen the result of his zeal, energy, busi- 
ness ability and enterprise, for the structure 



il26 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



is a most admirable specimen of the modern 
church edifice, upon which was expended but 
little less than $40,000. 

Colonel Rice has filled a wide sphere of use- 
fulness in his community. He is greatly es- 
teemed as a citizen of worth, an honorable 
business man and whole-souled Christian gen- 
tleman. His political affiliations have been 
with the Republican party. He is a promi- 
nent figure in the Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic, having been a charter member and active 
in organizing Hartsuff Post, No. 74, of Rock- 
land, of which lie was the first commander 
and in which he has filled other positions. He 
is also a member of John Cutler Lodge, A. F. 
& A. M., at Abington. 

On Nov. 7, 1865, Colonel Rice was mar- 
ried to Hattie E. Perry, a native of Lanchester, 
N. H., daughter of Rev. David Perry, an able 
divine and worthy man, who accepted a charge 
when threescore and ten years of age, and died 
literally "in the harness"' at seventy-three, in 
Falmouth, Mass. Seven children were born 
to Colonel and Mrs. Rice, viz. : Julia Perry, 
born March 20, 1867, married George \V. 
Wakefield and resides in Minneapolis, Minn. : 
Clarence E. was born Aug. 4, 1869 ; David 
Perry was born Sept. 26, 1871 ; Mary L., born 
Sept". 3, 1873, married Frank A. Sheldon and 
resides in Rockland ; Cora Hodges, born April 
11, 1876, married Percy E. Mann and resides 
in New York : Hattie Adele, born Sept. 9, 
1878, married Perry L. Burrell, of Rockland; 
Charles LaForest was born Nov. 13, 1879. 

(VIII) Clarence E. Rice, son and partner 
of Col. Charles L. Rice, was born in Roekland, 
then East Abington, Aug. 4, 1869, and edu- 
cated in the public schools there, gradiiating 
from the high .school in 1888. He then took a 
commercial course at the business college of 
Bryant & Stratton, in Boston, graduating 
from that institution in 1889, after which he 
entered the employ of his father, with whom 
he continued as an emjiloyee until 1900. when 
he became a member of the firm. He is gen- 
eral manager and has displayed distinctive 
ability. Like his father he is identified with 
many interests outside of business which go 
to make up the life of the community. He is 
a member of the I. O. 0. F. at Rockland and 
of the Encampment, is a prominent member 
of the Commercial Club, of which he is treas- 
urer, and has taken a hand in municipal 
politics as a member of the Republican town 
committee for several years. He is a member 
of the Congregational Church, and has long 
been prominent in the Sunday school as a 
teacher; for four years he was superintendent. 



On April 12, 1892, Mr. Rice married Sarah 
E. Tolman, daugliter of Charles Tolman, of 
Hanover, Mass., and they have had five chil- 
dren, born as follows : Thornton Perry, born 
Oct. 17, 1893 (died Aug. 27, 1895) ; Louise 
Tolman, June 5, 1896 ; Miriam Perry, Jan. 
30, 1903; Elizabeth, Mav 8, 1906; Eleanor 
Winston, May 20, 1909. 

(VlII) David Perry Rice, son of Col. 
Charles L. Rice, born Sept. 26, 1871, was 
reared at Rockland and received his early edu- 
eation there in the public schools, graduating 
from the high school. Going to Minneapolis, 
Minn., he^ attended the Miimesota University, 
and on his return to New England entered the 
Hartford Theological Seminary, later finish- 
ing his course at Yale University. He 
preached for a short time, but soon took up 
the study of law, entering the Boston Law 
School, from which he was graduated. After 
practicing for a time in Rockland he went 
West in 1907, and is now in that section, 
devoting himself to legal practice, in Seattle, 
Wash. He is unmarried. 

(VIII) Charles LaForest Rice, youngest son 
of Col. Charles L. Rice, was born Nov. 13, 
1879, and received liis education in the pifblic 
and high schools of Rockland. He is un- 
married and is engaged as a salesman in New 
York. 

BAKER (Fall River family). The Fall 
River family bearing the name of Baker, the 
head of which is Deacon Charles A. Baker, 
the South Main street druggist of fifty and 
more years' standing, whose reputation in busi- 
ness and citizenship is mo.st favorably known 
to Fall River and vicinity and whose son is the 
present Charles Lewis Baker, Esq., of Fall 
River, is a branch of the earlier Connecticut 
Baker family whose seat was at Norwich, then 
for over a century in the village and tovt^n of 
Stafford Springs. 

John and Henry Church Raker, brothers, 
of Norwich, Conn., sons of John Baker and 
grandsons of John Baker of Norwich, Conn., 
who was a .soldier in the American army dur- 
ing the Revolution, were the forerunners of the 
family at Stafford Springs in that same State, 
John establishing there in 1808 the present 
general establii^hment of G. H. Baker & Co. 
John was succeeded in ISl.'i by Hcnrv C. Baker, 
and he in turn, in 1852, by Gilbert IL, and 
in 1818 the bnsiness passed into the hands of 
Frank H. and Gilbert S. Baker, who have since 
carried it on. 

From the early source of the Bakers just 
given has come our long-time druggist of Fall 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



iisr 



Eiver, Deacon Charles A. Baker. The family 
liistory ami geijealogy follows. 

John Raker, born Sept. 8, 17uG, died Oct. 
28, 1795, in Stafford. He was a shipbuilder 
and followed his trade at Norwich. He mar- 
ried Hannah Church, who was born Sept. 13, 
1757, and died Oct. 2, 1835. Their children 
wete: John, born May 19, 1779; William, 
born May 6, 1781 ; Hannah, born Nov. 25, 
1783; Jacob, born Dec. 17, 1785; Anna Fitch, 
lorn Sept. 1-1. 1790; Henry Church, born Sept. 
11, 1792; Jacob (2), born Sept. 15, 1794. 

Henry Church Baker, son of John, was born 
Sept. 11, 1792, and he died Sept. 21, 1851. 
On Nov. 28, 1816, he married Eunice Kings- 
ley, who was born Dec. 10, 1796, and died 
Dec. 22, 1879. To this union came eight chil- 
dren: William Kingsley, born Sept. 25, 1817, 
died in May, 1897, was a prominent manu- 
facturer in Springfield, Mass. ; three sons, 
iDorn, respectively, April 15, 1819, May 28, 
1820, and June 2, 1822, died in infancy; Henry 
Clinton, born July 14, 1823, died Feb. 17, 
1841; Gilbert Huntington, born Nov. 27, 1826, 
•died Julv 25, 1887; Alpheus Eugene, born 
April 3, 1830, died April 14, 1849; and 
Charles Andrew, born Feb. 17, 1833, is men- 
tioned in full below. The mother of this 
family was a daughter of Alpheus Kingsley, of 
ihe town of Franklin, Conn., who died in 1850, 
at the age of eighty years. He was of English 
•origin, his ancestors having come from Eng- 
land to this country and with others settled in 
the town of Norwich, New London Co., Con- 
necticut. 

CirARLEs A. Baker, son of Henry Church 
and Eunice (Kingsley) Baker, was born Feb. 
17, 1833, at Stafford' Springs, Conn. He ac- 
quired his education in the public schools of 
Tiis native town and at the Monson (Mass.) 
Academy. His initiation to the drug business 
was in the drug department of the general 
store of C. H. Grant, at Stafford Springs. 
He remained with Mr. Grant two years, then 
went to Hartford and entered as drug clerk 
the establishment of John H. Pitkin, and after 
a time went thence to Boston, where he entered 
the employ of Joseph T. Brown, the widely- 
"known and successful druggist of that city. 
Later on and in Boston Mr. Baker went into 
the drug business on his own account, his 
store being located on Harrison avenue. He 
did not believe in keeping his store open on 
the Sabbath, which seemed to be necessary if 
"he continued where he was, and owing to this 
and the state of his health he concluded to 
go elsewhere, which resulted in his establishing 
himself at Fall River, to which point he came 



in 1858. Here he opened a drug store at No. 
t;7 South Main street, and here he continued 
doing business until February, 1911, when he 
retired. It goes without saying that a man of 
Mr. Baker's close attention to business, one 
of his careful management, enterprise and busi- 
ness foresight, was not in business at that one 
point all of those fifty-three years for naught. 
He is one of the substantial men of Fall Eiver. 
And to his credit be it said that his store for 
general business was always closed on Sundays. 

Mr. Baker was one of the first members of 
the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy at Bos- 
ton. He has ever taken a deep interest in 
church and Sunday school work. He has for 
years been a deacon in the Central Congrega- 
tional Church at Fall River. 

In November, 1857, Mr. Baker married Me- 
lissa D. Harding, of Boston, who died March 
16, 1911. To them came two children: Mary 
A. and Charles Lewis. 

Charles Lewis Baker, son of Charles A. 
and Melissa D. (Harding), was born Aug. 22, 
1862, in Fall River, Mass. He was reared in 
his native city, and there attended the public 
and high schools, being prepared for college 
in the latter. Entering Brown University, he 
was graduated therefrom in 1884, with the 
degree of A. B., and in 1887 his alma mater 
conferred upon him the degree of A. M. Hav- 
ing decided on the law as a calling in life he 
passed two years in preparing for it at the 
Boston Law School, and after completing the 
course of study there was admitted to the Bris- 
tol bar at New Bedford, Mass., in June, 1888. 
Since then he has been actively engaged in the 
practice of law at Fall River, as senior member 
of the firm of Baker & Thurston. He is a mem- 
ber of the Fall River Bar Association. His 
religious connection is with the Central Con- 
gregational Church. 

CORNELL (Fall River family). For two 
hundred and fifty and more years have lived on 
either side of the line separating the States of 
Rhode Island and Massachusetts in the Ports- 
mouth-Fall River-Tiverton region the posterity 
of Thomas and Rebecca Cornell, he of Hert- 
ford, England, Bo.ston, Mass., and Portsmouth, 
R. I., and for a time also at Throgg's Neck, in 
the State of New York. Mr. Cornell is of 
record at Boston as early as 1638, when, on the 
6th of September, he was licensed an innkeep- 
er. He had land granted him in Portsmouth, 
R. I., in 1641, and in that same year was made 
a freeman of the towTi. He was constable in 
1641 and ensign in 1642 and 1664. For a time 
in 1643 he was at Throgg's Neck, N. Y., but 



1128 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



again returned to Portsmouth. In lo46 he 
was granted 100 acres of land at the further 
side of the Wading river, Portsmouth, and in 
that same year, 164fi, he had a grant of a tract 
of land from the Dutch government of New 
York, now in Westchester county. He was 
commissioner in 1654. 

(I) Thomas Cornell was born in 1595 and 
died in 1655. His wife, whose maiden name 
was Briggs, was born in 1600 and died in 1673. 
From this couple the lineage and family his- 
tory of the special Fall River Cornell family 
it is here the purpose to notice — that of Daniel 
Howland Cornell, Esq., long a leading business 
man and substantial citizen of the Fall River 
region of Massachusetts — is through Thomas 
(2), Stephen, William, Caleb, Gideon, Pardon 
and Godfrey Cornell, which generations in this 
order and in detail follow. 

(II) Thomas Cornell (2), son of Thomas, 
was twice married, the second time to Sarah 
Earle. He is of record at Portsmouth, E. I., 
in 1655, in March of which year he is styled 
Thomas Cornell, Jr., when with others he was 
appointed to prize land and buildings. He was 
granted land in 1657. He was several times 
deputy to the General Assembly between 1664 
and 1672. He was, with others, appointed to 
audit accounts in the Colonies. His death oc- 
curred May 23, 1673. It appears by the rec- 
ords that he left four sons by the first wife, 
and three children, daughters, by the second, 
the sons being: Thomas, born in 1657, who 
married Susanna Lawton ; Stephen, born in 
1656 : and John, who married Hannah Smith 
( ?), of Hempstead. 

(III) Stephen {Cornell, son of Thomas (2), 
horn in 1656, in Portsmouth, R. I., married 
Hannah, daughter of Hugh and Rebecca 

(Handel) Mosher. Mr. Cornell was admitted 
a freeman in 1688. His children were: Wil- 
liam is mentioned below; Stephen married 
Ruth Pierce ; Edward married Susanna Wil- 
cox ; John married Sarah Sherman ; Richard, 
born Jan. 28, 1701-02, married Content 
l-^rownell; Elizabeth married Richard Sisson; 
James married Abigail Tripp. 

(IV) William Cornell, son of Stephen, mar- 
ried Mehetabel, born July 22. 1684. daughter 
of Thomas Fish. He died in 1755. Their 
children were: Benjamin, horn Nov. 13, 1711; 
George, born Dec. 15. 1713; Caleb, born March 
24, 1716; Rebecca, born March 9, 1718, who 
married Recompense Kirby; Joseph, born Dec. 
8, 1720, who married (first) Deborah Allen; 
Daniel, bom Sept. 17, 1727, who married 
Elizabeth Allen ; Alse or .Alice, born March 14. 
1726, who married Peleg Gifford ; and 



Mary, born June 8, 1728, who married Isaac 
Gifford. 

(V) Caleb Cornell, son of William, born 
March 24, 1716, married Dele, daughter of 
Jonathan Gifl:ord, and lived in Dartmouth. 
He died in 1756, and she Oct. 12, 1774. Their 
children were : Gideon, born Feb. 5, 1746; (ioved, 
born May 27, 1748, who married Elizabeth 
Almy; Joseph; William ; J erathmel, and Else. 

(VI) Gideon Cornell, son of Caleb, born 
Feb. 5, 1746, married Elizabeth Tucker, and 
they were residents of Dartmouth, Mass. He 
died June 21, 1825, in Foster. She died Nov. 
12, 1801), aged sixty-five years. Their children 
were: Godfrey, born Nov. 5, 1771; Cory, born 
May 18, 1773; Pardon, born Sept. 17, 1774; 
Jerathmel ; and Else, who married Adam Case. 

(VII) Pardon Cornell, son of Gideon, born 
Sept. 17, 1774, married (first) Anna Case (?) 
and (second) Lydia, born March 8, 1781, 
daughter of John and Mercy ( ?) Wing. He 
died Jan. 3, 1859, and she passed away April 
9, 1853. His children were : Phebe, born Sept. 
21, 1800, who married Ellery Brownell; God- 
frey, born Nov. 4, 1802 ; Joseph W., born Oct. 
26," 1804; Mercy W.. born Jan. 29, 1807, who 
married Charles Allen ; Elizabeth, born May 
29, 1812, who married William R. Slocum ; 
Lydia, born Dec. 6, 1813, who died unmarried; 
Gideon, born Dec. 6, 1815; and Alfred, born in 
1821. 

(VIII) Godfrey Cornell, son of Pardon, 
born Nov. 4, 1802, married (first) Feb. 22, 
1825, Abigail, born 13th of 12th month, 1785, 
daughter of Isaac and Mary (Smith?) How- 
land, he a descendant of Henry Howland 
through Zoeth, Benjamin, Isaac and Benjamin 
Howland. By this union there was one son, 
Joshua, now deceased, who married Angeline 
Wood, of Westport. He married (second) 
July 2, 1829, Thursy or Theresa Howland, 
born in March, 1810, daughter of Daniel and 
Sarah (Wood) Howland, of Dartmouth, he 
a direct descendant of Henry Howland 
through Zoeth. Nicholas and Daniel Howland. 
The children of this union were: Daniel How- 
land, born Feb. 4, 1830; Pardon, born Oct. 25, 
1831; Godfrey; John W., born April 15, 1834, 
who was a whaling captain, and died in New 
Bedford ; Abigail, who married W^illiam 
Macomber (both are deceased) ; Sarah, who 
married Isaac Macomber; Gideon, who resides 
at Westport ; Edwin, who makes his home at 
Adiamsville, R. I. ; and x\ddie A., who married 
Charles E. Kirby (deceased), and lives at 
Westport. 

(IX) Daniel Howland Cornkll, son of 
Godfrey and Theresa (Howland) Cornell, was 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1129 



born Feb. 4, 1830, in Dartmoutli. Mass., where 
his childhood was passed, tlie family removing 
to Westport wiien he was about six years of 
age. His father, being a man of ail'airs and 
practical, saw that his sou lost little time in 
idleness, as he believed that the road to success 
was along lines of close application. For years 
Daniel assisted his father in the farm work, 
and in 1854 went to New Bedford, where he 
and his brother, Pardon Cornell, engaged in 
the wholesale meat business, in which they 
prospered from the start. This business they 
continued in until in January, 187G, when the 
partnership was dissolved and L)aniel H. Cor- 
nell removed to Fall River. Here he engaged 
in the wholesale meat business on his own ac- 
count, taking his son William C. Cornell into 
business with him. The new hrm prospered 
and extended its quarters from time to time 
until its establishment was known as one of the 
largest in the Fall River section. 

Retiring from the meat business in 1894, 
Mr. Cornell has since occupied his time in real 
estate lines. A man of sterling worth and in- 
tegrity, he has been long held in high esteem 
by all who know him, and in business circles he 
has had the confidence of his associates. He 
is one of the best known men in Fall River and 
is to-day perhaps one of the largest dealers in 
tenement house property in the city. ' He is a 
director of the Cornell, Arkwright and Davis 
Mills in Fall River. 

On March 31, 1853, Mr. Cornell was mar- 
ried to Abby A. Brownell, of Westport, Mass., 
who died Jan. 31, 1881. He married (second) 
Jan. 18, 1882, Emma C. Brownell, of Little 
Compton, R. I., a woman of culture and refine- 
ment, one who enjoys a large circle of friends 
in and about Fall River. She is the daughter 
of the late Ephraim \V. and Sarah (Hicks) 
Brownell, she a daughter of Barney Hicks, a 
patriot and soldier of the Revolution — a man 
noted for his bravery and daring exploits on 
the high seas. Mrs. Sarah (Hicks) Brownell 
was a residant of Adamsville, R. I. ; she was a 
teacher during her younger life, and her mem- 
ory was enriched by the many changes she 
witnessed during her lifetime. Four children 
blessed Mr. Cornell's first marriage, namely : 
(1) William C, \yho died Sept. 28, 1891, mar- 
ried Alida T. Brownell, and they had four 
children: Frederick H., who is deceased; Ger- 
da P., deceased ; Abby A., now the wife of Ed- 
ward B. Sanders, of Seekonk, Mass., who has 
children, Alida C. and Edward B., Jr. ; and 
Linwood B., of Portland, Ore. (2) Arthur D. 
married Phebe Borden and has two children, 
Lucy A. and Mary E. (3) Lester B. married 



Nellie P. Briggs and they have had two chil- 
dren, Elton D. (deceased) and Emma C. (4) 
Winifred M. married J. Bion Richards, and 
has two children, Gerda C. and Paul L. 

The family home of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel 
H. Cornell is on South street, Fall River, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

WILMARTH (Attleboro family). Among 
the early settlers of New England were a num- 
ber bearing the name of Wilmot or Wilmarth. 
According to Baylies, Thomas Wilmot was 
among the proprietors of tlie town of Rehoboth 
in 1645, but Bliss thinks he was not there" so 
early as this. Mr. Wilmot is thought by Sav- 
age to have been the Thomas Wilmot of Brain- 
tree who was one of the petitioners for a grant 
of a plantation on lands of Pumham, 1645, that 
the Indian chief had sold to Gorton and his 
fellow believers. This Thomas Wilmot of Re- 
hoboth, 1645, was then marked senior, leaving 
it certain that a junior was there, and this 
junior was admitted in 1673, as towTisman. 
Thomas, Jr., had children : Thomas, born July 
7, 1675; Elizabeth, born Sept. 1, 1676; Mary, 
born Dec. 28, 1678; Mehetabel, born March 4, 
1681 ; and Ann, born Aug. 22, perhaps 1683. 

On the list of freemen of Rehoboth in 1658, 
appear the names of Thomas Wilmot, Sergt. 
Thomas Wilmarth and John and Jonathan 
Wilmouth. The names of John and Jonathan 
Wilmarth appear on the list of the proprietors 
and inhabitants of Rehoboth of February, 1689. 
Of these John married Feb. 6, 1671, Ruth Ken- 
drick, and Jonathan married Dec. 29, 1684, 
Esther, born Jan. 7, 1658, daughter of John 
Peck and granddaughter of Joseph Peck, the 
emigrant ancestor who came from Hingham, 
England, to this country in 1638, stopping first 
at Hingham, Mass., thence removing to See- 
konk. 

The children of John and Ruth Wilmarth, 
all of Rehoboth town, record according to Ar- 
nold, were: Ruth, Mehetabel, Nathaniel, 
Dorothy, Sarah, John, Mercy, Noah and 
Timothy. The cli,ildren of Jonathan and Es- 
ther, all of Rehoboth town record, according to 
Arnold were: Esther, Rebecca, Daniel, Eliza- 
beth, Jonathan. Margaret, Stephen, Thomas, 
Nathan and Nathaniel. 

Another contemporaneous Wilmarth family 
of Rehoboth with those just named was that 
of Timothy. (a descendant of John and Rutlj) 
and Mary, whose children were: Thomas, 
Elizabeth, Mary, Mehetabel, Anne, Thomas 
(2), Samuel and Abijah. Timothy removed to 
Rhode Island and became the founder of the 
Glocester (R. I.) family. 



1130 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



The town of Attleboro was formed in 1694 
from Relioboth, North Purchase territory, and 
according to Daggett there went from Re- 
hoboth to the new town about 1708 Thomas 
Wilmarth, a grandson of the first Thomas Wil- 
mot of Rehoboth. The Attleboro Thomas was 
selectman much of the time for twenty-five 
years through the latter first half of the eight- 
eenth century. He was first chosen for the 
Tear 1728. He held that office in 1739, 1730, 
1731, 1732, 1733, 1735, 1736, 1737, 1738, 
1739, 17J:0, 1744. 1745, 1746, 1747, 174.S. 
1749, 1750 and 1751. He was town clerk in 
1747. Thomas married Deborah Peck, and 
iheir children, all born between 1709 and 1728, 
■were: Thomas, Deborah, Elizabeth, Anne, 
Ebenezer and Eliphalet. Three of the sons of 
Jonathan Wilmarth of Rehoboth, namely, Jon- 
athan, Nathan and Stephen, also settled in 
Attleboro. The name there as in the 
old town, as well as in all that region 
of country, has been a common one and 
the family a continuous one. The Wilmarth 
family of this region, too, have played well their 
part in the development of the country and the 
towns and cities that have sprung up here. 
The records show that the two Thomas Wil- 
marths were among the settlers of Rehoboth 
who advanced money to aid in carrying on the 
campaign against the Indians known as King 
Philip's war ; and Jonathan and Nathaniel 
Wilmarth were among those who took part in 
the Narragansett Expedition, 1675-76. The 
family was well represented in the struggle for 
Independence and in the great Civil strife be- 
tween the North and South. 

It was from this stock of Wilmarths that 
sprang the inventor the late Seth Wilmarth, 
the Pawtuckct machinist, who in the middle 
of the nineteenth century became master me- 
chanic of the Charlestown Na\'y yard and dur- 
ing his term of some twenty years service there 
. made many valuable improvements in various 
departments, the most important being the 
large planer and the great lathe in the machine 
shop, which were then the largest of their kind 
in the world, both bearing his name as inventor. 
His various patents numbered about twenty. 
Lemuel Everett Wilmarth, the celebrated art- 
ist, was also born at Attleboro. 

Attleboro, too. was the home of the late 
Daniel Wilmarth, a descendant of Jonathan 
and Esther (Peck). His father was Jonathan, 
his grandfather was Captain Moses. For a 
period he occupied the old Claflin homesteaa 
on the road from East Attleboro to North Attle- 
boro. He was a man whose make-up had in 
it considerable independence of character, one 



who thought much and formed opinions, one de- 
cided and fixed in his opinions — just such a 
man as one ever knows where he stands, one 
calculated to be of good service in his com- 
munity — such surely was this man. Daniel 
Wilmarth was one of the substantial men of 
Attleboro. While fixed in his opinions he was 
tolerant of the opinions of others and ever 
courteous. His advice was often sought. Of 
a musical turn and ever interested in music, 
he rendered assistance to the choir of the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church, both in service 
and money. 

Mr. Wilmarth was born Dec. 7, 1799, in the 
town of Rehoboth. He was twice married, 
marrying first Patty, daughter of Noah 
Claflin. His second wife was Susan, widow 
of Howard Mann of Wrentham, Mass. In 
later life he removed from the farm to the 
town of East Attleboro, where he died July 
27, 1887, at the advanced age of eighty-seven 
years, seven months and twenty days. 

William Daniel Wilmarth, only son of 
Daniel and Patty (Claflin) Wilmarth, was born 
July 10, 1837, on the farm where his boyhood's 
youth and early manhood were passed. In 
1864 he became associated in the coffin trim- 
ming business with Dr. J. R. Bronson in Attle- 
boro. the latter having previously purchased the 
business from another. These men carried the 
l)usiness on together for four years, when Mr. 
Wilmarth purchased his partner's interest and 
continued alone until the time of his death. 

As a business man Mr. Wilmarth adhered to 
the principles which build patiently, steadily 
and surely. He did business on the square, 
taking no stock in the complaint that the times 
were such as to render it impossible to do busi- 
ness honestly without bankrupting one. He 
ever in his transactions cherished the welfare 
of others. He was thoughtful of and generous 
to his employees. He was ever ready to lend 
a helping hand to the young men who were 
struggling hard to get along. A man of in- 
domitable energy and 'letermination, with a 
sound sagacious mind, of clear, careful judg- 
ment, a man of scrupulous rectitude in his de- 
])ortment and his dealings, he exercised a 
"powerful influence on the side of right and 
public good." He was in truth and in earnest 
a public-s]iirited man. Very modest and un- 
assuming, he never courted or desired public 
advancement, but instead was ever pushing 
others forward. He was so quiet in his man- 
ners and ways that his strong forcible per- 
sonality was hardly apparent. He did things. 
He was one of the most active men of the East 
Village after taking up his residence there, in 



SOUTin^A STERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1131 



all public improvements, lie was a prime 
mover and an energetic worker in obtaining 
the water works there. He was urgent in ob- 
taining improvements in the tire department, 
in having the streets properly curbed and 
lighted, and in advancing all matters of public 
health and comfort. He was liberal in all 
educational affairs and served as trustee of the 
Eichardson School Fund. 

As a boy of seventeen Mr. Wilmarth began 
playing the organ in church and not long after 
was in charge of the choir and for some twenty 
years he was in full charge of the music at the 
Second Congregational Church at Attleboro. 
He spared neither time nor money to make the 
music of the church worthy one of its size and 
influence. 

On May 5, 1857, Mr. Wilmartli married S. 
Josephine Mann, daughter of Howard and 
Susan Ide Mann, of Wrentham, Mass. To 
them were born several children. 

Mr. Wilmarth died at his home in Attleboro, 
Mass., March 6, 1881. He had filled well the 
■duties of true manhood and loyal citizenship, 
and many were the expressions of the great 
loss the community had sustained in his death. 
Said one of his fellow-citizens, a man of large 
business experience: "Mr. Wilmarth was one 
of the ablest business men with whom I was 
acquainted." Said another: "No man could 
die here who would be more missed." 

Among the resolutions passed after his de- 
cease was the following by the trustees of the 
Eichardson School Fund : 

Resolved. That the community in which he lived 
has lost a neighbor just and conscientious in all his 
dealings with others — one who was active in pro- 
moting the interest and prosperity of this village, and 
especially interested in sustaining its various institu- 
tions ; and thus we mourn the departure of an honor- 
able and worthy citizen, one who will be long remem- 
bered in the business circles of this town. 

ALTON B. HASTINGS, senior member of 
the firm of A. B. Hastings & Son, bakers and 
confectioners of Brockton, Plymouth Co., 
Mass., has proved to be a most enterprising 
business man during the more than twenty 
years of his residence in that place. He has 
built up a thriving trade, and has acquired 
other interests in Brockton and elsewhere, hav- 
ing placed himself in an independent position 
by his own efforts. 

Mr. Hastings is a native of Maine, born 
March 21, 1857, in Thomaston. Knox county, 
in which vicinity his grandfather settled. The 
name Hasting or Hastings is one of the old- 
est of surnames : it is older than the Norman 
Conquest in England. The castle and seaport 



(if Hastings were owned by the family that 
adopted this surname as early as 911, before 
the Normans were in (iaul. The name is of 
Danish origin. Jn one of the early incursions 
made by the Danes upon tliat part of England 
and Scotland bordering upon the North sea, 
a Danish chief made himself formidable to 
Alfred the Great by landing a large body of 
men upon the coast. He took possession of a 
portion of Sussex, and the castle and seaport 
were held by the family from the crown for 
many generations, and when William the Con- 
ipieror landed in England, 1066, he found 
them in possession. It is believed they settled 
here as early as 871 A. D. ' The family estab- 
lished itself in nearly every county of Eng- 
land. 

(I) John Hastings (born in England), aged 
twenty-nine, and his wife Susanna, aged thir- 
tv-four, embarked at Ipswich, England, April 

10, 1634, in the shin "Elizabeth" for New 
I'lio-land. He settled in Watertown, Mass.; 
was admitted a freeman May 6, 1635. He 
was selectman from 1638 to 1643, and from 
1650 to 1671: town clerk in 1671, 1677 and 
1680; deputy to the General Court in 1673, 
and long was deacon. After the death of his 
wife Susanna, f'eb. 2, 1650, he married (sec- 
ond) in April, 1651, Margaret Cheney, daugh- 
ter of William and Martha Cheney, of Rox- 
bury. He died in 1685, aged eighty. His 
children were : Thomas, born July 1, 1652, 
who died July 23, 1712; John, born March 1, 
1654; William, born Aug. 8, 1655, who was 
drowned in August, 1669 ; Joseph, born Sept. 

11, 1657, who died Oct. 7, 1695; Benjamin, 
born Aug. 9, 1659. who died Dec. 18, 1711; 
Nathaniel, born Sept. 29, 1661, who died Dec. 
25, 1694; Hepsibah, horn Jan. 31, 1663; and 
Samuel, born March 12, 1665, who died in 
1723. 

(II) John Hastings (2), son of Deacon 
John, born March 1, 1654, in Watertown, 
Mass., married in 1679 Abigail Hammond, 
born June 21, 1656, daughter of Lieut. John 
and Abigail Hammond. In 1690 her father's 
assessment was the largest in the town, and 
slie received from his estate what in those days 
was considered "quite a property." The home- 
stead of Mr. Hastings was in that part of 
Watertown that became the town of Waltham. 
He died March 28, 1717-18, aged sixty-four. 
She died April 7. 1717-18. aged sixty three. 
Their children were : Abigail, born Dec. 8, 
1679, married John Warren, of Weston; John, 
baptized Dec. 4, 1687. married (first) Susanna 
Bemis and (second) Jan. 8, 1706, Sarah 
Fiske; Elizabeth, baptized Dec. 4, 1687, mar- 



1132 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ried Hopestill Mead; Hepsibah, baptized Dec. 
4, 1687, married (first) Nathaniel Shattuck 
and (second) Benjamin Stearns; William was 
baptized July 13, 16!tO; Samuel, born in 1695, 
is mentioned below ; Thomas, born Sept. 26, 
1697, married Sarah White; Joseph, baptized 
July 10, 1698, married (first) Lydia Brown 
and (second) Sarah Stearns. 

(III) Samuel Hastings, son of John, born 
in 1695, married May 29, 1719. Bethia Hollo- 
way, of Maiden. He was a tailor and resided 
in that part of Watertown now Waltham. He 
was selectman several years. She died in Lex- 
ington June 1. 1771, aged eighty. Children: 
Samuel, born March 30, 1721, who married 
Lvdia Tidd; Thaddeus, born Oct. 15, 1723; 
Mary, born Dec. 15, 1725; Abigail, born 
March 7, 1728, who married Samuel Brooks, 
of Medfield; Abijah, born May 9. 1730, who 
married Martha Insraham ; Philemon, born 
April 2, 1732, who removed to Vermont; 
Anna, born March 8, 1734; and Martha, born 
March 23, 1736. 

(IV) Thaddeus Hastings, son of Samuel, 
bom Oct. 15, 1723. married March 29, 1763, 
Mary Stratton. He settled in Lexington, 
where he and his wife died, leaving two young 
sons, who left town, one being Thaddeus by 
name. 

(V) Thaddeus Hastings (2), son of Thad- 
deus, became a resident of Union Common, 
near Thomaston, in the State of Maine. He 
married Hannah Vaughan, of Carver, Mass. 
Among their children was a son Thaddeus 
Matthew. 

(VI) Thaddeus Matthew Hastings, son of 
Thaddeus, born in 1823, died Feb. 23, 1861. 
He grew to manhood at Union Common, 
Maine, his native place, and received his edu- 
cation in the local school. He learned the 
trade of carpenter, which he followed through- 
out life, also engaging in farming. He made 
his home in Thomaston, where he died while 
still in the prime of life, and was buried there. 
On Jan. 10, 1853, Mr. Hastings married 
Abby 0. Trull, daughter of John B. Trull. 
After Mr. Hastings's death she became the 
wife of William Sawyer, and they reside at 
Peabody, Mass. Mr. and Mrs. Hastings had 
three children: Caroline T., born Ajiril 12. 
1854, married C. F. Hathaway and resides in 
Cambridge, Mass. ; Alton B. is mentioned be- 
low; Samuel Everett, born in I860, died 
voung. 

(VII) Alton B. Hastings attended the 
schools of Bath, Maine, where he removed with 
his mother after his father's death, and at the 
age of sixteen years shipped as a sailor before 



the mast on tiie "Northampton," a full-rigged 
ship commanded by ('aptain Murphy, engaged 
in the merchant service. Later he shipped on 
the "Caledonia," Captain Stinson, engaged in 
the same service, and he was second mate on 
this vessel, which plied between New Orleans- 
and Havre, France. The next vessel upon 
which he was mate was the "Scotia," sailing 
from New Orleans to San Francisco, around 
the Horn. After giving up marine life he 
returned to his old home and entered the 
employ of George Moulton, in a machine and 
repair shop at Bath, Maine, remaining there- 
one year, after which he accepted a position 
as stationary engineer with G. P. Richardson, 
in his mill, where he was employed for some 
time. He was next engajred by Hobart & 
Hathaway, bakers, of Bath. Maine (Mf. Hath- 
away being his brother-in-law), for whom he 
drove team and did various work for a year, 
when Mr. Hathaway retired from the firm and 
Mr. Hastings assumed charge of the business 
for Mr. Hobart, continuing another year as 
manager. He then engaged in the business on 
his own account, buying a bakery in Bath 
which he conducted for -everal months, finally 
selling out to Mr. Hobart. Removing to Mar- 
blehead, Essex Co., Mass., Mr. Hastings 
opened a bakery for his brother-in-law, C. F. 
Hathaway, which he carried on successfully 
for three years, until 1;he establishment was 
destroyed by fire. In 1889 he came to Brock- 
ton, where he has since been located. Opening- 
a store and bakery on Perkins avenue, in 
Campello, he prospered so steadily from the 
very beginning that five years later he was 
able to erect a new building, extending from 
Perkins avenue to Market street, containing a 
bakery, stores, etc. His business has now at- 
tained such proportions that he gives employ- 
ment rep-ularly to over sixty hands, and fifteen 
deliven' teams are required to distribute the 
product, which is sold throughout Brockton 
and in the surrounding towns. In 1896 Mr. 
Hastings opened a store on Main street, oppo- 
site the "Belmont Hotel." The confectionery 
branch of his business is one of considerable 
importance. The number of his employees 
gives a fair indication of the growth of the 
business, which has been brought about by the 
most careful management and satisfaetoiy 
products which win i-usiom wherever they are 
introduced. In 1908 Mr. Hastings took bis 
son Arthur C. into the business as partner, 
the firm being A. B. Hastings & Son. Mr. 
Hastings has a high reputation for business 
probitv as well as for ability. In addition to 
bis main interest he has become interested to 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1133 



some extent iu real estate in Broekton, and 
lie is a stockholder, director and president of 
the Best Baking Company, a Boston corpora- 
tion. 

On March 21, 1881, Mr. Hastings married, 
at Bath, Maine, Laura A. Cushman, wIkj was 
born in Maine, daughter of Job 8. and Mary 
Ann (Carvell) Cushman. They have had a 
family of live children. (1) Arthur C., born 
April 22, 1884, was educated in the common 
and high schools of Brockton and when ready 
to commence work entered the employ of his 
father, learning all the details of the business, 
in which he is now interested as junior part- 
ner. He is a young man of enterprising and 
progressive ideas, and has proved an able 
assistant. He is a prominent member of the 
Masonic organization, having attained the 
thirty-second degree, and is identified with the 
Republican party in politics. (2) Alice M., 
horn Jan. 2. 1886. attended the common and 
high schools in Brockton, and Mount Ida 
Seminary, of Newton, Mass., where she was 
graduated in 1903. She was for a time en- 
gaged as assistant teacher in- the Girls' School 
on Arlington street, Boston. She married 
June 28, 1911, Clinton J. Porter, Jr., of 
Bowling Green, Ky., and they reside in Brock- 
ton. (3) Carolyn B., born April 28, 1889, 
received the same educational advantages as 
her sister, graduating from Mount Ida Semi- 
Jiary in 1908, after which she took a course in 
domestic science at the Garland School in 
Boston. (4) Edna !{., born Nov. 4, 1891, 
received her education in the Brockton schools, 
gi-aduating from the high school in 1911, and 
is now a student at Miss Wheelock's School, 
Boston. (.5) Alton B., Jr., born June 18, 
1897, is a student in the Brockton high school. 
The family attend the South Congregational 
Church. Mrs. Hastings is a member of the 
Woman's Cli;b of Brockton. Mr. Hastings is 
a member of St. George Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
of Campello. He is a Republican in political 
sentiment, but takes no part in party affairs 
or public matters beyond the interest which 
every good citizen feels in the general welfare. 



Cushman. The Cushman family, to which 
Mrs. Hastings belongs, is one of old standing 
and prominence in the annals of New Eng- 
land. Her line is traced back to Robert Cush- 
man, the first of the name to emigrate from 
the Old World, from whom she is a descendant 
in the ninth generation. We have the follow- 
ing record : 

(I) Robert Cushman, a wool carder, who 
was of Canterbury, England, was married at 



Leyden, Holland, June 3, 1617, to Mary, widow 
of Thomas Chingleton, of Sandwich, England, 
He was associated with William Brewster a3 
agent of the Leyden Church in negotiations 
for removal. He came to New England in 
the "Fortune," in 1621, bringing with him 
his only son, Thomas. He returned to Eng- 
land on business of the Colony, and died there 
in 1626. He left his son Thomas in the care 
of Governor Bradford. 

(II) Thomas Cushman, son of Robert, born, 
in February, 1608, in England, accompanied 
his father to Plymouth in 1681 in the ship 
"Fortune." He became an important man 
here in church and colony. He married about 
1635 Mary Allerton, of the "Mayflower," 
1620; and they lived together the long period 
of fifty-five years, she surviving him nearly 
ten years. Mr. Cushman was chosen and 
ordained' elder of the Plymouth Church in 
1649, and was forty-three vears in that office. 
He died Dec. 11, 1691. The children of Mr. 
Cushman and wife were : Thomas, born in 
1637; Sarah; Lydia ; Isaac, born in 1647-48; 
Elkanah, born in 16.51; Fear, born in 1653; 
Eleazer, born in 1656-57; and Mary. 

(III) Thomas Cushman (2), son of Elder 
Thomas, bom Sept. 16, 1637, married (first) 
Nov. 17, 1663, Ruth Howland, daughter of 
John, of the "Mayflower," 1620, and (second) 
Oct. 16, 1679, Abigail Fuller, of Rehoboth. 
Mr. Cushman lived on the west side of the 
highway that leads from Plympton meeting- 
house to the north part of the town, and "Col- 
chester Brook" ran through his farm. He 
died Aug, 23, 1726, aged eighty-nine, and his 
remains were interred in the Centre burying 
ground in Plympton. His children were: 
Robert, born Oct. 4, 1664: Job, born probably 
about 1680; Bartholomew, born in 1684; 
Samuel, born July 16, 1687; and Benjamin, 
born in 1691. 

(IV) Robert Cushman (2), son of Thomas 
(2), born Oct. 4, 1664, was twice married, 
his first wife, Persis, dying at Kingston Jan. 
14, 1743-44. When about eighty years of age 
he married (second) Prudence Sherman, of 
Marshfield. He died in Kingston Sept. 7, 
1757, aged ninety-two years, eleven months, 
three days. His children were : Robert, born 
July 2, "1698 ; Ruth, born March 25, 1700; 
Abigail, born July 3, 1701 ; Hannah, born 
Dec. 25. 1704: Thomas, born Feb. 14, 1706; 
Joshua, born Oct. 14, 1708; Jonathan, horn 
July 28, 1712. 

(V) Robert Cushman (3), son of Robert 
(5), horn July 2, 1698, married (intentions 
published April 17, 1725) Mary Washburn. 



1134 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



He died about 1751, and by will proved in 
September of that year gave all his property 
to his wife. Their thirteen children were : 
Lydia, born Sept. 29, 1726; Jerusha, born 
Jan. 15, 1727-28; Rebecca, born April 9, 
1730; Mercy, born June 5, 1731; Hannah, 
born July 2, 1732 ; Thankful, born March 10, 
1733-34; Ruth, born Dec. 22, 1735; Abigail, 
born April 3, 1737; Robert, born Oct. 27, 
1738; Elkanaii, born Dec. 29, 1740; Martha, 
born Sept. 14, 1742; Isaac, born March 10, 
1745; and Job, born Jan. 27 and died Jan. 28, 
1750. 

(VI) Robert Cushman (4), son of Robert 
(3), born Oct. 27, 1738, married- in 1759 
Martha Delano. He occupied the old Cush- 
man homestead at Rocky Nook, in Kingston, 
Mass., having purchased the interests therein 
of his brothers and sisters, and there all ex- 
cepting two of his children were born. He 
sold his farm in 1781 and with his family 
removed to Maine, in company with his 
brother Isaac and his family. He died at 
Woolwich, Maine, in 1799. His wife died in 
1820, aged eighty-two years. Their children 
were: Robert, born April 11, 1761; Mercy, 
Dec; 17, 1762; Hopestill, Sept. 2, 1764; 
Joshua, Aug. 26, 1766; Martha, May 12, 
1769; Beza, June 24, 1771 (died young); 
Kenelam, 1773; Job, 1774; Leomisa, 1778; 
and Francis, Dec. 4, 1781. 

(VII) Francis Cushman. son of Robert 
(4), born Dec. 4, 1781. married (first) Dec. 
29, 1803, Betsey McKenney, who died Dec. 
23, 1824, and he married (second) Dec. 19, 
1826, Lydia Honnewell. He lived on the 
homestead of his father in Woolwich, Maine. 
His twenty-two children, eleven born to each 
wife, and in Woolwich, Maine, were: Sarah, 
born Dec. 22, 1804; Martha Delano. April 13, 
1806; Joshua Delano, Nov. 3, 1807; Rebecca, 
Nov. 12, 1809; Susan, Sept. 2. 1811; Francis 
Ford, Jan. 12, 1814; Eliza, Oct. 24, 1815; 
Robert, Nov. 2. 1817 (died Aug. 24, 1819) ; 
Ebenezer, Sept. 7, 1820 (died Sept. 1, 1847) ; 
Adeline. Jan. 28, 1823; Margaret B., Dec. 
10, 1824; Lvdia J., Sept. 13, 1827 (died Dec. 

17, 1829) ; James. Feb. 16, 1829 (died Dec. 
7, 1829) ; James H., May 19, 1830 (died July 

18, 1835) ; Mary 0., March 10, lS32;-Job S., 
March 22, 1833; Sarah Ann. Jiine 23, 1834 
(died Oct. 5. 1840) ; Wales H., May 1, 1836; 
Marcella, Sept. 15, 1837; Lvdia Frances, Feb. 
28, 1839; Llewellyn. May 6, 1841; and 
Wyman B., April 17, 1843. 

(VIII) Job S. Cushm.ax, son of Francis, 
born March 22. 1833. died in 1892. He made 
his home at Arrowsic, Maine, where he fol- 



lowed farming and lumber manufacturing, 
and where he died. He was a man faithful 
to every duty in his various relations, a good 
citizen and deeply beloved in his family. He 
married Mary Ann Edgecomb, widow of Wil- 
liam Carvell, and she survived him several 
years, dying in 1900. Five children were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Cushman: Charles, who 
resides in Boston, Mats. ; Laura A., wife of 
Alton B. Hastings, of Brockton, Mass.; 
Thomas Alvah, who is engaged in the baking 
business at Whitman, Mass.; Joel F., who 
resides in Bath. Maine; and William, who 
lives in Boston, Massachusetts. 

EZRA SCOTT WHITMARSH, a citizen of 
East Bridgewater. who has been associated 
with the life of that town as business man 
and public official almost from the time he 
attained his majority, was born there May 29, 
1858. 

The record of the Whitmarsh family goes 
back to Colonial days, the first of this line of 
whom we have record being John Whitmarsh, 
of Weymouth, Mass., who by his wife Sarah 
had children as follows : Increase, born in 
1655; Ebenezer. May 14, 1658; Simon, May 
11, 1661; a child, whose name is lost on the 
record. Aug. 14. 1663; Zachariah. Sept. 1, 
1667; Judith, Sept. 2, 1669 : Ezra. Oct. 13. 
1670; Jane. Sept. 8. 1675. The father's will 
of 1695 does not name increase, nor Sinioii, 
nor Jane, but to the other children adds John, 
Sarah, Deborah and Ruth, and grandson 
Richard. 

Of these, Ebenezer Wliitmarsh. born May 
14, 1658, married Christian, and their son 
Ebenezer. born March 10. 1688. settled in 
Abington. Mass. He married Elizabeth Dyer, 
and their children of Abington record were: 
Ruth, born June 23. ]718'; Marv, May 17, 
1721; William. Sept. 22, 1723; and Mafthias, 
Sept. 9, 1726. He married (second) April 
3, 1733, Mehetabel Faxon, born in Braintree 
June 14, 1698, daughter of Josiah Faxon, 
granddaughter of Richard Faxon and great- 
granddaughter of Thomas Faxon, a native of 
England, who came to New I^ngland prior to 
1647, the vear in whicli a record is found of 
him in Dedham. 

From the Weymouth Whitmarsh family 
sprang the Abinsrton-East Bridgewater family 
of the name, Jacob Whitmarsh, of Abington, 
marrying in 1751 Hannah, probably daughter 
of Benjamin Shaw, and settling in East 
Bridgewater; and Ijot Whitmarsh. son of 
Ebenezer and nephew of Jacob, also settling 
in East Bridgewater. Lot being the ancestor 



.SOUTHEASTEI! N -M ASSACPIUSETTS 



1135 



of the WliLtinarsh family of this article. He 
was the great-nraiulfather of Frederiek I'oole 
aud Ezra Scott Wliitiiiarsh. He married 
Susanna Pool, of the Abington family of that 
name, and tlieir children were : Thomas, born 
Dec. 27, 1783;' Lot, born in 1796, who mar- 
ried in 1830 Merrill t'orthell : Mary, born in 
17!»8; John, born in 1801 ; Susanna, who mar- 
ried Micah Packard; Olive, born in 1801; 
Ezra, born in 1808 ; and Ebenezor, born in 
1810. 

Ezra Whitmarsh, son of Lot, born Dec. 18, 
1808, in East Bridgewater, died there JuJy 
22, 1880. He followed the grocery business. 
His wife, Lurana (Poole), born in 1812, 
daughter of Noah and Mary (White) Poole, 
of Whitman, died Sept. 29; 1853. Mr. and 
Mrs. Whitmarsh are buried in the Central 
cemetery in East Bridgewater. They had one 
child, Ezra Scott, born Dec. 20, 1832. 

Ezra Scott Whitmarsh, son of Ezra, attend- 
ed the public schools of East Bridgewater, bis 
native town, and also studied at Allen's 
Academy there. Then he joined his fatiier in 
the grocery business, and after the place was 
burned out, in 1858-59, he went in for farm- 
ing and trading in stock. Meantime he de- 
voted his leisure hours to the study of law, 
and in 1879 he was admitted to the bar, from 
that time on engaging in legal practice in 
East Bridgewater. He was a successful, self- 
made man, and won a fine reputation by his 
honorable and useful life. He served in a 
number of public offices, being collector of 
taxes for a number of years, selectman eight 
or nine years, overseer of the poor for about 
the same length of time, and assessor for 
fifteen years. He was a Whig and later a 
Republican in political connection. 

On Jan. 3, 1850, Mr. Whitmarsh married 
Jane Elizabeth Poole, a native of Nantucket> 
daughter of Xoah and Susan (Coffin) Poole, 
and a member of the Abington (now Whit- 
man) Poole family. Her father, born Oct. 5, 
1808, died June "S, 1886 ; her mother, born 
Jan. 15, 1800, died Feb. 21. 1877. Mr. and 
Mrs. Whitmarsh bad four children, all born in 
East Bridgewater: (1) Lura, born Oct. 9, 
1856, died March 28, 1901, in East Bridge- 
water, and is buried in the Central cemetery. 
She married John W. Harden, who is a 
machinist in the employ of the Carver Cotton 
Gin Company, and they have had three chil- 
dren: Annie, born Feb. 21, 1882; Ina, born 
April 4, 1886: and Mary Olive, born Jan. 8, 
1890. (2) Ezra Scott is mentioned below. 
(3) Mary Jane, born April 9, 1860, married 
George L. Jones, a jeweler, of East Bridge- 



water, who conducted a store in (he town until 
his death in June, 1908. (4) Harriett, born 
Jan. 15, 18(!5, married Benjamin Alden, of 
Kockland, iLiss., where he is in the insurance 
business. Tliev have a daughter, Elizabeth F., 
born April 18," 1897. 

ilr. Whitmarsh, the father, died June 14, 
1886, and the mother now resides with her 
son. 

Ezra Scott Whitmarsh, son of Ezra Scott 
and Jane E. (Poole) Whitmarsh, attended 
School in Ills native town, graduating from the 
high school in 1879. At the age of twenty 
years he entered the grocery store of Amos 
Hunting, where he worked about a year, and 
(in April 1, 1881, he bought out the clothing 
and men's furnishings store of E. W. Nutter. 
The place was located on Union street in F]ast 
Bridgewater, and there he remained until 
iiurned out, Dec. 22, 1886. Shortly afterward 
he reopened business in a larger store on Cen- 
•tral street, at wliich stand he continued in 
business, having the principal establishment of 
the kind in the town. He carried a stock of 
men's furnishings, shoes, ready-made clothing, 
etc., and had a steady patronage, having built 
u]> an excellent business during his long career, 
in 1910 he sold out this business to George L. 
Carleton. Mr. Whitmarsh is progressive and 
enterprising, and has engaged in other lines 
of business and acquired other interests, being 
a trustee and for the past several years a mem- 
ber of the board of investment of the East 
Bridgewater Savings Bank. He is also agent 
for the Quincy Fire Insurance Company; and 
he has been an auctioneer since 1887. 

Mr. Whitmarsh's experience in public office 
covers many years and includes services of the 
highest value to the community. He is a 
Democrat in politics. For the past fifteen 
years he has been a member of the board of 
selectmen, of which he has been chairman dur- 
ing the last six years ; in 1905 he was elected 
representative to the General Court ; and he 
has been register of voters for -six years. He 
has been a justice of the peace since 1887. He 
is well known among the fraternal orders as 
well as in political circles, holding membership 
in Satucket Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Colfax 
Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., the Knights of Honor, and 
the Order of the Golden Cross, all of F^ast 
Bridgewater. 

On March 30, 1885, Mr. Whitmarsh married 
Lucy Clements Tooker, who was born Oct. 1, 
1864, in Yarmouth, N. S., daughter of Joseph 
and Isahelle (Hardy) Tooker, residents of 
Bridgewater for many years. Mr. Tooker died 
April 9, 1899, and his widow still makes her 



1136 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



home in Bridgewater. Mr. and Mrs. Whit- 
marsh have had two children: (1) Edward 
Scott, born Sept. 10, 1886, in East Bridge- 
water, attended the common and high schools 
tiiere and then went to commercial college in 
Boston. Since his return lie has been en- 
gaged as a clerk in the East Bridgewater Sav- 
ings Bank. He married Aug. 3, 1910, Maude 
C. Dix, of Somerville, Mass., and resides on 
Union street, East Bridgewater. (8) Eichard, 
born Sept. 27, 1893, in East Bridgewater, went 
to the common and high schools there and also 
attended business college at Brockton. 



Poole. The Pool or Poole family, from 
wliich Mr. Whitmarsh is descended through 
both his mother and his grandmother, is de- 
scended from (I) Edward Pool, aged twenty- 
six, who came from Weymouth, England, be- 
fore March 20, 1635, and settled in Weymouth, 
Mass. He resided the remainder of his life- 
time in Weymouth ; became a large landed 
proprietor. The Christian name of his wife 
was Sarah. He died in 1664. His will, 
probated Oct. 26, 1664, beqneatlis to wife, to 
sons Samuel, Isaac, Joseph, Benjamin, John, 
Jacob, and to daughter Sarah. 

(II) Joseph Pool resided in Weymouth, and, 
like his father, was a large landed proprietor. 
He was the original owner of the second saw- 
mill in the town, built in 1700. He died in 
Weymouth in 1706, and his will, which was 
made April 11th of that year, was proved May 
16th following. The Christian name of his 
first wife was Elizabeth and that of his second 
Mary. His children, according to the Pool 
Genealogj', were: Elizabeth, born Dec. 6, 1674; 
Susanna, born Dec. 17. 1679; Mary, born Jan. 
26, 1681; Benjamin, born Feb. 9,'l682; Mar- 
garet, born April 22, 1688; Samuel; Joseph; 
Abigail, and Isaac. 

(III) Samuel Pool, born in 1690 in Wey- 
mouth, Mass., married Sarali Nash, born June 
7, 1688, daughter of Lieut. Jacob Nash, of 
Weymouth, and granddaughter of Capt. James 
Nash, who were among the founders of W^ey- 
mouth. Mr. Pool was one of the original 
settlers of Abington. He was selectman of the 
town for six years, 1718-24, and the first rep- 
resentative sent by Abington to the General 
Court, in 1735, and for several years there- 
after. He was highly esteemed ; was modera- 
tor of the church meeting Aug. 22, 1749. 
He died in 1785 in Soutli Abington. His 
children were: Elizabeth, born Aug. 31, 1711; 
Samuel, born Sept. 18, 1713; Joseph, bom 
Feb. 11. 1716 or 1717; Sarah, born Feb. 11, 
1718. 



(IV) Deacon Samuel Pool (2), born Sept. 
18, 1713, in Abington, married in November. 
1733, Rebecca, daughter of Deacon Joshua 
Shaw, of Abington. He was chosen deacon on 
Aug. 16, 1750; was selectman six years from 
1758 to 1764; was representative in 1765 and 
1778-79-80. He was a member of the first 
State Constitutional Convention in 1779. He 
was chairman of the first public meeting called 
by the town, March 10, 1770, to denounce and 
resist British oppression, and a member of the 
committee which drew up the famous resolu- 
tion, called the "Noble Resolves,'"' passed by 
the town March 19, 1770. He was also a 
member of the Committee of Safety and Cor- 
respondence. Removing to Plainfield, Mass., 
he was one of the founders of the Congrega- 
tional Church there in 1793. He died there 
in 1795 or 1796. His children were: Joshua, 
born in 1734; Samuel, born in 1736; Abijah, 
born before 1740: John, baptized Aug. 7, 
1774( ?) ;Joseph,born in 1739 ; Rebecca ; Jacob, 
born in 1741; Rebecca (2), born in 1743; Asa, 
born in 1745; Achish, born in 1746; Oliver, 
born in 1748; Abijah, born in 1753; Jeptha, 
born in 1756: Benjamin, born in 1765; Sarah; 
Deborah, and Ruth. 

(V) Capt. Jacob Pool, born in 1741, mar- 
ried Rachel Beal. He was a soldier in the 
French and Indian war and participated in the 
taking of Louisburg in 1758. He was first 
lieutenant in Capt. Wells's company. Col. Asa 
Whitcomb's regiment, in the Revolutionary 
war, and also captain in the Continental army; 
became a pensioner for services. He was se- 
lectman ten years, beginning with 1783. He 
was chosen deacon in the church before 1820. 
He died Feb. 10, 1834, in Abington, aged 
over ninety years. His children were: James, 
born in 1764; Jacob, born in 1767; Alethea; 
Hannah; Nabby, and Noah. 

(VI) James Poole, born in Abington, Mass., 
in 1764, married Eunice Lazell, born in 1761. 
He was a soldier in the war of 1812, and died 
in 1814, while in tiie army. His wife, who 
lived until 1846, died in Abington. His chil- 
dren were: Sylvanus, born in 1786; James, 
born in 1788; Hiram, born in 1790 (soldier of 
tlie war of 1812, killed by a shell at Sackett's 
Harbor in 1815); Jacob, born in 1797; and 
Noah. 

(VII) Noah Poole married (first) Mary 
White and (second), in 1819, Mrs. Sarah 
(Pratt) Crane, daughter of Josiah Pratt, and 
they lived in Abington. His children were : 
Noah; Mary, born in 1810; Lurana; Rositia, 
born in 1820; Spencer, born in 1821; Hiram, 
born in 1823; Almira, born in 1825; Sarah, 





i/y^ 




^1 iy>^^. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1137 



borii in 18^8 ; and William D., burn in 1832. 

(Vlll) Noah Poole located in Nantucket, 
Massachusetts. 

ALMON HATHAWAY TUCKER (de- 
ceased), one of the most liighly respected citi- 
zens of Attleboro, Mass., where for over half 
a century he was engaged in contracting and 
building, lived retired for some years before 
his death, enjoying the fruits of his early 
labors. Mr. Tucker was born at Norton, Bris- 
tol Co., Mass., May 2, 1830. 

The Tucker family of which he was a mem- 
.ber has for many years been identified with 
the town of Norton, the first of the name in 
the town being Robert Tucker, one of the earli- 
■est settlers and a large landholder. Cornelius 
Tucker, son of Robert, also made his home 
there, where he owiied considerable property, 
and there married Waitstill Eddy. Benajah 
Tucker, son of C'ornelius, was born in the town 
of Norton, and there married Mehitable Allen. 
Their son, also named Benajah, was also bom 
in Norton, and was engaged in farming the 
major portion of his life. In his declining 
_years he located in Attleboro, and made his 
home with his son Almond, with whom he 
died Sept. 6, 1861, ripe in years. He married 
Lydia Hunt, who died at Norton May 7, 1845, 
at the age of seventy-two years. 

Almond Tucker, son of Benajah and Lydia 
(Hunt) Tucker, was born on the old Tucker 
homestead in the town of Norton June 15, 
1804, and there attended the local schools and 
grew to manhood. He learned the trade of 
mason, which he followed at Norton in the 
early part of his life, but some time in the 
€arly sixties he came to Attleboro, where he 
followed his trade with his son for the remain- 
der of his life, his death occurring Aug. 17, 
1865, when he was aged si.\ty-one years. He 
was a man noted for his honesty, industry and 
integrity, and did his full duty not only as a 
citizen, but as a husband and father. He was 
also well known for his patriotism, and when 
the call came for men to defend their country 
he gave six of his sons to the cause, one of 
whom died in the South. In his earlier days 
an active Whig, Mr. Tucker became a stanch 
Republican and a warm supporter of Lincoln. 

In July, 1829, Mr. Tucker was married to 
Betsey Hathaway, of Dighton, Mass., and she 
died at Norton July 27, 1843, the mother of 
■eight children : Almon Hathaway is mentioned 
below; Alden Gray, born Nov. 20, 1831, died 
at Rock Island, 111., Jan. 15, 1855; Daniel 
Luther, born Oct. 25, 1833, married April 9, 
1868. Lizzie Spragur, and (second) Nancy 

72 



Spragur, sister of his first wife, and resides in 
Mansfield; Moses Hunt, born Feb. 7, 1835, 
died June 6, 1910, at Wilson, Wis.; David 
Asahel, born Jan. 1, 1837, died in Middleboro, 
Mass.; George Nathaniel, born Oct. 31, 1838, 
died of fever during the war at Carrolllon, La., 
March 2, 1863; Frank Morton, born July 29, 
1840, married July 28, 1867, Julia Arnold, 
(second) Grace Andrews, and resides at River 
Point, R. I.; Ann Eliza, born June 27, 1842, 
married June 27, 1867, William L. Horton, 
and died in Taunton. In 1845 Almond Tucker 
was married (second) to Nancy C. White, by 
whom he had one child, Roscoe LeBaron, born 
Nov. 21, 1845; he married Oct. 19, 1868, Me- 
lissa G. Blanchard, of Warwick, R. I., and died 
in Attleboro, Mass., March 20, 1881, in his 
thirty-sixth year. 

Almon Hathaway Tucker attended the pub- 
lic schools of Norton and Peirce's Academy of 
Middleboro, Mass., and started to learn the 
trade of mason when still a young man, with 
his father. This they followed together for 
many years, Mr. Tucker making his home in 
Norton, although he engaged at his trade in 
Worcester, Attleboro and other places. In 1857 
he settled in Attleboro, where he took up build- 
ing, and this was followed by him and his 
father until the latter's deatli, at wliich time 
the son branched out into contracting. For 
upward of fifty years he was engaged in that 
business, meeting with the phenomenal suc- 
cess that his industry, enterprise and ability 
deserved: He built quite a number of founda- 
tions and private residences in and around 
Attleboro, as well as factories, mills, etc., in 
other parts of the town. He erected his own 
fine home on Peck street, which is fitted up 
with all modern improvements, and which he 
occupied until his death, Dec. 2, 1911. He 
was buried at W'oodlawn. 

When the Civil war broke out and President 
Lincoln called for volunteers Mr. Tucker and 
his five brothers volunteered their services, he 
enlisting in Company C', 47th Mass. Vol. Inf., 
under Captain Starkey and Colonel Marsh, 
and after nine months of faithful service he 
was honorably discharged, in September, 1863. 
He was a member of William A. Streeter Post, 
No. 145, G. A. R., at Attleboro. Fraternally 
he belonged to Orient Lodge, No. 165, I. 0. 0. 
F., also of Attleboro. Although Mr. Tucker 
was a stanch Republican he did not call him- 
self a politician. He served as a member of 
the building committee of the high school, but 
accepted no other office. He was a member of 
the Second Congregational (,'hurch of Attle- 
boro, to which his widow also belongs. 



1138 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mr. Tucker was married at Attleboro, April 
10, 1861, to Lydia H. Sweet, born June 1, 
1833, daughter of Leprilete and Lydia (Dun- 
ham) Sweet. Mrs. Tucker died at Attleboro 
April 21, 1870, survived by a son, Ervin 
Alden, born Feb. 2, 1862. Mr. Tucker was 
married (second) March 1, 187.5, to Annie F. 
Kirk, born at Attlelsoro June 30, 1841, daugh- 
ter of Robert and Sylvia Ann (Claflin) Ivirk. 
Mrs. Tucker is a woman of refined taste, of 
strong Christian impulses, one whose charities 
are widely distributed, and who is highly 
valued in both social and church circles. 

Ervin Alden Tcckkr, M. D., the only child 
of Almon H. Tucker, died March 3, 1902, in 
New York, where he had been engaged in the 
practice of medicine, and was buried in Wood- 
lawn cemetery in that city. The following 
sketch was written of his life by Dr. George 
L. Brodhead, of New York, and was published 
in the "American Journal of Obstetrics," in 
April, 1902: 

"In Memoriam. Ervin Alden Tucker, A. 
M., M. D., born Feb. 2, 1862, died March 3, 
1902. After a short illness with pneumonia. 
Dr. Ervin Alden Tucker entered into his rest 
on March 3, 1902. In his death the medical 
profession has lost a member who, while stand- 
ing as yet on the very threshold of his career, 
had attained at the early age of forty a posi- 
tion of great distinction in his chosen specialty 
of obstetrics. Years of arduous and careful 
preparation for his life work, together with 
wonderful capacity and exceptional ability, 
enabled him to take his place in the front rank 
of ob.stetrieians from the very outset of his 
professional career. Precise, methodical, pains- 
taking, and trained to observance of every de- 
tail which would contribute to success, he per- 
fected a marvelous technique, blending with 
his skill rare judgment, ripened by long e,x- 
perience. Dr. Tucker was born in Attleboro, 
Mass., Feb. 2, 1862, and after his early edu- 
cation in the schools of Attleboro, he was pre- 
pared for college in Mowry and Goff's Classical 
School at Providence, R. I. He entered Am- 
herst College in 1881, taking the scientific 
course in order to perfect himself in fhe 
sciences and modern languages, which he knew 
would be of great benefit to him in his medical 
course. At the end of his junior year he re- 
ceived a prize for proficiency in French, Span- 
ish and Italian. He was graduated from Am- 
herst in 1885 with the degree of B. S., received 
fhe degree of A. M. from the same college in 
1888. His course of medicine was taken at 
the Columbia College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons in New York City, from which he gradu- 



ated in 1889, taking the second Harsen prize 
for 'proficiency in all the branches of medical 
teaching.' After graduation he was appointed 
assistant resident physician in the Nursery 
and Child's Hospital, New York City, and then 
spent a year abroad, when he studied in Berlin,. 
Munich and Paris, under Olshausen, Winter, 
Duhrssen and Winckel. In December, 1890. 
he took up his work as instructor in practical 
obstetrics in the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons and resident physician in the Sloane 
Maternity Hospital, which became the largest 
obstetric hospital in the country. In order to 
enter private practice as a specialist in obstet- 
rics, he resigned the position of resident physi- 
cian, and was immediately appointed tutor in 
obstetrics and gynecology in the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons. In 1895 Dr. Tuck- 
er became attending obstetrician to the mater- 
nity hospital on Blackweil's island, a position 
which he held for a number of years. He was 
a member of the New York Academy of Medi- 
cine, the , Medical Society of the County of 
New York, the New York County Medical 
Association, the New York Obstetrical Society, 
the West End Medical Society, the Alumni 
Association of the Sloane Maternity Hospital, 
tlie Physicians Mutual Aid Association, the 
Hospital Graduates and tiie New York Ath- 
letic Club. Among his publications were : 
'Total Dystocia,' published in tlie 'Medical. 
Record,' Sept. 7, 1895 ; 'Deformed Coccyx 
Causing Dystocia,' and 'Death of Child,' pub- 
lished in the 'American Journal of Obstetrics,' 
Vol. XXI, No. 6. 1895; and an essay, 'Birth 
of the Secundines,' which was awarded the 
'Stevens Triennial Prize' of the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, June, 1897, and 
which was published in the 'American Gyne- 
cological and Obstetrical Journal' for May, 
1898. 

''Appreciating to the highest degree the ad- 
vantages and opportunities which the larger 
services at the Sloane Maternity Hospital af- 
forded. Dr. Tucker succeeded not only in 
bringing the work of the institution to a high 
state of efficiency and winning the everlasting 
gratitude of the patients entrusted to his care, 
but also in establishing for himself the founda- 
tion upon which was builded his wide reputa- 
tion as a teacher and his fame as one of the 
leading obstetricians of this country. In hi.s 
speech he was quiet and direct, inspiring the- 
greatest confidence in pupils and patients alike, 
by the absolute faith wliicli he had both in 
himself and in the truth of all he said. In his 
private life he was the devoted husband, son 
and friend, modest and unaffected bv any hon- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1139 



ore which were heaped •upon him, and richly 
desierviui; tlie words witli which his Master 
welcomed him, 'Well done, good and I'aithful 
servant.' "Geokge L. Bkodhead, M. D."" 

"AVherkas, an inscrutable Providence has 
removed from our fellowship an honored mem- 
ber, Ervin Alden Tucker, A. M., M. D., sud- 
denly, in his prime, with only the first sheaf of 
life's harvest garnered, and 

"Whereas, the Fellows of the New York 
Obstetrical Society from long association have 
grown into knowledge of his rare qualities and 
exceptional equipment for the high sphere of 
usefulness he had made for himself in his pro- 
fession : and 

"Whereas, as members of liis own gnild and 
calling, thereby entering into a juster appraise- 
ment of his skill and capacity, the Fellows of 
the New York Obstetrical Society especially 
esteem their departed brother for his unusually 
long, painfully laborious and self-contained 
preparation in the hospital wards, his tireless 
energy as observer and statistician, his method- 
ical evolution of a technique in obstetrics, his 
soundness and directness as. a teacher, cann- 
ing his formative influence through medical 
graduates of the last decade to the bedsides far 
beyond his personal ken, his kindly, active, al- 
most paternal interest in each individual of 
the large family of medical men lie himself 
selected from the city hospitals and trained as 
obstetricians, his cohesive power in holding 
the hospital alumni in fraternal bonds, his 
quiet, self-poised yea and nay, which inspired 
in patients a merited confidence marvelously 
rooted, his clean life, his high conception of 
the responsibility and dignity of the holy office 
of ministrant at the threshold of life; 

"Therefore, be it resolved that the Fellows 
of the New York Obstetrical Society spread 
upon their records their pride in the fame of 
their honored Fellow, their appreciation not 
only of his individual work, but also of the 
spiritual power of his completed and crystal- 
lized life-lesson, which will ever be a stimulus 
to younger men in the profession; 

"Be it further resolved that a copy of these 
resolutions be conveyed to the bereaved family 
as a token of sympathy, appreciation and con- 
solation in that our brother 'though dead, yet 
speaketh.' 

"In witness whereof, E. C. Savidge, M. D., 
J. C. Edgar, M. D., G. L. Brodhead, M. D." 
Dr. Ervin Alden Tucker was married to 
Miss Georgeanna Crispell, of Kingston, N. Y., 
who still survives. There was no issue of this 
marriage. 



CAPT. JAMES M. WILLIS (deceased), 
one of the best known of New Bedford's many 
whaling masters, who uuide her fame on the 
seas the world round, was at sea when four- 
teen and master at twenty-four, and for a third 
of a century on the northern seas. 

Born June 11, 1825, in New Bedford, Mass., 
Captain Willis was the son of Deacon Henry 
P. and Sarah (Gould) Willis, and according 
to Morse in his "Puritan Families" (1859) a 
probable descendant of George Willis, of Dor- 
chester, 1638, and later of Cambridge. But 
leaving uncertainty out, Captain Willis's line 
is traced to Charles Willis, who married in 
1727 Anna Ingalls, probably daughter of John 
and Sarah (Kussell) Ingalls, of Boston. She 
in her will proved in 1765 mentions children 
Charles and Anna, who were born respectively 
Aug. 21, 1728, and Dec. 19, 1731. 

From this (I) Charles and Anna (Ingalls) 
Willis the lineage and family history of Cap- 
tain Willis follows, chronologically arranged 
and somewhat in detail. 

(II) Charles Willis (2), born Aug. 21, 1728, 
married Abigail, born May 2, 1730, daughter 
of Nathaniel and Rebecca (Bailey) Belknap. 
Their children were: Charles, born in 1753; 
Nathaniel, born Feb. 7, 1755; Abigail, who 
married Lieut. Isaac Collins, of the United 
States navy in the Revolution. It is supposed 
that the father of these lost his father in child- 
hood, and was brought up in Boston in the book 
store of John Phillips and Nathaniel Bel- 
knap. 

(III) Charles Willis (3), born in 1753, mar- 
ried (first) Nov. 21, 1778, Nancy Hewes, 
daughter of James H. Hewes, of the firm of 
Eaton & Hewes, auctioneers, Boston. She 
died Jan. 14, 1807, and he married (second) 
Dec. 29, 1809, Mary Belcher, of Stoughton, 
who died in July, 1817, at the age of forty- 
eight : he married (third) Feb. 28, 1818, Mar- 
tha Hurley, who lived to be eiglity-two years 
of age. His children were : Nancy, born 
March 13, 1780; Charles, born July 19, 1781; 
John Phillips, born Oct. 23, 1782; Nancy, 
born Jan. 13, 1784; Sally Belknap, born Aug. 
27, 1785; Nabby Belknap, born March 31, 
1787; Charles, born May 22, 1789; Polly 
Jones, born June 3, 1791: William Botham, 
born March 2. 1794; Henry Phillips, born 
Jan. 21, 1797; John Phillips (2), born May 
12, 1799; Eliza Badger, born Jan. 1, 1810; 
and Mary Ann, born Dec. 13, 1812. 

(IV) beacon Henry Phillips Willis, son of 
Charles (3) and Nancy (Hewes) Willis, was 
born Jan. 21, 1797, in Boston, Mass. In time 
he located at New Bedford, where he was for 



114U 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



many years occupied as a saddler and harness- 
maker; was later joined in the business by his 
son William H., who as a dealer in harness, 
trunks, valises, etc., was well and favorably 
known to the trade for upward of fifty years. 

Mr. Willis was an early member of the New 
Bedford Mozart Musical Society, organized in 
1824. He was a charter member of the So- 
ciety of Sons of Temperance at New Bedford 
and a charter member and deacon in the North 
Congregational Church, which he served for 
many years as choir leader. He is spoken of 
in the volume "Modem Music Masters of 
America." He was highly esteemed and re- 
spected in the community. Deacon Willis died 
at his home in New Bedford, Mass., Feb. 13, 
1868, in the seventy-second year of his age. 
His wife survived him many years and died 
April 29, 1880, in the eighty-second year of 
her age. In referring to the death of Deacon 
Willis one of the local papers said: 

"The deceased was worthy of these tokens of 
respect from his comrades of the Division of 
which he had so long been an efficient member 
and officer. He will be missed by the religious 
society for whose prosperity he labored for so 
many years and so unselfishly. The commun- 
ity will miss the cheerful old man, who though 
past three score years and ten had the spirits 
of a boy, always genial, sunny, buoyant, with 
a child's simple freshness and purity of heart 
of a child. No cloud ever came upon him in 
which he did not find or make a silver lining. 
Children loved him, many highly esteemed and 
respected him, and no one was his enemv." 

On April 21, 1819, Henry P. Willis married 
Sarah Gould, a native of Boston. Their chil- 
dren were: Sarah G., born March 4, 1820; 
William H., April 30 (or May), 1822 ; Eliza A. 
C, Sept. 16, 1823; James M., June 11, 1825; 
Mary E., April 10, 1827: Henry T., Jr., Dec. 
1, 1828; Jane G., Jan. H. 1831; Henrv P., 
Jr. (2), Dec. 10, 1832; Caroline A., Dec. 16, 
183.'); Sophia C, Dec. 13, 1841. Two of the 
daughters survived their brother James M., 
who was the last of the sons to pass away. 

(V) William H. Willis, son of Henry Phil- 
lips and Sarah (Gould) \A'illis, was born in 
1822 in New Bedford, Mass., and after 
receiving a common school education learned 
the trade of harnessmaking under the direc- 
tion of his father, then engaged in that busi- 
ness on Union street. For many years during 
the first half of the nineteenth century his 
father had been a saddler and harnessmaker, 
then the two became associated together, and 
after the father's death the son continued the 
business until his retirement some fifteen vears 



prior to his own death : and at his retirement 
William H. had been in the business contin- 
uously for upward of fifty years. He was for a 
long period a member of the New Bedford 
Protecting Society. 

Mr. Willis married Hannah B. Wood, and 
five of their children survived the father, who 
died suddenly at New Bedford, Mass., Jan. 5, 
1904, when in the eightv-second vear of his 
age. 

(V) C'apt. James Munroe Willis, son of 
Deacon Henry P. and Sarah (Gould), was born 
June 11, 182.5, in New Bedford, Mass., and, 
as stated, began a seafaring life at the age of 
fourteen years and continued it nearly forty 
years. When not on the water and after his 
retirement therefrom he made his home in 
New Bedford and Fall River, where as a man 
and citizen he lived esteemed and respected. 

The record of Captain Willis's ships and 
voyages follows: On the ship "Selnia," Capt. 
Arlington Wilcox, Alexander Seabury & Sons, 
agents, from June 4, 1839, to April" 19, 1841, 
as foremast hand ; the "Selma" went to New 
Holland and New Zealand and turned out 341 
barrels of sperm and 1,476 of whale oil. On 
the ship "Delphos," of Holmes Holl, Capt. 
Charles West, Thomas Bradley, agent, from 
June, 1841, to August, 1843, as boat steerer; 
on the same grounds she took 500 sperm and 
1,700 whale. On the ship "Mount Vernon," 
of New Bedford, Capt. George A. Covel, D. E. 
Green & Co., agents, from Nov. 23, 1843, to 
May 21, 1846, as third mate; she went to the 
northwest coast and Kamchatka and brought 
back 270 of sperm and 2, .330 of whale. Cap- 
tain Willis next went as second mate of the 
same ship — the "Mount Vernon" — with the 
same master, and, owing to the death of Mate 
John L. Spooner ca?ne home as first officer; 
the "Mount Vernon'' was gone from Aug. 6, 
1846, to July 11. 1849, and whaled on Kam- 
chatka and in the Japan and Okhotsk seas, 
taking 140 of sperm and 3,210 of whale. On 
the ship "Mount Vernon" 'his first command) 
from Sept. 5, 1849, to May 18, 1852, in the 
Arctic as master, taking 275 of sperm. 3,125 
of whale and 44.000 jiounds of bone. On the 
ship "Rambler," F. & G. R. Tahcr. agents, 
from October, 1852, to June 10, 1856, in the 
Okhotsk and Japan seas, 186 of sperm, 4.000 
whale and 60.000 pounds of bone. On the 
same ship, an all-round voyage in the North, 
from Oct. 15, 1856, to June 27, 1860, 2,520 of 
oil and 35,000 pounds of bone. On the ship 
"Mount W^-illaston," from Nov. 24, 1862, to 
Juno 13, 1867, one season in Okhotsk and one 
season in tlic Arctic, 2,200 of oil ; she was in 



SOUTH EASTERN' MASSACHUSETTS 



1141 



Fixlit of the "Shenandoah" wluni the "Milo" 
was burned, but escaped and hiter went back. 
iJuring the Civil war Captain Willis coin- 
mauded the "Kebecca Syninies,"" oi' the cele- 
brated "Stone fleet," and was the last survivor 
of that splendid body of blockading captains. 
In 1HI)8 Captain Willis took the bark "James 
Allen" at Honolulu and made two seasons in 
her iA the Arctic, taking '^,100 of oil. In the 
fall of 18(39 Captain Willis took the "Cali- 
fornia" at Honolulu and made another season 
in the frozen ocean. She arrived home April 
22, 1871, having 1,400 of whale and 20,000 
pounds of bone for her year's work. Captain 
Willis made his last voyage in the bark "Bar- 
tholomew Gosnold," C. R. Tucker, agent, from 
Nov. 2. 1871, to March, 1876. This was in 
the Arctic, the Okhotsk, and then sperm whal- 
ing. Her catch was 1,000 of sperm and 1,400 
of whale. 

It will be observed as stated in the intro- 
duction that Captain Willis made most of his 
voyages in the northern waters, spending the 
time there from 1843 to 1876. He made more 
good voyages than poor ones, and never met 
with any serious disaster. He was mate of 
the "Mount Vernon" in 1847 when she went 
north as far as Cape Thaddeus, the first whal- 
ing vessel that sailed in those waters. She 
sighted three bowheads, but had to turn back 
on account of head winds. She thus came 
close to supplanting Royce and the "Superior." 

Captain Willis was one of the whaling mas- 
ters and gentlemen of the old school so few of 
whom are now among us. He possessed a 
commanding presence, his singularly erect fig- 
ure and intellectual face attracting attention 
wherever seen. He was thoughtful and high- 
minded, and of a social, friendly disposition. 
He mingled much with missionaries during his 
voyages, and was greatly interested in their 
work, in Hawaii and other islands, becoming 
very intimate with such preachers as the Rev. 
Dr. Titus Coan, whose work in the Sandwich 
islands will long be remembered for its bene- 
ficial results. During his later years, after 
removing to Fall River, Captain Willis took 
daily walks on fair days and was often an at- 
tendant at St. Paul's Church. 

On June 18, 1846, Captain W'illis married 
Elizabeth Sampson, who was born March 7, 
1827. and died Dec. 10, 1891. She accom- 
panied her husband on a number of his whal- 
ing voyages, and three of their children were 
born at Hilo, Hawaii, in the home of Dr. 
Coan. Their children were: (1) Henry Phil- 
lips, born April 4, 1853, at Hilo, is a resident 
of New Bedford, Mass., the well known pro- 
prietor in the line of men's furnishings of one 



of the finest establishments of this kind of any 
similar concern in New England, not excepting 
Boston. He married Sept. 25, 1877, Edith E. 
Waterman, daughter of Nehemiah W'aterman, 
and they have had four children: Henry P., 
Jr., born June 13, 1878, who married Lillian 
M. Younge; Clara, born April 19, 1882, who 
married Prof. Edward Leiand Call, of the 
Kansas Agricultural College; Edith, bora 
March 6, 1887; and Marjorie, born Dec. 6, 
1890. (2) Maria Jennie, born at Hilo Aug. 
7, 1855, was married June 18, 1879, to Frank- 
lin S. Akin, born July 12, 1854, son of Daniel 
B. and Sarah R. Akin. Mr. Akin is now 
superintendent of the Cornell Mill at Fall 
River. Mr. and Mrs. Akin have one child, 
Florence Burdick, born Aug. 13, 1889, who waa 
married in Fall River Oct. 25, 1911, to Harvey 
Isaac Cashman, of Worcester, Mass. (3) 
James M., Jr., born at Hilo May 13, 1857, is- 
connected with the Edison Phonograph Com- 
pany at Orange, N. J., where he resides. On 
April 6, 1882, he married Julia Isabel Samp- 
son, and they have had two children, Elsie 
(born April 17, 1883) and Elizabeth S. (born 
July 6, 1886, died July 11, 1893). (4) Elias 
S., born in New Bedford March 13, 1861, is 
at present connected with the Davis Mills at 
Fall River. He married Sept. 28, 1883, Lau- 
retta E. Newell, of Fall River, and they have 
two children: Byron Willis, born March 12, 
1890, and Chauncey Sears, born April 26, 
1899. 

Captain W'illis died March 8, 1909, at the 
home of his daughter, Mrs. Franklin S. Akin, 
No. 288 Grove street. Fall River, Mass., where 
he had lived for twelve years, in the eighty- 
fourth year of his age. He was buried in the 
Rural cemetery, New Bedford. 

FRANCIS TABER AKIN, senior member 
of P. T. Akin & Co., of New Bedford, and for 
over half a century a successful business man 
and honored citizen, active in business, finan- 
cial and municipal affairs, was born in that 
city Jan. 12, 1837, son of Seth K. and Roby 
(Taber) Akin. 

The Akin family is. of Scotch origin, and ac- 
cording to tradition two brothers, John and 
James, came from Scotland with their mother 
in the early days and settled at Dartmouth. 
Later James went to Portsmouth, R. I. Capt. 
John Akin, to whom Francis Taber Akin 
traces his lineage, was born in 1663. He mar- 
ried (first) Mary Briggs, born Aug. 9, 1671, 
daughter of Thomas Briggs, and (second) 
Hannah Sherman. He died June 3, 1746^ 
aged eighty-three. His children were : David,, 
born Sept." 19, 1689; Susanna, Jan. 1, 1691; 



1U2 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Deborah, Dec. 30. 1692; Timothy, Jan. 30, 
1695; Mary, Jan. 23, 1697; Hannah, March 
12, 1699; Thomas, March 27, 1702; Elizabeth, 
May 20, 1704; James, Aug. i, 1706; Judith, 
Oct. 17, 1708 (all to the first marriage) ; Ben- 
jamin, May 18, 1715; Ebenezer, Dec. 3, 1716; 
Susanna, Sept. 27, 1718; Elisha, Aug. 6, 1720; 
Joseph, and Abigail. 

Thomas Akin, son of Capt. John, was born 
in the town of Dartmouth, Mass., March 27, 
1702, and moved first to Mew Jersey and later 
to Nova Scotia. He married Abigail Allen, 
bom Dec. 16, 1705, daughter of Ebenezer 
Allen, and their children were: Timothy, born 
Dec. 27, 1730; Abial, March 18, 1732; 
Thomas, Jan. 19, 1733 (died young) ; Stephen, 
July 18, 1739 (married April 2, ^1761, Eliza- 
beth King); Marv, April 19, 1741; Thomas 
<2), May 3, 1743" 

Thomas Akin (2), son of Thomas, born 
May 3, 1743, came hack from Nova Scotia and 
made his home in Dartmouth. On April 29, 
1767, he married Rebecca Russell, daughter of 
Timothy and Rhoda (Potter) Russell. She 
was born March 3, 1748, and died Aug. 17, 
1803. Their children were : Roby, born Jan. 
30, 1768, who married Benjamin Taber Sept. 
7, 1789; Abie], born Oct. 28, 1770; Stephen, 
born Feb. 28, 1774, who died young; Susanna, 
born March 15, 1777; Abigail, born June 9, 
1780, who married May 26. 1802, Gideon 
Shepherd; Lurania. born April 4, 1782, who 
married Nov. 6, 1803, John Wood ; Charles, 
born Dec. 30, 1784. who married Bathsheba 
Kelley: and Timothy, born .\pril 2, 171K), who 
died in Westport March 11, 1873. 

Abiel Akin, son -oi Thomas (2), born Oct. 
28, 1770, settled in the town of Yarmouth, 
Mass., where he made his home. He married 
(first) Catharine Kelley June 12, 1794. She 
died at Yarmouth April 2. 1811, aged thirty- 
■eight years, and was burjod there. She was a 
sister of Zeno and Seth Kelley. On Nov. 29, 
1813, he married (second) Mary Wing. To 
the first marriage were born : Rebecca, who 
married Daniel Swift, of Falmouth; Thomas; 
David Kelley, a ]>r()minent hanker and business 
man of Yarmouth, who died there Aug. 23, 
1887, aged eighty-eight years : Joseph ; Seth 
Kelley ; Deborah : Catharine, and Roby. 

Seth Kelley Akin, son of Abiel, ,was born 
April 23, 1803. in the town of Yarmouth, and 
there grew to manhood. When a young man 
he came to New Bedford, and was engaged in 
the construction of the salt works for Samuel 
Leonard. Later he was engaged in a like ca- 
pacity for James Arnold, at South Dartmouth. 
He moved to New York State, locating at 



Syracuse, where he was one of the pioneers in 
the salt manufacturing business, having con- 
structed salt works in that section. Later he 
returned to Massachusetts and at New Bed- 
ford and vicinity became engaged in the manu- 
facture of salt — principally Epsom and Glauber 
salts for medicinal and mercantile purposes, 
prospering in his undertaking. Later lie was 
a surveyor of lumber in New Bedford and 
here his last years were spent in his home on 
Gritlin street, where his daughter Miss Helen 
B. Akin now makes her home. He took much 
pride in his garden. He died Feb. 15, 1888, 
at the age of eighty-live. 

Mr. Akin married Oct. 31, 1833, in New 
Bedford, Roby Taber, born Dec. 4, 1801, 
daughter of Francis and Lydia (Russell) Ta- 
ber, and granddaughter of Benjamin and 
Eunice Worth (Gardner) Taber and of Wil- 
liam and Weltlian (Spencer) Russell; a his- 
tory of the 'J'aber and Russell families appears 
elsewhere in this publication. To this union 
were born children as follows : Helen B., born 
12th month, 3, 1834, is unmarried and living 
at the homestead in New Bedford ; Francis 
Taber is mentioned below ; Thomas, born 10th 
month, 21, 1838, now of St. Louis, Mo., mar- 
ried Annie Thornton, born 1st month, 29. 
1840. daughter of Capt. John A. Macomber. 
The mother of these died Dec. 18, 1898, at the 
age of ninety-.seven years ; she was buried in 
the Rural cemetery, as was also her husband. 
They were members of the Society of Friends. 

Francis Taber Akin, son of Seth Kelley 
Akin, was born in New Bedford Jan. 12, 1837, 
and there attended school. In 1856, when 
nineteen years old. be was apprenticed to WiL 
Ham B. Cook. On Jan. 12, 1860. Mr. Akin 
became the successor of Mr. Cook, with whom 
he had served his apprenticeship. Buying out 
his employer at the age of twenty-three, he 
started in business in all the vigor of sturdy 
young manhood, continued to work hard and 
faithfully, and succeeded in building up a very 
successful business. In 1874 he formed a 
partnership with the late Col. Samuel C. Hart, 
who was then engaged in the coal business in 
New Bedford. They amalgamated their in- 
terests under the firm name of Hart & Akin, 
which continued until the death of Colonel 
Hart, in 1S94, at which time Mr. Akin took 
his two sons into the business, forming a part- 
nership under the firm name of F. T. Akin & 
Co. Since then the business has grown stead- 
ily until to-day they are among the largest deal- 
ers in coal, wood and paint in New Bedford. 
The main office is at the rorner of Walnut and 
Water streets, with branches at No. 84 Pleas- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1143 



ant street, No. 1218 Acushnet avenuf. No. 121) 
Cose street," No. 9 Nortli Water street, and 
their coal wharf, located at the foot of t'oftin 
street. Although over lifty years in bvisiuet<s 
Mr. Akin is still active and tends strictly to 
his affairs, to which he gives much time and 
attention, and he is ably assisted by his sons, 
w^ho are men of progressive ideas and thrift 
and enterprise. 

With all his business cares Mr. Akin has 
found time to devote to the public welfare of 
his city. He served as member of the school 
ijoard for three years. He has been a member 
of the city . council, serving under Mayor 
George B. Kichmond. For twenty-five years 
he has been a trustee of the Swain school, of 
New Bedford. He is a director of the Mer- 
chants' National Bank, a trustee of the Five 
Cents Savings Bank of New Bedford, a director 
of the Continental Wood Screw Company, 
and president of the Automatic Telephone 
Company, of New Bedford. In politics he is 
a Republican. 

On Feb. 24, 1864, in New Bedford, Mr. 
Akin married Mary H. Macomber, who was 
born Jan. 6, 1836, in that city, daughter of 
Oapt. John A. and Jerusha S. (Hart) Ma- 
comber. Three children have blessed this 
union: Thomas Bryant; Mary Alice, born July 
20, 1867. who is at home ; and Charles Gard- 
ner. 

Thomas Bryant Akin, eldest son of Francis 
Taber Akin, was born in the city of New Bed- 
ford Jan. 10, 1866. He received his educa- 
tional training in the public and high schools, 
also the Lowell School of Design, connected 
with the Massachusetts Institute of Technol- 
ogy of Boston, where he graduated in 1887. 
He accepted a position with the American 
Decorative Company, of Boston, with whom he 
was employed for four years. In 1890 he 
went to Europe for that firm and transacted 
business for them in Belgium and England. 
In 1891 he returned home to New Bedford 
and entered the employ of Hart & Akin, of 
which firm his father was the junior member, 
and there he continued until the death of Col- 
onel Hart, when he became a member of the 
firm, and has been for the last sixteen years 
associated with his father and brother in the 
business under the firm name of F. T. Akin & 
Co. Mr. Akin is a man of enterprise and 
progress, who gives close attention to business, 
and it is to his energy that much of the success 
of the business is due. He is a mem- 
ber of the American Society of Testing 
Materials, also member of the State As- 
sociation of Painters and 'Decorators, in 



wiiieli he held the office of president and is 
now a member of the executive committee; he 
is a member of the International Association 
of Painters and Decorators. 

Mr. Akin married Jan. 9, 1907, Lluewellyn 
Hathaway, and two children have been born to 
them, Francis Taber (2) (born March 28, 
1909) and Bryant Hathaway (July 13, 1910). 
Mr. Akin is a Republican in his pt)litical views. 
He is a member of the Unitarian Church. 
Domestic in his tastes, he takes great pleasure 
in his home and family. 

Charles Gardner Akin, youngest son of 
Francis Taber Akin, was born in the city of 
New Bedford April 12, 1870. He was edu- 
cated in the public and high schools of his na- 
tive city and attended school for a time in 
Boston. For five years he was employed in 
Boston, part of that time with the Old Colony 
Railroad Company. In 1894 he entered the 
coal, wood and paint business with his father 
and brother, under the firm name of F. T. 
Akin & Co., and has since been a member of 
the firm, making himself invaluable to it, and 
doing much toward its grovrth and success. 
Mr. Akin has been interested in anything 
which affected the welfare of the city, and 
has given much time to the affairs of the New 
Bedford Board of Trade. 

Mr. Akin married Nov. 29, 1898, in New 
Bedford, Caroline Swain Kelley, daughter of 
Charles S. Kelley. a well known banker of New 
Bedford. They have two children, Charles 
Gardner, Jr.. liorn Aug. 15, 1900, and Caro- 
lyn, born Oct. 4, 1901. Mr. Akin is a Repub- 
lican, and served two years in the Common 
Council, 1900-1901. He is a member of the 
Unitarian Church ; is fond of his home, and 
much devoted to his wife and family. 

THOMAS AKIN, younger son of Seth Kel- 
ley and Roby (Taber) Akin, was born in New 
Bedford Oct. 21, 1838, and attended the local 
public schools, graduating at the high school. 
He began work as a clerk with the firm of 
George & Robert H. Taber, ship agents and 
coal dealers at that time in New Bedford, with 
whom he remained four years. After leaving 
their employ he went West, in the early sixties, 
locating in Chicago, 111., where he became en- 
gaged as a grain dealer. There he lived and 
was in business for a period of seventeen years, 
stxccessfully carrving on the grain eonynission 
business. In 1879 he went to St. Louis, Mo., 
and there established himself in the same line, 
which he still continues. Mr. Akin has been 
engaged in the same business for upward of a 
half century, with steady success, and he holds 



1144 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



iiiembersliip in tlie St. Louis Merchants' Ex- 
chanu^e and tlic t'hiiago Board of Trade. He 
devotes all his time and attention to his busi- 
ness and family affairs, belonging; to no secret 
or political organizations. Socially he is a 
member of the St. Louis Club of St. Louis and 
of the Xew Bedford Yaclit Club. 

On Oct. 3, 18(i(), Mr. Akin was married in 
New Bedford to Annie Thornton Macoinber, a 
native of that place, daughter of the late Capt. 
John A. and Jerusha S. (Hart) Macomber. 
Mrs. Akin, like her husband, is interested in 
her old New England home, and enjoys the 
summers spent among relatives and friends. 

Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Akin, namely : ( 1 ) Thomas Russell, born in 
New Bedford, received his preparatory educa- 
tion at Smith Academy, in St. Lonis, after 
which he entered llarvard, where he was grad- 
uated in the class of 1890, with the A. B. de- 
gree. He has since been constantly connected 
with the steel industry and is now building a 
steel mill, with offices at St. Louis. He mar- 
ried Margaret Markham, of St. Louis, and they 
have had three children, William Markham. 
Anna Elizaltcth (who died young) and Thomas 
Russell, Jr. (2) John Macomber died young. 
('■]) Robert Macomber, born in Chicago, was 
educated in St. Louis, taking the course at the 
Manual Training School. He now makes his 
home at Ossining, N. Y., where he is president 
of the Hudson Wire Company. He married 
Charlotte Gertr\ide Gardner, of Ansonia, 
Conn., and they have two children, Robert Ma- 
comber, Jr., and John Gardner. 

MACOMBER. The Macomber family, of 
which the late Capt. John Arnold Macomber, 
who during his life was a well-known mariner 
of New Bedford, was a descendant, is one of 
long standing in New England. The family is 
of Scotcli origin, and tradition has it that 
three brothers. William, Thomas and John, 
came from Scotland at an early period and 
settled in New England, Thomas in Plymouth, 
John in Taunton, and William in Duxbury, 
Mass. From William descended Capt. John 
Arnold Macomber, of New Bedford.  

(In 1904- Dove, Lockhart & Smart, lawyers 
of Edinburgh, wrote to Charles Sumner Ma- 
comber. lawyer of Ida Grove, Iowa, as follows: 
"Judging from your name we .should say you 
were undoubtedly a Scot by origin. The name 
'Macomber.' in its various forms, 'McCoombe,' 
'McCuber.' 'Macomber." 'McOmi.sh.' 'McCom- 
bie,' is well known here. As you are no doubt 
aware, it is claimed — and the claim we believe 
is generally admitted — that the Macombers are 



a branch of the clan Mcintosh, also some- 
times called the Shaws. The branch was 
founded by Shaw McDufF, second son of the 
fifth Earl of Fife. You are also no doubt 
aware, the clan Mcintosh was one of the clans 
which took part in the memorable duel on 
the North Inch of Perth, vide Scott's 'Fair 
Maid of Perth,' where they are designated the 
clan Chatten. You will also see in Scott's 
'Waverly' that a scion of the clan, 'Evan Dhn 
Macombish," is one of the leading personages.'') 

(I) William Macomber, born about 1610, 
followed the occupation of cooper. Upon com- 
ing to America he settled in Duxbury, Mass., 
and was in Dorchester in 1638, having men- 
tion on the Plymouth Colony record April 22d 
of that year. Later he moved to Marshfield, 
where he was a surveyor in 1653, and became 
prominent in the public affairs. A sworn 
statenient made March 1, 1655, gives his age 
as forty-five years. His death occurred about_ 
1670. The Christian name of his wife was 
Ursilla, and their children were: John; Wil- 
liam; Thomas, who married Sarah Crocker; 
Matthew, born Feb. 3, 1648, who died un- 
married in 1670 ; Edith, who married in Marsh- 
field, in November, 1654, John Lincoln, of 
Hingham ; Sarah, who married in Marshfield, 
Nov. 6, 1666, William Briggs; Hannah, who 
married in October, 1673, f^nst, Handall, of 
Scituate; and Ursilla, who married Dec. 9, 
1673. Nicholas White. Jr. 

(II) John ^Macomber, son of William, was 
born at Marshfield. He was known as John 
Macomber the cooper. He married Hannah 
Babbitt, born March 9, 1660, daughter of Ed- 
ward and Sarah Miles (Fame) Babbitt. Ed- 
ward Babbitt was killed by the Indians. In 
1691 ,Tolin Macomber was a soldier in King 
William's war. He made his will in 1716. 
and was living in 1718. Children: William, 
born in 1684; Sarah, who married about 1715 
William Hoar, and died Jan. 13, 1757; Dam- 
aris, who married Dec. 10. 1713. Josiah Chase; 
Esther ; Hannah ; and Ruth. 

(III) William Macomber. son of John, born 
in 1684 in Taunton. Mass., married Hannah 
Hoskins. born Feb. 14. 1678. daughter of Wil- 
liam and Sarah (Caswell) Hoskins. She died 
in September, 1764. Mr. Macomber died be- 
tween 1748 and 1759. Children: John, 
Henry, Stephen, .Jacob, William, Abigail, Ur- 
silla (born Jan. 5, 1708. married Isaac Briggs), 
^ude, Hannah (married Benjamin Bassett, of 
Bridgcwater), Mary, and Damaris (married 
Timothy Rogers). 

(IV) Henry Macomber, son of William, bom 
in Taunton, was a soldier in the Revolutionary 

















^ 


''.wtK^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ 


K^- 




>• 


^^^ 










&< iX^r- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



iiir> 



war. Ho iiuide his home in TauntoD aud was 
twice married, his first wife being Hauuah, 
his second, whom he married March 1, 1757, 
Susan Throcker, of Taunton, daughter of 
Eleazer and Hannah (Short) Pratt. Children: 
Reuben, a soldier in the Revolutionary war; 
Lucy, who married Samuel Leonard ; Sally, 
who married Nehemiah Chase; Susan; Ne- 
hemiah ; Israel; Lemuel, and Seth. 

(V) Lemuel Macomber, son of Henry, was 
born in Taunton about 1759. He fought in 
the Revolutionary war, enlisting April 1, 1776, 
and again March 3, 1780. He died at New 
Salem, Mass., May 24, 1827, aged sixty-eight 
years. He married Feb. 26, 1782, in Middle- 
boro, Mass., Sarah, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Elizabeth (Bryant) Hooper. Their children 
were: Lemuel, born in 1800, who married 
Lucy Philbrick; and Bryant. 

(YI) Bryant Macomber, son of Lemuel and 
Sarah, married Jan. 30, 1811, Priscilla Briggs, 
of Rochester. He died in the South and his 
widow married (first) a Mr. Haynes and (sec- 
ond) Bailey Hathaway, and she died aged 
seventv-si.x vears. Brvant Macomber was the 
father" of: John Arnold, born Oct. 11, 1812; 
Sarah H., born July 28, 1814, who married 
May 29, 1831, Andrew G. Devenport ; Rhoda, 
born Feb. 16, 1816, who married July 14, 1833, 
Benanuel Head. 

(VII) Capt. John Arnold Macomber, son 
of Bryant and Priscilla (Briggs) Macomber, 
was born in New Bedford Oct. 11, 1812. At 
the early age of seventeen he took up a sea- 
faring life, shipping o# a whaling vessel. He 
followed the whaling industry for a number 
of years, becoming a well-known master 
mariner. He was captured by the Rebel ship 
"Shenandoah" during the Civil war, off the 
Okhotsk sea, with twenty-nine other ships, 
which were burned or destroyed. Upon re- 
tiring from the whaling business, he embarked 
in the oil and petroleum business, being ex- 
tensively engaged with Edmund Taber in the 
oil fields at Parkersburg, Va., and Parkers 
I.,anding, Pa. This business he successfully 
followed up to the time of his death, which 
occurred April I.t, 1875, at Parkers Land- 
ing, Pa. His remains were brought to 
Xew Bedford and interred in the Rural cem- 
etery. Mr. ^lacomber was a man well known, 
and much respected by all who knew him, and 
he left the record of an honorable career which 
was a fine example to be followed. 

Captain Macomber was married to Jerusha 
S. Hart, born April 5, 1811, in Dartmouth, 
daughter of Joseph and Mary (Smith) Hart. 
She died Aug. 5, 1873. at the age of sixty- 



two years. Their children were: Mary H., 
born Jan. 6, 1836, married Feb. 24, 1864, 
Francis Taber Akin, of New Bedford; Annie 
T., born Jan. 29, 1840, married Oct. 3, 1866, 
Thomas Akin, and they reside in St. Louis, 
Mo. ; Catharine Tredway, born March 23, 1841,^ 
died Jan. 28, 1842; Catharine Tredway (2), 
born June 27, 1843, married June 4, 1869, 
William H. Matthews; John Robert, born 
April 21, 1845, married Nov. 12, 1874, Ella 
Borden Cooke; Emma Arnold, born April 17, 
1848, married Jan. 8, 1885, Alfred Munson 
Butler; Lizzie Jerusha, born Dec. 10, 1853, 
married Oct. 17, 1878, Dr. A. Martin Pierce, 
and resides in New Bedford ; Helen Bryant, 
born Feb. 4, 1856, married Jan. 16, 1879, Al- 
bion Turner Brownell, and (Jied June 17, 
1903; Lucy Crapo, born Dec. 31, 1857, married 
June 10, "1884, Albert H. Ewing, U. S. R., 
who died December, 1893, and she married 
(second) Nov. 10, 1897, Herman Winter, con- 
nected with North German Lloyd Steamship' 
Company. 

NATHAN KEITH. In the death of 
Nathan Keith, who died in Brockton, Mass., 
on April 26, 1899, at the age of eighty-five 
years, the community lost one of its substantial 
citizens, one who had done much toward the 
development and substantial growth of the sec- 
tion of the city in which the greater part of his 
active life had been spent. Mr. Keith was an 
honored representative of several of New Eng- 
land's earliest and most distinguished families, 
numbered among whom were "Mayflower"^ 
stock as well as Revolutionary ancestry. 

Across the sea the Keiths were among the 
nuist ancient families of Europe. Of the no- 
bility of Scotland, while some were originally 
Scots, others at different times came hither 
from foreign countries. To the latter class be- 
longed the Keiths, it being the supposition 
that the ancient family derived its origin from 
one Robert, who was of German origin, a 
chieftain among the Catti, from which it is 
said came the. surname Keith. The ancestral 
line of the Keith family from the first Ameri- 
can ancestor, through which descended the late 
Nathan Keith, is given below, in chronological 
order. 

(I) Rev. James Keith was born in 1644, and 
was educated at Aberdeen, Scotland, where 
lie was graduated, likely from Marischal Col- 
lege (educated as tradition says at the expense 
of a maiden aunt), his name appearing on 
the roll of that college in 1657, said college 
having been founded by George, the fifth Earl 
of Keith Marischal, in 1593. At the age of 



1146 



SOUTHEASTEEX MASSACHUSETTS 



eighteen years, he eniigrated to this country, 
arriving in Boston in 1662. He was introduced 
to the ciiurch at Bridgevvater by Dr. Increase 
Mather, whom he always esteemed as his pa- 
tron and best friend. His settlement in Bridge- 
water took place Feb. 18, 1664, and the house 
in which he lived and died is still standing, 
and is situated on tlie north side of River 
street, near the intersection of Forest street. 
His advice and influence with the civil authori- 
ties of the Colony seem to have been consider- 
able, and although he at times differed from 
others his opinions had great weight. On May 
3, 1668, Eev. Mr. Keith married Susanna Ed- 
son, daughter of Deacon Samuel and Susanna 
(Orcutt) Edson, the former of whom was born 
in England in 1612, and emigrated to this 
country, settling first at Salem, whence he re- 
moved to Bridgewater, where he erected the 
first mill in the old town, and was deacon of 
the church over which Eev. Mr. Keith pre- 
sided. To this union were born children as fol- 
lows : James, Jr., Joseph, Samuel, Timothy, 
John, Josiah, Margaret, Mary and Susanna. 
The mother of these children died Oct. 16, 1705, 
aged sixty-five years, and he married (second) 
in 1707 Mary, widow of Thomas Williams, of 
Taunton, Mass. Eev. Mr. Keith passed away 
July 23, 1719, aged seventy-six years, in West 
Bridgewater, having labored in the ministry of 
the town for fifty-six years, and proved him- 
self a worthy man and a faithful shepherd over 
his infant and feeble flock. 

(II) Timothy Keith, the fourth son of Eev. 
James Keith and his wife Susanna (Edson), 
was born in 1683, and early in the eighteenth 
century became one of the first settlers of the 
Korth pflrish of Bridgewater, now Brockton, 
where his descendants have been numerous 
and prominent and influential citizens. Timo- 
thy Keith married Feb. 1. 1710, Hannah 
Fobes, daughter of Deacon Edward Fobes, and 
to this union were bom four children, as fol- 
lows: Timothy, Jr., Abiah, Xathan and Han- 
nah. The mother died May 23, 1765, and' he 
died Nov. 8, 1767, aged eighty-three years, and 
is interred in the burying ground on Main 
street, opposite Grove street, Campello, his 
grave being marked by a granite monument 
which was erected in 1881 by his descendants. 
He was a man who figured conspicuously in 
town affairs, being one of the original petition- 
ers for the establishment of the North parish, 
the moderator of the first meeting held after it 
became a precinct, and one of the committee 
of three to consult with Eev. Mr. Porter in 
relation to a settlement with them as a minis- 
ter of the gospel, all of which indicate him to 



have been a man of influence in both civil and 
religious matters. 

(III) Nathan Keith, the third son of Timo- 
thy, was born Dec. 16, 1714, and married in 
1746 Hannah Snell, daughter of Joseph Snell. 
Their children were: Mehitable, born in 1747; 
Simeon, 1749; Damaris, 1751; Isaac, 1753; 
Jonathan, 1754; Hannah, 1756; Martha, 
1761; and Nathan, Jr., 1764. The father of 
these children died in 1786, aged seventy-two 
years. 

(IV) Simeon Keith, eldest son of Nathan, 
was born in 1749, and married in 1775 Molly 
Cary, daughter of Col. Simeon Cary and his 
wife Mary (Howard), the former of whom was 
a descendant in the fourth generation from 
John Cary, who came from Somersetshire, 
England, and settled in Duxbury, Mass., in 
1639, later becoming one of the first settlers 
of Bridgewater, where he was the first town 
clerk : and the latter a direct descendant in 
the fourth generation from John Howard, who 
came from England and settled first at Dux- 
bury, later becoming one of the first settlers 
of the West parish of Bridgewater, in 1651. 
Col. Simeon Cary was a captain in the French 
and Indian war in 1758 and 1759, and was a 
colonel in the Eevolutionary war in 1776. To 
Simeon and Molly (Cary) Keith were born 
children as follows: Hampden, born in 1776; 
Hannah, 1777; Molly, 1779; Austin, 1781; 
Sidney, 1783; Martha. 1785; Pardon, 1787; 
Ehoda, 1790; Silvia, 1792; and Keziah, 1794. 
Simeon Keith died June 24, 1828, aged sev- 
enty-nine years, and his widow died Sept. 25, 
1832, aged seventy-eight years. Simeon Keith 
was engaged in farming, and in connection 
with his agricultural pursuits made frequent 
trips to Boston by team, returning with hides 
for the shoemakers, and also collected the hair 
therefrom, which he disposed of to the masons 
to be used in mixing mortar, etc. In this bus- 
iness he was succeeded by his son Pardon, who 
followed the same for a number of years, until 
better shipping facilities came into vogue. 

(V) Pardon Keith, son of Simeon, was born 
Dec. 4, 1787, in West Bridgewater, and there 
spent his life engaged in agricultural pursuits. 
He owned a large tract of land, which he kept 
well cultivated and improved. In early life 
he allied himself with the old-line Whigs, and 
from the organization of the Eepublican party, 
in 1856, he was identified with it, being a very 
stanch adherent to its principles. He affiliated 
with the South Congregational Church at 
Campello, and in early life was a regular at- 
tendant at its services. During the war of 
1812 he was a member of the Horse Company, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1147 



iiiid received a pension for his services. Ho 
was of a genial, whole-souled nature, and as 
a kind and generous neighbor was esteemed by 
all who knew him. In ISOi) he married Abi- 
gail Thayer Wild, daughter of Silas, Jr., and 
Abigail (Thayer) Wild, of Braintree, Mass., 
iuid granddaughter of James Thayer, of Brain- 
tree, who was a great-grandson of John Alden 
and Priseilla Mullins, of the "Maytiower," 
l(i20. Pardon and Abigail T. (Wild) Keith 
had nine children, all of whom lived to have 
families, as follows: Willard, born June 26, 
1812, married Minerva Jane Fruit and (sec- 
ond) Cynthia Bacon; Mathan is mentioned 
below; Hannah Haskell, born Nov. 'M, 1815, 
married Tliomas Packard; Mary Wild, born 
Feb. 10, 1818, married Abraham M. Clark; 
Betsey Ann, boni March 31, 1820, married 
.Samuel Kimball; Simeon Cary, born Sept. 1, 
1822, married Susan F. Reed; Abigail Thayer, 
born July 18, 1826, married Charles W. 
Bacon; Howard Pardon, born June 13, 1831, 
married Sarah Alden and (second) Mrs. S. 
Helen Hyde ; and L'aroline Bond, born Aug. 
<H), 1836, became the second wife of Charles 
AV. Bacon. The mother of the above children 
died Oct. 19, 1836. and Pardon Keith mar- 
ried (second) Sarah Snell, daughter of Caleb 
Snell, of West Bridgewater. She died Oct. 5, 
1863, and he passed away June 25, 1880, aged 
ninety-two years, six months. 

(VI) Nathan Keith, son of Pardon, and 
late of Brockton, was a citizen who did much 
for the improvement of the place from a ma- 
terial standpoint, building up and developing 
the portion of the town in wl ich he lived for 
so many years. He led a quiet life for many 
vears before his death, but his early days were 
/ull of adventure typical of the times, when 
the new West was being opened \ip to settle- 
ment and enterprising New Englanders found 
an outlet for their ambition in the possibilities 
of the undeveloped regions extending as far as 
the Pacific. Mr. Keith was born Feb. 11, 
1814, in what was then known as the West 
parish of Bridgewater, now included in the 
city of Brockton. He was the second son in 
the large family his parents reared, and dur- 
ing his boyhood he had the usual experiences 
of the youth of that day in farming communi- 
ties. He attended the common schools and 
also a private school in West Bridgewater 
taught by Moses Mandell, for a term of about 
four months. He received the last of his 
schooling when about sixteen, after which he 
followed the example of his older brother, who 
was learning to make shoes, neither of the 
boys having any inclination toward farming at 



that day. They soon commenced to take out 
work from Mitchell & Bryant, but before long 
commenced cutting their own stock. Their 
principal output consisted of brogaus, which 
were sold for them ou commission in New 
Orleans at a fair profit, from seventy-five cents 
to a dollar a day being at that time considered 
a pretty good return for a day's work. They 
then made the low cut shoes known as sailor's 
pumps, which were in demand among the 
whale fishermen then so numerous in New 
Bedford and Nantucket, but the demand was 
too limited to make this line exclusive, al- 
though the pumps took less leather than the 
brogans and commanded as good a price. 
Eventually, in partnership with Thomas Pack- 
ard, the brothers Willard and Nathan Keith 
founded the firm of W. Keith & Co., for the 
manufacture of boots and shoes, locating in a 
shop opposite the residence of the late Caleb 
H. Packard. They also opened a boot and 
shoe store in Albany, N. Y. After one season, 
business being very poor, Thomas Packard 
retired from the company, the factory was 
closed, and the Keith brothers went to Al- 
bany. Before long they decided to try their 
fortunes in the W^est, and moving out to 
Columbus, Ohio, they opened a boot and shoe 
store, buying their stock in Boston. But the 
panic of 1837, with its depressing effect upon 
business and prospects everywhere, was felt 
severely in that location, and in the fall of that 
year they moved to Little Rock, Ark., where 
they conducted the same business for two 
years. The brothers then bought a steam saw- 
mill, which proved a profitable venture, most 
of the lumber being sold in the immediate lo- 
cality, and the rest rafted down the Missis- 
sippi. Nathan Keith retired from the mill 
business in 1839, leaving bis brother in charge 
of it. His next venture ended disastrously. 
In 1840 be purchased a small stock of goods 
which he shipped on the steamer "Cherokee," 
at Little Rock, for Fort Smith. The next 
morning they stopped at Lewisburg, and just 
as they were leaving the wharf tlie boilers ex- 
ploded. Though Mr. Keith was in the social 
hall directly over the boilers, and was thrown 
to the bank of the river, be was not injured, 
but he lost all his goods, and -he had to make 
another start. Having friends up near the 
Indian Nation, he made his home there for the 
next four years, carrying on stock raising until 
the wolves became so troublesome that he sold 
out. He had bought about 125 sheep in the 
northern part of the State, and drove them 
down to CJrand Prairie, south of the Arkansas 
river, where he was located for some time. 



1148 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Upon selling out lie drove his horses to Texas 
and Louisiana, sold them, and went on to jS'ew 
Orleans, engaging in the daguerreotype bus- 
iness in that city and in the villages in Louisi- 
ana and Alabama. ' Early in 18-1!) he went to 
Matamoras and Fort Brown, Texas, clerking 
in a store in the latter place. 

In November, 1849, he left Fort Brown for 
California, making a trip which was even more 
adventurous than the ordinary for those times. 
He traveled by way of Mexico, the journey to 
California taking 118 days. He was thirty- 
five days on the road to the Pacific ocean, about 
eleven liundred miles, stopping a day each at 
Monterey, Saltillo and Buena Vista, where 
about three years before General Taylor and 
Santa Anna met in conflict. The next stop 
was at Durango, at the foot of the Rockies, 
about three hundred miles from the Pacilic, 
where the company, which consisted of sixty 
men, many of them armed with guns and pis- 
tols, was warned against the Indians of wiiich 
they had heard tales daily, and also against 
attempting to cross the mountains with their 
raw animals and without a pilot. They finally 
concluded, however, to ride their own mules, 
over a mule road made by the Mexican gov- 
ernment three or four years before, the pack- 
ing being done by a tribe of Indians. The 
party arrived at the port of Mazatlan, Mexico, 
on the Pacific, in the middle of January, 1850, 
in good condition, sold their stock and saddles 
for about three-fourths of what they had cost 
on the Rio Grande, and fitting up an old hulk 
of a vessel which they found there sailed for 
San Francisco about a week later. After a voy- 
age of thirty-five days and a day's stopover in 
San Francisco Mr. Keith went on to Sac- 
ramento the next night, took a stern-wheel boat 
for Marysville and from there went on foot to 
Foster's Bar. on the Yuba river, a distance of 
twenty-five miles. Mr. Keith and his ])artner 
bought a pick and shovel for which they paid 
an ounce — then sixteen dollars — in gold, and 
went to work, the former remaining in Cali- 
fornia about three years, engaging in placer 
mining with fair success, and also packing sup- 
plies to the mines and keeping a toll bridge 
on the Yuba river. He did well while in Cal- 
ifornia, but principally by San Francisco in- 
vestments which y)aid a high rate of interest. 
Returning to his old home in Massaclnisctfs in 
185.'5, Mr. Keith was a resident of Brockton to 
the close of his life, his death occurring there 
April 26, 1899, when he was eighty-five years 
old. 

After his return to Brockton Mr. Keith set- 
tled on a farm and engaged in its cultivation. 



also imjiroving the farm for residence purposes 
and converting it into city property. Per- 
kins avenue was opcmed up through his elforts, 
and over eighty houses were built on the farm 
during his lifetime, about the same number 
going up on the adjoining estates within a per- 
iod of twenty years. He was a successful busi- 
ness man, and gave all his time to his own af- 
fairs, although he was elected to the first 
council chosen for the city of Brockton, being 
the senior member of that body. When a 
young man he belonged to the old Massachu- 
setts State militia, in which he was commis- 
sioned lieutenant by Governor Davis. In poli- 
tics he was originally a Whig, later becoming 
a Republican, and he voted for both the Har- 
risons. He was a member of the Society of 
Pioneers of New England. Mr. Keith was a 
man of public spirit and interested in every- 
thing that affected the growth of the town, 
lending his influence to every good project 
which needed the support of substantial citi- 
zens. 

On Sept. 15, 1853, Mr. Keitn was married 
to Elizabeth Copeland Perkins, daughter of 
Nahuni and Vesta (Copeland) Perkins, of 
North Bridgewater (now Brockton). She 
passed away in Brockton Jan. 16, 1!){)2, aged 
seventy-five years. They had two children : 
Allie Vesta, ^ born Feb. "l9, 1857, and Annie, 
born Sept. 24, 1850, who died Oct. 10, 1859. 
The surviving daughter, Allie Vesta, was mar- 
ried (first) Nov. 28, 1876, to Paul Franklin 
Green, and they had one child, Pauline 
Frances, born May 30, 1881, who was married 
April 22, 1903, to Dalva H. Swope, M. D., a 
practicing physician of Brockton ; they have 
one daughter, Aneta Swope. born April 9, 
1904. On June 23, 1885, Mrs. Green married 
(second) Charles Herbert Kingman, who died 
Jan. 27, 18rt6, and by whom she also had one 
daughter, Arlene Lorna, born July 24, 1886, 
who was married Feb. 2, 1909, to Emery 
Thorndyke Chase, of Brockton, paymaster of 
the George E. Keith Company, shoe manufac- 
turers. On Nov. 4, 1903, Mrs. Kingman mar- 
ried (third) Willie H. Packard, of Brockton. 

Mrs. Packard and her two daughters are 
prominent members of Deborah Sampson 
Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion, in which they all take a very active part. 

Pkkkins. (T) .Xbraham Perkins was one of 
the first settlers of Hampton ; was made a free- 
man May 13, 1640. He was a man of good 
education, an excellent penman, and much em- 
ployed in town business. He died Aug. 31, 
1683, and his widow Mary died May 29, 1706. 

(IT) Luke Perkins, born about 16H, mar- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1149 



rii'd llaniiali. widow of Ik'iiry Cookiry, and 
dauf^hter of Hubert Long, 8r. Ho IivlmI at 
Cliarlestowu. 

(lin Luke Perkins (2), born March IS, 
l(i6T, married Martlia, daughter of Lot and 
Elizabeth (Walton) Conaut. He lived in 
Marblehead, Beverly, Wenham, Ipswich and 
Plynipton. He was a blacksmith by occupa- 
tion. 

(IV) Mark Perkins, baptized in Beverly 
April 30, 169!), married Dorothy, daugliter of 
Matthew Whipple, Jr., of Ipswich. He moved 
to North Bridgewater, Mass., probably about 
1740-41, being the first of the name to come to 
that place. He was a blacksmith by trade. 
He settled on a tract of land at the corner of 
what is now Perkins avenue and Summer 
street, Brockton, near where Mrs. AUie V. 
Packard now lives, she still occupying a part 
•of the original tract, Perkins avenue taking its 
name from tliis family. This tract has been 
so extensively improved since that it now con- 
tains nearly 150 houses. The fountain which 
stands at the Junction of Perkins avenue and 
Summer street was erected in 1890, by Mrs. 
Elizabeth Copeland (Perkins) Keith, Mrs. 
Packard's mother, in memory of her father, the 
late Nahum Perkins. 

(V) Josiah Perkins, son of Mark, was born 
Jan. 4, 1727, and married Aug. 17, 17o5, Abi- 
gail Edson, daughter of Benjamin and Joanna 
(Orcutt) Edson. Their children were : Mehita- 
ble, Abigail, Mark, Josiah, Sarah, Benjamin, 
Silvia, Jacob and Shepard. The father of 
these children died Aug. 2, 1798, in his seven- 
ty-second year, and the mother died Sept. 11, 
1825, aged ninety years. 

(VI) Josiah Perkins, Jr., son of Josiah, was 
born Oct. 9, 1762, and married Jan. 14, 1790, 
Anna Reynolds, daughter of Jonas and Anna 
(Perkins) Reynolds. They had children: Jo- 
nas, who married Rhoda Keith ; Nahum, who 
married Vesta Copeland; and Mebitable. who 
married Charles Keith. The mother of these 
children died June 18, 1846, aged seventy- 
seven years, and the father died Sept. 7, 1848, 
aged nearly eighty-six years. He was a black- 
smith. 

(VII) Nahum Perkins, son of Josiah, Jr., 
was born Aug. 28, 1792, and married May 17, 
1820, Vesta Copeland, daughter of Caleb and 
Sally (Byram) Copeland. and a direct descend- 
ant of Lawrence Copeland, of Braintree, Mass., 
who was the first of the name in'this country. 
Mr. Perkins, like his ancestors before him, was 
a blacksmith, which trade he followed for 
many years. He was an active member of the 
First Congregational Church of North Bridge- 



water, serving that society in various official 
capacities. His children were: lOlizabetii 
Copeland, who married Nathan Keith ; and 
Sally, who married Caleb H. J^othrop, of Ran- 
dolph, Massachusetts. 

(V^III) Elizabeth Copeland Perkins, daugh- 
ter of Nahum and Vesta (Copeland) Perkins, 
married Sept. 15, 1853, Nathan Keith. 

FOSTER (Rockland family). The Foster 
family of Rockland, the head of which was 
the late Hon. Nathan B. Foster, a leading busi- 
ness man and prominent public official of the 
town, is a branch of the earlier Cape Cod 
family of the name and it of the still earlier 
Weymouth Foster family, the immigrant settler 
and ancestor being Sergt. Thomas Foster. The 
latter was born in England about 1600, son 
of Rev. Thomas Foster and his wife Abigail 
Wimes, and married Elizabeth. He came to 
America in the ship "Hercules" in 1634, was 
for a time an inhabitant of Boston, Wey- 
mouth and other points, dying April 20, 1682. 

From this (I) Sergt. Thomas Foster the 
descent of the late Hon. Nathan B. Foster of 
Rockland is through 

(II) Deacon John Foster, who was born Oct. 
7, 1642, in Weymouth, and married Mary, 
daughter of Thomas Chilliugsworth, of Marsh- 
field. 

(III) Deacon Chillingsworth Foster, a 
prominent man of Harwich, born July 11, 1690, 
in Marshfield, married Mercy Freeman, of Har- 
wich, and lived in that part of the latter town 
that became Brewster. 

(IV) Isaac Foster, born June 17, 1718, in 
Harwich, married Nov. 2, 1738, Hannah Sears, 
of Harwich, said to be a direct descendant of 
one of the "Mayflower" Pilgrims. 

(V) Nathaniel Foster, of Harwich, born 
April 8, 1751, in Harwich, married there Dee. 
11, 1775, Mary Hopkins and lived in the town 
of Brewster, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Solomon Foster, of Brewster, Mass., 
born there Aug. 4, 1785, married Polly Peaks. 

(VII) Solomon Foster (2), born May 31, 
1811, in Brewster, Barnstable Co., Mass., was 
there educated, and learned the trade of cur- 
rier, which he followed in many parts of this 
State, including Charlestown, and at Chester, 
Vt. In 1852 he settled in East Abington 
(now Rockland), where he continued to follow 
his trade for the remainder of his life. He 
enlisted during the Civil war in Company G, 
12th Massachusetts Regiment, and served thir- 
teen months, being mustered out of the service 
on account of disability. Mr. Foster married 
July 20, 1834, Martha Williams, born Aug. 



1150 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



27, 1814, in- Boston, daughter of Boardman 
Williams, of Boston. Mr. and Mrs. Fos- 
ter lived in Brewster, Mass., Boston and 
Abington. He died Dec. 31, 1867, aged 
fifty-six years, seven months. Their chil- 
dren were as follows: Martha Augusta, born 
May 17, 1835, married Isaac Hopkins, and 
died July 4, 1906; Mary Fessenden, born April 

28, 1837, died Sept. 28, 1838 ; Harriet Maria, 
born June 26, 1839, died Aug. 20, 1840; 
Solomon Boardman, born June 25, 1841, was 
wounded at the battle of Bull Run and died 
from the effects of his injuries Sept. 4, 1862; 
William Edward, born A^ig. 5, 1844, died Dec. 
8, 1894, in Rockland (he married Rachel Abbie 
Lane) ; Nathan Burnham was born Aug. 4, 
1847; Lillias Adelaide, horn Jan. 8. 1850, mar- 
ried Joshua Thomas ; Mary Harriet, born Feb. 
21, 1853, married Edwin Chute and resides 
in Rockland; Idaline and Eveline, twins, born 
July 22, 1859, died, respectively, Aug. 18, 1860, 
and Oct. 21, 1879. 

(VIII) Nathan Burnham Foster, son of 
Solomon (2) and Martha (Williams) Foster, 
was born Aug. 4, 1847, in Boston, Mass., but 
when a child went with the family to what 
is now the town of Rockland, which was ever 
afterward his home and where he wrought 
life's work. On the breaking out of the Civil 
war, or in its early stages, three of the Foster 
family, father and two sons, gave their services 
to their country, one of the sons forfeiting 
his life in the cause, all enlisting in the 12th 
Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, 
of which the colonel was Fletcher Webster of 
Marshfield, who was killed at the battle of Bull 
Run, Va., in 1862, the command becoming 
known as the "Webster Regiment." Nathan 
B. Foster was too young to enter the service, 
but he insisted on going South and was with the 
regiment for a considerable time, though not 
an enlisted man. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of his adopted town and on com- 
pleting his course he learned shoemaking. He 
was employed for years in the various shoe 
factories in what is now Rockland and vicinity 
and was for a number of years foreman of 
the stitchin? room at the J. E. French shoo 
factory in Rockland. He left that position a 
number of years before his death to enter the 
firm of F. Thompson & Co., manufacturers of 
blackings and stains. The firm is one of the 
prominent ones in town. 

Always active and wide-awake, enterprising 
and progressive, Mr. Foster proved a valuable 
citizen and through the force of his make-up 
rose to positions of trust and responsibility, 
as well as of honor. He served Rockland 



faithfully for a dozen years or more as chief 
engineer of the fire department and his 
voluntary retirement at the end of that period 
was a source of regret to all those interested 
in fire department matters, for in everything 
pertaining to department business the town had 
implicit confidence in the judgment of Chief 
Foster. On retiring from the fire department 
he remained an honorary member of it. He 
was of a social disposition and had a wide 
circle of friends in this section. He served as 
water commissioner for a number of years and 
was a member of many organizations, including 
the Union Glee Club and the Rockland Com- 
mercial Club, being chairman of the executive 
committee of the latter organization; Old 
Colony Lodge, K. of P. ; John Cutler Lodge, 
A. F. & A. M., of Abington, Old Colony Com- 
mandery, K. T., Aleppo Temple, Order of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Boston, the Massachusetts 
Fire Chiefs' Association and the Brockton Fore- 
men's and Superintendents' Association. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Foster was a 
member of the Republican town committee for 
some eight years or more, and was an inde- 
fatigable worker for the candidates of his party. 
He was elected in the fall of 1908 a member 
of the lower house of the General Court from 
the Rockland, Hanover and Hanson district. 
He was renominated for a second term some 
weeks before his death. Of the man and his 
services in the Legislature said one of the local 
papers : 

"Representative Nathan B. Foster of Rock- 
land, successor to Rev. Melvin S. Nash as 
representative from the 4th Plymouth, in every 
way proved to be a worthy representative. The 
same independence which always characterized 
Mr. Nash was displayed in the votes of Rep- 
resentative Foster. He refused to bow to the 
mandate of the State machine that all direct 
nomination bills and legislation providing for 
80-cent gas for certain communities be killed 
and supported those bills. A manufacturer 
himself, he showed himself to be eminently 
fair to organized labor and supported the bill 
limiting the employment of women and minors 
in textile establishments to fifty-four hours 
a week and also the bill to allow the estab- 
lishment of peaceful communication with ap- 
plicants for positions during strikes and lock- 
outs, the so-called 'peaceful picketing bill.'' 
Representative Foster was also an earnest 
worker in behalf of the bill to provide that 
goods made in prisons and offered for sale 
should be stamped 'convict made.' This bill, 
which would prevent unfair competition with 
the products of Massachusetts workers, was- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1151 



killed by a tie vote. All temperance measures 
found an earnest friend in Mr. Foster, as did 
Governor Draper's proposition for the settling 
of the transportation muddle in Massachusetts. 
On the committee on Drainage the Rockland 
man found plenty to do in dealing with the 
various problems relating to the sewage dis- 
posal of the various cities and towns of the 
Commonwealth, being a faithful attendant at 
all hearings of his committee." 

Mr. Foster died Oct. 22, 1909, after a long 
illness, at his home in Rockland, Mass., in his 
sixty-third year. The funeral services of the 
deceased were held at the Congregational 
Church in Rockland and were very largely at- 
tended. The members of Old Colony Lodge 
(Knights of Pythias), the Union Glee Club, 
the Rockland fire department and the John 
Cutler Lodge (A. F. & A. M.) of Abington, of 
which he was a member, attended in a body. 
The Massachusetts Legislature was represented 
by Speaker Walker, Sergeant-at-arms David 
T. Remington, and others. The Massachusetts 
Firemen's Association was represented, as well 
as fire departments of several towiis of the 
State. The town officials of Rockland, and 
many from Abington, attended. The inter- 
ment was at Mount Pleasant Cemetery, Rock- 
land. The pallbearers were Dr. Oilman Os- 
good, Fred 0. Baker, Albert S. Peterson, 
George \V. Hyde, George H. Lapham and 
Charles S. Beal. 

Mr. Foster married, at Abington, Feb. 21, 
1874, S. Ettie Reed, daughter of Hervey and 
Mary Thaxter (Nash) Reed, of Abington. To 
them was bom one child, Burnham Reed. 

(IX) Burnham Reed Foster, only child 
of Nathan Burnham and S. Ettie (Reed) Fos- 
ter, born in Rockland Aug. 28, 1887, was 
reared in his native place, receiving the greater 
part of his education in the public and high 
schools there. He also attended Bryant & 
Stratton's Commercial College at Boston. He 
worked for a time in a shoe factory, but is now 
conducting a .store at Accord, Mass., in the 
town of Hingham. 

Mrs. S. Ettie (Reed) Foster is a descendant 
of the Reed and Nash families of Weymouth 
and Abington. 

(I) William Reed, the founder of the fam- 
ily in America, came from England and located 
in Weymouth. He died Oct. 15, 1639. He 
married Esther Thompson, daughter of Lieut. 
John and Mary (Cook) Thompson, and grand- 
daughter of Francis Cook, who came in the 
"Mayflower." 

(I'l) William Reed (2), son of William, mar- 
ried in 1703 Alice Nash, daughter of Lieut. 



Jacob Nash. She died Dec. 5, 1751. 

(Ill) Obadiah Reed, son of William (2), 
born ]\Iarch 14, 1707, died Nov. 4, 1753. He 
married Oct. 19, 1731, Mary Nash, daughter 
of Ensign James Nash, and to them were born 
seven children. 

(I-V) Obadiah Reed (2), son of Obadiah, 
born May 15, 1734, married (first) Content 
Lincoln and (second) Elizabeth Shaw. 

(V) Joel Reed, son of Obadiah (2) and 
Elizabeth (Shaw), born Oct. 26, 1771, married 
(first) July 4, 1793, Ruth Gurney, and (sec- 
ond) Jane Raymond, a widow. They settled 
in Abington. He had nine children. 

(VI) Hervey Reed, son of Joel and Ruth 
(Gurney), borii Feb. 27, 1806, married (first) 
Oct. 30; 1830, Sallv Poole, and (second) Nov. 
23, 1837, Mary Thaxter Nash, daughter of 
Micah and Sarah (Thaxter) Nash. The sec- 
ond wife died in Rockland Dec. 25, 1898. One 
child, Sarah, was born to the first union, June 
29, 1835, and by the second marriage there 
were children as follows: One born Oct. 1, 
1838, deceased in infancy; Hervey Turner, 
born March 29, 1840; Mary Elizabeth, born 
Aug. 13, 1842, who married Dec. 11, 1870, 
Dan Packard ; Francis Baylies, born Dec. 30, 
1844, who married May 28, 1879, Clara Rey- 
nolds; Abigail Adelaide, born May 14, 1847, 
who married Dec. 24, 1868, Howard Malcolm 
Shaw; Alsie Carsilla, born Aug. 10, 1850, who 
married Nov. 4, 1869, Willard W. Lewis, and 
died Aug. 28, 1872; one that died in infancy; 
and Sharlie Ettie, born April 15, 1854, who 
married Feb. 21, 1874, Nathan B. Foster, of 
Rockland. 

The Nash family, of which Mrs. Foster's 
mother was a descendant, is of English origin. 

(I) James Nash was a freeman in Wey- 
mouth, Mass., in 1645. 

(II) Lieut. Jacob Nash, son of James and 
Alice, was a freeman of Weymouth in 1686. 
He was the father of eleven children. 

(III) James Nash, son of Jacob, was twice 
married. He resided in the town of Abington, 
Massachusetts. 

(IV) Lieut. James Nash, son of James, born 
in 1705, married Mary Pratt, of Easton, Mass., 
and they lived in Abington. He became 
lieutenant in the militia. 

(V) James Nash, son of Lieut. James and 
Mary (Pratt), born in 1737 in Abington, mar- 
ried Tamar Bates. He died June 7, 1771, his 
wife April 10, 1772. 

(VI) James Nash, son of James and Tamar 
(Bates), born Sept. 10, 1761, made his home 
in the town of Abington, where he died Aug. 
6, 1311. He married Sarah Brown. 



1152 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(VII) Micah Nash, son of James, born Oct. 
3, 1788, died March 31, 184!». He married 
Sarah Thaxter, who was born Dec. 13, 17!)2, 

and their children were born as follows : Sarah 
Lincoln, Sept. 30, 1814 (died Oct. 12, 1858) ; 
Mary Thaxter, Sept. 20, 1816; Elizabeth Bay- 
lies, Feb. 9, 1819; Bela Thaxter, July 18, 
]'821; Micah, Feb. 28. 1821; Charlotte Brown, 
Sept. 20, 1826; (4ridley Thaxter, March 10, 
1828 ; Benjamin Lincoln, Sept. 14, 1831 ; and 
James Edward, Sept. 26, 1833. 

(VIII) Mary Thaxter Na.sh, born in Abing- 
ton, Sept. 20, "1816. married Xov. 23, 1837, 
Heryey Reed, born Feb. 27, 1806, son of Joel 
and Ruth (Gurney) Reed. 

MARCUS M. WORDELL, late of Fall River, 
president and one of the founders of the large 
clothing and men's furnishings house of Wor- 
dell & McGuire Company, was one of the sub- 
stantial and leading citizens of the city and 
one who reached a foremost position in its busi- 
ness life wholly as a result of his individual 
efforts. 

Mr. Wordell was a descendant and worthy 
representative of an old family in this section, 
tracing his ancestry to (I) William Wordell 
(spelled in early records Wodell), who was 
of Boston as early as 1637. In 1643 he was 
one of the eleven purchasers of the tract of 
land called Shawomet (Warwick). He had 
a grant of land in Portsmouth, R. I., in 1643, 
and in that same year he was taken with others 
before the court at Boston charged with heresy 
and sedition. He was later banished from both 
Massachusetts and Warwick. He returned to 
Portsmouth; was a freeman in 1655; later was 
commissioner, and for many years between 1664 
and 1686 was deputy. He died in 1693. The 
Christian name of his wife was Mary, and 
their children were: Mary, born in Novem- 
ber, 1640; Gershom. July 14, 1642; Sarali, in 
October, 1644; Alice. Feb. 10, 1650; and 
Frances, July 6, 1652. 

(II) Gershom Wodell, born July 14. 1642, 
married Mary Tri])p, daughter of John and 
Mary (Paine) Tripp, and they were residents 
of Portsmouth, R. I. Their children were: 
William (born in 1663), Mary, Elizabeth, 
Richard, Return, Gershom, Sarah and Inno- 
cent. 

(III) Gershom Wodell (2), son of Gershom, 
married Sarah, born Feb. 3, 1670, daughter 
of Jacob and Joanna (Slocum) Mott, and they 
resided in Tiverton, of which town Mr. Wodell 
was an inhabitant at the formation in 1692. 
He died Sept. 4, 1741. Their children were: 



William (born June 13, 1702), Gershom, Eliza- 
beth, Ruth, Patience, Alice and Innocent. 

(IV) Gershom Wordell (3), son of Ger- 
shom (2) and Sarah (ilott), married in 1743 
in Freetown, Mass., Mary, born Feb. 7, 1720, 
daughter of Thomas and Mary (Durfee) Gage, 
of Freetown. Their children of Tiverton town 
record were: Susannah, born Oct. 25. 1743; 
Gershom, born Jan. 15, 1745; Mary, born Aug. 
23, 1747; Sarah, born April 14, 1749; and 
Elizabeth, born Aug. 30, 1750; and, accord- 
ing to Eli Wodell, Phineas, Silas, Thomas, 
Lovina and Constant, born in that part of 
Dartmouth now Westport. 

(V) Thomas Wordell, son of Gershom (3) 
and Mary (Gage) Wordell, married Phebe 
Borden. Their children were: Silas; Peleg; 
Anna, who married Pearse Phillip (his sec- 
ond wife) ; Susan, who married Pearse Phillip 
(his first wife) ; Thomas, drowned in the great 
gale of September, 1815; Samuel; and John, 
who married Dianna Wordell. 

(VI) Peleg Wordell, son of Thomas and 
Phebe (Borden) Wordell, was born in West- 
port, and that town was his place of residence 
through life. His home for many years was 
the first one east of the Narrows in the town 
of Westport on the south side of the New Bed- 
ford turnpike, and on the bank of the South 
Watuppa lake. Later he removed to a farm 
on a cross road leading to the Head-of-West- 
port. and there he died. He always followed 
farming as an occupation. He married Delana 
Wordell. a native of Westport, whom he sur- 
vived many years, and their children were: 
Silas (lived in New Bedford). Abel, Isaac 
(lived in New Bedford). William (resided in 
Fall River). Olive (married Amenzar Durfee) 
and Caleb (lost at sea). 

(VII) Abel Wordell, son of Peleg and De- 
lana Wordell. and father of IMarcus M., was 
born in Westport July 24, 1818, and settled 
in Fall River when a young man. He was en- 
gaged at teaming, which he followed for a 
number of years, until he became a member 
of the police force of the city of Fall River, 
so continuing until his death, Oct. 3, 1880. 
He was buried in Oak Grove cemetery. Mr. 
Wordell married Ardelia Handy, who was born 
April 12. 1820, in Bristol, R.'l., daughter of 
David and Ann (Sisson) Handy, both of whom 
were also natives of Bristol. Mrs. Wordell 
survived her husband until Sept. 20, 1897. 
Thev had a family of ten children, all of whom 
reached adult age, and six are yet (1912) 
living: Delana married Darius Bufiinton, and 
died in Fall River ; Marcus M. is mentioned 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1153 



below; Frank A., a veterau of the Civil war 
and for many years a special pension agent 
in the employ of the government, died in 
Michigan; Albert H. is a resident of Fall 
River; Anna J. died unmarried; William re- 
sides at New London, Conn. ; Herbert resides 
in Cincinnati, Ohio; Arthur resides at Brook- 
line, Mass.; Hiram resides at Chicago, 111.; 
Walter resides in Boston. 

(VIII) Marcus M. Wordell, eldest son of 
Abel and Ardelia (Handy) Wordell, was born 
in Fall River Aug. 26, 1844. He received 
a fair education in the schools of his native 
•city. The Wortiell family, shortly after the 
birth of Marcus, occupied a house at the cor- 
ner of Pleasant and Second streets, wliere the 
Evening News building now stands. It was 
moved to the rear when the News building was 
built, and is now occupied by Hart & How- 
land. Several of the youflger members of the 
Wordell family were born in this house. Soon 
after leaving school Mr. Wordell entered upon 
his business career as clerk in the grocery 
store of p]lihu Andrews & Bro., on Pleasant 
street, near Main, and remained there for three 
years. Later he worked for Davis Bros., wlio 
conducted a meat and grocery market on Pleas- 
ant street. He continued his connection with 
the grocery trade until 1871, when he became 
clerk in the clothing store of C. E. Vickery, 
•who occupied a room on Pleasant street which 
is now a part of the space occupied by Wordell 
& McGuire. Remaining in the employ of Mr. 
Vickery until 1884. he formed a partnership 
with Thomas C. McGuire. a fellow clerk in Mr. 
Vickery's establishment, under the name of 
Wordell & McGuire. The firm prospered from 
the beginning, at different times enlarging their 
quarters until now the establishment is one of 
the largest of its kind in southeastern Massa- 
chusetts. In 3907 the business was incorpo- 
rated under the name of Wordell & McGuire 
Company, with Mr. Wordell as president and 
Mr. McGuire as treasurer. Mr. Wordell had 
other substantial business connections, being a 
<iirector of the Massasoit-Pocasset National 
Bank and a member of the board of trustees 
of the Union Savings Bank. He was a Re- 
publican in politics and took a deep interest 
in the success of the party. But he cared lit- 
tle for political preferment, and the only polit- 
ical office he ever held was that of member of 
the board of overseers of the poor, a position 
of honor tendered to him by Mayor John T. 
Coughlin during the latter's term of office, and 
which Mr. Wordell held at the time of his 
death. The following is a copy of a letter to 
Mrs. Wordell from tlie board of overseers of 
the poor : 

73 



Mrs. Marcus M. Wordell, 

638 High Street. 
Dear Madam: — 

We, members of the Boa-rd of Overseers of the 
P<x)r of this city, of which your hiLsband was a 
member, desire to express our heartfelt sympathy in 
your great loss. 

As a member of this important branch of our 
nuinicipality, Mr. Wordell has ever manifested an 
earnest solicitation for the welfare of the unfortunate 
poor of the city. 

His sense of the obligations of the office that he 
held, and the spirit he displayed in discharging the 
duties of that office, highly commended him to his 
associates. 

He had a high conception of public trust, and 
regard for truth and honor. He was one of the 
highest type of our citizenship, possessing those 
qualities of heart and conscience that made him an 
able and fearless public sei-vant. 

His regard for fair play and his disposition to deal 
squarely, made him respected by all with whom he 
came in contact. 

Our poor and unfortunate sick have been bereft 
of a sympathetic friend, and his loss will be sin- 
cerely mourned by the whole community. 
Very respectfully yours. 
Board of Overseers of the Poor, 
Thomas F. Higgins, 

Chairman. 

Mr. Wordell was a member of tl>e Queque- 
' chau and Fall River Driving Clubs. He loved 
good horses and during his life owned several 
very fast ones. His two famous horses were 
Prince and Fan, and it was Mr. WordelFs 
great delight to drive behind either. Prince 
died years ago, but Fan is alive to-day though 
more than thirty years old, and is living an 
easy life at Anthony's boarding stable at Swan- 
sea. Mr. Wordell was also a great golf enthu- 
siast and for a man of his age was considered 
a fine player. For many years be was a mem- 
ber of the Fall River Niagara Engine Com- 
pany No. 4, which was a famous company in 
the old fire-fighting days. This company was 
organized in 1868 and William C. Davol, Jr., 
tlie present chief of the fire department, was 
its foreman. The roster of the company in- 
cluded about fifteen other young men, promi- 
nent and active in the att'airs of the city in 
those days. Fraternally 'Mr. Wordell was a 
member of King Philip Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
of Fall River Chapter, R. A. M.. and of Fall 
River Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. He belonged to the 
Unitarian Church. During the time of the 
Civil war Mr. Wordell enlisted and was sta- 
tioned for several months at Fort Warren. 

On Oct. 20, 1872, Mr. Wordell was married 
in Fall River to Eliza B. Blake, a native of 
that city. They had two children : Annie M., 
now the wife of Joseph Sherman, of Boston, 
and Carrie B., who is at home. 

Mr. Wordell died suddenly at the "Ormond 



1154 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



jHotul," Ormoiul, Fla., la(e Saturday niglit, 
Feb. 3, 11)12. Tlie news of his death was a 
shook to all who knew him, as he had departed 
for the South witli ins wife the Thursday of 
the previous week in good spirits and appar- 
ently in good health e.xoept for a cold which 
had" shown no serious syniptonvs. Pneumonia 
developed, jiowever, and he succumbed. A 
loial paper said : 

'•Witli the death of Mr. Wordell, the com- 
munity loses anotlier of its strongest and best 
business n\en. and his loss will be hard to re- 
place. A man of (|uiet and retiring disposi- 
tion, he was nevertheless popular with all who 
knew him intimately. In business life he was 
a man of the highest integrity and honorable 
business principles." 

At a special meeting of the executive com- 
mittee of tlie Fall River Merchants' Associa- 
tion held Feb. .>, 1i)12, the death of "our es- 
teemed fellow merchant, Marcus M. Wordell, 
which occurred at Ormond, Fla., on Saturday, 
Feb. .3, 1912, was reported, and the following 
inemorial was adopted" : 

The Fall River Jlerchants' Association has learned 
^vith deepest regret of the death of Marcus M. Wor- 
dell, one of its most active and zealous members; 
one who was ever ready to fjive of his time and talents 
in promoting the welfare of the association. 

Honorahle in all of his business relations, he was 
a type of merchant whose wise counsel and st<>rlinfr 
intefrrity won for him the confidence and resjiect 
of his associates. 

In his death this association, and the city of Fall 
River, has lost an uprifjht citizen ; one who has lonp 
and honorably been identified with the business and 
civic interests of the city, and one \Vhose kp"'»' 
personality made it a genuine pleasure to be alliliated 
with him in any association work. 

He was a memlier of the executive committee for 
many years, always ready to eoivperate with his 
associates in all its undertakinjjs. bringing to all 
of his work sound judgment and courage of his con- 
victions. His taking off leaves in our ranks a void 
■which will not easily be filled and in our hearts a 
deep sorrow. 

We extend to the bereaved family our sincerest 
svnnpathy. 

D.iNiEr. F. Sullivan, 
.Tame.s C. Brady, 
Herbert C. Talbot, 

For the Association. 

The directors of the Massasoit-Focasset Na- 
tional Bank, having received with deep sorrow 
the announcement of tlie death of their asso- 
ciate director, Marcus M. Wordell, and deplor- 
ing the death of a highly esteemed and valued 
mend)er, adopted the follnwiug memorial: 

Marcus M. Wordell was born in Fall River, August, 
1844, and remained a resident of the city until his 
death. After completing his education in the public 
schools he entered upon a mercantile career, which 
he pursued with signal success throughout his subse- 



quent life. Industrious, enterprising, capable and of 
the highest integrity of character, he achieved his 
purjxjses and received the respect and regard of all 
with whom his business intere.sts brought him into 
relations. 

He was a director of this institution since its 
organization in 100.3, and previously had been a. 
director in the Massasoit National Bank for nearly 
ten years. He brought to the duties of the position 
keen sagacity, a sound judgment, and independence 
and courage. 

As an associate he was a man of genial jiersonality, 
strong in his friendships and genuine in character. 
In his death we recognize the loss not only of a man 
of high ability and character, but of a broad-minded, 
public-spirited citizen. 

C'HAS. M. Shove, Chairman. 
E. \v. Borden, Clerk. 

BRADFORD KING CUSHMAN, a well- 
known farmer and lumber dealer of North 
Middleboro, Plymouth Co., Mass., is a native 
of that town, born on a farm in the northern 
part, Aug. 23, 185S. He is a descendant of 
one of the oldest Mew England families, trac- 
ing his line from Robert I'ushman, the Ply- 
mouth Pilgrim and the progenitor of the New 
England Cushmans, who took a conspicuous 
])art in the events leading to the coming to New 
England of the "j\Iayflower" and in the neces- 
sary preliminary arrangements. 

( I ) Robert Cushman was a native of Kent, 
England. With John Carver he was instru- 
mental in effecting the emigration of the Pil- 
grims to Holland, where he Joined them after 
they had been in Leyden several years. He 
l)ecame a leading member of the community 
in Leyden and took a deep interest in the 
project of settling in an English colony. He 
with Deacon Carver, in 1(J17, was sent to Lon- 
don to negotiate with the Virginia Company 
for permission to settle on their lands, and to 
apply to King James to grant them liberty 
of conscience there. He made a second trip 
there with Elder Brewster in 1610, for the 
same object, when a patent was obtained in 
which the king granted toleration for their 
form of religion .so long as they remained 
faithful subjects. The arrangement with the 
London merchant adventurers was concluded 
through his agency. He and Carver then re- 
turned to England to collect subscriptions, 
make purchases, and prepare for the voyage. 
They chartered the "Mayflower." Cushman, 
who was given the office of assistant governor, 
embarked with his family on the "Speedwell" 
in August, lfi20, when the two vessels began 
the voy.age together; but when the "Mayflower"' 
sailed again alone, in September, with only 
a part of the company, he remained behind 
to act as their financial agent in England and 
send them supplies. He sailed for New Eng- 



SOUTH EASTERN M ASSAL'll USETTS 



1155 



land in 1G21 in the "Fortune," takintj with 
liini his only son, Thomas. He returned to 
Europe to nianajje the business ot the Colonists 
there, but k'l't liis son in the family of Gov- 
ernor Bradford. In l&iS, with Edward Win- 
slow, he obtained a grant of territory on Cape 
Ann, where a new band of Puritans made the 
first permanent settlement within the limits of 
the Massachusetts Bay Colony. Mr. Cushman 
died in 162,") in England. 

One of the descendants of this Robert Cush- 
man, Thomas by name, and a farmer of 
Plympton, Mass., seems to have removed to 
Bridgewater (the first interior settlement in 
the Colony), where his only son, Thomas 
Cushman, was born and passed a long, honor- 
able and useful life. The Cushman name has 
continued in that locality to the present, and 
they have been among the substantial citizens 
of that Old Colony town for several genera- 
tions. From Robert Cushman, Bradford King 
Cushman is descended through Thomas, Rev. 
Isaac, Ichabod, Ichabod (2), Earl and Earl H. 
Cushman. These generations in detail and in 
the order named follow. 

(II) Thomas Cushman, born in England in 
1608, can^e to Xew England with his father 
Robert in 1621 in the ship "Fortune." The 
father returned to England in a few days, 
leaving his only son in the family of his 
friend, Governor Bradford. Thomas was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1633; served as juryman 
in 1635. About this time, in 1635 or 1636, he 
married Mary Allerton, daughter of Isaac Al- 
lerton, who came over in the "Mayflower,"" in 
1620; and they lived together in that relation 
for fifty-five years, she surviving him less than 
a decade. It is believed that he removed to 
what is now Kingston not long after his mar- 
riage. He succeeded as ruling elder of the 
church at Plymouth in 1649 the venerable 
Elder Brewster, and sustained that relation 
until the time of his death — a period of up- 
ward of forty-two years. He died Dec. 11, 
1691, in the eighty-fourth year of his age. 
With her husband Mrs. Cushman was a mem- 
ber of the church at Plymouth. She died in 
1691, at the advanced age of ninety, being the 
last survivor of those who came over in the 
"Mayflower." Their chil(Jren were: Thomas, 
born in 1637; Sarah; Lydia; Isaac; Elkanah, 
horn in 1651; Feare, born in 1653; Eleazer, 
born in 1656-57; and Mary. 

(III) Rev. Isaac Cushman, son of Rev. 
Thomas, was born at Plymouth Feb. 8, 1647-48, 
and married about 1675 Mary Rickard, who 
was born in 1654 and died at Plymouth Sept. 
27, 1727, aged seventy-three years. Children: 



Isaac, born Nov. 13, 1676; Rebekah, Nov. 30, 
1678 (married Jacob Mitchell, Nov. 18, 1701) ; 
Mary, Oct. 12, 168^ (married March 19, 
1702, Robert Waterman, of Halifax, Mass.) ; 
Sarah, April 19, 1684 (married James Bryant, 
of Halifax, and. second, James Bradford, of 
Halifax); Ichabod, Oct. 30, 1686; Feare, 
March 10, 1689 (married William Sturtevant, 
of Halifax, Feb. 12, 1708). 

(IV) Ichabod Cushman, son of Rev. Isaac, 
born in Plymouth, Oct. 30, 1686, married 
(first) Esther Barnes, daughter of Jonathan 
Barnes, and (second) Nov. 17, 1712, Patience 
Holmes, daughter of John Holmes. He lived 
in Plympton and later in Middleboro. After 
his death his widow married Elnathan W'ood. 
Children: Joanna, born Dec. 17, 1713, mar- 
ried Ichabod Bosworth ; William, born Oct. 13, 
1715, died Aug. 27, 1768; Sarah, born Nov. 

8, 1717, married Aug. 12, 1735, Daniel 
Vaughn; Experience, born July 12, 1719, 
married Sept. 6, 1737, Jonathan Smith; Pa- 
tience, born April 8, 1721, married Caleb Stur- 
tevant July 23, 1739; Mary, born Dec. 22, 
1723, married Nov. 24, 1743, Jedediah Lyon; 
Ichabod was born May 12, 1725 ; Rebekah, bora 
July 11, 1727. on Jan. 14. 1742, married 
Manassah Clapp ; Isaac, born Aug. 12, 1730, 
died August, 1820, married Sarah Miller. 

(V) Ichabod Cushman (2), son of Ichabod, 
born in Middleboro, Mass., May 12, 1725, mar- 
ried (first) March 4, 1751, Patience Makefern, 
and (second) Hope White. His children were : 
By the first marriage — Experience, born March 

9, 1752, married Jacob Spear; Molly, born 
April 20, 1754, married Joshua Wood, of 
Middleboro; Ichabod, born March 28, 1757, 
married Nov. 28, 1782, Molly Morton ; Robert 
was born April 24, 1761 ; Holmes, born Oct. 
23, 1762, died Aug. 31, 1833; Svlvanus was 
born April 27, 1764; Earl was born Oct. 16, 
1767; by the second marriage — John, bom 
Jan. 9, 1775, married Rebecca Clapp in 1799. 

(VI) Earl Cushman, son of Ichabod (2), 
was born in the town of Middleboro, Mass., 
Oct. 16, 1767, and moved with the family to 
Woodstock, Vt., where he followed farming. 
Later he returned, settling with his family in 
North Middleboro. where the remainder of his 
life was spent. He lived to a ripe old age 
and is buried in North Middleboro oemeterv. 
His wife, Wealthy (Hall), born Oct. 3, 1789, 
lived to the ripe age of ninety-three years, 
twenty-one days; she, too, is buried in North 
Middleboro cemeterv'. They had two children: 
Ear! H., born Sept. 2. 1823; and Lucy, who 
married George Bradford, and resides at Wood- 
stock. Vermont. 



1156 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



(VII) Ear! H. Cushman, son of Earl, was 
born at Woodstock, Vt., Sept. 2, 1823, and 
there grew to manhood. He worked on the 
farm there, and after coming to North Middle- 
boro with his family worked at shoemaking 
for some time, later turning his attention to 
farming. He owned a phice in North Middle- 
boro which he cultivated for some time, and 
on selling out moved to Sturtevant Corner, in 
Bridgewater. where he bought the farm now 
operated by his sons, and there followed agri- 
cultural pursuits. He spent the remainder 
of his days there, dying June 2, 1908, at the 
ripe age of eighty-five years, and was Iniried in 
North Middleboro cemetery. 

At Raynham, Mass., Mr. Cushman married 
Lucy C. Leonard, a native of Raynham. born 
Nov. 30, 1835, daughter of Walter and Ke- 
ziah (Richmond) Leonard. Mrs. Cushman 
still makes her home on the farm, and is quite 
active for one of her years. Cliildren as fol- 
lows were born to this union : Albert IL, born 
July 17, 1852, resides at home; S. Augusta, 
born in November, 1851, married Edward 
Hall, and resides in Raynham; Bradford King 
was born Aug. 22, 1858 ; Jennie, born Dec. 
26, 1864, resides at home; Leonard E., born 
Oct. 4, 1869, is at home; Zebulon Pratt, born 
March 6, 1872, resides at home. 

(VIII) Bradford King Cushman attended 
the public schools of North Middleboro and 
the Pratt free school. He worked at liome on 
the farm and in time became engaged in the 
milk business, finding a market for his prodiict 
in Bridgewater. Remaining on the home farm 
until 1905, he moved thence to his present 
place on Plymouth street. North Middleboro, 
where he bouglit a tract of laiuf and built his 
present home and barn. He has made num- 
erous other improvements on the property, and 
has ever since been engaged in farming and in 
"the lumber business, buying tracts of wood- 
land which he converts into timber and lumber. 

On May 3, 1905, Mr. Cushman married, in 
Bridgewater, Mass., Pauline Coleman, of 
Brookline, Mass., daughter of William C. Cole- 
man, now of Bridgewater. Mr. and Mrs. Cush- 
man have one child, Earl Bradford, who was 
born Jan. 5, 1906. 

SEVERANCE (Brockton family). Of the 
origin of the name Severance, or Severans. 
nothing is positively known beyond the fact 
that the father of Tjueius Septimus Severus, 
born A. D. 146. at Septis, an African coast 
town, was a Roman citizen. Historically here 
is the origin of the name. The name was 
prominent in Rome as early as the eighth cen- 



tury. It passed from Rome into Germany 
prior to the twelfth century and was known 
to Denmark several centuries later. And 
Burke's Landed Gentry says there are ancient 
and broken records tracing the ancestry of the 
Severans of Shrawley to a remote period. 

John Severance, the first American ancestor 
of many who bear the name in this country, 
appears at Ipswich in 1636, and in Boston in 
1637. He was a member of the Ancient and 
Honorable Artillery Company at its organiza- 
tion in 1638, was a freeman in 1640, becoming 
such in 1637 at Boston, and in that same year 
was one of the original proprietors at Salis- 
bury'. It is believed that he built his home 
in Salisbury early in 1640, and moved his 
family from Bo.ston. He had married in 1635, 
at Ipswich, England, Abigail Kimball, who 
died in 1658. His second marriage was to 
Mrs. Susanna Ambrose, of Boston, and he died 
in 1682. 

The Se\erance family, descendants of John 
Severance alluded to in the foregoing, was 
early identified with tiie settlements of south- 
ern New Hampshire, and is still found con- 
nected with the business life and civil and 
religious history of the commonwealth. 

Stephen Severance was born at Chichester, 
N. H.. July 14. 1798, and died in Ossipee, 
N. H. He was a farmer and a member of 
the State militia. For many years he officiated 
as deacon of the church. He married Eliza 
King, who died Sept. 22, 1884, in Ossipee, N. 
II. Of the eleven sons born of this union, 
two died in infancy, the others being: Newell 
Atchison, a farmer, who died in Wolfboro, 
N. H. ; Lorenzo Fisk. mentioned below ; Alonzo 
Clark, who was- associated with his brother 
Lorenzo F. in the ])rovision business in Brock- 
ton, where he died : Ira 0., who died in Quincy, 
Mass.. where he conducted a meat market for 
a number of years ; James Horn, who died in 
Chicago, where he conducted a hotel for many 
years ; Jasper Nelson, who died aged fourteen 
years ; John Albert, who was engaged in the 
hotel business and died in Chicago; Stephen 
Nute. who was proprietor of the "Severance 
Hotel" near Central Park. New York City, 
in which city he died ; and Sylvester Edwin, 
who is engaged in the market business at Lynn. 
Massachusetts. 

Along in the late fifties there came from 
Ossipee, N. IT., two brothers, Alonzo Clark 
Severance and Lorenzo Fisk Severance, rep- 
resentatives of the New Hampshire branch of 
the family, sons of Stephen and Eliza (King) 
Severance, natives of Chichester and Tufton- 
boro. that State, respectively. These men be- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1157 



caiuc permanent residents of North Bridge- 
water and Brockton, and men of substance and 
standing in the community, and are represented 
in the citizenship of Brockton to-day. 

LoREXzo FiSK Severance was born April 
5, 1827, in Wolfboro, N. H., and received his 
education in the schools at Ossipee, where his 
parents settled when when he was a mere lad. 
After leaving school he took up farming with 
his father, which occupation he followed until 
he came to Natick, Mass.j where he began 
shoemaking. Eeturning to Wolfboro, he there 
followed shoemaking for three years, and then 
in 1856 came to Xorth Bridgewater (now 
Brockton), on a visit to his brothers, Ira and 
Alonzo, who offered him a position in their 
meat and provision store, and the following 
spring he purchased an interest in the busi- 
ness, which was thereafter conducted under 
the firm name of L. F. & A. C. Severance. 
Their first location was at the corner of Main 
and High streets. Later they removed to the 
present site of the "Enterprise" building, on 
Main street, and then upon the erection of the 
new building across the street removed to what 
was later Bickford's market. Lorenzo F. Sev- 
erance remained in business for some twenty- 
five years, until 1881, when he retired in order 
to devote his time to other interests. Not 
long after his retirement he opened a market 
for his son, the late Harry C. Severance, at the 
corner of Ward street, which, however, was 
discontinued after a short time. After his re- 
tirement Mr. Severance devoted his time chiefly 
to looking after his private interests. 

Mr. Severance was a member of the board 
of assessors of the town of North Bridgewater 
in 1878; in 1887 he was made a member of 
the Brockton board of health. This position 
he held continuously until 1898. He was the 
first vice president of the Security Cooperative 
Bank and was prominently identified with that 
institution from its organization in 1877, being 
a member of the investment committee. He 
was one of tlie charter members of the Brock- 
ton Savings Bank Corporation, and from its 
organization in 1881 was until the time of his 
death a member of the board of trustees. For 
many vears he was a member of Paul Eevere 
Lodge," A. F. & A. M. 

On Jan. 16, 18.53, Mr. Severance was mar- 
ried, at Natick, Mass., to Mary Miranda Perry, 
daughter of Edwin Perry, a shoe manufacturer 
of that town, and his wife, Sallie Johnson 
(Masson) Perr\-, and granddaughter of Wil- 
liam and Keziah (Drury) Perry. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Severance were bom the following chil- 
dren: (1) Harry Chester, born April 23, 1854, 



who was ticket agent for the Pullman Car 
Company, at their Broad street station office, 
Philadelphia, for a term of years, died in 
Brockton, unmarried, July 0, 1891. (2) An- 
nie King, born June 11, 1861, married Fred- 
erick A. Hoyt, of Brockton, who is engaged 
in the shoe findings business, and she died Nov. 
20, 1898, the mother of two children, Grace 
Raymond (married William E. Cooper, of 
Quincy, Mass.) and Genevieve (married Her- 
bert S. Child, of Wollaston, Mass., and has 
two children, Madeline and Donald Sawyer). 
(3) Edwin Percy, born May 20, 1869, is en- 
gaged in the investment and brokerage busi- 
ness in Boston, and resides with his mother. 
He is unmarried. (4) Ralph Nelson, born 
April 22. 1873, died at Brockton, unmarried, 
Feb. 26, 1904. 

Mr. Severance died Dec. 1, 1902, at his home 
on Green street, Brockton, in the seventy-sixth 
year of his age, and in his death the city lost 
one of its substantial and enterprising citizens, 
one who had shown a willingness to give his 
time and means to all projects which had for 
their object the advancement of the city's in- 
terests. He was a charter member of the 
Brockton Agricultural Society, and was always 
interested in its betterment. He gave his sup- 
port to the Porter Congregational Church, of 
which his widow is a member. He was of 
a kindly nature, charitable and benevolent in 
his make-up, and although of a quiet and re- 
tiring disposition possessed characteristics which 
won for him many stanch friendships among 
his business and social acquaintances. 

NATHAN MONTGOMERY WOOD. The 
first of the Wood family who came to America 
of whom there is any authentic record was (I) 
William Wood, who came from England, and 
after spendin<i some time in the new colonies 
returned to England. In 1634_he published 
in London a book entitled "New England's 
Prospects." Very meager records were kept 
in those days, and it is not positive how- 
many children this William Wood had, or 
wliat their names were, but after consulting 
all available authorities relative to early gene- 
alogical data we feel justified in stating as 
most projjable that he had at least one son, 
(II) John, who came to Plymouth Colony 
in the early days of that settlement, married 
and had two sons, (III) John and Thomas, 
who were great hunters, and possessed of that 
hardy adventurous spirit so characteristic of 
our early pioneers. In search of a country 
where game was plenty, they first came to Sea- 
connet or thereabouts, and soon after wen.t 



1158 



SOtTTHEASTEEX MASSACHUSETTS 



to Swansea, where Thomas settled. John, so 
tradition says, went still farther west into Con- 
necticut, which was then a wilderness. 

(III) Thomas Wood was evidently a man 
of considerable consequence in his town. He 
•was a surveyor, and divided and surveyed much 
land. He held in Swansea a large landed es- 
tate containing several hundred acres. Kec- 
ords indicate that he had two sons, Thomas 
and John. 

(IV) John Wood had two sons, Xoah and 
John. By his will he bequeathed the mill 
place to his son John, and to Noah he gave 
the landed property west of the mill farm, 
consisting of three farms, one of which, the 
homestead, is still in the possession of the 
family. Noah had four sons, Nathaniel, Aaron, 
Levi and Jonathan. He bequeathed the home- 
stead farm and the one adjoining to his son 
Aaron, and to the others he gave farms in 
the immediate vicinity. 

Aaron Wood, .son of Noah, Ijad children, 
Nathan, Isaac, Levi, Aaron, Noah, Mason, 
Freelove, Sarah, Elizabeth, Innocent, Mary and 
Polly. In the distribution of his property 
he bequeathed the homestead to his son Aaron. 
This Aaron had seven sons, Levi, John, Na- 
than, Benjamin, Ira, Hiram and Pardon, and 
two daughters, Polly and Sarah. Upon his 
decease the homestead went to all the sons, 
and to his wife. Polly, the use of it during 
her life. She died March 12. 1883, in her 
ninety-ninth year. The homestead farm is now 
in the possession of Benjamin N. Wood, grand- 
son of Aaron Wood. 

(V) John Wood, who inherited the mill 
place from his father John, had four sons, 
John, Isaac, Nathan and Seth, and two 
daugliters. Betliiah and Penelope. 

(VI) Seth Wood, upon his father's decease, 
inherited the mill farm. He was a man of 
consequence in his day ; took much interest 
in public affairs, and during the war of the 
Eevolution was commissioned directly from the 
State authorities as collector of taxes. He had 
three sons, John. Seth and Ilaile, the latter by 
a second wife. 

(VII) Col. Haile Wood was born in Novem- 
ber, 1788, and inherited the ancestral acres. 
He was one of the leading men of Swansea, 
holding various town offices and positions of 
trust and honor. He was an enterprising man, 
and one of the original founders of the Taunton 
Britannia Works, now known as the Reed & 
Barton works. Tie resided in Taunton four 
years. He was colonel of militia, and took 
much pride and interest in military affairs. 
He was said to be the best horseman in the 



county. A man of fine physique, he stood 
over six feet high, and weighed over two hun- 
dred pounds. He was a Whig and Republican 
in politics, and an ardent Prohibitionist. His 
wife, Mary, daughter of Ebenezer Howard, 
of Woodstock, Conn., was born in March, 1785, 
and died in October, 1872. He died May 6, 
1860. They had eleven children: Ilaile N. 
married Marian L. Chace, and had one son; 
Mary A., deceased, married E. Brayman, and 
had six children, all of whom are deceased; 
William, deceased, married Harriet Burbank, 
of Taunton, and had three children ; Seth mar- 
ried Mary Carver, of Taunton, and had four 
children; Elizabeth married Nathan Wood, of 
Swansea, and had two children; Adeline, de- 
ceased, married Benjamin B. Wood, of Swan- 
sea, son of Aaron Wood, and had five chil- 
dren; Walter H. married Amanda Gardner, 
and had two children; Augusta became the 
second wife of Benjamin B. Wood, and they 
have one son; Laura died \mmarried; Nathan 
M. is mentioned below; Angeline died in in- 
fancy. 

(A^ITI) Nathan M. AVood was born in Swan- 
sea, Mass., Jan. 16, 1825. His education 
was obtained at the common schools of his 
native town. His father was a farmer and 
miller, and Nathan was brought up to the 
same business, and, with the exception of about 
one year passed in Maine, always resided at 
the home in Swansea, which has been in the 
family so many generations. On Nov. 7, 1848, 
he married Abby M. Kingsley, second child 
and eldest daughter of Elisha and Mary G. 
(Mason) Ivifigsley, of Swansea. She was born 
April 10, 1828, and died April 8, 1889. Mrs. 
Wood descended on the maternal side from 
Samson Ma.son, who was an Englishman, and 
an officer in the army of Oliver Cromwell until 
the latter was made lord protector of England. 
About 1650 he came to America, and was ad- 
mitted an inhabitant of Rehoboth Dec. 9, 1657. 
His childi-en were Samson, Noah, John, 
Samuel, Bethiah (w^ho became the wife of John 
Wood), Sarah, ^fary, James, Joseph, Isaac, 
Peletiah, Benjamin and Thankful. Peletiah 
had three sons, all of whom were ministers. 
Job, Russell and John, all residing within a 
mile of each other. They were blacksmiths 
by occupation, and it is said used to "preach 
with their leather aprons on." They preached 
at a church occupying the site of the present 
(Christian Church near Luther's Corners. Job 
^lason had a son Job, who occupied the an- 
cestral home, and who had a son named Gard- 
ner, who was a seaman, and w-as drowned at 
Providence, R. I., while his vessel lay at that 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



1159 



port. His wife's niaiilen name was Susaima 
Viinueiim. He left a daugliter, Mary 0., who 
was the mother of Mrs. Nathan M. Wood. 

Nathan M. Wood was a Kepublican in po- 
litics, but liberal in his ideas in political as 
in all other matters. He held various official 
positions, including nearly all the principal 
town offices, and some of them for more than 
twenty years. He was representative to the 
Legislature in 1875. He was a member of 
the Christian Church, and was also a member 
of Washington Lodge, No. 3, A. F. & A. M., 
and Webb Council, Warren, R. I.; Royal Arch 
Chapter, Fall River; and Calvary Commandery, 
Knights Templar, Providence, Rhode Island. 

Mr. and ^Irs. Wood had five children: 
Nathan Howard, born Feb. 15, 1851. died in 
infancy; Abby Isabel, born Nov. 16, 1854, 
married Hiram E. Thurston, son of Edward 
M. Thurston, and they had one child, 
Louise (Mrs. Thurston resides in Provi- 
dence, R. I.) ;, Mary R. P., born May 
28, 1857, married Nathan Slade, and re- 
sides in Somerset; Angeline H., born June 30, 
1859, married Franklin 6. Arnold and resides 
at Touisset; Eloise K., born Aug. 19, 1861, 
married Arthur E. Arnold. On April 28, 1892, 
Tklr. Wood married (second) Mrs. Rachel L. 
(Gardner) Mason. 

Mr. Wood was one of Swansea's most prom- 
inent and prosperous men, and aside from his 
farming and milling business was largely in- 
terested in a manufacturing business in Fall 
River. Mr. Wood was one of the foremost 
promoters of the Providence & Fall River street 
railway and was a stockholder in the company. 
He always maintained a deep interest in town 
affairs. He was inclined to be conservative in 
what he thought to be the welfare of Swansea. 
He was an energetic worker and although 
about eighty years old at the time of his death 
•was particularlv active phvsically and mentally, 
to the last. In his deaths July '6, 1904, Swan- 
sea lost a valuable citizen. 

ELIAS A. TFTTLE, late of Fall River, 
•was a member of the well-known cotton and 
cloth brokerage firm of Tuttle, Hurley & Co., 
of which he was one of the founders. He 
descended in paternal and maternal lines from 
early settled New England families, representa- 
tives of which have been prominently identified 
■with the historv of the State of Connecticut 
since its earliest settlement. 

On his father's side Mr. Tuttle descends from 
the New Haven and firoton (Conn.) branch 
of the Tuttle family, his grandfather, Daniel 
Tuttle, having gone from Ortiton. Conn., and 



become an early settler in that i)art of Orleans 
county, N. Y., which became the village of 
Yates. 

Henry Tuttle, son of Daniel, married Ardelia 
Avery, daughter of Nathan and Matilda 
(Babcock) Avery, of (iroton. Conn., where the 
family is one of the oldest and most numerous, 
and she is a descendant in the eighth genera- 
tion from Christopher Avery, who came to 
Gloucester, ilass., before 1646, and whose son 
Capt. James Avery was the' founder of the 
Groton branch of the family. 

Elias A. Tuttle, only son of Henry and Ar- 
delia (Avery) Tuttle, was born July 18, 1843, 
in Yates, Orleans Co., N. Y. He attended 
the village school, then the Medina Academy, 
and . still further continued his education at 
Wesleyan and Rochester University. After 
leaving school he taught a district school in 
his native locality and later was for several 
years principal of the graded school at Manlius, 
N. Y. Subsequently he was principal of the 
Fulton School, at Fulton, N. Y. Locating in 
1872 at Fall River, Mass., he was soon es- 
tablished as a real estate, stock and bond 
broker, succeeding from the very start. Later 
he engaged in the cloth brokerage business 
and soon after formed a partnership with 
James T. Milne, under the firm name of 
Tuttle & Milne, extendijig the business to in- 
clude cotton as well as cloth. Mr. Milne re- 
tired from the firm in 1899 and the firm 
name then changed to Tuttle, Hurley & Co., 
Patrick J. Hurley having become some years 
before a partner in the business; the firm at 
the time of Mr. Tuttle's death comprised Mr. 
Tuttle and Messrs. Hurley and Thomas T. 
Brady, and the concern stood among the lead- 
ing cotton and cloth brokerage houses in New 
England. 

On locating in Fall River, Mr. Tuttle, col- 
lege-bred and well fitted for leadership, at 
once assumed an active and prominent part 
in all the affairs pertaining to the advancement 
of his adopted "city and the welfare of its peo- 
ple. In 1881 he was elected a member of the 
New York Cotton Exchange, and retained his 
seat there until the time of his death, serving 
the last year of his life as a member of the 
classification committee of the Exchange, and 
was appointed a member of the committee to 
revise grades. He was one of the most promi- 
nent and popular members of the Exchange, 
and when his death was announced on the 
floor of the Exchange a profound feeling of 
regret was expressed on all sides. He was a 
member of the corporation of the Citizens' 
Savings Bank of Fall River. He was also a 



1160 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



member of Masonic organizations and was 
prominent at one time in the Royal Arch 
Chapter at Fall River. In college he was a 
member of the Greek letter society, Psi Upsilon, 
a member of the Psi Upsilon Club of New 
York, and in after years one of the most genial 
and welcome attendants at the gatherings of 
the fraternity. He was a member of the Que- 
Quechan Club at Fall River, and a member 
of a New Hampshire Chapter of the Sons of 
the American Revolution, being eligible through 
several ancestors. 

For some years prior to his demise Mr. 
Tuttle manifested a great interest in the es- 
tablishing in Fall River of the New Union 
hospital, and toward the last of his life was 
happy indeed that the new building fo.r that 
institution was assured. At the time of his 
death he was president of the hospital corpo- 
ration. He was charitably inclined in every 
way where he could assist a friend or lend 
aid to the needv. His benefactions were gen- 
erous and substantial, though quietly given. 
He was often a valued friend to his associates 
who sought his counsel and advice, in fact to 
any who went to him for counsel ; and many 
went to him. He ever stood ready to offer a 
helpful suggestion. But he was known best 
to those who had the opportunity to be ac- 
quainted with his home life. There his 
bounteous nature was ever in evidence, and as 
a devoted husband and loving father and friend 
he lavished most fully the attention to his 
own which was always remarked upon by those 
who knew him best. Mr. Tuttle died suddenly 
and unexpectedly, from heart failure, in New 
York, on June 19', 1907, and he was buried 
in Oak Grove cemetery, at Fall River. 

Mr. Tuttle married (first) Eliza J. Milne, 
of Fall River, who became the mother of one 
daughter, Annie M., now the wife of Harry 
L. Bowen, of Glasgow, Ky. Mrs. Tuttle died 
Dec. 8, 1876, and he was again married, on 
Feb. 5, 1879, to Cornelia S. Clarke, a native 
of Manlius, N. Y., of "Mayflower" stock, 
whose ancestors went from Plymouth county, 
Mass., and were early settlers in the vicinity 
of her birthplace. Three daiighters were born 
to this marriage, Nellie L. (who died at the 
age of thirteen years). Amy C, and Marion 
E. Mrs. Tuttle" passed away Nov. 21. 1911. 
She was for manv years identified with chari- 
table and social interests of the city. She 
■was a member of the old Emergency Hospital 
board, and later, when this institution was 
consolidated with the Fall River hospital under 
the name of Union Hospital, she became a 
member of that board. She belonged to the 



Women's Union, the Children's Home corpo- 
ration, and was also a member of the Society 
of Mayflower Descendants, tracing her an- 
cestry to Elder Brewster and Governor Win- 
slow of Colonial fame. Her ancestry also en- 
titled her to enrollment in the Society of 
Colonial Governors and the Daughters of the 
American Revolution. 

ALONZO W. PERRY, real estate man of 
Boston and Rockland and also prominent as 
owner of the Plant Line Steamship Company, 
is one of the best known business men of Bos- 
ton and of Plymouth county, Mass. He is a na- 
tive of the town of Hanover, Plymouth county, 
born Jan. 1, 1850, son of the late William G. 
and Charlotte B. (Torrey) Perry. In the 
Perry line he is a member of one of the old 
families of southern Massachusetts, being a 
descendant in the ninth generation of Thomas 
Perry, the founder of the family in this coun- 
try, and he is also descended from other early 
settlers of New England, being of the ninth 
generation in descent from John Alden and 
Priscilla Mullins, from Gov. William Bradford,, 
from George Soule and from Cornet Robert 
Stetson. 

(I) Thomas Perry appeared in Scituate be- 
fore 1647. His farm was on the south part of 
Chamberlain plain. He married Sarah, 
daughter of Isaac Stedman, and his children, 
no record of whom is found, are given by 
Deane as found incidentally noticed as : 
Thomas, William, Henry, Joseph and John. 

(II) William Perry married in 1681 Eliza- 
beth Lobdell, and settled east of the Church 
hill, his house standing in what became How- 
land's field. He was also owner of a half share 
in Conihassett, with William Holmes. He had 
twelve children, but left no family on record 
(Deane says left descendants in Hanover). 
Among his children were : Amos, who married 
June 8, 1720. Ruth Turner; Benjamin, born 
Dec. 31, 1688; and Elizabeth, who married 
Bezaleel Palmer. 

(III) Benjamin Perry, according to Davis, 
probably son of William, was born Dec. 31, 
1688, aiid married Feb. 20. 1711, Ruth Bri-ant, 
daughter of Joseph Br}'ant. Among their 
children were: Samuel and Abner. 

(IV) Samuel Perry, son of Benjamin, born 
Nov. 28, 1712. man-ied Sept. 27, 1734. Eunice 
Witherell. She died a widow Feb. 21, 17!>5. 
Their children were : Henry ; Mary, who mar- 
ried Howland Beal, Dec. 29. 1757; Samuel; 
Noah, who married Jane Hobart. Oct. 1. 1772; 
Israel; Betsey, who married Col. Amos Tur- 
ner. Feb. 14. "1771; Seth ; and Adam. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1161 



(V) Hi'iirv Perry, ?on of Samuel, born in 
17;)r). married Dec. 25, 1760, Bethia Baker, of 
Duxbury, and lived in the town of Pembroke, 
Mass. He died March 23, 1815, aged eighty, 
and his widow passed away Jan. 20, 1822, aged 
eighty-nine years. Children : Samuel B. ; 
Henry, born April 25, 1T64; and John, who 
married Rhoda Barker, and lived and died in 
Plymouth, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Henry Perry (2), son of Henry, mar- 
ried April 25. 1790, Content Barker, who died 
March 20, 1821. His second marriage was to 
Widow Mary Ramsdell. He died in Pembroke, 
Mass., Aug. 10, 1837, aged seventy-three years. 
His children were: Nathaniel, born Jan. 1, 
1791; Catherine, born May 15, 1794, who mar- 
ried Gideon Perry March 21, 1816, and died 
Jan. 3, 1832; Nabby B.. born Dec. 25, 1796; 
Ethan, born Mav 11, 1802; Betsey, born Oct. 
27. 1805 ; and Robert, born Oct. 22, 1809, who 
married Betsey Macomber. 

(VII) Ethan Perry, son of Henry (2), born 
May 11. 1802, married in July, 1823, Rosilla 
Eamsdell. He was a farmer living on the cor- 
ner of Main and Plain streets, in the town of 
Hanover, Mass., in the middle fifties. His 
children were: George B., born Jan. 21, 1824, 
who married x\daline W. Bates in May, 1846 ; 
\Yilliam G., born Oct. 23, 1825; Ethan, born 
in April, 1829; Elijah, born Sept. 15, 1831; 
Joseph, bom Aug. 1, 1833; Rosilla C, born in 
1836, who died in 1839; Rosilla J., born Aug. 
6, 1841 ; and Cha,rles, born Aug. 17, 1845. 

(VIII) William G. Perry, son of Ethan, was 
born Oct. 23, 1825, in the town of Hanover, 
where he attended school and grew to man- 
hood. He learned the trade of shoemaking 
and followed the same in his native town until 
1852, then moving with his family to East 
Abington, now the town of Rockland. There 
he bought a home on Market and Concord 
streets which was owned by Mr. Frank Burgess. 
He began shoemaking, employing seven men, 
and continued in that line until 1865, when he 
started the manufacture of shoes on a small 
scale. He continued this business with marked 
success for a period of fifteen years and then 
sold out and retired from active pursuits, pass- 
ing the remainder of his life in Rockland, 
where he died April 17, 1906. He was buried 
in Mount Pleasant cemetery at Rockland. Mr. 
Perry was a well-known man and much re- 
spected in his community. He married April 
30, 1848, Charlotte B. Torrey, born Oct. 3, 
1829, daughter of Benjamin D. and Lovisa 
(Perry) Torrey, and granddaughter of Caleb 
and Lydia (Darling) Torrev, of Middleboro, 
Mass. ' She died Nov. 1, 1909. Children as 



follows were born to Mr. and Mrs. Perry: 
Alonzo W., born Jan. 1, 1850; Estella F., born 
Jan. 11, 1851, who died Jan. 12, 1856; Everett, 
born Sept. 29, 1853; Chester M., born Oct. 29, 
1855; Walter E., born May 3, 1857, who mar- 
ried Sept. 26, 1880, Adeline Hatch; Estelle, 
iiorn Sept. 2, 1859, who married in 1878 John 
L. Burrell; Grace A., born Jan. 6, 1862, who 
married June 3, 1886, James A. Thompson, a 
doctor of Whitman; Frank W., born June 24, 
1864, who married Jan. 28, 1893, Annie 
Mellefonte, of England; and Leon, born Feb. 
14, 1867, who married in 1886 Emma Free- 
man, and resides in Detroit, Michigan. 

(IX) Alonzo W. Perry, son of William G. 
and Charlotte B. (Torrey) Perry, was born 
Jan. 1, 1850, in the town of Hanover. When 
he was two years old his parents removed to 
what is now Rockland, then East Abington, 
and here Mr. Perry attended school and grad- 
uated from the high school in the class of 1867. 
After this he took a commercial course in a 
business college in Boston, and during his 
school days worked at times in the shoe factory 
conducted by his father. After leaving school 
he went West, locating at Indianapolis, Ind., 
where he accepted a position in a wholesale 
shoe house and spent a year, during which time 
he obtained a good knowledge of the shoe busi- 
ness. Returning to Rockland he entered the 
shoe factory of his father, and here continued 
to work until the year 1872, when he started 
into the shoe manufacturing business for him- 
self, securing the Samuel Reed, Jr. shoe factory 
for that purpose. He carried on this enter- 
prise with fair success until 1885, when he gave 
up the shoe business and entered the real estate 
line in which he laid the foundation of his for- 
tune. Mr. Perry's specialty is leasing build- 
ings and subletting them, a line which became 
BO profitable that he extended it until he be- 
came the second largest real estate operator in 
Boston, having over eight hundred tenants on 
his Boston leases. He became interested in real 
estate in other sections of the State, princi- 
pally Rockland, in which town he is the largest 
estate owner and largest taxpayer, owning most 
of the business blocks and many tenements. 
In 1888 he bought out the real estate interests 
in Rockland of^the late E. P. Reed of North 
Abington. In 1903 he became interested in 
other lines of business, having bought the in- 
terest of the Plants in their line of steamers, 
which ply between Boston and the maritime 
provinces. Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island 
and Cape Breton ports, one of the best known 
lines on the Atlantic coast. Mr. Perry is 



1162 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



president and general manager of the line, one 
of the steamers plying between Boston and 
i^ova Scotia being named after him. A new 
steamer, costing nearly half a million dollars, 
is now being built at Glasgow, Scotland. Up- 
ward of four hundred hands are employed in 
connection with the operation of tlie Plant 
Line of steamers. Mr. Perry gives .employ- 
ment to a hundred and fifty or more people in 
connection with his real estate business. In 
his enterprises Mr. Perry is ably assisted by his 
son, a young man of ability and keen business 
foresight. 

Mr. Perry makes his home in Rockland, the 
town where his life has been spent and in 
which he takes a deep pride. He takes a par- 
ticular interest in the public life of the place, 
and while not seeking or accepting any public 
office he always attends the town meetings and 
takes an active part in the proceedings. He is 
an ardent debater and stands by what he knows 
is right regardless of* whether it is popular 
sentiment or not. To Mr. Perry the town of 
Rockland owes much for its beautiful Memorial 
Library. He was chairman of the committee 
on the erection of the library, the money for 
which purpose was contributed by Mr. Andrew 
Carnegie. Mr. Perry furnished the lilirary at 
his own expense after it was completed. The 
citizens of Rockland tendered liim their vote 
of thanks and proposed that his name be in- 
scribed on one of the tablets of the new build- 
ing, but he would not listen to such a proposi- 
tion, saying wdiat he did was for the love of 
doing for the town and not for any honor. Mr. 
Perry is noted for his great 'energy, strict in- 
tegrity and reniarkalile business foresight — a 
man of honorable dealing. He has traveled 
extensively all over the world, and is a man of 
great breadth of mind and liberal ideas. He 
takes a deep interest in the soldiers and sailors 
of the Civil war and attends many of their 
ghtherings. He is a friend of the needy and 
is always willing to aid those who make an 
tilorl to aid themselves. His home life is an 
ideal one, and it is here that his fine cliaracter 
ic best demonstrated. He is a lover of horses 
and all animals, and is a great lover of nature. 
In politics he is a stanch Republican. He is a 
member of the Boston Chamber of Commerce 
and of the Baptist Clnirch of Rockland. 

Mr. Perry is a self-made man, and his great 
wealth has been ol)tained by studied attention 
to his business, straightforward dealings and 
strict honesty. 

On Dec. 1, 1870, Mr. Perry was married to 
Isadora A. French, who was born May 16, 
1850, in East Abington, daughter of .loseiih 



French. Mrs. Perry is, like her husband, a 
descendant in the ninth generation from Cor- 
net Robert Stetson. Mr. and Mrs. Perry have 
had a family of six children: Vernon F., born 
Jan. 11, 1872, died Aug. 18, 1872; Carleton 
H., born Aug. 7. 1873, died July 13, 187.".; 
Burton G., born Julv 21, 1875, died March 
10, 1876; Winthrop 1., born Nov. 20, 1878, 
married July 3, 1!)06. Frances Whitney, of 
New York City : Herbert G., born May 26, 
1880, married' June 24, 1902, Nellie M. 
Gregor, of Eureka, Cal. : Butler F., born Ai)ril 
16, 1883, married June 22, 1905, Lora E. 
Wriglit, of xVbington. 

HOWARD. For two hundred and sixty 
and more years the family bearing this name 
have dwelt in the Bridgewaters and in the 
region of country thereabouts — the descendants 
in main of John Ilaward who, with his brother 
James, came from England and settled in 
Duxbury. John removed to the W^est Parish 
of ancient Bridgewater, and became one of 
the first settlers of the town, in 1651. It is 
well to keep in mind that Bridgewater was 
the first interior settlement in the Old Colony. 
The grant of the plantation was in 1645, and 
the settlements made in 1651. The grant was 
made at Duxbury and the ancient or original 
town comprised what became North, W'est, 
East and South Bridgewater (North Bridge- 
water finally becoming Brockton). The first 
settlements were made in what is now W^est 
Bridgewater. There were no settlements in 
the North Parish until after 1700, and the 
settlers were in main from t}ie old tow-n. 

(I) When a lad, it is said, John Haward 
lived in the family of Capt. Miles Standish. 
He was a man of great influence in the new 
plantation, and was one of the first military 
officers in Bridgewater. Previous to 1700 the 
name was commonly written Haward, but dur- 
ing the last century and since it has been 
spelled Howard. The names of Haward and 
Hayward arc often confounded, and by many 
are pronounced alike. They may have been 
the same name, originally, although John al- 
ways wrote it Haward, without any y. Savage 
says he was a representative in 1678 and often 
after, and credits him with being the progenitor 
f)f a distinguished and numerous family. His 
children were: John, James, Jonathan, Eliza- 
beth, Sarah, Bethiah and Ephraim. John, 
the father, was an innkeeper as early as 1670, 
and it is remarkable that a public house was 
kept there ever afti'rward by his descendants, 
until a few years ago. 

(II) Ephrain\ Howard, son of John, married 



SOUTHEASTKRX lIASSAC'IlUSKT'rS 



11()3 



in 1689 Mary, daughter of Kev. James Kiilli, 
who came from Aberdeen, Scothmd, in 1(162, 
at the age of eighteen, and \vas the lirst or- 
dained minister in Bridgewater, Mass. Their 
■children were: James, born Sept. 17, 1689; 
Susanna, born March 8, 1692; Martlia, born 
Au^. 7, 1695; Ephraim, born March 25, 1697; 
Daniel, born Oct. 3, 1699; David, born March 

3, 1703 ; Silence, born June 3. 1705; and Mary, 
born Dec. 21, 1707. 

(III) Epliraim Howard (2), son of Eph- 
raim, born March 25, 1697, married Abigail 
Tisdale, who died in what is now West Bridge- 
water, Mass., Oct. 17, 1758. Children: 
■George, born Jan. 31, 1722; Theophilus, born 
Feb. 23, 1724; Ephraim, born Jan. 25, 1731; 
Abigail, born Nov. 18, 1733, who married 
Edward Lathrop, of what is now West Bridge- 
water; Susanna, Ijorn ^lay H, 1736, who mar- 
ried Capt. John Ames, of what is now West 
Bridgewater; Martha, born Feb. 7, 1739, who 
married Nathan Willis; and Mary, born May 

4, 1741, who married David Lathrop, of what 
is now West Bridgewater. 

(IV) George Howard, son of Ephraim (2), 
born Jan. 31, 1722, married Aug. 29, 1745, 
Abigail, daughter of Jonathan and Betty 
(Snell) Copeland, granddaughter of William 
and Mary (Bass- Webb) Copeland, she a 
daughter of John and Euth (Alden) Bass, the 
latter daughter of John Alden and Priscilla 
Mullens, of the "Mayflower," 1620. 

George Howard died April 3, 1815, in that 
part of Bridgewater now West Bridgewater. 
His wife was born there Dec. 9, 1724, and 
died there March 26, 1809 : both were buried 
in the cemetery at Cochesett Village in West 
Bridgewater. Mr. Howard lived in the village 
just named. In 1780 he was a member of the 
committee to procure men to serve as soldiers 
in the Revolutionary army. He himself served 
as a private soldier in Capt. Daniel Lothrop's 
company. Col. John Bailey's regiment, for 
three months and six days. Children: Han- 
nah, born July 26, 1746, married Daniel 
Xothrop, Jr.; Abigail, born Sept. 26, 1748, 
married Timothy Ames ; Betty, born May 9, 
1751, married Edmund Lothrop, of Easton, 
Mass., one of whose grandchildren married 
Hon. Oliver Ames, Jr., of Easton, and another, 
Hon. George Van Ness Lothrop, was United 
States minister to Russia; George, Jr., was 
born Sept. 8, 175.3; Oliver, Dec. 21, 1755; 
Job, May 19, 1758; Caleb. Dec. 15, 1760; 
Rachel, born April 20, 1763, married Israel 
Alger; Patte, born Aug. 2, 1765, married Asel 
Kinsley; A^aph was horn March 19, 1768; 
Nehemiah was born Aug. 20, 1770. 



( \' ) Oliver Howard, son of George, born 
Dec. 21, 1755, married Oct. 11, 1780, Rebecca, 
daugiiter of Thomas and Rebecca (Phillips) 
Randall, of Easton, Mass. Mr. Howard lived 
on Short street in Easton, Mass., in a house 
built in 1805. In the memoirs of Rev. Joseph 
Snelling there is an interesting account of 
meetings held at tho residence of Oliver Howard, 
which still stands on Short street east of the 
railroad track. Rev. Mj. Snelling was one 
of the preachers on the circuit which included 
Easton in 1800. Mr. Howard's wife was an 
ardent Methodist, his house was commodious 
and large meetings were held there, etc. On 
the south side of Short street there is a small 
family cemetery which was laid out in 1803 
by Oliver Howard. In this cemetery repose 
the remains of Oliver and Rebecca Howard. 
His death occurred Dee. 27, 1835, hers Aug. 
17, 1825. Children: Aseph, born April 18, 
1782; Marza, born Nov. 16, 1783, who died 
March 28, 1809; Aniasa, born Nov. 24, 1786, 
who died Jan. 10, 1810; Oliver, born May 30, 
1789; George, born Sept. 24, 1791 ; Amy, born 
Dec. 1, 1793, who married Nathaniel Snell, 
of Easton; Celia, born Dec. 21, 1795, who 
married Ebenezer Henshaw, of Easton ; 
Thomas, born Dec. 14, 1797; Rhoda, born Feb. 
8, 1800, who married Leonard Alden, of Ran- 
dolph; Rebecca, born March 17, 1803; and 
Lucius, born July 12, 1805. 

(VI) Asaph Howard, son of Oliver and 
Rebecca (Randall) Howard, born April 18, 
1782, in Easton, Mass., married Aug. 7, 1803, 
Sarah, born Feb. 9, 1784, daughter of Zach- 
ariah and Mary (Smith) Drake, of Easton, 
Mass. Mr. Howard was a soldier in the war 
of 1812-15, serving in Samuel Cushman's 
company of infantry, which guarded the 
coast at Plvmouth, Mass. Mrs. Howard 
died Oct. l"l, 1858. Children: Francis, 
born Nov. 17, 1804, died Dec. 30, 1805; 
Rebecca, born Oct. 16, 1805, died March' 
30, 1807; Sarah, born Nov. 28, 1807, 
married Amasa Phillips, of Easton; Asaph, 
born Dec. 16, 1809, is mentioned below; a. 
daughter, born in 1811, died Feb. 8, 1818; 
Oliver was born April 17, 1813; a child, born 
May 19, 1816, died the same day. 

(VII) Asaph Howard (2), son of Asaph, 
born Dec. 16, 1809, in Easton, Mass., married 
Sept. 1, 1830, Almira, born Dec. 24, 1809, 
daughter of Thomas and Hannah (Thayer) 
Dunbar, of Easton, Mass. She died July 11, 
1856, and he married (second) Nov. 6, 1856, 
Mina Thayer, horn Dec. 16, 1799, daughter 
of Nathan Rrvant, and widow of Charles 
Thayer. She died March 28, 1877. Mr. How- 



1164 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ard lived on Pine street in Easton, where he 
died June 6, 1872. Children: Asaph L. was 
born March 28, 1831 ; Thomas R. was born 
April 27, 1832; Almira T., born May 8, 1834, 
married Henry H. Morton; Hannah T., born 
April 13, 1836, married Frank Bryant, of 
Easton, and (second) Albert Hayward ; Eliza 
P., born Sept. 4, 1837, married John Holmes, 
of West Bridgewater; Wealthy A., born Sept. 

26, 1840, married Charles L. Jones ; Orcelia, 
born Dec. 25, 1842, married Cyrus Willis ; 
James M., born Oct. 27, 1845, is mentioned 
below; William Taylor, born March 4, 1847, 
married Laura Nevins : Asaph E., born June 

8, 1849, married Angie Freeman; Edwin Dun- 
bar, born Feb. 21, 1851, died April 26, 1851; 
Eva, born July 16, 1853, married Zina Sher- 
man. 

(VIII) James M. Howard, son of Asaph 
(2) and Almira (Dunbar) Howard, born Oct. 

27, 1845, married April 30, 1865, Rolinda A., 
daughter of Nathaniel and Leonice (Perkins) 
Fuller, of Halifax, Mass. Mr. Howard is a 
resident of the town of Easton, Mass., and was 
a merchant of Eastondale until 1909, when he 
retired. One child, James Elliott, born March 

9, 1867, blessed the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. 
James M. Howard. 

(IX) James Elliott Howard, son of 
James M. and Rolinda A. (Fuller) Howard, 
was born March 9, 1867. in Easton, Mass. He 
was reared to manhood in his native town, 
educated in the common schools, and began life 
as a clerk in his father's store at Eastondale, 
becoTning a partner in 1890. under tfie firm 
name of James M. Howard & Son. In 1902 
he purchased his fatlier's interest, and has 
since conducted a successful business alone, 
being one of the prominent business men of 
that place. On March 31. 1892, Mr. Howard 
married Flora M., daughter of Harris Y. and 
Emily A. (Simpson) Wilson, of Easton, and 
they have had seven children : Ruby E., born 
Jan. 28. 1893; Leila M., born Sept." 29. 1894: 
Emily E., born Sept. 19, 1896 : James M.. born 
Jan. 5, 1899; Asaph M., born April 13, 1901; 
Linda F., born Oct. 13. 1903; Flora W., born 
Jan. 31. 1910. 

Mr. Howard is a member of Paul Dean 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M.. of North Easton. He 
has served Easton as selectman, overseer of 
poor and assessor since 1903. Politically he 
is a Republican. 

LAWRENCE. One of the early representa- 
tives of tliis name in New England was John 
Ijawrcnce, who, according to Newport. R. I., 
records, settled in Newport and was married 



in Trinity Church, in 1715. to Martha Hay- 
vocd. Their children of record there were: 
John, baptized June 25, 1716; and Mary, bap- 
hr.ed Jan. 'ifi, 1718. 

The firsl known ancestor of tiie line here 
under consideration arrived from England, 
settling in Newport. He had two sons. 
George and William, and the parents dying 
sliortly after their arrival in this country they 
were raised by the Friends, the family being 
numbers of that Society. The Friends took 
I are of the children until they could support 
ilicmselves, and they were soon able to begin 
work aboard vessels — a common occupation at 
the time. Thus they went to Nantucket, 
where George Lawrence had a son George born 
1st month, 1739. William died unmarried, 
where and when unknown. (There is record 
of a George Lawrence who married Mehitable 
Chace in 1738-39.) 

George Lawrence, son of George, was born in 
March, 1739, and was baptized in Newport 
July 27, 1740. He followed a seafaring life 
and was engaged in the coast trade between 
New England and the Southern States. He 
settled in Alexandria. Va.. where he died April 
12, 1820, and where his wife Judith died 15, 7, 
1818. They were members of the Society of 
Friends. Mr. Lawrence was twice married, 
marrying (first) Mary Coffin, born in 1741, 
daughter of Daniel and Elizabetli (Stratton) 
Coffin, and she died Oct. 14, 1763. leaving no 
children. Mr. Lawrence married (second) at 
Nantucket 28, 11, 1765, Judith Coffin, born 
8, 9, 1740, daughter of Peter and Deborah 
(Hussey) Coffin, and granddaughter of George 
and Eliza Hussey, of Nantucket. Their chil- 
dren were: George, born Jan. 14, 1767, died 
March 13. 1768; George (2), horn Oct. 20. 
1768, died 12, 9. 1769; Mary, born June 3, 
1770, died March 29. 1795 (married Benjamin 
Franklin Folger) ; George (3), born Sept. 20. 
1772, died from the effects of yellow fever, in 
New York, in September, 1798 (he married 
Judith Spencer, and they had a daughter. 
Mary, who married William Wiley, of Fairfax, 
Va., and a son, George, who died) ; James 
Coffin is mentioned below; William, Dec. 14. 
1780, is supposed to have been lost at sea 
in August, 1803 (he married Feb. 3. 1803, 
in Alexandria, Rebecca Marl, born 13. 10. 
1780, and they had one child, William Wan- 
ton). 

James Coffin Lawrence, son of George and 
Judith (Coffin) Tvawrence. was born on the 
island of Nantucket July 25. 1776. There' he 
married March 7. 1798, Jedidah Swain, born 
Sept. 8, 1777, in Nantucket, Mass., daughter 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1165 



of Francis (Jr.) and Lydia Swain, of Nan- 
tucket, the former born Nov. 10, 1745, died 
July -vH!. 1814, the latter born Sept. 27, 1749, 
died Sept. 8, 1833. The children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Lawrence were: Benjamin, born in Nan- 
tucket Feb. 25, 1799, married Eliza Pitman, 
and died March 28, 1879; Sally, born Jan. 26, 
1801, was lost at sea Nov. 19, 1809, while with 
her father on the way to visit her grandparents 
in Alexandria, Va.; Lydia, born May 13, 1803, 
married Capt. Job Clark, and died May 26, 
1890; George Alexander, born May 27, 1805, 
died Sept. 24, 1882; Frederic William, born 
Oct. 30, 1807, in Nantucket, died in December, 
1881, in San Francisco (his wife, Sarah Bar- 
nard, born in Nantucket, June 14, 1811, died 
in San Francisco Dec. 22, 1872; they had two 
children) ; Francis S.. James C. and Mary L., 
triplets, born Dec. 25, 1809, died, Francis S. 
April 16, 1884, James C, Dec. 5, 1882, and 
Mary L. March 11, 1891. Francis and his wife 
Eliza had children, Frank, Sarah and George ; 
;Mary married Edward Paddock. These triplets 
were born the day the news came that the 
father and eldest daughter had been lost at 
sea, and "Grandma" Lawrence used to say 
that the Lord took away two, but gave her 
three. The father of these children with his 
daughter Sally was lost at sea Nov. 19, 1809; 
he had planned to move to Virginia and was 
on his way with some household goods, in- 
tending to return later for the rest of the fam- 
ily. The mother died Sept. 18, 1861. 

James Coffin Lawrence (2), born Dec. 25, 
1809, died Dec. 5, 1882. He was married to 
Mary Randall Fisher, of Edgartown, Mass., 
and his children were: Sarah Lurana, born at 
Nantucket in August, 1834, who married Alex- 
ander Tripp, of Fairhaven, and is deceased ; 
Lydia Maria, who died at the age of seven 
vears ; James Whippy, mentioned below ; Job 
Clark, born in 1839' in Nantucket, who mar- 
ried and is deceased ; George Howland, bom 
March 28, 1844, who was killed while serving 
in the Civil war, when nineteen years old ; An- 
nie Clark, born at East Boston Sept. 14, 1847, 
who married Edgar A. Kaharl, and died Dec. 
28, 1906 ; Robert Clark, who married ; Edward 
Augustus, who married ; Fred Bunker, born 
Feb. 9, 1855: William Snow, born Sept. 13, 
1857; Mary Elizabeth, who lived only a few 
weeks; and three children who died in infancy, 
one being a twin of ilary Elizabeth which died 
at birth. The parents of this family went 
West to Michigan in 1861, taking with them 
four sons. Job, Fred, Robert and William, who 
are now married and living in different parts of 
the West. The mother died Jan. 26, 1891. 



James Whippy Lawrence, son of James 
Cotfin and Mary R. (Fisher) Lawrence, was 
born on the Island of Nantucket, Feb. 9, 1837, 
where he began his preliminary education in 
the schools, continuing until 1846, when the 
family removed to New Bedford. Here he 
grew to manhood, attending the public schools. 
In 1853 he learned harness making which he 
followed four years and then went to work for 
George L. Brownell at carriage manufacturing. 
This he continued until the breaking out of the 
Civil war, when he went to Mansfield, Mass., 
and was there employed in the making of 
equipments for the army. Returning to New 
Bedford he again worked for a number of years 
for Mr. Brownell until he formed a partner- 
ship with Charles H. Briggs, to become en- 
gaged in the furniture business, which con- 
tinued successfully for a period of twenty-four 
years under the firm name of Briggs & Law- 
rence. The business was sold out and since 
then Mr. Lawrence has lived retired at the 
Kmg homestead, on County street. He is 
still active, and is a well-known and respected 
citizen in his community. 

Fraternally Mr. Lawrence is a Mason, being 
a member of the Star in the East Lodge, 
New Bedford Council and Adoniram Chapter 
of New Bedford, and Sutton Commandery, 
Knights Tentplar. He is a devout member of 
tlie Unitarian Church. 

Mr. Lawrence married March 8, 1857, in New 
Bedford, Sarah Elizabeth King, born Jan. 4, 
1836, daughter of the late William B. King. 
She died Dec. 18, 1903, and is buried in Oak 
Grove cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence had 
children as follows, all born in New Bedford: 
Clara Elizabeth, bom Jan. 14, 1858. died Oct. 
5, 1858; Ida Elizabeth, born April 13, 1859, 
resides at home ; Etta Frances, born Feb. 9, 
1873, married Nov. 20, 1907, Edward Stanley 
Swift, of New Bedford. 



The King Family, of which the late Mrs. 
Sarah E. (King) Lawrence was a descendant, 
is an old established and prominent New Eng- 
land family. Her line from the first Amer- 
ican ancestor is given herewith chronologically. 

(I) Clement King, son of Clement and 
Susanna, appears in Marshfield. Mass., then at 
Providence, R. I. He was made a freeman June 
6, 1682; on May 20, 1687, he bought of Eph- 
raim Carpenter all rights in the lands of 
Pawtuxet on the west side of the Pauchassett 
river, about a hundred acres. He must have 
removed to Providence very soon after this, 
as he was ratable there in 1688. He died in 
1694. His wife, Elizabeth, survived him and 



1166 



SOUTHEAST K1!N MASSACHUSETTS 



remarried, lier second liusljand being Rev. 
Thomas Barnes, of Swansea. Mass., where she 
died in 170S. Her children by Clement King 
were: John, who died Sept. 18, I'ti'-i (his lirst 
wife was Hannah, his second ElizahethJ ; 
James, who dietl Mov. 19, 175G (he was twice 
married, his second wife being Mrs. Persis 
Turpin Brooks) ; Thomas, born in 16i)l, who 
died Oct. 10, 1723; Ebenezer ; Joanna, born m 
1674, who married Joshua Turner; and a 
daughter born in lGt)9, who married Kichard 
Harris (he married for his second wife Mrs. 
Susanna Barton Gorton). 

(II) Ebenezer King, son of Clement, located 
in Tiverton, R. I. He married Hannah Man- 
ning, and their children were : Mary, born Oct. 
21. 170-4, who married Samuel Cook Oct. 11. 
1728: Benjamin, born Oct. H, 1708; Hannah, 
born June 15. 1711, who married John Bailey; 
and Ebenezer, born May 23, 1719. 

(III) Benjamin King, son of Ebenezer, 
born Oct. 9, 1708, married (intentions e.\- 
pressed Oct. 19, 1731) Mary Russell, of Tiver- 
ton, he at the time being referred to as of East 
Greenwich, R. I. Their cliildren of Tiverton 
town record were: Eunice, born Oct. 30. 1734. 
who was married; Job, born Oct. 10, 1736. 
who married Sarah Fish Feb. 25, 1770: Jo- 
seph, born March 20, 1739; Hannah, born 
March 1, 1742, who married David Rounds, 
Jr., April 17, 1760; Sarah, born Aug. 25, 
1745, who married Benjamin Macomber Jan. 
8, 1763; Isaac, born Fel). 15. 1748; Godfrey 
and Ellery. twins, born Feb. 9, 1750. the for- 
mer of whom married Abigail Manchester, and 
died Oct. 16. 1834; and Stephen, who married 
Margaret Sawdv Nov. 17, 1774. 

(IV) Godfrey King, son of Benjamin and 
Mary, born Feb. 9, 1750, served in the Revolu- 
tionary war. He nuirried Mari'h 9. 17()8. .Abi- 
gail Manchester, daughter of Benjamin and 
Mary Manchester, and their children of Tiver- 
ton town record were: Benjamin, born Oct. 13, 
1769, married Hannah Taber ; Isaac, born 
Nov. 19, 1771, married Rebecca Wilcox; Sarah, 
born Sept. 11. 1773. married David Hamhly; 
Mary was born Sept. 17. 1775; Stephen, born 
Aug. 23, 1777, married Phebe Leinunyon ; 
Ebenezer, l>orn Oct. 13, 1779. married Nancy 
Taber; Godfrey, born Aug. 10, 1781. married 
Rhoda Sanforri ; Cornelius, born May 9, 1784. 
married Deborah Dennis; Philip was born 
July 3. 1786; Abigail, horn Aug. 14, 1788. 
married Abel Grinnell ; Jose])h, born Sept. 20, 
1790, married Anne Simmons; Alfred, born 
Oct. 13, 1793, married Hope Bailey; and 
David, born April 2, 1796, married Bridget 
Taber, daughter of Noel Taber. 



(V) Philip King, sou of Godfrey, born July 
3, 1786, in the town of Tiverton, R. 1., there 
made his home and died Dec. 12, 1857. He 
married Mahala Simmons, born June 3, 1786, 
111 the town of Tiverton, daughter of Ichabod 
and Anna (Thomas) Simmons, the former a 
member of the bodyguard of General Wash- 
ington during the Revolutionary war. The 
Simmons family is very prominent and among 
the oldest in Rhode Island. Mrs. King died 
Sept. 10. 1857. Chiblren: George Washing- 
ton, born Aug. 27, 1807, married Rebecca 
Chase; William B., born Aug. 20, 1809, is 
mentioned below; Kezia T., born Aug. 1, 1811, 
married Philip Bennett; Abram, born May 
10. 1813. died Nov. 15, 1851; Martha Jane, 
born Feb. 10, 1815. married Benjamin Peets ; 
Parmelia S., born July 29, 1816. married Isaac 
Bennett; Mahala S.. born Dec. 24, 1818. mar- 
ried (first) Capt. Reuben Taber and (second) 
Freeman Benson ; Susan H., born April 26,, 
1821, married Capt. Thomas T. Caswell; 
Sarah A., born Jan. 16, 1826. married (first) 
(-iideon Alden, (second) Abizah White, and 
(third) Freeman Benson: Phili]i H.. liorn 
Aprij 26. 1829, married Lucy Taber. 

(VI) WiLLi.Mi B. King, son of Philip and 
Mahala (Simmons) King, was born Aug. 20, 
1809. in Tiverton. R. I., and there passed his 
youth. One of a large family, he at the early 
age of eight years began to be self-reliant and 
independent, as at that age he commenced 
working on a farm. He was thus occupied 
until seventeen years old, when he cast his lot 
with the people of New Bedford, where he 
found employment with Mr. Benjamin Rod- 
man. Two years later he was married, and 
then entered as foreman the employ of the late 
William W. Swain, a manufacturer of oil in 
New Bedford. He continued with I\Ir. Swain 
for nearly a third of a century — for thirty 
years. Tie was for a time in charge of the 
candle works of Messrs. Sanford & Howland 
and Sylvanus Thomas, respectively. With the 
declining of the whaling business and lines 
akin to it l\Ir. King became occupied in garden- 
ing, at which for many years he was in the 
employ of the late Abner Davis. 

Mr. King lived to be ninety-five years of 
age, and as may be judged was one of the few 
men of his early day in New Bedford who 
lived to witness the great change that the 
passing of so many years made upon it. The 
house in which he lived and died, at No. 630 
County street, was one of the fir.st built in 
what was then called County road, which was 
the old stage road, hardly more than a path 
through the woods. With the exception of be- 



SOUTHEASTEIJX :\IASSAt'llUSETTS 



1167 



iiig a little hard of hearing aud his eyes some- 
what dim, Mr. King retained his faculties to 
the end of his long life, enjoying good health. 
Mr. King was married at the age of nine- 
teen to Caroline W. Caswell, born Feb. 26, 
1S12, daughter of George and Betsy (Tci'ry) 
Caswell, and to them came ten children, all 
born in New Bedford: (1) Charles E., born 
April 2, 1S31, was married to Caroline Devoll, 
and had one child, Ella Frances, born in N^w' 
Bedford, Dec. 3, 1852, who died Oct. 4, 1871. 

(2) Sarah died in infancy, Feb. H, 1835. 

(3) Sarah E., born Jan. 1, 1836, married 
James W. Lawrence. (4) Caroline W., born 
April 10, 1838. who died Jan. 27, 1!)06, mar- 
ried Charles S. Spooner and had one child, 
Charles Franklin, born in Xew Bedford June 

16, 1867, who married Edna Gibbs April 29, 
1906. (5) William T., born Feb. 17, 1840, 
died Dec. 25, 1903. He married (first) Lydia 
Folger, and (second) Mrs. Clara Logan, and 
had two children, William Roland, born Dec, 
12, 1863, who has been twice married, aud 
Clara Amelia, born Jan. 16, 1867, who died 
in November, 1874. (6) Reuben T., born 
July 13, 1843, married May 1, 1873, Emily 
Mosher (no children). (7) George W., born 
June 2, 1846. married Mrs. Annie (Holmes) 
Ricketson. and died Oct. 31, 1893. (8) 
Henrv W., born May 18, 1848, died Dec. 19, 
1903," unmarried. (9) Amelia F., born March 

17, 1850, married (fir.st) John A. Sawyer and 
(second) John H. Cook, and died Nov. 12, 
1908. They had one child, Henry Adams, 
born April 26. 1876, who married Maud Hoxie 
April 27, 1897 ; their .son. Henry A., Jr.. was 
born Feb. 5, 1898. (10) Mary Etta, born 
Sept. 14, 1853. passed away Aug. 3. 1894. un- 
married. The mother of this family died Dec. 
16, 1891. 

On the night of April 10, 1905, Mr. King 
retired appai-ently in his usual health, but 
during the night passed to his final home. He 
was a good citizen, a kindly disposed man, 
esteemed and respected by all who knew him. 
He had long been a member of the Advent 
Church in New Bedford. His age was ninety- 
five years, seven months, twenty days. Mr. 
and Mrs. King are buried in Oak Grove cem- 
etery. 

ATvFRED W. DONOVAN, one of the best 
known among the younger shoe manufacturers 
of New England, president and general man- 
ager of E. T. Wright & Co., incorporated, 
shoe manufacturers, of Rockland, and a most 
progressive citizen of that town, is a native of 
Rockland, Mass., born Sept. 2, 1868. 



Timothy Donovan, father of Alfred W., was 
a native of Ireland, born Dec. 27, 1831, in 
County Cork, where he passed his childhood. 
He was still in his teens when he left his 
home to take up a seafaring life. After a few 
years before the mast he decided to try the 
New World, and coming to America in 1850 
landed in New York. Having two brothers, 
Daniel and Michael Donovan, in Abington, 
Mas.s., he came on a visit to them aud made 
up his mind to remain. He took uj) the shoe 
business as a life vocation, learning tlie trade 
of shoemaking, at which he found employment 
first with James Bigelow. Later he was with 
Ira Blanchard, William G. Perry, Joseph Dill 
and others, engaged in the manufacturing of 
shoes. He spent a short time in Stonehara, 
whei'e he also worked at his trade, returning 
again to East Abington (now Rockland), where 
he ever after made his home. In 1869, after 
working as a journeyman for .some time, he 
started into business for himself. Taking the 
shoes after the vamps were fitted he finished 
them ready for the treers, employing quite a 
number of hands and turning out what would 
now be called forty-eight cases per day. He 
carried on this business for twelve years, when 
he retired from active work, passing the re- 
mainder of his life in retirement in Rock- 
land, surrounded by his children and grand- 
children. There he died Nov. 30, 1905, and 
was buried in the Catholic cemetery at Abing- 
ton. Mr. Donovan was a man who won the 
i-espect of all who knew him for his integrity 
and honorable character, and was a good citi- 
zen in every sense of the word. He left a name 
honored and respected by all classes. He was 
a stanch Catholic, and in politics a Democrat of 
the old school. 

On July 5. 1854. in Charlestown. Mass., Mr. 
Donovan married Margaret McGorisk, who 
was a native of County Monaghan. Ireland, 
born in June, 1835, and came to America in 
1K51. Mr. and Mrs. Donovan celebrated their 
golden wedding on July 5, 1904. at their home 
in Rockland, surrounded by their children and 
grandchildren. They lived together over fifty- 
one years and were blessed with a family of 
sixteen children, eight of whom are still living, 
viz. : Frances, who married Loring Wright, 
of Rockland ; Louise, who married Frank 
Ransom, and resides in Brockton; Alice, who 
married Irving N. Mann, of Hanover, Mass.; 
Alfred W., mentioned below ; Ernest, who 
makes his home in East Weymouth, Mass. ; 
Joseph, who resides in New York; Paul, a 
teacher in the old Eliott school, Boston, who 
makes his home, however, in Rockland; and 



1168 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



May, who married Hugh Walls, Jr., aiifl re- 
sides in Rockland. Mrs. Donovan, the mother, 
is still living and resides in Rockland. In 
religion she is a fervent Catholic. 

Alfred W. Donovan spent his hoyhood days in 
Rockland, where he attended the public school, 
and there lie has always made his home. He 
worked from early boyhood in the shoeniaking 
business with his father, and later became 
superintendent of the E. T. Wright Company 
plant, in August, 1896, becoming a member of 
the firm. The business was conducted imder 
the name of E. T. Wright & Co., and Mr. 
Donovan was superintejident of the factory 
until, in 1906, it was incorporated under the 
laws of the State of Massachusetts as E. T. 
Wright & Co., Incorporated. Mr. Donovan 
was then elected president and general mana- 
ger of the concern, and Elwin T. Wright was 
elected treasurer. Mr. Donovan has given to 
the shoe manufacturing business the best of 
that enterprise and enthusiasm for which he 
is noted. He is a thorough shoemaker, fa- 
miliar with all the branches of the business, 
executive as well as manufacturing, and he is 
as much interested in his salesmen and other 
employees as he is in the mechanical equip- 
ment of his establishment or the standard of 
its products. This company manufactures the 
"Just Wright" shoes, which are known 
throughout the length and breadth of this 
country, and are also shipped to many foreign 
countries. 

Aside from his business, though its demands 
are great, Mr. Donovan finds time to devote 
to his native town and his townspeople. He 
is a member of the Commercial Club of Rock- 
land, and for the past seven years has served 
in the office of president of the club, during 
which time, under its auspices and encourage- 
ment, many improvements have been made in 
Rockland and a perceptible impulse has been 
given to business enterprise. He was one of 
the organizers of the Rockland Trust Com- 
pany, of which he is a director, vice president 
and member of the executive committee ; he is 
also a trustee of the Rockland Savings Bank, 
and a director of the Rockland Cooperative 
Bank. Mr. Donovan's interest in Rockland, 
its growth, its progress and its people has 
made him popular with all classes, for he be- 
lieves in leaving nothing undone that would 
bring success and prosperity to the community, 
and he has the energy to put his principles 
into practice. He is a member of the Boston 
Chamber of Commerce, member of the State 
Board of Trade (of which he is vice presi- 
dent), president of the Boot and Shoe Club of 



Boston, director of the New England Shoe and 
Leather Association of Boston, and director of 
the National Association of Boot and Shoe 
ilanufacturers, of Rochester, N. Y. He is a 
member of the Catholic Club, of New York, 
and a member of the Massachusetts Real 
Estate Exchange, of Boston. Fraternally he 
belongs to Rockland Council, Knights of 
Columbus. He takes a deep interest in the 
temperance cause, having for a quarter of a 
century been a member of St. Alphonsus Total 
Abstinence Society. In political faith he is a 
stanch Republican and he has been a firm be- 
liever in the principles of the party as inter- 
preted by McKinley, Roosevelt and Taft. A 
man of ideas and the faith to promulgate 
them, unlimited in resource and able to com- 
mand attention, he is a forceful and polished 
speaker as well as a mighty worker — an acqui- 
sition to every cause with which he allies him- 
self. 

Mr. Donovan was married in Dedham, 
Mass., Dec. 26, 1891, to Mary P. Sullivan, a 
native of Dedham, daughter of Cornelius and 
Hannah Sullivan. They have had two chil- 
dren: Ruth Warren, born in 1893, who is a 
graduate of the high school of Rockland ; and 
Alfred Francis, born in 1897, who is still at- 
tending school. The family are members of 
the Holy Family Catholic Church. They 
occupy the beautiful house near the Rockland 
high school which Mr. Donovan built in 1909 
and which, from an architectural standpoint, is 
one of the finest residences in the town. 

HEDGE. The late Barnabas Hedge, who 
during his active years was well known in his 
section of Plymouth county as an agriculturist 
and brick manufacturer, was a descendant in 
the eighth generation from his first ancestor in 
America. The family is an ancient one of the 
Old Colony and the line here referred to has 
been in Plymouth for over a century. We 
give here a brief account, in chronological or- 
der from the emigrant ancestor. 

(I) William Hedge, "gentleman," of Lynn, 
1634, settled in Sandwich and was a proprie- 
tor in 1640, freeman in 1651; was town officer. 
He removed to Yarmouth. He married (sec- 
ond) Widow Blanche Hull. His children 
were: Elizabeth, born May 21, 1647, who mar- 
ried Jonathan Barnes, of PljTnouth ; Mary, 
born in 1648, who married a son of Edward 
Sturgis; Sarah, who married a Matthews; 
Abraham; Elisha ; William; John; Lemuel, 
and Mary. His will was probated Aug. 11, 
1670. 

(II) Elisha Hedge, son of William, born 




/y cu)^/yx,yCxAJ~o^ /v iLz/^ 



"S 



SOUTHEASTERN- MASSACHUSETTS 



lluo 



iiboul IGiJl, married Mary, and had a sou Juliu. 
The lather died in 1732, aged seveuty-one. He 
was of Yarmouth. 

(III) John Hedge, of Yarmouth, son of 
Elislia, married in lGi;i9 Thankful, born in 
l(jiS"^, daugliter of Barnabas Lothrop, of Barn- 
stabk'. Tlieir children were : Abigail, born in 

1700, who married Xathaniel Clark; John, 
born in 1702; Barnabas, born in 1704; Susan, 
born in 1706; Elisha, born in 1707; Sarah, 
born in 170'J, who married Ebenezer Hawes; 
Thankful, born in 1712, who married Edward 
Sturgis; Mercy, born in 1711; and Anna, born 
in 1716. 

(IV) Barnabas Hedge, son of Jolm, born in 

1701, married in 1734 Mercy, widow of Samuel 
Cole and daughter of William Barnes. Their 
■children were: Mercy, bom in 1734. who mar- 
ried Thomas Davis; Samuel, born in 173G; 
Abigail, born in 1737; Barnabas, born in 1740; 
Lemuel, born in 1742; Lothrop, horn in 1744; 
Sarah, born in 1746; John, and William. 

(V) Barnabas Hedge (2), son of Barnabas, 
torn in 1740, married in 1761 Hannah Hedge, 
of Y'armouth, and had a son Barnabas, born 
in 1764. 

(VI) Barnabas Hedge (3), son of Barna- 
bas (2) and Hannah, born in 1764, married 
in 1789 or 1790 Eunice Dennie, daughter of 
Thaddeus Burr, of Fairfield, Conn. Mr. 
Hedge was one of the substantial men of his 
day in the Plymouth community. He lived on 
what was formerly the William Drew estate 
from the time of his marriage until his death: 
He was one of the founders of the Plymouth 
Bank in 1803, a director from that date, and 
president from 1826 until his death, in 1840. 
The late William T. Davis wrote of Mr. Hedge : 
"Whom I remember well. He was the last 
man in Plymouth to wear small clothes, in 
winter with hoots and tassels, and in summer 
with buckled shoes. I remember only two 
gentlemen in Boston, Nathaniel (ioddard, who 
lived on Summer street, and a gentleman at 
the south end, whose name was Wheeler, who 
wore small clothes as long as Mr. Hedge." 

The children born to Barnabas and Eunice 
Dennie Hedge were: Barnabas, born in 1791; 
Hannah, born in 1793; Eunice Dennie, born in 
1794; Eunice Dennie (2), bom in 179.5; 
Isaac Lothrop, born in 1797 : Isaac Lothrop 
(2), born in 1798; Thomas, born in 1800; 
Abigail, born in 1802 (married Charles H. 
Warren) ; Hannah, born in 1804 (married 
John Tliomas) ; Eunice Dennie (3). born in 
1806 (married Chandler Robbins) ; Ellen Ho- 
bart. born in 1808 (married William P. Lunt) ; 
John Sloss Hobart, born in 1810; Priscilla 

74 



Lothrop, born in 1811; Elizabeth, born in 1813 
(married George Warren) ; Priscilla Lothrop 
(2), born in 1816. 

(\Ti) Isaac Lothrop Hedge, son of Barna- 
lias. (3) and Eunice (Dennie) Hedge, born in 
179S, followed farming and brickmaking on the 
farm later owned by his son Barnabas. He 
married in 1821 Mary Ann, daughter of Josiah 
Cotton. Their children were: Priscilla Loth- 
rop, born in 1822; Barnabas, born in 1824; 
Isaac Lothrop, born in 1826 ; Mary Ann, born 
in 1830 (married Dwiglit Faulkner) ; Susan 
Elizabeth, born in 1835 (married Francis 
Bassett Davis). 

(VIH) Barx.\bas Hedge, son of Isaac Ijoth- 
rop, was born May 31, 1824, in the to^Ti of 
Plymouth, and there received his early educa- 
tion in the public schools, later attending a 
boarding school at Needham, Mass.. His 
father wishing him to take up farming, he 
went to work in the town of Pembroke, for 
Rev. Mr. Allen, better known as Parson Allen, 
on whose place he worked for a period of three 
years. Then he settled on the large tract of 
land in Xorth Plymouth, known as "Plain 
Dealing'' farm, near the Plymouth Cordage 
Company, which was owned by his father and 
grandfather, a tract of 160 acres, wliich he de- 
voted to general agriculture and dairy farm- 
ing; he becaiue an extensive dealer in milk. 
He also became interested in the manufacture 
of brick, succeeding his father in that busi- 
ness. He erected kilns, and developed the 
business to such an extent that he was one of 
the largest manufacturers in that line in the 
county. He shipped large (|uantities to Bos- 
ton and other places. Mr. Hedge had the co- 
operation of 'his sons in his various enterprises, 
and his energy and progressive methods 
Ijrought him continued success. Although he 
lost his eyesight twenty-four years before his 
death he l)ore the affliction with characteristic 
cheerfulness, and attended to his affairs much 
the same as before. He died at his home Sept. 
2, 1902, at the age of seventy-eight years, and 
was laid to rest in the family lot m Oak Grove 
cemetery. Mr. Hedge was a man of strong 
convictions and interested in the vital (|uestious 
of the day, and among other things he was a 
strong advocate of temperance for years; he 
was a member of the Sons of Temperance. He 
was a member of the Pilgrimage Congrega- 
tional CliuTch, and member of the Pilgrim 
Society of Plymouth. As a business man, as 
a citizen, in all his social and domestic rela- 
tions, Mr. Hedge was honored as a man of high 
standards and uijright life. 

On Sept. 11, 1845, Mr. Hedge was married 



1170 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



in Plymouth to Priscilla Sliermaii, wlio was 
born Feb. 12, 1824, in Plympton, daughter of 
Reuben and Priscilla P. (Hammond) Sher- 
man, and their happy married life covered a 
period of almost fifty-seven years. Although 
now past eighty-seven, Mrs. Hedge is still active 
and in possession of all her faculties, attend- 
ing to her own business affairs, in the manage- 
ment of which she has displayed excellent Judg- 
ment. She is a member of the same church to 
which her husband belonged. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hedge had a family of eight children, and 
there are eight grandchildren and eight great- 
grandchildren. The record of the family is as 
follows: (1) Emma Hobart, born in 1846, 
married George L. Churchill, and died Aug. 2, 
1889. (2) Eunice Dennie, born in 1847, died 
July 7, 1870. at St. Louis, ilo. She was the 
wife of Frank E. Damon. (3) Elizabeth 
Sherman, born in 1849, married Elwyn N. 
Stranger, of Kingston, and died Dec. 7. 1871. 
(4) Ellen Frances, born in 1850, married Wil- 
liam M. Tillson, of Halifax, and died there 
May 31. 1876. She had two children: Charles 
Henry, who married Catherine Wood' and had 
two children. Ernest Francis and Henry Earl ; 
and Ellen Frances Hedge, who resides with her 
grandmother. Mrs. Hedge. (5) Barnabas, 
born in 1852, resides near the homestead and 
is engaged in the stone and wood business. 
On Oct." 18, 1876, he married Helena Alida 
Blanchard, of Plymouth, who was born April 
15, 1858. and died July 1, 1905. leaving three 
children : Elizabeth Sherman (who Tuarried 
William F. Delano and has three children, 
Chester Kenneth, Robert Hedge and William 
Hedge), Robert and Isaac Lothrop. On Xov. 
8. 1905. Barnabas Hedge married (second) 
Flora Cushman, of Kingston. (6) Priscilla 
Sherman, born in 1854, married Wendell Sim- 
mons, and resides on the homestead. They 
have had three children : Eunice Elizabeth, who 
married William Millington and has had four 
children, one that died in infancy, Marion 
Sherman, Florence Evelyn and Howard Xel- 
pon ; Harry Lothrop, who married Bertha Brad- 
ford and has one child, Gordon Bradford ; and 
Lottie, twin of Harry Lothrop, who died in in- 
fancy. (7) Mary Anna, born in 1857, mar- 
ried Robert A. Brown, superintendent of the 
Plymouth Cordage Company, and has one child, 
Harold Day. (8) Isaac Lothrop, born in 1859, 
is engaged in the ice business and resides in 
North PlvTnouth. He married Eudora M. 
Pierce, of Kingston ; no children. 



Sherm.vx. The Sherman family of which 
Mrs. Priscilla (Sherman) Hedge is a mem- 



ber is descended from William Sherman, 
from whom her line is traced through Wil- 
liam (2), William (3), John, John (2) and 
Reuben Sherman. We give a brief outline of 
these generations. 

(I) William Sherman, of whom nothing 
seems known until his appearance among the 
Pilgrims, he having settled at Plymoutli, 1630- 
34, in 1640-44 removed to Marshfield, which 
has continued the family seat to the present. 
He lived first in Duxbury, where he was re- 
corded as a yeoman and planter. He was on 
the Plymouth list of those able to bear arms 
in 1643. He was admitted an inhabitant of 
Marshfield Nov. 23, 1644, and held various- 
town offices. Mr. Sherman made a good record 
for himself after his arrival in Plymouth, be- 
coming a thrifty husbandman, and left to his 
children a rich inheritance of lands. Besides 
the tract purchased at Marshfield he held oth- 
ers at Rochester, part of which is still owned 
by his descendants. In old age, blessed in his 
family and his possessions and honored by his 
neighbors, he died in 1679, and was buried in 
the family grounds at Marshfield. 

 In 1638 Mr. Sherman married Prudence 
Hill, and their children were: John, born in 
1646; William, and Samuel. 

(II) William Sherman (2), son of William, 
married in 1667 Desire, daughter of Edward 
Dotey or Doten. a passenger of the "May- 
flower." Mr. Sherman followed farming in 
Marshfield. He served in the war against 
King Philip. He died in 1724. His children 
were: Hannah, born Feb. 21, 1668; Elizabeth, 
born March 11, 1670; William, born April 19. 
1672; Patience, born Aug. 3, 1674; Experi- 
ence, born Sept. 22. 1678 ; and Ebenezer, born 
April 21. 1680. 

(III) William Sherman (3), son of Wil- 
liam (2), born April 19, 1672, in Marshfield, 
Mass., married Feb. 3. 1697, Mary, daughter 
of Peregrine White (born in December, 1620, 
on board the "Mayflower," in Plymouth har- 
bor, the first white child born in Plymouth 
Colony) and a granddaughter of William White 
and his wife Ann (Fuller). The children of 
William and Mary (White) Sherman were: 
Thankful, horn April 4, 1699; Sarah, born 
May 8, 1701 ; Marv and Abigail, born June 6, 
1>11; John, born July 19, 1720; and Anthony, 
born Dec. 21, 1722. 

(IV) John Sherman, son of William (3), 
born July 19. 1720. in Marshfield, Mass.. mar- 
ried in 1746 Elizabeth Dingley, granddaugh- 
ter of John Dingley. of Marshfield, a promi- 
nent citizen and town ofl^cer. The children of 
John and Elizabeth Sherman were: Nathaniel, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1171 



born in 17-18, settled in Plympton, married 
Maria, daughter of James Clark; Kuth, born in 
l?>")tl, married Josiah Bisbee, of Pembroke; 
llufus, bom in 1754, married in 1775 Pliebe 
Rider, settled in Plympton; Asa was born in 
1756; Betsey, born in 1758, married William 
Finney, of Plymouth; and John was born in 
176a. 

(V) John Sherman (2), son of John, was 
born June 9, 1762, in Marshfield, Mass., and 
during his infancy his parents removed to 
Plymouth, where they resided until he was 
twelve years of age, when they removed to 
North Carver. In the latter town he was en- 
gaged in fanning the remainder of his life, and 
there he died in 1840. On Feb. 25, 1787, he 
married Lydia Doten, who was born Feb. 13, 
1768, daughter of Ebenezer Doten, and a de- 
scendant of Edward Doteu, who came "to- 
America in the "Mayflower." Their children 
were: Ebenezer, born April 20, 1788, who mar- 
ried Abigail Morton; John, born April 14, 
1791, who married Eleanor Barnes; Anthony, 
born Nov. 6, 1795, who w^as drowned in youth; 
Reuben, born March 28, 1797 ; Henry, born 
Aug. 24, 1803, who died young; Henry (2), 
born March 23, 1806; and Anthony (2), bprn 
Feb. 24, 1809, who married Hannah (Tillson) 
Cole. The father of this family married (sec- 
ond) Lucy Crocker Nelson, daughter of Ebene- 
zer Nelson, of North Carver. 

(VI) Reuben Sherman, son of John and 
Lvdia (Doten) Sherman, was born in the town 
of Carver in 1797 and there made his home, 
following farming. During their later years 
he and his wife made their home with their 
daughter, Mrs. Priscilla Sherman Hedge, and 
they died at her home, Mr. Sherman April 25, 
1879, at the age of eighty-two years, Mrs. 
Sherman in February, 1887, at tlie age of 
eighty-two. Mr. Sherman married Priscilla 
P. Hammond, and they had four children, one 
of whom died in infancy, the others being: 
Elizabeth D., bprn in 1822, married (first) 
Wilson Barrows and (second) William Tillson; 
Priscilla, born in 1824, is the widow of Barna- 
bas Hedge; Reuben, bom in 1834, was drowned 
in 1846. 

MILLER (Middleboro-Fall River family). 
(I) John Miller, a native of England, born in 
1624, was a member of the grand inquest, 
Middleboro, in 1672. He was among the 
proprietors of the Twenty-six Men's Purchase 
(1661-62) at their meeting in 1677. Previous 
to April 29, 1678, he bought a house-lot of 
Edward Gray. He was the owner of lot 154 
in the South Purchase (1673), and was one of 



the owner.* in the Si.xteen Shilling Purchase 
(1675). Mr. Miller lived on Thompson street 
not far from the bruok in Middleboro, near 
the house of the late Elijah Shaw. He died 
May 11, 1720, in the ninety-seventh year of 
his age. ' His monument stands in the ceme- 
tery at the "Green," where rest the remains 
of six or more generations of his descendants. 
The Christian name of his wife was Mercy, 
and their children were : John, Mary and 
Elizabeth. 

(II) John Miller (2), son of John, born in 
1669, married Lydia, born in 1678, daughter 
of Francis and Deborah (Morton) Coombs. 
Mr. Miller lived in Middleboro, Mass., where 
he died in 1727. His wife died in 1734. 

(III) John Miller (3), son of John and 
Lydia (Coombs) Miller, born in 1704, mar- 
ried Priscilla, born in 1711, daughter of Peter 
Bennett (born in 1678 and died in 1749) and 
his wife Priscilla (Howland) (born in 1681), 
daughter of Isaac Howland (born in 1649 and 
died in 1724) and his wife Elizabeth 
(Vaughn) (born in 1652, and died in 1727), 
granddaughter of John Howland and his wife 
Elizabeth (Tilley), of the "Mavflower," 1620. 
Mr. Miller died 'in 1794. 

The children of John and Priscilla (Ben- 
nett) Miller were: Mary, born Jan. 25, 1736, 
died March 4, 1812; John, born Dec. 7, 1737, 
died in 1807; Seth, born Feb. 22, 1739, died 
Jan. 6, 1823 ; Joseph, born Jan. 8, 1741, died 
Nov. 8, 1838: Jedidah, born Aug. 30, 1743, 
died in 1810; Priscilla, born May 19, 1745, 
died March 18, 1837; Lucy, born Sept. 20, 
1747, died March 10, 1835; Peter, born March 
31, 1750, died March 15, 1835. 

(IV) Peter Miller, son of John and Pris- 
cilla (Bennett) Miller, born in Middleboro 
March 31, 1750, was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tionary war, and died March 15, 1835. He 
married March 21, 1781, Keziah Bessie. Their 
children were: Lucv, born Aug. 3, 1781; 
Peter, bom Feb. 9, "1783; Soutbworth, born 
Jan. 23, 1785; Alden, born Feb. 9, 1786; Jere- 
miah, born May 9, 1788; Mary Tinkham, 
born April 13, 1790; Arza, born Jan. 2, 1792; 
Elizabeth, born July 5, 1793; Mary, born Aug. 

8, 1795. 

(V) Alden Miller, son of Peter, born Feb. 

9, 1786, married Feb. 9, 1809, Millicent 
Lovell, daughter of Joseph and Jerusha (Spar- 
row) Lovell, she born in 1784 and died March 
2, 1881. He was a farmer and also engaged in 
mill business on the old homestead. Their 
children were: Hannah P., born Seijt. 9, 1809, 
married Alexander Hackett, of Middleboro; 
Southard Harrison was born Nov. 30, 1811 ; 



117a SOUTHEASTKHX MASSACHUSETTS 

Alden, born Aug. 3, 1814, engaged at various interested in the fire department, serving for 
occupations, and died in Middleboro : Luiy about ten years as chief engineer. 
Ann, born March 20, 1816, died Feb. 11, 18i)f, In 1836 Mr. Miller married Esther (J. Peck- 
married Andrew Cobb Wood ; Samuel, born in ham, a native of Newport, daughter of Henry 
1819, died in 1821 ; and Lorenzo Theodore, Peckham, and she survived him, dying in 
born Dec. 8, 1821, died in 1000 in Middleboro. 1903, at the age of seventy-nine years. Three 

(VI) Soi'TH.\RD IIariusox Millkr was children were born to them: (1) Reuben 

born Nov. 30, 1811, in Middleboro, and tiiere Morton was engaged in the lumber business in 

spent his boyhood. At the age of sixteen he Fall River, where he died Jan. 11, 1884. He 

came to Fall River to learn the trade of car- was twice married, first to Sarah J. Gifford, 

penter and builder under a Mr. Chaloner. He and subsequently to Jamesetta Carson, who 

was employed for a short time as journeyman survives him and resides in Fall River. His 

before forming his partnership with Mr. only surviving child, Charles S. Miller, was 

James Ford, under the name of Ford & Miller, born to the first marriage. (2) Franklin 

to engage as contractors and builders. Their Harrison pursued his art studies in Boston 

location was at the southwest corner of Borden and Paris and was loi'ated at Fall River, fol- 

and Second streets. This association lasted lowing the profession of artist. He died 

only a few years, and after its dissolution Mr. March 18, 1011. (3) Phebe Vincent married 

Miller was in business alone for many years, Dr. Seabury W. Bowen, and died in Fall 

enjoying marked success, until he relinciuished River Sept. 13, 1007, leaving one daughter, 

contracting in order to give time to other Florence G.. wife of Horace M. Hathaway, 
interests which had accumulated in the ])assing 

years, and which had become heavy enough to WILLIAM H. STACY, one of the founders 
demand his entire attention. Mr. Miller was and now president of the well-known shoe 
not only a first-class mechanic, but a man of manufacturing concern known as the Stacy- 
splendid executive ability and business meth- Adams Company, of Brockton, is one of the 
ods which made him notably successful. His best known men in the shoe industry in this 
j-eputation for high-class work and honorable country, his long career as a salesman having 
methods may best be judged by the class of his given him a very extensive acquaintance in the 
patrons and the substantial character of his trade. Mr. Stacy is a typical product of New 
work. After the fire of 1843 he had a large England civilization in that he is a scion of 
share of the work of rebuilding in the burned one of the worthv families of this section of 
area. Among the more important buildings of the country, whose members in every genera- 
his construction at Fall River may be men- tion have dime honor to the name. He is a 
tioned the Union Mills, No. 1 and No. 3 ; the native of the Pine Tree State, born Aug. 22, 
Stafford, Granite No. 1, Tecumseb, Laurel 1842, at Augusta, Maine, son of the late Wil- 
Lake (for which he had the entire contract) liam H. and Sarah E. (Robinson) Stacy, 
and Davol mills; the Baptist Temple, and the Among the early New England families this 
Unitarian church. He also erected the United name is found in the records witli numerous 
States Marine hospital, at Portland, Maine, spellings, such as Stace, Stacy, Stacey, Stacie 
and some of the original buildings at the State and Stacye. It has been identified with the 
Farm at Bridgewater, Mass.- His own home history of Maine from a very early period of 
on Second street, erected soon after the fire the settlement of what is now that State, and 
of 1843, was in its day one of the finest resi- has sent out prominent sons to other States 
dences in Fall River. Mr. Miller invested and Territories of this country, 
considerable of his surplus capital in mill (I) Simon Stace came from Rocking, in the 
stocks, and at the time of his death was a County of Essex, England, where he was a 
director of the Mechanics and the Laurel Lake clothier, and settled at Ipswich, Mass., where 
Mills. On Oct. 6, 1857, he was elected a he was a proprietor as early as 1637, and died 
director of the Massasoit National Bank, serv- about 1640, in whic^h year his widow is of 
ing until 1893, when he resigned because of record as being granted a piece of meadow- 
advancing age. He died Oct. 29, 189.5, and land. Her will was jiroved i\Iarch 20, 1670, 
was; buried in Oak Grove cemetery. within a few days after her death, and was 

Mr. Miller was a Democrat in politics and at witnessed bv Simon. Sarah and Anne Stace. 

times quite active in that respect, serving Besides Simon, the will mentions a son Thom- 

twice as a member of the General Court, in as, and- daughters '"Sarah Buswell, Susanna 

1852 and again in 1875, and in 1857 he served fFrench, Mary Mears and .\nne." The first 

as alderman of the city. He was also much daughter was probably the wife of Ca])t. Wil- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ii7;5 



liaiu Buswell, of Salisbury. Tho last iiaiued, 
wlio was uumaiTied, cared for lier mother in 
her old age, aud received her household ell'ects 
by the will. lu consideration of her burial, 
the mother willed a bullock to Simon, and 
Thomas received the great Bible and a damask 
napkin. The marriage of Simou Stace, of 
Bocking, to Elizabeth Gierke, a spinster, of 
Tlieydon-Garnon, County of Essex, daughter 
of Stephen Clerke, a yeoman of that place, is 
recorded as having occurred at Theydon 
Mount, Nov. 6, 1620. 

(II) Thomas Stacey, probably the second 
son of Simon and Elizabeth (Clerke) Stace, 
was born about 1630 in England, and was a 
resident of Ipswich, Mass., where he subscribed 
for the cart bridge in 1646, and for military 
instruction by Major Denison in 1648. He 
was received into full communion with the 
church March 1, 1674, and died about Xovem- 
ber, 1690. His will was made Feb. 9, 1689. 
He married Oct. 4, 1653, Susanna, daughter 
of Rev. William and Sarah Worcester, of 
Salisbury, Mass. Their children were : Thom- 
as, William, Elizabeth, Joseph, Mary, Simon, 
John, Susanna, Sarah, Nymphas and Rebecca. 

(III) William Stacey, second son of 
Thomas and Sarah (Worcester) Stacey, was 
born April 31, 1656, in Ipswich, Mass., and 
died early in 1705 in Kittery, Maine, where 
he settled in 1679, residing on the north side 
of Sturgeon creek. He married Mehitable, 
daughter of Edward and Hester (Hodsdon) 
Waymouth, born in 1669, who died in 1753. 
She was made administratrix of her husband's 
estate March 5, 1705. Their children were: 
Mary, Hester, William, Samuel, Elizabeth, 
Benjamin and Mehitable. 

(IV) Samuel Stacey, second son of William 
and Mehitable (Waymouth) Stacey, was born 
April 19, 1698, In Kittery, Maine, where he 
probably passed his life. He married there 
Nov. 2, 1721, Mary Pray, daughter of Samuel 
and Mary (Fernald) Pray, who died in 1789. 
To them were born children: William, Samuel, 
John, Ebenezer, Benjamin and Timothy. 

(V) William Stacey (2), eldest son of Sam- 
uel and Mary (Prav) Stacey, was born March 
17, 1724, in Kitterv, Maine, where he died in 
1792. He married in 1747 Elizabeth Clark, 
born Jan. 28, 1729, in that town, daughter 
of John and Judith Clark, and she died in 
1790. Their children were: Mary, Samuel, 
John. William, Elizabeth, Sarah, Joseph, Ben- 
jamin, Stephen. Timothv and Tjois. 

(VI) Samuel Stacey (2), eldest son of Wil- 
liam (2) and Elizabeth (Clark) Stacey. was 
born aliout 1751, and died in February, 1786. 



; 

Uc is said to iiave been a sea captain and R4vo- 
lutionary soldier, but the rolls of Massachu- 
setts do not give him credit for the latter 
service. He married Alice, daughter of Capt. 
John and Dorcas (Littleiield) Sliaploigh, bom 
Feb. 20, 1752. They had recorded in Kittery . 
two children, Dorcas and Samuel, and prob- 
ably removed from the town after the birth of 
the latter. 

(VII) Samuel Stacy (3), son of Samuel 
(2) and Alice (Shapleigh) Stacey, was born 
about 1780 in Kittery, and settled in Shap- 
leigh, Maine. He was a sea captain, engaged 
in the fishing industry. During the war of 
1812 he was engaged in privateering, and was 
taken prisoner, never returning home. Hia 
wife, Mary Clark, probably a descendant of 
David Clark, one of the early settlers of Kit- 
tery, survived her husband, living to an ad- 
vanced age. 

(VIII) William H. Stacy, posthumous son 
of Samuel (3) and Mary (Clark) Stacy, was 
born Aug. 25, 1813, in Shapleigh, Maine. In 
early life he learned the cabinetmaker's trade, 
which he followed for a number of years in 
Augusta, Maine, where he also conducted a 
furniture store in connection and where he was 
a well-known and highly respected citizen. 
Mr. Stacy and his wife were active and in- 
fluential members of the Universalist Church 
of Augusta. In political faith he was a Re- 
publican, and he held membership in the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. He passed 
away while on a visit to his daughter, Mrs. 
Oliver B. Quinby, at Brockton, Mass., Dec. 
18, 1891, aged seventy-eiglit years, three 
months, twenty-three days, and his widow then 
made her home with Mrs. Quinby, continuing 
to live at Brockton until her death, which 
occurred Dec. 19, 1909. Although she had 
reached the advanced age of ninety years, five 
months, Mrs. Stacy retained all her faculties 
to a marked degree until her demise. Her 
maiden name was Sarah E. Robinson, and she 
was the daughter of Alvin Robinson, of Litch- 
field, Maine. To Mr. and Mrs. Stacy were 
born eight children, only two of whom lived 
to marry, namely, William H. and Mary E. 
(the wife of Oliver B. Quinby, of Brockton). 

(IX) William H. Stacy (2), son of the late 
William H. and Sarah E. (Robinson) Stacy, 
was born Aug. 22, 1842, at Augusta, Maine. 
Until thirteen years of age he attended the 
common schools of his native town, after 
which for some time his summers were spent 
in steamboating from Augusta to Portland, 
and for a period of about three years he was 
on boats plying between Gardiner, Maine, and 



11-4 SOUTHEASTEEX MASSACHUSETTS 

B#*on, Mass., tliese boats making two round on tlieir own account. Accordingly a partner- 
trips a week. Meantime his winters were de- ship was formed with S. Gardner Jones, who 
voted to a continuance of his attendance at maj- be justly styled the originator and design- 
school. In August, 1860, when eighteen years er of the best class of fine footwear in Brock- 
of age, Mr. Stacy went to Boston, where his ton, under the firm style of Stacy, Adams & 
first employment was in a crockery store, and Jones, and locating in a small factory building 
he received four dollars per week tor his serv- on Montello street, just north of tlie present 
ices, three dollars being spent for board and plant, this firm began in December, 1S75, the 
lodging. After he had been but a short time manufacture of a fine grade of men's shoes, 
iif this position his employer sold the business, Messrs. Stacy and Adams being salesmen, their 
the same location then being occupied by a time was devoted to the selling of tlie product, 
retail shoe store, the proprietor of which, hav- while Mr. Jones had charge of the nianufac- 
ing seen the young man about the place and turing end of the business, the financial affairs 
taken a liking to him, offered him a position of the concern being in charge of Oliver B. 
as clerk in the shoe store, which he accepted. Quinby, who had come from Maine to accept 
Thus lie continued for a period of about four that position. This arrangement continued 
years. Having acquired a knowledge of the for a period of about three years, when the 
shoe business, and being of an energetic and partnership was dissolved, Mr. Jones retiring 
ambitious make-up, Mr. Stacy determined to and his interests being purchased by the other 
iry his ability as a salesman of shoes "on the members of the firm, of which Mr. Quinby 
Toad," and in ISfifi started West with a varied became a member in Ids stead: the firm name 
line of slices from various manufacturers, tak- was then changed to Stacy, Adams & Co. The 
ing orders for the same on commission. His Inisiness was then removed to the present loca- 
first e.xperience in this line proved successful, tion, and in February, 1910, was installed in 
and the next year he accepted a position on the large six-story brick factory building, hav- 
salary to travel for the South Shore Boot and ing a floor space of over fifty thousand square 
Shoe Company, of Xew Bedford, Mass., his feet, which occupies a portion of the same site 
territorv being as far west as the ^Mississippi where the business has been located for so 
river. He continued with this firm until 1870. many years. The present building was erected 
when he accepted a similar position with Gray for its special use, representing the most mod- 
Brothers of Syracuse, N. Y., manufacturers ern ideas in construction and equipment, the 
of women's fine shoes, with which firm he con- latest and most inodern machinery used in the 
tinned for a period of about four years. While art of shoemaking having been installed. The 
traveling for them he met the late Henry L. product of the Stacy-Adams Company has a 
Adams, who was then a salesman in the world-wide reputation for superior quality and 
employ of James M. Burt, of New York, man- style as well as individuality. Between three 
nfacturer of men's fine hand-made shoes, and liundred and fifty and four hundred skilled 
a warm friendship sprang up between Mr. hands are employed, the plant having a daily 
Stacy and Mr. Adams, which eventually re- capacity of about fifteen hundred pairs of 
suited in the formation of the partnership shoes. From the outset Mr. Adams shared 
between them for the manufacture of men's Mr. Stacy's determination that only the best 
fine shoes. Being agents for various grades quality of shoes should be made, and each 
■of shoes, they opened an office in New York had for the other a warm regard and sincere 
City and made arrangements with various respect. They were congenial in many ways, 
manufacturers to dispose of their product, and and each hel])pd and influenced the other, and 
when the grade of shoe which they wished to the partnership conducted under such condi- 
handle was not turned out by one manufac- tions of mutual confidence was practically as- 
turer they readily made arrangements with sured of satisfactory results. The development 
others, whose plants were equipped for the of the business is evidenced by the position 
making of the kind of shoes required. This to-day in the commercial world held by the 
feature of their business proved the starting- Stacy-Adams Company. Mr. Adams continued 
point of the present Stacy-Adam? Company, a member of this concern until November, 
Early in 1875 they came to Brockton to ar- 1886, since which time the business has been 
range for the manufacture of a certain grade conducted by IVfessrs. Stacy and Quinby. In 
of shoe which they were not then handling, 1908 the business was incorporated under the 
and as they were unable to make satisfactory laws of Massachusetts as the Stacy-Adams 
arrangements for the production of these shoes Company, with a capital stock of $150,000; 
thcv decided to enter the manufacturing field William 11. Stacy is president, Oliver B. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1175 



<3uinby treasurer, and James H. Cunningham 
general superintendent. 

Fraternally Mr. Stacy is a prominent mem- 
ber of the Masonic organization, holding mem- 
bership in Joseph Webb Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
and Boston Commandery. Knights Templar, 
of Boston. In political faith he is a stanch 
adherent of the principles of the Republican 
party, and a firm believer in the protection of 
American industries. 

In March, 1865, Mr. Stacy was united in 
marriage to Annie F. Barney, daughter of 
Edmund Barney, of Providence, R. I. Mr. 
and Mrs. Stacy have no children. They affili- 
ate with the Unitarian Church of Boston. 

Although his business has been located in 
Brockton, Mr. Stacy has continued his resi- 
dence in Boston, where for several years he 
and his wife have made their home at the 
Lenox hotel. Mr. Stacy is what may be truly 
called a self-made man, having been the archi- 
tect of his own successful career. His worldly 
possessions when he established himself in 
business in Brockton were very limited, but 
the push, energy and enterprise whicli have 
characterized his career throughout soon made 
him a leader in the industrial and business 
world. Although Mr. Stacy is not a man 
given to sentimentality, no case of suffering 
or misfortune among his employees is ever 
brought to his notice without receiving his 
assistance, and he always takes a deep interest 
in the general welfare of those employed by 
the company, insisting that employees shall 
have all the comforts consistent with their 
occupation, comforts which he believes are not 
only due them as men. but which also, inci- 
•dentally, enhance their efficiency as workmen. 
However, his acts of kindness are not done for 
publication or exploitation in the press, but 
for the pleasure and comfort the recipient may 
derive from them. 

There is nothing vacillating about Mr. 
Stacy, and when he acts he acts quickly, but 
with decision. He is plain, agreeable and 
unvarying in his social relations, and the 
friends he makes are fast friends. 

HAMMOND. Tn what was ancient Roches- 
ter and Dartmouth, including the later sub- 
divisions of those towns, the Hammond family 
has dwelt from almost the very dawn of the 
civilization of this section, and it was a still 
earlier family in an older part of Massachu- 
setts; and for a century and a half the branch 
here considered has been identified witli the 
•development of Dartmouth, Fairhaven and 
New Bedford. Reference is made to some of 



the descendants of Amittai Hammond, latterly 
of New Bedford, where for some sixty years 
his son, the late Caleb Hammond, and the 
hitter's sons, Edgar B. and Henry F. Ham- 
mond, together and in turn have been the 
leading architects of their city, the elder Ham- 
mond figuring largely in the planning for 
many of the buildings erected in that period iu 
his city and also figuring conspicuously in the 
city's public affairs. His lineage and family 
history follow. 

(I) William Hammond, a native of London, 
County Kent, England, where he married 
Elizabeth Penn, sister of Sir William Penn, 
admiral, and aunt to William Penn, the 
Quaker, was probably a descendant of the 
Hammonds of St. Albans Court, County Kent. 
He died and was buried in London. Their 
cliildren, all born in London, were: Benjamin, 
Elizabeth, Martha and Rachel. The mother, 
a widow, with her son Benjamin and three 
daughters, all young, left a good estate in 
London, and came over to New England in 
the troublesome times of 1634, from a desire 
to have the liberty to serve God according to 
the dictates of conscience. Thev arrived 
in Boston, Sept. 18, 1634, in the ship -Grif- 
fin" and had with them the Rev. John Loth- 
rop, their minister. Mrs. Hammond lived 
in Boston and Watertown until 1638, when 
she joined Rev. John Lothrop's Church in 
Scituate, April 16, 1638, being the thirty- 
third member thereof. She probably returned 
to Boston near the close of the year 1639, as 
she died and was buried there in 1640. 

(II) Benjamin Hammond, son of William 
and Elizabeth (Penn) Hammond, born in 
1621, in London, England, came to New Eng- 
land with his mother and family as stated 
above. He went to Sandwich and there in 
16.50 married Mary Vincent, daughter of 
John Vincent, who was born in England in 
1633. Benjamin Hammond had been for a 
time in Yarmouth before his marriage, as he 
was there in 1643. His children by Mary 
were: Samuel, John, Nathan, Benjamin, Rose 
and Mary. The parents, with their sons 
Nathan and Benjamin, probably located in 
Rochester about 1684. They died there, Ben- 
jamin in 1703, aged eighty-two, and Mary, in 
1705, aged seventy-two. 

(III) Samuel Hammond, son of Benjamin 
and Mary (Vincent) Hammond, born in 1655, 
went with his brother John to Rochester about 
1680, and settled in the extreme southwesterly 
part of the town known as the "West Neck,"- 
where he lived to advanced life much re- 
spected. He was one of the founders and a 



IITG 



SOUTIIl']ASTI-]rJX :\rASSACHUSETTS 



proiiiineiit nioniber of tlie First Congregational 
Church in Koc-hester, now located in Marion. 
He was an extensive landhohler, aiid settled 
four of his sons around him. namely : Seth, 
•losiah, Barnal)as and Jedediah. the last named 
later removing to Scituate. Samuel married 
about 1C80, Mary Hathaway, and tlieir chil- 
dren were: Benjamin, born Dec. 18, l(j81 ; 
Seth, born Feb. 13, 1583; Rosamond, born 
May 8, 1684; Samuel, born March 8, 168.=)-. 
Thonms, born Sept. 16, 1687; Jedediah, born 
Sept. 19, 161)0; Josiah, born Sept. 15, 16;t'^ ; 
Barnabas, born Jan. 20, 1694; Maria, born 
Jan. 27, 1697; John, born Oct. 4, 1701; and 
Jedediah (2), born Sept. 30, 1703. 

(IV) Seth Hammond, son of Samuel and 
]Mavy (Hathaway) Hammond, born Feii. 13, 
1683, married March 4, 1706. Mary Randall 
[may have married (second) in 1714, Eliza- 
beth Stewart, but the will proved Feb. 28. 
1737, names the widow MaryJ. As stated in 
the foregoing bis father lived in Rochester and 
settled four of his sons, Seth incliuled, around 
liim. Seth was a farmer living near his father. 
He died in 1736-37. He had children: Jerusha 
(born ^lav 7, 1708), Arclielus (born Sept. 1.5, 
1709). Jedediah (born Sept. 16, 1711), Setli, 
Jonathan and Sylvanus. 

(V) Seth Hammond (2), son of Seth, mar- 
ried Aug. 23, 1738, Elizabeth Lombard (or 
T.,umber), of Chatham, Mass., who was born 
April 1. 1714. In Xovember, 1748, he bought 
land of Abraham Russell, situated in that pai't 
of East Fairhaven known as "New Boston,'" 
then a part of the town of Dartmouth. He 
gave in January,' 1794, a life lease of this farm 
to his son Seth, Jr., and after him to his 
grandson Caleb Hammond. The children of 
Seth and Elizabeth were : Adne, born May 2r>, 
1739; Lurana, born June 3, 1741; Luerrisea, 
horn Sept. 30, 1743; David, born Jan. 16. 
1746; Seth, born July 4, 1748: Caleb, born 
Jan. 30, 1751; Natlianiel, liorn Jan. 3, 1754; 
and Jedidah, horn June 4, 1756. 

(VI) Setli Hammond (3), son of Seth and 
Elizabeth, born July 4, 1748, married (first"! 
March 1. 1773, Mary (or Hannah) Boles. 
He lived on AVolf Creek in Rochester, at the 
time of the birth of his son Caleb, hut after- 
ward moved on to his father's farm in East 
Fairhaven. He married (second) June 6, 
1787, Anstris Hammond-Jenney, daughter of 
Elisha Hammond. He had ejiildren : Caleb 
(born about 1774), Deborah and Jedidah 
(twins) (born in 1776), Eliza, Elizabeth, 
Anstris (all to the first marriage), Elisha. 
Elihu (horn Sept. 25, 1795), and Betsev (born 
April 20, 1800). 



(\'1I) Caleb Hammond, son of Seth (3), 
born about 1774, nuirried Oct. 17, 1802, Han- 
nah Barlow, wlio was born in 1787, and died 
Oct. 23, 1861. Mr. Hammond was a farmer 
of East Fairhaven, Mass. His children were: 
Nathaniel, born Sept. 18, 1803; Amittai, born 
Sept. 4, 1806; Caroline, born July 16, 1810; 
Frederic P., born July 19, 1813; Abby, born 
Oct. 22, 1817; Joseph, born Nov. 6, 1821; 
and Nancy, born Oct. 22, 1824. 

(\'1II) Amittai Hammond, son of Caleb- 
and Hannah (Barlow) Hammond, born Sept. 
4, 1806, married Nov. 1, 1827, Eunice Chand- 
ler, born Jan. 2, 1796, and died Dec. 31, 1876. 
Mr. Hammond was a farmer living at Matta- 
]ioisett. He later was occupied as a dealer in 
milk and wood in New Bedford, Mass., where 
be died in June, 1878. ITis children were: 
Hattie E., born in June, 1828; Caleb, born 
Nov. 19, 1829; Jane W., born Dec. 3, 1832; 
Francis W., born Feb. 26, 1836, died March 
17, 1911; and Lucy S., born Jam 27, 1838. 

(IX) Caleb Hammond, son of Amittai and 
Eunice (Chandler) Hammond, was born Nov. 
19, 1829, in Fairhaven, Mass. lie lived in 
Fairhaven until eleven years old. when he 
removed with his parents to Mattapoisett, and 
it was in tiiose towns that he received a com- 
mon school education. At the age of sixteen 
he went to New Bedford to learn the carpen- 
ter's trade, Iteing apprenticed to Mr. Ezra 
Chandler, and later to William GifFord. On 
the completion of his trade be went into busi- 
ness with the late Mr. Simeon Ashley, under- 
the firm name of Ashley & Hammond, in the 
building where the Cummings block now 
stands on William street. When that building 
was designed Mr. Hammond, then engaged as 
a contractor and builder, witluiut a partner, 
removed to North Water street, on the site of 
the ])resent building occupied by the firm of 
Caleb Hammond & Son. For nearly half a 
century he carried on business in that locality, 
and for many years he was identified with a 
iireat tnany of the building enterprises in New 
Bedford. 

At the very beginning of his business career 
l\Ir. Hammond made a .study of architecture, 
and at one time was the only architect in New 
Bedford. He prepared the plans for many of 
the school buildings and fire stations during 
the years between 1S60 and 1889. At the 
time the late George B. Richmond rebuilt the 
New Bedford and Fairhaven bridge Mr. Ham- 
mond was tb(i engineer in charge, having been 
elected to that position by the city council. 

As a public man Mr. Hammond first came 
into prominence on his election to the common; 



SOUTHEASTEHX JIASSACIIUSETTS 



1177 



council previous to tlie C'uil war. As a coiii- 
mon councilnuin lie served in 1856, 1S57, 
1863 and 1864, and later under Mayor John 
H. Perry, in 1866-67, served as an alderman 
from Ward One. In l.S7!i he was elected to 
the school board from Ward One, and was 
ihairman of the committee which introduced 
evening drawing schools. Still later, in 1880, 
lie was an alderman from Ward Three, under 
Mayor William T. Soule. He served as city 
surveyor for several years previous to 1873, 
and it was under his directions that the first 
additions to both Rural and Oak Grove ceme- 
teries were laid out. While a member of the 
ccminion council he was prominent in the in- 
troduction of water as a means of fighting 
fires. He was a Eepublican in politics, but in the 
early days of the labor reform movement took 
an interest therein, and was nominated for 
lieutenant governor on that ticket. Mr. Ham- 
mond was honest and upright in all his deal- 
ings, and had the respect of the community 
at large. 

On April 25, 1852, Mr. Hammond married 
Anna T. Hazard, born Oct. 20, 1833, daughter 
of Perry and Anna (Thompkins) Hazard. 
They had two sons: Edgar B. and Henry F. 
Mr. Hammond died March 25, 1903, in the 
seventy-fourth year of liis age, at his home in 
North street, Xew Bedford, Mass. His wife 
died June 6, 1901, and they are both buried 
in Oak Grove cemetery. 

Edgar B. H.\mmoxd, son of Caleb, was born 
in New Bedford March 18, 1854. He was 
educated in the public and high schools of 
New Bedford, and graduated from the Massa- 
chusetts School of Tecbnologv, at Boston, in 
the class of 1874. He later attended the Ed- 
ward H. Allen private school of New Bed- 
ford. He took up civil engineering and be- 
came associated with his father as architect 
under the name of Caleb Hammond & Son, 
and the business has ever since continued 
under that name with offices on Water street. 
^Ir. Hammond is one of the best known archi- 
tects of New Bedford and is well known. He 
has taken a deep interest in educational mat- 
ters and w«s a member of the school board of 
New Bedford for nine years, representing 
AVard Three, four years of which time he filled 
the office of chairman of the board, and in 
December, 1910, he declined renomination. In 
political matters he is independent. He is a 
member of the Unitarian Church, and his 
chief recreation is yachting, he being a mem- 
ber of the New Bedford Yaclit Club, of which 
he was cortimodore for seven years and is now 
a director. He lias been chairman of the 



trustees of the Industrial Si-jiool siiu-e its 
establishment by the city government in 1909. 

-Mr. Hammond married March 26, 1884, 
Anna \'. B. Salisbury, born March 17, 1859, 
daughter of Levi Salisbury. 'I'bey liave no 
cluhlren. 

Hexky F. HAMiMONn, born Oct. 13, 1856, 
was the second son of Caleb. He received a 
good educational training and grew to man- 
hood in his native city, learning the carpenter 
and joiner trade under his father's apt super- 
vision. He was actively engaged in the con- 
tracting and building business in New Bedford 
and made a success of this work. He was 
interested in the fire department of the city 
and was an active member of the Protecting 
Society, being also a member of the Veteran 
Firemen's Association. He was a member of 
the I. 0. 0. F. and also of the New Bedford 
Yacht Club. His death occurred July 24, 
1910, in New Bedford, where he was deeply 
mourned by all who knew him. He was buried 
in Oak Grove cemetery, in New Bedford. 

Mr. Hammond married Emma L. Fuller, 
born Aug. 12, 1862, and they had two chil- 
dren: (1) Frances Thompkins was born Sept. 
27, 1882. He was educated in the public 
schools of New Bed^ford, also at Pratt Institute 
at Brooklyn, N. Y., graduating in the class of 
1909, having taken up a course of architecture 
in this School. He is now in the office of his 
uncle, Edgar B. Hammond. (2) Chester B. 
was born March 10, 1886, in New Bedford. 
He was educated in the public and high 
schools and Pratt's Institute at Brooklyn, N. 
Y., taking up at the latter school a course in 
steam, and machine designing, and he grad- 
uated in 1905. He is now designer "in the 
Morse Twist Drill Company, of New Bedford. 
He married Lillian B. Dammon, and they have 
one child, Clarence E. He is a member of the 
New Bedford Yacht Club. 

BPOWNELL. (I) Thomas Brownell, born 
in 1619, came from Derbyshire, England. In 
1638, the year he married, be was of Ports- 
mouth, R. I. He was commissioner in 1655, 
1661, 1662 and 1663, and deputy in 1664. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Brownell died in 1665. 
Her name was Ann. Their children were : 
Marv: Sarah: Martha, born in 1644, who 
died' Feb. 15, 1743; George, born in 1646, 
who died April 20. 1718; William, horn in 
1648, who died in 1715; Thomas, born in 
1650, who died May 18, 1732; Robert, born in 
1652, who died Jnlv 12, 1728; and Ann, born 
in 1654, who died April 2, 1747. 

(II) Thomas Brownell (2), born in 1650, 



1178 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



married in 1678 Mary Pearce, born May 6, 
1654, daughter of Richard and Susannah 
(Wright) Pearce, and was of Little Compton, 
R. I. He died May 18, 1732, and his wife on 
May 4, 1736. Their children were: Thomas, 
born Feb. 16, 1679, died in January, 1752; 
John, born Feb. 21, 1682, died in March, 
1759; George, born Jan. 19, 1685, died Sept. 
22, 1756; Jeremiah, born Oct. 10, 1689, died 
in June, 1756; Mary, born March 22, 1692, 
died July 31, 1717; Charles, born Dec. 23, 
1694, died in February, 1774. 

(III) Capt. George Brownell, born Jan. 
19, 1685, married July 6, 1706, Mary, born 
March 20, 1685, daughter of Jonathan Thur- 
ston, and was of AVestport. Mass., where he 
died Sept. 22, 1756. Captain Brownell served 
as such officer in an expedition to Canada. 
Mrs. Mary Brownell died Feb. 23, 1740. Their 
children were: Giles, born March 1. 1707; 
Phebe, June 19, 1708: Mary, Nov. 9, 1709 
(died Oct. 6, 1791); George, June 27, 1711; 
Thomas, Feb. 11, 1713: Elizabeth, Sept. 13, 
1717; Jonathan, March 19, 1719 (died June 
11, 1776) ; Paul, June 12, 1721 (died May 20, 
1760) ; Stephen, Nov. 29, 1726. Captain 
Brownell married (second) Comfort Taylor on 
April 18, 1746. She was born March 2, 1703, 
and by her marriage with Mr. Brownell be- 
came the mother of a daughter Mary, born 
March 3, 1747. 

(IV) Stephen Brownell, son of Capt. 
George, born Nov. 29, 1726, married Jan. 5, 
1747, Edith Wilbor, born April 22, 1727. The 
children of Stephen and Edith were : Phebe, 
born Sept. 4, 1747; William, born July 17, 
1749; Abigail, born March 15, 1751; Edith, 
born. Nov. 2, 1752; Marv, born in April or 
July, 1754; George, born" Oct. 29, 1756; and 
Stephen, born Oct. 29, 1756. 

(V) W^illiam Brownell, son of Stephen and 
Edith, born July 17, 1749, married Feb. 14, 
1771, Elizabeth, daughter of Giles and Marv 
Pearce, born Oct. 19, 1751. Children: Edith, 
born March 1. 1772, and Isaac, bom July 1, 
1774. He married (second) Jan. 8, 1778, 
Eunice Palmer, and (third) Nov. 19, 1786, 
Betsey Grinnell. He died in May, 1810. The 
children of William and Eunice were: Eliza- 
beth, born Feb. 13. 1779 ; Sylvester, born July 
31. 1782; Humphrey, born July 19, 1785. 
The children born to the third marriage were: 
Eunice, horn Sept. 1, 1787; William, born 
March 23, 1789; Walter, born Sept. 3, 1790; 
Clarke, born Oct. 16. 1793; Betsey, born Dec. 
16, 1795; and Stephen, born Jan." 2, 1798. 

(VI) Clarke Brownell, son of William and 
Betsey (Grinnell) Brownell, born Oct. 16, 



1793, married Nov. 5, 1812, Hannah, born 
Nov. 26, 1794, daughter of Samuel and Eliza- 
beth (Pearce) Hillard, of Little Compton, 
Mass. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Brownell were : Warren, born in 1815 ; Oliver 
C, born Oct. 27, 1819 ; Benjamin P., born 
Feb. 17, 1823; Isaac T., born Dec. 25, 1826; 
Deborah Ann, born Oct. 20, 1829; Eben, born 
Sept. 28, 1834; William, born March 24, 
1837; and Richmond, born June 30, 1840. 

(VII) Is.^.-vc T. Brownell, son of Clarke 
and Hannah (Hillard) Brownell, was born 
on Christmas day, 1826, in Little Compton, 
Mass. He received the usual common school 
education given to country lads of that day 
and learned the carpenter's trade. On the 
discovery of gold in California in 1849 he was 
allured thither, becoming as it were one of the 
"49ers." After a two years' experience along 
the Pacific he returned and again took up his 
trade, locating and establishing himself in that 
occupation in Fall River, Mass., and in time 
developed a large business in contracting and 
building; and as the years came and went he 
grew with them ; in other words, by his effort 
and industry, together with his honorable 
course of dealing with his fellowmen, and the 
care he gave to his business affairs, he became 
a man of large means, perhaps among the most 
substantial men of Fall River. He had at 
times as many as a hundred men in his em- 
ploy. He did the carpenter work for the 
Union Mills, the Durfee, Richard Borden, 
Merchants No. 1 and Globe No. 2, at the time 
of their construction. In after years he did 
much joining and repair work. He continued 
in "the harness," in active business, until quite 
late in life. And not a great while ago he 
made a second trip to the Pacific coast, this 
time, however, making it one of pleasure 
rather than business, taking with him his wife. 

Years ago Jlr. Brownell was quite active in 
public affairs : was assistant chief of the fire 
department in 1877, 1878 and 1880; and 
superintendent of public buildings in 1881. 

Mr. Brownell died at his home on Durfee 
street. Fall River, Mass.. Feb. 8. 1911, aged 
eighty-four years. He was a temperate man 
in every respect, never using tobacco or liquor 
in any form. His charity was of the unosten- 
tatious order, many poor women and suffering 
children being able to bear testimony as to 
his benevolence, though he was the kind of 
man whose right hand never knew what his 
left was doing. His memory will long be cher- 
ished by many persons in the community. 

Mr. Brownell was twice married, his first 
union being to Roby Peirce, who died in Fall 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1179 



KivtT. In December, 1899, he marriud Aiiiui 
JleriJcy, who survives him. She was bom in 
Fairbaven, Mass., daughter of Jeremiah 
Sprague and Mary Ann (Brown) Hersey. 

ARTHUR LORIXG BEALS, M. D. The 
Beal or Beals family of that region of country 
.in and about Hingham, Abington, the Bridge- 
waters, etc., is an ancient one of the Old 
Colony, descendants of John Beal or Beale, 
of Hinffham. This article is to deal, however, 
with the branch of tlie family of the section 
named, with that of the Abington, Mass.- 
Turner, Maine family, to which belonged the 
late Isaiah A. Beals, who returned to the land 
of his ancestors and in North Bridgewater 
and Brockton passed an active business career 
and substantial citizenship, and whose son, 
the present Dr. Arthur Loring Beals, is one 
of the leading physicians of the latter named 
<'ity. There follows in chronological order 
and in detail from the American ancestor the 
Beals lineage of this branch of the family. 

(I) John Beal or Beale came from the 
parish of Hingham, County of Norfolk, Eng- 
land, to Hingham, in the Massachusetts Bay 
Colony, in 1638; and on the 18th of December, 
in that year, received a grant of land of six 
acres on what is now South stre»t, at or near 
the corner of Hersey street. He was accom- 
panied by his wife, five sons, three daughters 
and two servants. He was made a freeman in 
1639, and in 1649 and 1659 was chosen to 
represent the town at the General Court of the 
Colony. His first wife. Nazareth Hobart, who 
was the mother of his children, was a daughter 
of Edmund and Margaret (Dewey) Hobart. 
She was born in England about 1600, and died 
in Hingham Sept. 23, 1658. He married 
(second) March 10, 1659, Mrs. Mary Jacob, 
widow of Nicholas Jacob. She died in Hing- 
ham June 15, 1681. Mr. Beal died April 1, 
1688, aged one hundred years. The children 
of John and Nazareth, all save the two young- 
est born in England, were : Martha, Mary, 
Sarah, John, Nathaniel, Jeremiah, Joshua, 
Caleb, Rebecca and Jacob. 

(II) Jeremiah Beal, born in 1631, in Eng- 
land, as stated came to America with the 
family in 1638, settling at Hingham. On 
"Nov. 18, 1652, he married Sarah, born in 
England, daughter of William Ripley. He 
was known a? Lieutenant Beal, and resided on 
Bachelor (Main) street, near the meetinghouse 
of the First parish, but late in life on East 
(near Hull) street. He was constable in 1672, 
selectman in 1671. 1673 and 1684. He was 
representative in 1691. 1692 and 1701. He 



was a. blacksmith by occujialiun, and iiis father 
was a shoemaker. He died in August, 1715, 
in his eighty-fifth year. His wife died June 

29, 1715. Their children were: Jeremiah, 
John, Sarah, Lazarus, Thebe, Mary and Eliza- 
beth. 

(III) Jeremiah Beal (2), born May 13, 
1655, in Hingham, Mass., married May 22, 
1677, Hannah, baptized in Hingham Sept. 

30, 1658, daughter of Andrew and Triphany 
Lane. Like bis father he was a blacksmith 
by occupation, and a prominent public man 
in the town. He was selectman in 1690, 1692 
and 1696. He resided on the paternal home- 
stead on Main street. He died April 21, 1703, 
and his wife passed away Sept. 19, 1719. 
Their children were : Jeremiah, Sarah, Han- 
nah, Joel, Andrew, Jedediah, Abraham, Bath- 
slieba, Rebecca, Benjamin and Abigail. 

(IV) Jeremiah Beal (3), born May 2, 1678, 
in Hingham, Mass., married Jan. 2, 1700-01, 
Esther Farrow, daughter of John and Mary 
(Hilliard) Farrow. She was born in Hing- 
ham June 28, 1675. Mr. Beal and his family 
I'emoved from Hingham, where the parents 
died, Mr. Beal Aug. 10, 1716, and Mrs. Beal 
Jan. 21, 1760. Their children were: Bethia, 
born Jan. 28, 1701-02; Mary, born April 23, 
1703; .Joel, March 21, 1704-05; Jeremiah, 
Dec. 25, 1706; William, Oct. 26, 1708; and 
Isaac, Oct. 9, 1711. 

(V) Jeremiah Beal (4), born Dec. 25, 1706, 
in Hingham, married Nov. 18, 1729, at Wey- 
mouth, Mass., Mary Colson. born Oct. 7, 1708, 
daughter of .John and Susanna (Lincoln) Col- 
son. The children born to Jeremiah and Mary, 
in Wevmouth, Mass., were: Abiiah, born Aug. 
17, 1730, and Benjamin, Dec. 9, 1731. After 
the birth of the last named child Mr. Beal 
removed to the town of Abington, Mass., and 
settled on the farm which in comparatively 
recent years was known as the William Blais- 
dell place, where were born children as fol- 
lows: Chloe, Feb. 2, 1739; Levi, in 1741; and 
Priscilla, in 1746 (who married Capt. Abra- 
ham Shaw, of East Abington, and they are 
the ancestors of a large number of the Shaw 
name in East Abington). Mr. Beal died in 
1752; his widow remained on the homestead 
until 1780 or 1781, when she died at the age 
of about seventy-two years. 

(VI) Benjamin Beal, born Dec. 9, 1731, 
in Wevmouth, Mass., went with the family to 
Abington when a babe, and there passed his 
life. He was by occupation a farmer; was a 
lieutenant in the militia, and collector for the 
Province, when Harrison Gray was treasurer 
under the Colonial government. On Feb. 18, 



1180 



SOU'JllKASTEKN' MASSACHUSETTS 



1753, he iiiarried Mary I'oiter, of Weynioiitli, 
Mass., who was born Sept. 2.5, 1734, daughter 
of Richard and Ruth (Whitman) Porter. .Mr. 
and Mrs. Beal died, lie Aug. 30, 1805, and 
she Jan. 3, 1806. Their children were : Chloe, 
born Dec,. 6, 1753, died when young ; Mary, 
born Oct. 11, 1755, married Ebenezer Hunt; 
Benjamin was born Oct. 30, 1757; Chloe (2). 
born Oct. 8, 1759, died Jan. 1, 1848: Samuel 
was born Oct. 8, 1761; Ruth, born Sept. 14, 
1763, married Noah Hersey, of Abington ; 
Priscilla was born Feb. 14, 1766; Zelotes, Feb. 
23, 1768; Lydia, born Feb. 13, 1770, married 
David Trufant, of Weymouth ; Sarah, born 
Nov. 11, 1772, married Nathaniel Tirrell; 
Nathaniel was born Feb. 11, 1775; and Me- 
lietabel, born May 1, 1777. nuirried Abner 
Holbrook, of W'eymoutli. 

(VII) Benjamin Beal (2), born Oct. 30, 
1757, in Abington, Mass., married June 21, 
1767, Mary Noyes, and removed to the town 
of Turner, Maine, where he became an early 
settler and where his descendants are nu- 
merous. 

(VIII) Capt. Benjamin Beals (3), son of 
Benjamin (2), was born March 24, 1800, in 
Turner, Maine, and married Caroline Leonard, 
who was born Aug. 5, 1804, daughter of Rev. 
Martin and Hannah (Stetson) Leonard, the 
latter born April 15, 1784, daughter of p]ben- 
pzer and Olive (Hall) Stetson. Rev. Martin 
Leonard was a native of Bridgewater. ilass., 
born March 14, 1778, and his wife a native 
of Dighton, Mass., and he was descended in 
direct line from Solomon Leonard, a native 
of Monmouthshire or vicinity, in the south- 
westerly part of England, who came to New 
England and is of record at Duxbury as early 
as 1637, tlie date of the incorporation of the 
town, from whom his line of descent is 
through John, Josiah, Samuel and Samuel 
(2). Rev. Martin Tjconard was a minister 
of the Baptist denomination, serving as pastor 
of churches in Greene, I.,eeds and Turner, 
Maine. The children born to Benjamin and 
Caroline (Leonard) Beals were as follows: 
Melancy L., born Dec. 12, 1823, married Cal- 
vin Record : Marcia A., born Dec. 12. 1824, 
married Harvey Thompson ; Caroline F., born 
Nov. 28, 1826, married Jordon Larrabee; Ed- 
ward was born May 21. 1828; Betsey, born 
Dec. 30, 1829, married Benjamin Tlersey and 
(second) Mellen French: Martin L. was born 
Aug. 1, 1831; Hannah A., born March 18, 
1833, married John Hursell : Roscoe G. was 
born Jan. 22, 1835: Waldo C. was born Oct. 
13, 1836; Olive P., born July 29, 1838, mar- 
ried Frank E. W^ard ; Beniamin F. was born 



June 9. 1840; Isaiah A., born May 18, 1842, 
IS mentioned below ; Emma A., born Dec. 23, 
1843, married George Bonney; and Agnes L., 
born Jan. 9, 1846, died at the age of sixteen 
years. 

Capt. Benjamin Beals, the father of this 
large family, was for years a resident of the 
town of Leeds, Maine, where most of his chil- 
dren were born, later removing to Turner in 
the same State, where the rest were born. He 
was a farmer by occupation, and a man of 
intelligence and force of character, and a 
highly respected citizen of the communities in 
which he lived. He was a Baptist in his re- 
ligious faith, and a strong temperance man 
and Prohibitionist, and active worker with 
Xeal Dow in making Maine a Prohibition 
State. He held various local town offices, and 
for a number of years was captain in the State 
militia. He was a stanch Antislavery man, 
and although too advanced in years to partici- 
pate in the Civil war was strong in his ad- 
vocacy of the Union, four of his sons serving 
in that memorable conflict. 

(IX) Isaiah Additon Beals, son of Capt. 
Benjamin and Caroline (Leonard) Beals, was 
born May 18, 1842, in Turner, Maine, and 
acquired his education in the public schools of 
his native town and State. At the age of 
Iwenty-three years he began employment with 
the late Daniel S. Howard, of North Bridge- 
water, Mass., who was one of the leading shoe 
manufacturers of that town, with whom he 
continued for several years, under the very best 
instruction in the making of shoes. At the 
end of this preparation Mr. Beals became a 
member of the firm of Daniel S. Howard & 
Co., and continued a partner in the business 
■nv a period of about three years, when he 
withdrew from the same, and in about 1880 
engaged in the manufacture of shoes on his 
own account under the firm name of I. A. 
Beals & Co., locating in the building on the 
site now occupied by Emery M. Low, the paper 
box manufacturer. This firm did an extensive 
business in the manufacture of shoes for some 
five years, when on Jan. 11, 1887, the estab- 
lishment was destroyed bv fire, causing a loss 
of over $30,000. the plant was rebuilt by 
i\rr. Beals, who then formed a joint stock 
company, which continued the business for 
<i)me three years. At the close of the period 
just named the henltli of Jlr. Beals liad become 
so imj)aired that he retired from active busi- 
ness cares. He was engaged in the manufacture 
of what is known as the medium-grade shoes, 
liis factory being located at No.' 367 Main 
street, wlicre were employed some three hun- 



SOUTHEAST KKX .MASSACHUSETTS 



1181 



dred hands. Upon the retirement of Mr. Beals 
the company was succeeded by the Hollistun 
Boot and Shoe Company, and the business 
removed to Hollistou, Massachusetts. 

Hi political faith Mr. Beals was a stalwart 
adherent of the principles of the Kepublican 
party, but never cared for public preferment. 
When Brockton became a city, however, he 
served as a member of the first common coun- 
cil, from Ward Two. He was a prominent 
member of the Masonic fraternity, holding 
memUersliip in Paul Eevere Lodge, A. F. & 
A. M. ; Satucket Chapter, R. A. M., and Bay 
State Commandery, Knights Templar, of 
Brockton. Religiously he was a consistent 
and active member of the First Congregational 
Church, and for a number of years served as 
a member of the parish committee of the 
church. 

Mr. Beals was a very energetic and capable- 
business man, enterprising and public-spirited, 
and ever ready to aid in any project which 
had for its object the betterment and welfare 
of the community. He led an upright and 
honorable life, and was respected and esteemed 
by all who knew him for his sterling traits of 
■character. Although of a quiet and unassum- 
ing nature, he readily won friends, and they 
all grew to love him. Mr. Beals passed away 
on Feb. 13, 1905, at his home on Main street, 
Brockton, Mass., and in his death the city sus- 
tained the loss of one of its worthy and hon- 
ored citizens. 

On May 5, 1865, Mr. Beals was united in 
marriage with A^esta Snell Perkins, daughter 
of Luke and Susanna (Gary) Perkins, of 
Auburn, Maine, and a direct descendant of 
Abraham Perkins, who was made a freeman 
of Hampton, Mass., May 13, 1640. Mrs. Beals 
survives him, as do his two children, Arthur 
Loring Beals, M. D., of Brockton, and Su- 
zanne, who is the wife of Samuel J. Gruver, 
M. D., of Brockton. 

(X) Arthur Loring Beals, M. D., only son 
of the late Isaiah A. Beals and his wife Vesta 
Snell (Perkins), was born Aug. 21, 1869, in 
North Bridgewater, now Brockton, and in the 
public schools of his native city his educational 
training was begun. After graduating from 
the Brockton high school with the class of 
1887 he entered Brown University, graduating 
therefrom in 1891. Deciding upon the med- 
ical profession as his chosen calling, he 
furthered his studies in medicine at Harvard 
Medical School, and the College of Physicians 
and burgeons (the medical department of 
Columbia University), New York City, receiv- 
ing the degree of M. D. from the latter in 



1895. In the spring of 1896 Dr. Beals opened 
an office for the practice of his chosen pro- 
fession in his native city, where he has since 
been actively engaged in professional work, 
and where he has acquired a large and lucra- 
tive practice. In 1897 he was elected city 
physician, in which capacity he continued for 
a period of three years. 

Dr. Beals has taken a very prominent and 
active part in the affairs of the Brockton hos- 
pital, of whose corporation he is secretary, and 
which he has served for several years as a 
member of the board of trustees (being also 
secretary of that board) ; he is also a member 
of the executive committee and of the visiting 
board, and in all matters pertaining to the 
hospital has taken an active and earnest part. 
He holds membership in the City Medical 
Society, the Plymouth County District Medi- 
cal Society, the Massachusetts Medical Society 
(of which he is censor) and the American 
Medical Association. 

Fraternally Dr. Beals is a prominent mem- 
ber of high degree of the Masonic organiza- 
tion, holding membership in Paul Revere 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M. (of which he is past 
worslupful master) ; Satucket Chapter, R. A. 
M. ; Brockton Council, R. & S. M. ; Bay State 
Commandery, Knights Templar (of which he 
is at present eminent commander), all of 
Brockton; and also Aleppo Temple, Order of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Boston; and as well is 
a Mason of the thirty-second degree, holding 
membership in the Boston Consistory. He is 
a member of Electric Lodge, No. 204, I. 0. 
0. F., of Brockton. Socially he belongs to the 
Commercial Club, which includes in its mem- 
bership the leading business and professional 
men of the city. In political faith Dr. Beals 
is a Republican, but like his father he has 
never aspired to public office. 

On Aug. 25, 1910, Dr. Beals married Helen 
Sophia Andrews, of East Bridgewater. 

On both paternal and maternal sides Dr. 
Beals is descended from historic old New 
England ancestry, numbered among whom 
were several of this country's earliest settlers. 
He holds a high place in the medical profes- 
sion, and his generous treatment of his brother 
physicians, and his close observation of pro- 
fessional ethics, have contributed toward the 
high standing he enjoys among his fellow 
practitioners and the dignity he considers due 
to his calling. 

EPHRAIM S. MORTON, who was a well- 
known manufacturer of lastmakers" supplies 
at Brockton, was a native of the old historic 



1182 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



town of Plymouth, born June 16, 1837, son 
of Henry and Rebecca (Whitney) Morton, 
and a descendant of a family whose progenitor 
in America was one of the early settlers of 
Plymouth, where many of his descendants have 
since continued to make their home. Some 
account of the branch of this family to which 
Mr. Morton belongs follows, the generations 
being given in chronological order. 

(I) George Morton, bom about 1585, in 
Austerfield, Yorkshire, England, early joined 
the Pilgrims at Leyden and continued of their 
company until his death. One writer says 
that he was "the agent of those of his sect in 
London," and another, that he acted as the 
financial agent in London for Plymouth Col- 
ony. He was a merchant and for some reason 
did not come with the first of the colonists, 
but sailed with his wife Juliana (Carpenter) 
and five children in the "Ann," the third and 
last ship to carry what are distinctively known 
as the Forefathers, reaching Plymouth early 
in June, 1623. Mr. Morton had issued in 
London, in 1621, a publication composed of 
letters and journals from the chief colonists at 
Plymouth, either addressed or instructed to 
George Morton. He died in June, 1624. His 
widow remarried, and died at Plymouth, Feb. 
18, 1665. The children of George and Juliana 
Morton, all born in Leyden, Holland, except- 
ing the youngest, and he on the "Ann," were : 
Nathaniel (married Lydia Cooper) ; Patience 
(married John Faunce) ; John, born in 1616- 
17; Sarah, born in 1617-18 (married George 
Bonum) ; and Ephraim, born in 1623, on the 
"Ann." 

(II) Lieut. Ephraim Morton, son of George, 
born in 1623, on the "Ann," married (first) 
Nov. 18, 1644, Ann Cooper, who died Sept. 
1, 1691; he married (second) in 1692 Mary, 
widow of William Harlow, and daughter of 
Robert Shelly, of Scituate. Mr. Morton be- 
came a freeman June 7, 1648, and on the same 
day was chosen constable for Plymouth. He 
served on the grand inquest in 1654, and in 
1657 was chosen representative to the General 
Court of Plymouth, of which he was a member 
twenty-eight years; and in 1691-92, on tlie 
union of the Colonies, he was one of the first 
representatives to the Massachusetts General 
Court. For nearly a quarter of a century he 
was at the head of the board of selectmen of 
Plymouth. He was a magistrate of the 
Colony and also a justice of the court of 
Common Pleas. He was a lieutenant in the 
militia company ; was chosen a member of the 
Council of War. He was a deacon of the 
church for many years. He died Sept. 7, 



1693. His children, all born in Plyniouth, 
were: George, born in 1645 (married Joanna 
Kempton) ; Ephraim, born Jan. 27, 1648; 
Rebecca, born March 15, 1651; Josiah, born 
in 1653 (married Susanna Wood) ; Nathaniel 
(married Mary Faunce) ; Eleazer, born in 
1667 (married Martha Doty) ; and Patience 
(married John Nelson). • 

(III) Ephraim Morton (2), son of Lieut. 
Ephraim, born Jan. 27, 1648, married about 
1665-66, Hannah, and their children were: 
Hannah, born in 1677 (married Benjamin 
Warren) ; Ephraim, born in H378 ; John, born 
in 1680; Joseph, born in 1683; and Ebenezer, 
born in 1685. 

(IV) Ephraim Morton (3), son of Ephraim 
(2), born in 1678, married in 1712 Susanna 
Morton, and their children were : Susanna, 
born in 1713: Hannah, 1715; Sarah, 1718. 
(married Nathaniel Warren) ; Ephraim, 1722; 
Abigail, 1724 (married Ezekiel Morton) ; and 
Ichabod, 1730. 

(V) Ichabod Morton, son of Ephraim (3), 
born in 1730. married in 1758 Zilpha Thayer, 
and their children were : Ephraim, born in 
1759; Ichabod, born in 1761; Hannah, born 
in 1762 (married Amasa Clark) ; Polly (mar- 
ried Joseph Whiting) ; Zilpha (married Sam- 
uel Bartlett) ; and Susan (married Thomas 
Sears). 

(VI) Ephraim Morton (4), son of Ichabod 
and Zilpha (Thayer), born in 1759, married 
in 1797 Sarah Howland, and their children 
were : Isaac ; Henry ; Ephraim, who married 
Sarah Swift ; Sarah, who married Perez Peter- 
son ; Betsey, who married John Godding ; 
Zilpha, who married Abner Leonard; Hannah, 
and Eliza. 

Ephraim Morton was a shipbuilder of Ply- 
mouth, where he owned and conducted a ship- 
vard, and during tlie war of 1812 was com- 
pelled to burn two vessels then on the docks in 
course of construction, to save them from be- 
ing confiscated by the British. 

(VII) Henry Morton, son of Ephraim and 
Sarah (Howland), born in 1801, married in 
1823 Rebecca Whitney, and their children 
were: Almira T., born in 1827, married James 
B. Gooding, of Plymouth, where they both 
died: Henry, born in 1829, ,=erved in the Civil 
war, and died in Brockton ; Ephraim S. is 
mentioned below; Lucy F., born in 1840, mar- 
ried Edwin Dixon, of Plymouth, where she 
died. Henry Morton was a manufacturer of 
sail thimbles in Plymouth for a number of 
years. He was a Whig and later a Republican. 
He and his wife were active and devoted mem- 
bers of the Congregational Church. He died 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1183 



in Plymoutli. in 1878, aged seventy-seven years. 
(VIll) Ephraim S. Morton, son of the late 
Henry and Eobecca (Wliitney) Morton, was 
born June ItJ, 183?, in Plymouth, Mass., and 
began his schooling in the common schools of 
his native town, supplementing .same by an 
attendance at Gorton's Academy. Leaving 
school at the age of about sixteen years, he was 
then employed at making sail thimbles with 
his father until he had reached his majority. 
In 1858 he went to Boston, where he had an 
interest in the commission business in the iirm 
of George B. Gushing & Co., on Hanover street, 
continuing there until the breaking out of the 
Civil war caused this firm to discontinue busi- 
ness, and Mr. Morton then went to Worcester, 
Mass., where he learned the machinist's trade 
with Capt. John Gooding. In 1863 he went 
to North Bridgewater (now Brockton), where 
he engaged with Ephraini Howard at making 
hammers, and after a short time purchased the 
business, which in 1865 he moved to Plymouth, 
where he manufactured hammers of all kinds 
until 1877. During this time he had as a 
partner Prince Manton, and later was a mem- 
ber of the firm of Morton & Whiting, being 
associated with Gapt. Henry Whiting. He 
manufactured hammers both in the factory now 
used by the Bradford Joint Co., and also in 
"the old hammer shop," which stood until it 
was burned not very long ago, over Hobb's 
Hole brook, on Sandwich street. They also 
made steel shoe shanks, and much of the ma- 
chinery used was the invention of Mr. Morton. 
He designed and patented the Massasoit steel 
bow, which was very popular some thirty-five 
or more years ago. It was made in three sec- 
tions, the two end ones being powerful steel 
springs, and these fitted into the middle, which 
was of wood. 

" Mr. Morton was of an inventive turn of 
mind, having invented several articles which 
are to-day in universal use, among them a 
sash lock and a shoe shank. In 1879 he re- 
turned to Brockton, where he entered upon the 
manufacture of these articles, and continued 
successfully engaged until his death in the 
manufacture of lastmakers' supplies of various 
kinds, which include many last attachments 
and devices which he invented and had pat- 
ented. In February, 1906, Mr. Morton pat- 
ented the heavy tube, with disc, which has 
proved very valuable to last manufacturers, 
and previously originated and patented the 
hollow rivet device, now so largely used by 
lastmakers throughout the world. On Feb. 26, 
1907, he patented the Morton Solid Bottom 
Flange Tube, which is considered the best 



flange tube ever manufactured. It is made of 
1 l-gauge steel, the bottom of the tube turned 
in from the sides, making the most solid bot- 
tom ever made in a last tube. At his plant, 
modernly and adequately equipped for high- 
grade production, several skilled mechanics 
were employed. 

Mr. Morton w-as a member of the Masonic 
organization, holding membership in the lodge 
at Plymouth, and was also a member of May- 
flower Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. ; he was at one time 
very pronunent in the latter. 

in political faith he was a Republican, but 
had never cared for public office. He was a 
member of the Brockton Board of Trade, and 
was interested in the growth and development 
of the latter city, although he made his home 
in Plymouth, the place of his birth and boy- 
hood days, where he died Oct. 8, 1910. He 
was in Brockton about twenty j-ears altogether, 
and while a resident of that place made a prac- 
tice of spending his summers at Plymouth. 
During his later years he visited Brockton fre- 
quently, usually passing part of each winter 
there. 

Mr. Morton was twice married. His flrst 
wife, Sarah Finney, daughter of Gapt. Robert 
Finney, of PljTuouth, died there, the mother of 
two children, as follows: Ernest, who married 
Annie Wade Stockbridge, of Rockland, and 
died in Brockton, without issue; Sadie, who is 
also deceased, married Henry 0. Davis, of 
Plymouth. Mr. Morton's second marriage 
was to Ellen Cushman, daughter of Joseph T. 
Gushman, of Kingston, a descendant of Puri- 
tan stock. 

HAWES. (I) Edmund Hawes came from 
England in the ship "James," from Southamp- 
ton in 1635. but is described as "cutler, late of 
London." He was of Plymouth, a proprietor, 
Oct. 5, 1637; removed to Duxbury. After liv- 
ing in Duxbury for a short time he became 
one of the early settlers of Yarmouth, where 
he was a man of prominence, representative in 
1645 and fifteen years afterward. He had 
been a town officer in Duxbury. He died at 
Yarmouth in 1693. The name of his wife is 
unknown, but she died, also at Yarmouth, June 
19, 1689. In his will of May 5, 1692, pro- 
bated July 20, 1693, he bequeaths to son John 
and his wife Desire; to grandchildren Joseph, 
Desire, Jabez, Edmund, Ebenezer, Isaac and 
Benjamin Hawes, Elizabeth Doged and Mary 
Baron, etc. 

(II) (Capt.) John Hawes, son of Edmund, 
born doubtless in this country about 1640, mar- 
ried Oct. 7, 1661, Desire, born April 2, 1644, 



1184 



SOUTHEASTEIJX MASSACHUSETTS 



in n\iuuutli, eldest daiigliter and eliild of 
Capt. John and Desire (Howland) (jorliani, 
Captain Gorliam being in command of a com- 
pany in I'liilip's war and Desire a daughter of 
John Houhuid, of the "Mayflower." Like his 
fatlier, John Hawes was a man of prominence 
in Yarmouth. He died Nov. 11, 1701. Cliil- 
dren : Elizabeth; Mary, born June 10, 16G4; 
Edmund, May 2, 16G9; John, May 1-i, 1671; 
Joseph, July 16, 1673; Jabez, May 20, 1675; 
Ebenezer. March 24, 1678; Isaac, March !), 
1679-80: Desire, Feb. 28, 1681: Benjamin, 
March 20, 1682; Experience, Sept. 24, 1686 
(Yarmouth town record). 

(III) (Capt.) Ebenezer Hawes, son of 
Capt. John and Desire (Gorhani) Hawes, born 
March 24, 1678, married at Edgartown Feb. 
23, 1699-1700, Sarah, daughter of Isaac and 
Euth (Bayes) Norton. Like his father, Mr. 
Hawes was a man of prominence in Yarmouth 
and Chatham, and was styled "Captain," as was 
liis father. He was in Chatham from about 
1709 to 1722; returned to Yarmouth, and died 
early in 1728, as his widow administered bis 
estate March 4, 1727-28. His widow died Jan. 
9, 1741-42 (gravestone record), in her sixty- 
fifth vear, in Yannouth. Children: Jabez, 
born Sept. 13, 1700; John, Mav 3, 1702; De- 
sire, March 22, 1704; Ebenezer," Jul v 15, 1705; 
Isaac, Aug. 10, 1707 ("in Monamoy") ; Euth, 
Feb. 3, 1708-09 ("in Manan"') ;" Benjamin. 
Oct. 13, 1710 (in Chatham) ; Solomon', Julv 
6, 1712 (in Chatham); Bayes; and Jacob 
(Yarmouth town record). 

(IV) Ebenezer Hawes (2), son of Capt. 
Ebenezer and Sarah (Norton) Hawes, born 
July 15, 1705. in Yarmouth, married Jan. 16, 
1728-29, Sarah, born in 1709, daughter of 
John and Thankful (Lothrop) Hedge. In 
the will of his mother, bearing date of Dec. 
20, 1741, Ebenezer Hawes is spoken of as 
'lately deceased."' Administration of his es- 
tate was given to bis widow Sarah Jan. 28. 
1741-42. Slie, as a widow, married (second) 
Aug. 31, 1743, Isaac Matthews. Children: 
Abigail; Solomon ;''.EbeDezer; Thankful, and 
Desire. . 

(V) Ebenezer Hawes (3), son of Ebenezer 
(2) and Sarah (Hedge) Hawes, born Aug. 
16, 1735, in Yarmouth, married (first) June 
15, 1760, Hannah, bom May 27. 1737. daugh- 
ter of Joseph Hawes. a descendant of Edmund 
Hawes, through John and Joseph Hawes. She 
died Aug. 19. 1764. leaving no issue, and Mr. 
Hawes married (second) Jan. 29, 1770, 
Temperance Taylor, who died in September, 
1810. aged sixty-six years. Ebenezer's will is 
recorded in Barnstable Probate, Vol. 33, page 



333. Children: Ebenezer; Prince; Josiah; 
Isaiah; Temperance; Hannah, and Sarah. 

(VI) Ebenezer Hawes (4), son of Ebenezer 
(3) and Temperance (Taylor) Hawes, born 
Jan. 24, 1771 (family record), married Sept. 

29, 1799 (Yarmouth public record). Thankful, 
daughter of William and Thankful Thatcher. 
She died April 7, 1823, aged seventy-two 
years, one month, seven days. He died March 
3, 1828. Children: Sarah, born June 8, 1801, 
married Benjamin Cobb; Mary, born June 

30. 1803. married Benjamin Burgess; Thank- 
ful Thatcher, born Sept. 16, 1805, died unmar- 
ried ; Ebenezer, born April 5, 1808, married 
Philena \V. Hilton; William, born Sept. 2G, 
1809, died Dec. 31, 1811; Hannah, born Nov. 
15, 1813, married Joseph Chase; Harriet 
Thatcher was born Sept. 24, 1817; William 
T. was born May 27, 1819. 

(VII) Capt. William T. Hawes, son of 
Ebenezer and Thankful Hawes, was born in 
South Dartmouth. Mass., May 27, 1819. At 
an early age he entered upon a seafaring life 
in the whaling service. He rose to the position 
of master and in later years commanded some 
of the best vessels sailing from this and other 
ports, being very successful in his voyages. 
Among the vessels of which lie was in command 
were the "St. George,'' the "Eebecca Simms," 
the "Omega" and the "Arnolda." He finally 
wound up his sea voyages in the taking of the 
bark "Progress" to the Sandwich Islands for 
Messrs. I. H. Bartlett & Co. 

Captain Hawes had no ambition or taste for 
[lolitical preferment. However, he yielded 
once to the solicitations of his friends and 
served in the year 1875 as a member of the 
common council. He was earnestly sought 
after for other and higher offices, but declined 
them. Captain Hawes was a very exemplary 
citizen and an honest man ; indulgent and kind 
as husband and father. His death occurred at 
his home, corner of Purchase and Campbell 
streets. New Bedford. Mass.. March 1. 1887, 
when he was aged sixty-seven years. On April 
26', 1850, lie riiarried Ann M. Eldredge. who was 
born at Bourne. Mass.. March 5. 1833. and 
died Feb. 25. 1910. They had two children: 
Lizzie Eldredge. born July 26, 1863, who mar- 
ried Dir. William H. Taylor and has one 
(laughter. Wilhelmina H. ; and William Chase, 
born March 26. 1868. 

(VIII) William Chase Hawes, born in 
New Bedford, received his general education in 
the public schools there. Later be attended 
the Tjowell School of Design for a short time, 
and liesjan his business life as clerk in the Citi- 
zens" National Bank, where he continued in 




WILLIAM T, HAWES 







"■-'"tth^^ 




SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1185 



that capacity for twelve years, in IS'J'J liu 
•opened tlie brokerage and banking house of 
William V. Hawos, iii New Bedford, conducting 
it alone until 190!) wjien with J. \V. Tewks- 
bury, of Boston, he formed a copartnership 
under the firm nani'' of Hawes, Tcwkshury t^- 
Co. In 1910 Kenneth JI. Lewis was admitted 
as a partnor, the firmiuame^, howeVier, renuiining 
unchanged. They have branch otfices in Bos- 
ton and Springfield, Mass. Mr. Hawes has 
various other important business connections, 
being a director of the Barnaby Manufacturing 
Company of Fall Kiver, Mass.; of the Taber 
Mill and New Bedford Cotton Mill Corpora- 
tion, of New Bedford, and of the Automatic 
Telephone Com})any, of New Bedford. He is 
a member of the Boston Stock Exchange. Mr. 
Hawes is a representative of the best type of 
the younger business men of New Bedford, 
where he has taken first rank both for ability 
and for the high standards he has followed. 
He is particularly well informed regarding the 
local cotton industries, and is perhaps recog- 
nized as the leading authority on statistics in 
this line. His social connections are with the 
Wamsutta, Dartmouth, Country and Yacht 
■Clubs, and the Ohl Dartmouth Historical So- 
<;-iety. 

On Nov. 4, 18U5, Mr. Hawes married Edna 
€. Lawton, daughter of William P. and Mary 
H. (Chaney) Lawton, of New Bedford, and 
they have had four children, born as follows: 
Pauline, Nov. 13, 189G; William Lawton, 
April 3, 1898; Thomas Eldredge, Aug. 21, 
1905; and Mary, March 17, 190?. 

SHAW (New Bedford family). For ap- 
proximately a century the name of Shaw has 
tjeen one substantial in citizenship and busi- 
ness and as well prominent in the public life 
of New Bedford. Keference is made particu- 
larly to some of the descendants of Job and 
Amy (Macomber) Shaw, two of whose sons, 
Hon. Frederick P. and Job L. Shaw, Esq., 
■were long engaged in the grocery business — 
both wholesale and retail — in their native city ; 
and both here and at East Saginaw, Mich., has 
figured prominently the present Capt. and 
Hon. Charles Frederick Shaw, a veteran of the 
Civil war and a man of years of experience in 
public life and commercial affairs. The fore- 
runners of the family here in New Bedford, 
Job Shaw and his wife Amy (Macomber), 
were representatives of pioneer families of both 
Massachusetts and Rhode Island, the Shaws 
being of Ehode Island and the Macombers of 
Massachusetts. John and William JIacomher 
came from Inverness, Scotland, in 1638, the 



former settling in Taunton, where in 1643 he 
was of sufficient age for military duty; and 
William in Duxbury, later removing to Marsh- 
tield and about 1650 to Dartmouth, living 
there and at Tiverton, R. L, some of his de- 
scendants settling at Westport. .\nthony 
Shaw, the ancestor of the Shaws of that same 
region, was at Boston when his first three chil- 
dren were born. He bought land April 20, 
1665, in Portsmouth, R. I., and later was at 
Tiverton. He had married April 8, 1653, 
Alice, daughter of John Stonard. He was 
taxed in 1680 and died Aug. 21, 1705. His 
children were: William, born Jan. 21, 1654, 
who died in March, 1654; William (2), born 
in February, 1655; Elizabeth, born May 21, 
1656; Israel, born in 1660; Ruth, who mar- 
ried John Cook; and Grace, who married Jo- 
seph Church. 

From this (I) Anthony Shaw of Boston, 
Portsmouth and Little Conipton the lineage 
of the present Capt. Charles Frederick Shaw, 
of New Bedford, is through Israel, Anthony 
(2), Benjamin, Nathaniel, Job and Frederick 
P. Shaw. These generations in detail follow. 

(II) Israel Shaw, born in 1660, married in 
1(!89, a daughter of Peter Tallman. On Feb. 
11, 1707, he sold property in Portsmouth to 
his brother-in-law, John Cook. He lived in 
little Compton, R. I. His children were: Wil- 
liam, born Nov. 7, 1690; Mary, Feb. 17, 1692; 
Anthony, Jan. 29, 1694; Alice, Nov. 17, 1695; 
Israel, 'Aug. 28. 1697; Hannah, March 7, 
1699; Jeremiah, Jtme 6, 1700; Ruth, Feb. 10, 
1702; Peter. Oct. 6, 1704; Elizabeth, Feb. 7, 
1706: Grace, Oct. 20, 1707; Comfort, Aug. 9, 
1709; and Deborah, July 15, 1711. 

(III) Anthony Shaw, son of Israel, born 
Jan. 29, 1694, married Rebecca Wood, born 
April 17, 1696, and they were residents of 
Little Compton, R. I. He died in March, 
1759, and she in January, 1766. Their chil- 
dren of Little Compton town record according 
to Arnold were: Benjamin, born in October, 
1720; Mary, Feb. 24, 1722; Ruth, Sept. 29, 
1723; Anthony, Nov. 30, 1725; Elizabeth, 
Jan. 10, 1728 (died in January, 1804) ; Re- 
becca, born Jan. 27, 1730; Arnold, Nov. 13, 
1732: Thomas. Jan. 26. 1735; and John, May 
.-,, 1737. 

(IV) Benjamin Shaw, son of Anthony, born 
in October, 1720, died in September, 1794. 
His children of Little Compton town record, 
according to Arnold, were : Svlvanus, born 
May 4, 1750 (died Oct. 22, 1777) ; Nathaniel, 
born Feb. 24, 1752; Rhoda, born Oct. 2, 1753; 
Rhoda (2). born Jan. 1, 1756; Noah, born 
Feb. 2. 1758 (died Feb. 8, 1844); Susanna, 



7B 



1186 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



boru March ;i5, 17G0; Barnabas, born July 
2-1, 1763; Benjamin, bora Oct. 5, 1764; Eliza- 
betli, born Oct. 5, 176-1; Asa, born March 1, 
1766; and Renanuel, born July 21, 1768. 

{ ^' ) Nathaniel Shaw, son of Benjamin, born 
Feb. 24, 1752, married Prudence ( ?) Cory, 
daughter of Thomas. It is family liistory that 
both Nathaniel and his father-in-law saw ser- 
vice in the Eevolutionary war. His children 
were: William, Job, Cory, and perhaps others. 

(VI) Job Shaw, son of Nathaniel, born 
about 1783, in Tiverton, R. I., married Amy 
Macomber, and they resided in Tiverton and 
New Bedford. Mr. Shaw was a cooper by 
trade and occupation. He died at New Bed- 
ford, Mass., in 1862, aged seventy-nine years, 
three months. His children were : Humphrey, 
Frederick P., Job L., Phebe M. (married 
C'harles C. Allen) and Adaline (married Ben- 
jamin Brown, of New Bedford). 

(VII) Frederick P. Shaw, son of Job and 
Amy (Macomber), was born July 17, 1811, in 
New Bedford, Mass. After such schooling as 
was then usually given to a boy he learned the 
cooper's trade under the direction of his father, 
who carried on that business in New Bedford. 
In due time he clianged his occupation, en- 
gaging in the grocery business in his native 
city, his location being on Purchase street, 
near North, in time moving to the northwest 
corner of Purchase and Kempton streets. A 
partnership was eventually formed with his 
younger brother, the late Job L. Shaw, who 
had been an assistant in the store with him. 
The two remained together in business until 
the year 1844, when the partnership was dis- 
solved and eacli engaged in business for him- 
self. Some years later they again became as- 
sociated under the firm name of Shaw & 
Brother, conducting a wholesale grocery busi- 
ness, their location being on Union street, 
with a branch house in East Saginaw. Mich., 
in which was interested the son of Mr. Fred- 
erick P. Shaw, the present Capt. Charles Fred- 
erick 'Shaw, who is yet in active life in New 
Bedford. 

In the meantime, in 1849, Mr. Frederick 
P. Shaw went to California, sailing from New 
Bedford in the bark "Sylph," and after his 
return he was for a period engaged in the 
wholesale grocery business in Providence, R. 
I., being a member of the firm Work, Shaw & 
Company. 

Mr. Shaw .took an active interest in the pub- 
lic affairs of New Bedford and was influential 
and prominent in citizenship. He was chosen 
a member of the common council in IS."!?, and 
in 187.') represented the city in the Heneral 



Court of Massachusetts, elected as a Democrat,, 
though really independent in politics. He was 
interested and active generally in politics re- 
gardless or independent of party lines, and 
his election on the Democratic ticket to the 
(Jeneral Court was due to the support received 
from both of the great parties. The religious 
faith of Mr. Shaw was that of the Christian 
denomination, he being a member of the North 
Christian Church at New Bedford, and for 
several years he was the clnirch clerk. Mr. 
Shaw was well known in both business and 
social circles. lie was a very agreeable gen- 
tleman, methodical and systematic in his af- 
fairs, and had the reputation of being shrewd, 
keen and capable. Perhaps a year prior to 
his death he was stricken with apoplexy, from 
which he never f\illy recovered ; and a recur- 
rence of the attack about a week before his 
death was the cause of it. This event occurred 
at his home in Purchase street. New Bedford, 
Dec. 1, 1883, when he was aged seventy-two 
years, four months. He had married in his 
young manhood Mary Maxfield, born April 10, 
1812. died Jan. 25, 1905, who bore him the 
following children : Charles F., born April 2, 
1838, died Feb. 17, 1839; Charles F. (2) was 
born Nov. 28, 1840; Marion, born May 11, 
1843, married (first) Jan. 25, 1869, Preserved 
Bullock, who died Aug. 29, 1875, and (second) 
Nov. 27, 1884. Maj. Edwin Dews, who died 
June 11, 1904; Anna V., born May 13. 1846, 
died Feb. 14, 1907, unmarried; Florence C, 
born in September. 1849, married June 29, 
1869, Arthur R. Brown, and resides in New 
Bedford; William C, born June 30, 1855, 
married (first) Feb. 20, 1879, Fannie B. 
Coffin and (second) Jan. 29, 1890, Edith E. 
Greene (one daughter, Alice Coffin, born Nov. 
9. 1879, married June 29, 1909. Herbert A. 
Morton, of Taunton). 

(VIII) C.wr. Ch.\rles Frederick Shaw, 
son of Frederick P. and Mary (Maxfield) 
Shaw, was born in New Bedford Nov. 28, 1840, 
and in the schools of his native city received 
his education. When he was just on the thres- 
hold of young manhood the Civil war came, 
and like thousands of the other youth of the 
land he was summoned to the defense of his 
country. Youn? Shaw answered the call, en- 
listing Aug. 13, 1862, as a member of Com- 
])any H. 38th Mass. Y. I., and such were his 
soldierly qualities that he gradually rose from 
fhe ranks, serving as corporal, sergeant, sec- 
ond and first lieutenant. He participated in 
the battles of western Louisiana, the siege of 
Port Hudson, the Red River expedition, the 
Shenandoah Valley campaign (including the 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



1187 



battle of Cedar Creek, Oct. 19, 186-i), and the 
closinar events in Georgia and North Carolina. 
On Sept. 1, 1863, he received his conniiission 
as second lieutenant, and from that time tin- 
Lil he was discharged he commanded his com- 
pany (the captain being on detached service), 
and brought it back to New Bedford. Cap- 
tain Shaw was mustered out of the service June 
;30, 1865, returning then to his home with an 
honorable war record, but soon to leave it, 
however, for in that same year he went to the 
State of Michigan, engaging in business at 
East Saginaw, becoming a member of the 
wholesale grocery house of Messrs. Shaw, Bul- 
lard & Co. Mr. A. F. Bullard withdrew from 
the concern in 1873, and the firm of Shaw 
Brothers & Co. continued the business until 
1878, when it was discontinued. Captain 
Shaw, however, continued his residence in East 
Saginaw until the illness of his father, in 1883, 
brought him back to Xew Bedford, where he 
has since remained. 

From the time he was old enough to vote 
Captain Shaw has been an ardent supporter 
of the principles of the Republican party, and 
for many years -was active and influential in 
the councils of his party. While in East Sagi- 
naw he was for two years a member of the 
police commission and for four years of the 
cemetery commission. He was nominated for 
mayor in 1878, but declined the honor. A 
year later, 1879, he accepted the nomination 
for city treasiirer, and ran ahead of his ticket, 
failing, however, of election. In 1880, without 
solicitation, he was nominated at the Saginaw 
County Republican convention on the first bal- 
lot, by a vote of 104 out of 114, for the office 
of register of deeds, but was defeated by 199 
votes cast out of 11,000. Soon afterward he 
was chosen sole assessor of East Saginaw city, 
which position he held until March, 1883, when 
he resigned and returned to his native city, 
summoned by the illness of his father, whose 
death occurred that same year. Since his re- 
turn to New Bedford he has for a decade served 
as a member of the Republican City commit- 
tee, and for three year's was its chairman; and 
later was its vice chairman. He has also rep- 
resented New Bedford in the State Legislature 
(1890K and served as an alderman of the 
city. In December, 1897, he was elected city 
assessor-at-large for a term of three years. 

One has only to read between the lines of 
this brief review to judge that Captain Shaw 
as a citizen was prominent in all public mat- 
ters in his Michigan home as well as in Bed- 
ford. He was for si.^J years president of the 
East Saginaw Rifles. In 1886 he purchased 



the street railway there, made three miles of 
extensions and other improvements. This he 
sold some months later. He was tor a period 
of years vice president of the East Saginaw 
Gas Company. In 1888 he was called to East 
Saginaw to act as treasurer of one of the sav- 
ings banks there, remaining in that capacity 
four months. He has served as both president 
and secretary of the New Bedford Board of 
Trade, and for many years past has been a 
member of the board of directors. He has also 
served as vice president of the New Bedford 
General Hospital. He was formerly treasurer 
of the Union Street Railway Company, resign- 
ing Feb. 1, 1897. 

Socially Captain Shaw has been no less ac- 
tive and prominent than in business and public 
life. He has been president of the New Bed- 
ford Choral Association since 1890; is a mem- 
ber of the Wamsutta and Dartmouth Clubs, 
also of the Massachusetts Republican Club; of 
the K. of P., the B. P. 0. E., the G. A. R., the 
Loyal Legion, the Veteran Firemen's Associa- 
tion, and the Masonic fraternity through the 
Knight Templar degree ; and is a life member 
of the Old Colony Historical Society. 

On Nov. 12, 1867, Captain Shaw married 
Clara D., daughter of William H. Warner, of 
East Saginaw, Mich. She died July 16, 1873, 
leaving one son, Frederick Warner, who died 
April 16, 1878. 



(VII) Job L. Shaw, son of Job and Amy 
(Macomber) Shaw, was born Sept. 15, 1821, 
in New Bedford, Mass., and in the schools of 
that city acquired his education. He was the 
youngest son of his parents, and as a youth 
entered the store of liis older brother, the late 
Hon. Frederick P. Shaw, who was then en- 
gaged in the grocery business, whei-e he re- 
ceived his business training and remained un- 
til 1844. In that year he opened a store on 
his own account, his location being at the 
northwest corner of Purchase and Campbell 
streets. Here he carried on the grocery Ijusi- 
ness for some years. The two brothers then 
became associated in business together, the 
copartnership being carried on under the name 
of Shaw & Brother, and their business being a 
wholesale one, located on Union street. They 
also operated a large wholesale house in East 
Saginaw, Mich., this branch store, as it were, 
in Michigan having a life from 1865 to 1878, 
it being discontinued in that last named year; 
and some years previous the New Bedford 
partnership was dissolved. Still later Mr. Job- 
Ij. Shaw opened and carried on a retail grocery 



1188 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



business at Xo. 577 Purchase street, conduct- 
ing it until his retirement from active business 
life some few years prior to the time of his 
deatli. 

Mr. Shaw was well and favorably known in 
and about New Bedford, having the respect 
and esteem of the community. He was a mem- 
ber and treasurer of the Christian Church in 
New Bedford. Perhaps the only public of- 
fice he ever held was that of a member of tlie 
common council. 

Mr. Shaw died at his home in New Bedford 
Jan. 10, 1894, aged seventy-two years, three 
months, twenty-six days. 

FREDERIC POOL WHITMARSH, a re- 
tired resident of East Bridgewater, is making 
liis home on the farm owneil and occupied by 
liis father and great-grandfather before him, 
and was born there Nov. 1.5, 184!l, in the house 
.his father built. 

The Whitmarsh family records go back to 
'Colonial days, the first of this line of whom 
we have record being John Wliitmarsh. of 
Weymouth, Mass., who by his wife Sarah had 
ohildren as follows: Increase, born in 1655; 
Ebenezer, born May 14, 1(558; Simon, born 
May 11, 1661 ; a child, whose name is lost on 
the record, born Aug. 14. 166,3; Zacliariah, 
born Sept. 1, 1667; Judith, born Sept. 2, 1660; 
Ezra, born Oct. 1.3, 1670; Jane, born Sept. 8. 
1675. The father's will of 1695 does not name 
Increase, nor Simon, nor Jane, hut to the other 
children adds John. Sarah, Deborah and Ruth, 
and grandson, Richard. 

Of these, Ebenezer Whitmarsh, born May 
14, 1658, married Christian, and their son 
Ebenezer, born March 10, 1688, settled in 
Abington, Mass. He married Elizabeth Dyer, 
and tlieir children of Abington record were: 
Ttuth. born June 23, 1718; Mary, born May 17, 
1721: William, born Sept. 22, 1723; and Mat- 
thias, born Sept. 9, 1726. He married (sec- 
ond) April 3, 1733, Mebetabel Faxon, born in 
Braintree, June 14, 1698, daughter of Josiah 
Paxon, granddaughter of Richard Faxon, and 
great-granddaughter of Thomas Faxon, a native 
of England who came to New Englan<l prior 
to 1647, the year in which a record is found 
of him in Dedham. 

From the Weymouth Wliitniarsh family 
sprang the Abington-East Bridgewater family 
of the name, Jacob Whitmarsh of Abington 
marrying in 1751 Hannah, probably daughter 
of Benjamin Shaw, and settling in East 
Bridgewater; and Lot Whitmarsh, son of 
Ebenezer and nephew of Jacob, also settling 
in East Bridgewater ; Lot being the ancestor 



of the 'Whitmarsh family of this article. He 
was the great-grandfather of Frederick Pool 
and Ezra Scott Whitmarsh. He married Su- 
sanna Pool, (if the Abington family of that 
name, and their children were: Thomas; Lot, 
born in 1796 (married in 1820 Merrill Cor- 
thell) ; Mary, born in 1798; John, born in 
1801 ; Susanna, next in birth (married Micali 
Packard ) ; Olive, born in 1804 ; Ezra, born in 
]8()S; and Ebenezer, born in 1810. 

Thomas Whitmarsh, son of Lot, born Dec. 
27, 1788, in Abington, Mass., married (first) 
May 23, 1811, in East Bridgewater, Charlotte 
(iannett, who was born May 4, 1792, daughter 
of Simeon Gannett, of East Bridgewater. She 
died March 5, 1838, and for his second wife 
Mr. Whitmarsh married Diana, widow of Jo- 
seph Allen. 1'homas and Charlotte Whit- 
marsh are buried in the Northville cemetery 
at East Bridgewater. They had eight chil- 
dren, all born in East Bridgewater, viz.: (1) 
Simeon, born Sept. 9, 1812, died Oct. 8. 1889. 
On April 21, 1844, he married Mary Tilley, 
of P>ast Bridtrewater, and thev had Albert C, 
Henrv F. and Elmer G. (2) Sarah B., born 
Marcii 8. 1815, died June 15, 1885. On Nov. 
22, 1840, she married John B. Brown, and they 
had nine children, among them being Sarah, 
John, Daniel, James, Ada and Charlotte. (3) 
Ebenezer is mentioned below. (4) Elizabeth, 
born ]\rarch 11, 1819. died Dec. 6, 1880. On 
April 21, 1844. she married James N. Sweet- 
ing, of Attleboro; thev had no children. (5) 
Edward F., born April 22. 1821, died Oct. 12, 
1822. (6) Joshua B., born April 13, 1823, 
died May 25. 1891. in Middleboro, Mass. On 
Dec. 21, 1845, he married Nancy Edson, of 
East Bridgewater. and their children were 
Charlotte, Daniel Webster (who lives in Rox- 
bury). Annie and Edward (who married Cora 
Forbes, of North Middleboro. and resides 
there). (7) Susan Pool, born Dec. 19, 1825, 
ilied in Broikton in May, 1901; she married 
Sept. 19. 1876, .Teretniali Torrey, of Brockton. 
Thev had no children. (8) George B., born 
Julv 26. 1828. died in Middleboro. Jan. 10, 
1899. On Oct. 1. 1850. he married (first) 
^larv Weston, of 'Middleboro. and his second 
nuirriage. on Sept. 26, 1874, was to Alice 
Clark, of Middleboro. His daughter, Mrs. 
Ifattie White, resides in North Middleboro. 

Ebenezer Whitmarsh, son of Thomas, was 
born .Tan. 7, 1817, on his grandfather's home- 
stead, in East Bridgewater, where he passed his 
entire life. He received such education as he 
acquired in the public schools, and at the age 
of seventeen commenced to learn shoemaking. 
Followins; the custom of the times, he did the 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1189 



work he turned out for tlie wholesale dealer? at 
home, and contiuued in tliat way I'or many 
years, meantime also lookuif; after tlie comliiet 
of his farm, which contained about fifty acres, 
and which he kept in a good state of cultiva- 
tion. Besides, he did considerable trading. 
In ilarch, 1883, because of illness, he retired, 
leaving the farm to his son's care. He was a 
Republican, interested in local affairs, and held 
several minor town offices. He and his wife 
attended tiie Whitntan Congregational Church. 

Mr. Whitmarsh married Diantha Brown, 
who was born Jan. 25, 1820, daughter of Em- 
ory and Mollie (Bisbee) Brown, of East 
Bridgewater, and they had two children, Eben- 
ezer Davis and Frederic Pool. ilr. Whit- 
marsh died Oct. 5, 1893, and Mrs. Whitmarsh 
passed away March 15, 1896. They are buried 
in the Xorthville cemetery, where a monu- 
ment marks their resting place. 

Frederic Pool Whitmarsh was educated in 
the district school at East Bridgewater. At 
the age of twenty he went to work with 0. G. 
Healy, learning the carpenter's trade, at which 
he was employed for two years in Whitman 
and nearby towns. When twenty-two years 
old he went to work for C. H. Bonney in Whit- 
man, remaining with him as a journeyman for 
three years, after which time he did business 
on his own account as a contractor and 
builder. His work called him all over Massachu- 
setts, and there are many handsome houses in 
his own county to testify that during his activ- 
ity in the business he was among the foremost 
in his line in this section. Mr. Whitmarsh's 
conscientious work won him unusual confi- 
dence, his patrons having every reason to be- 
lieve that his reputation for integrity and 
honor was well deserved. He superintended 
the work himself, giving personal attention to 
all important details, and his contracts were 
intelligently and artistically executed, \dth 
due regard for attractiveness as well as perma- 
nence. He gave up contracting and building 
in May, 1895. Mr. Whitmarsh has also looked 
after the farm, which passed into his hands 
upon the death of his father. Formerly he 
kept eighteen or twenty cows, selling his cream 
to wholesale dealers, but he sold all his cattle 
in 1904, and at present does not attempt to 
raise any crops on his farm beyond what he 
wishes for home eonsumption. He is serving 
as selectman of East Bridgewater, and has also 
been assessor and overseer of the poor for the 
])ast five years. In politics he is a Republican, 
and in religious views is identified with the 
Congregational Church. 

On Nov. 23, 1875, Mr. Whitmarsh married 



Louisa Aldridge, born July 15, 1851, in Jer- 
sey City, N. J., daughter of John and Eliza- 
betli (Slingerland) Aldridge, the former a na- 
tive of England, the latter of Jersey City, N. 
J. Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Whitmar«h : (1) Annie Louise, born June 21, 
1877, in East Bridgewater, received her educa- 
tion in the public and high schools there. She 
is now the wife of Lawrence E. Lothrop, son 
of Eugene T. and Sarah (Southworth) Loth- 
rop, and they reside in Campello, where he is 
employed in the G. E. Keith shoe factory. 
(2) Alice Elizabeth, born Nov. 7, 1878, at- 
tended the public and high schools of East 
Bridgewater. She is married to Prescott 
Washburn, son of Orace and Hannah (Cor- 
bett ) Washburn, of East Bridgewater, and they 
have one daughter. Norma Louise, born Dee. 
12, 1905. Mr. and Mrs. Washburn reside in 
East Bridgewater, where he is employed as a 
machinist by the Carver Cotton Gin Company ; 
he is also well known as a musician. 

CLEAVELAND. George Cleaveland and his 
wife Sarah (Hall) lived in Walpole in the 
early years of the eighteenth century, and there 
their children, of Walpole town record, were 
probably born, viz.: John, born Jan. 24, 1732- 
33; Mary, born Oct. 12, 1734; Deliverance, 
born Dec. 20, 1736; Edward, born Dec. 30, 
1738; George, born Sept. 24, 1740; a son who 
died in infancy; David, born May 1, 1744; and 
Sarah, born Jan. 17, 174.5-46." The father 
seemingly had performed service in the Indian 
war of the time, as George Cleaveland died at 
Walpole Oct. 2, 1756, "in ye Kings service at 
Fort William Henrey." 

Edward Cleaveland, son of George and Sarah, 
born Dec. 30, 1738, in Walpole, Mass., mar- 
ried May 14, 1759-60, Deborah, born Aug. 22, 
1741, in Wrentham, Mass., daughter of George 
and Sarah (Partridge) Adams, of Wrentham, 
Mass., and a descendant of Henry Adams, one 
of the early settlers of Braintree, ilass., who 
is believed to have arrived at Boston with his 
family in 1632 or 1633, from whom her de- 
scent is through Peter, Dr. Peter and George 
Adams. Mr. Cleaveland resided in Walpole 
until about 1780, when he removed to Medfield 
and purchased the place on the Walpole road 
opposite Plain street. Mrs. Cleaveland died in 
1797, and in 1798 he mnrrierl (second) Betsey 
Perry, who died in 1825. He served as select- 
man" in 1782, 1794 and 1801. He died in 
1830. His children were: Zimri, born in 
1760; Zilpha, born in 1762; Edward, born 
in 1764; Milly, born in 1766; Lydia, born in 
1767; Deborah, born in 1769; Patience, bom 



1190 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



in 1771; Sura, who died young; Aquilla, wlio 
died young; Bela, born in 1781; and Adin, 
born in 1784. 

Capt. Bela Cleaveland, son of Edward and 
Deborah (Adams), was born in 1781 at Med- 
field, Mass., and married May 23, 1804, Hannah 
Adams, of Medfield, born April 8. 1781, 
daughter of Capt. Nathaniel and Hannah 
(Fisher) Adams, of South Franklin, Mass. 
Bela Cleaveland was a carpenter by trade. He 
built the house on South street in Medfield 
owned by the heirs of Moses Bullard. At one 
time he carried on the business of butchering. 
He was commissioned captain in 1814. He 
died of paralysis May 20, 1832. His widow 
died July 21," 1846. His children were: Al- 
bert is mentioned below; Caroline married 
Fisher Kingsbury, and died in Franklin ; 
Henry died in Franklin : Harriet died in 
Providence, R. I., unmarried ; Fisher died in 
Freetown, Mass.; Elizabeth died in Franklin, 
unmarried ; Horace died in Woonsocket, R. I. ; 
Mary died unmarried. 

Albert Cleaveland, eldest child of Bela and 
Hannah (Adams), born Oct. 28, 1805, in 
Franklin, Mass., married (first) Susan Fisher 
Daniels, born Oct. 6. 1808, in Franklin, Mass., 
daughter of Joseph and Susan (Fisher) 
Daniels, and a descendant of one of the early 
New England families. She died Feb. f>, 1834, 
the mother of two children, Walter F. and a 
son that died in infancy. Mr. Cleaveland mar- 
ried (second) Nancy Guild, who died in Fox- 
boro, Mass., the mother of two children : 
Henry Willis, who died in Foxboro. unmarried, 
and Carrie, who married Charles Williams. Al- 
bert Cleaveland was a carpenter by trade. Dur- 
ing the gold excitement of 1849 he went to 
California, sailing from Providence in the old 
"South America," and there he spent the re- 
mainder of his life, dying when about seventy- 
six years old. 

Walter Fisher Cleaveland was born Feb. 
17, 1830, at Franklin, Mass., and was but four 
years old when his mother died. Within a year 
after his mother's death he went to live with 
his paternal grandmother, Mrs. Hannah 
(Adams) Cleaveland. and when ten years old 
he went with his father to Woonsocket Falls, 
E. I., and later to Providence, R. I., where 
his father was working at his trade of car- 
penter. When eight years old he commenced 
school, attending the common schools in the 
various places where the family lived until 
he was about fifteen. He well remembers the 
furnishings of the schools of the day. par- 
ticularly the seats, which were made of oak 
slabs, used just as they came from the mill. 



They were worn smoother and more highly 
polished than any furniture polish could make 
them. Meantime he had had considerable 
practical experience in the line he was to fol- 
low, and after leaving school finished learning 
the sash and blind business at Providence, un- 
der his father, at which he was employed in 
that city for four yeai's. Later he worked at 
that calling with his uncle at East Freetown 
until January, 1857, and in New Bedford until 
the establishment was burned out, in Septem- 
ber, 1859, removing thence to North Bridge- 
water (now Brockton), Mass., where he has 
since had his home. Here he followed the same 
line for two years in the employ of Frank 
Bryant, after which he hired the shop and con- 
ducted the business himself for about one year. 
This was in the old Howard mill (on Belmont 
street, just west of Eaton's shoe factory), 
which was destroyed several years ago ; it was 
run by water power. In Mr. Cleaveland's own 
words : "Those were hard days. It was dur- 
ing the war, and when I found that some other 
makers were able to sell the sashes and blinds 
complete at less money than I could buy the 
lumber I quit. Then I ran the place as an 
old-fashioned grist-mill, turning out box boards 
and lumber. I went into the ice business in 
1864 with Daniel Eames and stayed at that 
for twenty years, carrying on a wood business 
and teaming besides." 

Mr. Cleaveland embarked in the ice, wood 
and teaming business as a member of the firm 
of Daniel Fames & Co., and at the end of 
three years purchased his partner's interest, 
carrying on the 'business alone for a number 
of years, iintil the spring of 1882, when he 
sold out to Wallace C. Flagg. lie then built 
a shop and for four years was engaged at saw- 
ing wood for firewood, at the end of which time 
he retired from active business life. 

As a public official Mr. Cleaveland has been 
active in the atTairs of Brockton and an effi- 
cient worker for the general good. In March, 
1879, he was elected a member of the board 
of selectmen, and served the term, but de- 
clined further preferment in that office. Mean- 
time, in the fall of 1879, the town at a special 
meeting decided to install a water supply to 
take the place of the one which had its main 
line from Pleasant to Crescent streets, on Main, 
with a reservoir where the central fire station 
now stands. Mr. Cleaveland, W. W. Cross and 
Col. John J. Whipple were made water com- 
missioners, and Cliarles R. Ford, W. W. Cross, 
F. B. Washburn, P. B. Keith and Mr. Cleave- 
land were chosen a building committee. The 
Avon supply was then built, an appropriation 



SOUTIIEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



11!)1 



•of $120,000 being made, and the dam for the 
reservoir commenced in 1880. The old gravity 
system was used and it was not until 18S)0 that 
the present Woodland avenue pumping station 
and stand-pipe were built. Mr. Cleaveland 
served on the board of water commissioners 
•continuously until his resignation, in January, 
1892, during that period having been also 
superintendent of works. He was soon after- 
ward engaged by the sewerage department as 
•overseer, in which capacit}- — though not always 
under the same title — he has acted ever since, 
and he has also been a member of the sewerage 
•commission since 1893. Throughout this 
period he has had charge of all the outside 
work, overseeing sewer construction and di- 
recting the gangs working in the sewer 
trenches. Mr. Cleaveland is now the oldest city 
■official of Brockton in active service, at present 
(1911) serving his thirty-second successive 
year. That he has been so long and so con- 
tinuously engaged in outside work may have 
some bearing on his wonderful vitality and 
ability to keep up active labor at an age when 
most men are anxious to retire, but it is a 
remarkable fact that he is as competent as ever 
to do a full day's work. Moreover, he has al- 
ways been able to meet the growing require- 
ments of his position, which have become more 
■exacting with the passage of years, the city's 
facilities having been necessarily much en- 
larged since he first entered upon the duties 
of his present incumbency. At that time the 
filter bed system had just been started, and he 
has seen the present system grow from in- 
fancy. A few figures will serve to give some 
idea of the increase in the water department, 
with which Mr. Cleaveland was connected for a 
number of years. In 1882, the first full year 
of the use of the water su]iply, the water de- 
partment receipts were $3,467.51, and in 1910 
the receipts were $121,473.13. 

To Mr. Cleaveland belongs the honor of put- 
ting the first sprinkling cart on the streets of 
Brockton. He secured a ten-barrel oil cask, 
fitted wheels to it, and sprinkled the center 
of the town. There were no stand-pipes then 
and the water was secured from the stream 
near E. M. Low's box factory by means of a 
small pump. Later he built a sprinkler of a 
much improved type. 

Mr. Cleaveland learned the lessons of hard 
work and early rising in his boyhood, and he 
lias attained tiie high place he occupies in the 
esteem of the community by conscientious ef- 
fort and diligent application. He has been a 
trustee of the Brockton Savings Bank for a 
number of vears. He has alwavs been a stanch 



supporter of the principles of the Eepublicun 
party, and is a strong advocate of the sound 
money cause. For a number of years he held 
nienibership in the I. 0. 0. F. 

Li 1851 ]\Ir. Cleaveland married Marietta H. 
Whipple, daughter of Amos and Rosella 
Whipple, of Cumberland, R. I., and to this 
union were born six children, namely : Susan 
L. died when two years old; Albert A., who 
resides in Brockton, where he is associated with 
his father in the sewer department of the city, 
married Eva Cook, of Brockton (they have no 
children) ; Frances R. married C!harles A. 
Braley, of Brockton, and they are the parents 
of Arthur S., Frederick Walton and Carrie 
Pearl ; Lillian G. died when five years old ; 
Harry W., who is a shoe worker, married Helen 
Ransom, and they are the parents of Ruby S. 
and Eva Mildred Cleaveland ; Carrie A., who 
is unmarried, makes her honie with her father. 
The mother of these children died Dec. 8, 
187G, in Brockton, and for his second wife Mr. 
Cleaveland married Mary E. Chipman, of Sand- 
wich, Mass., who died without issue, Oct. 21, 
1894. His home is at Xo. 202 Summer street. 

MANLEY. The name introducing this ar- 
ticle is borne by a family whose members have 
been honored and respected citizens of North 
Bridgewater (now Brockton) and the com- 
munities adjacent thereto for over one hundred 
and fifty years. This article is to treat partic- 
ularly of the branch of the family to which be- 
longed the late Milo Manley, of Brockton, 
whose long life was devoted industriously to 
agricultural pursuits, and his eldest son, Albert 
Manley, of West Bridgewater, where he is ex- 
tensively engaged in dairying and farming. 

(I) William Manley, of Weymouth, by his 
wife Rebecca had Sarah, born Oct. 5, 1675 ; in 
March following he was a soldier in Turner's 
Company, outlived the campaign, and, accord- 
ing to Savage, had Thomas, born July 11, 
1680 ; and by his wife Sarah had Rebecca, born 
in March, 1687. Mr. Manley removed from 
Weymouth and was a resident of what is now 
the town of Easton, Mass., as early as 1694. 
He and other early settlers there were squat- 
ters and it is possible they settled some time 
prior to the appearance of their names in deeds. 
Mr. JIanley become a landowner in what is now 
Easton, his location being in South Easton. 
He had other son? than given by Savage who 
located in Easton — William, who was of age 
in 1700, and settled on his father's place; and 
Xathaniel, the third son, who built his first 
house on what became the F. Tj. Ames farm, 
but in 1710 sold, removed and built on what 



1192 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS • 



became the Timothy Marshall place. The 
father and his three sons owned the westerly 
part of the F. L. Ames estate in North Easton, 
and also owned both north and south of that. 
The father died Dec. 2, 1717. 

(II) Thomas Manley, the second son of Wil- 
liam, born in Weymouth in 1680, settled in 
what is now the town of Easton, owning land 
as above described. On Oct. 2, 1701, he mar- 
ried Lydia Field, born Oct. 9, 1679, daughter 
of John Field, of Providence, R. I., and Bridge- 
water, Mass., who was a son of John Field, a 
native probably of Thurnscoe, England, who 
came to America and was an inhabitant of 
Providence as early as 1637. Mr. Manley built 
his house on the upper half of his father's 
place. He was the father of six sons and seven 
daughters, the latter being tlie maternal an- 
cestors of many persons in Easion. He died 
leaving considerable property, among which 
was ''a negro boy George," valued at thirty- 
eight pounds. 

(III) Daniel Manley, son of Thomas, moved 
from Easton to what became North Bridge- 
water, Mass., in 1752, and became a well-to-do 
farmer. He married Rebecca Manley, and their 
children were: Daniel, Jr., born in 1752; Na- 
thaniel, horn March 20, 1755, who married 
Betty Ilayward ; and Olive. The mother of 
these children died April 30, 1790, and Daniel 
Manley married (second) Nov. 23, 1790, Sarah 
Monk. To this union there was liorn one 
daughter, Sarah, in 1791; she married (ieorge 
Howard, of West Bridgewater. The father 
died Jan. 18, 180-1, aged eighty-three years. 

(IV) Daniel Manley (2), the eldest son of 
Daniel, was born in 1752, and married in 1782 
Phebe Howard, a native of Bridgewater, daugh- 
ter of Capt. Jonathan and Phebe (Ames) , 
Howard, and a descendant in the fifth genera- 
tion from John Haward (spelling of name 
continued by the family until after 1700 and 
finally became written Howard), who came 
from England, was at Duxbury as early as 
1643 and became an original proprietor and 
settler, 1651, of Bridgewater, locating in what 
is now West Bridgewater ; Mrs. Manley "s line 
of descent is through Maj. Jonathan, Jonathan 
(2) and Capt. Jonathan (3). Daniel Manley 
was a sergeant in Capt. Nathan Packard's com- 
pany. Col. John Jacob's (Light Infantry) reg- 
iment; entered the service Sept. 23, 1779; dis- 
charged Dec. 1 (also given Nov. 26), 1779, 
service two months, eight days (also given two 
months and three days), at Rhode Island. He 
was also a private in Capt. Nathan Packard's 
company, Maj. Eliphalet Carey's regiment, that 
marched July 30, 1780; di,«charged Aug. 9, 



1780; service 11 days; company marched to 
Rhode Island on an alarm. [Mass. Soldiers 
and Sailors of the Revolutionary VVar, Vol. X, 
page 177.] 

To Mr. and Mrs. Manley were born children 
as follows: Daniel, born Sept. 22, 1784, died 
unmarried Jan. 20, 1806; Susaima, born Dec. 
13, 1786, married Martin Hayward ; Sabin,. 
born Feb. 21, 1789, died July 19, 1857. unmar- 
ried; Harriet, iiorn April 23, 1792, died single 
in 1869; Galen, born Dec. 25, 1794, died in 
1876, unmarried, at the age of eighty-tw» 
years; Salmon, twin of Galen, is mentioned be- 
low; Linus, born July 4, 1798, married (first) 
Zilpha Williams, (second) Rachel Drake, and 
(third) Sarah Drake; and Phebe, born May 
26, 1803, died in infancy. The father died 
Oct. 27, 1827, aged seventy-five years, and the 
mother died Dec. 6, 1843, aged eighty-five 
years. 

(V) Salmon Manley, son of Daniel and 
Phebe (Howard) Manley, was born Dec. 25, 
1794, in North Bridgewater (now Brockton), 
in the southwestern ]iart of the town, near 
what is known as Marshall's Corner, on the 
same farm upon whic'li he spent his life en- 
gaged in farnung, and where he died Aug. 15, 
1852, in the fifty-eighth year of his age, from 
injuries received in falling from a scaffold in 
his barn, hurting his spine. Mr. Manley was- 
a very indu.strious man, and in partnership 
with his twin brother, Galen Manley, who re- 
mained a bachelor, was extensively engaged in 
lumber dealing and agricultural pursuits, their 
numerous acres of land being kept in a good 
state of cultivation. Mr. Manley in early life 
allied himself with the old-line Whigs, and 
ujion the fornuition of the Republican part}^ 
joined that organization, but altliough he took 
an active interest in the affairs of his native 
town he never cared for or sought public of- 
fice. Mr. Manley and his wife were regular 
attendants of tlie Pearl Street Methodist Epis- 
copal Church. Salmon Manley and his brother 
Galen both served in the war of 1812, being 
members of a company of infantry under com- 
mand of Capt. Neheiniah Lincoln, detached 
from the 3d Regiment, 1st Brigade, in the 5th 
Division, stationed at Plymouth, under the 
command of Lieut. Col. Caleb Howard, com- 
mandant, Salmon Manley being a private in 
the company and Galen a corporal. 

On June 17, 1829, Salmon Manley was mar- 
ried to Iza Annette Howard, daughter of 
Zephaniah and Jennet (Dunliar-Latham) 
Howard, of West Bridgewater, and a descend- 
ant of (I) John Howard, the immigrant an- 
cestor, through (II) John Howard (2), (TII> 






CWx 




SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



119:^ 



Maj. K(l\vai-il Howard, and (1\") .Janu's How- 
ard, I'atlier of Zepliaiiiah Howard. Mrs. ^laii- 
ley was born July 18, 1801, and survived her 
liusband, iia.<sing away at the okl lioniestead in 
Broektou Mareh 'J, 1885, in the eiglity-lirst 
year of her age. To Mr. and Mrs. Manley 
were born the following children: Daniel, born 
March 4, 1831, married Fannie Spear Wells-, of 
Vermont, and (second) Charlotte Einwicter, 
of Iowa, having removed to the latter State in 
1857 and there extensively engaged in farming, 
and he died there Feb. 2b, 1881, aged tifty 
years; Milo, born Feb. 25, 1834, is mentioned 
below; Henry, born Aug. 31, 1841, served in 
the Civil war as a member of Company K, 3d 
Massachusetts Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, 
and has been assistant city engineer of the city 
of Boston for over forty years (he married 
Susan Elizabeth Marshall and they reside in 
West Roxbury, Mass.) ; Harriet Jane, born 
Feb. 18, 1845, is the widow of Nathan Fi-ancis 
Packard and now resides in Boston; Charles 
Galen, born Aug. 3, 1849, married Alice Alnii- 
ra Marshall, and resided in Boulder, Colo., 
where he passed away. 

(VI) Mild Maxley, son of Salmon and 
Iza Annette (Howard) Manley, was born at 
the old Manley homestead on Liberty street, in 
North Bridgewater (now Brockton), Feb. 25, 
1834. After attending the district schools of 
his neighborhood he supplemented this educa- 
tion by attendance at the Adelphian Academy 
of his native town, after which he spent a term 
as a student at the Thetford Academy in Ver- 
mont. His schooling over, he took up farming, 
at which he continued to be successfully en- 
gaged until 1909, in which year, owing to the 
extension of the city's sewerage beds, which 
took -in the greater part of his land, he was 
obliged to sell his property to the city and re- 
move. This was quite a sacrifice on Mr. Man- 
ley's part, as he had spent all of his active life 
on this place, which had been in the possession 
of the Manley family for over a hundred years. 
His hope had been that he and his wife might 
spend their advanced years on the place where 
their long and happy wedded life, covering a 
period of over fifty years, had been passed, and 
where the trees and shrubbery planted in their 
younger years, and the many other improve- 
ments made during their long residence, had 
all come to have a value enhanced by long as- 
sociation which made the home doubly dear to 
them. However, they gave up this pleasure in 
the interests of progress, and upon the disposal 
of their homestead settled in the city proper. 
At the time of his death, Oct. 28, 1911, Mr. 
Manley was living in retirement after years 



spent in tilling the soil. He had added to his 
land until it comprised about two hundred 
acres, bad greatly improved it, and had erected 
the house in which he made his home for a 
number of years. He was extensively engaged 
in dairying for some years prior to his 
retirement, keeping a number of cows, the pro- 
duct of which was distributed to his patrons in 
Brockton and vicinity. 

Mr. Manley, with his wife, was a regular at- 
tendant of the Unitarian Church, they giving 
liberally of their means to its support. In po- 
litical faith he was a stanch Republican, but 
being of a home-loving nature, quiet and un- 
pretentious in manner, he never aspired to pub- 
lic otfice. He cast his first Presidential vote 
for John C. Fremont in 185G. He was a mem- 
ber of the Bridgewater Agricultural Society, 
of which he served as trustee three years. He 
was also a member of the West Bridgewater 
Grange, No. 156, Patrons of Husbandry, and 
of the State Grange; for a number of years he 
was a member of the Bridgewater Historical 
Society. Mrs. Manley is a charter member of 
Deborah Sampson Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution, being eligible through 
the service of her great-grandfather, Capt. Na- 
than Packard, who was an illustrious patriot 
of the Revolution. 

On Nov. 23, 1856, Mr. Manley was united 
in marriage by the Rev. Paul Couch, with Mary 
Manley Packard, daughter of Nathan and 
Emily (Dunbar) Packard, of North Bridge- 
water, and a direct descendant in -the seventh 
generation of Samuel Packard, who was the 
American progenitor of this now numerous 
family. (A record of the Packard family a])- 
])ears elsewhere in these volumes.) The fiftieth 
wedding anniversary of Mr. and Mrs. Manley 
was celebrated by a dinner given in Boston by 
their children. To Mr. and Mrs. Manley were 
born the following children (all of whom have 
graduated from the Brockton high school) : 
Albert, born July 28, 1857, is mentioned be- 
low ; Ellen, twin of Albert, graduated from the 
Bridgewater State normal school and is en- 
gaged in teaching in the Keith school at Cam- 
])ello; Susan Emily, born Nov. 10, 1859, is 
unmarried; Bertha, born June 23, 1862, un- 
married, graduated from the Bridgewater State 
normal school and taught school for several 
years, now being connected with the H. W. 
Robinson Company's store at Brockton ; Mary 
Emma, born Nov. 16, 1864, died April 6, 
1868; Alice Packard, born Feb. 6, 1869, is the 
wife of Albert G. Smith, who is an engraver 
and watchmaker with Gurney Brothers, Jewel- 
ers, of Brockton, where they reside (they are 



11114 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



the parents of one pon, Eaymond Man- 
ley Smith); Lowell, born April 20,1872, 
married Jennie D. Mann and they re- 
side in West Roxbury, Mass., where he 
is superintendent of the large farm of the late 
Aaron D. Weld (he is a graduate of the Am- 
herst Agricultural College; he and his wife 
have two daughters, Elizabeth Brewer and 
Marian) ; Weston, born March 13, 1876, went 
to commercial college after completing his high 
school course, was for several years associated 
with his father in the conduct of the home farm 
and is now carrying on a large milk station in 
Brockton, where the milk from numerous dai- 
ries in the surrounding communities is col- 
lected, being distributed thence to his various 
customers in the city (he is unmarried). 

(\^II) Albekt Maxlfa', eldest son of Mile 
and Mary M. (Packard) Manley, was born July 
28, 1857, in North Bridgewater, on the old 
homestead farm, and in the district schools of 
his native town began his early educational 
training, which was later supplemented by a 
course at Bryant & Stratton's business college, 
at Boston. Leaving school at the age of about 
nineteen years he devoted his time to the dairy 
connected with the home farm, and he started 
the milk business on his own account in 1888. 
He developed that business most profitably, and 
continued to conduct it successfully until 1900, 
in which year he purchased the Jonas Hartwell 
farm of about one hundred acres in the adjoin- 
ing town of West Bridgewater. He removed 
to this place, to which he has added at various 
times, until he now owns about tliree hundred 
acres of land in Brockton and West Bridge- 
water, and has continued actively and exten- 
sively engaged in farming and dairying, keep- 
ing an average of fifty cows, the product of 
which is distributed among his customers in 
Brockton. Mr. Manley is one of the most en- 
terprising and progressive agriculturists and 
dairymen of Plymouth county, he having fol- 
lowed the latter business for nearly thirty 
years. His farm, situated on an elevation, in 
the nortlnvestern part of the town of West 
Bridgewater, and within view of the old bome- 
fitead in Brockton, is an ideal one, being kept 
in an excellent state of cultivation and up-to- 
date in its appointments. In 1911 Mr. Manley 
was elected a trustee of the People's Savings 
Bank, of Brockton. 

In political faith ilr. Manley is a stanch 
Republican, and since becoming a resident of 
West Bridgewater has taken an active interest 
in the affairs of the town, having served the 
town since 190H as a member of the board of 
selectmen, assessor and over.=eer of the poor. 



and in 1910 was chairman of the board of se- 
lectmen. He affiliates with the Unitarian 
Church, gi Eastondale, to which he gives his 
support. Fraternally he is a prominent and 
active member of the Masonic bodies, holding 
membership in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. 
M., Satucket Chapter, R. A. M. (of which be 
is past high priest ) , Brockton Council, R. & S. 
M. (of which he is past thrice illustrious mas- 
ter), and Bay State Commandery, Knights 
Templar (of whicli he is past eminent comman- 
der) — all of Brockton; he is also a member of 
Aleppo Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. S., of Boston. 
He is unmarried. 

LEONARD FRANKLIN GAMMONS, de- 
ceased, of East Bridgewater, was one of the 
public-spirited citizens of that town, where he 
had long been engaged in business, handling 
stoves, furnaces, piping, crockery, paints, oils, 
etc. He was born in Taunton, Mass., Jan. 15, 
1845, son of Rufus King and Lucinda (Phil- 
lips) Gammons, and died at his home in East 
Bridgewater Aug. 22, 1889. 

The earliest of the Gammons name men- 
tioned by the writers of the pioneers of New 
England were: Philip Gammons, a fisherman, 
at Casco, who married before 1690 Mary, eldest 
daughter of Jolm Parrott, and who in 1734 
was of Portsmouth ; and Robert Gammons, of 
Pemaquid, who took the oath of fidelity in 
1674. 

At Plymouth and in several of the towns of 
the Old Colony have lived several generations 
of the Gammons family, some of whom at least 
descend from (I) William Gammons, who mar- 
ried at Plymouth, in 1736, Hannah Hubbard. 
He was probably the William Gammons, of 
Plymouth, who served in the Canada expedi- 
tion as a member of Capt. Josiah Thatcher's 
company. Col. John Thomas's regiment, the 
troops landing at Halifax, May 11, 1759. 

(II) John Gammons, son of William, born 
April 8, 1745 (0. S.), married Hannah. Their 
children of Middleboro town record were: Wil- 
liam, born Jan. 7. 1777; Ebenezer, Jan. 11, 
1779; Rebecca. Dec. 24, 1780; Jairus. March 
30, 1783; Ephraim and Benjamin, twins, July 
5, 1785; Lvdia, March 22, 1787; and Rhoda, 
July 21, 1789. 

(III) Jairus Gammons (called Deacon), son 
of John and Hannah, born March 30, 1783, in 
Middleboro, IVIass., married Marv. Their chil- 
dren were: Thomas T., born Dec. 29, 1804, 
died in Wevmouth, Mass.; Stephen was born 
May 19, 1806; Mary, born Aiig. 11, 1807, mar- 
ried Elbridge Smith, and died at Middleboro, 
Mass.; Jairus, born Nov. 14, 1808, died at 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1195 



Pawtucket, R. I. ; Rufus King, born Nov. 5 
or 6, 1810, is mentioned below; Ueorge, born 
June 8, 1812, died in the State of Connecticut; 
Azuba was bom Dec. 22, 1813; Newell, born 
Jan. 21, 1815, lived and died in South Middle- 
boro, Mass.; William, born Dec. 12, 1816, died 
at Wareham, Mass.; Lucy, born Aug. 22, 1818, 
married Jacob Chandler; Warren, born Oct. 
27, 1822, died at Madison, Wis.; John, born 
April 18, 1826, died in the far West. 

(IV) Rufus King Gammons, son of Jairus, 
was born in November, 1810, in Middleboro, 
Mass., and died April 17, 1891, in the eighty- 
first year of his age, in Brockton. He was 
«ducated in the district schools of his native 
town, and assisted his parents on the farm for 
a time, after which he went into the iron works 
in Wareham, where he was employed many 
years. Later he went to Bridgewater, and 
worked in Robinson's Iron Works, and from 
there to East Bridgewater, where he worked 
for the K. E. Shelton Company, until his re- 
moval to Brockton. In the latter city he 
worked for W. W. Cross, tack manufacturer, 
at the junction of Pleasant and Prospect 
streets. The last ten years of his life he made 
his home with his daughter, Mrs. Gibbs. In 
politics he was a stanch Democrat. He mar- 
ried Lucinda Phillips, born March 8, 1811, in 
Salisbury, Conn., who died in East Bridge- 
water March 8, 1867. Both Mr. and Mrs. Gam- 
mons are buried in East Bridgewater. Their 
children were: (1) Mary, born Sept. 25, 1831, 
in North Canaan, Conn., married Thomas Ar- 
nold, and had Lucinda, Henry and John, twins, 
Mary and Miriam. (2) Cornelia E., born Jan. 
3, 1838, in Salisbury, Conn., married Ar- 
thur Byrnes, of Plymouth, and had Edward, 
Elizabeth, Arthur, Lavinia, Mary, Fannie and 
Cora. (3) Rufus Monroe, born Aug. 15, 1840, 
in Lee, Mass., married Arvilla Hackett, and 
had Elizabeth, Henry and Mabel ; they reside 
in Brockton. (4) Henry, born Dec. 15, 1842, 
in Lee, Mass., died in Kansas City, Mo., May 
11, 1904; he married Claris.sa Lapham, and 
had Elmer and Hattie. (5) Leonard Franklin, 
born Jan. 15, 1845, is mentioned below. (6) 
Frances, born May 18, 1848, in Wareham, 
Mass., married Andrew C. Gibbs, of Brockton, 
where they reside. They have one daughter, 
Mabel, who married Everett M. Fisher, of 
Brockton, and has Earl C, Howard M., 
Eoger G., E. Ellsworth, Mabel F. and Ger- 
trude E. 

(V) Leonard Franklin Gammons, son of 
Rufus King and Lucinda (Phillips) Gammons, 
was born Jan. 15, 1845, in Taunton, and at- 
tended the district schools of his native town. 



At the age of sixteen he went to the front for 
service in the Civil war as a member of Com- 
pany D, 38th Mass. Vol. Inf., and was 
honorably discharged June 30, 1865, as ser- 
geant of his company. On his return from the 
war Mr. Gammons learned plumbing and tin- 
smithing with Willard Johnson in East Bridge- 
water. He later bought out Mr. Johnson and 
carried on the business alone for a number of 
years, when he took Frederick C. Nutter into 
partnership, under the firm name of Gammons 
& Nutter, handling stoves, furnaces, piping, 
crockery, paints, oils, and many other articles. 
This partnership lasted for about four years, 
when Mr. Gammons bought out Mr. Nutter, 
and carried the business on under his own 
name until his death, which occurred Aug. 22, 
1889. About 1900 Mrs. Gammons sold the 
business, and it is now conducted by G. M. 
Webber at the old location. Mr. Gammons 
was very successful in his work, and was known 
to his associates in the business world as a 
square-dealing man, one who met his obliga- 
tions faithfully and promptly. He was public- 
spirited in his endeavors to look after the best 
interests of his town, and was a liberal con- 
tributor to all public charities. He will long 
be remembered for his kind heart and genial 
manners. 

Mr. Gammons was a member of Justin 
Dimick Post, No. 124, G. A. R., of East 
Bridgewater. He was also a Mason, holding 
membership in Fellowship Lodge, A. P. & 
A. M., of Bridgewater. In his younger days 
he attended the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
but toward the latter part of his life he at- 
tended the Unitarian Church of East Bridge- 
water. 

;Mr. Gammons married Jan. 15, 1871, Mary 
E. Chandler, daughter of Joseph and Caroline 
Matilda (Peterson) Chandler. Mrs. Gam- 
mons has remarkable executive ability and is 
a capable business woman. She spends her 
winters in Florida, and her summers at Onset, 
Mass., where she has a cottage facing the bay. 
About four months of the year she is found at 
her home in East Bridgewater. 



Chandler. The Chandler family to which 
Mrs. Gammons belongs is descended from 

(I) Edmund Chandler, of PljTUOuth, a free- 
man in 1633. He resided at Duxbury in 1636- 
37 ; was constable, and appraiser of the estate 
of William Thomas. He sold land in 1634 to 
John Rogers, and also to Isaac Robinson. In 
1636 he had land granted to him — "fortv acres 
of land lying on the ea.st side of Moyses S^Tnon- 
son, where Morris formerly began to cleave 



1196 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



for Mr. Bowman." He was of Scituate in 
1650, but died in 1662 at Duxbury. In his 
will, dated May 3, probated June 4, 1663, "be- 
ing old," he bequeaths to children Samuel, 
Benjamin, Joseph, Sarah Ann, Mary and Ruth. 

(II) Joseph Cliaiuller, son of Edmund, per- 
haps of Sandwich 1661, of Duxbury, however, 
in 1684, had John, Joseph and perhaps Ed- 
mund (of Duxbury, 1710) and Benjamin 
(1684, who died March 26, 1771, aged seventy- 
seven). 

(III) Joseph Chandler (2), son of Joseph, 
married Feb. 12. 1701, Martha Hunt. Their 
children were: Philip, born July 21, 1702; 
Mary, Aug. 3, 1704; Joshua, July 7, 1706; 
Zachariah, July 26, 1708; Edmund, April 9, 
1710; Ebenezer, Sept. 8, 1712; Sarah, Oct. 25, 
1714; Martha, Nov. 23, 1716; Jonathan, Feb. 
18, 1718; and Judah. Aug. 13, 1720. 

(IV) Philip Chandler, son of Joseph (2), 
born July 21, 1702, married Dec. 16, 1725, 
Rebecca Phillips, who died in January, 1782, 
aged seventy-eight years. He died Nov. 15, 
1764, aged sixty-two years. Their children 
were: Nathan, born Oct. 28, 1726 ; Betty, Oct. 
21, 1728; Perea, July 10, 1730; Esther and 
Martha (twins). May 31, 1732; Peleg, April 
27, 1735; Philip, Oct. 24, 1738; Asa, March 
1, 1743; Marv, Sept. 25, 1744; and Elijah, 
Jan. 4, 1747. ' 

(V) Nathan Chandler, son of Philip, born 
Oct. 28, 1726, was twice married. His first 
wife, Ruth, died Aug. 26, 1767, aged fortj-two, 
and he married (second) Feb. 20, 1770, Esther 
Glass. His children were: Ephraim, Lucy, 
Celah, Hannah, Ruth, Deborah (all born to the 
first marriage), Joseph and Ira. 

(VI) Ira Chandler, of Duxbury, son of 
Philip, had four wives, one of whom was a 
Phillips, and had a son Joseph, perhaps others. 

(VII) Joseph Chandler, son of Ira, married 
Eliza, born in 1705, daughter of Peleg and 
Hannah (Hosea) Churchill, he a direct de- 
scendant of John Churcliill, the immigrant 
ancestor of the Plymouth branch of the 
('hurchill family, who appeared in Plymouth 
in 1643, settling in Hobb's Hole, and died 
there Jan. 1, 1662-63, from whom his lineage 
is through Eleazer Churchill and his wife 
Hannah (Barrett), Stejihen Churchill and his 
wife Experience (Ellis), Stephen Churchill 
(2) and his wife Hannah (Barnes) and 
Stephen Churchill (3) and his wife Lucy 
(Burbnnk), Stephen being lieutenant in com- 
mand of the Plymouth company at the Lexing- 
ton alarm, later lieutenant and captain in other 
organizations during the Revolution up to al- 
most its close. To Joseph and Eliza (Church- 



ill) Chandler were born: James, born in Dux- 
bury, who married Mary Patterson ; Peleg, born 
in Duxbury. who married Lydia ; Joseph ; Al- 
bert, born in Duxbury, who married Adeline 
Harlow, of Plymouth, Mass. ; and Ezra, who 
married Udora Wood, of Plymouth. 

(VIII) Joseph Chandler, son of Joseph, was 
born July 6, 1828, in Duxbury, and died Dec. 
3, 1859, in the same town. He attended the 
district schools and then began the express 
and teaming business in his home town, car- 
rying on this work for a number of years, after 
which he went to Boston and went into the 
fresh, smoked, pickled and dried fish business, 
the firm being known as Joseph Chandler & 
Co., Dorchester avenue. South Boston. Here 
he remained for six years, when his health 
failed and he returned to Duxbury, opening a 
grocery store and also doing some business in 
grain. This engrossed his attention until his 
death. He was a member of the Unitarian 
Church of Duxbury, and was a liberal con- 
tributor to church work. He was a lover of 
music and possessed considerable musical talent. 
He was widely known and had many friends. 

Mr. Chandler married Caroline Matilda 
Peterson, born in 1832, daughter of Thomas 
and ilary Wakefield (Sampson) Peterson, of 
Duxbury, and they had two children : Clar- 
ence Austin, born Oct. 27, 1852, who mar- 
ried Alice May Mitchell, daughter of Thomas 
Mitchell, of East Bridgewater, and has three 
children, Joseph 'M.. George A. and Caroline 
N. ; and Mary E., who married Leonard Frank- 
lin (Tammons. of East Bridgewater. After the 
death of Mr. Chandler Mrs. Chandler mar- 
ried for her second husband, June 21, 1866, 
Francis Marion Kingman, of East Bridgewater. 

WILLIAM JAMES HATHAWAY, late of 
Fall River, was born there June 3, ]838, and 
passed his entire life in that place. As a 
business man he was identified with the dry 
goods trade throughout his active career, and 
he was also widely known in his connection 
with local musical interests. A kind friend 
and an entertaining companion, he held the 
esteem of a wide circle of friends and acquaint- 
ances, to whom he had endeared himself 
through long and agreeable association. 

Mr. Hathaway was a descendant of a very 
old family of Massachusetts, one that has been 
•settled in Bristol county from Colonial days. 
We give a brief account of the generations which 
preceded him from the first of this line in 
America. 

(I) Nicholas Hathaway was one among a 
company of men migrating from some of the 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1197 



older towns who went to reside witliiii tlie 
borders of Taunton, and were desijinated as 
"first settlers,'' a term whieli has adhered and 
served to distinguish them from the first pur- 
chasers. Mr. Hathaway had sojourned for a 
time in Boston and purchased lands in that 
vicinity before going to Taunton ; land was 
granted to him at Mount Woollystoue in Feb- 
ruary, 1639, he being then designated of Mona- 
ticott. It seems that in that year, or 1640, 
he went to Taunton, where he became an ex- 
tensive land owner. He had a son John, and 
probably Joseph and Jacob Hathaway, of 
Taunton, w-ere also his sons. 

(II) John Hathaway, born in 16"..'i), was at 
Taunton with his father and the time of their 
going there is determined by a deposition in 
which John makes the declaration that his 
knowledge of the boundaries and occupation of 
certain portions of the town e.xtended as far 
hack as 1639 and 1640. His name appears 
with those who in 1657 had taken the oath of 
fidelity. In 16.i8 he purchased with two as- 
sociates four hundred acres of '"meadow and 
upland" in that part of Taunton which after- 
ward became incorporated as the tow-n of Berk- 
ley. In 1659, when a division of land was 
made, John Hathaway was recorded as having 
seven heads in his family and received a share 
in ])roportion to that number. He was made 
a freeman in 1670. In 1671 he purchased the 
eighteenth lot of the Freetown lands and there- 
upon established his eldest son, John Hathaway, 
Jr. In 1676 he was chosen constable, then 
an office of great responsibility and power. He 
was elected deputy in 1680 and served five 
successive vears ; and in 1681 he was chosen 
one of the selectmen of the town. He was again 
constable in 1690, when engaged in reorganiz- 
ing the military companies, in one of which 
he served as ensign. He was again elected 
deputy to the General Court at Plymouth in 
1691. In 1695 a company of well-known citi- 
zens, with John Hathaway, Sr., of the number, 
set up a bloomery or forge on Stony brook, 
which was afterward known as the Leonard 
Iron Works of Norton. He was a represent- 
ative to the Massachusetts General Court in 
1696 and 1697. ]Mr. Hathaway was twice mar- 
ried; the Christian name of his first wife, 
the mother of his children, was Martha, and 
that of the second Ruth. Both he and his wife 
Ruth died in 1705, she in September of that 
year. His home was in that part of Berkley 
known as "The Farms." Mr. Hathaway's chil- 
dren were: John, born in 1650; Abraham, 
bom in 1652; Isaac, born in 1655; Ephraim, 
born in 1661 : Abigail : and Rebecca. Of these, 



.Vhraham married Rebecca Wilhore and settled 
m Berkley, and died in 17'.i5. Isaac married 
Mary Pitts, settled in Berkley, and died in 
1722. Ejihraim married and settled in Digh- 
ton. and died in 1718. Rebecca married Jared 
Talbot, theirs being the first marriage recorded 
in the town of Dighton. 

(III) Isaac Hathaw'ay, son of Joiin, born in 
1655, died in 1722. He'settled in Berkley. On 
March 17, 1686-87, he married Mary Pitts, 
daughter of Peter Pitts, who married Mrs. 
Mary (Andrews) Hodges, a widow, daughter 
of Henry and Mary Andrews, of Taunton. 

(IV) Isaac Hathaway (2), son of Isaac and 
Mary (Pitts) Hathaway, married Damaris Bab- 
bitt, of Taunton. 

(V) Abijah Hathaway, son of Isaac (2) and 
Damaris (Babbitt) Hathaway, married Sarah 
Talbot. 

(VI) Benanuel Hathaway, son of Abijah and 
Sarah (Talbot) Hathaway, married Rebecca 
Hathaway. 

(VII) James Davis Hathaway, son of Ben- 
anuel and Rebecca (Hathaway) Hathaway, 
born Jan. 27, 1809, in the town of Berkley, 
.Mass., married (intentions expressed Nov. 3, 
1836) Jemima Waldron, daughter of William 
Throop and Jemima (Oxx) Waldron, and 
their only child, William James, was born June 
3, 1838. Deacon James D. Hathaway, for he 
was a deacon in the First Congregational 
Church, and a very exemplary man and good 
citizen, a consistent Christian, esteemed and 
respected by those who knew him, was a pros- 
perous mechanic and business man, a carpenter 
by trade, of Fall River, where his death oc- 
curred June 6, 1873, when he was aged sixty- 
four years, five months, nine days. 

(VIII) William James Hathaway, son of 
Deacon Jam,es D. and Jemima (Waldron) 
Hathaway, attended the public schools of his 
native city and was graduated from the Fall 
River high school with the class of 1854. He 
began his business career as a clerk in the 
store of William Mason, a merchant of the city. 
Subsequently, associated with Samuel Allen, 
he engaged in the dry goods -business, their 
location being in the south end of the Granite 
block. Still later on he had for a partner Mr. 
George L. Peckham, who was subsequently a 
member of the E. S. Brown Company. In time 
he disposed of his interest to Mr. Peckham and 
retired from active business. 

Mr. Hathaway was musically inclined and 
had developed a talent he possessed for instru- 
mental music, becoming quite proficient and 
of great service to his church and society. He 
was for years organist and choir director of 



1108 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSAflTUSETTS 



St. Paul's Church, of wliich he was a charter 
member. He coutinued his membership with 
St. Paul's about twenty years, until, in 18y2, 
he united with the First Congregational 
Church. He was a very thoughtful, considerate 
man, and while at times serious as to this life 
and the life to come he was of a jovial nature 
and disposition, often given to humorous speech. 
He was not of robust health, and had quiet 
tastes, reading much, especially in musical 
lines, in which his interest led him. His death 
occurred Dec. 3, 1902. 

On Nov. 30, 1863, Mr. Hathaway married 
Ellen Amelia Smith, born Aug. 16, 1841, 
daughter of Iram and Betsey Lawton (Doug- 
lass) Smith. One daughter, Louise Lawton, 
was born to them. 

JULIUS C. GILBERT, wlio served as a 
member of the board of water commissioners 
of Whitman, Mass., for a period of twenty- 
seven years, and as superintendent of the wa- 
terworks for a period of sixteen years, is one 
of the best known citizens of that town, with 
whose growth and progress he has for many 
years been identified. Mr. Gilbert is a native 
of the State of Maine, born in the town of 
Greene, Androscoggin county. April 17. 1836, 
son of Lewis and Eunice (Alden) Gilbert, both 
of whom passed away in the town of Greene. 

The boyhood days of Julius C. Gilbert were 
spent on the home farm, and in attendance 
at the district schools and at the Bethel Hill 
Academy. At the age of eighteen years he 
started out in life for himself, doing farm 
work, and so continued until 1858. in which 
year he went to South Weymouth, Mass., 
where he found employment in a shoe factory, 
and where he remained for about one year, at 
the end of that time returning home. He was 
given a farm by his father, near the homestead, 
but as a farming life was not to his liking he 
soon gave it up. In 1861 he cnme to the town 
of South Abington (now Whitman). Mass., and 
there found emplo\Tnent in a shoe factorv. con- 
tinuing at that occupation for a period of 
about three years, when he established himself 
in the grocery business, which he conducted 
successfully for a period of about five years. 
At the end of that time he sold out his 
grocery, and for several years was engaged in 
manufacturing s^oes in connection with Davis 
Gumey & Co. Later Mr. Gilbert established 
a sporting goods store in Whitman, which he 
successfully conducted for a period of twenty- 
five years, disposing of the same in 1009; he 
carried a full line of firearms and bicycles, and 
a general line of sporting and athletic goods. 



Mr. Gilbert was chosen one of the committee 
— which consisted of D. A. Gurney, Marcus 
S. Reed, Benjamin S. Atwood, A. A. Healy 
and himself — to supply South Abington with 
water. He was appointed clerk of this com- 
mittee, and when the work was undertaken 
became superintendent of construction of the 
system, the total cost of which amounted to 
$178,62-5. During this time he was elected 
one of the board of water commissioners for 
a term of three years, and was reelected at each 
succeeding election for nine consecutive terms, 
making a total service as water commissioner 
of twenty-seven years. Mr. Gilbert was also- 
clerk of the board during this period, con- 
tinuing as such until 1910. He was appointed 
the first superintendent of the waterworks, and 
served in that capacity for a period of sixteen 
years, during which time he had full charge 
of the system and its various departments. Mr. 
Gilbert gave all his time and experience to this 
work, and faithfully performed all his duties 
with credit to himself and to the satisfaction 
of the public. 

Mr. Gilbert was one of the founders and 
charter members of the Whitman Cooperative 
Bank, of which he has been president 
for several years, and which is one of 
the most prosperous cooperative banks in 
the State. He has also been quite active 
in town affairs, having been a member 
of the street lighting committee for twenty 
years; a member of the school committee for 
two years ; aiid one of the founders of the Board 
of Trade, of which he is still a member. Mr. 
Gilbert is a stanch Republican, and always 
votes that ticket, his first presidential vote hav- 
ing been cast for John C. Fremont, in 1856, 
since which time he has voted at every presi- 
dential election, in 1910 casting his vote for 
William H. Taft. He takes a deep interest 
in the growth and progress of his adopted town, 
and in 1900 organized the Town Officers' As- 
sociation of Whitman, being elected its first 
president. He is public-spirited, warm-hearted, 
progressive and cenial, and is popular with all 
classes. Fraternallv he is a member of Puritan 
Lodge. A. F. & A. M., of Whitman. 

Since early in the organization of the First 
Unitarian Church, in 1884. Mr. Gilbert has 
taken a very active part in that body, and has 
been chairman of the board of trustees of the 
church society ever since. 

Mr. Gilbert married Deborah C. Vinal, wha 
was born in the town of Hanson, Mass., 
daugliter of Gushing and Deborah (Thomas) 
Vinal. Mrs. Gilbert passed away Dec. 21, 1891, 
at the age of fifty years, leaving no children.. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1199 



Mrs. Gilbert was a devoted wife, and was al- 
ways interested in her husband's work, aiiling 
him by her counsel and hearty cooperation. 

DEAKE. Thomas Drake, the emigrant 
American ancestor of Albert Bailey Drake, con- 
cerning whom and his ancestry this article has 
to deal, was born in Colyton, Devonshire, Eng- 
land, Sept. 13, 1635. He was the youngest 
son of William Drake, Esq., of Yardbury in 
Colyton, who was buried in Temple Church, 
London, and whose will, dated Nov. 2, 1G3G, 
and probated Feb. 29, 1639-10, is still in exist- 
ence. His mother was Margaret, daughter and 
heiress of William Westover of Colyton. She 
was married to William Drake Nov. 14, 1620, 
and was buried at Colyton, April 16, 1653 ( ?). 

(I) Thomas Drake, his father and mother 
both being dead, followed his relative, John 
Drake of Taunton, Mass., and Windsor, Conn., 
to America about 1653-54. He was accom- 
panied by his sisters Joane, who married 
Thomas Randall, son of Robert Randall, of 
Weymouth, and Elizabeth, who married Ezekiel 
Hamlin, of Boston, Aug. 8, 1654. Thomas 
Drake soon settled in Weymouth, Mass., his 
name first appearing on the records of that 
town in a list of property owners in 1663. The 
frequency with which his name appears on the 
land deeds and war records of the times shows 
that Thomas Drake took an active part in the 
affairs of the town. He took an active part 
in King Philip's war. and June 24. 1676. was a 
member of the garrison at Punckapouge. where 
he saw at least two months' service. He died 
in We\Tnonth in 1691. He was twice mar- 
ried, first to Jane, daughter of Thomas and 
Jane Holbrook, of Weymouth, and (second) 
March 9, 1691. to Widow Millicent Carver, 
daughter of William Ford. His children were: 
Thomas, born about 1657 ; John, born March 
12, 1659 : William, born Mav 30, 1661 : Joseph, 
born Oct. 28, 1663; Amy, born Feb. 3, 1666; 
Elizabeth, born in Weymouth in 1670 ; Ben- 
jamin, born in Weymouth Jan. 15, 1677; and 
Experience, born in Weymouth in 1683. 

(II) Benjamin Drake, son of Thomas and 
Jane (Holbrook) Drake, was born Jan. 15, 
1677, at Weymouth, where he was alive as 
late as Aug. 1, 1759. He married in Wey- 
mouth Sarah Pool, bom about 1678, died in 
Easton Dec. 24, 1775, daughter of Samuel, 
of Weymouth. On June 6. 1 700, he bought in 
Taunton North Purchase fifty acres of land 
and dwellin?-houso on what is now the Cynthia 
Drake road or Church street. On June 9, 
1719, he bought one half of one hundred acres 
of land in Middleboro called "Twelve Men's 



runiiase,"' and on Dec. 19th of that same year 
he bought a large estate of his brother Thomas. 
At tiie first town meeting held in Easton, 
Marcii 2, 1725-26, he was elected first select- 
man, reelected in 1728, 1731, 1733-36, 1738, 
1743, 1746. In 1731 he held the office of 
town treasurer. His children were : Benjamin, 
born Dec. 1, 1700; Sarah, Oct. 20, 1703; 
Joseph, April 1, 1706; Thomas, March, 1709; 
John, Dec. 13, 1711; William, January, 1715; 
Richard, March, 1717; Elizabeth, Dec. 21, 
1719; and Robert, November, 1723. 

(III) Robert I3rake, son of Benjamin and 
Sarah (Pool) Drake, born in November, 1723, 
died Feb. 2, 1797. He married (first) April 
15, 1746. Mary Fobes, born June 2, 1726, 
died April 12, 1774, daughter of Benjamin 
and Martha (Hunt) Fobes. He married (sec- 
ond) Nov. 13, 1781, widow Susannah (Chub- 
buck) Thorn, of Wareham, born in 1746, who 
died Oct. 9, 1838, aged eighty-two. He resided 
in Easton. He was a member of the first 
militia company of Easton, April 7, 1757. In 
the Revolutionary war he served as corporal 
in Rhode Island, in Captain Randall's com- 
pany. Col. George W'illiams's regiment, twenty- 
four days from Dec. 7, 1776, and from Jan. 
7, 1778, to April 1, 1778, he was in the same 
service in the same company under command 
of Col. John Daggett. His children were four- 
teen in number, eight by the first marriage 
and six bv the second. They were: Martha, 
born Feb. 22, 1747 ; Mary, June 18, 1749 ; Rob- 
ert. April 27, 1752; Susanna, Sept. 15, 1754; 
Noah, Jan. 23, 1757; Lot, April 30, 1761; 
Sylvia, June 30, 1771; Bethuel. Sept. 5, 1773; 
Willard, Aug. 18, 1783; Sally; Jonathan. De- 
cember. 1787: Ambro.se. Oct." 8, 1788; Linus, 
September, 1791 ; and Charles Chauncey. 

(IV) Jonathan Drake, son of Robert and 
Susannah (Chubbuck) Drake, born in De- 
cember, 1787, died June 23, 1867. He mar- 
ried Dec. 25, 1814, Hannah Pratt, born Oct. 
27, 1789, died Jan. 18, 1883, aged ninety-three, 
daughter of Enoch and Salome (Packard) 
Pratt. Jonathan enlisted Aug. 10, 1814, from 
Easton, in Capt. Noah Reed's company of Bris- 
tol county, 4th Regiment, 2d Brigade, 5th 
Division, under Lieut. Col. Benjamin Lincoln, 
and served at New Bedford in the coast guard 
service. He and his wife are buried in Seth 
Pratt's cemetery, Easton, Mass. Their children 
were: Hannah, born Feb. 18, 1816: Susan- 
nah. Sept. 11, 1818: Salome. Julv 17. 1819; 
Sallv. Jan. 16. 1821; Abigail, Sept. 29. 1832; 
Marv, May 30, 1824; Elizabeth Fuller, Oct. 
15. 1825:' Jonathan Edwards, Julv 7, 1829; 
Linus Willard, May 10, 1831 ; William Ervin, 



1200 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



June 25, 1833; and Phebe H., Sept. 11, 1836. 

(V) Jonathan Edwards Drake, son of 
Jonathan and Hannah (Pratt) Drake, born 
July 7, 1829, in Easton, died Oct. 15, 1878, 
in Xew Bedford. He learned the trade of iron 
molder at Chelmsford, Mass., and followed that 
occupation in Springfield, Lowell and Easton, 
Mass. He was in the woolen business in Mans- 
field, Mass., from about 1856 to 1866, running 
a small factory. Later he worked at his trade 
in Bridgewater (Keith's Station), Mass., and 
at New Bedford, coming to New Bedford in 
1868. Mr. Drake married May 16, 1853, in 
Lowell, Mary Eliza Bailey, born in Peterboro, 
N. H., Sept". 26, 1826, died in New Bedford, 
July 24, 1902, daughter of Joshua Bailey, of 
Peterboro, N. H., and his wife Mary (Spring) 
Bailey, the latter a daughter of Silas Spring, 
a prominent man at Peterboro. Children as 
follows were born to them : Lewis Edwards, 
bom April 8, 1854, in Easton; Frederick 
Taylor, born Sept. 11, 1855, who died Oct. 17, 
1855, in Easton ; Harriet Ware, born Jan. 24, 
1857, in Mansfield, who died May 3, 1870, 
in New Bedford ; Albert Bailey, born Feb. 24, 
1859, in Mansfield; Flora Pratt, born Jan. 3, 
1863, in Mansfield; Charles Erving, born Dec. 
30, 1864, in Mansfield. 

(VI) Albert Batley Drake, civil engineer, 
son of Jonathan E. and Mary E. (Bailey) 
Drake, was born Feb. 24, 1859, in Mansfield, 
Bristol county, where he attended the public 
schools. In May, 1868, he came with his 
parents to New Bedford and finished his edu- 
cation in the high school of that city. In 
May, 1874, he entered the office of the New 
Bedford (then the Acushnet) waterworks, as 
a clerk and draftsman, and also acted as assist- 
ant to the city land surveyor, George B. 
Wheeler. He remained there until January, 
1881, when he entered the employ of the At- 
lantic & Pacific (now a part of the Santa Fe) 
Eailroad Company on the line between Al- 
buquerque. N. Mex., and "The Needles'' at 
the Colorado river in Arizona. He was transit- 
man in the location of the road across Arizona, 
division engineer in charge of construction, and 
for six months assistant in charge of the field 
engineering work on the entire length of the 
road, a distance of 560 hiiles. Peturning to 
New Bedford in May, 1884, he was elected city 
land surveyor, and held that oflice until May, 
1893. He was also superintendent of the board 
of public works from the formation of the 
board in 1889 until 1895. and at the same time 
served as citv forester and superintendent of 
parks. Mr. Drake has successfully practiced 
ins profession of civil engineer in New Bed- 



ford since May, 1884. He was one of the seven 
charter members of the Massachusetts Highway 
Association. He is an active mem4)er of the 
American Society of Civil Engineers, a mem- 
ber of the Boston Society of Civil Engineers, 
and the New England Water Works Associa- 
tion. Fraternallv he belongs to Acushnet 
Lodge, I. 0. 0. F"., which he joined in 1885. 

On Oct. 19, 1887, Mr. Drake married Min- 
nie Elizabeth, daughter of John and Mary 
(Neely) McAfee, of New Bedford (both now 
deceased), and they have one son, Edward, 
born Sept. 8, 1888, a member of the class of 
1910, Harvard University. 

PECK (Attleboro family). The Peck name 
is of great antiquity. The family is found 
seated in Belton, Yorkshire, England, at a very 
early date. A branch settled at Hesden and 
Wakefield in Yorkshire, some of their de- 
scendants removing to Beccles, in the County of 
Suffolk ; they were the ancestors of Joseph 
Peck, of Hingham, County of Norfolk, who be- 
came the emigrant ancestor to New England — 
tlxe p^-ogenitor of the Massachusetts Peckis 
through his six sons, all of whom married and 
had families, giving a numerous progeny. 

The family, however, especially to be re- 
ferred to in this article is that of an Attle- 
boro branch of the Massachusetts Pecks, the 
head of same being the late Capron Peck, a life- 
long resident of the town, farmer and manufac- 
turer, substantial man and most useful citizen, 
often honored with positions of trust and re- 
sponsibilitv by his fellow citizens; one or more 
of his daughters still keep alive the family 
name in the Attleboro community, where have 
dwelt their forefathers for two hundred and 
more years. These daughters, the Misses Sa- 
hra and Lydia Daggett Peck, are descendants 
in the eighth generation from Joseph Peck, the 
American settler, who was descended in the 
twenty-first generation from John Peck, of 
Belton, Yorkshire, England. These eight gen- 
erations in chronological order and somewhat 
in detail follow. 

( I ) Joseph Peck, son of Robert, of Hingham, 
County of Norfolk, England, with his wife, 
three sons, one daughter, two menservants and 
three maidservants, came to New England in 
1638, in the ship "Diligent" of Ipswich. He 
settled at Hingham, Mass., removing seven years 
later to Seekonk. Mr. Peck was a leading man 
at Hingham. He was deputy to the General 
Court in 1639, 1640, 1641 and 1642. He was 
also one of the selectmen, justice of the peace, 
assessor, etc. In 1641 he was one of the prin- 
cipal purchasers of the tract of land afterward 





"--^^^z^^^ 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



1201 



incorporated as the town of Behoboth, Mass. 
After his removal to Seekonk liis name con- 
liiuially appears upon the reeords of the town, 
jii the management of its atfairs until his age 
precluded him from such tluties. His death 
occurred Dec. 23, 1663, when he was in the 
seventy-first year of his age. Mr. Peck was 
twice married, his first wife being Rebecca 
Clark, to whom he was married in 1617 in 
Hingham, England. His children were : Anna, 
Eebecca, Joseph, John, Nicholas, Samuel, Na- 
thaniel and Israel. 

(II) Nicholas Peck, son of Joseph, born in 
England, and baptized there April 9, 1630, 
came to this country with his father in 1638. 
He removed with the family from Hingham, 
Mass., to Seekonk in 1645. He married (first) 
Mary Winchester, eldest daughter of Alexander 
Winchester, and after his marriage settled in 
the southeastern part of Seekonk, Mass., where 
lie lived and died. He took an active part in pub- 
lic affairs, was frequently assessor and select- 
man. He was chosen deputy to the General 
Court at Plymouth in 1669. He was also 
•elected deputy for each successive year from 
1677 to 1690, excepting in the years 1687 and 
1688, when the town elected no deputies. He 
was respectively ensign, lieutenant and captain. 
He died May 27, 1710. His wife Mary died 
Nov. 6, 1657. His second wife, whose Chris- 
tian name was Rebecca, died Nov. 2, 1704. 
His children, perhaps all excepting the eldest 
born to the second marriage, were : Joseph, 
John, Hezekiah, Mary, Jonathan, Nicholas and 
Elisha. 

(III) Hezekiah Peck, son of Nicholas, born 
April 1, 1662, married Deborah Cooper. He 
at first settled near his father. He sold lands 
there in July, 1705, and thereafter lived for a 
time in Swansea, and then removed to Attle- 
boro, Mass., and settled where his son, his 
grandson, his great-grandson and his great- 
great-grandson have since lived and died. Forty 
years ago the farm was owned by the late 
Capron Peck, who sustained the kinship last 
ipentioned ; and a part of it is still in the pos- 
session of his children, two of whom are still 
living in Attleboro. Thus the farm has been 
in the family for two hundred years and more. 
Its location is perhaps half a mile northwest 
from the railroad station. Hezekiah Peck died 
Aug. 9, 1723, and Mrs. Peck March 5, 1730, 
and they were buried near his residence, the 
place afterward becoming the family burial 
ground. Their children were: Deborah, Ju- 
dith, Hannali, Hezekiah, Rachel, John, Petron- 
ella and Parthenia. 

(IV) Hezekiah Peck (2), son of Hezekiah, 

76 



born Feb. 22, 1695 (or 1696), settled upon the 
homestead, where he lived, and where he died 
in 1753. He married Elizabeth Carder, and 
their children were: Mary, Mary (2), Heze- 
kiah, Jonathan, Elizabeth, Jonathan (2), Jo- 
seph, Hannah, Nicholas and Nicholas (2). 

(V) Hezekiah Peck (3), son of Hezekiah 
(2), born May 7, 1732, married Ann Skinner, 
daughter of Thomas Skinner, of Mansfield, 
Mass. Mr. Peck remained on the homestead, 
where he lived and died, his death occurring 
Oct. 14, 1775. His wife died June 14, 1822, 
in her eighty-ninth year. Their children were : 
Hezekiah, born May 22, 1755; Henry, Dec. 10, 
1756; Anna, Dec. 7, 1761; Jonathan, July 29, 
1769. 

(VI) Jonathan Peck, son of Hezekiah (3), 
born July 29, 1769, married Sabra Capron, 
daughter of Joseph Capron. Mr. Peck re- 
mained on the homestead of his ancestors, 
where he lived and died, highly respected, pass- 
ing away Feb. 9, 1850. Mrs. Peck died Nov. 
2, 1853. Their children were: Capron, born 
Feb. 4, 1797; Willard, Feb. 19, 1801 (died 
young) ; Hezekiah, July 11, 1807 (died 
young) ; and Lattimer, Dec. 4, 1815 (also died 
young). 

(VII) Capron Peck, son of Jonathan, born 
Feb. 4, 1797, married June 21, 1824, Lydia, 
daugliter of Hon. Ebenezer Daggett, of Attle- 
boro, Mass., a member of one of the old and 
prominent families of the town. Tlie children 
of Mr. and Mrs. Capron Peck were : Sabra, 
born April 4, 1825 ;• Sally Maxcy, born Oct. 
12, 1826; Joseph Capron, born April 12, 1828, 
who died April 3, 1829 ; Jonathan Maxcy, born 
Nov. 25, 1820; Lvdia Daggett, born Feb. 2, 
1833, who died Feb. 23, 1834 ; a son born Feb. 
17, 1834, who died the same day; Ebenezer 
Daggett, born Mav 22, 1835, who died Dec. 
26, 1841 ; John McClellan, born May 28, 1837, 
who died Aug. 14, 1838; John Daggett, born 
July 12. 1838, who died Sept. 2, 1839; George 
Capron, born Oct. 21, 1840, who died Feb. 21, 
1841 ; Mary Isadora, born April 15, 1842, who 
died Mav 10, 1852; and Lydia Daggett (2), 
born Feb. 3, 1844. It will be noted that of the 
large family of children only four lived to 
maturity. Capron Peck and his most excel- 
lent wife celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of 
their wedding in June, 1874. 

Capron Peck was a farmer, and for a period 
was identified with the industry of cotton man- 
ufacturing at Attleboro Falls. He lived his 
long, useful life in Attleboro, much of it being 
pas.sed in the old Peck home referred to in the 
foregoing, where had lived his ancestors for 
generations. At one time he occupied the 



120i 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



house in which in after years lived H. N. Dag- 
gett. Later, in 185-1, he bought the property 
on the corner of North Main and Sanford 
streets, Attleboro, in which he resided until 
called to his reward. He was active and prom- 
inent in the work of the church and parish, 
and as well in all things which affected the wel- 
fare of the people of the community and the 
best interests of the town. He held various 
local ofhces. The life of his wife, too, was one 
full of good works and deeds of alms as well as 
one full of years. In the strongest sense of 
the word a good woman, such a Christian life 
as was hers is a blessing to the community in 
which it is lived. "Sweet, gentle, motherly, 
all who knew her loved her, young and old. 
Unselfish and loving in her nature, she was 
forgetful of herself and mindful of others. 
She did her duty quietly, she bore her every 
sorrow silently ; when these were all done and 
the last blow of bereavement decreed had fallen 
upon her aged head, one by one the loosened 
cords binding her to earth gave way, and soon 
with her gentle calmness she passca on to the 
other world." Capron Peck died in September, 
1874, at his home in Attleboro, Mass., aged 
seventy-seven years, seven months, three days. 
His wife passed away there Feb. 2, 1882, aged 
seventy-nine years, three months, sixteen days, 
and both were buried in the old Kirk cemetery. 

(VIII) Jox.iTiiAN M.\xcY Pfa'K, the only 
son of Capron and Lydia (Daggett) Peck who 
reached maturity, was born Nov. 25, 1829, in 
Attleboro, Mass., and parsed his early life 
chiefly at home, in preparption for life's work 
and variously occui)ied. During the period of 
the Civil war he was in the employ of the gov- 
ernment at different places. Much of his after 
life was passed in the South and West, his 
delicate state of health and constitution mak- 
ing it necessary for him to seek a less rigorous 
climate than that of New England. Latterly 
he became interested in cattle raising in the 
far West. He died at the old home in Attle- 
boro, while on a visit, Sept. 21, 1881. He mar- 
ried Medora E. Wack, of Oberlin, Ohio, and 
bad two children, Dorsey Maxcy, who died at 
the age of three years; and Mary Lydia, who 
lives at Oberlin, Ohio, with her mother. 

(VIII) Sabra Peck, daughter of Capron, 
was educated in the public schools of Attle- 
boro, and at Norton Seminary. Her life was 
given to the care of her parents, to whom she 
was greatly devoted. She and her sister, Lydia 
Daggett Peck, 7iow reside at the old home m 
Attleboro. 

(VIII) Sally Maxcy Peck, daughter of 
Capron, was born in Attleboro, where she at- 



tended school, later graduating from the State 
normal school at Bridgewater, Mass., after 
which she taught school in Attleboro, Mans- 
field and Seekonk, Mass., and in the State of 
Illinois. She returned home, where she died 
June 23, 1897. She was a woman of talent, 
of artistic taste and temperament, and her lov- 
able disposition had endeared her to all who- 
were within the radiance of her smile. 

(VIII) Lydl\ Daggett Peck, youngest 
daughter of Capron, attended the public 
schools of Attleboro and a select school in 
Providence. Like her sister she became a 
teacher, first in Attleboro, later in Taunton 
and Pawtucket, winning a high reputation for 
efficiency and devotion to her calling. She is 
now devoting her time to the care of the family 
estate in Attleboro. With her sister she resides- 
in the old home, and they are both esteemed 
greatly in the community where they are so 
well known. They attend the Congregational 
Church. 

ENOS HAWES REYNOLDS, late of Brock- 
ton, where for a number of years he was suc- 
cessfully engaged in the manufacture of shoes, 
for over twenty years was a faithful and con- 
scientious member of the board of water com- 
missioners of the city, and had also served his 
native town and city in various other positions 
of honor and trust, was one of that city's hon- 
ored and respected citizens. Mr. Reynolds was 
born March 12, 1834, in North Bridgewater, 
now Brockton, son of Edwin and Hannah 
(May) Reynolds, of North Bridgewater, and 
a direct descendant of Nathaniel Reynolds, 
Esq., who became one of the earliest settlers 
of the North Parish of Bridgewater. The 
history of this branch of the Reynolds family 
follows, the generations, beginning with the 
emigrant ancestor of the family, being given 
in chronological order. 

(I) Robert Reynolds appears in Boston as 
early as 1632, and was undoubtedly there about 
1630. He Joined the church there Aug. 10, 
1634. He is believed to have been born in 
England. He is mentioned Sept. 3, 1634, as 
a shoemaker and freeman. Soon thereafter 
he removed to Watertown, and finally went with 
his brother John to Wethersfield, Conn., being 
dismissed March 29, 1636, by the church to 
form a church in Wethersfield. He, however, 
soon returned to Boston, and there passed the 
rest of his life, dying April 27, 1659. The- 
Christian name of bis wife was Mary. She 
died Jan. 18, 1663. Their children," all be- 
lieved to have been born in England, were: 
Nathaniel ; Ruth, married to John Whitney • 



SOUTH EASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1203 



Tabitlia, niarriod to ^Fiitthcw Abdy ; Sarah, 
wlio niarrieil Kobert Mason; ami Jlary, mar- 
ried to Richard Sanger. 

(II) Capt. Nathaniel Reynolds, son of Rob- 
ert, born about 1627 in England, came when 
a child to New England with his parents. 
He became a freeman in 166."); was a shoe- 
maker. In a record dated Chelmsford, Feb. 
25, 1676, he was called captain, probably for 
semce in King Philip's war. [Professor 
Munro, of Brown University, says in his His- 
tory of Bristol (1880) that Nathaniel Rey- 
nolds was a member of the Artillery Company, 
and did good service in the Indian war as 
captain of a company under Colonel Church.] 
He removed to Bristol (now. Rhode Island) in 
1680 and was recognized in the first town meet- 
ing there. He became one of the principal 
men of the town. He married (first) Nov. 30, 
1657, the ceremony being performed by Gov. 
John Endicott, Sarah, daughter of John 
Dwight, of Dedham. She died July 8, 1663, 
and he married (second) Priscilla, daugliter 
of Peter Brackett, a well-to-do tradesman of 
Boston. He had tliree children by his first 
■ftife and eight bv his second. He died at 
Bristol July 10, '1708. His children were: 
Sarah, born July 26, 1659, married John Fos- 
dick; Mary, born Nov. 20, 1660, died young; 
Nathaniel was born March 3, 1662-63; John, 
Aug. 4, 1668: Peter, Jan. 26, 1670; Philip, 
Sept. 15, 1674; Joseph, Dec. 29, 1676; Han- 
nah, Jan. 15, 1682 (married Samuel Royall) ; 
Mary, in 1684 (married Nathaniel Woodbury) ; 
Benjamin, May 10, 1686; Ruth, Dec. 9, 1688 
(married Josiah Cary). 

(III) Nathaniel Revnolds (2), son of Capt. 
Nathaniel, born March 3, 1662-63, lived in 
Boston, and there died prior to 1717. The 
Christian name of his wife was Ruth, and 
she died Sept. 19, 1716. He was the father 
of nine children, names and dates of birth 
as follows: Sarah, born Oct. 25, 1687, mar- 
ried Robert Young: Ruth, born Sept. 11, 1689, 
died March 16, 1693; Mary, born Aug. 21, 
1691, married Edward Marion; Nathaniel, 
born Jan. 14, 1694, married Mary Snell : John, 
born March 29, 1696, married Anna Blanch; 
Ebenezer, born in June, 1699, died July 29, 
1701; Philip, born May 12, 1701, died' Dec. 
27, 1727; Ruth (2), born Sept. 1, 1704, died 
June 82, 172] ; Naomi, born Oct. 27, 1706, 
married Samuel Ridgewav. 

(IV) Nathaniel Reynolds (3), son of Nath- 
aniel (2), born Jan. 14, 1694, in Boston; 
was a shoemaker, as were his fatlier and grand- 
father. He married, Jan. 27, 1717, Mary 
Snell, daughter of Thomas, of Bridgewater, 



and they had sons Nathaniel, born March 19, 
171,S, aiid Thomas, born Fob. 25, 1719. The 
father died in Boston, Oct. 29, 1719, and his 
widow moved to her native town of Bridge- 
water, Mass., taking her two sons with her. 

(V) Nathaniel Reynolds (4), son of Nath- 
aniel (3), was born March 19, 1718, in Boston, 
in the same house where Benjamin Franklin 
was born in 1706. He married in 1739 Han- 
nah Hartwell, daughter of Samuel Hartwell. 
Their children were: Philip, born Sept. 19, 
1740, married Hannah Packard; and Jonas, 
born Jan. 28, 1742, married Anna Perkins. 
The mother of these children died Aug. 12, 
1742, and he married (second) June 14, 1744, 
Mary Tolman, daughter of Thomas, of Stough- 
ton, Mass. The children of the second mar- 
riage were: Timothy, born 1746, who mar- 
ried Rebecca; Hannah, born 1750, who mar- 
ried William Packard; Mary, born 1754, who 
married Deacon Ebenezer Packard; Nathaniel, 
born 1757, who married Bethiah Keith; David, 
born 1759; Silence, born 1760; Jonathan, 
born 1 764, who married Anna Thayer ; and 
Cynthia, born 1769. Nathaniel Reynolds and 
his brother Thomas were the first of the name 
in North Bridgewater, coming hither about 
the .same time and settling at the West Shares, 
of Northwest Bridgewater. Nathaniel after- 
ward with his second wife and five youngest 
cJiildren moved to Vassalboro, Maine. He died 
in Sidney, Maine, Nov. 26, 1807. 

(VI) Jonas Reynolds, son of Nathaniel (4), 
was born Jan. 28', 1742. In 1768 he married 
Anna Perkins, daughter of Luke Perkins, and 
their children were: Anna, born 1769, who 
married Josiah Perkins, Jr. ; Jonas, Jr., born 
Sept. 28, 1772, who married Rebecca Hay- 
ward; Isaac, born 1774, who married Mehita- 
ble Ford; John Perkins, born 1781, who 
married Fally Wales ; David Perkins, who mar- 
ried Sarah Bai-tiett; Jonathan, who died un- 
married ; and Polly, who married Isaac French. 
Jonas Reynolds, the father, died Aug. 5, 1795, 
and his widow married (second) Deacon Elijah 
Snell, in 1798. She died April 20, 1800. 

(VII) Isaac Reynolds, son of Jonas, was 
born April 22, 1774, in the northwest part 
of North Bridgewater, and died March 15, 
18.50, in his native town. On Dec. 23, 1805, 
he married ilchitable Ford, daughter of Mark 
Ford, and their children were: Polly, who 
married Albert Reed, of Abington, Mass. ; Ed- 
win, who married Hannah May : Nahum, who 
married Mary R. Richmond, of Halifax, Mass. ; 
Benjamin Franklin, who married Laura P. 
Reynolds, of Auburn, Maine; Sibil, who mar- 
ried Cassander Littlefield, of East Stoughton, 



1204 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mass.; Fidelia Williams, who died aged twenty- 
one years ; and Orren, who died in infancy. 

(VIII) Edwin Reynolds, son of Isaac, was 
born Aug. 8, 1808, in North Bridgewater, 
where he died Feb. 15, 1867. He was a boot- 
maker and cordwainer, taking the stock home 
and making wp the boots in a shop at the rear 
of his house. In politics he was a stanch 
Democrat of the old school. On May 28, 1833, 
he married Hannah May, daughter of John 
and Dorothy (Littlefield)"May, of East Stough- 
ton, now Avon, Mass., and later of North 
Bridgewater, where John May became a mem- 
ber of Capt. Nehemiah Lincoln's company, do- 
ing service in the war of 1812. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Reynolds were born children as follows: 
Enos Hawes, mentioned below; Clarissa, born 
1838, who died 1839 ; and Clarissa May, born 
May 11, 1841, who died unmarried. 

(IX) Enos Hawes Re^'nolds, son of Edwin 
and Hannah (May) Reynolds, was born March 
12, 1834, in North Bridgewater, now Brock- 
ton, on what is now North Main street, in the 
house which was bought by his grandfather, 
John May, in 1804, and was used for a tavern, 
it containing at that time the largest public 
hall in the town. This Mr. Reynolds replaced 
■with the modern home he occupied until his 
death. His schooling was begun in the dis- 
trict schools of his native town, after which 
he attended the Loomis Brothers Academy at 
North Bridgewater. and still later spent about 
one year as a student at Jcnks' Academy, at 
Middleboro, in 1851. He then took up shoe- 
making, first working for Howard & French, 
and then for William E. Leonard. At the age 
of twenty-three he decided to engage in busi- 
ness for himself, and he began work, using the 
shop at the rear of the home formerly used 
by his father. His business "venture began in 
1857 — the year of business depression — and he 
did all the work himself, even to carrying the 
shoes to Boston and selling them. This scarcely 
made him a living, but the fact that he 
did make even a scant living in that year em- 
boldened him to go ahead, and he hired ten 
or twelve men, the end of the second year 
showing a profit of $1,500. In 18G5 he be- 
came associated with Henry Parks and S. Gard- 
ner Jones, under the firm name of Reynolds, 
Parks & Co. This continued four years. Be- 
fore the formation of this company Mr. Rey- 
nolds had made boots only, but the new firm 
added the  making of shoes, and a year or two 
later a gang room was established, the value 
of doing the work in the factory having been 
fully demonstrated. Mr. Reynolds had one 
of the first stitching machines (the invention 



of Elias Howe) installed in the town. He 
engaged in the manufacture of shoes for about 
forty years, and retired in 1896. His product 
bore the name of E. H. Reynolds, and liad a 
high reputation for quality. 

Mr. Reynolds was always interested in pub- 
lic affairs. He served on the school committee 
and as auditor; was a member of the first 
board of aldermen elected by the city of Brock- 
ton, serving in 1882; was a member of the 
board of water commissioners for twenty years 
up to the time of his death, and for many years 
chairman of the board : in 1886-87 was a mem- 
ber of the State Legislature ; and was once 
or twice the Democratic candidate for mayor. 
While in the Legislature he worked energetic- 
al Iv for the passage of the weekly payment bill, 
which has proved such a blessing to the work- 
ing class. He was also instrumental in put- 
ting through the law for the furnishing of free 
textbooks to school children. At the time of 
his death resolutions were adopted by the board 
of water commissioners as follows : 

In Menioriam 

Ends H. Reynolds, 

Chairman of this Board since January, 1886, passed 
away suddenly. March 16th, 1906. 

His sudden death was a great shock to the other 
members of the Board. Our relations had been so 
close, his presence at the meetings of this Board so 
constant, and his interest in nil that pertained to the 
Department so great, that it seemed hard indeed to 
realize that he had gone. 

As a slight token of our regard and esteem, the 
following resolutions were passed: 

Whereas, It has pleased an all wise and beneficent 
Heavenly Father to stunmon from liis earthl\' labors 
our associate and chairman, Enos H. Reynolds: 

Resolved. That in his death the City loses an 
honest, faithful, conscientious public servant, who put 
duty above self, .and was ever loyal to his oath of 
office ; 

Reaolred. Tliat this Board loses a member who has 
presided over its deliberations for more than twenty 
years, with dignity and a design and purpose to 
cooperate in every measure which promised to pro- 
mote the interests of the City and the welfare and 
comfort of the people ; 

Resolved. That, from our long companionship and 
friendship, we can join with the family in their 
sorrow and with them mourn his loss. We tender 
them our heartfelt sympathy; 

Re-wlvrd. That these resolutions be spread upon 
the records, and a copy be sent to the Ixreaved family. 
[Signed! Franci.s B. Gardner, 
Horace Kingman. 

Mr. Reynolds was for many years a trustee 
of the Brockton Savings Bank, and was a mem- 
ber of the board of investment at the time of 
his death. Fraternally he was a thirty-second 
degree Mason. He was a member of Paul 
Revere Ijodgc, A. F. & A. M., which he joined 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



120S 



in ISGl, ami of wliich ho was past master; 
Satuckct Chapter, IJ. A. M. ; Brockton Council, 
R. & S. M. ; Bay State Comniaudery, K. T. 
(charter member) ; and Boston Consistory. He 
was a constant attendant of the Porter Congre- 
gational Church, which church Mrs. Reynolds 
also attended, and was liberal in support of its 
good works. He was interested in all charita- 
ble and benevolent movements, but was averse 
to having his donations made known to the 
public. 

The Brockton Times, of March 17, 1909, 
said: "Once more the city is called upon to 
mourn the loss of a man whose life was passed 
here, and who has been prominently associated 
with town and city affairs, and was one of its 
pioneer manufacturers in the industry that has 
since made the city celebrated the nation over. 
No man in the city commanded more respect 
than did Water Commissioner Reynolds, and 
when the announcement was made of his sud- 
den death yesterday morning, many were the 
words of regret expressed at the loss sustained, 
and of sympathy for those whose lives are 
placed in the shadows of bereavement." 

The Enterprise of the same date said : "He 
was not ostentatious in any way, and seemed 
to accept what came to him in official honors 
in a very modest manner, and never sought 
a pose in a limelight. Enos H. Reynolds was 
a very solid man, and did not try to be con- 
spicuous on every possible occasion. He was 
frank, genial, honest, conscientious and incor- 
ruptible as an individual and as an official." 

On Nov. 19, 1862, Mr. Reynolds married 
Emily Jane Peets, who was born Aug. 15, 1843, 
in Randolph, Mass., daughter of William and 
Hepzabeth (Howard) Peets, of Randolph, 
Mass., and a direct descendant of several of 
the illustrious Pilgrim fathers, among them 
Miles Standish, John Alden and Gov. William 
Bradford, of Plymouth Colony. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Reynolds were born children as follows: 
(1) Erwin Edgar, born Dec. 20, 1863, was 
associated with his father in the manufacture 
of shoes until the latter's retirement, and is 
now connected with the W. L. Douglas Shoe 
Company. He married Charlotte Swain, of 
Brockton. (2) Etta May, born July 3, 1870, 
married Harrv W. Cook, of Dorchester. Mass. 
(3) Elva Howard, born July 6, 1875, mar- 
ried Frank Killam, instructor of the Y. M. C. 
A., at Brockton, and they have two children, 
Howard Reynolds, born in November. 1900, 
and Frank "Killam, Jr., born in December, 
1905. (4) Estellc Langdon, born Sept. 23, 
1876, is a public school teacher in Brockton. 
(5) Edwin, born Oct. 11, 1882, is on the 



reportorial stall of the Boston Globe, and re- 
sides in Brighton, Mass.; he married May Mor- 
gan, of Newton Centre, Mass., and they have 
two children, Miriam, born in June, 1906, and 
Dorothy May, born in December, 1907. 

Mrs. Emily Jane Reynolds died at her home 
in Brockton, March 9, 1911, in the sixty-eighth 
year of her age. A resident of Montello for 
nearly fifty years, she was one of the best 
known women in the North End, having been 
one of the founders of the Wales Home for 
Aged Women, a member and faithful worker 
of the Boston Congregational Church, and, 
though devoted to her home and family, in- 
terested in all that concerned women in the 
broader activities outside of the home circle, 
sympathizing with and encouraging any move- 
ment which promised to contribute to the gen- 
eral welfare. j 

SAMUEL CROCKER LOYELL, a lifelong 
resident of Mansfield, and one of her most 
prominent and respected citizens, is of the 
seventh generation of the Lovell family from 
the American ancestor, Robert Lovell, from 
whom his descent is through James, James 
(2), Isaac, David and Samuel Lovell, which 
generations are given herewith in detail. 

(I) Robert Lovell at the age of forty years 
came from Weymouth, England, to Weymouth, 
Mass., with the company of Joseph Hull, in 
1635. He brought with him his wife Eliza- 
beth, aged thirty-five years, and five children, 
viz.: Anne, Zaccheus, John, and Ellen and 
James (twins). 

(II) James Lovell, son of Robert and Eliza- 
beth, married Jane, and had eight children : 
Deborah, James, Hannah, Enoch, Mary, John, 
Elizabeth and Joseph. By his second wife, 
Anna, he had one daughter, Anna. 

(III) James Lovell (2), son of James, born 
March 7, 1667 (or 1677), married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Joseph and Elizabetli Poole, and 
had seven children, James, Jane, Enoch, Jo- 
seph, David, Samuel and Isaac. 

(IV) Issaac Love-ll, son of James and Eliza- 
lieth (Poole), of Weymouth, Mass., married 
Jan. 12, 1738, Judith, daughter of Seth and 
Sarah (Thayer) Dorman, of Norton, Mass., 
and settled in Mansfield. His children were: 
Judith, Ellenor, Isaac, Seth, David and Judith 
(2). Isaac Lovell was one of the minute men 
who marched on the Lexington alarm, April 
19, 1775, his son Isaac marching on an alarm 
in Rhode Island in 1776, and his son Seth alsa 
serving in the Revolution. 

(V) David Lovell. son of Isaac and Judith 
(Dorman), married Nov. 15, 1772, Keziali 



lJi06 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



White, by wiioni he liad tliree children, Vage- 
zatha, Amasa and Samuel. 

(VI) Samuel Lovell, son of David and 
Keziah (Wliite), was a prominent farmer of 
Mansfield. He married June 16, 1822, Mary 
Richmond, and had nine children, viz.: Jason, 
Alfred, Mary Ann, George, Isaac, Emily, 
Eliza, Samuel C. and Susan E. 

(VII)' Samuel Crocker Lovell, son of Sam- 
uel and Mary (Richmond), was born in Mans- 
field Se]it. 19, 1839. His education was ac- 
quired in the common schools of Mansfield and 
at the Peirce Academy of Middleboro, Mass. 
In 1854 he left the farm and secured a posi- 
tion as clerk in a general store at Foxboro, 
Mass., where he served in tliat capacity until 
1858, and then took a position as clerk with 
his brother Isaac Lovell in the grocery and 
provision business at Mansfield. He remained 
with him until 1859, when he became clerk in 
the dry goods store of J. S. Rounds & Co., 
Taunton, where he was employed until May 
1, 1861. On Sept. 5, 1861, he enlisted in Coni- 
pany I, 1st Massachusetts Cavalry, and was 
mustered into the United States service Sept. 
14, 1861. With his regiment he went to Hil- 
ton Head, S. C, for the purpose of regimental 
drill, and was appointed Jan. 12, 1862, cor- 
poral of his company, on Aug. 16, 1862, being 
appointed company commissary sergeant. He 
took part in a skirmish at Pocotaligo, S. C, 
Aug. 27, 1863; reenlisted as a veteran Jan. 9, 
1864, in same company and regiment, and 
Feb. 6, 1864, went on an e.xpedition to Jack- 
sonville, Fla. ; Feb. 20, 1864, took part in the 
battle of Olustee, Fla., where his horse was 
shot under him ; was on skirmish patrol and 
picket duty until April 29, 1864, when he was 
granted a thirty-days furlough to visit his 
home. Fie rejoined his regiment at City 
Point, Va., finding Companies I, K, L and M 
of his regiment had been consolidated with 
the 4th Massachusetts Cavalry, 24th Corps, 
Army of Virginia. On June 14, 1864, he was ap- 
pointed duty sergeant of Company I ; Aug. 23, 

1864. appointed orderly sergeant of Company 
K; Sept. 12, 1864, appointed regimental com- 
missary sergeant; Nov. 15, 1864, commissioned 
second lieutenant of Company K ; Dec. 5, 1864, 
consigned to Company F for duty in the field 
until the last siege of Petersburg and Rich- 
mond ; was in command of escort Companies 
Iv and F, for General Gihlions, from April 2, 

1865, until the surrender at Appomattox, April 
9. 1865; April 12, 1865, escorted General Lee 
and staff from the field of surrender part way 
to Richmond; July 13, 1865, was commissioned 
first lieutenant and transferred to Company 



B, Sept. 19, 1865, and from tliat period served 
on the Freedmen's Bureau, until he was hon- 
orably discharged and mustered out of the serv- 
ice jvov. 14, 1865, at Richmond, Va. ; on 
Jan. 1, 1866, he started in the grocery and pro- 
vision business with his brother Isaac at Mans- 
field, Mass., under the firm name of I. & S. C. 
Lovell, which partnership existed until Jan. 
1, 1870, when they dissolved, Isaac taking the 
meat business and Samuel the grocery, in 
which he continued until 1892. In 1872 he 
added a shoe department and conducted both 
lines successfully until 1909, when he retired 
from business. He served as postmaster of 
Mansfield from 1871 to 1886. 

On Dec. 16, 1870, Mr. Lovell was married 
to Alice J., daughter of Horace and Mary Ann 
(Rounds) ('leak', of Taunton, and has one 
son, Willard C., who resides at Somerville, 
Mass., where he is engaged as a teacher of 
music and as a piano and organ tuner; he has 
been twice married, (first) to Annie M. Al- 
drich and (second) to Inez L. Dorr. 

For fifty-six years Mr. Samuel C. Lovell has 
kept a diary of daily events which contains 
many interesting details. He is a member of 
the M. E. Church and in politics is a stanch 
Republican. 

When Mr. Lovell was at Camp Readville, 
Mass., following his enlistment, there were 
brought into the camp some Canadian horses, 
among which was a black horse, aged about 
eight years, which they named "Billy." Mr. 
Lovell was the first in camp to ride him. Tiie 
animal was taken South, and during the four 
years of the war Mr. Lovell rode him at dif- 
ferent times, always finding him very gentle, 
though for some riders he proved unmanage- 
able. After the surrender at Appomattox 
Mr. Lovell learned of the presence of this horse 
there and purchasing it from the department 
brought it to his home in Mansfield. He be- 
came very much attached to the intelligent 
animal and it to him. He rode "Old Billy" 
one time as grand marshal during the largest 
Decoration Day parade ever seen in Mansfield. 
Tlie horse survived the war about sixteen years 
and remained in the possession of Mr. Lovell 
until its death. 

JOHN" F. MAKINSON, who is now living 
retired at Attleboro Falls, Bristol county, is one 
of the oldest surviving jewelry manufacturers 
in that section of the State of Massachusetts, 
ifr. Makinson is a native of Rhode Island, born 
at Slatersville, in what is now the town of 
North Smithfield. Providence county. 

The Makinson family is of English descent 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1207 



and its members have made their home in this 
country for over a century. Noah Makinsou, 
the lirst of this line to come to the New World, 
was a native of Bolton, England, born in 1773, 
son of John and Grace (Marsdeu) Makinsou. 
He learned the trade of weaver in his native 
home and married there in 1802 Alice Taylor, 
•who was born July 11, 1779, daughter of John 
and Mary (Nuttell) Taylor. Six children 
were born to this union, the first four in 
England, viz. : Ann, born Nov. 16, 1804, who 
died Dec. 17, 1873, unmarried; John, born 
Dec. 4, 1806; Mary, boru April 21, 1809, who 
married Jan. 1, 1834, Henry Gridley, and 
-died May 9, 1861; James, born Aug. 4, 1811, 
who married Dec. 27, 1844, Elizabeth Walls, 
and died Jan. 5, 1871; Hannah, born Sept. 
18, 1814, at Slatersville, R. I., who married 
July 11, 1844, Samuel Lvon, and died May 
23, 1887; and Martha, born Feb. 7, 1818, 
■who married Feb. 22, 1844, Samuel Buck, and 
died April 6, 1880. 

Noah Makinson, father of the above family, 
came to the States in 1811 and was engaged 
as overseer in the weaving room at Slaters- 
ville, R. I., for Samuel Slater, who conducted 
a large cotton factory at that place. He was 
joined by his family a year later. The vessel 
on which his wife and children came to Amer- 
ica in 1812 was chased by the British but es- 
caped. They made their home in Slatersville 
until about 1830, when the family went to 
Pennsylvania, making the journey by ox team 
from Rhode Island and settling down to farm- 
ing at Leraysville, Bradford county, where 
Mr. Makinson spent the remainder of his life. 
There he died Dec. 2, 18.54, at the age of 
eighty-two years. His wife died Feb. 22, 183.5, 
aged fifty-six years. 

John Makinson, son of Noah and Alice 
(Taylor) Makinson, was born in Bolton, Eng- 
land, Dec. 4, 1806, and was but six years old 
when he came to America with his mother. 
Locating at Slatersville, his opportunities for 
an education were limited, and he began work 
in the cotton mill at an early age, learning 
the weaving business. In 1840 he moved with 
his family to Bristol, R. I., and became over- 
seer in the weaving department of the cotton 
mill at that town, where he continued until 
his death, Nov. 23, 1849. His remains are 
buried in Mount Hope cemetery, North Attle- 
boro. Mr. Makinson was a Democrat in po- 
litics, in religion a Freewill Baptist. At 
Slatersville, R. I., he was married by Rev. 
Reuben Allen, on Nov. 26, 1833, to Amy 
Bounds Briggs, born Jan. 1, 1811, in Attle- 
boro, daughter of Rufus and Nancy (Rounds) 



Briggs. A full record of the Briggs family 
appears in this work. Mrs. Makinson mar-' 
ried (second) David Wilmarth, whom she sur- 
vived, dying at the home of her son, Charles 
E. Makinsou, in Attleboro Falls, Oct. 14, 1889 ; 
slie is buried in Mount Hope cemetery. The 
following children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
John Makinson: Amy Ann, born Oct. 5, 1834, 
died Nov. 22, 1836; John F., born Feb. 6, 
1838, is mentioned below; William Henry, 
born at Bristol, R. I., June 3, 1840, resided 
in Anselmo, Cal., where he died June 25, 
1911 (he married Maria Read) ; James E., 
born July 29, 1844, died June 7, 1845; 
Charles E., born Nov. 21, 1846, in Bristol, 
died at Attleboro Falls Oct. 20, 1908 (he 
married Harriet Wilmarth). 

John F. Makinson was but eleven years old 
when his father died, before which he attended 
the district school of Bristol. The family re- 
moved to Attleboro Falls in November, 1849, 
and he immediately began to learn the jewelry 
business with J. J. & B. S. Freeman. In 
those days he received three cents an hour. 
Later he worked for other manufacturers until 

1861, when the Civil war broke out and he 
enlisted in the 7th Massachusetts Regiment, 
as a musician in the regimental band, and was 
at the battles of Williamsburg, Fair Oaks and 
the Seven Days' Fight. He was discharged in 

1862, by the act of Congress which discharged 
all regimental bands. After returning home he 
continued in the jewelry business and in 1881 
formed a partnership with Walter G. Clark, 
under the firm name of W. G. Clark & Co., 
manufacturing jewelers, this association con- 
tinuing for a period of fourteen years, the busi- 
ness being located at Robinsonville. In Feb- 
ruary, 1895, he sold out his interest to his 
partner and retired from other business, after 
an active life of forty-five years in the jewelry 
line. Mr. Makinson resides on Mount Hope 
street. Politically he is a Republican and has 
served as member of the board of commis- 
sioners of the electric light and water works 
of North Attleboro, acting as chairman of the 
board for fourteen years, also as treasurer of 
the town Sinking Fund. He is a charter mem- 
ber of Whiting Post, G. A. R., and was its 
commander four years. A thoroughly substan- 
tial man, whose solid worth has been demon- 
strated in his successful life and his services 
to his fellow men, he is esteemed by all who 
know him. 

On July 15, 1861, in Attleboro, Mr. Makin- 
son married Betsey S. Wilmarth, born June 
9, 1832, daughter"^ of Thomas and Betsey 
(Grant) Wilmarth, and they have had one 



1208 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



daughter, Emma Frances, who resides with her 
parents. 

EVERSON (Hanson family ). Tlie name 
Evorson lias not been a common one or the 
family numerous in New England, yet it is 
one of long and honorable standing in some 
of the towns of the Old Colony of this Com- 
monwealth, a continuous family here for two 
hundred and more years; and from the frag- 
mentary records found it is known to have 
allied itself by marriage with several of the 
early Pilgrim families, Churchill, Prence and 
Cook. In the vital records of Plymouth at 
the beginning of the eighteenth century are 
found the families of John and Richard Ever- 
6on, but of what connection — if any — and an- 
tecedents is not ascertained. In the list of 
the inhabitants of Plynipton designated at a 
meeting of the town in 1708-09 as entitled to 
vote, were the names of John and Richard 
Everson, and Richard Everson was one of the 
four inhabitants of the north part of Ply- 
mouth, with others of Plynipton and Pem- 
broke, who petitioned in 1717 for a new town 
— Kingston. Pembroke was earlier a part of 
Duxbury, and later from Pembroke came the 
town of Hanson ; and all of these towns, let it 
be remembered, were originally a part of Ply- 
mouth. This much in relation to these sub- 
divisions, inasmuch as it has a bearing on the 
home of the early Eversons. 

Seth, Sylvanus (seaman), Samuel (sea- 
man), Samuel of Kingston (army), Levi, Jo- 
seph, James of Kingston, all performed service 
in the Revolution. Richard Everson, of Han- 
son, served in the war of 1812. Sylvanus and 
Barnabas Everson (the latter tlie father of 
Richard A. Everson) both served as selectmen 
of Hanson. Of the Eversons just mentioned, 
John and Richard, tlie family of John Everson 
of Plymouth comprised children : James, born 
Jan. 5, 1703; Mercy, born Jan. 30, 170.5; and 
probably Elizabeth, born Sept. 13, 1707, desig- 
nated as the child of John and Elizabeth, of 
Plympton. Richard Everson is the ancestor 
of the Hanson family of the name, which 
hranch it is the purpose of this article to re- 
view. Reference is made to the family of 
Richard A. Everson, Esq., one of the substan- 
tial men of his community. P>oni the first 
Richard Everson, of Plymouth, the lineage of 
the present Richard A. Everson, of Hanson, is 
through Richard (2), Richard (3), Levi, Rich- 
ard and Barnabas Everson. These generations 
in such detail as is obtainable and in the order 
named follow. 

(I) Richard Everson and wife Elizabeth, of 



Plymouth, had children : Richard, born Nov, 
lO". 1700; Ephraim, born Sept. 1, 1702; Eben- 
ezer, born April 14, 1705; and Benjamin, 
born Jan. 26, 1711. The mother died Feb. 16, 
1716. 

(II) Richard Everson (2), son of Richard 
and Elizabeth, born Nov. 10, 1700, married 
March 31, 1718, Penelope Bumpus, of Middle- 
boro. 

(III) Richard Everson (3), of Kingston, 
married Oct. 30, 1750, Mrs. Averick (t'hurch- 
ill) Standish, widow of Ebenezer Standish, 
and daughter of Isaac and Susanna (Leach) 
Churchill. Their children were ; Samuel, born 
Sept. 22, 1751; Levi, born March 26, 1754; 
Martha, bom March 1,'1757; and Susannah, 
born July 22, 1759 (died in May, 1761). 

(IV) Levi Everson, born March 26, 1754, 
in Kingston, married July 17, 1777, at Hali- 
fax, Eunice Briggs, of Halifax. He is ac- 
corded as being of Kingston at that time. 
Their children were; Levi, Jr., born in Kings- 
ton; Eunice, born Nov. 25, 1780; Averick, 
born Oct. 13, 1782; Abigail, born Aug. 14,. 
1784; Sylvanus, born June 27, 1786 (died 
Aug. 15,"l872; wife Lydia died May 20, 1851, 
aged fifty-eight) ; Charlotte, born in January, 
1788; Samuel, born Feb. 1, 1790; Richard, 
born Nov. 23, 1791; Martha, born Oct. 8, 
1793; Clarissa, born Oct. 18, 1795; Dulcina, 
born May 12, 1797; and Barnabas, born Dec. 
14, 1798. Mr. Everson was drowned from the 
North River bridge April 5, 1800, aged forty- 
six years. He is credited with service in the 
Revolution. On Jan. 29, 1776, he enlisted as 
a private in Capt. Jesse Barlow's company, 
which was stationed at Plymouth for the de- 
fense of the seacoast. He was a member of 
Capt. Seth Stower's company, in Colonel Rob- 
inson's regiment, the particulars of service not 
being given. His* term of service in the first 
enlistment was nine months and twenty-one 
days. 

(V) Richard Everson, born in Pembroke 
Nov. 23, 1791, died in Hanson. He married 
Mercy Munroe, of Pembroke, born May 20, 
1794,' died May 29, 1880. Children, all born 
in Pembroke, Mass.: (1) Mary Miller Monroe, 
born Nov. 1, 1813, married George Macomber, 
and had Caroline Weston. (2) Fannie, born 
June 23. 1816. married Josephus Bryant, of 
Hanson, and had Elizabeth Ellen and Lucy 
Lincoln. (3) Eunice, born Feb. 3, 1819, died 
Sept. 1, 1903. She married (first) Nahum 
Lenvitt. born Dec. 21, 1814, died May 26, 
18.59, nnd (second) Nathaniel Sprague; her 
children, all born to the first marriage, were; 
Kimball C., born Aug. 20. 1838 (died in in- 



1 








m 


1 




 


^M 






^^^^r 


-"- 


'9 




^^^^^^^^^^H 


1 








J 


''fl 




 


1 








1^ 


1 




^^H 


wQ 




v^^ 


1 


"'||H 


|H 




^^^^^^^H 


H 




■' '"12 


': 


1^1 


Hj 




^^^^^^^H 


1 




^^^^ 




•■X 


j 


['S'l 


r i/i|AH 


1 




9 








^ 




^I^^H 


1 


»5 






^^Kt '' 


^ 


r. 


il 


v^ 








^^^^H^^uM 


S^K^^ 




^^^^^^^^H 


f 


^-' 






^^^mu 


HP 




'^^^^^1 


k.: 


"'-' 






IHH 


1^^ 




«(:- .'fi^^^q 



Cy(t?yoc^^aA^ CC' (iP^t^MXtn^ 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1209 



fancy) ; Sophronia, born Oct. 11, 183'J (died 
Feb. 24, 1S(J4) ; Hiram, born March 25, 1811; 
Kimball C. (2), born Jan. 5, 1S13 (died Jan. 
G, 1843) ; Mary Ann, born Jan. 10, 1844 (died 
in January, 1904) ; Delia A., born Jan. 2tj, 
1846 ; Emma A., born Feb. 23, 184'i' ; George 
E., born May 15, 1850; and Cliarlcrtte H., born 
Oct. 11, 1852. (4) Sophronia P. died Aug. 
2, 1835, aged fourteen years, five months. (5) 
Barnabas was born Jan. 4, 1825. (6) George 
married Sarah Ford, of North Abington, and 
luid Sarah FAla, Martha Maria and Nellie. 
(7) Francis Nicholas is now deceased. (8) 
Margaret married George Sampson, of Han- 
son, and had George, Augusta and Lillian. 
(9) Martha died Jan. 21, 1853, aged seven- 
teen years, ten months. 

(VI) Barnabas Everson, born in Hanson 
Jan. 4, 1825, died Feb. 22, 1890. On Aug. 
25, 1848, he married Deborah (Bates) How- 
land, of East Bridgewater, born Sept. 4, 1819, 
died April 16, 1892, daughter of Moses and 
Deborah (Dyer) Bates, and widow of Warren 
Rowland. Mr. and Mrs. Everson both died 
in Hanson, Mass., and are buried in Fern Hill 
cemetery. Their children were born in Han- 
son, viz.: (1) Adelia Deborah, born June 3, 

1849, died Nov. 30, 18G?, She married Al- 
bert Howland, of Hanson, who was born Nov. 
20, 1847. (2) Richard A., born Dec. 17, 

1850, is mentioned below. (3) Imogene Lil- 
lian, born Jan. 24, 1852, married George 
Roderic McClellan June 3, 1872, and had : 
George Cameron, born March 5, 1873 (died 
March 25, 1879) ; Lillian, born April 3, 187G; 
Roderic Cameron, born Sept. 22, 1882 (mar- 
ried March 8, 1905, Edith May Ramsdell, 
born Aug. 22, 1883 ; their son, Edgar Cam- 
eron, was born March 5, 1908) ; Sherman 
Barnabas, born April 10, 1886 (married Sept. 
7, 1907, Bessie Irving Ramsdell, and has two 
daughters, Bessie Editli, born May 16, 1908, 
and Harriet, born May 27, 1911). (4) Lucia 
died in infancy. (5) Lucius died in infancy. 

Barnabas Everson attended the district 
schools of Hanson until he was sixteen years 
of age. He then learned the mason's trade, 
which he followed for a number of years, later 
learning shoemaking and following it for a 
few years. Buying a large farm of about 
three hundred acres, he did an extensive busi- 
ness in market gardening, sending his prod- 
ucts to Abington and Brockton. While con- 
ducting his farm he built a large sawmill, 
which was supplied by lumber from his own 
land. He cut box boards and manufactured 
shingles, etc., for a number of years, finally 
selling the mill to the late Jolin Foster. He 



continued to conduct the farm up to the time 
of liis death, and was always active, and well 
known throughout Plymouth county. He was 
selectman of Hanson for a number of years, 
and also served as road surveyor. In politics 
he was a Republican. Mr. Everson attended 
the Baptist Church for many years, but the 
last few years of his life he embraced Spirit- 
ualism. 

(VII) Richard A. Everson, born Dec. 17, 
1850, in the town of Hanson, attended the 
district schools of the town until about seven- 
teen years of age. He learned shoemaking in 
Abington and worked at the trade for about 
six years. Then he went into his father's 
sawmill and box board and shingle manufac- 
tory, continuing to work for his father for 
several years, during which time he also fol- 
lowed his trade of shoemaking at various in- 
tervals. Mr. Everson has long been active 
in the development of the cranberry growing 
industry, and he is a large owner of cranberry 
bogs, and a member of a number of the cran- 
berry sales companies. He also manufactures 
a cranberry picker known as the Cape Cod 
Champion Cranberry Picker, his own inven- 
tion. He is a stockholder and director of the 
New England Cranberry Sales Company. His 
varied interests are indicative of his enterprise 
and versatile mind, and the success he has 
made in his different undertakings shows his 
executive force. He was a member of the 
United American Mechanics when the associa- 
tion was strong in this section. In political 
preference he is a Republican, in religion a 
believer in Spiritualism. 

On July ^3, 1872, Mr. Everson married 
Mary Robinson Bonney, also of a Hanson 
family, daughter of Josiah and Martha 
(Cobb) Bonney, of Hanson. She was born 
Feb. 21, 1854. They have had four children, 
all born in Hanson, as follows: (1) Mary 
Ella, born Feb. 23, 1873, married (first) 
Feb. 22, 1891, Clarence A. Ford, of Hanson, 
born Dec. 2, 1868, and had : Sarah Bonney, 
born Jan. 25, 1894, and George Clarence, 
born Jan. 10, 1896. Mrs. Ford married (sec- 
ond) April 28, 1906, Edward Conroy, of 
Whitman. (2) Richard Chester, born May 6, 
1878, married Lena Maria Hill, daughter of 
William Hill of Hanson ; they have no chil- 
dren. He is in the trucking and teaming 
business. (3) Charles Russell, born May 21, 
1886, married Oct. 22, 1907, Bertha Fletcher 
Monroe, daughter of John Monroe, of Han- 
son, and they have one son, Russell Monroe, 
horn Feb. 22!^ 1911. (4) Martha Deborah was 
born Feb. 7, 1892. 



1210 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACUUSETTS 



GARDNER. (I) Samuel Gardner, of New- 
port, the progenitor of tlie Swansea family of 
that name, removed in 1687 to Freetown, 
Mass., and in 1693 bought, in partnership with 
Ralph Chapman, of Ebenezer Brenton, a farm 
at Mattapoisett (now Gardner's Neck), South 
Swansea, where he died Dec. 8, 1696. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth, widow of James Brown, and 
daughter of Robert Carr of Newport. She was 
living at the time of his death. Their children 
were : Elizabeth, born in 1684, died Sept. 24:, 
1754 (she married Edward Thurston, of New- 
port, R. I., Jan. 16, 1699) ; Samuel was born 
Oct. 28, 1685; Martha, born Nov. 16, 1686, 
died Oct. 27, 1763 (she married March 23, 
1704, Hezekiah Luther, who died Nov. 2, 1765, 
of smallpox) ; Patience, born Oct. 31, 1687, 
married Thomas Cranston; Sarah, born Nov. 
1, 1692, married Sanuiel Lee. The will of 
Samuel Gardner read as follows: "In the name 
of God, Amen, I, Samuel Gardner, of ye towne 
of Swansey in ye Collony of ye Massachusetts 
in New England and America, being very sick 
& wake in body but of good & perfect memory 
doth declare this prest. instrument to be my 
last will and testament. 

"Impris. I give & bequeth my soul into ye 
hands of Almighty God my Creator & Re- 
deemer & my body to ye earth from whence itt 
came to be decently buried according to ye dis- 
cretion of my executors hereafter named & for 
ye rest of my worldly estate which itt hath 
pleased God Almighty to possess me with I do 
order and dispose of in maner & forme follow- 
ing. 

"Item. Whereas share 'was' was a quarter 
of share of land lying & beiqg att a place 
called Westquidnoag in the Collony of Rhoade 
Island & three pounds of money, give unto my 
Bon Samuell Gardner & my son-in-law Esek 
Browne to be equally divided between them 
both I do freely give three pounds moar for in- 
cordigement toward ye settling of sd quarter 
of share to be divided equally as ye other is. 

"Item. I give & bequeth it my son-in-law 
Esek Browne ye 'slip of land' yt I bought 
of Robert Carr which joynes on James Browne 
Botherly and on sd Robert Carr notherly when 
he Cometh to lawfull age. 

"Item. I give & bequeth unto my well be- 
loved son Samuell Gardner & to my daughters 
Elizabeth, Martha, Sarah & Peacience all ye 
rest of my estates both reall & personall to be 
divided according as my executors shall thing 
fitt betwext them to each of tliem & their eaires 
forever. 

"Lastly, I do appoynt my loving brother 
Robert Gardner & my brother-in-law Robert 



Carr, both of New Port in ye Collony of Rhoad 
Island to be my executors of this my last will 
& testiment & doe give tiiem my sd executors 
full power to actt & doe as they shall see fitt 
to be done for ye benifitt of my above sd chil- 
dren be itt to sell left or dispose of any manor 
of way whatsoever. 

"I do further giv them full power if they se 
cause to sell partt or all of my farme I now 
live on being ye half part of ye neck of land 
called Matapoysett att Swansey in New Eng- 
land. 

"In testimony wherof I ye sd Samuell Gard- 
ner hath hereunto set my hand & efixed my 
seal this twenty-eighth year of ye Rain of our 
Sovarain 'Lor' Williani ye tliird King over 
England Scotland France & Ireland Defender 
of ye faith &c. 

"Samuell Gardner, Seal, 
Signed, sealed & acknowledged in presence of 

James Cole — 

James Brown — 

'M.' T. Cole— 

The X Mark 

Joanna 'Conant' 

The X mark of Mary Earle." 
"The above written will being not legally 
proved in regard the witnesses cannot swear 
that the testator was of sound memory and of 
well disposing minde but upon their oath have 
according to their apprehensions declared the 
contrary whereupon the sd will being voyde 
administration is granted to the widow as the 
law directs as attests. 

Jno. Saffin, 
Feb. 16, 1686-87. J. Probate." 

[This copy was duly authenticated by Ar- 
thur M. Alger, Register of Bristol County, 
Mass., July 8, 1903, under seal of the Probate 
Court.] 

(II) Samuel Gardner (2), son of Samuel, 
was horn Oct. 28, 1685. He was married Dec. 
6. 1707, by Gov. Samuel Cranston, to Hannah, 
born Dec' 20, 1688, daughter of Philip and 
Mary Smith. He died Feb. 10, 1773, and she 
passed away Nov. 16, 1768. Issue: Elizabeth, 
born Nov. 11, 1708, married Ambrose Barna- 
bv; Marv, born Oct. 26, 1710, married Bar- 
nard Hiil: Samuel, born Oct. 30, 1712, died 
young; Sanniel, born Feb. 17, 1717; Peleg, 
born Feb. 22, 1719: Patience, Feb. 17, 1721, 
married Dr. John Turner; Hannah, born in 
1724, died Dec. 24, 1811, married Caleb Tur- 
ner; Sarah, born in 1726. died Feb. 29, 1808. 
married John Mason ; Edward, born April 22, 
1731, died in 1795, married Esther Mason; 
and Martlia married Job Mason. 

(III) Peleg Gardner, son of Samuel (2), 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1211 



born Feb. 22, 1719, married Dec. 20, 1730, Han- 
nah, daughter of James and Sarah (Stephen- 
son) Sweet, of Prudence Island. He died 
Aug. 10, 1789, his widow on Oct. 7, 1792. 
Children: (1) Sarah, born March 7, 17 H, 
married June 10, 17tiO, Charles Slade, born 
June 10, 1736, who died Nov. 14, 1827. (2) 
Mary, born Oct. 11, 1742, married Nov. 8, 
1761, Job Anthony, born Dec. 8, 1736, who 
died Jan. 15. 1763; she then married (second) 
Zephaniah Sherman, and later (third) Caleb 
Sherman, and died April 5, 1810. (3) Peleg, 
born April 2, 1744, is mentioned below. (4) 
Martha, born Sept. 20, 1745, married p]lisha 
Burr, and died Oct. 20, 1797. (5) Edward, 
born Feb. 19, 1747, died Nov. 9, 1820, married 
Dec. 22, 1776, Elizabeth Brown, who was 
horn Oct. 7, 1756, and died Oct. 28, 1838. (6) 
James, born Aug. 27, 1748, married Prudence 
Chase, and (second) Susan (Tripp) Johnson. 
(7) Alexander, born March 10, 1750, died 
March 27, 1818, married Anne Luther, widow 
of William Chace. (8) Joseph, born Aug. 1, 
1752, died June 1, 1753. (9) Joseph (2), 
born Jan. 7, 1754, died March 14, 1838, mar- 
ried Hannah Slade, who died July 5, 1832. 
(10) John, born April 24, 1755, married Bet- 
sey Slade. (11) Phebe, born May 18, 1756, 
died Oct. 31, 1792. (12) Hannah, born Jan. 
11, 1759, married Philip Luther. (13) Sam- 
uel, born June 15, 1760, married Avis Sher- 
man; he died Feb. 7, 1841. (14) Caleb, born 
Sept. 27, 1762, married Seabury McKoon. 
(15) Job, born Julv 8, 1764, died Nov. 10, 
1787. (16) PartheHia. born Marcli 16, 1767, 
died May 6, 1851, married Job Luther. 

(IV) Peleg Gardner (2), born April 2, 
1744, married Jan. 26, 1766, Lydia Simmons, 
of Freetown, daughter of Nathan Simmons. 
He died Feb. 27, 1814, and she died May 6, 
1826. Cl^ildren: Nathan, born July 30, 
.17(i7, married Dec. 26, 1794, Keziah Mason; 
Lydia, born Jan. 29, 1769, died May 27, 1835, 
married Simeon Jones, July 29, 1789; Peleg, 
Jr., born May 2, 1771, married Nov. 22, 1792, 
Anne Gardner, daughter of Samuel and Eliza- 
beth (Anthony) Gardner; Henry, born Jan. 
14, 1773, is mentioned below; Abraham, born 
Feb. 21, 1775, married July 8, 1802, Rebecca 
Brown; Jonathan, born Nov. 29, 1777, died 
August, 1800; Mary, born Feb. 8, 1780, mar- 
ried Varnum Thurston ; Hannah, born March 
14, 1782, died Aug. 18, 1828, married Feb. 
21, 1805, Jeremiah Brown; Susanna, born 
March 20, 1784, died Dec. 3, 1875, married a 
Mr. Simmons; Lovice, born Oct. 17, 1786, died 
Sept. 1, 1875, married May 26, 1811, Joseph 
Gardner, son of Edward and Elizabeth 



(Brown) Gardner; Martin, born March 15, 
1789, married Thomas Gray and (second) 
Clark Chase; Jeremiah, born Nov. 8, 1794, 
died Oct. 5, 1862, married April 26, 1818, 
Susan Pierce, daughter of Obadiah and Susan 
(Luther) Pierce. 

(V) Capt. Henry Gardner, born Jan. 14, 
1773, died July 15, 1851. On Jan. 8, 1800, 
he married Parthenia Gardner, born Nov. 28, 
1781, died Dec. 30, 1844, daughter of William 
and Zerviah (McKoon) Gardner. In the old 
Bible record her name is spelled Parthany. 
Children: Henry, born June 20, 1802, died 
December, 1872; Jonathan, born Oct. 4, 1805, 
died Jan. 8, 1862; William R., born Dec. 28, 
1807, died Dec. 28, 1809: William Richmond, 
born Feb. 26, 1810, died April 16, 1886; 
Charles, born April 10, 1812, died Sept. 15, 
1843; Seraphine, born Aug. 18, 1815, died 
May 15, 1843; Caroline, bom March 27, 1818, 
died Sept. 15, 1843; Parthenia Augusta, born 
in xVpril, 1820, died March 2G, 1909 (she mar- 
ried John Mason) ; Francis B., born Feb. 27, 
1822, died Nov. 20, 1880 ; Sophia Mason, bom 
March 25, 1826, died Feb. 4, 1903 (she mar- 
ried Rev. Edward Cowley). Capt. Henry 
(Jardner was a seafaring man and was engaged 
in tlie West India trade. He made his home 
on Gardners Neck in Swansea. 

(VI) Henry Gardner, son of Capt. Henry, 
born June 20, 1802, died in December, 1872. 
He married Elizabeth, daughter of Nathan 
Bosworth, of Swansea, and their children were 
liorn as follows: Leander Everett. April 8, 
1838; Evelyn F., Feb. 26, 1840 (deceased); 
Josephine B., July 15, 1841 (died in infancy) ; 
George H., March 14, 1843 (married Elizabeth 
H. Smith and resides at the Sailors' home, 
Staten Island, N. Y.); Sylvester Child, July 
2, 1845 (married Mary A. Brightman and re- 
sides in South Swansea) ; William Francis, 
May 2, 1847 (married Esther M. Cook and is 
deceased); Anna B., July 24, 1849; Newton 
Ilalsey, July 26, 1850 (rnarried Nancy Maple 
and resides in Somerset) ; Caroline, March 
27, 1852 (married Edward M. Thurston and 
is deceased) : Harriet Ella, July 27, 1853 
(deceased) ; Henry. April 22, 1855 (married 
Caroline H. Hodges, and lives in Newton, 
Kans.) ; Benjamin B., March 25, 1858 (mar- 
ried Katharine F. Gardner, and they reside in 
Swansea); Dana L., Feb. 10, 1860 (married 
Kate Macomber and is deceased). 

(VII) TvE.\NDER Everett Gardner, born 
April 8, 1838, son of Henry and Elizabeth 
(Bosworth) Gardner, married Feb. 12. 1865, 
Mary Anna Cole, daughter of William B. and 
Hannah (Wheaton) Cole. She was born Oct. 



1212 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



13, 1844, and died June 10, 1901. Children: 
A daughter, born Marcli 23, 1808, died' March 
29, 1868; Willard Child, born Nov. 11, 1809, 
married Oct. 26, 1892, Caroline Elizabeth Bar- 
ney, born Jan. 27, 1872, and has two children, 
Madora (born March 25, 1895) and Marcia 
Elizabetli (horn July 3, 1898); Arthur Leon- 
ard, born May 6, 1875, died Sept. 13, 1875 ; 
Clarence Irving, born Feb. 25, 1877, died 
Sept. 4, 1877; Roswell C, born Feb. 25, 1877, 
died Sept. 6, 1877. 

Leander E. Gardner was born on the old 
homestead at Gardner's Neck, Swansea, and 
there attended school. In August, 1857, he 
went to Lee Center, 111., where he attended 
school until March, 1859, when he returned 
home. On Feb. 10, 1860, he sailed for Cali- 
fornia, going via Panama. For two years he 
was on a stock ranch there and after a severe 
attack of pleura pneumonia returned to his 
home in Swansea, remaining on the home farm 
thereafter until he married. Then for two 
years he lived on a farm at Gardner's Neck, 
rented the home farm for five years, and then 
bought a place at Woodville. For seven years 
he was foreman on Frank S. Stevens's place in 
Swansea. In 1893 he bought his present farm, 
and cleared the timber from most of it. Since 
a sudden attack of heart failure in 1897, he has 
not engaged in active work. However, for a 
luan of more than threescore years and ten he 
is remarkably rugged and well preserved, and 
says that he never felt better in his life. Three 
different times he has lost all he had in the 
world, but his courage was never lost, and for- 
tune smiled again. 



(VI) Jonathan Gardner, son of Capt. 
Henry, born Oct. 4, 1805, was a farmer and 
died Jan. 8, 1862. He was a member of the 
First Christian Church. On May 10, 1840, 
he married Sarah Slade. who was born in 1816, 
daughter of William and Mary (Sherman) 
Slade, and died Sept. 25, 1841. " On March 9, 
1843, he married (second) Rebecca Chase, 
born April 18, 1818, daughter of Samuel and 
Mary Chase. There was one child by the first 
marriage, born and died in September, 1841. 
By the second union there were four children : 
Leland, born April 21. 1844 ; Willard, born 
Oct. 28, 1846, who died April 17, 1847; 
Charles II., born Nov. 29, 1848; and Mary E., 
born May 8, 1851, who married Howard Wood, 
son of Seth and Mary (Carver) Wood. 

(VII) Leland Gardner, born April 21, 1844, 
■was educated in Swansea, engaged in farming 
at Gardner's Neck all his life, and was a mem- 
ber of the First Christian Church. He mar- 



ried May 23, 1869, Clara Hathaway, who was 
born April 8, 1845, daughter of Anthony and 
Emeliiie (Pierce) Hathaway, of Somerset, 
'i'liey had two children, Francis L., born Oct. 
25, 1871, and Chester R., born Nov. 10, 1875. 

(VIII) Francis Leland Gardneu, who was 
born Oct. 25, 1871, at Gardner's Neck, in 
South Swansea, was educated in tlie public 
scliools of his native town, the Warren (R. I.) 
high school and the Bryant & Stratton busi- 
ness college. Providence. He is extensively 
engaged in market gardening and his green- 
houses, built in 1894, have 50,000 square feet 
of glass. The greenhouse produce is shipped 
to the New York market, and after tlie middle 
of May most of the shipments are to Provi- 
dence. Mr. Gardner built his present beauti- 
ful residence at South Swansea, a house which 
shows culture and excellent taste. He has 
served his town well in public affairs. For 
several years he was town auditor, and since 
1904 has been selectman of the town. Politi- 
cally lie is a Republican, and socially a member 
of Mount Hope Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. On June 
27, 1900, Mr. Gardner married Etta L., daugh- 
ter of David B. Gardner, of Swansea Center. 
They have had two cliildren : Emily F., bom 
May 12, 1903, who died March 17, 1904; and 
Rachel L., born April 26, 1909. 

(VIII) Chester R. Gardner was bom 
Nov. 10, 1875, at Gardner's Neck, South 
Swansea. He attended public schools and 
the Fall River high school, and the Bryant 
& Stratton business college. Providence, 
and is now associated in business with 
his brother. He married Alice Cleveland of 
Somerset, and they have had two children : 
Ra>-mond C, born April 12, 1904, who died 
Feb. 25, 1905 ; Calvin L., born May 2, 1906. 

(VII) Charles H. Gardner, son of Jona- 
than and Rebecca (Chase) Gardner, born Nov. 
29, 1848, died June 8, 1903. He farmed all 
his life. Mr. Gardner was a member of the 
First Christian Church and of Mount Hope 
Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. He married March 25, 
1884. Emma E., daughter of Benjamin Taylor 
and Parthenia Chase (Baker) Butfington, the 
latter also of Swansea, and their children were 
born as follows: Irving J., Nov. 3, 1885; Ar- 
thur R., Nov. 26, 1887; Merrill B., Feb. 16, 
1889: Charles E., Feb. 21, 1890; Helen R., 
April 19, 1893; Lois Isabel. Jan. 18, 1899. 

(N'lII) Irving J. Gardner, son of Charles 
H. and Emma E. (Buflington) Gardner, was 
born in Swansea, Mass.. Nov. 3, 1885, and 
married Oct. 6, 1908, Bertha Louise Horton, 
of Dighton. Mass. Thev have one child, Rus- 
sell Horton, born July 1, 1909. 



southeastp:rx Massachusetts 



1213 



(III) Samuel Gardner (3), son of Samuel 
(2), was born Feb. 17, 1717. He married Oct. 

30, 1740, Content Brayton, daughter of Pre- 
served and Content Brayton. Issue : Eliza- 
beth, born in 1741, married Samuel Luther; 
Anne, born Feb. 26, 1743, married Richard 
Barton; Samuel, born March 5, 1745, married 
Elizabeth Anthony; Israel was born April 14, 
1747; Israel (2), born March 29, 1748, mar- 
ried Elizabeth ; Parthenia was 

born Sept. 3, 1750; William, born Sept. 12, 
1753, married Zerviah McKoon; Hannah, born 
March 3, 1756, married Capt. Simeon Cock- 
ran; Patience, born Nov. 15, 1758, married 
Dr. Jonathan Anthony; Mary, born Dec. 25, 
1760, married Caleb Mason; Content was born 
July 11, 1764; Stephen, born Aug. 4, 1766, 
married Marv Lee; Parthenia (2), born Aug. 
11, 1767, married Elias D. Trafton. 

(IV) Stephen Gardner, twelfth child of 
Samuel and Content Gardner, born Aug. 4, 
1766, married July 22, 1788, Mary Lee, 
daughter of John and Avis (Anthony) Lee. 
He died Nov. 26, 1819, and she passed away 
June 20, 1829. Children: Mary, John, Bet- 
sey, Israel, Lvdia, Phillip, Eliza and Avis. 

"(V) Israel' Gardner, born May 5, 1797, died 
Aug. 29, 1882. On March 22, -1827, he mar- 
ried Elizabeth Brown, daughter of James and 
Elizabeth (Kingsley) Brown, born May 15, 
1797, died Sept. 23, 1882. They had children 
as follows: David B., born May 13, 1828; 
Mary S., born Dec. 17, 1829, who married 
Enoch Chace, of Somerset, Mass. ; Jerome B., 
horn March 17, 1832, deceased, who married 
Carrie Dale; Elizabeth K., born Oct. 15, 1833, 
■who died young; Stephen M., born July 2, 
1835, who married April 30, 1863, Fannie M. 
Slade, and resided in Swansea; Andrew J., 
born Nov. 1, 1836, died Jan. 14, 1908, who 
married Elizabeth (Earl) Mason (they have 
a son, Frederick) ; Rachel L., born Feb. 22, 
1840, who married John Mason, (second) 
Daniel C. Mason, and (third) Nathan M. 
Wood. 

(VI) David B. Gardner, born May 13, 1828, 
died at' his home in Swansea, Oct. 15, 1908. 
On Feb. 17, 1856, he married Mary A. Eddy, 
who was born July 13, 1838, daughter of 
Jabez and Betsey (Sherman) Eddy, who out- 
lived him. Four children were born to them : 
(1) Nora, born Oct. 11, 1858, married Wil- 
liam H. Gilford, superintendent of a hat fac- 
tory at Wrentham, Mass.. and resides at Swan- 
sea. Thev have a daughter, Louise J., who 
married Henry M. Boss, Jr., a lawyer of 
Providence, R. I., and has one daughter, Bet- 
sey. (2) Arnold Douglass, born March 19, 



1862, married Editli M. Arnold, daughter of 
Willard U. Arnold and granddaughter of Dea- 
con Edmund Arnold, and they have two chil- 
dren, David Brown an<l Edwin C. (3) Car- 
rie Dale, born Sept. 23, 1867, married Alex- 
ander B. Gilford, and their children are Earl, 
Etta, Elizabeth, Carrie, Ruth and Alexander. 
This family lives in Warren, R. I. (4) Etta 
Lee, born Sept. 22, 1871, married Francis L. 
Gardner. 

David B. Gardner was born in Swansea, 
Mass., where he passed his early life, going 
in 1849 to the swamps of North Carolina for 
the purpose of manufacturing shingles, receiv- 
ing for his services at first $10 per month. He 
returned to the North in 1850 and engaged in 
the marine freight business on the Connecticut 
river for the late Samuel Gray of Swansea. 
He again went to North Carolina and on his 
return embarked with Capt. John Forrester 
on the sloop "Artist." He in all performed 
service on some eight vessels, acting many 
times as captain and during his various sails 
he was not without some thrilling experiences. 
At one time, while on the "Artist," she was 
caught in a "white squall" while conveying 
clay from Staten Island, and so violent was 
the storm that the mast was carried away off 
Point Judith. As stated at times during the 
Captain's absence Mr. Gardner was in com- 
mand. Accompanied by Captain Davis, Mr. 
Gardner made the quickest trip the "Artist" 
ever sailed; this was from Bristol, R. I., to 
New York, which was made in twenty-four 
hours. Captain Gardner and his wife lived 
to celebrate their golden wedding, the event 
occurring Feb. 17, 1906. After his marriage 
Mr. Gardner settled down to farming in Swan- 
sea. He ever took an interest in town affairs, 
serving at one time as constable. He had a 
large circle of friends. 

Captain Gardner was a member of Christ 
Church. He was also a member of the 
Masonic fraternity, of Temple Chapter, No. 3, 
and Webb Council, No. 3, both of Warren, R. 
I. It should have been stated in the foregoing 
that at one time back in the middle sixties of 
the last century Mr. Gardner was in charge of 
the ferry boat at Slade's ferry. 

(VII) Arnold Douglass Gardner spent his 
school days in Swansea. He began farming 
when a yoimg man, and in 1885 built the 
house opposite his present home. In 1895 he 
came to the home farm, where he had lived 
from the age of six years, and during the last 
five years he has engaged in the dairy busi- 
ness. For twelve years he has been deputy 
sheriff, was constable of the town for several 



1214 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



years, and member of the school committee. 
He is a Past Noble Grand of Mount Hope 
Lodge No. 63. I. 0. 0. F., Fall River; mem- 
ber of King Philip Lodge, A. F. & A. M.; 
Temple Chapter, No. 3, Warren ; Webb Council, 
No. 3, Warren; Godfrey de Bouillon Com- 
mandery, Fall River; Palestine Temple, 
Providence. He has taken the Rebekah degree 
in Odd Fellowship and is a trustee of the 
Rebekahs, Dorothy Brown Lodge. He is a 
member of the First Christian Church of 
Swansea. A Republican in politics, he has been 
active in tlie party, serving on the Town Com- 
mittee for several years. 

On Jan. 21, 1886, Mr. Gardner married 
Edith M. Arnold, and they have two children, 
David Brown and Edwin C. 

PACKARD. The grant of the plantation 
of ancient Bridge water was made in 1645, but 
the actual settlement was not commenced until 
after 1650, the first lots being taken up in 
West Bridgewater, and there the first house 
was built and the first improvements made. 
This was the first interior settlement of the 
Old Colony. Since the coming to this Bridge- 
water settlement of Samuel Packard, as early 
as 1664 (which was the year of the ordination 
of the first minister of the town, Rev. James 
Keith), to the present time, for nearly two 
hundred and fifty years, the Packard family 
has been one prominent and influential in the 
region of the old town, out of which have since 
come a number of towns. And it has become 
a most numerous family, too, many of its mem- 
bers both at home and abroad having given a 
good account of themselves, their names being 
enrolled as distinguished educators, clergymen, 
physicians, authors, soldiers, merchants and 
manufacturers, all of whom descended from 
Samuel Packard. This article is to treat in 
main with the branch of the family which has 
continued its residence in the North Parish 
of ancient Bridgewater, a parish that so con- 
tinued until 1831, when it became the town of 
North Bridgewater, the name of which in. 1874 
was changed to Brockton. There were no per- 
manent settlements in the North Parish until 
after the year 1700, the first settlers being prin- 
cipally descendants of the first settlers of 
Bridgewater. 

(I) Samuel Packard, which name in the 
early records of both Hingliam and Bridge- 
water was spelled "Packer," came from Wind- 
ham, near Hingham, in England, with his 
wife and child, in the ship "Diligence," of 
Ipswich, in 1638, and settled in Hingham, 
Mass., where he was a proprietor in the same 



year. He later removed to West Bridgewater,. 
where he was constable in 1664, and licensed 
to keep a tavern in 1670. From his will, pro- 
hated March 3, 1684-85, it appears the Chris- 
tian name of his wife was Elizabeth. His- 
children were : Elizabeth, Samuel, Zaccheus, 
Thomas, John, Nathaniel, Mary, Hannah, Is- 
rael, Jael, Deborah and Deliverance. 

(II) Zaccheus Packard, son of Samuel, mar- 
ried Sarah Howard, daughter of John Howard, 
who was one of the first settlers of Bridgewater, 
and their children were : Israel, Sarah, Jona- 
than, David. 'Solomon, James, Zaccheus, Jr., 
John and Abiel, the last six sons becoming 
early settlers in the Nortii Parish of Bridge- 
water. The father died Aug. 3, 1723. 

(III) David Packard, son of Zaccheus. born 
Feb. 11. 1687. married Dec. 17, 1712, Han- 
nah Ames, daughter of John Ames, and their 
children were : David, Jr., W'illiam, Hannah, 
Isaac, Mary, Ebenezer, Abiah, Mehitable and 
Jane. David Packard, the father, died Nov. 3, 
1755, and his wife Jan. 10, 1767. 

(IV) Ebenezer Packard, son of David, was 
born Feb. 25. 1724. and died June 20. 1803. 
On Feb. 25, 1746, he married Sarah Perkins, 
daughter of Mark Perkins. She died March 
12, 1810, aged eighty-five years. Their chil- 
dren were: Alice, who married Eliab Packard; 
Ebenezer, Jr., who married Mary Reynolds; 
Eunice, who married William Jameson : Jonas, 
who married Mehitable Brett ; Adin, who mar- 
ried Keziah Phinney ; Matthew, who married 
Keziah Perkins ; Eliphalet, who married Lydia 
Barrell; Robert, who married Ruth Barrell ; 
Joel, who married Harmony Kingman; Lot, 
who married Mary Nelson and removed to 
Maine; Noah, who married Polly Packard, and 
removed to Maine; and Joseph, who married 
Susanna Bates. 

(V) Jonas Packard, son of Ebenezer, was 
born June 4, 1752, and died Jan. 22, 1835. 
He married Sept. 11, 1777, Mehitable Brett, 
daughter of Samuel and Hannah (Packard) 
Brett. She died Aug. 13, 1821. Their chil- 
dren were: John, who married Martha French; 
Eunice, who married Josiah Brett ; Jonas, Jr., 
who married Susan Brainard, and removed to 
Readfield, Maine; Mehitable; Moses; Hannah; 
Lucinda, who married Capt. David Ames ; 
David, who married Elizabeth Drake; Sibil; 
and Joel. 

A Jonas Packard was a private in Captain 
SnelTs comi)any. Colonel Mitchell's regiment, 
serving U\Q weeks and two days (mileage out 
of home — 93 miles — allowed) ; company 
marched to Rhode Island on the alarm of Dec. 
8, 1776; roll indorsed "Alarm to Providence." 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



121c 



Also Capt. Nathan Packard's company, Maj. 
Eliphalet Cary's regiment; marched July 30, 
1780; discharged Aug. 1, 17S0 — service, three 
days; company marched to Khode Island on 
an alarm. Also 10th Company, Plymouth 
County regiment, list of men who performed 
tours of duty. Said Packard credited with 
fifteen days service on an alarm at Rhode Is- 
land in 1780 (Mass. Soldiers and Sailors of 
the Revolutionary war. Vol. XI, pp. 737-8). 

(VI) Jolm Packard, son of Jonas, was born 
Sept. 30, 1779, in North Bridgewater, and died 
Jan. 8, 1SG2. He was engaged in farming in 
North Bridgewater, where his life was spent. 
He was an active and consistent member of the 
First Congregational Church, and became one 
of the first members of the Porter Congrega- 
tional Church when the latter was organized 
in 1850, remaining an active member of same 
until his death. On Jan. 17, 1802, he mar- 
ried Martlia French, daughter of William 
French, and after her death he married (sec- 
ond) in 1817 Lydia Drake. To the first mar- 
riage were born children as follows : Josiah, 
born July 24, 1803, went to Wisconsin, where 
he died : Mary French, born Feb. 2, 1805, died 
unmarried ; Almira, born Nov. 27, 1806, mar- 
ried Zenas Brett ; Philo French, born Dec. 9, 
1808, married (first) Martha S. Pray and 

'(second) Mary W. Smith; Sidney, born March 
9 (or 12), 1811, married ' Sarah Packard. To 
the second marriage was born one son, Eliph- 
alet, Feb. 15, 1825, who married Elizabeth 
S. Nye. 

(VII) Sidney Packard, son of John and 
Martha (French) Packard, was born March 
12 (or 9), 1811, in North Bridgewater, and 
in his boyhood his time was occupied in acquir- 
ing a schooling in the district schools of his 
native town, assisting his father in the work on 
the farm, and at making shoes, as was the rule 
wath boys of his day. Later he engaged in 
business on his own account, opening a general 
store at the corner of Main and East Market 
streets, where he continued in business for 
some years, when he removed to the opposite 
side of Main street, into a building which had 
been built for him by Josiah W. Kingman, 
and there he continued successfully engaged as 
a general merchant until about 1864, in which 
year he sold the business to Embert Howard 
and Ziba C. Keith. Mr. Packard then went 
to Springfield, Mass., where he established 
himself in the clothing business, and for a 
period of about twenty years was successfully 
engaged in that business in the latter city, 
during a part of that time also conducting a 
clothing store in Athol, Mass. Mr. Packard 



was one of the early Free-soilers, but upon 
the organization of the Republican party, al- 
lied himself with the latter. Of a quiet, home- 
loving nature, he never cared for or sought 
public office. While living at Campello he was 
an active member and a constant attendant of 
the South Congregational Church, and during 
his residence in Springfield was an equally 
active member of the State Street Ba])tist 
Church, serving for a number of years on the 
standing committee of the church. On Oct. 
2, 1831, Mr. Packard was married to Sarah 
Loring Packard, daughter of Caleb and Sally 
(Packard) Packard, of West Bridgewater, and 
to this union were born children as follows: 
Martha Williams, born June 20, 1832, married 
George F. Green, of Wareham, Mass., and later 
of Campello, where they both died, she Nov. 2, 
1904,' and he March 8, 1810; Sidney Edwards, 
born April 6, 1841, is mentioned below; and 
Philo Green, born Dec. 25, 1843, died March 
6, 1845. Mrs. Packard died in Springfield, 
Mass., Nov. 10, 1881, aged seventy-three years, 
and Mr. Packard died there March 11, 1886. 

(VIII) Sidney Edwakds Packard, son of 
Sidney and Sarah Loring (Packard) Packard, 
w^as born April 6, 1841, in North Bridgewater, 
now Brockton, and in the common schools 
there received his education, his time out of 
school being occupied in assisting his father in 
the store. At the age of seventeen he left 
school, and at once began clerking in his 
father's general store, which he was then con- 
ducting in. Campello. As stated above this 
store was sold to Howard & Keith in about 
1864, and the father removed to Springfield, 
Mass., where he opened a clothing store, and 
the son accompanied the father and family to 
the latter city, and there continued as a clerk 
in his father's employ. Some few years later 
Mr. Packard became a partner of his father, 
the firm name then becoming S. Packard & 
Co., and he continued a partner in the clothing 
business at Springfield until 1885, in which 
year he returned to Campello, where he built 
a factory on Station avenue and established 
himself in business as a manufacturer of paper 
boxes of various kinds, particularly for the 
shoe trade, in which business he has since suc- 
cessfully engaged. In 1891 Mr. Packard took 
his son, Fred L., into partner.ship with him, 
the firm name then becoming S. E. Packard 
& Son. This concern is extensively engaged 
in the manufacture of shoe cartons and fancy 
paper boxes for the jobbing trade, giving em- 
ployment to about seventy-five hands at the 
Campello plant, and at the plant in Rockland, 
Mass., about fifty hands. 



1216 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



In political faith Mr. Packard is a Repub- 
lican, but being of a quiet nature he has never 
sought public office, devoting himself to his 
business and his home. He belongs to Cam- 
pello Lodge, No. 30, A. 0. U. W. He is a 
consistent and faithful member of the South 
Congregational Church, of C'ampello, of which 
he was organist for a number of years- prior 
to his removal to Springfield. While a resident 
of Springfield he attended the State Street 
Baptist Church, of which he served for several 
years as organist, and was also a member of the 
standing committee of the church for a term 
of years. 

On Nov. 20, 1864, Mr. Packard was married 
to Helen Maria Keith, who was born in North 
Bridgewater Oct. 22, 184.3, daughter of the 
late Franklin and Betsey (Bailey) Keith, and 
a direct descendant in the eighth generation 
from Rev. James Keith, who came from Aber- 
deen, Scotland, to America, and was the first 
ordained minister of Bridgewater, and his 
wife, Susanna Edson. Mrs. Packard, who was 
a devoted and affectionate wife and mother, 
and a consistent Christian woman, passed 
away Dec. 21, 1894, on board a train at 
Gallup, N. Mex., while traveling between Ari- 
zona and New Mexico on account of ill health. 
She was accompanied by her husband and 
daughter. Her remains were brought to 
Brockton, where they rest in the Union ceme- 
tery. Mr. and Mrs. Packard had three chil- 
dren, all born at Springfield, Mass., as fol- 
lows : Fred Loring, born Aug. 26, 1866, is 
mentioned below; Bessie Keith, born April 2, 
1873, resides at home ; Frank Edwards, born 
Sept. 21, 1878, is in the employ of the George 
E. Keith Company, and is at home, unmarried. 

(IX) Fred Lorixg P.aokard, son of Sidney 
E. and the late Helen Maria (Keith) Packard, 
was born Aug. 26, 1866, in Springfield, Mass., 
and in the public schools and high school of 
,his native city received his literary training. 
In 1884, at the age of eighteen years, he came 
to Campello, and entered the office of the 
George E. Keith shoe factory, where for a 
period of about five years he was employed 
in a clerical position. He then was employed 
in his father's paper box factory, where he 
had been but a short time when his father 
admitted him to partnership, the firm becom- 
ing S. E. Packard & Son. and under that name 
the firm has since been known. 

Fraternally Mr. Packard is a member of 
St. George Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Campello ; 
and of Campello Lodge, No. 227, I. 0. 0. F. 
His social connections are with the Com- 
mercial Club and the Brockton Country Club. 



In political faith he is a believer in the prin- 
ciples of tlie Republican party, while in local 
affairs he takes a neutral stand. He was one 
of the incorporators of the People's Savings 
Bank, of Brockton. 

On June 24, 1889, Mr. Packard was mar- 
ried to Jennie E. Lord, daughter of Charles 
H. and Ellen J. (Reynolds) Lord, of Brock- 
ton, and this union has been blessed with two 
children: Cedric I>ord, born May 24, 1890; 
and Sidney Raymond, born Sept. 7, 1893. Mr. 
and ]\Irs. Packard are members of the South 
Congregational Church, of Campello. 

CAPT. LOT HASKELL GIBBS, late of 
New Bedford, was one of the oldest mariners 
of that port at the time of his decease. He 
began his seafaring life at the early age of 
fourteen j'ears, and after commanding a vessel 
for over twenty years retired from active 
marine duties, but was engaged in business 
pursuits until his death. A substantial and 
well-known citizen of New Bedford, he left 
a name honored through long association with 
its interests. Captain Gibbs was a descendant 
of an old Cape Cod family and was born at 
Rochester, Plymouth Co., Mass., Feb. 17, 
1830. 

John Gibbs, the Captain's great-grand- 
father, was a resident of Sandwich, Barn- 
stable Co., Mass., where he made his home and 
where he died. 

Caleb Gibbs, son of John, was born in the 
town of Sandwich and there made his home. 
He followed the sea, being engaged in the 
coastwise trade, and spent his life in the town 
of Sandwich, where he raised a large family, 
most of his sons following a seafaring life and 
becoming men of prominence as whaling mas- 
ters. He died Feb. 27, 1847, aged eighty-two. 

George Crocker Gibbs, son of Caleb, was 
born at Monument, in what is now the town 
of Bourne (then the town of Sandwich), and 
moved to Rochester, where he married Mary 
Cotton Haskell, daughter of Lot and Eliza- 
beth (Cotton) Haskell, and a descendant of 
Rev. John Cotton, who was one of the first 
settlers of Halifax, Mass. ' Captain Gibbs fol- 
lowed a seafaring life like his father and wa3 
a master mariner, and he had six sons, five of 
whom followed the sea and became masters of 
vessels. He died on board his vessel, the 
"Pawgasset," May 22, 1849, off Charleston, 
S. C, and was buried in the Rural cemetery 
at New Bedford. His children were : George 
C, John C, Cliarles H., Lot H., Joseph B., 
Mary Lncretia (who married Charles T. Bon- 
ney) and Joshua E. 



SOUTH EASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1217 



Lot Haskell (Jibbs, son of C'apt. (ieorge C 
and Mary C. (Haskell) tiibbs, was born in 
the town of Kochester and there attended 
sohool. In 1846 the family moved to New 
Bedford, where they ever after made their 
home. Previous to this, w'heu only fourteen 
jears old. Lot H. Gibbs made his first voyage 
to sea, shipping on his father's vessel in 1844. 
He continued a seafaring life for upward of 
a third of a century, meantime, at the age of 
twenty-one, becoming master of a vessel in 
the merchant service. For twenty-two years 
he served as master in the coast trade, in 1873 
giving up the sea and starting business for 
himself in New Bedford. His first venture 
■was in the grocery and ship chandlery line, 
"which he continued with much success for a 
period of eight years, when he became engaged 
in the ship brokerage business. He also began 
-dealing in lumber, largely in box boards, 
•which he sliipped in quantities to the New 
York and Philadelphia markets, making a 
notable success of that business, in which he 
■was engaged up to his death. He died at his 
home in New Bedford Sept. 2, 1904, and was 
laid to rest in Rural cemetery. He ■tt'as a 
member of Star in the East Lodge, A. F. & 
A. M. In politics he was a Republican, but 
not active in party affairs. He was an at- 
tendant of the Trinitarian Church. 

On Dec. 5, IBBT, Captain Gibbs married, 
in Rochester, Mass., Jane W. Leonard, a 
native of that town, and to them were born 
two children: (1) Elizabeth Leonard, born 
Dec. 15, 1868, married Rolland N. Van Bus- 
kirk, of New York, and died Nov. 28, 1902, 
the mother of two children, Elizabeth and 
Eleanor. (2) George Crocker, born Dec. 16, 
1878, in New Bedford, attended the public 
and high schools of that city and the Massa- 
chusetts Institute of Technology at Boston, 
■where he graduated in the civil engineering 
co^ursp. He followed the profession for some 
time, ■when he took up the study of theology, 
and is now a student at the Episcopal Theo- 
logical School at Cambridge, preparing for 
holy orders in the Episcopal Church. 

Mrs. Gibbs still makes her home in New 
Bedford. She is a member of the Trinitarian 
Church. Her ancestors, the Leonards, are 
among the oldest and best known families of 
southeastern Massachusetts, and her line from 
James Leonard, the first of the family in this 
country, is through Benjamin, Joseph, Philip, 
George, George and Theodore W. T.eonard. 

(I) James Leonard, the immigrant settler 
of this family at Taunton, was from Ponty- 
|)Ool, Monmouthshire, Wales, son of Thomas 

77 



Leonard. lie and his brother Heni^ estab- 
lished the forge at Taunton (now Raynham), 
and the Leonards were probably in most if not 
all of tlie iron-works established in this coun- 
try within the first century after its settle- 
ment ; and it is a remarkable fact that down 
to within comparatively recent years the busi- 
ness of iron manufacturing has continued in 
the hands of the l^eonards, without interrup- 
tion. James Leonard and his sons often 
traded with the Indians, with whom they were 
on such terms of friendship that when the 
war broke out King Philip instructed his men 
never to hurt the Leonards. James Leonard 
was dead in 1691 ; his wife Margaret, who 
survived him, was mother to all his children. 
She died about 1701. The children were: 
Thomas, born Aug. 3, 1641 ; James, born 
about 1643; Abigail; Rebecca; Joseph, born 
about 1655; Benjamin; Hannah, and Uriah. 

(II) Benjamin Leonard, son of James, 
married Jan. 15, 1678-79, Sarah Thresher, 
and their children were: Sarah, born May 21, 
1680; Benjamin. Jan. 25, 1G82 ; Hannah, 
Nov. 8, 1685; Jerusha, June 25, 1689; Han- 
nah (2), Dec. 8, 1691; Joseph, Jan. 22, 1692- 
93; and Henry, Nov. 8, 1695. 

(III) Joseph Leonard, son of Benjamin, 
born Jan. 22, 1692-93, had children: George, 
who lived in Middleboro, Mass. ; Chloe ; Eph- 
raim, and Philip. Of these, Chloe married 
Eliphalet Elmes, of Middleboro, a soldier of 
the Revolution, who died in 1830, aged sev- 
enty-seven years; she died in 1843, aged 
eighty-three. Ephraim married Mary Pratt, 
and lived in Middleboro; his children were: 
James (of Middleboro), Jane (wife of I. 0. 
Perkins, of Boston), Sarah (wife of Orlando 
Thompson, of New Bedford) and Betsey 
(wife of J. Drake, of Boston). 

(IV) Capt. Philip Leonard, son of Joseph, 
married Jan. 6, 1737, Mary Richmond, 
daughter of Josiah Richmond. Captain Leon- 
ard had his forge at what is now called the 
tack factory on the railroad between Middle- 
boro and Taunton. 

(V) George Leonard, son of Capt. Philip, 
born in Middleboro, always lived in his native 
town. He had his blnomery on the Nemasket 
river at Four Corners. He married Mary Al- 
len, born Sept. 21, 1760, and their children 
were: George; Sam'uel, who became one of the 
leading business men of New Bedford, and 
was at one time the largest oil refiner in the 
world and the first to make the colored wax 
candles now used the world over: Nehemiah ; 
Lois, married to Rev. Lewis Leonard, of Caze- 
novia, N. Y. ; and Emeline, married to 



1218 



SOUTPIEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



Thomas Daggett, Esq., of Middleboro. Nehe- 
miah had been in business at Middleboro, and 
then he bought the forge at Handy"s Mills, in 
Eoehester, he and his brotiier George carrying 
it on in partnersiiip some four or five years, 
when George bought his interest and con- 
tinued the business alone the rest of his life. 
Nehemiah located in New Bedford in 1822, 
beginning business on Orange street. lie 
prospered and in five or six years was a direc- 
tor in the Merchants' Bank, and agent for 
several whale ships. He drifted into the man- 
ufacture of oil, and in 183G built candle works 
on Rotch's South (familiarly known as 
Leonard's) Wharf, carrying on this business 
for thirty years. He died Oct. 25, 1869. 

(VI) George Leonard, son of George and 
Mary (Allen) Leonard, was born at Middle- 
boro June 20, 1784, and died in Rochester 
April y, 1849. For a few years he was asso- 
ciated with his brother Nehemiah in conduct- 
ing a forge in Rochester, later operating it 
alone in addition to conducting a store busi- 
ness. He married Cynthia Washburn, who 
was born July 12, 1792, and died Dec. 31, 
1878. Their children were: Theodore W., 
born Aug. 1. 1812; Charles H., born Sept. 23, 
1814, who died Oct. 24. 1868 (he was a suc- 
cessful manufacturer of oil and candles in 
New Bedford) ; Mary A., born Jan. 29, 1819, 
who married David Haskell, and died April 
30, 1894, at Clinton, Mass.; Emily S., bom 
April 10, 1820, who died in September, 1822; 
Abigail Abby, born March 16, 1822, who mar- 
ried George Delano, and died in New Bedford 
Dec. 7, 1899; George A., born Oct. 10, 1827, 
who died May 26, 1849 ; and William F., born 
July 6, 1834, who died Sept. 11, 1835. 

(VII) Theodore W.^skbuhn Leox.vhd, 
eldest son of George and Cynthia (Washburn) 
Leonard, was born at Middleboro, Mass., Aug. 
1, 1812, and was about ten years of age when 
his parents located at Rochester. He received 
a district school education and made two 
whaling voyages, one before his marriage and 
one after. He engaged as a merchant in that 
part of Rochester that later became Marion 
and was there located until 1849, when, after 
the death of his father, he returned to Rociies- 
ter and succeeded to the latter's store business, 
in which lie was successfully engaged the rest 
of his life. He died Feb. 28, 1881. He was 
one of the substantial citizens of the town, 
esteemed and respected by all. He married 
Sarah Cathell, a native of Rochester, daughter 
of .Tames and Jane (Dexter) Cathell, and she 
sunived her husband several years, dying at 
Rochester; both were buried at Rochester Cen- 
tre. Three children were born to them : Emily 



F., who died unmarried ; Jane W., who mar- 
ried Capt. Lot H. Gibbs; and Charles T., who- 
was engaged in the tent and awning business 
in Minneapolis, Minn., for a number of years, 
until his health failed, wiien he disposed of it 
and purchased a farm at Westboro, Mass, 
There lie resided until his death (he married 
Helen T. Hammond). 

CHACE (Somerset family). (I) William 
Chase, born about 1595, in England, with his 
wife Mary and son William came to America 
in the ship with Governor Winthrop and his 
colony in 1630, settling first in Roxbury. He 
soon became a member of the church of which 
Rev. John Eliot, the Apostle to the Indians, 
was pastor. On Oct. 19, 1630, he applied for 
freemanship, and was admitted a freeman May 
14, 1634. In 1637, or thereabouts, he became 
one of the company who made a new settle- 
ment at Yarmouth, of which town he was 
made constable in 1639. He resided at Yar- 
mouth the rest of his life, dying in May, 1659. 
His widow died the following October. Their 
children were : William, born about 1622 in 
England ; JIary, born in May, 1637, in Rox- 
bury ; and Mary (2), born in 1639, in Yar- 
mouth. 

(II) William Chase (2), son of William 
and Mary, born about 1622 in England, came 
to America with his parents, married and was 
a resident of Yarmouth. He died Feb. 27, 
1685. His children were: William, Jacob, 
John, Elizabeth, Abraham, Joseph, Benjamin 
and Samuel. 

(III) William Chase (3), son of William 
(2), born about 1645, married (first) Hannah, 
daughter of Philip and Sarah (Odding) Sher- 
man, and (second) Dec. 6, 1732, Priscilla 
Perry. His children were : William, Eber, 
Isaac, Nathaniel, Joseph and Hezekiah. The 
father's will was proved Aug. 16. 1737. 

(IV) Eber Chase, son of William (3), mar- 
ried Mary Knowles, and their cliildrcn were : 
Patience married Esek Luther ; Hannah mar- 
ried Stephen Brayton ; Daniel married Mary 
Baker ; William married Mercy Cole ; Alice 
married James Anthony ; Mary married Abra- 
ham Anthony; Eber married Sarah Baker. 

(V) Daniel Chace married Mary Baker and 
had a son, Daniel Chace, born 9th of 7th 
month, 1751. 

(V) Eber Chace married Sarah Baker and 
had children : Patience married Moses Buffin- 
ton and their daughter Elizabeth married 
Nathan Chace; Elizabeth married Robert 
Slade: Pcleg married Deborah Tripp; Obadiah 
married Eunice Anthony; Eber; William 
married Sarah Buffinton. 




THEODORE W. LEONARD 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1219 



(VI) Daniel Chace, born 9th of rth month, 
1751, was drowned in Taunton river. He 
married Phebe Slade, born 24th of 12th 
month, 1749, and their children were born as 
follows: Mary, 19th of 1st month, 1773; Han- 
nah, i:Uh of" 9th month, 1774; Content, 15th 
of 9tli montli, 1775; Phebe, 8th of (Jth mouth, 
1778; Daniel, 25th of 6th month, 1782; Jo- 
seph, 18th of 9th month, 1783; Ruth, 2d of 4th 
month, 1785; Nathan, 16th of 9th month, 
1790; Elizabeth Borden, 20th of 4th month, 
1793. 

(YII) Nathan Chace, born 16th of 9th 
month, 1790, died 9th of 5th month, 1855. 
He married 2d of 10th month, 1817, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Moses and Patience (Chace) Buf- 
finton. She was born 8th of 6th month, 1788, 
and died 15th of 11th month, 1859. Their 
children were: Phebe, born 29th of 12th 
month, 1818, died 1st of 2d month, 1826; 
Daniel, born 20th of 3d month, 1821, is men- 
tioned below; Charles, born 4th of 11th month, 
1822, died 2d of 7th month, 1825 ; Mary Buf- 
finton, born 11th of 6th month, 1826, mar- 
ried Aug. 9, 1847, James M. Osborn, and re- 
sides in Fall River. 

Mrs. Elizabeth (Buffinton) Chace was a de- 
scendant of Thomas Butfinton. The name 
Buffington was not a common one or the 
family a numerous one in early New England, 
yet a record of it here reaches back some two 
hundred and more years, and to the old his- 
toric town of Salem, Mass., where lived Thom- 
as Buffinton (or Buffington) ; he himself, how- 
ever, spelled his name Bovanton. He married 
there Dec. 30, 1671, Sarah Southwick, and 
had Thomas, born March 1, 1673; Benjamin, 
born July 24, 1675; and Abigail, born July 
25, 1699. Of these, Thomas married Feb. 
28, 1699, Hannah Ross, and had several chil- 
dren, whose names were not found by Savage 
in his research. Benjamin also married, and 
had Benjamin (born May 4, 1699) and two 
others. 

Along in the early years of the eighteenth 
century there is found the Butfinton name and 
family in the town of Swansea, Mass., and of 
the same Christian names as at Salem, indicat- 
ing a possible connection between the families 
of the two points. The Swansea' Butfintons 
(here so spelled) were Friends, and the vital 
records of that Society proclaim that Ben- 
jamin Buffinton, born in Lynn, Mass., 9th of 
2d month, 1701, died 9th of 4th month, 1760, 
and was buried in the Friends' yard at Swan- 
sea, and that his wife Isabel, daughter of 
Joseph and Sarah Chace, born 6th of 5th 
month, 1705, at Swansea, died 6th of 4th 



month, 1791, and was buried in the Friends' 
yard at Swansea. His parents were of the 
Friends' religious persuasion, and he received 
his religious instruction in that Society. His 
father removing his family within the bounds 
of the Swan.sea Monthly Meeting he became a 
member thereof and there continued to live for 
the remainder of his days. There follows the 
record of his children, bom in Swansea : Ben- 
jamin, born 7th of 9th month, 1737; Moses, 
born 8th of 3d month, 1741; Stephen, born 
25th of 11th month, 1743; Elizabeth, born 
21st of 6th month, 1746; and Hannah, born 
30th of 5th month, 1749. 

Moses Buffington, son of Benjamin, born 8th 
of 3d month, 1741, in Swansea, Mass., married 
(first) Isabel, born 4th of 5th month, 1741, 
daughter of Daniel and Sarah (Chace) Baker, 
and (second) Patience Chace. He resided in 
Swansea, where were born all of his children 
excepting Daniel and Aaron, and they in the 
town of Dighton. Mr. Buffinton died 7th of 
4th month, 1817; his wife Isabel died 4th of 
5th month, 1781, and both were buried in the 
Friends' yard at Swansea, Mass. Their chil- 
dren were: Benjamin, born 1st of 11th month, 
1762; Sarah, born 25th of 9th month, 1764; 
Rebecca, born 24th of 8th month, 1768; Ama, 
born 25th of 7th month, 1770 ; Daniel, born 
7th of 1st month, 1773; Moses (married 
Sarah Chase) ; Aaron, born 21st of 7th month, 
1776 (died 15th of 11th month, 1777) ; Beth- 
any, born 28th of 7th month, 1778 (died 31st 
of 8th month, 1779); Aaron, born 24th of 
4th month, 1780. The children of Moses 
Buffington's second marriage were : Eber, born 
6th of 12th month, 1783; Marv, born 21st of 
9th month, 1786; and Elizabeth, born 8th of 
6th month, 1788 (married Nathan Chase). 

(VIII) Daniel Chace was born March 20, 
1821, on the farm in Somerset, in the old 
house in .whicli his father and grandfather 
before him were born. His education was 
received in the district school and the Friends' 
School at Providence. He was reared to farm 
work and remained at home assisting his 
father until after he became of age, when be 
engaged in the meat business in Fall River. 
Tliis he followed with success for a number 
of years. After the death of his father he took 
charge of the ancestral farm in Somerset, and 
in 1876 he erected the liouse where he resided 
the rest of his life and where he passed away 
Dec. 27, 1896. Mr. Cliace was a Republican 
in political faith, and served several years as 
selectman in Somerset. He was a birthright 
Friend and the simple life and faith of the 
Quakers were always dear to him. He was 



1220 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



married (first) Nov. 18, 1845, to Susan B. 
Menage, who was born at Newport, R. I., May 

4, 1S26, and died Feb. 20, 1849. They had 
one child, Lydia Elizabeth, born Aug. 19, 
1846, died March 15, 1848. Mr. Chace was 
married (second) on March 20, 1851, to 
Nancy J. B. Bravton, born July 8, 1818, a 
daughter of Israel and Keziah (Anthony) 
Brayton, of Somerset. She died April 22, 
1855, the mother of one son, Charles B., born 
April 16, 1852, who died Jan. 3, 1857. Mr. 
Chace was married (third) on March 15, 1857, 
to Lovica W. Durfee, born Feb. 7, 1839, 
daughter of Gideon and Perniclia (Francis) 
Durfee, of Tiverton, K. I. To the third mar- 
riage were born four children : Daniel Bray- 
ton, born March 2, 1858, who died Oct. 3, 
1862; Elizabeth B.. born Jan, 4, 1860; Mary 
B., born Jan. 38, 1864, who married Rowland 
G. Buffinton and resides in Somerset (Mr. 
Buffinton died Aug. 28, 1909^ : and Frank 
Clinton. 

(IX') Fr.ank Clixtox Chace, son of Dan- 
iel and Lovica W. (Durfee) Chace, was born 
in Somerset, Mass., Sept. 16. 1867, in the an- 
cestral house above referred to, and was edu- 
cated in the schools of that town and a com- 
mercial school at Fall River. At the age of 
sixteen years he began work on the farm with 
his father and since the latter"? death has con- 
tinued farming on the home place. He is 
active in the affairs of Somerset. For seven 
years he has been a member of the board of 
selectmen and of the board of assessors. Po- 
litically he is Republican and fraternally a 
Knight Temjjlar Mason, being a member of 
Pioneer Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Fall River 
Chapter, R. A. M., Fall River Council, R. & 

5. M., and Godfrey de Bouillon Conmiandery, 
Knights Templar, and a charter member of 
Fall River Lodge, No. 219, I. 0. 0. F. 

On Feb. 7, 1900. Mr. Chace married Eva 
Mabel Westgate, a native of Wareham, Mass., 
born Nov. 12, 1875, daughter of Joseph 
and Clara (Turner) Westgate, and they have 
one daughter and one son : Helen Frances, 
born Nov. 25, 1900; and Daniel Bravton, born 
July 19. 1904. 

TOBEY. The late William Henry Tobey, 
of Brockton, was a descendant of the ancient 
Tobey family whose early seat was at Sand- 
wich, where the name has continued to the 
present. 

(I) Thomas Tobie (Tobey) is of record at 
Sandwich as early as 1644, on the 7th of 6th 
month of which year he subscril:ted for the 
meetinghouse. The town of Sandwich was 



settled in 1637 by men from what later became 
Lynn. Thomas Tobey may have been in Sand- 
wich earlier, as earlier pages of the book of 
records are lost. In the town records he ap- 
pears as a man of good sense and energy, 
called by his fellow citizens to act in various 
public capacities which required ability and 
judgment. He took the oath of fidelity to the 
Colony. He was chosen constable in 1658 ; 
and in that same year was chosen one of the 
''raters.'" He was one of the highway survej'- 
ors in 1660. He was a juryman in 1663 and 
1668, excise oflicer fron: 1662 to 1668. He 
was one of the townsmen in 1675. His name 
is on the list of twenty who were members 
of the Sandwich Church in 1694 at the time 
of the ordination of Mr. Cotton. He married 
(first) Nov. 18, 1650, Martha, daughter of 
George Knott (who was one of the founders of 
Sandwich) and his wife Martha. After her 
death he married (second) Hannah, widow of 
Ambrose Fish. She survived her husband and 
died in March, 1720-21. IJis will was proved 
April 9, 1714. His children were: Thomas, 
John. Nathan, Ephraim, Jonathan, Samuel 
and Gershom, and maybe others. 

(II) Samuel Tobey, horn in Sandwich, 
Mass., there lived and died, the latter event 
occurring Nov. 22, 1737. He married Abiah, 
born Sept. 2, 1678, daughter of Ambrose and 
Hannah Fish. Mr. Tobey was chosen one of 
the grand jurors in 1699 and 1700; was sur- 
veyor of highways in 1700 and tythingman 
in 1709. Their children were: Joanna, born 
May 22, 1697, married Benjamin Spooner, of 
Dartuiouth; Cornelius, born Sept. 12, 1699; 
l"al)itha. born Nov. 9. 1701, married Joseph 
Freeman: Zaccheus. bora Jan. 13, 1703-04; 
Ruth, born Sept. 8, 1706; Jonathan, born 
May 13, 1709; Eliakim, born Oct. 19, 1711; 
Samuel, born Mav 8, ]715; Thomas, born 
Aug. 14, 1720: and Elisha, born July 14, 
1723. 

(III) Cornelius Tobey, born Sept. 12, 1699, 
married Deborah, born June 6, 1702-03, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Bourne) 
Pope. He resided in Sandwich, where he was 
chosen a town officer in 1728. He was a 
deacon in the Sandwich Church. His will was 
made Dec. 3. 1791. and he died in the follow- 
ing year. His children were (order of birth 
unknown) : Deborah married Barnabas Nye; 
Patience married Thomas Bassett ; Joshua ; 
Cornelius; Lemuel died Feb. 17, 1749; Joanna 
married Elislia Pope; Betsey died Oct. 14, 
1813; and Elisha. 

(IV) Cornelius Tobey (2), born aboTit 
1734, married Feb. 1, 1756, Lois, born May 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1221 



25, 1738, daughter of John and Mercy (Swift) 
Pope. He lived in tlie town of Sandwich, 
Mass.; held a commission in the local militia 
company, but resigned it when the British 
government became so oppressive that the 
people began to rebel. He died Oct. 8, 1778. 
His children were: Patience, born July 17, 
1756, who married Samuel Fessenden ; Elisha, 
born Feb. 14. 1758; Deborali, born Dec. 26, 
1759, who married Ebenezer Bourne; Alithea, 
born March 29, 1762; Herman, bom Dec. 11, 
1763; Melatiah. born Feb. 8, 1766; Hannah, 
born April 20, 1768; Joanna, born Feb. 21, 
1770; Joshua, born Aug. 5, 1772; Betty, born 
Nov. 27. 177-1; and Elisha, born Feb. 2, 1777. 

(V) Melatiah Tobey, son of Cornelius (2), 
was born Feb. 8, 1766, in Sandwich, Mass., 
and died Nov. 28, 1851, in Sandwich, where 
he was engaged in farming. On Dec. 23, 1790, 
he married Mary, born May 15, 1764, daughter 
of Stephen and Hannah Crowell ; she died 
July 11, 1845, in Sandwich, Mass. Their 
children were : Hannah, who married Setli 
Pope, of Sandwich ; Ezra, mentioned below ; 
Joshua, who married Martha Fessenden ; and 
Mary, who was the first wife of Rev. Warren 
Goddard, Sr. 

(VI) Ezra Tobey, father of William Henry 
Tobey, late of Brockton, was born Sept. 1, 
1796, in Sandwich, and died there June 27, 
1849, aged fifty-three years. In early life 
he was engaged in mercantile business, being 
the proprietor of a general store in Sandwich 
for a number of years. He eventually bought 
a farm upon which he settled and during the 
rest of his life engaged in agricultural pur- 
suits. In politics he was a Whig and later a 
Republican, and for a long period served as 
clerk of his native town. He was an active 
member of the Unitarian Church, as was also 

is wife. On Dec. 1, 1818, he married Eliza- 
beth Bassett, daughter of Stephen and Eliza- 
beth (Newcomb) Bassett, of Sandwich, and 
granddaughter of Xathaniel Bassett, of Sand- 
wich. Mrs. Tobey was born Sept. 4, 1799, 
and died Feb. 25, 1866, aged sixty-six years. 
She was the mother of children as follows : 
Mary, born April 6, 1820, married Rufus Kim- 
ball, one of the leading merchants of Brock- 
ton; Melatiah, born April 22, 1822, died in 
Brockton, where he was engaged as a salesman 
for his brother William H. (he married Caro- 
line Fessenden, of Windham, N. H.) ; Martha 
Bassett, born March 2, 1824, married Watson 
Jones, of Sandwich, where she died ; Ezra, Jr., 
bom June 2, 1826, was a bookkeeper, and died 
unmarried in Sandwich ; Charles Nye. born 
May 26, 1828, died in Nashua, N."H. (he 



married Amanda Cook, of Fall River, Mass.) ; 
Elizabeth Bassett, born Sept. 29, 1830, is the 
widow of Ephraim F. Belcher, of Randolph, 
Mass., where she resides; Hannah, born Dec. 
28, 1832, married Owen Field, of Brockton, 
where she died; William Henry, born April 
11, 1840, is mentioned below; Jeanette, born 
Sept. 28, 1842, is the widow of Henry E. Lin- 
coln, of Brockton, whfere she resides. 

(VII) William Henry Tobey, son of 
Ezra, was born in Sandwich, Mass., and there 
passed his youth and early manhood. He re- 
ceived his education in the public schools and 
the academy of his native town, which he left 
when about seventeen years old, coming to 
Brockton, where the rest of his life was spent. 
After a few years' employment with the firm 
of Howard & Clark as clerk and salesman he 
went into the furniture business on his own 
account, taking the store on School street now 
occupied by the Tremaine Electric Company. 
In 1876 he moved to the Howard block, taking 
tlie store now occupied by Flagg & Willis, and 
remained there many years. While he was in 
the undertaking business he was long associ- 
ated with Frank S. Howard. Thomas, Pack- 
ard & Co. finally purchased the business from 
him. and thereafter he devoted himself to his 
real estate interests. He owned the farm near 
the Stouffhton line where he lived several 
years before his death, the apartment house 
known as ''The Warren," on Green street, and 
property on High street where he resided for 
many years before removing to his farm. A 
few weeks before his death the family removed 
from the farm to No. 48 North Pearl street, 
Brockton, but Mr. Tobey himself had lived at 
that place but a few days when he died, he 
having made his home with his sister, Mrs. 
Lincoln, while the family were getting settled. 
He died suddenly Feb. 4, 1909. 

As a business man of Brockton, a pioneer 
in the furniture and undertaking business in 
that place, and as a resident of the town and 
city for fifty years and more, Mr. Tobey was 
widely known. After North Bridgewater be- 
came the city of Brockton he became a mem- 
ber of the first city council, representing Ward 
One, and his aid and influence were given to 
many projects for the betterment of the com- 
munity. He was a constant attendant at 
Unity Church, and was generous in the sup- 
port of the congregation and its various proj- 
ects, for whose successful consummation he 
was an enthusiastic worker and a liberal giver. 
His funeral was held from that church, and 
the numerous evidences of respect shown upon 
that occasion were sufficient to show the place 



1222 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mr. Tobey occupied in the hearts and minds 
of his fellow men in all the different relations 
of life. After the religious service his brother 
Masons held their services, Mr. Tobey having 
been a member of Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. 
& A. M. (which he joined April 19. 1870), 
Satucket Royal Arch Chapter (which he 
joined March 23, 1872) and Bay State Com- 
mandery, K. T. (which he joined Oct. 5, 187-i), 
all of Brockton, from which bodies about one 
hundred and seventy-five representatives were 
present at the funeral. He was also a charter 
member of Banner Lodge,' X. E. 0. P., and of 
the Brockton Agricultural Society. Mr. 
Tobey's remains were interred in Union ceme- 
tery, Brockton. 

Mr. Tobey married Hattie F. Whitney, 
daughter of Elias S. and Sarah (Spear) 
Whitney, of Augusta, Maine, and besides his 
widow two sons survive him, namely : Warren 
H., born Feb. 26, 1889, and Arthur W., born 
Oct. 28, 1892. 

CHARLES TUCKER, a successful and 
most highly esteemed business man of New 
Bedford, where he was engaged first in whal- 
ing and later as agent for vessels, was a mem- 
ber of a very old family of the Commonwealth, 
being descended from 

(I) Henry Tucker, of Sandwich, who pur- 
chased April 15, 1669, of his friend William 
Allen, of that town, the latter's one-third 
share- of Dartmouth lands, paying him for 
these fifteen pounds, he then being called of 
Milton. Leonard supposes that this Henry 
Tucker was the son of Robert Tucker, of Wey- 
mouth, 1638, who later removed to that part 
of Dorchester now Milton, where he was repre- 
sentative in 1669, 1680 and 1681. The one- 
third share alluded to above came to Mr. Allen 
bv his wife Priscilla, who was the daughter of 
Peter Brown, of the "ilayflower," by his sec- 
ond wife. The Christian name of the wife of 
Henry Tucker was Martha, and their children 
were: Abraham, bom Oct. 30, 1653; John, 
born Aug. 18, 1656; Martha, born July 14, 
1659; Hannah, horn July 25, 1662; James, 
born March 16. 1666; Mary, born Aug. 16, 
1668; and Sarah, born Sept. 20. 1674. The 
parents died, Mr. Tucker 21st of 2d month, 
1694, and Mrs. Tucker 28th of 9th month, 
1675, at Newport, Rhode Island. 

(II) Abraham Tucker, born Oct. 30. 1653, 
married (first) Oct. 26. 1679, Mary Slocum, 
who died Sept. 21. 1689, and (second) Han- 
nah Mott, who died in 12th month. 1751. His 
children were : Henry, born 30th of 8th 
month, 1680; Mary, born 1st of 12th month. 



1682 ; Martha and Patience, born 28ih of 9th 
month, 1686; Abigail, bom 21st of 10th 
month, 1688; Elizabeth, born 24th of 6th 
month, 1691; Sarah, born 23d of 2d month, 
1693; Content, born 12th of 1st month, 1695; 
Abraham, born oth of 1st month, 1697; Joan- 
na, born 14th of 8th month, 1699 ; Ruth, born 
16th of 10th month, 1701; and Hannah, born 
22d of 2d month, 1704. 

(Ill) Abraham Tucker (2), son of Abra- 
ham, born 5th of 1st month, 1697. married 
(first) 1st of 1st month, 1721-22, Elizabeth, 
daughter of John Russell. She died 9th of 
8th month. 1724, and he married (second) 
4th of 2d month, 1728. Hannah, daughter of 
Tristrim Hall, of South Kingstown, R. I., who 
died in 1787. His children were: Rebecca, 
born 21st of 10th month, 1722 ; James, born 
2d of 7th month, 1724; Abraham, born 22d 
of 4th month, 1729; John, born 22d of 3d 
month. 1731; John (2), born 31st of 11th 
month, 1732; Samuel, born 29th of 5th 
month, 1734; Elizabeth, born 29th of 5th 
month. 1735 ; Hannah, born 22d of 8th month, 
1737; Abraham, born 2d of 3d month, 1739; 
David, born 9th of 9th month, 1741; Sarah, 
born 5th of 10th month. 1743; Rebecca, born 
14th of 7th month, 1745; Joanna, born 17th 
of 6th month, 1749; and Jonathan, born 14th 
of 9th month, 1751. The father died 16th 
of 6th month. 1776. 

(lY) Jonathan Tucker, son of Abraham 
(2), born 14th of 9th month. 1751, married 
6th of 6th month, 1771. Mehetahel. daughter 
of William Mosher. Their children were : 
Elizabeth, born 25th of 6th month. 1772; 
Sarah, born 27th of 2d month, 1774; Hannah, 
born 6th of 3d month, 1776; Abraham, born 
3d of 5th month. 1778; Mehetahel. born 10th 
of 3d month. 1780; Mehetahel (2). born 19th 
of 7th month. 1782; William, born 14th of 
7th month, 1788; Rebecca, born 17th of 5th 
month, 1791; and David, born 3d of 5th 
month, 1795. 

(V) Capt. William Tucker, son of Jona- 
than, born 14th of 7th month, 1788, married 
Sarah Howland, born July 14, 1795. Their 
children were: William, born Sept. 12, 1815; 
Elizabeth H., born Feb. 6, 1817; Mehetahel, 
born Dec. 18, 1819; Abigail W., born Nov. 
21. 1821 ; and Charles, born July 15, 1824. 

(VI) Charles Tucker, son of Capt. William, 
born Julv 15, 1824, at Smiths Mill, in Dart- 
mouth. Mass., married Alice, born Jan. 3, 
1833, daughter of Abraham and I\Iary (Almy) 
Tucker, and granddaugliter of Henry and 
Alice (Ricketson) Tucker and of (Jcorge and 
Elizabeth Almy. The children born to Charles 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



1223 



Tucker and wife were : William Abraham, 
born at Kussells Mills Oct. 28, 1851; Mary 
Almy, born at Russells Mills Nov. 27, 185-1 
(died Jan. 11, 1862); Henry Almy, born at 
Padanaram in April, 1863 (died in August, 
1863) ; and Arthur Leslie, born in radanarani 
Sept. 15, 1865, who married ,lane Dennison, 
daughter of John and Louise (Porter) Den- 
nison. and had three children, Charles, Henry 
Dennison and Frederick Porter. 

Charles Tucker was educated in the schools 
of Dartmouth and at the Friends' School in 
Providence. After leaving school he went into 
the store at Kussells Mills with his brother-in- 
law, Abner li. Tucker, as a partner, being a 
member of the firm for several years. He had 
already become interested in whale ships of 
New Bedford, where his office was later, and 
was made agent for other vessels of that port. 
He was a most methodical man, and was suc- 
cessful in all his undertakings. He became 
a resident of South Dartmouth in 1862, and 
was active in business until his retirement 
■within a few years of his death. He died in 
1890. For some years he was a director of the 
old Citizens' Bank. He usually attended the 
Friends' Meeting of New Bedford. At no 
time did he ever take part in public affairs. He 
lived a quiet, useful life, and was a kind 
neighbor and warm friend, ever ready to as- 
sist those in need. 



(III) Henry Tucker, eldest son of Abra- 
ham, born 30th of 8th month, 1680, married 
Phebe Barton, and their children were : Susan- 
na, born April 8, 1706; Mary, May 12, 1708; 
Patience, Aug. 31, 1710- Henry, Feb. 8, 1713; 
Benjamin, Aug. 2-4, 1716; and Abraham, Dec. 
16,1718. 

(IV) Abraham Tucker, son of Henry, born 
Dee. 16, 1718, married (intentions published 
Oct. 23, 1738) Rebecca Russell. Their chil- 
dren were: Patience, born Oct. 19, 1739; 
Benjamin, Sept. 19, 1741; Rebecca, Xov. 11, 
1743; Phebe, Dec. 1, 1745; and Henry, 
March 2, 1754. 

(V) Henry Tucker, son of Abraham, born 
March 2, 1754, married June 1, 1780, Alice 
Ricketson, and had children : Benjamin R., 
born Xov. 3, 1781, married Xancy Olds, 
daughter of Elihu and Sarah (Slocum) Olds; 
Abner, born March 19, 1785, died Xov. 19, 
1809; Abraham, born Xov. 11, 1787, married 
Marv Almy, and died May 12, 1849: Peleg, 
born Aug. 18, 1790, died Dec. 16, 1791; 
Henry, born Xov. 22, 1792, died April 12, 
1842; and Alice, born Aug. 4, 1797, married 
Feb. 29, 1816. Peleg W. Peckham, and died 
Jan. 28, 1864. 



(VI) Abraham Tucker, son of Henry, boru 
Xov. 11, 1787, nnirried Mary Almy, daughter 
of George and Elizabeth Almy, and died May 
12, 1849. Their daughter Alice, born Jan. 3, 
1833, married Charles Tucker. 

WATERMAN. The Waterman family, in 
Xew Enn-land, dates back to less than a decade 
from the landing of the Pilgrim Fathers 
thenjselves. Hrom Richard W'laterman, the 
friend and colaborer with Roger Williams, the 
lineage of the late Fred Ellsworth Waterman, 
of Fall River, Mass., is tiirougU Resolved, 
Ensign Resolved, John, Job, Resolved and 
Xicholas Sheldon Waterman. These genera- 
tions in detail and in the order named follow. 

(I) Richard Waterman, born about 1590, 
came from England in 1629. He first settled 
in Salem, Mass., was banished like Roger Wil- 
liams for religious heresy, and followed the 
latter to Providence in March, 1638. He was 
one of the seven persons to whom Roger Wil- 
liams deeded land in Providence, and in 1639 
was one of' the twelve original members of the 
first Baptist Church in America. He was one 
among those who signed an agreement in 1640 
for a form of government. He was made a 
freeman in 1655, and served, in turn, as com- 
missioner, juryman and warden. He was also 
colonel of militia, and proved himself a man 
of great force of character and distinguished 
ability. He lived in Providence and Xewport. 
He and his wife Bethia died respectively in 
1673 and 1680. Their children were: Na- 
thaniel, married to Susanna Carder; Resolved, 
married to Mercy, youngest daughter of Roger 
Williams; Mehitable, married to Arthur Fen- 
ner; Waite, married to Henry Brown. 

(II) Resolved Waterman, born in 1638, 
married in 1659 Mercy Williams, born in 
Providence July 15, 1640. daughter of Roger 
(born in 1599,' died 1683) and Mary (Barn- 
ard) Williams, and they were of Providence, 
R. I. Mr. Waterman was deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court in 1667. He died in 1670, in early 
manhood, full of promise. His widow re- 
married, hei- second husband being Samuel 
Winsor, and died in 1705. His children: 
Richard, born in January, 1660, died Sept. 
28, 1748, married his own cousin, Anne, 
daughter of Xathaniel and Susanna Water- 
man ; Mercy, born in 1663, died Feb. 19, 1756, 
married Tristan Derby ; Ensign or Capt. 
John, of Warwick, R. I., born in 1664 or 
1666. died Aug. 28, 1748, married Anne, 
daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (March) 
Olney; Resolved, born about 1667. died Jan. 
13. 1719; Waite, born about 1668. married 
John Rhodes, of Pawtuxet, Rhode Island. 



1224 



SOUTHEASTEKX MASSACHUSETTS 



(III) Ensign Eesolved Waterman, born in 
1667, married (first) Anne Harris, born Nov. 
12, 1673, daughter of Andrew (son of Wil- 
liam). His second wife's Christian name was 
Mercy. Mr. Waterman settled in what is now 
Greenville, E. I., in 1689. He represented the 
town of Smithfield in "General Assembly" in 
1715; was ensign in the militia. He died 
Jan. 13, 1719. His widow Mercy remarried, 
and died in 1750. His children l)y the first 
marriage were: Eesolved, Mercy and Joseph; 
and those by the second were: Waite, John 
and Hannah. 

(IV) John Waterman, son of Ensign Ee- 
solved and Mercy, was born in 1715 and died 
Feb. 12, 1799. On June 17, 1739, he mar- 
ried Mary Whipple, daughter of Job Whipple, 
the ceremony being performed by Thomas 
Sayles, in Burrillville, E. I. Mary Whipple 
was a woman of exceeding brilliancy of intel- 
lect and of extraordinary personal charm. 
John Waterman became a large landowner in 
the town of Johnston, owning an extensive 
tract which is now a part of the Olneyville 
annexed district of Providence, E. I. He had 
several children, among whom were Job and 
Capt. Laban. The last named served in the 
war of the Eevohition, and was later active in 
the State militia of the town of Johnston, 
where he received the title of captain. He was 
born in 1745, and died in 1795. On Jan. 22. 
1786, he married (second) Esther Eddy, and 
they had three children, one of whom died in 
infancy. Eesolved and Betsy lived to per- 
petuate this line, and Betsy married Earle 
Knight, Mrs. Ezra Gallup, of Connecticut, be- 
ing their only living descendant. 

(V) Job Waterman, son of John, was born 
in Johnston, E. I., and became a large farmer 
in that town. He married Margaret Saun- 
ders, and their children were : Eesolved, Eli- 
sha, Cynthia (who married Judge James Ean- 
dall of Johnston), Lydia. Phebe and Job. 

(VI) Eesolved Waterman, son of Job and 
Margaret, became a farmer and also operated 
a sawmill in the town of Johnston, E. I. He 
was very prominent in town affairs and repre- 
sented the town in the Ijcgislature. He mar- 
ried Anna Waterman, daughter of Benjamin 
(a soldier of the Revolution) and Sarah 
(Sheldon) Waterman, granddaughter of Ben- 
jamin Waterman, great-granddaughter of Na- 
thaniel and Susanna (Carder) Waterman, 
and great-great-granddaughter of Richard 
Waterman. They had a family of twelve chil- 
dren. 

(VII) Nicholas Sheldon Waterman, son of 
Resolved and Anna, was born in Johnston, R. 



I., Jan. 18, 1805, and learned the trade of 
wheelwright and carpenter. In 1826 he cam& 
to Fall River to put a wheel in one of the 
mills here, and a few years later returned,, 
and was again employed here at his trade. 
After his marriage in 1835 he made Fall 
River his permanent home, being employed at 
his trade in various mills and for a time was 
also engaged in block making. For many 
years he was a member of Mount Hope Lodge 
of Odd Fellows. He died May 5, 1879. On 
March 6, 1835, he married Sarah Bowen Wil- 
cox, born May 10, 1816, in what is now Fall 
River, daughter of Humphrey and Sarah 
(Bowen) A\'ilcox, a member of a family that 
owned practically all of what is now Little 
Compton. She was a member of the Society 
of Friends, and she died June 4, 1901. Eight 
children were born of this union: (1) John 
B., born Jan. 23, 1837, was mate on the 
"State of Maine," a former transport, and was 
drowned in New York harbor Aug. 17, 1866. 
He was unmarried. (2) Susan A., born Sept. 
19. 1838, is the widow of William M. Robin- 
son, who resides in Fall River. (3) Sarah S., 
liorn Aug. 31, 1840, died unmarried in De- 
cember, 1875. (4) Annjeanette, born Feb. 
4, 1843, is unmarried and lives at Fall River. 
(5) Jane A., born Oct. 24, 1844, is the widow 
of Joseph Oscar Westgate, and lives at Fall 
River. (6) Cynthia C, born Dec. 16, 1846, 
is unmarried and lives at Fall River. She 
and her sisters. Mi's. Robinson and Miss Ann- 
jeanette, occupied until 1909 the old family 
homestead at No. 389 Ferry street, erected by 
Nicholas S. Waterman at a time when the 
neighborhood was a choice residential locality. 
(7) Nicholas, born June 10, 1850, died in 
Barrington. R. I., May 21, 1907. (8) Fred 
Ellsworth was born Jan. 29, 1861. 

(VIII) Fked Ellsworth W.\term.'IN, son 
of Nicholas Sheldon and Sarah Bowen (Wil- 
cox), was born in Fall River Jan. 29, 1861, 
and was educated in the public schools, grad- 
uating from the high school in 1879. His 
first work was as an under clerk in the Flint 
mill office, and there he laid the foundation of 
his practical knowledge of the varied details 
of the mill business, which formed a perfect; 
complement to his natural ability and keen- 
ness, and made him a most successful mill 
treasurer in later years. On leaving the Flint 
mill he became bookkeeper, and later sales- 
man, for Mackenzie &' Winslow. He was aft- 
erward employed as bookkeeper by D. H. Cor- 
nell, the First National Bank, the B. M. C. 
Durfee Syndicate, and was head bookkeeper 
for the Durfee mills. In 1890 he became 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1225 



treasurer of the corporation of the Cornell 
mills, a rather doubtful honor at the time, as 
the mill!; were heavily in debt and doing a 
losing business. He faced the task bravely, 
and by closest application and hardest work, 
coupled with good business sagacity, he 
brought the Cornell up to the highest stand- 
ard, the stock at the time of his death being 
quoted at about $200 per share. His success 
here led to his selection for a like position 
at the Stafford mills, March 2, 1901, and 
on the lltli of that month he entered upon his 
duties there. This proved a most difficult 
task, and again his whole strength and energy 
were taxed, but again he was successful, and 
where he found a deficit he left a comfortable 
surplus. The outcome of his treasurership in 
these two mills has been regarded by mill men 
as a phenomenal record few were capable of 
making. 

When the Fall Eiver print cloth mills were 
in a syndicate Mr. Waterman acted as a sell- 
ing agent. For six or eight years he was a 
member of the executive committee of the 
Cotton Manufacturers' Association. His repu- 
tation extended throughout New England, 
and his friends were men powerful and influ- 
ential in the manufacturing world, who knew 
his honor and his worth and respected him as 
a man. As an all-round mill man he had few 
equals, and few if any superiors, and he was 
considered one of the most able men in his 
line that Fall River has produced. 

Fraternally Mr. Waterman belonged to 
King Philip Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; Fall River 
Chapter, R. A. M. ; Godfrey de Bouillon Com- 
mandery, K. T. ; and Mount Hope Lodge, 
I. 0. 0. F. He was a member of the Queque- 
chan Club, and of other clubs in Fall River, 
but while he was fond of society his home and 
the companionship of his family were his chief 
delight and he was an ideal husband and 
father. He was a lover of all sports, hunting 
being his favorite. A genial companion, he 
was a favorite socially. He had a natural 
gift for music, and he became an excellent 
performer on the violin, thoroughly enjoying 
a gathering of musical friends. He made a 
number of violins himself. He was fond of 
curios of all kinds and of things of ancient 
design and had quite a collection in his home. 
His religious connection was with the First 
Congregational Church. 

On Jan. 29, 1886. Mr. Waterman was 
united in marriage with Cornelia S. Akin, of 
Westport, daughter of the late Daniel B. and 
Sarah Russell (Allen) Akin, the former a 
native of South Yarmouth, Mass., a seafaring 



man, and a member of an old Cape Cod fam- 
ily; the latter was of New Bedford, and a 
descendant of the old Russell family, founders 
of that place. Three sons were born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Waterman : Fred E., Jr., graduated 
from Harvard in 1910 and is now connected 
with a cotton brokerage house at Boston; 
Nicholas Sheldon is a student at Harvard ; 
John Bowen is a member of the class of 1911, 
Durfee high school. 

Mr. Waterman died May 14, 1909, and his 
funeral was held four days later at his home 
on Scliool street, the services being conducted 
bv the Rev. W. W. Adams, D. D., of the 
First Congregational Church. As a tribute 
of respect the Stafford and Cornell mills, em- 
ploying about 1,300 hands, were closed for 
the day, and the cloth and cotton brokers' offi- 
ces downtown were closed and the shades drawn 
during the hour of the funeral. At a meeting 
of the directors of the Cornell mills, the fol- 
lowing resolutions were adopted : 

Resolved, That we eilter upon the records an ex- 
pression of our sense of the loss that has been sus- 
tained in the death of the corporation's treasurer, 
Fred E. Waterman. 

Elected to office at a time when the affairs of the 
corporation were in a condition that was far from 
satisfactory, he entered with zeal upon the task 
which was given him and quickly displayed the 
knowledge and skill that with untiring devotion 
achieved successes. In the years that followed, few 
as they now seem, by superlative ability, energy and 
fidelity he protected and advanced the interests of 
those whom he served and won a place among the 
foremost of the manufacturers of New England. 

Though conspicuous for a tenacity and confidence 
of opinion which came from clearness of vision and 
soundness of judgment, he bore himself with unfailing 
courtesy toward his associates who to-day feel not 
only the sorrow of separation from one upon whom 
they have learned to depend in the management of 
affairs, but the more lasting grief which follows a 
parting of personal ties. 

At a meeting of the <lirectors of the Stafford 
mills, the following tribute to the memory of 
their late treasurer was unanimously adopted 
and ordered to be placed on the records of the 
corporation and a copy of the same to be for- 
warded to the family of the deceased : 

In Memoriam. 

In Fall River, May 14, 1909, Fred Ellsworth Water- 
man, aged forty-eight years. 
Mr. Waterman was treasurer of the Stafford mills 
from 1901 to 1909, and the directors of this corpor- 
ation desire to place upon their records this tribute 
to his faithful service, and this expression of the 
great loss they have sustained by his death. 

He was a skilled manufacturer, a farseeing and 
successful business man. A competent manager of 
the interests committed to his care, he served this 



1226 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



corporation faithfully and well. Unsparing of self, 
he gave the best that was in him without stint and 
without reserve, with notable success. His worth 
was fully appreciated by both directors and stock- 
holders, and in his death this corporation has sustain- 
ed a most serious loss. 



WILLIAM BEATTIE, now living retired, 
but in his active life one of the large quarry- 
men and contractors in his line in southern 
Massachusetts, a man who won success by his 
own work and gained position on his own 
merits, was born Oct. 4, 1839, in Halifax, 
Nova Scotia, a younger brother of John Beat- 
tie, quarryman and contractor, late of Leete 
Island, Guilford, who was born in Edinburgh, 
Scotland, June 18, 1820. John Beattie, their 
father, was a freeman of that city, and a 
direct descendant of that noted Beattie family 
of Eskdale Moore, in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, 
"whose ancestry has been traced back more than 
six centuries, and whose valor and exploits in 
peace and war have been celebrated in the 
story and song of that country by Sir Walter 
Scott and others. On the paternal side his 
grandmother was Nancy Armstrong, a de- 
scendant of the Johnson family, of Dumfries- 
shire, also prominent in the affairs of Scot- 
land. The mother of John Beattie was Ann 
Eichardson, a daughter of John and Catha- 
rine (Tate) Richardson, both of families be- 
longing to Haddington, Scotland. John and 
Ann (Richardson) Beattie had children: 
John, George (born in 1822), William, David 
(born in 1831) and Christiana. The parents 
came to America in 1828 and settled in Nova 
Scotia, Canada, where his father carried on 
his trade of stonemason and contractor. He 
was contractor in the construction of the 
masonry work on the Shubenacadie canal, be- 
tween Halifax and Pictou. In that locality, 
on a small farm, the paternal home in this 
country was established. 

John Beattie, the elder of the brothers 
above referred to, was eight years old when 
he came with the family to this side of the 
Atlantic. In the neighborhood of the new 
home be was sent to school for a short time. 
But his robust nature rebelling against the 
restraint imposed by sedentary life, be pre- 
ferred to labor in the fields of his father's 
farm. In Nova Scotia he attended with profit 
a few terms at the school of an excellent man. 
Rev. Mr. Morrison, and to these brief periods 
his school days wore limited. After a few- 
years' residence in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and 
when John would no longer attend school, bis 
father propo.sed to indenture him to learn the 
trade of a shoemaker, and had selected a mas- 



ter for him, whereupon the independent lad 
gave so empliatic a demonstration against the 
step that the plan was summarily abandoned. 
This opposition was probably the act in life 
which led him into the vocation in \vhicli he 
for so many years was successfully engaged. 
Being now thirteen years old, strong and 
healthy, with a love for outdoor occupation, 
his father was persuaded to allow him to learn 
the trade of stonecutting, to which work John 
took with great spirit. In the course of a few 
years the failure of the canal company induced 
"the Beatties to make their home at Newport, 
R. I., whence the father and John went to 
New York to work at their trade. A year later 
they proceeded to Boston, and not long after 
to Newport, where the father died in 1835, 
wdien John was in his sixteenth year. The 
care of the family, consisting of his mother 
and four other children, the next eldest being 
ten years of age, now devolved upon John, 
who, deeply feeling the responsibility placed 
upon him, entered upon his life work with an 
earnestness of application that was bound to 
bring success. In his trade he became very 
skillful, and was a rapid and thorough work- 
man. During the next four years he was em- 
ployed at Fort Adams, R; I., having when he 
was eighteen years old bis first contract to do 
work for the United States government. At 
the age of twenty years he was appointed fore- 
m.'in mason of the bridge builders on a section 
of the Boston & Troy railroad, and tlie^-e for 
the iollowing two years he had his first experi- 
ence in overseeing large numbers of mcD In 
1846 he returned to Fort Adams, where he 
vvas appointed master stonecutter by Gen. W. 
S. Rosecrans. and superintended the prepara- 
tion of the material used in that fortification 
until work was suspended by order of Jefferson 
Davis, at the time secretary of war. Again, 
for a year, Mr. Beattie w-as with the Boston 
& Troy Railroad Company, in his old capacity. 
He then went to California as a gold miner, 
in 1852, and for over two years had the experi- 
ence of an argonaut without realizing any of 
the rewards sometimes associated th(^rewith. 
Returning to the East, poor in purse and with 
impaired health, his next work was building 
the stone tow'ers for the suspension bridge 
across the Kentucky river at Pleasant Valley, 
from Ciniinnati to Covington, in 1857. His 
health continuing poor, however, he and his 
brother ^\■illiam next opened a stonecutter's 
yard at Newport, in which he worked a year 
with beneficial results to his health. 

In 1855 Mr. Beattie was engaged in build- 
ing the towers for the great bridge across the 



SOUTH KASTERX MASSACHUSl-yr'I'S 



1227 



Ohio, between Cincinnati and Covington, alter 
"wliicli lie liad an interest in the construction 
■of Section 1, of the Brooklyn waterworks, at 
■Jamaica, N. Y. That work being completed, 
at a loss to him, he spent some time building 
bridges on the Wabash railroad in Indiana, 
after which he returned to Jamaica, N. Y., 
and contracted for tlie construction of another 
section of the waterworks. Tliis job he i)er- 
sonally superintended, and to such great ad- 
vantage that he and his partner cleared $20,- 
000 in eighteen months. After this he exe- 
cuted many contracts for mason work, in 
bridges on railroads, warehouse docks, and light- 
houses; built bridges on the Worcester & 
Nashua railroad, on the Old Colony line, and 
•on the Warren & Fall Elver railroad; con- 
structed the piers for the bridge at Warehouse 
Point (using sand bags for coffer dams for the 
first time in bridge construction in this coun- 
try) ; and for the Old Colony docks at Newport 
— all public works. He also built the stone work 
of the statue of Liberty in New York harbor. 
In 1865 Mr. Beattie purchased the Harri- 
son quarry, at Fall River, but after operating 
it one year left it in charge of his brother 
William and his son John, and opened another 
•quarry at Niantic, Conn. In a few years he 
disposed of that interest, and in February, 
1869, he went to Guilford, where he bought 
sixteen acres of land at Hoadley's Point, upon 
■which were very fine ledges of excellent gran- 
ite. During the following season he built sev- 
•eral houses on this tract, doing at the same 
time the mason work for the Newport & Wick- 
ford railroad. On Aug. 22, 1870, he removed 
permanently to Leete Island, where he con- 
tinued to make his home until his death, Nov. 
18, 1899. Here he developed his large quarry 
interests until the industry became one of the 
largest of the kind in the State. His granite 
lands and real estate holdings at Leete Island 
increased to more than 400 acres, and employ- 
ment was given to from 125 to 600 men, their 
■operations being conducted in a systematic 
manner, aided by modern appliances. The 
products were readily transported to many 
localities by the Shore Line railroad, running 
through his lands, and by a fleet of vessels 
owned by him and laden at his docks at Hoad- 
ley's Point. The granite of these quarries is 
■of several qualities, blue, pink and white, 
which are here cut, carved and polished into 
any desired form, and a coarse-grained gray, 
having a carrying capacity of 18,000 pounds 
to the square inch, which is much used for 
huilding purjioses. A large quantity was thus 
supplied for the construction of the roadway 



of the New York & Harlem railroad, from 
the river to the (jrand Central depot, in New 
Vork City. Jluch of the stone in the Brooklyn 
suspension bridge in New York was furnished 
from these (|uari'ics. 

Mr. Beattie had a thorough, practical knowl- 
edge of every department of work carried on 
by him, and being possessed of great industry, 
pluck and executive ability, he prospered in 
ins alt'airs and earned the distinction of being 
one of the foremost business men in the eastern 
part of the country. Of strong physique, and 
liberally endowed with many of the distin- 
guishing characteristics of the Si'ottish race, 
he was a typical son of the "land of the 
mountain and the flood." 

William Beattie went to a child's school in 
Halifax, and continued his studies after the 
family settled at Newport, but his attendance 
at day school stopped after he was ten or 
eleven years old, and later he attended night 
school. He commenced work carrying tools 
at Fort Adams for one year, and then learned 
the trade of mason, serving three years at four 
dollars per month. His apprenticeship began 
in 1842 and was completed in 1846. In the 
latter year, in association with his brother 
George, he built a bridge and constructed the 
piers in Bangor, Maine. He was with his 
brother at Fort Adams until 1849, when, dur- 
ing Jefferson Davis's admini.stration as sec- 
retary of war, work was discontinued, the 
funds giving out. George Beattie went around 
the Horn in 1849 and John and William went 
out to California in 1852, making the trip via 
Greytown, in Central America, over the 
Nicaragua route. The four brothers, John, 
George, William and David, were all in Cali- 
fornia at one time, William Beattie remaining 
there about two years and four months. Re- 
turning to the East, he became engaged at 
stonecutting in Newport, and then in 1865 
with his brother John purchased the Harri- 
son quarry, in Fall River, which covered an 
area of two and a half acres. It was small 
and about ready to be abandoned. The broth- 
ers operated it about one year, when John 
withdrew, and William Beattie added to it as 
prosperity allowed until the property com- 
prised over sixty acres. Mr. Beattie received 
considerable government work, and continued 
adding to his quarry and extending his busi- 
ness, one of his important contracts being to 
furnish the stone for the foundation of the 
State house at Albany, in 1873. Later, in 
1877. he bought out his nephew and continued 
the business alone. His life has been much 
the same as that of his successful brother in 



1228 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



the same line. By business ability of the 
most pronounced order he widened his inter- 
ests and increased the scope of his work until 
he became one of the most extensive quarry- 
men in his region. By his own efforts, and 
the most honorable methods, he built up a 
business creditable alike to the owner and to 
the commnnity in which it was carried on. 
Mr. Beattie is a director of the Union and 
Seaconnet Mills. At one time he was a mem- 
ber of St. John's Lodge, A. F. & A. M., New- 
port, and of Quidneck Encampment (I. 0. 
0. F. ), of the same place. 

Mr. Beattie married ilary Hamilton, who 
was born in northern England, daughter of 
Thomas Hamilton, and came to America when 
two years old. Their children are: David, 
member of the firm of Beattie & Wilcox, of 
Fall River; William Henry, of the firm of 
Beattie & Cornell, of Fall River; and Roy 
Hamilton, who is engaged alone in the build- 
ing of sea walls. 

HEXRY FRANCIS BORDEX, M. D., of 

Brockton, where ho has been successfully en- 
gaged in the practice of his profession for a 
period covering over forty years, is a native 
of the city, son of the late Dr. Adolphus Kins- 
man and Lucy Ann (Brown) Borden. Dr. 
Borden is descended from a long line of Ameri- 
can ancestry, the progenitor of which, Richard 
Borden, was one of the first .settlers of Rhode 
Island, and from the latter Dr. Borden is 
descended in the eighth generation. 

(I) Richard Borden, born in IfiOl, died 
May 25, 1671. The Christian name of his 
wife was Joan. She was born in 1604 and 
died July 15, 1688. Mr. Borden was admitted 
an inhabitant of the island of Aquidneck in 
1638, being then of Portsmouth, R. T. On 
May 20th of that same year he was allotted 
five acres of land. He took an important and 
active part in the early aiTairs of Portsmouth. 
He was assistant in 165.3-54 : general treas- 
urer in 1654-56; commissioner in 1654-56-57; 
and deputy in 1667-70. To Richard and Joan 
Borden were born children as follows: 
Thomas, Francis, Jlary, Matthew, John, Jo- 
seph, Sarah, Samuel. Benjamin and Amey. 

(II) John Borden, son of Richard, born in 
September, 1640, married Dec. 25, 1670, 
JIary, born in 1655, daughter of William and 
Mary (Walker) Earle, and was of Portsmouth, 
R. I. Like his father he was prominent in 
the public affairs of the town. He was deputy 
in 1673, 1680, 1700, 1704. 1705 and 1708. 
He died June 4, 1716, and his wife in June, 
1734. Their children were: Richard, John, 



Amey, Joseph, Thomas, Hope, Mary, William 
and Benjamin. 

(III) Richard Borden, son of John, born 
Oct. 25, 1671, lived on the main road about 
a mile from the east shore of Mount Hope 
bay and two and a half miles south of the city 
hail in Fall River, his homestead comprising 
about two hundred acres of land. He became 
one of the wealthiest men in the town and at 
the time of his death was one of the largest 
landholders there. He lived until about the 
age of sixty years. About 1692 he married 
Innocent Wardell, and their children were : 
Sarah, John, Thomas, Mary, Joseph, Samuel 
and Rebecca. 

(IV) Samuel Borden, son gf Richard, born 
Oct. 25, 1705, became an accomplished sur- 
veyor and was sent by the governor of Massa- 
chusetts in 1760 to Nova Scotia to take charge 
of a company of emigrants and locate them on 
lands from which the neutral French had been 
expelled. He later returned to his home and 
led a retired life, cultivating his farm. His 
will was proved in Tiverton Dec. 7, 1778, he 
having died probably in November. About 
1735 he married Peace Mumford, of Exeter, 
R. I. Their children were : Joseph, Perry, 
Benjamin, Ann, Abigail and Edward. 

(V) Perry Borden, son of Samuel, born 
Nov. 9, 1739, in Tiverton, passed his early life 
in aiding his father on the farm and in his 
work of surveying, and soon acquired a good 
knowledge of the art. Soon after the ex- 
pulsion of the neutral French who had been 
located in Nova Scotia, as related above, many 
emigrants from New England went thither 
in 1759, Mr. Borden being one of the num- 
ber, he probably going as assistant to his 
father, who had been made the surveyor to 
locate the settlers on lands. The father re- 
turned to his home in 1761, leaving his son 
Perry there, the latter having concluded to 
remain permanently. It was there that on 
Sept. 6, 1761, he was married to Amy Percy, 
daughter of an English officer. She died Dec. 
2, 1765, and on Oct. 27, 1767, he married 
(second) Mary Ellis, born May 25, 1745, who 
died in 1831. His children, the first two only 
born to the first marriage, were: Samuel, Jo- 
seph, Ijenniel, David, Jonathan, Perry, Joshua. 
William, Benjamin, Edward and Abraham. 
Through this same generation also descended 
Jonathan Borden, who was a prominent physi- 
cian, and the father of the present Sir Fred- 
erick Borden, who is minister of militia and 
defense of British North America. 

(VI) David Borden, son of Perry, born 
Jan. 28, 1768, in Nova Scotia, lived in Hor- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1229 



ton, Nova Scotia, and died there in 1864, aged 
ninety-six years (another record giving his age 
at death as ninety-nine years, ten months). 
In 1793 he married Elizabeth Kinsman, who 
attained advanced years and died in Nova 
Scotia. Their cliildren : Sarali, born in Octo- 
ber, 1795; Mary, born in May, 1798; 
Adolphus K., born Jan. 20, 1802 ; Edward, 
born about 1805 ; Elizabeth, born Sept. 6, 
1816; James, born Feb. 24, 1820; John, born 
Dec. 14, 1821; and Annie A., born Jan. 1, 
1823. 

(VII) Adolplius Kinsman Borden, M. D., 
son of 'David and Elizabeth, was born in Hor- 
ton. Nova Scotia, Jan. 26, 1802. After study- 
ing in Windsor College he came to Boston, 
and began the study of medicine in the oflTices 
of Dr. Jacob Bigelow and Dr. John C. War- 
ren, well known physicians and surgeons of 
their day, after which he received his degree 
of M. D. from the Harvard Medical School, 
graduating with the class of 1824. At the 
<.lass dinner was present General LaFayette, 
who was on his second visit to this country at 
the time, the graduating class of Harvard be- 
ing invited to dine with him. Dr. Borden 
entered upon the practice of his profession at 
Wareham, Mass., where he remained about 
one year ; thence he removed to Nortli Bridge- 
water, where he afterward resided in the en- 
jciyment of a successful practice. 

In 1826 Dr. Borden married Lucy Ann, 
<laughter of Bartholomew Brown, Esq., and 
Betsey (Lazell) Brown, and granddaughter of 
John Brown and Ginger (Hutcliinson), of 
Sterling, Mass. Bartholomew Brown was a 
native of Danvers, Mass. He was graduated 
from Harvard University in 1799, and as a 
lawyer settled first in Sterling, then in East 
Bridgewater. His wife was a daughter of 
Gen. Silvanus Lazell, of East Bridgewater. 
To Dr. Borden and his wife were born the 
following children : Elizabeth Kinsman, born 
March 4, 1827, died aged fourteen months: 
George Kinsman, born Aug. 14, 1829, died 
May 25, 1889, unmarried; Edward Adolphus, 
born Feb. 28, 1833. died unmarried Oct. 13, 
1908 ; Marv Mitchell, born Jan. 31, 1837, died 
Feb. 13, 1899 ; Henry Francis was born Dec. 
15, 1844. Dr. Borden and his wife were of 
the Swedenborgian faith, belonging to the 
Church of the New Jerusalem at Brockton. 
He died Jan. 29, 1875. and she passed away 
June 22, 1876. 

(VIII) Henry Francis Borden, youngest 
child of the late Dr. Adolphus Kinsman and 
Lucy Ann (Brown) Borden, was born Dec. 
15, 1844, in North Bridgewater (now Brock- 



ton), and in the common schools received his 
early education. He then attended for five 
years Prof. Hunt's Academy in his native 
town, after which he became a student in the 
Harvard Scientific School, graduating there- 
from in the class of 1865, with the degree of 
S. B. He furthered his studies in the chemi- 
cal laboratory under Prof. J. P. Cook, and by 
attending lectures given by Prof. Louis Agas- 
siz. Entering Harvard Medical School he 
graduated with the degree of M. D. in the class 
of 1869. During the last year of his medical 
course he became house physician in the Bos- 
ton City hospital, receiving this appointment 
through a competitive examination, and re- 
maining there one year. For tlie- purpose of 
furthering his medical studies Dr. Borden took 
a trip abroad, where he spent over a year in 
special study of medicine and operative 
surgery in Paris and other foreign cities, re- 
maining in Paris until the outbreak of the 
Franco-Prussian war. Returning to his native 
town he in 1870 began the general practice 
of his profession, in which he has continued to 
the present time with success. 

Dr. Borden is a member of the Massachu- 
setts State Medical Society, the Harvard 
Medical Alumni, and the Boston City Hospital 
Alumni, and has served as president of the 
latter one year. He is consulting surgeon of 
the Brockton Citv Hospital, and chairman of 
the Training School for Nurses of Brockton. 
Fraternally he belongs to Paul Revere Lodge, 
A. F. & A. M.; Satucket Chapter, R. A. M.; 
Bay State Commandery, K. T. ; and for a 
number of years he was a member of Massasoit 
Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. ; he was first noble grand 
of Nemasket Encampment, No. 44 ; for several 
years he was also a member of the B. P. 0. 
Elks. In politics he is a Republican, but his 
profession has engrossed too much of his time 
to allow him opportunity for active party 
work. He and his family attend the Church 
of the New Jerusalem. 

On Sept. 30, 1875, Dr. Borden was married 
to Frances I. Cousens, daughter of Capt. 
Willard Cousens, a sea -captain of Fairfield, 
Maine. Dr. and Mrs. Borden have one daugh- 
ter. Mary Elizabeth, born May 16, 1894, who 
has been educated by private teachers, and is 
now studying music, possessing a very fine 
voice. 

CHARLES EDWARD COOK, prominent 
in street railway affairs, and one of the active 
and influential citizens of New Bedford, Mass., 
was born at Tiverton, R. I., and is a worthy 
member of the Cook family established in 



1230 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Rhode Island before the middle of the seven- 
teenth century. 

(I) Thomas Cook became an inhabitant of 
Portsmouth, R. 1., and "gave his engagement 
to the government and propounded for a lot"' 
in 1643. He was made a freeman of Ports- 
mouth in 16.55, and was a deputy in 1664. 
From the frequency of his name in public 
records he must have been a man of consider- 
able prominence. His wife's name was Mary, 
and he was the father of three sons: John, 
born in 1631, evidently a son by a former 
marriage, as in the settlement of his estate his 
widow is spoken of as "step-motlier to John 
Cook"; Thomas, known as Capt. Thomas; and 
George. Thomas Cook, the father, died Feb. 
6, 1674. 

(II) John Cook, son of Thomas, born in 
1631, died in 1691. He was made a freeman 
in 16.55, and was a deputy in 1670. On June 
3, 1668, he and Daniel \\'ilcox were given the 
privilege of running a ferry at Pocasset. He 
married Mary Borden, and they liad a family 
of nine children: Mary, who married William 
Manchester (born 1654, died 1718), and died 
in 1716; Elizabeth, born 1()53, who married 
in 1680 AVilliam Briggs (born 1650), and 
both died in 1716; Sarah, who married 
Thomas Wait, and died in 1733; John, born 
1656, who married Ruth Shaw; Hannah, who 
married (first) Daniel AVi'cox and (second) 
Enoch Briggs, and died in 1736; Joseph, who 
married April 10 (or 19), 1691. Susanna 
Briggs; Martha, who married William Cory; 
Deborah, who married William Almy; Thom- 
as, who married Mary Cory, and both died in 
1726. 

(III) Joseph Cook, son of John and Mary 
(Borden), married April 10 (or 19), 1691, 
Susanna Briggs, and their children were : Deb- 
orah, born May 5, 1692; John, Feb. 27, 
1694: Joseph, April 30, 1695; Thomas, March 
31, 1697; William, Sept. 11, 1701. Joseph 
Cook, the father, was a deputy to the General 
Court in 1704-07-08-09. He 'died March 21, 
1746. 

(IV) Thomas Cook, son of Joseph and 
Susanna (Briggs), was born March 31, 1697. 
He married in Portsmouth May 30, 1723, 
Philadelphia Cornell, daughter of George and 
Deliverance (Clark) Cornell. Their children 
were: Deborah, born Nov. 3, 1723; George, 
March 28, 1725; Sarah, Nov. 4, 1726; Susan- 
na, June 17, 1728; Walter, Jan. (?) 19, 1729; 
David, Oct. 12, 1731; Deliverance, Aug. 31, 
1736; Hannah, April 1, 17.38; Mnrv, Ort. 23, 
1739; Peleg, Oct. 3, 1741 ; Ruth; Oct. 16, 
1743; and Isaac, June 21, 1745. 



(V) ('apt. Isaac Cook, son of Thomas and 
I'hiladelpiiia (Cornell), born June 21, 1745,. 
married Lydia Seabury, born Sept. 27, 1744. 
Tlicy heeame the parents of children as fol- 
lows: William, born July 4, 1767; Reuben,. 
June 7. 1769; Elizabeth, May 5, 1771; Char- 
lotte, Sept. 12, 1773; Sarah, May 26, 1776; 
ilannali, May 29, 1779; John, May 14, 1781;. 
Dennis, March 13, 1783; Isaac, Feb. 27, 1785; 
Godfree, March 26, 1787. Isaac Cook, the 
father, was a j:aptain in the Revolutionary 
army. 

(VI) William Cook, son of Capt. Isaac and 
Lydia (Seabury), liorn July 4, 1767, married 
April 28, 1798, Deborah Cory, daughter of 
Philip and Comfort C^ory. His children were: 
John, born Sept. 20, 1799; Edward C, Feb. 

14, 1802 : Deborah, Sept. 6, 1803 ; Mary Ann,. 
May 27, 1806; Philip C, Dec. 26, 1807; and 
William. William Cook was engaged in the 
China trade for some years, and later in life- 
took up farming. 

(VII) Edward C. Cook, son of William and 
Deborah (Cory), born Feb. 14, 1802, married 
Oct. 21, 1828, in Tiverton, R. I., Ruth Cook,, 
born Sept. 3, 1812, daughter of John and 
Alice (Hambley) Cook, granddaughter of 
William and Ruth (Taber) Cook, great-grand- 
daughter of Walter Cook (born June 19, 1729,. 
son of Thomas and Philadelphia Cornell 
Cook) and Elizabeth (Hall) Cook. Edward 
C. Cook was a farmer by occupation. His 
children were: Charles E. (born Aug. 4, 
1833), Sarah, John and Emma. 

(V) Walter Cook, son of Thomas and Phil- 
adelphia (Cornell), was born Jan. (or June) 
19, 1729. He married May 1, 1851, Elizabeth 
Hall, of Portsmouth, R. "l. Their children 
were: George, born July 2, 1751; Thomas, 
Sept. 3, 1753; William. Nov. 7, 1755; Phila- 
delphia, March 10, 1758; Elizabeth, March 

15. 1760; Mary, April 2. 1762; Sarah, April 
9, 1764; Hannah. April 21, 1766; and Walter, 
Oct. 8, 1768. 

(VI) William Cook, son of Walter and 
Elizabeth (Hall), born Nov. 7, 1755, married 
Feb. 8, 1782, Ruth Taber, born March 3, 1762, 
daughter of Thomas Taber. Their children 
were: John, born in 1782; Cynthia, born Oct. 
3. 1783; and David, born Feb. 3, 1789. 

(VII) John Cook, son of William and Ruth 
(Taber), born in 1782, married in 1810 Alice 
Hambley. born March 10. 1787. daughter of 
Benjamin Hamblev. Their children were: 
Eliza H.. born Oct. 26, 1810; Ruth, Sept. 3, 
1812 (who married Edward C. Cook) ; Sarah^ 
Dec. 22, 1813; Charles, Aug. 25, 1815; Amey,. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1231 



Nov. ;>, 1817: Mary C, Nov. 1!), 1825; Fanny 
A., Juno 12, 1831." 

(VIII) Charles Edward Cook, son of Ed- 
ward C. and Ruth (Cook), was eighteen years 
of age when lie removed with his j)arents to 
Dartmouth, Mass., and there he remained on 
a farm until he was thirty years of age. He 
then eanie to New Bedford and engaged in the 
meat and produce business where the Standard 
building now is. Later he became interested 
in real estate operations, first witli S. T. A'iall, 
and for several years with Abbott P. Smith. 
Mr. Cook was one of the organizers and the 
first president and manager of the Acushnet 
Street Railway Company, and after its con- 
solidation with the Union Street Railway 
Company he held the position of manager and 
purchasing agent for several years. Later he 
and others with him built the Dartmouth & 
We.^tport street railway, of which he was in 
1898 a director and vice president. 

ilr. Cook has been twice married. He mar- 
ried first Julia E. Potter. His present wife 
was Mary Ann Sherman, daughter of Royal 
Slierman, of Dartmouth, and to this union 
was born a son, Edward R., now a farmer in 
Dartmouth. 

STILLMAN ALGER, a well known agri- 
culturist of Bridgewater who" for fifty and 
more years was engaged in butchering, was 
born in that town June 29, 1828, youngest 
rhild of Daniel and Salome (Keith) Alger. 
The Algers are one of the early settled families 
of southeastern Massachusetts. 

(I) Thomas Alger, the first of the name in 
Bridgewater, located first in the town of 
Taunton, and later came to that part of 
Bridgewater known as West Bridgewater. In 
1665 he married Elizabeth Packard, daugiiter 
of Samuel Packard, and among their children 
were Israel and Deliverance. 

(II) Israel Alger, son of Thomas, made his 
home in Bridgewater, where he followed farm- 
ing and where he died. He married Patience 
Hay ward, daughter of Nathaniel Hay ward, 
and their five children were: Israel, born in 
1689; Jo.seph, 1694: Thomas, 1697; Na- 
thaniel, 1700; and John, 1704 (died 1730). 

(III) Thomas Alger, son of Israel, was born 
in Bridgewater in 1697, and in 1724 married 
Sarah Dunbar, daughter of Peter Dunbar. 

(lY) Thomas Alger, son of Thomas, was 
born in Bridgewater, and died in 1793. He 
married Mehitabel Briggs, of Norton, and she 
died in 1795. In the Massachusetts records 
of soldiers and sailors who fought in the war 
of the Revolution there is a record of a 



'i'homas Alger who was a ])rivate in Caj)t. 
Nathan Packard's (Light Infantry) com- 
j)any. Col. John Jacobs's regiment; enlisted 
Oct. 9, 1779, discharged Nov. 8, 1779, one 
month's service at Rhode Island. The chil- 
dren born to Thomas and Meiiitabel were : 
James and Daniel, both of whom were bap- 
tized in 1766. 

(\') James Alger, son of Thomas, made his 
home in the town of Bridgewater, part of his- 
pro})erty lying in West Bridgewater. By oc- 
cujiation he was a farmer. He sferved in the 
war of the Revolution, his records appearing 
in Soldiers and Sailors of Massachusetts as 
follows: James Alger, of Bridgewater, matross, 
('apt. Daniel Lothrop's company. Col. John 
Bailey's regiment; enlisted April 10, 1775, 
discharged May 2, 1775 — service twenty-thrSe 
days. Also private, muster roll dated Aug. 1, 
1775, enlisted May 3, 1775, service three 
months, six days. James Alger married Me- 
hitabel Briggs, of Norton (same name as his 
mother), and their children were: Daniel, 
James, and several daughters, one of whom 
was Olive (who married Daniel Tyler, of 
Pittsfield). 

(VI) Daniel Alger, eldest son of James, 
was born on the line of West Bridgewater, the 
Bridgewater and West Bridgewater town lines 
running through his house. After his mar- 
riage he moved to East Bridgewater, where he 
for some time engaged in farming. His health 
failed and he was obliged to give up work, and 
he passed his last years with his children. 
He died at the old home in Bridgewater. In 
1806 he married Salome Keith, born in 1787, 
daughter of Joseph and Betty (Sherman) 
Keith. They had nine children, as follows: 
]']mily Williams, born Oct. 1, 1807, who mar- 
ried Ruel Richmond and died leaving a 
daugiiter Fanny, who resides in Brockton, 
Mass.; Daniel Francis, born March 29, 1810; 
James Newton, born Oct. 26, 1812; Joseph 
Allen, born Jan. 1, 1815; Eliza Sherman, born 
Nov. 11, 1817, who married John Eaton; 
Salome, born March 20, 1820, who married 
Mason Simmons, and died leaving five chil- 
dren — George (deceased), Ida (widow of 
Charles A. Bonney, of Brockton), Emma (un- 
married and residing in Brockton), Harriet 
(married to Arthur Hall, of Brockton) and 
Morton (of Bridgewater) ; Morton, born Oct. 
7, 1822; (Jeorge F., born Dec. 19, 1825; and 
Stillman, born June 29, 1828, now the only 
survivor of his family. 

(VTT) Stillman Alger, son of Daniel, was 
early deprived of his mother's care, and when 
he was onlv two years old her ill health made 



1232 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



it necessary to place him in the care of stran- 
gers. At the age of ten years he came with the 
rest of the family to Bridgewater, and what- 
ever education he received was obtained in a 
local school, which he attended only during 
the winter months. From the time he was 
ten he had to work at farm labor, and at the 
age of fourteen he was hired by his brothers, 
who were engaged in the butchering business, 
to drive their meat wagon, receiving the first 
year his board and clothes, and the following 
year his board and ten dollars a month. He 
continued in this line until he was eighteen 
years old, when he started in business on his 
own account, and for over a half century he 
conducted a successful butchering business, 
liaving the Bridgewaters and other towns near 
by for his market. He bought his cattle at 
Brighton, and he killed and dressed from ten 
to twenty head per week during these years. 
He w'as also engaged in farining, having 
bought his land piece by piece until he now 
has seventy-five acres of fine land, all under 
cultivation, and a part of it in the town of 
West Bridgewater. He also owns the old 
home, in the house on which place his father 
was born. This house stands half in the town 
of West Bridgewater. He has made extensive 
improvements on the place, and has added an 
ice house and other buildings. He has been 
a great lover of horses, and has always owned 
good blooded stock. He has raised over 
twenty, many of which brought fancy prices. 
In 186.5 Mr. Alger, in partnersliip with Josiah 
B. Thomas, of Wareham, under the firm name 
of Alger & Thomas, engaged in business in 
Boston, dealing in hides and skins, in which 
line they continued for a period of twelve 
years, when their place of business was visited 
by a fire, destroying their stock, Mr. Alger 
losing over $10,000 as a result of the conflagra- 
tion. 

Mr. Alger is a strong Republican, and has 
always supported the policies 'of that party, but 
he is a man of independent ideas and cannot 
be turned from what he thinks is right. For 
many years he filled the office of selectman, 
and for three years was chairman of the board. 
He has been chairman of the board of asses- 
sors, and was overseer of the poor. At the 
age of fifteen, in 184.3, he became a member 
of the Plymouth County Agricultural Society 
and has continued so ever since, and for 
twenty-five years has been a trustee of the 
same. For a number of years he has been a 
member of the West Bridgewater Grange, and 
also the Old Colony Pomona and the State 
Grange. Mr. Alger is a public-spirited man. 



and has taken great pride in his farm, his 
horses and his town. He is a member of the 
Unitarian Church. Fraternally he belongs to 
Fellow.ship Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Bridgewater. 
On April 21, 1850, in Bridgewater, Mr. 
Alger married Margaret Washburn, born in 
that town Dec. 9, 1829, daugliter of Carver 
Washburn (mentioned elsewhere). She died 
July 4, 1856, at the age of twenty-seven, and 
was laid to rest in Mount Prospect cemetery, 
where also are buried three of her four chil- 
dren. The children were : Stillman, born 
Dec. 29, 1850, was drowned in the Pacific 
ocean in February, 1868, while on a voyage 
for his health; Austin Washburn, born June 
19, 1852, was drowned near his home in 
Bridgewater in Jiily, 1872; William E., born 
May 20, 1854, died March 5, 1855; and Har- 
riet Carver, born Feb. 19, 1856, died Dec. 6, 
1856. In 1856 Mr. Alger built a good cot- 
tage, but his wife did not live long to enjoy it. 
Since the death of his wife and children he 
has boarded with a neighbor. 

MARSHALL (Brockton family). For an 
hundred years and more the family of Mar- 
shall has been in the Bridgewater region of 
Massachusetts, and for only a little less than 
that in that j^art of the North parish (later 
North Bridgewater and now the city of Brock- 
ton) where have figured actively in business 
and been a part of the civic and social life- 
of this community some of the posterity of 
Hayward Marshall, notably his son Perez 
Marshall, long engaged in the manufacture of 
shoes, and the latter 's son, the late Floward 
Tisdale Marshall, who for a number of years 
was prominent in the activities of the city. 

The Marshall family is an ancient one here, 
as well as one of distinction. It will be re- 
called that this family gave to the country one 
of its chief justices of the Supreme court. 
There were a number of immigrants to New 
England by the name of Marshall in its early 
history, but the name has not been common 
or the family numerous in this immediate 
section of Massachusetts. 

Christopher Marshall, of Boston, 1634, 
went to Exeter, N. H. Edmund Marshall, 
of Salem, 1636, probably removed to Ipswich 
and on to New London. Conn. From him is 
believed to have come the early Framingham 
family of the name, and those in and about 
the region of Connecticut just indicated. 
Francis Marshall, of Boston, a master mari- 
ner, came in the ship "Hopewell," from Lon- 
don, 1635, as did also John of Boston. And 
there was a John Marshall of Billerica, 1658, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1233 



John of Providence, 1()3U, and Jolm of Dux- 
bury (who married Marj-, daughter of Rev. 
Ralph Partridge). There were also among 
■others Thomas Marsliall, of Boston, 1634; 
Robert, of Salem, 1637, who, perhaps, moved 
to Boston; Thomas, of Doreliester, 1634, who 
probably moved to Windsor, Conn. The 
Thomas Marshall, of Boston, 1634 (above), 
resided there aiul was a nuin of much re- 
spectability, his name often occurring on the 
town records ; he was chosen to offices of trust. 
He was a deacon of the First Church and was 
selectman of Boston from 1648 to 1657, repre- 
sented the town in the General Court, etc. 
He brought from England two sons, Thomas 
and Samuel, and two daughters. Of tlie sons, 
Samuel settled in Windsor, Conn., w-as a cap- 
tain in the great Swamp Fight Dec. 19, 1675, 
and was there killed with many of his men. 

John Marshall, alluded to above as eojuing 
in the "Hopewell," lived in Milk street, Bos- 
ton, and died in advanced age,, leaving de- 
scendants, probably one of whom was Col. 
Thomas Marshall, who had command of the 
10th Massachusetts Regiment. Continental 
troops, from 1777 to 1780, and in the same 
regiment Capt. Christopher Marshall had a 
company. It is probable that most of the 
Boston Marshalls have been of- the family 
just named, though Robert and Francis left 
some descendants there. 

Still later on, and distinct from any of the 
early Marshalls above mentioned, was a John 
Marshall who as means of distinction has 
been characterized as of Braintree. He was a 
mason or bricklayer, and the Christian name 
of his wife was Ruth. He was a native of 
Scotland, and is of record in Boston as early 
as 1659. One of his sons, Thomas, settled in 
•Greenwich. Connecticut. 

There lived in ancient Bridgewater along 
in the middle of the eighteenth century one 
Benjamin Marshall, his wife, to whom he was 
married in 1768, being formerly Mary, born 
in 1749, daughter of Thomas and EHzabeth 
(Gannet) Hay ward, and a descendant of 
Thomas Hayward, who came from England 
and settled in Duxbury before 1638 and be- 
came an original proprietor of Bridgewater. 
from whom her descent is through Nathaniel, 
Thomas and Thomas Hayward (2). The chil- 
dren of this couple were: Hayward, born in 
1771; Calvin, born in 1774: Benjamin, born 
in 1777; Rowlandson, born in 1780; Gannet, 
bom in 1784; and Ambrose, twin to Gannet. 
Of these. Rowlandson married in 1808 Olive 
Manley. and Gannet married in 1810 Mary 
Hayward. 



Hayward Marshall, son of Benjamin and 
Mary (Hayward), born April 6, 1771, seeming- 
ly lived for a time in Stoughtoii, at least it is 
in evidence that he came from Stoughton to 
the town of North Bridgewater. On June 8, 

1794, he married Olive, born in 1774, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Olive (Manley) Hayward, 
of the same Hayward family alluded to above. 
Their children were : Abigail, born May 12, 

1795, married Waldo Field; Benjamin, born 
Jan. 19, 1798, married Polly Howard; Hay- 
ward, born March 5, 1800, married Almira 
Wild; Perez, born Dec. 39, 1801, is mentioned 
below; and Hannah, born Dec. 15, 1803, mar- 
ried Rossetter Jones. The father died June 
13, 1839, and the mother Nov. 12, 1860. Mr. 
Marshall was engaged in farming in that part 
of town known as Marshall's Corner, where 
he also kept a tavern for a number of years. 

Perez Marshall, son of Hayward, ,born Dec. 
29, 1801, married (first) April 24, 1825, 
Sophronia Thompson, daughter of Capt. 
Thomas Thompson, of North Bridgewater. 
She died May 1, 1836, and he married (sec- 
ond) Dec. 15, 1838, Elizabeth Ti.«dale, daugh- 
ter of Col. Israel and Betsey (Talbot) Tis- 
dale, of Sharon, Mass. Mrs. Marshall was a 
direct descendant in the seventh generation of 
John Tisdale, who was born in England aliout 
1600, and in 1636 came to Duxbury. Mass., 
where he remained until 1650. when he re- 
moved to Taunton, Mass., where during King 
Philip's war in 1675 his house was destroyed, 
and lie was murdered by the Indians. Mrs. 
Marshall died in North Bridgewater March 
27, 1858, aged forty-three years. The children 
of Perez Marshall, all boni to his second 
marriage, were : Howard Tisdale. born Oct. 
24, 1839, is mentioned below; Susan Eliza- 
beth, born Jan. 9, 1841, married Henry Man- 
ley, of North Bridgewater, and they reside in 
Roxbury, Mass. ; Albert Leander, born April 
21, 1842, served in the Civil war as a member 
of the 3d Mass. V. I., and the 14th Mass. 
Battery, and died May 2, 1910, unmarried ; 
Louisa Ann. born Feb. 29. 1844, married 
(first) Frederick Gates, of Orange. Mass., 
and (second) Charles Healey, of Lynn, Mass., 
and is now a widow, residing in Boston ; Ed- 
ward Elmer, born Sept. 5, 1846, was drowned 
Feb. 26, 1853 ; Emma Josephine, born July 
12, 1848, is the wife of Joslah Sears, of 
Brockton, where they reside ; Alice Almira, 
born Sept. 17. 1850, is the widow of Charles 
Galen Manley. of Boulder, Colo., where he 
died and where - she now makes her home ; 
Charles Sumner, born March 27, 1853, mar- 
ried Tvouisa B. Dunbar, and resides in East 



78 



1234 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Bridgewaterj and Abby Sophronia, born Aug. 
21, 1S55, died Aug. 3, 1856. Perez Marshall, 
the father, was a farmer in early life, and 
owned a large tract of land in that section of 
the town known as Marshall's Corner. Later 
he engaged in the manufacture of boots and 
shoes, and was the pioneer in the introduction 
of congress gaiters when they were first pat- 
ented, paying $75 per year as royalty. He 
continued successfully engaged in manufac- 
turing until about 1861, when he retired from 
the business, and some ten years later removed 
to North Bridgewater Centre, where the re- 
mainder of his life was spent, and where he 
died Aug. 21, 1883. In early life he was a 
Whig, later becoming a Free-soiler, being a 
great admirer of Charles Sumner, and was 
one of the three men who went from North 
Bridgewater to Worcester, Mass., to form 
that party ; in later life he became a Republi- 
can, continuing as such until his death. 

Howard Tisdale Marshall, eldest son of 
the late Perez and Elizabeth (Tisdale) Mar- 
shall, was born Oct. 24, 1839, in North 
Bridgewater (now Brockton), in that part of 
the town known as Marshall's Corner. He ac- 
quired his early education in the district 
schools ; later he attended Prof. S. D. Hunts 
Academy, which was then one of tlie well 
known institutions of his native town. Leav- 
ing school when about eighteen years of age, 
he went to work for his uncle, Edward Tis- 
dale, of West Bridgewater, engaged at boot 
and shoe making, having previously acquired 
a knowledge of the business by working in 
his father's shop out of scliool hours. After 
remaining with his uncle for about one and a 
half years, he purchased his father's business, 
and continued to manufacture boots and shoes 
iti that shop until 1869, wlicn he removed to 
the center of North Bridgewater, where he en- 
gaged in the manufacture of shoes, on Mon- 
tello street. Mr. Marshall also patented sev- 
eral novelties in the shoemaking line, such as 
rubber sole lawn tennis and yachting shoes, 
which became well known throughout the 
country. He met with success in the business, 
and continued to manufacture shoes until 
Dec. 1, 1892, when he sold out to Kimball, 
Tisdale & Baker. Being of a mechanical turn 
of mind, with natural as well as acquired 
ability, he began the manufacture of shoe ma- 
chinery, in wliich, together with "ex])erimental 
work in the line of machinery construction, 
he continued until his death, which occurred 
May 15, 1910. In 1809 he started the publi- 
cation of the Brockton Wrrkly Free Press, 
which he conducted for several months, after 



which time he was engaged in the publishing: 
business, having established "The New 
and Free Thought in Politics," which publica- 
tion was devoted to the cause of Antimasonry. 
In political faith Mr. Marshall was a Republi- 
can, with independent tendencies. For sev- 
eral years he was a member ot the Brockton 
Board of Trade, having been a member of the 
same during the McKinley administration, 
when the question was discussed by the vari- 
ous Boards of Trade of the country, as tO' 
what disposition was to be made of the Philip- 
pine islands after the Spanish-American war. 

Mr. Marshall attended the Unitarian 
Church, of which his wife is a member, and he- 
was kindly toward all movements tending to- 
ward the intellectual and moral growth of the- 
community. 

On Aug. 28, 1862, Mr. Marshall married 
Saraii Augusta Dunbar, who was born June- 
27, 1843, in North Bridgewater, daughter of 
Hiram and Lydia Weston (Dickerman) Dun- 
bar, and a descendant in the seventh genera- 
tion from James Dunbar, of Hingham, Mass.;. 
she is also a descendant of John Alden. To 
this union were born two sons: (1) Albert 
Tisdale, born May 15, 1867, graduated from' 
the School of Technology. Worcester. Mass., 
after which he took a post-graduate course at 
the Massachusetts Institute of Technology at 
Boston ; he is now a member of the H. T. 
Marshall Machine Company, of Brockton. He 
is the patentee of an ice machine for refriger- 
ating purposes, and is located in Hartford, 
Conn., where he has charge of the Federal Ice . 
Company's plant. lie married Lois Dunbar, 
daughter of Charles Henry Dunbar, of West 
Bridgewater, and they have two sons, Ralph 
Merriman and Paul Howard. (2) Herman 
W., born Nov. 10, 1875, a graduate of Johns 
Hopkins I^Iedical School and the Boston 
School of Technology, is unmarried and re- 
sides in Boston, where he is a practicing phy- 
sician and surgeon. 

^ '-art -^ 

JA^[ES HENRY NYE, a successful busi- 
ness man engaged in the hay and grain trade 
at Brockton, of which place he is one of the 
representative citizens, is a member of one of 
New England's earliest settled families. Mr. 
Nye was born Jan. 21, 1840, in Sandwich, 
Mass., a descendant of Benjamin Nye, the 
emigrant ancestor, in the seventh generation. 

Nye as a family name is said to have made- 
its first appearance about the middle of the 
thirteenth century in Denmark. From that 
time on and into England the family has been 
followed by the compiler of the "Nye Family,"" 







/W«<^2/?;^ ^f"^fe^^^a^^ 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



12135 



to which the reader is referred for detail. 
Since the eoining to New England in the early 
years of the seventeenth century of Benjamin 
Nye, the forerunner of this family here in 
America, it has been a continuous one, many 
members of which have given a good account 
of themselves, becoming useful men and 
women in their various communities, and tlie 
men prominent and influential in various lines 
of effort and public service. The generations 
down to James Henry Nye follow in chrono- 
logical order. 

(I) Benjamin Nye, born May 4, 1620, at 
Bidlenden, Kent, England, came to this coun- 
try and to Lynn, Mass., in the ship "Abigail," 
with Edmund Freeman's Company, 1635. Mr. 
Nye's lineage is traced back to Eandolf Nye, 
who settled in Sussex, England, in 1527, 
through William Ralph, Thomas and Thomas 
(2). Benjamin Nye was married Oct. 19, 
1640, in Sandwich, Mass., to Katherine, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Tupper, who, too, was a passen- 
ger in the '"Abigail,"" and who in 1637 settled 
in Sandwich. In 1654 Benjamin Nye's name 
appears on a list of those contributing toward 
building a mill; in 1655 his name is on tlie 
subscription list for building a meetinghouse ; 
in the same year (1655) he was supervisor of 
highways; in 1657, he engaged to pay fifteen 
shillings yearly toward the minister's salary; 
was chosen constable in 1661, etc. He seems 
to have built a mill at the little pond and 
therefor the town in 1669 voted him twelve 
acres of land. He w-as granted permission in 
1675 to build a fulling-mill upon Spring river. 
These with other references to him in import- 
ant connection and relation to public business 
evidence the kind of man he was. The chil- 
dren of Benjamin and Katherine were : Mary, 
John, Ebenezer, Jonathan, Mercy, Caleb, Na- 
than and Benjamin. 

(II) John Nye, son of Benjamin, took the 
oath of fidelity in 1678, and in that same year 
served on the grand jury. Along wuth his 
brother, Ebenezer, he purchased 100 acres of 
land in Falmouth, and in 1689 they were 
granted 200 acres more. On May 10, 1694, he 
was appointed on a committee by the town to 
erect two cottages on the plain for the shep- 
herds to dwell in. He was on a committee in 
September, 1695, to provide a suitable person 
to keep school in the town for one year. Mr. 
Nye married Esther Shed. He died in 172i2. 
Children: Benjamin, born Nov. 24, 1673; 
John, born Nov. 22, 1675 ; Abigail, born April 
18, 1678 (married Edward Dillingham) ; Ex- 
perience, born Dec. 16, 1682 (married Josiah 
Swift) ; Hannah, born Jan. 19, 1685 (married 



Isaac Jennings) ; Ebenezer, born Sept. 23, 
1687; Peleg, born Nov. 12, 1689; Nathan; Jo- 
seph, born in 1694; and Cornelius, born in 
1697. 

(III) Peleg Nye, born Nov. 12, 1689, in 
Sandwich, Mass., married June 26, 1717, Eliz- 
abeth Bryant, and they were residents of Sand- 
wich. He died there in November or Decem- 
ber, 1761. Their children were: Nathaniel, 
born June 7, 1719; Elizabeth, born May 22, 
1721 (married Joseph Gifford) ; Joseph, born 
Oct. 21, 1723 : and Abigail, born March 5, 1725. 

(IV) Joseph Nye, born Oct. 21, 1723, in 
Sandwich, Mass., there died in 1790. He mar- 
ried Dec. 23, 1756, Elizabeth Holmes, of Sand- 
wich, who survived him. Children : Elisha 
born Nov. 2, 1757 ; Bartlett, born" Aug. 8 
1759; Temperance, born May 3, 1762; Lem 
uel, born Oct. 14, 1764; Jane, born in 1767 
Bryant, born Sept. 13, 1769; Joseph, born 
Oct. 30, 1771 ; Heman, born Nov. 23, 1773 
and Peleg, born July 9, 1778. 

(V) Heman Nye, born Nov. 23, 1773, in 
East Sandwich, Mass., died there June 2, 
1847. He was a seafaring man, following the 
same vocation all his life, being engaged mostly 
in the West Indian trade, and for many years 
was master of vessels plying in this trade. On 
June 24, 1799, he married Mehetabel How- 
land, born June 23, 1773, daughter of Job 
Howland, of Barnstable, and a direct descend- 
ant of John Howland, of the "Mayflower."' 
Their children were : Job Howland, born Feb. 
25, 1801 ; Hannah Howland, born Dec. 11, 
1805; Josiah Fish, born Sept. 21, 1806; 
Joanna Chipman, born April 25, 1809 ; Heman, 
born July 21, 1812; Elisha B., born March 8, 
1815; and Pele?, born March 10, 1817. The 
mother died May 25, 1860. 

(VI) Josiah Fish Nye, father of James 
Henry Nye, was born Sept. 21, 1806, in Sand- 
wich, Mass., and died there Sept. 1, 1867. In 
early life he followed the sea, and for a time 
was engaged in the whaling trade, being mate 
of various vessels thus engaged. He finally 
made a trip to the ]\Iiddle West, going by way 
of the Erie canal and thence by o.x team, the 
trip taking three weeks; and he bought a tract 
of land in Ohio, in Sandusky county, where 
now stands the city of Fremont. He remained 
there but about a year, when he returned home 
iiiul again took to the water, following the sea 
until about twenty years prior to his death, 
when he took up farming in the south part of 
the town, where he had a well kept farn; of 
about one hundred acres. For many years he 
lived in the central part of the town, but 
finally settled down on his farm in the southern 



1236 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



part of tlie town, where his remaining days 
were spent and where he died. He was a very 
industrious man, and kindly in manner. In 
early life he was an old-line Whis;, and upon 
the organization of the Eepublican party be- 
came identified with the latter. In his younger 
days he united with the Congregational 
Church, but in his latter years was identified 
with the Methodist Church, which he attended 
up to the time of his death. In 18.'?8 he married 
Sarah A. Xye, born March 6, 1811, daughter of 
Prince Nye, of Sandwich. Mrs. Nye died Feb. 
20, 1846, aged thirty-five years, the mother of 
two sons, namely : James Henry, mentioned be- 
low; and Holmes, born Oct. 8, 1845, who mar- 
ried Sarah J. French, and jesides in Waljiole, 
Mass., where he is engaged as a contractor and 
builder. Josiah F. Nye married (second) Jan. 
19, 1847, Deborah Allen, born Dec. 19, 1812, 
of Barnstable, Mass. She died without issue, 
in Sandwich, Jan. 19, 1860. 

(VII) James Henry Nye acquired his edu- 
cation in the district schools of his native town, 
attending school in the winter months and 
assisting with the work on the home farm dur- 
ing the summers until he was about eighteen 
years of age. After leaving school he followed 
farming, shoemaking and various other occupa- 
tions which kept him busy at home until he 
was about twenty-six years of age. He then 
took up shoemaking as his steady occupation, 
and in 1871 came to North Bridgewater (now 
Brockton), and for the following ten years 
followed shoemaking, working in the "gang 
rooms" of various shoe factories. In 1881 Mr. 
Nye entered business on his own account, estal)- 
lishing himself in the livery and sale stable 
business at No. 65 Lincoln street, and shortly 
after, in connection with the livery stable, en- 
gaged in the hay and grain business. He re- 
mained at the same location until the grade 
crossings of the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford railway were abolished, when he re- 
moved his business to Freight Yard square, at 
which location he has since continued. In 
1905 Mr. Nye disposed of the livery depart- 
ment of his business to J. B. Kelsea & Com- 
pany, and has since devoted his time entirely 
to tiie other branch, dealing in hay, grain, etc. 
Mr. Nye is also seniqr member of the firm of 
Nye & Gleason, of Brockton, his partner being 
Willard F. Gleason, of Holbrook, this firm 
being extensively engaged in the wholesale hay 
business, as dealers and shippers, having a 
large storehouse and hay pressing machines 
located in Seneca county. New York. 

Fraternally Mr. Nye is a member of Paul 
Eevere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and is a charter 



member of I']lectric Lodge, No. 204, I. 0. 0. 
F., of Brockton. For a number of years he 
has been a member of the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce, and he holds membership in the 
Commercial Club, and is a member of the 
Board of Trade at Brockton. 

Although not a member, Mr. Nye is identi- 
fied with the First Congregational Church, and 
is liberal in his donations to various religious 
and charitable organizations. In political 
faith he is a stanch Republican, but has never 
aspired to public office. 

On Oct. 10, 1866, Mr. Nye was united in 
marriaee to Mageie C. Fish, daughter of Chip- 
man and Mercy (Chadwick) Fish, of Sand- 
wich, Mass. Mrs. Nye passed away in Brock- 
ton Dec. 12. 189.3, the mother of the following 
children: Florence G., born Aug. 31, 1873, who 
resides at home; and Josiah C, born Aug. 11, 
1883, who is associated in business with his 
father and resides at home. 



Through his grandmother, Mrs. Mehetabel 
(Ilowland) Nye, Mr. Nye is descended from 

(I) John Ilowland, of the "Mayflower," 
1620, who married Elizabeth Tillcy. 

(II) John Howland (2), born 24th of 2d 
month, 1627, in Plymouth, married 26th of 
10th month, 1651, Mary, daughter of Robert 
Lee, of Barnstable. 

(III) John Howland (3), born 31st of 12th 
month, 1674, in Barnstable, married (second) 
2d of 11th month, 1719, Mary Crocker. 

(IV^ Job Howland, born 18th of 6th month, 
1726, in Barnstable, married 6th of 12th 
month, 1753, Hannah, daughter of Benjamin 
Jenkins. 

(V) Mehetabel Howland, daughter of Job, 
married Heman Nye. 

HORTOX (in early records without the 
"H"). The Horton family came early to New 
England. Thomas, of Windsor, removed to 
Springfield in 1638 and died leaving a son 
Jeremiah by wife Mary. Barnabas Horton, 
a native of Monsley, Leicestershire, England, 
was at IIam]iton in 1640, and was of Southold, 
Long Island, in l(i(>2. Benjamin Horton, per- 
haps a brother, lived at the same place, same 
time, and Caleb, too. Then there was John 
Horton at Guilford, and Thomas at Charles- 
town. Coming now to the Rehoboth Ilortons, 
one John Horton. said to have come from Eng- 
land, settled in Rehoboth and there married 
Mehetabel Gamzey, and had John, Jotham, 
Nathaniel, Jonathan and David. The Reho- 
both vital records give as the early heads of 
families there Thomas and Hannah, David, 



SOUTHEASTERN^ MASSACHUSETTS 



1237 



their eldest child, being born Oct. 8, 1701; and 
John, Jr., antl Mary, whose eldest child, Ruth, 
was born July 19, 1720. 

(I) Solomon Horton, of Rehoboth, married 
there Feb. 18, 1737-38, Mary Goll Their 
children of Rehoboth town record were : 
Charles, born March 18, 1739; Constant, Oct. 
29, 1740; Solomon, Jan. 15, 1742-43; Mary, 
Aug. 10, 1745; Abigail, Oct. 14, 1747; Daniel, 
Jan. 30, 1749-50; and Aaron, March 21, 1752. 

(II) Solomon Horton (2), son of Solomon 
and Mary (GolT) Horton, born Jan. 15, 1742- 
43, married at Dighton in November, 1768, 
Hannali Talbot, of that town. Mr. Horton 
was a soldier of the Revolution, serving as ser- 
geant in Capt. Elijah Walker's company. 
Colonel Pope's Bristol county regiment, 1776. 
He was a resident of Dighton, Mass., and he 
and his wife were the parents of ten children, 
seven of them sons. 

(III) Aaron Horton, son of Solomon and 
Hannah (Talbot) Horton, born in 1779 or 
1780, married (first) Bethaney, daughter of 
Samuel Baker, of Rehoboth, and (second) Jan. 
3, 1842, Sally, daughter of Cromwell and Sarah 
(Mason) Burr, of Rehoboth. Mr. Horton 
was occupied in farming in Rehoboth, Mass., 
where he died Dec. 3, 1854, aged seventy-four 
years. His children were : Mason, Danforth, 
Hiram, Nancy B. (married Jarvis W. Eddy), 
Nathaniel B., Angeline (married Levi Baker) 
and Alvah. 

(IV) Nathaniel Baker Horton, son of 
Aaron and Bethaney (Baker) Horton, was 
born in Rehoboth July 25, 1820. He was 
educated in the schools of his native town, and 
remained on his father's farm until he was 
eighteen years old, when he went to Fall River. 
There he learned the mason's trade of Earle & 
Horton, of that city, and worked at that occu- 
pation twenty years. About 1856 he pur- 
chased the old homestead of his father, con- 
sisting of about one hundred acres in Rehoboth, 
which had been in the possession of the family 
for several generations. To this he has added 
one hundred acres by purchase. He married 
Jan. 11, 1844, Mary M., daughter of James 
and Mary H. (Mason) Eddy. She was born 
in Swansea Aug. 25, 1824, and died April 14, 
1850. They had a son, Arthur, born Jan. 
24, 1847, who died in 1853. Mr. Horton mar- 
ried (second) Dec. 23, 1854, Mary J., daugh- 
ter of Hail and Patience (Bosworth) Buffin- 
ton, of Rehoboth. She was bOrn July 18, 
1832.  Four children blessed this union, 
namely: Adin Baker, bom Nov. 7, 1855; Mary 
M., Oct. 31, 1857 (married Frank N. Martin, 
and their daughter, Edith M., married Dr. 



Emory C. Kellogg, of Swansea, and they have 
a son, Arthur C.) ; Arabella B., Aug. 20, 1863 
( married Elmer A. Cummings, and resides in 
Swansea; no children); and Artluir E., Aug. 
6, 1870 (married Dec. 30, 1891, Lillian F. 
Weaver, daughter of Stephen and Ruth Buf- 
fington Weaver; no children). 

Nathaniel B. Horton was active, energetic 
and industrious, and was prominently identi- 
fied with every affair of interest in his town. 
He held every office of importance in the gift 
of his townsmen. He represented Seekonk 
and Rehoboth two sessions in the State Legis- 
lature. During the Civil war he was agent for 
the town in filling its quota for military serv- 
ice; was also recruiting and enrolling officer 
and placed in service for Rehoboth about 190 
enlisted men, traveling in that service through 
various States and as far south as Virginia. 
Perhaps very few men in the town ever have 
held more responsible positions, or discharged 
their duties with more ability or with more 
acceptance to their constituents. Formerly a 
Democrat, later a Free-soiler, he was from 
1857 a Republican. Mr. Horton was con- 
nected with various corporation.s and business 
interests of Fall River, being a stockholder in 
several banks and a number of cotton mills, of 
one of which, the Bourne Mills, he was a direc- 
tor from the time of its organization until his 
death. He was often called upon to adminis- 
ter estates, and had the reputation of being not 
only an able and upright business man, but 
an agreeable and very social gentleman, with a 
large following of friends. His death occurred 
Jan. 4, 1900, and he was buried in Cold Brook 
cemetery, Rehoboth. 

Hail Buffinton, father of Mrs. Mary J. Hor- 
ton, was born in Rehoboth, Mass., son of Benja- 
min and Mary (Mason) Buffinton, and there 
spent the greater part of his life. lie died at the 
age of thirty-nine years. He married Patience, 
daughter of David and Elizabeth (Luther) Bos- 
worth, and they had five children: Ruth A., 
who married John H. Pierce and resides in 
Lawrence, Mass. ; M,ary J., who married Na- 
thaniel B. Horton; David B., deceased; Gardi- 
ner Luther, deceased; and George Hail, de- 
ceased. 

For many years Mrs. Horton has resided 
during the summer at her cottage in Tiverton, 
R. I., overlooking the waters of Mount Hope 
hay and the Seaconnet river. During the rest 
of the year she lives in a new house which she 
built at Hortonville after the death of her hus- 
l)and, while her son Arthur resides at the old 
homestead. 

(V) AniN Baker Horton, son of Nathaniel 



1238 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



B. and Mary J. (Buffinton) Horton, was boru 
Nov. 1, 1855. On June 26, 1879, he married 
Hannah S. Hale, daughter of William B. and 
Elizabeth Hale, and she died in October, 1909, 
the mother of four children : Alvah H., born 
Sept. 7, 1880 (married Etta Allen, of Assonet, 
and has one son, John Allen) ; Mary E., Oct. 
1, 1881 (married Robert Hewitt, of Middle- 
boro, and has one son, Bertram Adin) ; Angle 
B., April 12, 1883; and Nathaniel B., Dec. 
18, 1891. 

WING (New Bedford family). The Wing 
family here treated — that of some of the de- 
scendants of the late John and Rebecca (Slo- 
cum) Wing of Dartmouth, one of whose sons 
was the late Capt. Lyman \\'ing, who was for 
many years a master mariner and a successful 
whaler, and the latter's son, the present Charles 
F. Wing, Esq., long successfully engaged in the 
house furnishing business, one of New Bed- 
ford's enterprising and public-spirited citizens 
— is a branch of the ancient Wing family of 
Sandwich, this Commonwealth, where the name 
has been a continuous one and the family num- 
erous from almost the very dawn of civilization 
there, and one of some two hundred years' 
standing in Dartmouth. 

There follows in chronological order from the 
first American ancestor and somewhat in detail 
the genealogy and family history of the New 
Bedford branch of the Wings alluded to. 

(I) John Wing, of Sandwich, of whom noth- 
ing seems to be definitely known by the geneal- 
ogist of the Wing family before his arrival at 
Boston and his residence at Saugus (Lynn) 
except that he had married Deborah, the second 
daughter of Rev. Stephen Batchelder, and was 
one of that ministers company. Mr. Batch- 
elder and company arrived at Boston June 5, 
1632. Mr. Batchelder had been well educated. 
had received orders in the Established Church. 
and had gained considerable reputation among 
his clerical brethren for learning and ability. 
From dissatisfaction with the rites and insti- 
tutions of the church he had refused conformity 
with the requirement of his superiors and had 
been deprived of his ecclesiastical commission. 
Soon after this he left England, and went with 
his family to Holland, where he resided several 
years. He then returned to liondon and sailed 
from there March 9, 1632. 

John Wing's place of residence at Sandwich 
was situated about a mile from the present vil- 
lage of that name, and here was the home of 
the elder branch of the family for subsequent 
generations. The date of Mr. Wing's death is 
not recorded. It was probably as early as 



1659. His wife is said to have lived till 1692, 
but probably this date has arisen from a mis- 
understanding of the record respecting the wife 
of John of Yarmouth. John and Deborah 
(Batchelder) Wing had at least four sons: 
Daniel, John, Stephen and Matthew. 

(II) Stephen Wing, son of John and Deb- 
orah (Batchelder) \\'ing, married in 1646-47 
Oseah, daughter of Edward Dillingham, one 
of the nine associates to whom the town had 
been granted in. 1637. Mr. Wing lived in 
Sandwich, tradition fixing the location of his 
farm not far from Spring Hill. A part of the 
house he built in 1644 is said to be still in exist- 
ence. He appears to have been an earnest ad- 
vocate of religion and morality, as he was a 
strenuous supporter of religious meetings and 
public order. He became a convert to Quaker- 
ism and he and his family became permanently 
connected with the Society of Friends, and it 
is said that his posterity have in all their gen- 
erations remained tnie to his example. Mr. 
Wing was chosen town clerk in 1669. His 
wife Oseah died 9th of 4th month, 1653-54, 
and 7th of 11th month of that same year he 
married Sarah, daughter of John Briggs, who 
at the age of twenty, in 1635, came to Amer- 
ica. She died 26th "of 3d month. 1689, but the 
date of his own death is uncertain, one account 
placing it 24th of 2d month (old style), 1710. 
His children were: Nathaniel, born about 1646- 
47: Deborah, born about 1647-48; Ephraim, 
liurn in 1649: Mercy, born in 1650; Stephen, 
Itorn in 1656; Sarah, born in 1657-58; John, 
born in 16(jl : .Abigail, born in 1664; Elisha, 
born in 1669-70; Ebenezer, born in 1671; 
Matthew, liorn in 1673-74; Joseph, born in 
1677; and Benjamin, born in 167S. 

(III) ilatthcw Wing, son of Stephen and 
Sarah (Briggs) Wing, born in 3d month, 
1673-74, married 4th of 9th month, 1696, Eliz- 
abeth, born in August, 1659, daughter of Adam 
and Mary (Lott) Mott and widow of William 
Ricketson, of Portsmouth. R. I., and Dart- 
mouth. Mass. ]\Ir. Wing in 1705 purchased a 
farm in that part of Dartmouth which became 
Westport, Ma.ss., near Hicks's bridge, which 
land is still in the possession of one of his 
descendants. Their children were: Joseph, 
born in 1697-98; Benjamin, born in 1698-99; 
and Abigail, born in 1700-01. 

(TV) Joseph Wing, son of Matthew and 
Elizabeth, born 20th of 1st month. 1697-98, 
married Catharine. After a brief residence in 
Sandwich, where his older children were born, 
jMr. Wing removed to Dartmouth, Mass., where 
he died. His children were: Zerviah. born in 
1715-16,; Edward, born in 1718-19; Matthew, 



SOUTH EASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



i2;3i> 



born in 1721 ; John, born in IT,}! ; and Daniel, 
born in 1734. 

(V) John Wing, son of Joseph and Cath- 
arine, born 10th of 7th month, 17;il, married 
Oct. 25, 1750, Jemima Shephenl, who died 
28th of 11th montli, ISIG. Their children 
•were: Catherine, born 29th of 5th month, 1752; 
Dorcas, bom 17th of 10th month, 175;5; and 
John, born 11th of 4th month, 1755. 

(VI) John Wing (2), son of Jolm and 
Jemima (Shepherd), born 11th of 4tli month, 
1755, married 4tli of 5th month, 1780, in Dart- 
mouth, Mercy Almy, -born 3d of 5th month, 
1755. He died 1st of 1st month, 1832, and 
she 5th of 2d month, 1850, in Dartmouth. 
Their children were: Lydia, born 8th of 3d 
Dionth, 1782; Joseph, born 11th of 5th month, 
1783; Catharine, born 26th of 2d month, 1786; 
Pardon, born 22d of 3d month, 1788; Pa- 
tience, born 25th of 4th month, 1790; Abigail, 
born 26th of 2d month, 1793; Jemima, born 
14th of 2d month, 1795; John, born 11th of 
^th month, 1797; and Almy, born 24th of 8th 
month, 1800. 

(VII) John Wing (3), son of John and 
Mercy (Almy), born 11th of 7th month, 1797, 
married 16th of 3d month, 1820, Rebecca, 
daughter of Peleg and Elizabeth (Ricketson) 
Slocum, of South Dartmouth, Mass., and a 
direct descendant of Anthony Slocum, one of 
the first purchasers of Taunton, 1639, from 
whom her lineage is through Giles, Peleg, Hol- 
der, Peleg (2) and Peleg Slocum (3). Mr. 
Wing died 13th of 3d month, 1869. Their 
children were : Nancy R., born 8th of 8th 
month, 1820; Charles F., born 16th of 3d 
month, 1822 ; Lyman, born 8th of 3d month, 
1824; Sarah Ann, born 9th of 4th month, 
1826; Abner. born 10th of 6th month, 1836; 
and Rachel R., born 4th of 2d month, 1850. 
(It is said Abner and Rachel R. were children 
by a second wife.) 

(VIII) Capt. Lyman Wing, son of John and 
Rebecca (Slocum), was born 8th of 3d month, 
1824, in Dartmouth, Mass., and from an early 
age followed the sea in the business of whaling. 
He rose successively through the various grades 
to the position of master. Among the whaling 
ships of which he was captain was the "Bruns- 
wick" of Dartmouth, and "Fabius" and 
"James Maury" of New Bedford. Of the two 
latter vessels Messrs. Charles R. Tucker & Co. 
were agents. 

Captain Wing was a very successful master. 
He made a fortune in whaling and retired 
from active business in 1862, and until 1868 
resided on Clark's Point. In the last named 
year he removed to his late residence on Acush- 



net avenue. New Bedford. In 1887 he erected 
the large brick block bearing his name on Pur- 
chase street, l)etween Union and Williams 
streets. 

Captain Wing was a man of kindly, genial 
nature, and was universally esteemed and re- 
spected. He died of heart failure at his home, 
No. 236 Acuslinet avenue. New Bedford, Mass., 
Dec. 20, 1891, in the sixty-eighth year of his 
age. He married Hannah Howland, daughter 
of Holder and Almy (Slocum) Howland, and 
granddaughter of Ricketson and Jemima 
(Wing) Slocum, of Dartmouth, Mass. The 
children born of this union were : Charles F. 
is mentioned below ; Rebecca Almy, born in 
March, 1858, died in October, 1859 ; Elizabeth 
Almy, born in October, 1864, married Albert 
Sayward, and had children, Helen A., Eliza- 
beth, Mildred and Lyman W. ; Frank L., born 
in May, 1868, mayor of Tampa, Fla., niarried 
Annie Hale, of Tampa, and has had children, 
Dorothy (deceased), Lyman, Margaret and 
Albert Sayward. 

(IX) Charles F. Wixg, son of Capt. Ly- 
man and Hannah (Howland), was born July 
28, 1851, in New Bedford, Mass. During his 
childhood and early boyhood from his third to 
his eleventh year — with the exception of two 
years he with his mother accompanied his 
father on the latter's last two whaling voyages, 
the first in tlie "Fabius," which went into the 
sea of Okhotsk, and the second in the "James 
Maury," in the Pacific and Indian oceans. 
Mr. Wing attended school in his native city, 
and after completing his education began a 
clerkship under Mr. B. H. Waite, with whom 
he remained four years. In 1874 he began in 
a .small way the business in which he still con- 
tinues. At the start he occupied only the south 
half of the front store in the old wooden build- 
ing on Purchase street, which was replaced in 
1887 by the present Wing building. Later the 
increase of the business was accommodated by 
the old Waite dry goods store adjoining ; and 
still later Mr. Wing purchased the old Man- 
hattan house property, and in 1897 completed 
a large addition at the rear of the original 
store, where he has carried on a business in 
general house furnishings for upward of a third 
of a centiiry. Mr. Wing is a director of the 
New Bedford Safe Deposit & Trust Company, 
member of the board of trustees of the New Bed- 
ford Institution for Savings, and a corporator 
of the Five Cents Savings Bank. He has long 
since established a reputation for honorable 
and fair dealing and is well and favorably 
known as one of New Bedford's substantial men 
and respected citizens. Fraternally he is a 



l::-'40 



SOUTHP]ASTEK.\ JIASSACIIUSETTS 



member of Star in the East Lodge, A. F. & A. 
M. ; Adoniram Chapter, K. A. M. ; New Bed- 
ford t'oiuicil, R. & S. M.; and 8utton Coni- 
niandery, Kniglits Templar. 

Mr. Wing married Averick P. Tripp, daugh- 
ter of Robert and Lydia (Swain) Tripp. Four 
cliildren liave lieen born of this union, as fol- 
lows: Charles F., Jr., born July 2, 1876, who 
married Sarah Cornell, daughter of Pardon 
Cornell, and has a daughter, Averick ; Wil- 
liam Lawton, born Dec. 17, 1880; Edward 
Rowland, born Jan. 2i, 1885, who married 
Rachel Barrows, daughter of John Barrows; 
and Richard Lyman, born March 1, 1888, wlio 
graduated from Dartmouth College in the class 
of 1909. 

ESTES (Fall River family). By a mem- 
ber of tlie American family the Estes family 
has been traced back in the Old World to the 
year 1097. "To our generation," he said, "it 
has become known that England was not the 
home of tlie Estense, or Este, family, whence 
the great /American genius sprang; neither in 
crossing the channel, and searching among the 
many of the kindred name in France, do we 
find the plant indigenous; but over the Alps 
and beneath the skies of sunny Italy, where the 
olive and the chestnut forests thrive — it is 
here the old Roman of all made his grotto, 
established his estate and habitation, reared his 
brood and founded the House of Este, which 
now has an abiding place in all the world.'' 

In books and magazines on homes and gar- 
dens many references are made to the "incom- 
parably beautiful Villa d'Este, at Tivoli, Italy.' 
owned and designed by Cardinal Ipolito d'Este, 
the master gardener of his day." The follow- 
ing is a partial description : "The use of foun- 
tains, cascades, canals, rivulets and pools seems 
to have reached the pinnacle of possibility at 
the Villa d'Este, thanks to the abundant water 
supply of the river Anio. There is grandeur 
in its studied simplicity. No posing mermaids 
combing their liair, no spouting dol])hins, no 
Dianas surprised at the bath detract from the 
lofty fountains with their clouds of misty 
spray. The gardens rank among the most 
notable in the world." In his poem "Paris- 
ina," Lord Byron refers several times to the 
Estes family and to the famous villa: 

"She sits ill Este'a bower." 

"Tlie chief of Kste's ancient sway." 

"Nor sit on Esfp's lineal throne; 
Yet were a few short summers mine 
My name would more tlian Este's shine 
With honors all my own." 



"When charging to the cheering cry 
Of Este and of Victory." 

It is the intention in this article to follow 
the one branch only of the American Estes- 
family, that of the Portsmouth-Tiverton-Fall 
River family, whose liead was the late Edmund 
Estes, long identified with manufacturing ia 
the vicinity of Fall River, followed by his son 
and grantlsons, one of whom, the present John 
II. Estes, from young manhood to the evening 
of life has been a conspicuous figure in the in- 
dustrial life of Fall River and long one of its- 
substantial men and influential citizens. From 
the first American ancestor of the latter gentle- 
man we outline in chronological order the 
genealogy and history of tlie Edmund Estes- 
line of tile family. 

(I) Richard Estes, son of Robert and Doro- 
thy Estes, of Dover, England, born in the 
third month, 16-17, came to New England in 
the fall of 1684, landing at Boston, thence 
proceeding to what is now Portsmouth, N. H.. 
to join his brother Matthew Estes, who had 
preceded him about two years. Mr. Estes was 
a member of the Society of Friends. He mar- 
ried at Dover, N. H., June 23, 1687, Elizabeth 
Beck, of Great Island (Portsmouth), who was 
born Nov. 8, 1663. Later Mr. Estes moved to- 
Salem and still later to Lynn, where he had 
property. He was styled sleymaker and also- 
yediiian. To liim and his wife eleven children 
were born. 

(II) Robert Estes, son of Richard, born 
Aug. 27, 1694, in Salem, Mass., married Dec. 
22, 1715, Ann. born Aug. 25. 1694. daughter 
of Thomas and Ann (Freeborn) Durfee, of 
Portsmouth. R. I. Mr. Estes lived in Tiver- 
ton, R. I., about 1715, and in 1717 in a deed 
of property he purchased he is .styled a ship 
carpenter of Portsmouth, R. I. This prop- 
erty, a dwelling and some fifteen acres of land, 
was at a place knowTi as Common Fence, on 
the old road that leads to Pocasset or An- 
thony's Ferry, near where the present Old 
Colony railroad bridge is located. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman of Portsmouth May 1. 1718. 
In 1728 and 1729 he was a mariner of East 
Greenwich, R. I. ; was made a freeman of that 
town in May, 1730. He and his wife were 
members of the Society of Friends. Their 
children were: Richard, Sarah, Thomas, and 
Ann. 

(III) Thomas Estes, son of Robert, born 
April 17, 1725, in Portsmouth, R. I., married 
July 24, 1747, Elizabeth, born about 1729, 
daughter of Joseph Thomas and his wife 
Ruth. Mr. Estes was a tanner, currier and 





y^. cj2.^t^Zf 



SOUTH RASTKIJX :\rASSAC'IlTTSETTS 



1341 



cordwainer by trade; also carried ou a large 
farm. He died in 1784. His widow Eliza- 
beth died May 2, 1808. Their children born 
in Tiverton, R. I., were: Robert, Huth, Jo- 
seph, Elisha, Daniel, Sarah, Edmund and 
Peter. 

(IV) Edmund Estes, son of Thomas, born 
Sept. 8, 1767, in Tiverton, K. 1., married 
Oct. 17, 1793, Elizabeth, daughter of William 
Lawton, of Portsmouth or Newport, E. I. He 
died Sept. 14, 1863. His wife died in 1827. 
Their children, born in Tiverton, R. I., were: 
Edmund, born Oct. '23, 17'J4, who died un- 
married in 1823; and Job, born March 24, 
1797. 

Edmund Estes was an able and scholarly 
man. For many years he was a justice of the 
peace, holding the office until age and a 
trembling hand made it necessary for him to 
discontinue; he was known as Esquire Estes. 
He was clerk of the town of Tiverton and 
treasurer of tiie Union Factory, founded Feb. 
10, 1813, whose wooden structure was located 
on the site of the present Laurel Lake mills. 

(V) Job Estes, son of Edmund, born 
March 24, 1797, in Tiverton, married Dec. 
23, 1823, Delilah, born Feb. 14, 1800. daugh- 
ter of Benjamin and Amy (Durfee) Overall, 
of Tiverton. Their children, horn in what is 
now Maplewood, in Fall Kiver, were : 

(1) Elizabeth L., born Feb. 12, 1825, mar- 
ried Oct. 13, 1847, Esek M. Brownell. 

(2) Charles 0., born Oct. 1, 1826, married 
Jan. 20, 18.50, Elizabeth, daughter of An- 
thony Cornell and Sarah (Grinnell), of Tiv- 
erton. 

(3) Alzada, born Dec. 12. 1828, died May 
20, 1844, unmarried. 

(4) Lavinett T., born April 13. 1830, mar- 
ried Oct. 30, 1847, Thomas W. Lawton, and 
died Oct. 23, 1850. 

(5) Thomas W., born Nov. 4, 1831, mar- 
ried, died Aug. 18, 1864. 

(6) Joseph D.. born Oct. 9, 1833, married 
Jan. 31, 1856, Abbie B.. daughter of William 
and Rhoda (Drake) Manchester, of Tiverton. 

(7) JoiiK H. Estes, born June 19, 1835, 
at Tiverton, married Dec. 26, 1866, Caroline 
A., born Oct. 26, 1841, daughter of William 
B. and Ruth (Healey) Ling, of Fall River; 
Miss Ling was a successful school teacher. 
There were born to this marriage : 

(a) J. Edmund, born Sept. 15, 1867, mar- 
ried Dec. 15, 1892, Abbie P., born July 26, 
1870. in Fall River, daughter of George W. 
and Sarah C. (Peckham) Bronson, and grand- 
daughter of Rev. Asa Bronson, first pastor of 
the Baptist Temple. Mr. George W. Bronson 



was principal of the Borden school at Fall 
l{iver. 

]\Ir. Estes was graduated from the B. M. C. 
Durfee high school in 1888. While in school 
he distinguisiied himself in a variety of ways 
and was elected lirst lieutenant of the first 
company of the high school cadets. On Sept. 
17, 1888, he entered Eastman College, for the 
business and shorthand courses. From the 
time of his entrance he showed a deep interest 
ill and fondness for the college and everything 
that pertained to it. At the spelling contest 
held in February, 1889, he won the prize dic- 
tionary, and graduated from the business de- 
partment first in his class. He has a natural 
gift for writing poetry, his most notable pro- 
duction being the "National Memorial 
Hymn," which has been sung in every State 
and Territory in the Union, including Alaska, 
as well as in Hawaii and the Philippines, and 
on many of the battleships, among them the 
ill-fated" "Maine." The hymn follows : 

God bless the soldiers brave, 
Who did our Union save 

From thraldom's wrongs ! 
Tliey dearly loved the land 
Where Freedom's glories stand. 
And praise on every hand 

■To them belongs. 

May angels deck each mound 
That was not by us found, 

With choicest flowers ; 
Long may the page of fame 
Preserve each hero's name. 
Who freed from slavery's shame 

This land of ours. 

Like leaves in autumn blast 
Tlieir ranks are thinning fast, — 

We miss them all ; 
But "Sons" will take their place, 
March with their measured pace, 
All battle dangers face. 

Should duty call. 

We thank Thee that to-day 
Tlie clangor of the fray 

Is heard no more ; 
May "Peace and Union" be 
The watchword of the free, 
And all our land agree 

From shore to shore. 

Long may "Old Glory" wave 
Over the land these brave 

Old comrades won : 
Long may Columbia stand 
Firm as a rock-bound strand, 
A guide to every land 

Beneath the sun. 

(b) Jennie L., born April 9, 1869, was grad- 
uated from the Fall River high school in the 
class of 1888, the valedictorian of her class. 



1242 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Up to the time of her graduation her average 
of seholarsliip stood the highest of any of tlie 
tliousands of pupils wlio liad graduated from 
the school. She was graduated from Smith 
College, Northampton, Mass., in June, 1894, 
an accomplished elocutionist and pianist. After 
graduating from the Emerson School of Ora- 
tory, Boston, and teaching several years in the 
B. M. C. Durfee high school. Fall Eiver, she 
was married Jan. 22, 1897, at Nashua, N. H., 
to Walter E. Marr. They have had three chil- 
dren: Harold E., born Oct. 27, 1898; Walter 
L., born June 27, 1902, who died June 1, 
1905; and Caroline J., born Dec. 15, 1903. 
Mrs. Marr is a member of the Daugnter? of the 
American Revolution and takes an active part 
in tlie organization. 

(c) Elmer B., born Oct. 1, 1872, is pro- 
prietor of the Standard Specialty Mills, War- 
ren, R. I., where large quantities of sanitary 
napkins are made. On Oct. 1, 1903, he mar- 
ried Cora Peckham. 

(d) Everett, twin of Elmer, born Oct. 1, 
1872, is engaged in the insurance business, and 
for several years acted as theatrical manager. 
He married Susan E. Dunliam. 

(8) Benjamin F., born Jan. 1, 1837, mar- 
ried Dec. 24, 1862, Henrietta Thomas. 

(9) Louisa J., born Oct. 27, 1837, married 
Nov. 16, 1857, Thomas W. Lawton. 

(10) Anna D., born April 1. 1843, married 
June 3, 1875, Francis H. Wixon. 

Job Estes founded one of the early indus- 
tries in the vicinity of Fall River, and was fol- 
lowed in this line by several of his sons, one 
of whom became especially prominent in this 
connection. A description of their enterprises 
follows, with a personal notice of John H. 
Estes. 

Job Estes was a wheelwright and his carts 
and wooden plows were famous for many 
miles around. Turning hubs by hand was 
tedious work and he conceived the idea that 
there was power enough in the valley brook 
to turn his lathe and run his saw, unci in 1825 
decided to buy the property. He built a small 
shop, about 15 l:^v 15, to which the motive 
power of the brook was transmitted by a flut- 
ter wheel. In 1834 Oliver Buflfington, the pio- 
neer cotton waste dealer of Fall Eiver, leased 
the privilege of operating four 18-inch batting 
cards in tlie north end of the shop, and Mr. 
Estes spent a part of his time in running 
them, while his wife helped in putting up the 
bats for market. Three years later Jonathan 
Bridges, formerly superintendent of the Mas- 
sasoit cotton mill in Fall River, proposed 
utilizing the water for textile purposes, and 



leased the shop and power. A stronger water 
wheel was constructed, and the shop greatly 
enlarged and fitted with wooden shafting, 
which ran about fifty looms weaving sheet- 
ings, shirtings and print goods. Experience 
proved the power to be inadequate for the load 
and Job Estes built a second' water wheel 
about thirty rods farther down the stream, 
where a 10-foot fall was obtained, transmit- 
ting this additional power through the woods 
to the mill by a manila rope, but the device 
did not work very well. 

Meanwhile Israel Buffington, who had pur- 
chased the batting machinery of Oliver BufE- 
ington, being promised the power of the lower 
water wheel when the Bridges lease expired, 
built adjoining the wheel a wooden mill for 
the manufacture of cotton batting. So anxious 
was he to get started that he could not 
wait for the lease to expire, and constructed 
a windlass which was turned by a pair of 
horses, behind which, on the lever, John H. 
Estes, then a barefoot boy, used often to steal 
rides. High over the heads of the horses 
from a horizontal fly wheel about 15 feet in 
diameter, a belt conveyed this provisional 
power to the mill. 

Starting without any working capital Mr. 
Bridges found it up-hill work doing business 
on a credit basis, and before his lease expired 
became financially embarrassed, his creditors 
seizing all his stock, tools and machinery. 
Quick to improve this opportunity, Mr. Buff- 
ington at the lower mill changed from horse 
to water power and added five cards, which 
increased his product to about five hundred 
pounds daily. So great was the demand for 
batting that customers in their efforts to se- 
cure it remitted months in advance. Within 
fifteen years he succeeded in accumulating 
considerable money and built a larger mill, of 
stone, upon his own property farther down the 
stream, upon the present site of the Fall River 
Bleachery. The wooden mill was later 
changed to a gri.=t mill. 

At the upper mill A. & J. Shove succeeded 
Mr. Bridges and equipped it with machinery 
for spinning carpet yarns for domestic weav- 
ing. It was here than John H. Estes started 
a? a doffer boy and gradually worked his way 
through every department. When the Shove 
lease expired Job Estes boiight the machinery 
and with his children and two or three em- 
ployees operated the mill for about five years, 
during which time it was decided to unite the 
motive power of the two mills by leading the 
water in a canal to a site where a fall of 
25 feet could be obtained, and in 1857-58 a 



southeastp:rn Massachusetts 



1243 



two and a hall" story stoue mill 45 by TO was 
constructed and fitted mainly willi macliiuery 
removed from the upper mill, . which burned 
to the ground in 1872. In 18G0 John 11. 
Estes, whose genius as a practical manufac- 
turer had already uuide itself felt, associated 
himself witli his bruther-in-law, Thomas \V. 
Lawtou. leased the stone mill and machinery, 
and the firm of Lawtou & Estes was formed, 
and for about fifteen years continued to make 
wrapping twine, wicking and carpet warp, 
■with about twelve employees. Job Estes died 
in 1872. Failing to secure another lease of 
the property the firm dissolved, and the mill 
stood idle several years. Meanwhile John H. 
Estes improved his farms and tenement prop- 
erty, and although never a dabbling politician 
served one year as councilman and another 
as assessor in Fall River. 

In 1880 John H. Estes bought the mill and 
adjoining real estate at public auction, and, 
with his brothers, Benjamin F. and Joseph 
D., formed tlie firm of J. H. Estes & Bros., 
which existed for ten years. In this concern 
John H. Estes was manager and largest own- 
er, and during the period named his ability 
and judgment were shown by a series of en- 
largements and improvements, and by the sig- 
nal progress which characterized the decade. 
In 1883 the mammoth breast wheel of 25- 
horse power was supplanted by a modern 
turbine of 40-horse power, and in 1887, to 
meet the increasing demands of their trade, an 
engine and boiler of 160-horse power were 
added and the amount of machinery increased 
threefold. About si.x thousand square feet 
of floor space were added to the mill and a 
large stone storehouse constructed. 

By mutual consent, in October, 1890, the 
partnership of J. H. Estes & Bros, was dis- 
solved, and two months later the firm pf J. H. 
Estes & Son was formed, with J. Edmund 
Estes the junior partner. Industrial progress 
and enlargement was the aim and the result of 
the alteration. In 1892 a large storehouse 
was built, and a year later another story added 
to the mill and adjoining buildings. In 1895 
a three-story (No. 2) mill, 75 by 130, was 
huilt, two boilers added to the steam plant 
and the old engine supplanted by a 420-horse 
power cross compound, condensing Harris 
Corliss engine. A large stone office was built, 
also another storehouse, 75 by 125 feet. In 
1897 the entire plant was equipped with a 
thorough system of automatic sprinklers. In 
1900 the firm name was changed to J. H. 
Estes & Sons, Mr. Estes's son Elmer B. Estes 
being taken into the business. Four years 



before this a No. 3 mill, 50 by 110, was built, 
and the absorbent cotton department added to 
the business, and in 1902 a No. 4 null, 60 by 
125,- was built for the sash cord business. lu 
1905 Mr. Estes realized a long-cherished am- 
bition in the incorporation of his plant under 
the name "Estes Mills." In the new manage- 
ment Mr. Estes is president, J. Edmund 
Estes, treasurer, Elmer B. Estes, superintend- 
ent, and Rufus P. Walker, secretary, and 
these four comprise the board of directors. 
During this year (1905) the company bought 
the absorbent cotton business of the Seaside 
mills of Tiverton, R. I., on the shores of 
Mount Hope bay, and the entire equipment 
was removed to the Estes mills, where an addi- 
tion 51 by 100 was built to accommodate the 
machinery. In 1907 a large two-story office 
was built and in 1909 a two-story wooden 
building, 60 by 100, for manufacturing pur- 
poses. The present plant consists of five acres 
of floor space. It was soon apparent that 
these industrial enlargements had overtaxed 
the motive power of the engine and water 
wheel, and in 1906 an auxiliary engine of 
250-horse power was installed. This is a 
triple cylinder Diesel engine and was the first 
installation of the kind in Fall River. It 
consumes the cheapest liquid fuel, such as 
crude oil. 

Early in 1910 Mr. Estes and Mr. Walker 
purchased the entire capital stock of the Cut- 
ler Mills, Warren, R. I., the former being 
president and the latter treasurer of this cor- 
poration. This plant consists of four acres of 
land, three brick mills containing ninety thou- 
sand square feet of floor space, and five wood- 
en buildings of about eight thousand square 
feet of floor space. The old machinery is 
fast being removed and replaced with a mod- 
ern equipment. Two of the mills are in 
partial operation. Cotton yarns numbering 
from 6 to 26 are being made, and the produc- 
tion is sold direct. 

The extensive and modernly equipped plant 
of the Estes Mills, one of the largest cotton 
twine mills in America, is pleasantly situated 
in the Maplewood Valley, about two miles 
from the center of Fall River, and here is 
manufactured an interesting variety of white 
and colored cotton goods, including about 
eight thousand pounds of wrapping twine per 
day, which is shipped to all parts of the 
United States ; carloads are also exported each 
vear. Aside from this well and widely known 
product are turned out large quantities of 
carpet warp, yarns, ropes, clothes lines, sash 
cord, wicking, floor mops, dish mops, caulk- 



1244 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ing cotton and niacliinery wiping waste, all of 
which are extensively known in the respective 
classes of trade to which they belong, as the 
business has been established over fifty years. 
The latest feature added to the long list of 
manufactures at this plant is that of absorb- 
ent, bleached and tinted cottons for druggists, 
hospitals, perfumers and jewelers. 

In outside business circles the position of 
Mr. Estes is quiet, unassuming and effective. 
He is president of the Chace Mills, Estes 
Mills, Cutler Mills, Fall River Webbing Mills, 
and of the People's Cooperative Bank ; a di- 
rector in these five corporations and also in 
the following local cotton mills: Osborn, Lu- 
ther, Davis, Lincoln and Charlton. 

Reading between the lines of the foregoing, 
it is unnecessary to dwell upon his career. Li 
the true sense of the term he is a self-made 
man. With scanty schooling and training he 
has, by tact, ingenuity, judgment and fore- 
sight, forged his way to success, has risen to 
position and wealth, and is counted among the 
influential citizens of Fall River. He has 
had many obstacles to overcome, but with in- 
domitable courage he has surmounted them 
and created conditions for achievement. He 
has served as vice president of the Fall River 
Board of Trade ; and, as stated above, at one 
time was a member of the common council, 
and served as assessor. 

BO WEN (Fall River family). For two and 
a half centuries and more the name Bowen 
has been a continuous one and the family num- 
erous in that region of country on either side 
of the line separating the States of Massa- 
chusetts and Rhode Island, and in and about 
Providence the earlier family figured con- 
spicuously in the medical profession; and for 
a century and more a number of the name from 
the old Freetown branch of Bowens have been 
no less prominent in commercial lines in and 
about Fall River. Reference is particularly 
made to the late Hon. Abrahnni Bowen, Sr., 
and Abraham, Jr., James G. and Joseph A. 
Bowen, all of whom, aside from prominence 
in industrial lines, have figured more or less 
prominently in the public life of the city. 
And through the alliances by marriage of the 
earlier Bowens in question later generations 
of the family count among their ancestors such 
well-known families as Borden, Read, Durfee, 
Winslow and Valentine. 

It will be recalled that the territory now 
Fall River was prior to 1803 a part of the 
ancient town of Freetown, where John Bowen 
appeared an inhabitant as early as 1739. He 



became a large landowner in what is now the 
southern part of Fall River, with a homestead 
that is still standing, though greatly changed^ 
on South Main street near what years ago was- 
known as Bowen's Hill. On July 3, 173f), Mr. 
Bowen married Penelope (Read) Borden, 
widow of Stephen Borden and daughter (bora 
Oct. 12, 1703) of John and Mary (Pearce) 
Read, of Freetown, granddaughter of John 
Read, Sr., and great-granddaughter of John 
Read, one of the first settlers of Newport,^ 
whom tradition has coming from Plymouth,. 
England. John Read, Jr., was for thirty years 
town clerk of Freetown, and three times rep- 
resentative to the General Court. Mrs. Bowen 
had six children of her first marriage when 
she contracted the second, with Mr. Bowen, by 
which union she had two, Nathan and John. 
After her death Mr. Bowen married Sarah 
Gray. 

Nathan Bowen, son of John and Penelope,, 
born April 4, 1740, lived in Freetown, Mass., 
where he married (first) Nov. 11, 1762, Han- 
nah Cook, born June 25, 1741, daughter of 
John and Martha (Wood) Cook. His second 
marriage was to Nancy Read. He died Nov. 
9, 1825. In 1790 his family at Freetown 
comprised six members. His children were: 
By the first marriage — Elizabeth, born Sept. 
24, 1763 (married Jonathan Borden) ; Bath- 
sheba, born Feb. 20, 1765 (married Paul 
Sherman) : Susanna, born Feb. 5, 1767; Ruth, 
born Nov. 7, 1768; Rhoda, born Nov. 7, 1770 
(married David Babbitt) ; Abraham, born 
March 2, 1773; Phebe, born March 5, 1775; 
Martha, born July 31, 1777 (married Richard 
Borden) : Nathan, born July 7, 1782 (died 
voung) ; by the second marriage — Joseph, born- 
May 20, 1797 (died Nov. 29, 1806) ; Paul, born 
March 5, 1800 (removed to Cayuga county. 
New York). 

Nathan Bowen is of record as performing 
service in the Revolution, being a member of 
Capt. Henry Brightman's company. Colonel 
Hathaway's regiment, which marched on the 
alarm of August, 1780, service in Rhode Island. 

Hon. Abraham Bowen, son of Nathan, mar- 
ried Ruth Graves, born Aug. 6, 1769, daughter 
of James and Hope (Borden) Graves, of Provi- 
dence. Mr. Bowen owned a tract of land which 
extended from Bedford to Elm streets and 
from the harbor to the Watuppa ponds. He 
was prominent in the public affairs of the town. 
He was selectman of Fall River in 1806 and 
again in 1817, and representative to the Gen- 
eral Court in 1804. 1807-08. 1821. The post- 
office was established at Fall River in 1811. 
Two years later the office was removed to Steep 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



12'.l:5 



Brook, which at tliat time and during a con- 
siderable period thereafter was a strong rival 
■of Fall River for business precedence and pros- 
pects. The oflice was re-established at Fall 
River in 1816, and Mr. Bowen appointed post- 
master. He held the office for eight years, 
until his death, when he was succeeded by his 
son, the late James G. Bowen, who was in of- 
fice until 1831, and who otherwise was promi- 
nent in the business life of Fall River — was 
at one time selectman of the town. It was at 
the father's suggestion that the name of the 
town was changed in 180-t from Fall River 
to Troy, which name continued to be used until 
1833. Mr. Bowen was a promoter of the Fall 
River manufactory in 1813, it being one of the 
two important establishments which were the 
substantial pioneers in the cloth-making in- 
dustry in Fall River, and the active stimulus 
to the inception of later similar projects. He 
■was one of the eight incorporators of the Pocas- 
set Manufacturing Company in 1822. He was 
■one of the three incorporators of the Watuppa 
Reservoir Company, the other two being Oliver 
Chace, Sr.. and Dexter Wheeler. 

Mr. Bowen died March 9, 1824, and his 
widow Ruth passed away Aug. 4th, of that 
same year, aged fifty-five years. They had 
children as follows: James G., born Dec. 2, 
1795; John, born Sept. 15, 1797, who died 
July 16, 1801; Amanda Malvina FitzAllen, 
born Sept. 22, 1799, who married John C. 
Borden Jan. 2, 1823 ; Zephaniah. born April 
13. 1801, who died Sept. 7, 1820; Abraham, 
■born Aug. 26, 1803; Jennett, born Sept. 16, 
1805, who married Dr. Jason Archer; Nathan, 
born in May, 1808; Ruth Victoria, born Dec. 
22, 1809 or 1810, who married Dr. William 
. H. Webster ; and Aldeberanto Phoscof ornia, 
bom June 6, 1811, who married Andrew C. 
Fearing, of Boston, and died at Wareham, 
Massachusetts. 

Abraham Bowen (2), son of Abraham and 
Ruth, born Aug. 26, 1803, in Fall River, Mass.,, 
married there Feb. 15, 1827, Sarah Ann, born 
April 17, 1804, in North Fall River, daughter 
of Maj. Joseph Evans and Sybil (Valentine) 
Read, and a direct descendant of John Read, of 
Newport. Major Read was long prominent in 
the military of Freetown, and after his re- 
moval to Fall River served several years as 
representative to the General Court of Massa- 
chusetts, and was also special commissioner 
.•of Bristol countv. Mr. and Mrs. Bowen were 
residents of Fall River, living in one house, 
which Mr. Bowen built, on Rock street for 
sixty-two years. He was occupied in teaming, 
and was engaged in the shipping and grain 



business, a meuiber of the firm of Read & 
Bowen. He was also for a long time a printer 
aud publisher, editing a newspaper styled "All 
Sorts." Both ho and his wife died in South 
Somerset, Mass.. she Julv 3, 1891, and he Jan. 
24, 1889. The children 'born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Bowen were: Ellen A., born Feb. 15, 1830, 
who married Sept. 17, 1873, A. J. Bealkey, and 
died May 1, 1900 (they had no children) ; Jo- 
seph x\., born Oct. 10, 1832 ; and Sarah V., born 
Dec. 8, 1839. 

Joseph Abraham Bowen, son of Abraham 
and Sarah Ann (Read) Bowen, was born Oct. 
10, 1832, in Fall River, Mass. His early years 
were spent in his native city in attendance at 
private and public schools and after his eighth 
year — when he entered the printing office of 
his father — until through with his studies his 
time was divided between work in the office and 
school ; he entered the first class of the Pall 
River high school in 1849. In 1856 he en- 
gaged in the coal business, being located at 
Morgan's Wharf at the foot of Walnut street. 
Later he purchased one half of the wharf 
named and still later bought what was then 
known as Slade's wharf, since w^hich time hie 
business has been carried on at both wharves. 
Through ability and hard work he developed 
an extensive and successful business, one that 
he has continued actively engaged in for up- 
wards of fifty-three years. Mr. Bowen had 
much dredging done at his wharf at a heavy 
e.xpense, and it was he who started the move- 
ment to improve the harbor of Fall River. 

Mr. Bowen has served in both branches of 
the city government, being a member of the 
common council in 1862 and 1863, and of the 
board of aldermen in 1869 and 1870. He was 
chairman of the committee to consider the ad- 
visability of establishing waterworks in the city 
and after the analysis of various sources of 
water had been made he wrote the report of 
that committee. As one of the first board 
of water commissioners he took an active part 
in the building of the waterworks system. He 
was for two years president of the Fall River 
Board of Trade. He is a director in a number 
of the cotton industries of the city. He has 
been most active in promoting the business 
of Fall River and is one of the city's most 
highly esteemed and respected citizens. 

On Jan. 19, 1S65, Mr. Bowen was married 
at Fall River, JIass., to Fanny M. Corey, born 
Aug. 21, 1840, in Fall Eiver, daughter of 
Jonathan and Clarissa (Bennett) Corey. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bowen had two children, both born 
in Fall River: Joseph Henry, born March 18, 
1866; and Fanny Corey, born Oct. 17, 1869, 



1246 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



the latter of whom was graduated from the 
Fall River high school in 1886 and from Smith 
College, Northampton, Mass., in 1890. 

Joseph Henry Bo wen, son of Joseph Ab- 
raham and Fanny M. (Corey) Bowen, was 
born in Fall River, Mass., March 18, 1866. 
He was graduated from the Fall River high 
school in 1883, from Phillips Exeter Academy 
in 1884 and from Harvard University in 1888. 
Mr. Bowen has since leaving college been as- 
sociated in the coal business with his father. 
The firm is also interested in shipping, being 
agents for several coasting schooners engaged 
in the coal carrying trade. 

On June 19, 1890, Mr. Bowen was married 
to Mary S. Whitney, daughter of Edward H. 
and Jennie (Hooper) Whitney, of Cambridge, 
Mass., where she was born Nov. 16, 1868. 
They have had children as follows, all born in 
Fall River: Joseph Whitney, born May 18, 
1891; Harold Corey, born May 26, 1896"; and 
Edward Hooper, born Oct. 14,1899. 

GEORGE RUSSELL BRIGGS, of the town 
of Plymouth, Plymouth Co., Mass., is one of 
the most extensive growers of cranberries in his 
section and has not only been prominent in 
the business as an individual grower but also 
in developing and promoting the industry 
throughout New England. He is progressive, 
aggressive and intelligent, and his devotion to 
his work, combined with integrity and irre- 
proachable business methods, has won him high 
standing as well as success in a material sense. 

Mr. Briggs was born June 8, 1853, in Salem, 
Essex Co., Mass., son of Rev. Dr. George W. 
Briggs and a descendant in the eighth genera- 
tion from John Briggs, from whom we give 
record of this line in chronological order. 

(I) John Briggs, early at Portsmouth, R. I., 
was among those who in 1638 were admitted 
inhabitants of the island of Aquidneck and 
was one of the signers of the Civil Compact, 
April 30, 1639. He was inspector of arras in 
1643, bought a house and lot in 1646, was 
assistant in 1648, was licensed to keep an or- 
ilinary in 1649. In 1654 he was commissioner 
for uniting the four towns of Providence Plan- 
tations; was commissioner in 1654, 1655, 1656, 
1659, 1661, 1662 and 1663. He was appointed 
in 1655 on a committee to build a prison at 
Portsmouth. He was deputy in 1664, 1665, 
1666, 1668 and 1669. He died in 1690, and 
his will of April 19th of that year was proved 
Nov. 16, of the same year. His children were: 
John, born in 1642, who married Hannah 
Fisher; Thomas, who married Mary Fisher; 



William, horn in 1650; Susanna; Job; and 
Enoch, who married Hannah Wilcox. 

(II) William Briggs, son of John, born in 
1650, married in 1680 Elizabeth, born in 1653, 
daughter of John and Mary (Bordea) Cook, 
and lived in Portsmouth and Little Compton, 
R. I. He was a member of Capt. Peleg San- 
ford's horse troop in August, 1667; was made 
a freeman April 30, 1672. He died May 12, 
1716, and his will of April 3d of that year 
was proved July 2, 1716. His children were: 
Susanna, born April 9, 1681 ; John, Nov. 13,' 
1685; William, Jan. 11, 1688; Elizabeth, Dec. 
27, 1689; Thomas, Sept. 5, 1693; Deborah, 
Sept. 6, 1693; and Job, Aug. 3, 1696. 

(III) Job Briggs, son of William, born Aug. 

3, 1696. married about 1715-16 Mary. They 
died, he Feb. 28, 1739, and she June 23, 1769. 
Their children were: Oliver, born Dec. 27, 
1716: William, April 24, 1718; Joseph, Jan. 

4, 1720 ; Jeremiah, 1721 ; Deborah, 1723 ; Bath- 
sheba, 1724; Abigail, 1726; Walter, 1728; 
Lovet, 1730. 

(IV) William Briggs, son of Job, born April 
24, 1718, married July 16, 1738, Abishag 
Records. He died in August, 1802. Their 
children were: John, born in 1739 ; Cornelius, 
born Jan. 9, 1742; Elizabeth, born March 30, 
1744; Ruth, born June 2, 1746; Walter, born 
Nov. 9, 1748; Richard, born April 14, 1751; 
Judith, born April 19, 1753; Betsey, born 
March 23, 1755; Job, born Feb. 27, 1757; and 
Martha, born Dec. 29, 1759. 

(V) Richard Briggs, born April 14, 1751, 
married Jan. 13, 1774, Anna Ware, daughter 
of Dr. George and Mary Ware. He died in 
November, 1784. Their children were: Mary, 
born Sept. 19, 1775; William, born Sept. 20, 
1782. 

(VI) William Briggs, born Sept. 20, 1782, 
married June 1, 1806, Sally Palmer, daughter 
of Job and Lydia Palmer. 

(VII) Rev! George Ware Briggs, A. B., A. 
M., D. D., son of William and Sally (Pal- 
mer) Briggs, was born April 8, 1810, in Little 
Compton, R. I. He was quite young when 
his father died, and his mother moved to 
Providence, where he received his early ed\i- 
cation in the public schools. He was gradu- 
ated from Brown University in 1825. He was 
a teacher in Providence and elsewhere, includ- 
ing one year of medical study from 1825 to 
1831. He was graduated from Harvard Di- 
vinity School in 1834, ordained in that year 
a Unitarian minister, and from 1834 to 1837 
was pastor of a church in Fall River, Mass. ; 
was a member of the school committee two 
years. He was associate pastor of the First 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1247 



Church, Plymouth, Mass., 1838-52; pastor of 
the First Church, Salem, Mass., 1853-67; 
Third Cougregational Society (Austin Street 
Church), Cambridge, Mass., 1867-95; presi- 
dent Union League, Salem, Mass., during the 
Civil war, during which period he was very 
prominent as an anti-slavery advocate, making 
many well remembered speeches in favor of the 
doctrines he supported; in Europe, 1869, -1883-, 
83 ; delegate fiftieth anniversary British and 
Foreign Unitarian Association, 1875. Author: 
"Lessons on Relative Duties and Christian 
Morals," 1852; "Bow in the Clouds," 1854; 
numerous sermons, addresses and articles in 
magazines. He received the honorary degree 
of D. D. from Harvard in 1855. Upon his 
retirement, in 1895, he removed to Plymouth, 
there spending the remainder of his days. 

Dr. Briggs married (first) Lucretia Archi- 
bald Bartlett, daughter of Abner and Sarah B. 
(Burgess) Bartlett, of Medford, Mass., and 
(second) in 1849 Lucia Jane, born in 1821, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Martha (LeBaron) 
Russell. She died Nov. 1, 1881, in Cambridge, 
Mass. Dr. Briggs died Sept. 10. 1895, in Ply- 
mouth. He was buried beside his wife in Oak 
Grove cemetery. He had four children by his 
first marriage : George ; William ; Mary Ann 
Stephenson ; and Anna Ware, who married 
George G. Barker, of Plymouth, and has one 
son, LeBaron R. Barker. To the second mar- 
riage were born two children: George Russell 
and LeBaron Russell. The latter, born Dec. 
11, 1855, in Salem, Mass., married Mary De- 
Quedville, of Cambridge, and their children are 
John DeQ., Lucia R. and LeBaron R. 

(VIII) George Russell Briggs received his 
early education in the district and high schools 
of Salem and Cambridge, and after fitting for 
college entered Harvard, graduating therefrom 
in the class of 1874. He spent the following 
year in the .scientific school of that university, 
and was tutor of mathematics at his alma 
mater for six years, 1875-81. In the fall of 
1881 he moved to Plymouth, and purchased 
lands suitable for growing cranberries. Be- 
ginning on a modest scale, he enlarged his busi- 
ness from time to time, until the bogs under 
his management include about 160 acres, 
among these the Indian Brook, Island Pond, 
Billington, Manomet, White Island, and Duck 
Pond bogs, all situated in Plymouth town- 
ship. He is the president and holds the largest 
ownership in the Port Xorris Fruit Company, 
a Massachusetts company, which owns 1,500 
acres of land at Port Norris, N. J., 161 acres 
of which are already planted as cranberry bogs 
and 100 acres in strawberry beds. Mr. Briggs 



foresaw the possibilities of this business when 
he went into it, and such confidence did he 
have in its future that he invested all his sav- 
ings iri it, a confidence which time has amply 
justified. He now ranks among the most ex- 
tensive growers in his section, and he has the 
most improved appliances for handling the 
product. During the harvest season he em- 
ploys over one hundred hands, and he ships 
on an average about nine thousand barrels of 
the berries each season. Mr. Briggs has in- 
terested himself in all the phases of the in- 
dustry, being a member of the Cape Cod 
Cranberry Growers' Association, a member and 
president of the New England Cranberry Sales 
Company and a member and president of the 
National Fruit Exchange, whose offices are in 
New York. 

Since settling in Plymouth Mr. Briggs has 
proved himself a valuable citizen, one ready 
to support progressive movements and always 
interested in the welfare of the town. He has 
not, however, held any office of prominence. He 
votes independently. 

On June 8, 1892, Mr. Briggs married Helen 
Thornton Taber, who was born May 20, 1861, 
daughter of William Congdon and Sarah Allen 
(Wood) Taber, of New Bedford, Mass. They 
have two children : Rose Thornton, born May 
26, 1893; and George Russell, born Aug. 29, 
1895. Mr. Briggs and his family attend 
the Unitarian Church at Plymouth. 



(I) John Russell came from Scotland and 
settled in Plymouth, where he married in 1757 
Mercy, daughter of Nathaniel Foster. Their 
children were: John, born in 1758; James, 
born in 1760; Thomas, born in 1761; Mercy, 
born in 1763 (married William Jackson) ; 
Abigail, born in 1766; Nancy, born in 1767 
(married John Sever, of Kingston) ; Nathaniel, 
born in 1769; Jane, born in 1773 (married 
James Sever, of Kingston) ; George, born in 
1776; and Charles. 

(II) Nathaniel Russell, son of John, born 
in 1769, married in 1800 Martha, daughter of 
Isaac LeBaron. Their children were : Nath- 
aniel, born in 1801 ; Mary Howland, born in 
1803; Andrew Leach, born in 1806; Mercy 
Ann, born in 1809; Francis James, born in 
1811 ; LeBaron, born in 1814; Lucia Jane, born 
in 1821. 

(III) Lucia Jane Russell, daughter of 
Nathaniel, born in 1821, married Rev. George 
Ware Briggs. 

CHARLES FREDERICK BORDEN. In 
the career of Charles Frederick Borden we 



1848 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



find a happy illustration of the saying, "Every 
man is the architect of his own fortune." He 
made his way in the world. He realized in 
youth tliat qualities necessary to command 
success must be first possessed, then cultivated 
intelligently and used assiduously. How thor- 
oughly and successfully Mr. Borden learned 
and applied the lesson, from the begin- 
ning of his industrious life to the hour of his 
prostration by a fatal sickness, cannot be put 
into type as fully as it is known by those who 
were associated with him. It is a story not 
particularly of wliat might be called good for- 
tune, but of the fruits of character, applica- 
tion, intelligence, thoroughness, service and 
zeal. His endowment of traits inducing to 
integrity and probity liad been so enlarged by 
determination, earnestness and instructive as- 
sociation that it is not to be wondered at that 
the aspirations of a manly youth were realized 
and enjoyed in the bright summer of life. 
Mr. Borden was born in Fall River in the year 
of the city's incorporation — Sept. 24, 1854. 
He was a descendant in the ninth generation 
from the emigrant American ancestor, and 
we give herewith a brief record of the earlier 
generations. 

(II Richard Borden is found a settler in 
Portsmouth, R. I., in 1638, in which year lie 
■was admitted an inhabitant of the island of 
Aquidneck, and in that same year was allotted 
five acres of land. He figured in the survey- 
ing and platting of lands therealiouts in 1()3'.), 
and in tlie year following was one of those 
appointed to lay out the lands in Portsmouth. 
R. I. He was assistant in 1653-54; general 
treasurer in 1654-55; commissioner in 1654- 
55-56-57; and deputy in 1667 and 1670. He 
bought land in Providence in 1661 and not 
far from 1667 became one of the original pur- 
chasers of land in New Jersey from the 
Indians. He died May 25, 1671. Joan, his 
wife, died July 13, 1688. Their children 
Were : Thomas, of Portsmouth, R. I., and 
Providence, R. I.; Francis, of Portsmouth, R. 
I., and Shrewsbury, N. J. ; Matthew, of Ports- 
mouth, R. I. ; John, born in Portsmouth : 
Joseph, of Portsmouth, R. L, and Barbadoes, 
West Indies: Sarah; Samuel, of Portsmouth, 
R. I., and Westchester, X. Y. : Benjamin, of 
Portsmouth, R. L, and Burlington county, 
N. J.; Amey; and Mary. 

(II) John Borden, born in September. 
1640, married Dec. 25. 1670, Mary, born in 
1655, daughter of William and Mary (Walk- 
er) Earle. and was of Portsmouth. R. I. Like 
his father he was prominent in the public 
affairs of the town, having been deputy in 



1673, 1680, 1700, 1704, 1705 and 1708. lie 
died June 4, 1716, and his wife in June, 
1734. Their children were: Richard, John, 
Amey, Joseph, Thomas, Hope, Mary, William 
and Benjamin. 

(III) Ricliard Borden (2), born Oct. 25, 
1671, married about 16^2 Innocent Wardell. 
He lived on the main road about a mile from 
the east shore of Mount Hope bay and two 
and a half miles south of the city hall in Fall 
River, his homestead comprising about two 
hundred acres of land. He became one of the 
wealthiest men in the town and at the time 
of his death was one of the largest landliolders 
in the town. He lived until about the age 
of sixty years. His children were : Sarah, 
John, Thomas, Mary, Joseph, Samuel and 
Rebecca. 

(IV) Thomas Borden, born Dec. 8, 1697, 
married Aug. 14, 1721, Mary, born Oct. 6, 
1695, daughter of Christopher and Meribah 
Clifford. Mr. Borden died in April, 1740, in 
Tiverton, R. I. Their children were: Richard, 
horn in 1722; Christopher, born Oct. 10, 
1726; Deborah; Mary, and Rebecca. 

(V) Richard Borden (3), born in 1722, 
married March 12, 1747. Hope Cook. His 
father owned that part of Fall River stream 
which lay below the great falls on the south 
side of the stream, and the land adjoining 
down to the salt water, besides other landed 
estate which he gave to Richard with other 
outside lots. This portion of the stream was 
the site of the sawmill first erected by Caleb 
Church, of Watertown. who purchased of the 
original proprietors of the Piicasset purchase 
thirteen shares of the mill lot and stream. Mr. 
Church sold these thirteen shares of mill 
lot with one half of the sawmill to 
his brother, Benjamin Church ; both were 
purchasing mill rights at the time, and 
had secured twenty-six and a half thir- 
tieths of the mill lot and stream, which in 
1714 they sold to Richard and Joseph Borden, 
who had secured the balance. The property 
had been occupied during his lifetime by 
Thomas Borden, and was transmitted to his 
son Richard. Richard Borden was a man of 
ordinary abilities, but placed the prospective 
value of this property high. He was accus- 
tomed to tell his neighbors that the time 
would come when all the dams in the stream 
would be sought after by men who would have 
the money to pay a great price for them. 
Time has shown that he had a just apprecia- 
tion of the prospective value of Fall River. 
During tlie Revolution the British landed a 
force at Fall River, burned the sawmill be- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1249 



longing to Mr. Borden and a large quantity 
■of lumber which was owned by his- two sons, 
Thomas and Riehard, who operated the mill 
on their own account. Mr. Borden, (.'apt. 
Benjamin Borden and John Negus were taken 
prisoners by the British, and they fired Mr. 
Borden's dwelling house. Mr. Borden died 
July 4, 1795. His children were: Patience, 
born Aug. 9. 1747; Thomas, born in 1750; 
Eiciiard, born in 175"-i; Hope; Betsey, and 
Mary. 

(VI) Thomas Borden, born in 1750, niar- 
xied Mary Hathaway, born in 1757. They 
lived in Fall River. Mr. Borden inherited the 
homestead of his father, the saw and grist 
mills, together with portions of his outlying 
lands. The property thus inherited had been 
handed down for generations, from the first 
Richard Borden of Tiverton, and so continued 
in the family until the formation of the Fall 
River Iron Works Company, in 1831, when 
the portion contiguous to the lower part of 
the Fall River stream was sold to that cor- 
poration. The management however still con- 
tinued in the family of Mr. Borden. He died 
Nov. 29, 1831, and Mrs. Borden died Feb. 18, 
1824. Their children were born as follows : 
Joseph, Nov. 16, 1777; Phoebe, Dec. 22, 1779; 
William, Dec. 28, 1781; Isaac H., March 7, 
1784; Thomas, Feb. 6, 1786; Sarali, March 9, 
1788; Hope, Oct. 8, 1790; Irene, June 4, 
1793; Richard, April 12, 1795; Mary, April 
7, 1797; John. Feb. 5, 1799; Jefferson, Feb. 
28, 1801; Maritta, Sept. 2, 1803. 

(VII) Joseph Borden, born Nov. 16, 1777, 
married Nov. 20, 1800, Hannah Borden. Their 
•children were: Seth, born Jan. 26, 1802; 
Bailey H., Aug. 12, 1804; Isaac, Oct. 5, 1806; 
Ardelia, Aug. 17, 1808; Mary R., June 17, 
1810; and Joseph, Sept. 26, 1812. 

(VIII) Joseph Borden, born Sept. 26, 1812, 
in Fall River, Mass., was one of the most re- 
spected citizens of Fall River in his day. For 
several years he managed the city farm ; he 
served as a member of the city council, and 
to the affairs of the Second Baptist Society no 
member was more attentive. He was a dea- 
con of that congregation. He married Amy 
Hathaway, born April 30, 1814. They died, 
Mr. Borden July 12, 1895, and Mrs. Borden 
April 4, 1893. Their children were : Marv 
M. D., born Aug. 31. 1835 ; Stephen B., Sept. 
3, 1838 ; Angenetta, June 2, 1841 : Joseph F., 
Aug. 4, 1843; Hannah G., Feb. 18, 1846; 
Emma C, Feb. 18, 1849; James W. M., Jan. 
16, 1851; Charles F., Sept. 24, 1854; and 
Seth A., Nov. 15, 1857.' 

(IX) Charles Frederick Borden passed 

79 



through the grammar grades of the local 
schools and then entered the high school. His 
first engagement as a wage earner was as a 
bookkeeper for Davis Brothers. Robert K. 
Remington soon became interested in the boy 
and an oft'er of employment from that estima- 
ble gentleman was accepted. The confidence 
of the new employer was earned immediately 
by close and faithful attention to the details 
of office work. This secured promotion, for 
Mr. Remington was an appreciative employer 
and believed in encouraging his employees so 
as to awaken their interest in the business in 
all of its departments. There was no par- 
tiality, advancement was the reward of merit. 
Mr. Borden shared constantly in the manifes- 
tations of Mr. Remington's esteem, and in the 
course of time he was the right-hand man of that 
gentleman, solely because of his constancy, 
attentiveness and aptitude. He became so 
familiar with every part of the business that 
his employer felt free to leave affairs in his 
care while he gratified his desire to promote 
the work of the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation. Further reward befell Mr. Borden 
after the death of Mr. Remington, in 1886, 
when a partnership was created with Edward 
B. Remington as junior member of the firm 
imder the title of Borden & Remington, to 
continue the business of the founder of the 
house. The responsibility of ownership helped 
to broaden the ability shown so signally as an 
employee by Mr. Borden, and each year closed 
with the books showing an enlargement of ac- 
counts. Early in January, 1905, Mr. Borden 
was stricken with peritonitis ; all that surgical 
skill and careful attention could do was em- 
ployed in coping with the disease, but it failed 
to tide the patient over the crisis, and he 
passed away at dawn, Jan. 12th, at the family 
residence, Rock street and Lincoln avenue. 

Educated in a wholesome atmosphere, it fol- 
lowed as the night follows the day that Mr. 
Borden should have been actively interested in 
the religious movement that engrossed the 
time, tfiought and attention of the man with 
whom he was connected so long in business. 
Like Mr. Remington, he was prominent in the 
affairs of the church and of the Central Con- 
gregational Society. In 1893 the Massachu- 
setts Sunday School Association divided the 
State into fifty districts, and in 1900 Mr. 
Borden was selected for the presidency of the 
Fall River district, serving four years, and 
resigning on account of his health. He was 
the first of the district executives to bring 
about the employment of a salaried secretary 
to look after the details of district work. The 



1250 



SOUTH EASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



adoption of Ins suggestion resulted iu placing 
the district in the front rank of tlie State 
movement. Mr. Borden was a member of the 
executive committee of the Massachusetts and 
llhode Island Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation. To hiin belongs the credit of the 
employment of the secretary of boys' work, a 
department of the greatest usefulness to the 
organization in the cooperating States. By 
his sedulous efforts to provide a suitable home 
for the association in Fall Kiver, he secured 
a large portion of the building fund. Mr. 
Borden served the association most accepta- 
bly as a director, and in the preparation and 
application of the plans and decorative work 
his ideas were j)aranK)unt. In business lines, 
apart from the interest in which he was the 
leading factor, he was president of the City 
Coal Company of New Bedford; a director 
of the Fall Kiver National Bank, and of the 
Columbia Life Insurance Company. 

Mr. Borden was married twice. His first 
wife was Annie Lincoln Remington, a daugh- 
ter of Robert K. and Elizabeth Allen 
(Thatcher) Remington. Their wedding was 
solemnized Jan. 8, 1880. It was blessed by 
four children : Ida Eastman, who is the wife 
of C. F. Webb, of Worcester, JIass. ; Robert 
Remington, treasurer of the Borden & Rem- 
ington Com]iany, who was married April 12, 
IDOU, to Helen Shove, daughter of C. M. 
Shove, and has one daughter, ^largery, born 
Dec. 26, 1909; Edward, who is a cloth broker 
in Fall River: and Charles Frederick. Mrs. 
Borden died July 2, 1895, and on Feb. 20, 
1901, Mr. Borden was united in marriage with 
Bertha Frances A'ella, daughter of Joseph F. 
and Emma Frances (Soule) \'ella, of Lynn, 
Mass. For nine years Miss Vella had been 
the Primary Secretary of the Massachusetts 
Sunday School Association. During that 
time, from 1893 to 1896, she served as secre- 
tary, and from 189G till her resignation in 
1899 as vice president of the International 
Primary Union of Sunday School teachers. 
Marriage did not result in any rela.xation of 
interest in Sunday school work. It had at- 
tractions for both husband and wife, Mrs. 
Borden entering heartily into the plans of Mr. 
Borden, and each making the advance of the 
movement a common cause. 



(VII) (Capt.) Thomas Borden, son of 
Thomas and Mary (Hathaway) Borden, horn 
Feb. 6, 1786, married (first) Lydia, daughter 
of Capt. Richard Durfee, and (second) Mrs. 
Lusannah Borden, widow of his brother Isaac 
H. Borden and sister of his first wife, Lydia. 



In the early part of his life Captain Bordeit 
was engaged in the coasting trade, running be- 
tween Fall River and Providence. He was an 
active, energetic man, and noted for his skill 
in handling his craft. He made quick trips, 
and his promptness and skill secured for him 
the command of the first steamer that was 
placed on the Fall River and Providence line. 
He held this position until his death, com- 
manding in succession the "Hancock,"' "King 
Philip" and "Bradford Durfee." He was 
frugal in his habits, sincere in his attach- 
ments, persevering in whatever he engaged. 
He was specially careful to be at his post at 
the time appointed for sailing, and those who- 
were not as punctual as himself were usually 
left behind. He died June 25, 1855, at the 
age of sixty-nine years and four months. The 
children born to Captain Borden and his wife 
Lydia were : Stephen, born July 8, 1812 ; An- 
drew, born Feb. 22, 1811; Philip D., born 
May 11, 1816; Sarah D., born June 12, 1818, 
married Eliah Williams; Lydia D., born Feb. 
12, 1827, married John N. Swan; Thomas, 
born June 19, 1834. Two children, Thomas 
R. and Isaac, were born to the second mar- 
riage, the former, Dec. 17, 1836; and the lat- 
ter Nov. 11, 1838. 

(VIII) Philip D. Borden, son of Capt. 
Thomas and Lydia (Durfee) Borden, born 
May 11, 1816,' married (first) Sarah F., 
(laughter of Samuel and Betsey (Wilcox) 
Bennett; she was born Jan. 29, 1815, and died 
Aug. 3, 1858. Philip D. Borden married 
(second) Caroline Seabury, who died in 1900. 
Mr. Borden was long a prominent citizen and 
liusiness man of Fall River: was through a 
long period of years closely identified with a 
number of the large industries of Fall River; 
was for forty years superintendent of the Fall 
River Iron Works Company. Later he be- 
came treasurer of the American Ivinen Com- 
])any which position he held until his death. 
May 12, 1896. His children were: Abby D. 
L.,"born Nov. 3, 1839, died May 24, 1840; 
Abbie D. K., born May 7, 1841, married 
Ceorge H. Borden: William, born Aug. 15, 
1843, died May 19, 1864; Edward, horn April 
18, 1847, died June 21, 1847; Thomas S.-,. 
liorn June 9, 1848: Philip D., born Dec. 23, 
1850; and Frank, born Nov. 13, 1853, mar- 
ried Elizabeth S. Pierce, and died Feb. 13, 
1910. 

(IX) Philip D. Bobden (2), son of Philip 
D. and Sarah F. (Bennett) Borden, born Dec. 

23, 1850, in Fall River, Mass., married Nov. 

24, 1875, Adelaide H. Scoville. who die J 
March 19, 1882, and (second) Sept. 11, 1884, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1251 



Abbie K., daughter of Henry C. and Laura 
A. (.Boomer) Lincoln, of Fall Hiver. Mr. 
Borden aecjuired liis preliminary education in 
the public scliools of his native city and in the 
Williston Seminary at Easthampton, Jfass. 
He then took a four years' course in civil 
engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology, Boston. On June 10, 1873, he 
entered the engineering department of the city 
of Fall River, as assistant civil engineer, and 
in 1880 was advanced to the position he has 
since held in Fall River — the city civil engi- 
neer. 

Mr. Borden is a member of the Engineers' 
Club of Philadelphia and the Boston Society 
of Civil Engineers. One child, Addie, was 
born March 16, 1882, to the first marriage. 
She was married Nov. 3, 1908, to Ernest Ross 
Adams, of Newton, Mass., and they reside at 
Brookline, Massachu.setts. 

HENRY KINGSBURY PRATT, a rep- 
resentative citizen of the town of Lakeville, 
Mass., where he is now engaged in farming, 
dairying and poultry raising, was born in Dud- 
ley, Mass., Oct. in, 1856, son of Rev. Henry 
and Elizabeth (Kingsbury) Pratt. 

The immediate ancestors of the late Rev. 
Henry Pratt, father to the present Henry K. 
Pratt, the head of the Lakeville family of 
Pratts, were of Salisbur}', Conn., where he was 
born and where lived his parents, Schuyler and 
Olive (Gay) Pratt. Presumably he belonged 
to the Connecticut family of Pratts. 

Lieut. William Pratt, with his reputed 
brother, John Pratt, came to this country from 
the parish of Stevenage, in Hertfordshire, Eng- 
land, to Cambridge, Mass., in the year 1632, 
or earlier. He was the son of Andrew Pratt 
and grand.son of Thomas Pratt. He is sup- 
posed to have come with Rev. Thomas Hooker 
to Newtown, now Cambridge, thence going in 
June. 1636, to Hartford, Conn., where he was 
an original proprietor. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of John Clark, of Saybrook. 

The Gays, too, were early in Massachusetts. 
John Gay, immigrant, came to this country 
about 1630 and was first at Watertown, being 
a grantee in the Great Dividends and in the 
Beaver Brook Plow Lands, owning in all fort\' 
acres. He was a freeman of 1635. With 
others from WatPrto\vn he was one of the 
founders of Dedham, his name appearing on 
the petition for incorporation Sept. 6, 1636, 
and among the original proprietors of lands. 

Rev. Henry Pratt, son of Schuvler and Olive 
(Gay) Pratt, was born Jan. 11, 1825, in Salis- 
bury-, Conn., and died April 19, 1880, in Tops- 



licld, Mass. Ha attended the public schools 
of his native town, and later was a student at 
Williamstown College, whence he went to And- 
over, graduating from the theological seminary 
there. For about twenty years he was en- 
gaged as a minister of the Congregational 
Church at Dudley, Mass. Retiring from the 
ministry he engaged in farming. In 1879 he 
went to Topsfield, and died soon after. His 
obituary notices referred to him as a farmer. He 
was deeply interested in the cause of education, 
and for many years was a member of the school 
board in Dudley, and also held other town of- 
fices. In politics he was a Republican. His 
work in the church was far-reaching, and he 
was ever a power working for good in the com- 
munity in which he lived. He married Eliza- 
beth Kingsbury, daughter of Davie Kings- 
bury, of Dudley, Mass., and they had two chil- 
dren: Henry Kingsbury and Rev. Davie But- 
ler. The latter, born in "Dudley Sept. 28, 1861, 
graduated from Williamstown College, later 
studied at Andover Theological Seminary, and 
is now located in Talladega, Ala. He married 
Mrs. Arbrota Cardwell, of Brooklyn, New York. 

Henry Kingsbury Pratt, born Oct. 19, 1856, 
in Dudley, grew to manhood in his native 
town, and attended the district schools there 
and also Nicholas Academy. He afterward 
assisted his father in farming, moved with his 
father to Topsfield in 1879, and in 1884 moved 
to Lakeville, Mass., where he purchased a farm 
of fifty-five acres with his savings. This farm 
was the homestead known as the "Old Leonard 
House" and is situated in North Lakeville near 
the Middleboro line. Here he is now engaged 
in farming, dairying and poultry raising. He 
does some carpenter work, his knowledge of the 
trade having been acquired after his removal 
to Lakeville, but his poultry engrosses the 
greater part of his attention, as he keeps from 
800 to 900 chickens on hand all the time. He 
is a quiet, home man, and cares little for public 
affairs, though he has held a number of minor 
offices. He is conscientious about all that he 
undertakes, and his duties when in official po- 
sition were faithfully performed. In politics 
he is a Republican. Mrs. Pratt is very popular 
socially, but finds her greatest pleasure in her 
home, where her hospitality is practically un- 
bounded. 

On Aug. 20, 1878, in Providence, R. I., Mr. 
Pratt was married to Jennie Elizabeth Child, 
who was born in Rockford, Iowa, daughter of 
John Holbrook and Julia (Sanger) Child, of 
Woodstock, Conn. Four children have been 
born of this union, as follows: Henry Dudley, 
born Feb. 26, 1880, in Topsfield, Mass., mar- 



1252 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



ried in Providence, R. I., in l'J04, Bessie 
Thomas, daughter of James A. and Elizabeth 
(Bradford) Thomas, of Middleboro, and they 
have one child, Roger Dudley, born Dec. 2, 
1905; Maud Helena, born Sept. 22, 1881, in 
Topsfield, married Elmer Ellsworth Handy, 
of Providence, R. I. (no children) ; John Hol- 
brook, born April 7, 1886, worked at shoemak- 
ing for a short time but has taken to poultry 
raising (he is unmarried and lives at home) ; 
Frank Butler, born Nov. 9, 1887, died Feb. 7, 
1892. 



Child. The Child family, to which Mrs. 
Pratt belongs, was planted in the New World 
by (I) Benjamin Child, who, it seems proba- 
ble, came to this country with Ephraim Child 
in 1630, the latter from strong presumptive 
evidence being his uncle. Ephraim Child mar- 
ried at Nay land. County of Suffolk, England, 
in February, 1625, Mrs. Elizabetli Palmer. He 
settled in Watertown. Benjamin Child con- 
tributed toward the building of the first church 
in Ro.xbury. He died in that town Oct. 11, 
16y8. The Christian name of his wife was 
^Jtfary, who was admitted to the church at 
Ro.xbury in 1658. Their children were: Eph- 
raim, born in 1654; Benjamin, in 1656; 
Joshua, in 1658 ; Mary, Aug. 8, 1660 ; an in- 
fant, in 1662; Elizabeth, Dec. 2, 1663; Mar- 
garet, Dec. 21, 1665; John, Jan. 8, 1667 (died 
young) ; Mehetabel, June 29, 1669; John (2), 
Aug. 1, 1671; Joseph. June 1, 1673 (died 
yourig) ; and Joseph (3). Dec. 10, 1674. 

(IT) Benjamin Child (3), son of Benjamin, 
born March 7, 1656, in Roxbury. married 
Marcli 7, 1683, Grace Morris, born Feb. 17, 
1661, daughter of Deacon Edward and Grace 
(Bet) Morris. She died Dec. 10, 1723, and 
he Jan. 24, 1724. Their children were: Eph- 
raim. born Dec. 18, 1683; Benjamin, July 19, 
1685; Edward, Nov. 1, 1687: Grace, Oct. 27, 
1689; Mary, Oct. 25. 1691; Ebenezer, Sept. 7. 
1693; Mehetabel, Jan. 5, 1695; William. Oct. 
14. 1697; Penuel. Sept. 3. 1699: Richard. Oct. 
22, 1701; Thomas, Nov. 10, 1703; and Mar- 
garet. May 26. 1706. 

(ITI) Ephraim Child, son of Benjamin (2). 
born Dec. 18, 1683, in Roxbury, married in 
1710 Priscilla Harris, daughter of Daniel Har- 
ris, of Brookline, Mass. He died Nov. 23, 1759. 
She died June 26, 1780. aged ninety-six. Mr. 
Child was one of seven brothers who removed 
to what became the town of Woodstock, Conn. 
His removal thither was in 1710, and his lo- 
cation in what is now East Woodstock. He 
was a prominent man in his day. He was 



lieutenant in 1753 in 17th Company, 11th Regi- 
ment of Connecti-cut Infantry; and was active 
in the Revolutionary struggles for independ- 
ence. He was a reliable churchman. His chil- 
dren were: Ephraim, born Jan. 15, 1711; 
Daniel, Jan. 1, 1713; Priscilla, March 7, 1715; 
Henry, May 28, 1717; Mehetabel, June 8, 
1718; Mary, April 12, 1721; Esther, Sept. 6, 
1733; Elis'ha, Feb. 11, 1735; Peter, July 6, 
1727; and Joanna, July 6, 1727. 

(IV) Capt. Elisha Child, son of P]phraira, 
born Feb. 11, 1735, in Woodstock, Conn., mar- 
ried Jan. 6, 1750, Alice Manning, who was 
born in 1728, and died in 1798. He died 
Nov. 22, 1796. He was a man of strong char- 
acter and much intelligence, and was every- 
where prominent in affairs of town, state and 
church. He held various offices of responsi- 
bility and honor. He was placed in command 
of one of tiie first companies organized on the 
requisition for troops of the Continental Con- 
gress on the breaking out of the war of the 
Revolution. He was captain of one of the 
Woodstock companies that prepared for the 
Le.xington alarm. He was a member of the 
General Court in 1775. He died Nov. 32, 1796. 
His children wei-e : Charles, born Sept. 15, 
1750 (died voung) ; Charles (2), Nov. 22, 
1751; Alice, Nov. 11, 1753; Elias, Dec. 28, 
1755; Thomas, Feb. 12, 1758; Alice (2), June 
15, 1760; Sylvia, Oct. 31, 1762; Betsey, Dec. 
23. 1764: Chloe, March 28, 1767; Priscilla, 
Nov. 19. 1769; Betsey (2), 1773; and a 
daughter unnamed. 

(V) Deacon Charles Child, son of Capt. 
Elisha, born Nov. 33. 1751, in East Woodstock, 
Conn., married April 13, 1777, Eliza May, born 
in 1756, who died in 1838. in Woodstock, 
Conn., daughter of Caleb May, of that town. 
He inherited the homestead ; was a staid and 
substantial man, a worthy deacon in the Con- 
gregational Church. His children were : Me- 
hetabel. born Aug. 23, 1779; Caleb, Sept. 30, 
1781; Alice. Oct. 21, 1783; Hannah May, 
April 29, 1787; John, 1789; Charles, 179i ; 
Eliza, May 24, 1793; Sally S., Aug. 19, 1795; 
Elias. Oct. 30, 1797; andAbiel, Nov. 6, 1799. 

(VI) Elias Child, son of Deacon Charles, 
born Oct. 30. 1797, in Woodstock, Conn., mar- 
ried April 19, 1827. Sophronia Meacham, born 
in 1803. who died Jan. 31, 1875. He died Oct. 
30. 1879. He succeeded his father in the own- 
ership of the old homestead. He belonged to 
the old school of men who felt that the former 
days were better than the present, and he was 
not easily drawn into the changes or reforms 
of the present. He was a thrifty, hard-work- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1253 



ing farmer, and left a handsome property to 
his only child, John H., born April 3, 1830. 

(VII) John Holbrook Child, son of Elias, 
born April 3, 1830, in East Woodstock, Conn., 
succeeded to the homestead. He married (first) 
April 30, 1851, Julia Sanger, who died in 
August, 1879. He married (second) March 
29, 1880, Ruth Witter. His children were: 
Jennie E., born Nov. 4, 1860; and John Frank, 
born Aug. 8, 1863. 

(VIII) Jennie E. Child, daughter of John 
Holbrook and Julia (Sanger) Child, born Nov. 
4, 1860, in Rockford, Iowa, married Aug. 20, 
1878, Henry Kingsbury Pratt. 

JOSEPH CHURCH TERRY, for many 
years a well-known ship-builder of Fall River 
and for the past thirty or more years one of 
the leading wharf and bridge builders in 
southeastern Massachusetts, was born June 11, 
1828, in Fall River, on the old family home- 
stead in what was formerly Freetown, and is 
descended paternally from two of the oldest 
families of the State, the Churches and the 
Terrys. 

Silas Terry, his grandfather, married in 
1800 Sarah Church, who was born in 1777, 
daughter of Capt. Joseph and Sarah (Bright- 
man) Church. Mr. Terry died Oct. 20, 1824, 
and his wife died Aug. 28, 1834. 

Church Terry, son of Silas and Sarah 
(Church) Terry, was born on the home farm 
in Freetown, Mass., May 20, 1802. This farm, 
located on the New Boston road, two and a 
half miles northeast of the city, was inherited 
by him. and there he lived all his life. On 
March 24, 1825, he married Mary Chace, who 
was bom Oct. 16, 1801, and died March 8, 
1853, daughter of Ezekiel Chace (who died 
Nov. 20, 1845) and his wife Lydia (who 
died April 26, 1839). Church Terry married 
(second), on June 1. 1857, Sarah Lake. He 
died Jan. 20, 1893. His children were: Jo- 
seph Church, born June 11, 1828, is men- 
tioned below; Robert, born July 1, 1830, is de- 
ceased ; Richmond, born March 13, 1832, died 
May 27, 1892; Benjamin, horn April 25, 1834, 
is deceased; William T., born Feb. 7, 1836, 
died March 9. 1887; Sarah E., born Oct. 21, 
1837, married John T. Cook, of Tiverton, R. 
I.; Hiram Weston was born July 21, 1841; 
Man- Maria, born Oct. 3. 1843, married John 
Young; George Chace, born Dec. 23, 1845, is 
deceased. 

His father being a farmer Joseph C. Terry 
was reared to the same occupation, and be- 
tween .seasons attended the schools of -Fall 
River. Leaving home at the age of eighteen. 



he began serving an apprenticeship at the ship 
carpenter's trade, with Messrs. Chace & Davis, 
of Warren, R. I. Continuing with this firm 
nearly two years, he then went to Newborn, 
N. C, and there worked during the winter 
season, and at Warren, R. I., through the sum- 
mer for the next couple of years. Sub- 
sequently, during a period of his experience 
at his trade in Boston, New York and Somer- 
set, this State, he became well known in his 
line of work and had an extensive acquaint- 
ance among those interested in shipping and 
shipbuilding. In the year 1853 he located in 
Fall River and there began business for him- 
self, repairing and building ships. His marine 
railway was located where the mills of the 
Fall River Iron Works Company now stand. 
He followed this business for twenty years and 
through the good materials used, and his 
thoroughness, established a high reputation for 
work in his line along the whole Atlantic coast. 
Among the craft built by Mr. Terry were a 
immber of steamers and sailing vessels, most 
of them of large tonnage, among which were 
the ''D. M. Anthony"' and the "Carrie Hart." 

Along in the middle seventies of the last 
century Mr. Terry engaged in business as a 
contractor and builder of bridges and wharfs, 
among the monuments of his workmanship in 
this line being the Westport factory bridge, 
Lee's river bridge on the Warren road, Berkley 
bridge on the Taunton river, Swansea bridge 
on Cole's river, 455-, 500- and 350-foot wharves 
at Promised Land, Long Island, N. Y., for 
the American Fisheries Company, Mount Hope 
Park wharf, Dighton Rock Park wharf, the 
Neptune Line wharf, the Enterprise Line 
wharf, seven wharves between Bristol Ferry 
and Bristol, on Bristol Neck, wharves at the 
Training Station and Torpedo Station at New- 
port, the wharf at Fort Greble, the wharf at 
West Island at the mouth of Seaconnet river, 
seven wharves at Tiverton, and one in Provi- 
dence. He has served as a director of the 
Bowenville Coal Company. 

Mr. Terry was for three terms an efficient 
member of the Fall River common council from 
his — the Eighth — ward. In 1904 he removed 
to Somerset, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Terrv has been twice married, marrying 
(first) in 18.54 Susan S. Ounn, and in 1890 
Barbara E. Teasdale, of Nova Scotia. Two 
children blessed the first marriage, Walter D. 
and Ida F., the latter now the wife of Mr. 
C. W. Francis ; her children are Dwight W. and 
Alfred. 

Walter D. Terry, son of Joseph Church 
and Susan S. (Gunn) Terry, was born in Fall 



1254 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



River and there received his education. He 
is associated in business with his father, and 
makes his home in Somerset. He married 
Elizabeth Burrill, daughter of John Burrill, 
and they have had six children: Nelson G., 
who is in the insurance business in Fall River 
(married Mary Rounds and has one son, Joseph 
Church) ; Annie, who married Frank Abbott, 
and has one son, Merrill S. ; Elmer, who mar- 
ried Cora Cole; Bessie; Susan, who was 
drowned ; and Hazel. 

Mr. Terry is a descendant in the eighth gen- 
eration from Richard Church, from whom his 
line is through Nathaniel, Charles, Charles 
(2), Capt. Joseph, Sarah (wife of Silas Terry) 
and Church Terry. We give herewith some ac- 
count of the earlier Church generations. 

(I) Richard Church was born in England 
in 1608, and came to America with Governor 
Winthrop in 1630. He was made a freeman 
Oct. 19, 16.S0, but did not take the oath. He 
removed from Weymouth to Plymouth, and 
there on Oct. 4, 1632, was made a freeman. 
He was a carpenter by trade, and with John 
Thompson erected the first meetinghouse, and 
built the first gun carriage in Plymouth, in 
1637. In 1649 he sold his estate there and 
went to Eastham. whence in 16.53 he moved to 
Charlestown, and four years later was located 
at Hingham. In 1664 he was at Sandwich. 
He was often a member of the grand inquest 
and frequently made referee. As a soldier in 
the Pequot war he held the rank of sergeant. 
His will, dated Dec. 25, 1668, provides for his 
widow, and gives equal portions to all his chil- 
dren except his son Joseph, who had a lame 
hand, and to him his father gave a double 
portion. In 1636 Richard Church married 
Elizabeth Warren, daughter of Richard War- 
ren, the latter one of the passengers of the 
"Mayflower." She died in Hingham in 1670. 
Their children were: Elizabeth, who married 
Cobb Hobert, and died in 1659; Joseph, born 
in 1638, who married Mary Tucker, and died 
in 1711 ; Benjamin, born in 1639, who married 
Alice Southworth, and died Jan. 17, 1718; 
Nathaniel; Caleb, born in 1642, who married 
Joanna Sprague, and died in 1667; Charles, 
who was killed Oct. 30. 1659; Richard, who 
died young in Plymouth ; Abigail, born in 
1648, who married Samuel Thaxter. and died 
in 1677; Hannah; Sarah, who married James 
Burroughs; Tiydia, who married a French- 
man, and went to France in 1691; Priscilla, 
wife of John Irish ; and Deborah, born in 
1657, who married William Briggs, of Little 
Compton, R. I., and died Sept. 25, 1713. 

(II) Nathaniel Church, son of Richard, was 



a farmer, and his land included the bald hills 
near the North river in Scituate, south of Cor- 
net Stetson's. In 1665 he married Sarah 
Barstow, of Scituate, daughter oi William 
Barstow. Their children were: Abigail, born 
in 1666, who married Nathaniel Harlow; Rich- 
ard, born in 1668; Nathaniel, born in 1670; 
Alice, born in 1679 ; Joseph, born in 1681, who 
died in 1707; Charles, born in 1681; and 
Sarah, born in 1683, who married John 
Holmes. 

(III) Charles Church, son of Nathaniel, was 
born in 1681, and upon reaching man's estate 
engaged in a seafaring life, becoming captain 
of a vessel. He was drowned, with Capt. Con- 
stant Church, in the hay opposite what is now 
the city of Fall River, Mass.. March 9, 1726. 
He married Mary Pope, of DartmoTith, and 
they lived at Plymouth and later in Freetown. 
Their children were: Charles, born in 1710 
Mary, born in 1719; Susanna, born in 1721 
Hannah, born in 1723; Seth, born in 1724 
and Alice, born in 1726. 

(IV) Charles Church (2), son of Capt. 
Charles, was born in Plymouth in 1710. Like 
his father he followed the sea and became cap- 
tain of vessels. After his father's death he 
paid to William IT. Dyer, Abraham Gardner 
and Stephen Hodges one hundred and fifty-five 
pounds, ninepence, halfpenny due them from 
his father. He died May 6, 1763. In 1735 
he married Frances Turner, and they became 
the parents of children as follows: Charles, 
born in 1740, married Lillias Bowen, and they 
removed to St. John. New Brunswick, Canada; 
Joseph was born in 1743; Mary, born in 1744, 
married in 1763 Stephen Borden: Hannah, 
born in 1746, married in 1775 Daniel Boomer; 
Seth, born March 1, 1749, married in 1770 
Elizabeth Palmer (he became a sea captain, 
dying Feb. 16, 1797) : Benjamin married 
(first) in 1785, Mchitahle Tribv and (second) 
Elizabeth Phillips, and died Nov. 25, 1833; 
Susanna in 1774 married George Borden; and 
John. 

(V) Joseph Church, son of Capt. Charles 
(2), was born in 1742, and in his youth an- 
swered the call of the sea. He was drowned 
at Bristol Ferry, R. I., in 1816. He had a 
cargo of wood from Fall River to Providence, 
and with Thomas Chaloner was returning to 
his sloop when, it is supposed, one of the men 
was knocked overboard, and the other endeavor- 
ing to rescue him, both were drowned. Capt. 
Thomas Sanford found the vessel with a light 
in the cabin, but with no one on board. For 
many days the river was dredged, cannon were 
fired, and every effort was made to recover 




(H^^L-iL^ 



,/? fx-Ayit^eM" 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 1255 

"the bodies, but all in vain. On hearing of his West Bridgewater, and tlieir ehildien were: 

■disappearance Captain Church's wife became Susanna, born June 1, 1758, married in 17!)2 

insane, and renuiined so for some years, but I)a\id Curney; Sarah, l)orn Marcli 7, 1760, 

before her death fully recovered her reason, nuivrieil in 1777 Lsaiah llayward; Lucy, born 

In her maidenhood she was Sarah Brightnian, March 2S, llHi'i, married in 1781 Waldo Hay- 

and her marriage to Captain Church took ward; Job Packard, born Jan. 22, 1764, died 

place in 1765. Their children were; Ruth, young; Samuel, born Dec. 27, 17GG, married 

born in 1767, who married a Mr. Butts; Ann, Lucy Jenkins in 1785, and they moved to 

born in 1768, who married Feb. 12, 1792, Croydon, N. IT.; Hannah, born May 6, 1769, 

Abel Borden; Susanna, born Dec. 4, 1773, married in 1794 Simeon Howard: Rachel, 

who married in 1793 Joseph Borden; Rebecca, born June 8, 1772, married in 1813 Barnabas 

born in 1775, who married in 1796 William Lothrop; Keziah, born Aug. 4, 1775, married 

Borden; Sarah, born in 1777, who married in Abiel Howard in 1798; David was born Jan. 

1800 Silas Terry; Joseph, born in 1779; 28, 1778. 

Prudence, born in 1784, who married Preserved David Bartlett, son of Samuel, was born on 

Briggs, and died in May, 1859; Hannah, born the liomestead Jan. 28, 1778, and there grew 

in 1786, who married in 1807 Increase Smith, to manhood. In his younger manhood he 

and died in 1863; Mary, born in 1789, who operated a gristmill, later settling down to 

married in 1813 Stephen Hart, and died in farming on the homestead, operating a tract of 

1862 ; and Lemuel, born in 1792, who married fifty-five acres. He made many improvements 

Betsey Simmons. upon the place, where he ended his days, dying 

Feb. 1, 1867, at a ripe old age. In politics he 
was originally an old-line Whig, later becom- 

HORACE BARTLETT, a well-known agri- ing a Republican. He attended the Unitarian 

culturist of the town of West Bridgewater, Church. Mr. Bartlett married Polly Brett 

where he has spent his entire life, was born Howard, who was born Nov. 30, 1777, daugh- 

there April 18, 1837, son of Job and Mary ter of George (Jr.) and Parnell (Ames) How- 

(Keith) Bartlett, and is a descendant of sev- ard, and she died Sept. 26, 1812. Mr. and 

eral of the oldest families of the State, all Mrs. Bartlett are buried in the Pine Hill 

«if which have been jprominently identified cemetery, at West Bridgewater. They bad 

with New England from its earliest days. The the following children: Charlotte, born Jan. 

Bartletts are of English origin. 11, 1797, died in 1812; Job was born Jan. 5, 

Wright Bartlett, the first of his name in the 1799; Polly, born Oct. 24, 1801, married in 
Bridgewaters, is supposed to have come hither 1826 Ephraim Snell, and died Jan. 9, 1895 ; 
■from the town of Hingham and located in Susan, born Aug. 28, 1807, married in 
what is now West Bridgewater. In 1731 he 1838 Nathan Alger, and she died Oct. 14, 
married Bethiah Packard, daughter of Sam- 1838; Jane, born March 7, 1804, married in 
uel Packard, and they had children as fol- 1840 Ambrose Leach, and she died Jan. 5, 
lows: Samuel is mentioned below; Relief was 1886 (he died March 13, 1865); David, born 
married in 1761 to Ehenezer Hooper; Lydia Feb. 11, 1811, married Xov. 29, 1838, Rhoda 
married in 1751 Ehenezer Hinds: Phillis mar- Hayward, who died Nov. 5, 1840, and he mar- 
ried in 1753 Edward Powers. The father was ried (second) Dec. 1, 1841, Patty Wood, who 
■drowned in Boston harbor about 1737 or 1738, died July 20, 1874 (he died May 31. 1898). 
the mother dving a year or two later. In 1815 Mr. Bartlett married for his second 

Samuel Bartlett, son of Wright, born March wife Susanna Fish, and by this union there 

31, 1736, in West Bridgewater, was a soldier were three children: Charlotte, born June 19, 

in the war of the Revolution, serving as a ser- 1818, died Oct. 5, 1848; Henry Lewis, born 

geant with Capt. Eliakim Howard's company, July 24, 1820, died June 28, 1832; Julia 

Col. Edward Mitchell's regiment, which Franklin, born Sept. 14, 1825, married Jan. 

marched to Braintree Neck March 4, 1776; 16, 1861, Henry Leach, and died Sept. 22, 

service, six days. He was a farmer and land- 1905 (he died May 18, 1903). 

owner, having a tract on what is now North Job Bartlett, son of David, was born on the 

Elm street. West Bridgewater, part of which homestead Jan. 5, 1799, and was educated in 

is now owned and occupied by bis great-grand- the schools of West Bridgewater. He w-as 

son, Horace Bartlett. Here he followed farm- reared to farming, and made it his life occu- 

ing until his death, which occurred July 31, pation, remaining with his father on the home- 

1827. On May 12. 1757, he married Susanna stead, which he cultivated until he died. He 

Dur.liar, daughter of Dr. David Dunbar, of was a progressive man, and made many valua- 



1256 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



ble changes on the farm. He was also active 
in local public affairs, taking a deep interest 
in the welfare of the town, and filled the offices 
of selectman, assessor and overseer of the poor. 
In political sentiment he was an old-line Whig 
and later a Republican. Like his father he 
attended the Unitarian Church, with which his 
wife was also identified. 

On Sept. 9, 1827, at Winthrop, Maine, Mr. 
Bartlett married Mary Keith Jackson, who was 
born Dec. 21, 1801, at North Bridgewater, 
daughter of Caleb and Zeruiah Keith Jackson, 
and granddaughter of Jonathan Keith. Mr. 
Bartlett died March 9, 1867, his widow Jan. 5, 
1S79, and they were buried in Pine Hill ceme- 
tery. Their children were: (1) Mary P"ran- 
ces, born June 25, 1828, married March 12, 
1851, Lewis Lincoln, and they resided at Nor- 
ton, Mass. ; she died Feb. 25, 1906, long sur- 
viving Mr. Lincoln, who passed away March 
10, 1854. (2) Samuel Dunbar, born Sept. 5, 
1830, married Mary Ann Maroni, Nov. 27, 
1856, and they reside in West Bridgewater. 
(3) Henry, born March 25, 1834, died Aug. 
25, 1864." (4) Horace was born April 18, 
1837. 

Horace Bartlett passed his youth on the 
home farm and received his education in the 
public schools of his native town. At the age 
of eighteen years he went to learn the trade of 
raolder in the Fobes foundry, where he fol- 
lowed the trade for several years, working as a 
journeyman and rising to the position of fore- 
man of the molding department. After the 
death of his father he gave up his trade and 
settled down to farming on the homestead, 
and here for nearly forty-five years he has en- 
gaged in general agriculture, conducting the 
original place of fifty-five acres and also culti- 
vating the land he has added to his original 
possessions, having bought in other sections of 
the town. He owns and operates in all over 
one hundred acres. He has continued to im- 
prove the place throughout the period of his 
ownership, and being enterprising and ener- 
getic has also carried on the dairy business, 
bringing his milk to Brockton, and for a num- 
ber of years has been interested in the wood 
business. His prosperity is the result of well 
directed industry and his success is due entire- 
ly to his own efforts. 

During the Civil war Mr. Bartlett enlisted 
in the Union service, in January, 1864, at 
West Bridgewater, joining Company D, 58th 
Massachusetts Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, 
under Capt. Charles E. Churchill and Lieut. 
Col. John C. Whiften, and continued with his 
command to the close of the war, finally partic- 



ipating in the grand review at Washington, 
D. C. He is a Democrat, but not active in 
politics, and is independent in local matters. 
Mr. Bartlett has been quite active in the fra- 
ternities, being a member of Fellowship Lodge, 
A. F. & A. M., of Bridgewater; of Satucket 
Royal Arch Chapter, and, of Bay State Com- 
mandery, K. T., at Brockton. He is a charter 
member of Howard Lodge, No. 116, K. of P., 
at W^est Bridgewater. He and his family at- 
tend the LTnitarian Church. 

On Jan. 27, 1869, Mr. Bartlett was married 
in West Bridgewater to Abigail Howard, a 
native of that place, born Dec. 28, 1842, daugh- 
ter of Charles and Sarah Vinal (Edson) 
Howard, and granddaughter of Edwin and 
Betsey Haskell Spooner Howard, being a de- 
scendant of several of the oldest Bridgewater 
families. Children as follows have been born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Bartlett: (1) Annie W'illiams, 
born May 10, 1870, died Feb. 6, 1871. (3) 
Henry, born Oct. 31, 1871, is engaged in farm- 
ing, residing at home, unmarried. (3) Helen 
Frances, born July 21, 1874, resides at home 
unmarried. She is a member of Deborah 
Sampson Chapter, D. A. R., of Brockton, hav- 
ing fifteen ancestors who participated in the 
Revolutionary war, and is also a member of the 
Order of the Eastern Star at Brockton. (4) 
Jane Howard, born May 25, 1877, conducts 
an arts and crafts studio in Washington, D. C. 

EDGAR EVERETT DEAN, M. D., began 
the practice of medicine in North Bridgewater 
(now Brockton), during the Civil war period, 
and there continued to reside until his death, 
which occurred Dec. 31, 1892. Dr. Dean came 
to Brockton as the successor of Dr. Alexander 
Hitchborn, who had left this field to enter 
the army, and he therefore entered at once 
upon a well established practice. His skill 
and high personal standards held the patronage 
and good will of the community to the end, 
and he died as he had lived, one of the most 
esteemed residents of the city. He was a man 
who saw things clearly, and the events of the 
day, presented to him often in an intimate 
light, appealed for solution to one of his strong 
intellect and altruistic disposition. Naturally, 
sometimes through professional channels but 
often as the result of per.sonal inclination, he 
became connected with the wider affairs of life 
and with questions of public welfare and 
economy, and his varied interests developed a 
character at once strong and sympathetic. He 
was a man well beloved both in his professional 
capacity and for his many admirable personal 
traits. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1257 



Dr. Dean was a descendant of the old stock 
which has been long known in this section of 
Massachusetts. The name of Dean or Deane, 
which was originally spelled Den or Dene, and 
which is now written Dean or Deane, made its 
appearance in England soon after the introduc- 
tion of surnames. It was apparently derived 
from the Saxon word "den" or "dene," mean- 
ing a valley, that word being taken as a sur- 
name by the people who lived in the valleys. 
The family is probably of Norman origin, as 
the first of the name of whom we have any 
record was Eobert de Den, butler to Edward 
the Confessor, and doubtless one of his Nor- 
man favorites, as it is known that he owned 
estates in Normandy. Later the name is met 
with in Essex, Northamptonshire, Huntingdon- 
shire, Oxfordshire, etc., many of the name be- 
longing to the nobility. After the abolition 
of feudalism by Henry VII. the territorial 
prefix "de" was dropped ; the letter "a" was 
introduced into the name "Dene" during the 
reign of Queen Elizabeth, and it became 
"Deane." The Deanes of England have been 
a highly respectable and prominent family, 
such men as Henry Dene, Archbishop of Can- 
terbury and Lord Chancellor under Henry VII., 
Sir Richard Deane, mayor of London in 1629, 
Maj. Gen. Richard Deane, the regicide, and 
Sir Anthony Deane, comptroller of the navy, 
being members of that family. 

The Deanes have resided for centuries at and 
in the vicinity of Taunton, Somersetshire, Eng- 
land, and from that place came most of the 
early immigrants of the name to America. 
The history of the branch of this family to 
which belonged the late Dr. Edgar Everett 
Dean, of Brockton, is here given, the genera- 
tions being noted in chronological order. 

(I) Walter Dean, born at Chard, a market 
town, some ten miles from Taunton, in Somer- 
setshire, England, in the extensive and fertile 
valley known as Taunton-Dean, on the river 
Tone, came to America with his elder brother 
John, both being among the earliest English 
settlers at Cohannet, which soon after was 
called Taunton : both were original purchasers 
of the town. Walter Dean was a tanner by 
trade. His wife was Eleanor, daughter of 
Richard Strong, of Taunton in England, and 
sister of Elder John Strong, who came with 
her to America in the ship "Mary and John," 
in 1630, and thence in 1637 went to Cohannet, 
now Taunton. Both Walter and John Dean 
took up farms on the west bank of "Taunton 
Great River," about a mile from the "Green," 
and the open traveled way through these lands 
has been known as Dean street to this day. The 



children of Walter and Eleanor (Strong) Dean 
were: Joseph, Ezra, Benjamin and Abigail. 

(II) Ezra Dean, son of Walter, married Dec. 
17, 1676, Bethiah, daughter of Deacon Samuel 
Edson, of Bridgewater, and wife Susannah 
(Orcutt), who were among the earliest settlers 
in Bridgewater. The children of Ezra and 
Bethiah were: Bethiah, born Oct. 14, 1677 
(died Nov. 37, 1679) ; Ezra, born Oct. 14, 
1680; Samuel, born April 11, 1682 (died Feb. 
16, 1683); Seth, born June 3, 1683; Mar- 
garet, and Ephraim. 

(III) Dr. p]zra Dean (2), son of Ezra, born 
Oct. 14, 1680, married Abigail, daughter of 
Capt. James Leonard, of Taunton, and (sec- 
ond) Abigail Bretnell. Dr. Dean settled in 
Taunton in the practice of medicine. He died 
July 1, 1737. His children were: Ezra, born 
Oct. 30, 1706; Stephen, born Sept. 29, 1708; 
Theodora, born Dec. 31, 1712; Abigail; 
Nehemiah ; James, .born in 1717; Solomon; 
Nathaniel ; Seth ; Elkanah ; Prudence ; Elisha ; 
William; George; and Esther, born in 1733. 

(IV) Elisha Dean, son of Dr. Ezra, married 
Dec. 8, 1763, Molly Wood, of Norton, Mass., 
and (second) Sept. 26, 1787, at Taunton, 
Mass., Mary Durfee, born in Freetown, Mass., 
daughter of Thomas Durfee, of Freetown. Mr. 
Dean lived to the age of eighty-three years. 
At the time of his marriage Mr. Dean was 
referred to as of Eastham, in Barnstable 
county, Mass. He probably died in Taunton 
in 1823, as his will was probated March 4th 
of that year at Taunton. In his will he men- 
tions his wife Mary, his son Elisha, his 
daughter Polly (wife of James Dean), grand- 
sons Charles and Alonzo, and granddaughter 
Lettice. 

(V) Elisha Dean (2), son of Elisha, mar- 
ried Hannah Hall, of Norton, Mass., and their 
children, or among them, were : Alonzo, born 
Sept. 23, 1794; and Charles, born June 1, 
1796. 

(VI) Charles Dean, son of Elisha (2), born 
June 1, 1796, married Lydia (Wilbur) Dean, 
born Sept. 17, 1798, daughter of Zibeon and 
Lydia Wilbur, and widow of his brother, Alonzo 
Dean, who died in February, 1826. Charles 
Dean died June 28, 1869, his wife died Oct. 28, 
1875. One child, Hannah Hall Dean, was born 
June 3, 1826, by her marriage with Alonzo, 
and the following to Charles and Lydia Dean : 
Mary Elizabeth, born Aug. 11, 1830, mar- 
ried R. H. Williams, and she resides in Brock- 
ton, a widow; Elita Ann, born May 26, 1832, 
died unmarried. May 10, 1878; Martin Everett, 
born March 12, 1834, died March 14, 1836; 
Louise Caroline, born Nov. 22, 1835, married 



1258 



SOUTHEASTERN^ MASSACHUSETTS 



Hiram H. Pratt and died in Somerville, 
Mass.; f^dgar Everett, bora Dec. 17, 1837, is 
mentioned below; Lettice Arvilla, born Feb. 
22, 1841, married Clifford Belcher, and is now 
a widow, residing in Ciuiton, Mass.; Hannah 
Hall Dean married Jan. 23, 1853, Edmund 
Haskins, who was born Oct. 23, 1817; Mrs. 
Haskins died Jan. 15, 1874, and Mr. Haskins 
March 9, 1889. 

(VII) Edgar Everett Dean, son of Charles 
and Lydia (Wilbur) Dean, was born Dec. 17, 
1837, in Easton, Bristol Co., Mass., and there 
passed his early boyhood, attending the local 
schools until he reached the age of fourteen 
years. He then entered Bristol Academy, at 
Taunton, where he remained for three years, 
during which time he decided upon the medical 
profession as his life work. He therefore en- 
tered the office of Dr. Luther Clark, on Pinck- 
ney street, Boston, with whom he continued 
his studies while attending the medical .school 
of Harvard College, from which institution he 
was graduated in 1861. He commenced prac- 
tice in Boston, remaining there until he moved 
to North Bridgewater, now Brockton, where 
he made his permanent home. Dr. Dean com- 
manded a large practice, enjoying the pat- 
ronage of many of the best families of the 
iown, and the confidence and esteem which 
were his in such large measure are the best 
proof of his standing. In 1878, needing rest 
and a change, he went to Europe, where he 
improved his time in study in the best hos- 
pitals, taking a course at the celebrated Eo- 
tunda hospital, Dublin, from which he was 
graduated Aug. 10, 1878. Returning home 
lie again took up the practice of his profession, 
and continued in the same until his death. 

Dr. Dean was a man of strong convictions 
and had the courage to act upon them. He 
was a stanch Repuldican during the t'ivil war 
and the period immediately following, and 
when his old friend, Gen. Benjamin F. Butler, 
■went over to the Democrats he followed, and 
for some years was as active in the Democratic 
ranks as he had been in the Republican. In- 
deed, he was twice a candidate for Congress 
upon the Democratic ticket, being first nomi- 
nated Oct. 19, 1882, and on both occasions he 
received flattering support. During General 
Butler's administration as governor Dr. Dean 
was appointed a member of the State hoard of 
health, upon which he served for three years, 
doing good work in that capacity both as a 
physician and as an advocate of advanced 
scientific regulation of public health questions. 
In 1888 Dr. Dean returned to the Republican 



])arty, supporting General Harrison for the 
Presidency. 

In 1882 Dr. Dean was elected alderman 
from Ward One; in 1885 he was appointed 
a member of the health board by Mayor J. J. 
Whi])ple, and later, when the sewerage com- 
mission was formed, he was appointed a mem- 
ber thereof by Mayor W. L. Douglas, for a 
term of three years ; he had to resign before 
the close of the term, however, on account of 
ill health. Dr. Dean was a thirty-second 
degree Mason, belonging to Paul Revere Lodge, 
A. F. & A. M.; Satucket Chapter, R. A. M.; 
Brockton Council, R. & S. M. ; Bay State 
Commandery, K. T., of Brockton; Boston Con- 
sistbry ; and Aleppo Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. 
S., of Boston. 

On Jan. 17, 1866, Dr. Dean was married 
to Helen Amanda Packard, daughter of 
Charles James Fo.x and Adeline (Packard) 
Packard, and a descendant of one of the oldest 
and most prominent families of the old town of 
Bridgewater. She survived her husband, pass- 
ing away at her home in Brockton July 3, 
1903, in the sixty-second year of her age, the 
mother of three children, as follows: Marian 
Everett, who was the companion of her father 
and mother, resides in Brockton, uinnarried ; 
Charles Edgar, who is in business in Worcester, 
Mass., married Bertha 0. Miller; and Artlnir 
Packard, of Brockton, married Emma C. Hil- 
strum, and has one son, Edgar Packard, born 
Aug. 12, 1906. Dr. Dean and his wife were 
attendants of St. Paul's Episcopal Church. 

Mrs. Dean was descended from Revolutionary 
stock, and was a member of Deborah Sampson 
Chapter, D. A. R., of Brockton. She also be- 
longed to the Brockton Women's Club, taking 
an active part in both, as has her daughter, 
Miss Marian E. Dean. Mrs. Dean's maternal 
grandfather, Lemuel Packard, was a private 
in Capt. David Packard's company. Col. 
Eliphalet Carvs regiment, which marched on 
the alarm to Rhode Island July 22, 1780. Mrs. 
Dean was a Packard in both paternal and 
maternal lines. Her father, Charles James 
Fox Packard, came to North Bridgewater from 
Boston, where had gone earlier generations of 
the Bridgewater Packards. Her mother, Ade- 
line Packard, was born March 26, 1813, in 
North Bridgewater, daughter of Micah and 
Lucinda (Hartshorn) Packard, he a direct 
descendant of Samuel Packard, who came from 
Windham, near llingham, England, in the 
ship ''Diligence,'' of Ipswich, settling first at 
llingham, Mass., in 1638, thence moving to 
Bridgewater. now West Bridgewater, where he 
was constable and tavern-keeper; and to him 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1259 



•can be traced nearly all of the name in this 
country. From Samuel Packard Mrs. Dean's 
lineage on her mother's side is through Zac- 
<;heus and Sarah (Howard) Packard, David 
and Hannah (Ames) Packard, William and 
'Sarah (Richards) Packard, Lemuel and Sarah 
(Hunt) Packard, Micah and Lucinda (Hart- 
shorn) Packard, and Adeline Packard, who 
married Charles James Fox Packard. 

SAMUEL W. WILKINSON, treasurer of 
the Stafford Mills at Fall River, is a man who 
has reached his present position of trust and 
responsibility by high merit and tried ability 
and througli his own unaided efforts. He is a 
native of Reading. Middlesex Co., Mass., and a 
descendant of a family that has been long set- 
tled in the State of Maine. According to a 
family tradition the family originated in Nor- 
way, where its members were seafaring people. 
Later generations resided in England and from 
that country in 1616 came two brothers, Wil- 
liam and Thomas Wilkinson, )'oung men, who 
settled in the Bermudas, then owned by mem- 
bers of the English nobility, the brothers going 
there as representatives of the Earl of War- 
wick. Thomas Wilkinson later, in 1656, came 
to Virginia, and still later went to what is now 
Maine, and there the family has since been 
•continuously represented. 

Samuel Wilkinson, father of Samuel W., is 
a son of John Wilkinson, who was a farmer and 
resided at South Berwick, Maine, where he 
died. Samuel Wilkinson was born at South 
Berwick. He learned the trade of cabinet- 
maker at Hartford, Conn., and later located at 
Reading, Mass., where he resided until the 
death of his first wife. Removing thence to 
Fall River about 1858, he has since made this 
city his home, being active at his trade until 
1909, when he retired. He has been married 
three times. His first wife, who was the 
mother of Samuel W., was Lucy Ham, of 
Rochester, N. H., who died in 1857, leaving 
two children, Samuel W. and Lucy A., the lat- 
ter the wife of Charles A. Leach, of Jamaica 
Plain, Mass. The second wife of Samuel Wil- 
kinson was Emily Martin, of Littleton, Mass., 
who died in 1880. She was a mother to Sam- 
uel W. in every sense of that sacred word and 
he reveres her memory as only a loving son 
could. 

The birth of Samuel W. Wilkinson occurred 
Not. 24, 1854, at Reading, Mass., and he was 
three years of age when his mother died. He 
then made his home with his paternal grand- 
mother, at .South Berwick, remaining there un- 
til 1863, when, after his father's second mar- 



riage, he came to Fall River. He received his 
education in the public schools, leaving the 
iiigh school after one year's attendance, to go 
to work. His first employment was in the fur- 
niture store of Westgate, Baldwin & Waring, 
located on South Main street, where the Bon 
Ton millinery store in now situated. Later he 
was employed as a bookkeeper in the grocery 
store of Jeps(m & Bowler, on Pleasant street, 
at the corner of Ninth, and he remained there 
for four years, leaving to become associated 
with his father in the furniture and picture 
frame business on Fourth street. Continuing 
thus for two years, he then engaged in the 
undertaking business for himself, in the Troy 
building, on Pleasant street, where he was es- 
tablished nearly eight years. 

Mr. Wilkinson's first experience in the mill 
business was as bookkeeper for J. H. Estes & 
Bros., at what is now the Estes Mills, where 
he remained nearly eight years, until Jan. 1, 
1894, the date of his change to the Stafford 
Mills, as liead bookkeeper under the late Frank 
W. Brightman. He coptinued in that capac- 
ity, serving with marked credit and fidelity un- 
der Messrs. Brightman and Fred E. Waterman, 
treasurers, until May 19, 1909, when he was 
chosen to succeed Mr. Waterman as treasurer 
a few days after that gentleman's death. At 
the same time Mr. Wilkinson was chosen a di- 
rector of the Stafford Mills Corporation. The 
selection of Mr. Wilkin.son was made in recog- 
nition of faithful service and proved ability, for 
he has risen to his high standing alone and un- 
aided. His advance is somewhat notable as the 
first instance in years in which a vacancy in 
the treasurership of one of the local manufac- 
turing corporations has been filled by the pro- 
motion of the bookkeeper. It had become the 
custom rather to choose some man who had 
been successful at another mill and allow him 
to divide his time between the two, or to elect 
an out.sider. Thus his selection has an added 
significance. Mr. Wilkinson is a member of 
the Quequechan Club, of the Arkwright Club 
of Boston and of the Cotton Manufacturers' 
.Association of Fall River. He is a member of 
the corporation of both the Fall River Savings 
Bank and the Union Savings Bank. Politi- 
cally he is a Republican, fraternally one of the 
leading Odd Fellows in this section, holding 
mendicrship in Friendly Union Tiodge, No. 164, 
and Metacomet Encampment, No. 26 ; he is a 
past officer of both bodies and enjoys the un- 
usual distinction of having served his lodge as 
noble grand two terms in succession; he has 
served two terms, about ten years apart, as 
deputy grand master of tlie New Bedford dis- 



1260 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



trict, I. 0. 0. F. He and his wife are mem- 
bers of St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church. 
On Nov. 2.5. 1880, Mr. ^Yilkinson was mar- 
ried, in Fall Eiver, to M: Abbie Read, a native 
of that city, daughter of the late Ellery W. and 
Rebecca B. (Monroe) Read. They have no 
children. Mr. Wilkinson is one of the well- 
known citizens of Fall River. A man of uni- 
form courtesy and politeness, lie has a wide 
circle of friends and enjoys the confidence and 
esteem of all who know him. 

JOSEPH POISSON, who for many years 
was a well-known and successful merchant of 
New Bedford, is now living retired at his beau- 
tiful home on Mount Pleasant street. 

The Poisson family, of which Joseph Pois- 
son is a member, is one of the oldest among the 
French-speaking people of the Province of 
Quebec. His father, Neree Poisson, was a na- 
tive of Gentilly, Province of Quebec, Canada, 
where he was engaged in the wholesale grain, 
wood and hay business. He spent his life 
in his native town and raised a large 
family, all of whom have become successful 
business men and have reflected credit upon 
their parents' teaching by their high moral 
characters. The father died in Gentilly, and was 
buried there. He was a consistent member of 
the Catholic Church. He married Adelaide 
Jolibois, and his children were : Hector died at 
home ; Joseph is mentioned below ; Adolphe 
conducts the business of his father in Gentilly ; 
Phillipe runs a general store in Gentilly; Jean 
Baptiste is engaged in the wholesale grain, hay 
and lumber business at Gentilly: Alphonsine 
married Joseph Bourgois, who is engaged in 
the general grain business at Ste. Angele, Three 
Rivers, Quebec ; Gedeon is a member of the 
mercantile firm of G. & L. Poisson, New Bed- 
ford, Ludger being the other member of the 
firm ; Laurent is engaged in the real estate 
business in New Bedford. 

Joseph Poisson was born in Gentilly, in the 
Province of Quebec, Canada, Sept. 15, 1853. 
He received his education in his native town 
and worked with his father until the year 
1872, when at the age of nineteen years he 
left home. Crossing the Canadian border he 
came to Fall River, Mass., where he found em- 
ployment as clerk in the dry goods store of 
Sharon Brothers, with whom he stayed until he 
started in business for himself a few years 
later. He continued his business until i879, 
when he sold out and came to New Bedford, 
forming a partnership with Mr. D. A. Roy. 
Locating on Purchase street, near the "Parker 
House," they embarked in the dry goods busi- 
ness, which was a success from the very start. 



Mr. Roy withdrew from the firm in 1884 and 
Mr. Poisson continued alone, assisted by his 
brothers. He started a branch in South Water 
street, which has been conducted successfully 
by his brothers Gedeon and Ludger under the 
name of G. & L. Poisson. Later Mr. Poisson 
erected a block at No. 882 Purchase street,, 
where he moved his business and took in his 
brother Laurent as assistant. He established 
a branch store in the city of Lawrence, Mass., 
making his brother Laurent manager, and he 
conducted it for three years, when the business 
was sold out and all attention was given to the 
New Bedford establishment. In 1905 Mr. 
Poisson leased the present store, at Nos. 1056- 
1064 Acushnet avenue, which is one of the 
finest stores in that section of the city. Since 
his retirement his son has taken charge of the 
business, conducting it with the same success 
which his father experienced. Mr. Joseph 
Poisson owes his success in business to his keen 
insight and untiring energj'. Honorable deal- 
ing and strict attention to business brought 
him steady custom and he always was a shrewd, 
forceful man, exercising excellent judgment in 
all transactions. 

Mr. Poisson has always taken an interest in 
the city of his adoption and its various insti- 
tutions. He is a member of the Board of 
Trade of New Bedford, a director of the New 
Bedford Safe Deposit & Trust Company, and 
a trustee of the Five Cents Savings Bank of 
the city. Socially he is a member of the New 
Bedford Yacht Club. He is also a member of 
the New Bedford Zouaves and Franc Tireur, 
the latter a company of sharpshooters. He is 
a stanch Republican, but not a politician or in 
any sense an office seeker. In 1874 Mr. Pois- 
son built a fine home on Mount Pleasant street. 
New Bedford, which is one of the finest in that 
section of the city, and here he takes great 
pleasure in greeting and entertaining his many 
friends. He has a summer cottage at Matfa- 
poisett. He is fond of yachting and fishing 
and is an automobile enthusiast. He and his 
family are members of the Catholic Church. 

In August, 1881, Joseph Poisson was mar- 
ried to Emma Allaire, a native of Canada also, 
and they have one child. Alfred L., born Jan. 
30, 1883. He was educated in the public 
schools of New Bedford, and entered Harvard 
College, but was obliged to leave because of the 
poor health of his father, which necessitated 
his taking up his work. He left college in 
1902, and for the past nine years has been con- 
ducting the business established by his father 
with that same success which it has always en- 
joyed. He is a member of the New Bedford 
Yacht Club, and of the Dartmouth Club. He 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1261 



uianiod Olivine Phanauf, daughter of H. C. 
Phanauf, of Nashua, N. H., and they have two 
children, Robert Alfred and Joseph Richard. 

DAVID DIMJIICK NYE, late of the town 
<if Bourne, Barnstable county, was considered 
■one of the best citizens of that place, a faithful 
•official who had served the town well for over 
a quarter of a century and whose untimely 
<leath cast a gloom over the whole of Cape 
Cod and other sections where he was known. 
Mr. Nye was a native of Barnstable county, 
born in what is now the village of Catauniet, 
which was then a part of the town of Sand- 
wich, Nov. 29, 1833, son of Ebenezer and 
<'yrena (Dimniick) Nye and brother of the 
late William Foster Nye, of New Bedford, a 
full sketch of whom, with the family history, 
is given in these volumes. 

Mr. Nye attended district school in his na- 
ti\e town and there grew to manhood. He 
made a voyage on a whaling ship commanded 
liy his brother Ebenezer. Not caring for a sea- 
faiing life he located in New Bedford, where 
he was engaged in business for many years, 
after which he returned to his native home and 
took up farming as an occupation. This he 
made Iris principal business throughout the re- 
mainder of his life. He made his home in 
Cataumet, where he built a fine dwelling-house 
and barns and made other extensive improve- 
ments on his property. He was a stanch Re- 
publican and took a deep interest in public 
life, particularly in town affairs. In 1879 he 
was elected a member of the board of select- 
men ; was overseer of the poor and assessor of 
the town of Sandwich, which position he filled 
for five years. When the new town of Bourne 
was formed, in 1884, he was chosen selectman, 
and from that time until his death faithfully 
and successfully performed the duties of that 
office — for a period of twenty-si.x years — with 
that ability for which he was noted. He also 
filled the office of assessor and overseer of the 
poor for a like number of years. His deep 
concern for the welfare of the town and the 
people led him to do much to encourage its 
growth and progress. He was known from 
one end of the Cape to the other and was 
noted for his integrity of purpose and high 
moral character. As a public official he was 
honest to the core, discharging all the duties 
of his office with the highest efficiency. He 
was noted for his genial manner and unselfish- 
ness, his strict devotion to duty, and he was a 
true Christian in every sense of the word. For 
years a faithful and consistent member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church of Cataumet and 



Pocasset, he served as a trustee of the church 
for upwards of a third of a century, during 
much of the time as president of the board, 
and was for a long period of years recording 
secretary and treasurer of the church society. 
On Sept. 28, 1910, while crossing the railroad 
tracks at the Buzzard's Bay station, Mr. Nye 
being de^f did not hear the approaching train 
(from Hyannis on her way to Boston), which 
struck and instantly killed him. He was bur- 
ied in the cemetery at Cataumet. His sudden 
death cast a gloom over the town he had helped 
to make and to which he had given so much of 
his time and attention. Many high tributes 
were paid by friends and associates in the vari- 
ous walks of life, praising his sterling qualities 
of heart, his strict honesty and honorable acts. 
He was beloved by all. His home life was an 
ideal one and he was sincerely mourned in 
the circle of his friends as well as by his family. 

The following resolutions were passed at the 
annual town meeting of the citizens of Bourne: 

"The Citizens of Bourne in annual town 
meeting assembled realize the loss the com- 
munity has sustained in the death of David 
Dimmick Nye, and desiring to show their ap- 
preciation of his services as a faithful and ef- 
ficient official for a period of twenty-six years 
hereby offer this tribute in loving remem- 
brance. 

"David Dimmick Nye was born in Cataumet 
Nov. 29, 1833. son of Capt. Ebenezer and 
Cyrena (Dimmick) Nye. With the exception 
of a few j'ears' residence in New Bedford his 
life was spent in this community. Was mem- 
ber of board of selectmen since the incorpora- 
tion of the town of Bourne, 1884, coming to 
that position with the experience of five years' 
service in a like position in the town of Sand- 
wich. He was well qualified to direct the new 
organization. In all these years no personal 
business or social obligation would he allow to 
interfere with his faithful performance of the 
duty of the town official. Even as the sum- 
mons came his steps were bent toward the office 
and his mind probably intent upon the affairs 
of the little town he loved so well. 

"Death will find us sooner or later; 
On the deck or in the cot ; 
And we cannot meet it better 
Than by working out our lot. 

"In grateful recognition of his services the 
town places this tribute upon its records and 
directs its clerk to send copies to the family 
and the local newspaper. 

"Committee on resolutions, 
"George L. Atiiebton, 
"Benjamin F. Bodbne." 



1262 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mr. Nye was twice married. His first union, 
in 1862, was to Hannali T. Curtis, daugliter 
of Josiah and Sophia N. Curtis. She died in 
January, 1888, and he married (second) Oct. 
4, 1888, Esther F. Eaton, daughter of Freder- 
ick Eaton and widow of George H. Dennis. 
No children were born to this marriage. By 
her first union Mrs. Nye had three children : 
George F. Dennis, who resides in Sandwich, 
Mass.; Mary E., who married Dr. H. C. Che- 
ney, of Palmer, Mass. ; and Carolyn Irwin, who 
married John Lordan (she is a graduate of 
Emerson Hospital, Forest Hills, Mass., and fol- 
lows the profession of nurse). Mr. Nye 
adopted a son, David Willis Nye, who resides 
near the homestead ; he married Alma Phil- 
lips, and they have two children, Foster Pliil- 
lips and Margery. 

DWELLEY. The name Dwelley is not com- 
mon, which fact makes it plausible that the 
American family, descendants of Richard Dwel- 
ley of Lancaster, Hingham and Scitiiate, Mass., 
is of English stock. The surname Dwelley is 
a contraction of the ancient English or Nor- 
man family name DeWelle. The present Eng- 
lish branch bearing the coat of arms spell the 
name DeWell, DeWelle or DeWill. Hon. 
Jedediah Dwelley, a well known citizen and 
public man of Plymouth county, is a descend- 
ant in the seventh generation of Richard Dwel- 
ley. The generations in this line follow. 

(I) Richard Dwelley, the first of the name 
in New England, settled about 1654 in Hing- 
ham, Mass. In 1665 he settled in that part of 
Scituate north of the Hanover Four Corners 
which is now a part of the town of Norwell, 
on land now owned by Henry D. Smith. There 
he spent the remainder of his life, dying there 
in 1692. He was twice married, the second 
time to Elizabeth Simmons, and his children 
were: Richard, John, Samuel and Mary. 

(II) John Dwelley, son of Richard, born in 
that part of the town of Scituate now included 
in Norwell, spent his life there, engaged in 
farming. He married Rachel Buck, daughter 
of Cornet John Buck, and their children were 
born as follows: John, Jan. 15, 169.3; Rachel, 
Sept. 27, 1694; Ichabod, Dec. 30, 1695; 
Obadiah, Feb. 21, 1697; Jedediah, Sept. 16, 
1698; Abner, March. 1700; Simeon, December, 
1701; Deborah, Julv, 1703; Joseph, 1705; 
Thankfid, 1706; Mary, 1708; Benjamin, 1709; 
Susaima, 1711; Mercv, 1714; Lemuel, June, 
1717. 

(III) Jedediah Dwelley, son of John, was 
born on the farm in what was then Scituate, 
where he himself owned land and followed 



farming. He died April 16, 17:>8. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth House, daughter of Joseph 
House, (if Scituate, and they had a family of 
seven children, born as follows: Elizabeth, 
April 27, 1726; Deborah, Sept. 22, 1728; 
Susanna, March 20, 1730; Abner, March 6, 
1733; Joshua, July 20, 1735; Jedediah, March 
15, 1737; and Lot, baptized March 16, 1741. 

(IV) Joshua Dwelley, son of Jedediah, born 
on the farm in Scituate July 20, 1735, there 
grew to manliood. He lived for a time in the 
town of Hanover near the Woodward Hill, 
later moving to the house at the corner of 
Main and Union streets, in' the same town, 
which is still standing and now owned by 
Cliarles W. Briggs. Here Mr. Dwelley died 
March 15, 1787, and he was buried in the Cen- 
tral cemetery at Hanover. He was a soldier 
in the war of the Revolution. Joshua Dwel- 
ley married Avis Ramsdell, born in Hanover in 
March, 1741, daughter of Joseph Ramsdell. 
and she survived him many years, <lying 
March 19, 1831, at the ripe old age of ninety; 
she, too, is buried in the Central cemetery. 
Eight children were born to this union, as fol- 
lows : Deborah, born Oct. 18, 1762, who mar- 
ried April 13, 1786, Asel Whitney; Lemuel, 
born Nov. 7, 1764; Joshua, born Dec. 13, 1766; 
Jedediah, born Nov. 26, 1768, who died Nov. 
21, 1786; Avis, born Nov. 21, 1770, who died 
Aug. 26, 1786; Joseph, born Nov. 2, 1772, who 
settled in the State of Maine; Lucy, born Sept. 
18, 1775, who married Seth Rose; and Pris- 
cilla. born May 20, 1780, on what was known 
as the "dark day," who married John Stetson. 

(V) Lemuel Dwelley, son of Joshua, born in 
Hanover Nov. 7, 1764, grew to manhood in his 
native place and in that locality passed his 
entire life. He was an energetic and success- 
ful man, becoming a large landowner (having 
a tract of 150 acres) and being also a part 
owner and operator of what was known as the 
Curtis forge in Hanover. He died Oct. 29, 
1846, and was buried in the family cemetery. 
Lemuel Dwelley was twice married, the first 
time Nov. 5, 1796, to Jane Cushing, daughter 
of Col. David Cushing, who was a colonel in the 
war of the Revolution. She died Dec. 1, 1716, at 
the age of forty-four years, the mother of the 
following named children ; Lemuel, born June 
18, 1798; Jane R., Dec. 19. 1804; George R., 
Sept. 27, 1807 (died Nov. 18, 1827) ; Jedediah, 
1814 (died March 26, 1834). For his second 
wife Mr. Dwelley married, Dec. 18, 1818. Lucia 
Turner, daughter of Joseph Turner, and to this 
union were born two children : Joseph T., 
born Sept. 23, 1819, who died Oct. 8, 1836, 



SOUTHEASTKIJX MASSACHUSETTS 



12Gn; 



and Mary T., boni Nov. 10, If^'il, who manicd 
Joseph Briggs, Jr. 

(\'l) Lemuel Dwelley (v), i^on of Lenuiel, 
was born on tlie Imniustead June 18, 1798, and 
there he grew to manhood. He followed farm- 
ing, and also engaged in eattle droving for 
many years. He took an active part in the 
public affairs of his town, serving as selectman 
and in other offices, and was a respected citizen, 
known for his substantial worth and intelli- 
gence. He died April 1)!, 1870, and was bur- 
ied in the Central cemetery at Hanover. On 
April 21, 1827, Mr. Dwelley married Sarah J. 
Bailey, who was born in Hanover, daughter of 
Calvin and Sarah (Jacob) Bailey, and grand- 
daughter of Col. John Bailey and of Col. John 
Jacob, both of whom were men of distinction 
and served as colonels in the Revolutionary 
war. Mrs. Dwelley was a wonuin of many at- 
tainments. She died April 23, 1893, and was 
buried beside her husband. They had children 
as follows : George R., born Dec. 5, 1829 ; Ed- 
win B.. Jan. 2, 1831: Jedediah, Feb. 28, 1834; 
Sarah, March 6, 183t> (who married Joshua E. 
Bates, of Hanover, Mass.) ; and Charles H., 
Oct. 17, 1842 (who married Myra C. Cham- 
berlin). 

(VII) Jedediah Dwelley, born Feb. 28, 
1834, in the town of Hanover, was reared upon 
the home farm. He attended the public 
schools of the locality, but started to work at 
an early age, learning shoe cutting. He con- 
tinued to follow this line until he was thirty- 
six years old. From the age of twenty-five 
years Mr. Dwelley has been actively identified 
with the public affairs of his community. His 
first offices were those of selectman, assessor 
and overseer of the poor, which offices he filled 
for thirty years, during twenty-eight of which 
be was chairman of the board. In 186.5 he 
was a mend)er of tbe State Legi.«lature : in 
1872 he was elected to the State Senate, and 
w'as reelected to that body in 1873, serving two 
terms. In 186(5 he became associate county 
commissioner, serving as sucli for ten years, 
■until in 1876 he was elected county commis- 
sioner, in which capacity he was retained for 
a period of twenty-.'=even years, bis services to 
the county government thus covering a period 
of thirty-seven years, during which time he 
gave many years' service as chairman of the 
board of cotmty commissioners. He also served 
ten years as member of the school committee. 
He was for several years chairman of the 
board of managers of the Norfolk. Bristol and 
Plymouth County Union Truant School. 

On Feb. 2, 1862, Mr. Dwelley was married 
in Hanover, Mass., to Elizabeth A. Hollis, 



uhci was born in .March, 1844, daughter of 
Silas and Hannah H. (Dwelley) Hollis, and 
died May 11, 1902. She is buried in the 
Central cemetery at Hanover. Mr. and ilrs. 
Dwelley had one child, Josephine S., born 
Sept. 12, 1862, who is now the wife of Rev. 
Mc[\in S. Nash, State senator; they nuike 
their home with ilr. Dwelley. 

Ml-. Dwelley is a Ucpidiliian in political 
faith. 

JOHN LEONARD SLADE, one of the best 
known residents of Somerset, Mass., was a de- 
scendant of one of the oldest families of the 
southeastern part of the State. His line of 
descent from the pioneer progenitor is given 
in detail as follows: (I) William Slade, the 
first of the line in this country, is said to have 
been liom in Wales, (ireat Britain, the son of 
Kdward, of whom nothing seems to be known 
more than that he died. This family is said 
to liave come from Somersetshire, England, 
[irobably being of Wales only a short time. 
William a])])ears of record at New])ort, R. I., 
ill 16.')9, when admitted a freeman of the 
Colony. He became an early settler in the 
Shawomet Purchase or Shawomet Lands, which 
included that part of Swansea which later be- 
came the town of Somerset. Mr. Slade 
located in Swan.sea as early as 1680, the year of 
the beginning of the first record book, and 
the meetings of the [iroprietors were held at 
his house after their discontiimance at Ply- 
mouth, in 1677. Mr. Slade was a large land- 
holder, his po.ssessions including the ferry 
across Taunton river which took his name, 
Slade's ferry, and which remained in the 
family until the river was bridged in 1876, 
and it was last operated by William L. and 
Jonathan Slade. Mr. Slade married Sarah, 
daughter of Rev. Obadiah Holmes, of Reho- 
both. He died March 30. 1729, at sixty-seven 
years; Sarah, his widow, died Sept. 10, 1761, 
aged ninety-seven, and her descendants num- 
bered 435 at that time. Their children were: 
Mary, born in May, 1689; William, born in 
1692; Edward, born June 14, 1694; Elizabeth, 
born Dec. 2, 169."); Hannah, born July 15, 
1697; Martha, born Feb. 27, 1699; Sarah; 
Phehe, horn Sept. 25, 1701; Jonathan, born 
Aug. 3, 1703 (died aged about eighteen) ; 
Lydia, born Oct. 8, 1706. 

" (U) William Slade (2), son of William and 
Sarah (Holmes) Slade, born in 1692, married 
June 23, 1715, Hannah Mason, daughter of 
Benjamin and Ruth (Rounds) Mason and 
granddaughter of Sampson Mason, the ances- 
tor of all the Swansea family of that name. 



1264 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



Hannah Mason was born in Swansea May 11, 
1698. William Slade died Oct. 24, 1738, aged 
forty-six years. Children: Sarah, born Oct. 
7, 1718; William, Aug. 11, 1720; Benjamin, 
Oct. 19, 1721; Mary, April 8, 1723; Ruth, 
Oct. 13, 1724; Jonathan, June 1, 1728; Peleg, 
Dec. 8, 1729; Obadiah, Jan. 15, 1730-31; Ed- 
ward, June 15, 1732; John, in 1735; Charles, 
June 10, 1736-37. 

(III) Charles Slade, born June 10, 1736-37, 
died Nov. 13, 1826, aged ninety years. Hi? 
wife, Sarah, was born in 1740, and died April 
7, 1713, aged seventy-three years. Their chil- 
dren were : William ; (.Charles ; Alexander ; 
Gardner; Joseph; Ezra; Hannah; and John. 

(IV) John Slade, son of Charles and Sarah 
Slade, was born May 8, 1780, and died March 
24, 1838. He married Rachel Horton, daugh- 
ter of Daniel and Mary (Case) Horton, of 
Rehoboth, Mass., and they resided at the home- 
stead on Brayton Point road, in Somerset. 
Mrs. Slade died Sept. 11, 1863. Their chil- 
dren were as follows: Julia X. (deceased), 
who married David Brown and had four chil- 
dren, David Edwin (deceased). Julia Emily 
(deceased), Sarah Jane (married Frank Boyd) 
and Mary Adelaide (married Ashael Brown) ; 
Sarah Gardner, who died unmarried ; a son 
that died unnamed ; Mary Goff, deceased, who 
married Hiram Pierce; Angeline Martin, who 
died unmarried; Nancy Orris, deceased, who 
married Daniel Wilbur; and John Leonard. 

(V) John Leonard Slade, youngest son of 
John and Rachel (Horton) Slade, teacher and 
successful farmer, was born Jan. 29, 1826, and 
made his home on the farm in South Somerset 
on which he was born. The old house in 
which he was born was torn down several 
years ago, and a new house replaced it, in 
which he passed the remainder of his life, there 
passing away Feb. 17, 1910. When a young 
man he taught school in his own district, and 
in several other schools of the town, teaching 
winters and working on the farm in the sum- 
mers. Some are still living who attended 
school when he taught in the old red school- 
house on what is now called I^overs' Ijane, just 
south of the M. E. Church. This schoolhouse 
later became a dwelling house and was de- 
stroyed by fire several years ago. Mr. Slade 
was a very industrious and hardworking man 
and achieved success on his farm. He was of 
a genial disposition and was one of the most 
highly respected men of Somerset. Always 
well informed on the events of the dav, he was 
never lacking in topics for conversation. He 
loved music and specially enjoyed listening to 
the old songs which he sang in his youth. For 



many years he was a trustee of the South Som- 
erset M. E. Church and was always interested 
in its welfare. 

In August, 1851, Mr. Slade married Eleanor 
Hall Chace, daughter of Nathan and Ellen 
(Hall) Chace. Nathan Chace was a son of 
Obadiah and Eunice Chace and first cousin of 
Rev. Obadiah Chace, of Somerset. To John 
Leonard and Eleanor Hall (Chace) Slade was 
born one daughter, Ella Frances, Sept. 13, 
1853, who on Oct. 15, 1884, married Elisha 
Anthony, of Somerset, son of Henry and Bet- 
sey (Moson) Anthony. Mr. Slade married 
(second) Sept. 17, 1884, Prudence Mason 
Barker, who survives him. 

LEONARD (Fall River family). It has 
been said that the Leonards, with a branch of 
which this article deals, are of the family of 
Lennard, Lord Dacre, one of the most distin- 
guished families of the nobility in the United 
Kingdom, and descended in two lines from 
Edward III., through two of his sons, John of 
Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, and Thomas, Duke 
of Gloucester. 

The immediate ancestor of the Leonard 
brothers, James and Henrv, who and their pos- 
terity have had so much to do with the iron 
works of this country, was Thomas Leonard of 
Pontypool, Wales, a place celebrated for its 
working of iron at an early date. The first 
permanent iron industrj- in America it is said 
was established at Lynn on the Saugus river in 
1643 by John Winthrop, Jr., who went back 
to England to get a company of workmen to 
conduct them, among whom came James and 
Henry Leonard. In 1646 another iron works 
was established at Braintree, to which • the 
Leonards were transferred. In 1652 they 
started, however, independently, as ironmas- 
ters ; in October of that year an agreement was 
made between Taunton and Henry Leonard 
by which Henry and James Leonard and Ralph 
Russell were to come thither and set up in con- 
nection with certain inhabitants a bloomery 
works on the Two Mile river. Suffice it to say 
that the Leonards came and set up their works, 
and not only furnished an industry which later 
spread over a large part of this section, but 
planted a family which has since been promi- 
nent in all walks of life. James Leonard re- 
mained in Taunton, that part that later be- 
came Raynham. Henry Leonard returned to 
Lynn for a time, but in 1668, with his sons 
Nathaniel. Thomas and Samuel, went to Row- 
ley and started works in which the father in- 
stalled his sons as managers. Next he estab- 
lished iron works at Canton, but in 1676 moved 





-^ ^, ^ 




SOUTHEASTER^T MASSACHUSETTS 



1265 



to ZS'ow Jersey, auJ set up iron works from 
which ha\e since spread all the great iron in- 
dustries of New Jersey. Later two of the sons 
he had left at Rowley joined him in New Jer- 
sey, while a third son, Thomas Leonard, lo- 
cated in the State of N'irginia, and planted the 
iron industry there. 

James Leonard was the progenitor of the 
Leonards of Taunton, Raynhani and Xortou, 
with one braneii of which this article is to 
deal — with some of the descendants of Job 
Leonard, whose son, the late Hon. Job M. 
Leonard, of Somerset and Fall River, had so 
long been prominently identified with the ex- 
tensive iron works of that section, in which 
and other undertakings he had been so success- 
ful. James and ids sons often traded with the 
Indians, and were on such terms of friendship 
with them that, when the war broke out. King 
Philip gave strict orders to his men never to 
hurt the Leoiiards. Philip resided, in winter, 
at Mount Hope ; but his summer residence w'as 
at Rayniiam, about one mile from the Leonard 
forge. Thomas Leonard, one of the sons of 
James, was a distinguished character; was 
physician, major, justice of the peace, town 
clerk. and deacon; and also judge of the court 
of Common Pleas, 1702-13. Maj. George 
Leonard, son of Thomas and grandson of 
James, removed about 1690 to Norton, at the 
time a part of Taunton, where he became the 
proprietor of very large tracts of land ; and, 
as it were, founder of tliat town, and the pro- 
genitor of the Norton family. Here this fam- 
ily, as the possessors of great wealth and of 
the largest estate, probably, of any in New 
England, have lived for upward of two cen- 
turies. Major Leonard was judge of the court 
of Common Pleas in 1716. His eldest son, 
George, was a colonel and judge. One of the 
grandsons of Maj. George, and George Leon- 
ard by name, was a graduate of Harvard, and 
a lawyer by profession ; was a representative in 
the first Congress of the L'nited States under 
the Constitution, et cetera. 

And so we might go on, giving many, many 
other distinguished sons of what was original 
Taunton of the Leonard name, the descendants 
of James Leonard, but we must hasten on. 
Samuel Leonard, of the third generation from 
James, through his son Thomas, was a man 
of distinguished piety ; was a deacon, captain 
and a justice of the peace. Two of his sons 
were captains, one a justice of tiie peace, and 
all of them deacons. One of the sons. Deacon 
Elijah Leonard, resided in Raynham. near the 
•old forge. Stejihen Leonard, of the third gen- 
«ration, son of James, and grandson of the 

80 



first James, was a justice of the peace and a 
judge of the court of Common Pleas, as was 
his oldest son, Maj. Zephaniah Leonard, who 
was a man of enterprise and energy, and filled 
with honor the distinguished station in society 
whicli he attained. His son. Col. Zephaniah, 
a graduate of Harvard, married Abigail Alden, 
a descendant of John Alden, the Pilgrim. 
Colonel Leonard was sherifC of Bristol county, 
in which office he was succeeded by his son 
Horatio, the two filling that otiit-e for upwards 
of seventy years. Abigail Leonard, sister of 
Col. Zephaniah, married Josiah Crocker, son 
of Rev. Josiah of Taunton, and ' was the 
mother of the late William and Samuel Crock- 
er of Taunton. 

Through the Raynham branch of this ancient 
and distinguished Leonard family came the 
Somerset-Fall River line of Leonards, who have 
given character through perhaps five genera- 
tions to the great iron industry of this section, 
which, however, terminated through the recent 
death of the late Job M. Leonard, alluded to in 
the foregoing. Russell Leonard, Samuel, Job 
and Job M. Leonard and the latter's son, the 
late Henry B. Leonard, respectively, in direct 
line have been engaged in the iron industry. 
Of these. Job Leonard carried on operations 
only partly and periodically, the rest of the 
time being engaged in farming pursuits. By 
the irony of fate he was blessed with twenty 
children, ten of whom were sons, to one of 
whom. Job M., it seems to have been left to es- 
pecially distinguish himself in the old family 
vocation of iron working and he became one of 
the wealthy men of his day. 

Job M. Leonard was born Sept. 1, 1823, in 
Rayniiam, where until sixteen years of age he 
assisted in the work of his father's farm, re- 
ceiving in the meantime a common school 
education. Going to Boston at the age named he 
began a business career as clerk in a hardware 
store, becoming acquainted with the business. 
In 1844 he engaged in this same busi- 
ness for himself, but the mere selling of hard- 
ware did not seem to satisfy him, he having 
seemingly the old traditional yearning for the 
iron industry. In 1850 he started the East 
Bridgewater Iron Works, which he carried on 
for some half dozen years with success. He 
then turned his attention to the development 
of iron works at Somerset. Here, on the point 
of the town just named, at its south end, he 
set up a factory for the rolling of iron plate 
and the cutting of nails, under the name of the 
Mount Hope Iron Company. This plant he 
sold in 1S6S to the Parker stills Company, and 
tiiiilt a new one a short distance up the shore, 



1266 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



where h^ engaged in similar lines. Some half 
dozen years later he purchased the Parker 
Mills and for a number of years carried on 
both plants. One of these he in time closed 
and eventually dismantled it. Both plants 
were designed for rolling iron plate for the 
manufacture of nails. For many years all of 
the plate used in the great Field tack factories 
of Taunton was rolled at Somerset. 

When the changing times brought into use 
cut nails Mr. Leonard declined to adapt his 
plant to the making of the new nails and con- 
tinued the old form, and perhaps this was the 
last with a single exception of the great iron 
nail factories of the East. During the palmy 
days each of the Leonard factories employed 
from 200 to 250 hands, with possibly an aver- 
age payroll of some $300 per day, and turned 
out from 500 to 600 kegs of nails per day. 

Mr. Leonard maintained in connection with 
his works an extensive carpenter shop, a coop- 
erage and a well-equipped machine shop and 
foundry. 

As noted above, the Leonard name and the 
iron industry of the section had been insepara- 
ble for 200 and more years, but there was soon 
to come a time wlien it was to cease to be. 
Himself in advanced life and Henry B. Leon- 
ard — his only son and late assistant and busi- 
ness associate — having died, and the latter's 
only son, Mr. Eussell Leonard, not having a 
taste for the industry, preferring ether lines of 
business, the continuance of the iron works in 
this section with the Leonards seemed to be at 
an end. This condition apparently saddened 
the aged ironmaster, and, being so forceful a 
character and full of sentiment, he preferred 
rather than to see the old plants carried on in 
the name of another that they be dismantled, 
tliat these plants that his genius and energy 
built and fostered, through fifty and more 
years, be destroyed. He died at his home in 
Fall River, May 7, 1905, and was buried at 
Taunton. 

Mr. Leonard was for a number of terms a 
representative from his town in the General 
Assembly of Massachusetts. 

In 1848 Job M. Leonard married Caroline, 
daughter . of the late Albert and Abigail 
(Hewins) Field, founder of the great tack 
works at Taunton, and whom Mr. Leonard 
survived several years, she dying Oct. 5, 1900, 
in her seventy-second year. Tlieir marriage 
was blessed with two children, both born in 
Taunton, namely: (1) Henry B., who was as- 
sociated in Inisiness with his father as previ- 
ously noted, died in Somerset Feb. 26, 1904. 
He married March 9, 1875, Annie A. Hood, 



daughter of William P. Hood of that town, 
and they had five children : Ralph Emerson, 
born Dec. 9, 1875, who died Aug. 8, 1894 •, 
Ethel B., born Dec. 10, 1877, who married 
June 15, 1898, Raymond S. Case, of Union- 
ville. Conn. ; Gertrude F., born July 12, 1880, 
Mrs. Gledhill, of Portland, Maine ; May Ade- 
laide, born May 1, 1883, Mrs. George Chap- 
man, of Springfield, Mass. ; and Russell Henry, 
born Oct. 4, 1888, who graduated from Har- 
vard in 1910, and married Sept. 19, 1911, 
Helen Elizabeth Case. (2) Carrie Field mar- 
ried William A. Dassance and they reside at 
No. 80 Underwood street. Fall River, the par- 
ents of two children : Leonard Field, who grad- 
uated from Fall River high school in 1908 ; and 
Ruth Carleton. 

GEORGE CHURCHILL, president of the 
Churchill & Alden Company, of Brockton, one 
of the extensive and best known shoe manu- 
facturing firms of this Commonwealth, and 
of which he was one of the founders, is one 
of that city's prominent and influential citi- 
zens — a man who has shown marked fitness 
for the conduct of business, which in com- 
paratively few years has brought him abundant 
prosperity and established for him the repu- 
tation of being a successful business man, and 
as well an honored citizen of the community 
in which he has attained his success. Mr, 
Churchill was born March 9, 1841, in West 
Bridgewater, Mass., youngest son of the late 
Deacon Charles and Dorcas Pratt (Hawes) 
Churchill and a descendant of historic New 
England ancestry. 

The family of Churchill across the water 
is one ancient and honorable. The name is 
found in English records as Courcil, Courcelle, 
Curichille, Churchill, etc., the last manner of 
spelling, however, being the accepted form for 
many generations. The origin of the name 
came about in this wise: A township in France 
called Courcil now Courcelles, in Lorraine, was 
given as a manor to Wandrill De Leon, son 
of Gitto De Leon, of a noble family, and 
himself a famous soldier as early as 1055 A. D. 
He had two sons, Richard and Wandrill. The 
first became the feudal lord of Montalban, 
married Yoland, Countess of Liuxemburg, and 
from them descended the noble house of De 
Leon in France, at the present day. 

Wandrill De Leon took the name of his 
manor, and became Lord of Courcil. He mar- 
ried Isabella De Tuya, and had two sons, 
Roger and Rowland de Courcil, and thus be- 
came the founder of the Courcil (Churchill) 
family. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1267 



Roger de Courcil followed William, Duke of 
Normandy, knowii as William the Conqueror, 
into England in 1066 A. D., and when Wil- 
liam became king received for his services 
lands in the Counties of Dorset, Somerset, 
Wilts, and Salop (Shropshire). 

The American branch of the Churchill 
family here considered is one of long standing 
in the Old Colony, and has been continuous in 
that section to the present time, representative 
of honorable manhood and womanhood and 
useful citizenship. There follows in chrono- 
logical order from the immigrant the Churchill 
lineage and family history of the Brockton 
family alluded to in the foregoing. 

(I) John Churchill, the immigrant ancestor 
of the Plymouth branch of the family in Amer- 
ica, was a native of England and first ap- 
peared at Plvmouth in New England in 1643. 
Here at Plvmouth, Mass., Dec. 18, 1644, he 
married Hannah Pontus; bought a farm in 
1645 ; was admitted a freeman in 1651 ; in 
subsequent deeds he is called "planter." Mr. 
Churchill settled at Hobb's Hole, where he 
lived and died, his death occurring Jan. 1, 
1662-63. His estate fell into the hands of his 
son Eliczer. He had acquired, by grant or 
purchase, quite a large landed property. His 
wife Hannah was the daughter of William 
Pontus, who was at Plymouth as early as 1623, 
and was born in Holland or England. William 
Pontus was a citizen of some prominence and 
influence in the Colony; and a member of the 
Court, 1636-38, inclusive. The children of 
John and Hannah (Pontus) were: Joseph, 
Hannah, Eliezer, Marj-, William and John. 

(II) Eliezer Churchill, born April 20, 1652, 
in Plymouth, married (first) Mary, and (sec- 
ond) "Feb. 8, 1688, Marv Dotv, daughter of 
Edward and Faith (Clarke) Doty. She died 
Dec. 11, 1715, aged sixty years. Mr. Churchill 
was admitted a freeman at Plymouth in 1683. 
He lived at Hobb's Hole, upon a part of the 
original estate of his father, having come into 
possession of the first house built by him. He 
died about 1716. The children born to the 
first marriage were : Hannah, Joanna, Abigail, 
Eliezer. Stephen and Jedediah ; and those born 
to the second marriage were: Mary, Elkanah, 
Nathaniel, Josiah and John. 

(III) Eliezer Churchill (2), born Feb. 23, 
1682, in Plymouth, was a farmer there, where 
he died Sept. 21, 1754. After his death the 
remainder of the original land was divided 
between his .sons Jonathan and Eliezer (3), the 
latter receiving what later was the Edwin Mor- 
ton estate. He married Hannah Bartlett, bom 
in 1691, died Sept. 19, 1757, daughter of Robert 



Bartlett. Their children, all born in Ply- 
mouth, were: Anson, Eliezer, Josiah and 
Jonathan. 

(IV) Eliezer Churchill (3), born Feb. 26, 
1713-14, in Plymouth, married Oct. 19, 1738, 
Sarah Harlow, born in 1715, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Mercy Harlow. Mr. Churchill sold 
in 1717 his share of the estate, inherited from 
his father, and in later years the old house 
was converted into the shop used by L. & E. 
Morton. To Eliezer and Sarah (Harlow) 
Churchill were born children as follows : Han- 
nah, Hannah (2), Sarah, Mercy, Eliezer, 
James, Asa, Sylvanus, Sarah (2), Josiah and. 
Phebe. 

(V) Lieut. Eliezer Churchill (4), born Oct. 
31, 1744, in Plymouth, married (first) Sept. 
27, 1764, Mrs. Jane (Sylvester) Rider, and 
(second) Feb. 12, 1776, Abigail Bartlett. Mr. 
Churchill was a shoemaker by occupation and 
resided in Bridgewater and Abington. His 
children were: Eliezer, Charles and Deborah 
(all born to the first wife) ; and Jane (born 
to the second). Eliezer Church (4) saw serv- 
ice in the Revolution, being a lieutenant in the 
navy, and was taken prisoner by the British, 
later being exchanged at the port of Halifax, 
bv Governor-General Collier, June 28, 1777. 

" (VI) Eliezer Churchill (5), born in 1766, 
was a custom shoemaker, doing all the work 
on shoes by hand, machines for that purpose 
not then being in use. On Jan. 27, 1788, he 
married Lucy Otis, of Scituate, born Jan. 27, 
1769. They lived in West Bridgewater, Mass., 
where Mr. Churchill died suddenly in Decem- 
ber, 1818. Their children, all born in West 
Bridgewater, were : Sophia, Charles, Mary Otis, 
Deborah, Lucy, Jerusha, Harriet, Deborah (2), 
Hannah Otis, Rhoda V. and Jane. 

(VII) Deacon Charles Churchill, born Aug. 
17, 1791, in West Bridgewater, Mass., married 
July 28, 1814, Dorcas Pratt Hawes, of Wey- 
mouth, Mass., who was born Dec. 12, 1795. 
They lived in Weymouth for a time, later re- 
moving to West Bridgewater, Mass. Their chil- 
dren, the eldest two born in Weymouth, and 
the others in West Bridgewater, were as fol- 
lows: Lucy, born A^ril 19, 1816, married 
Franklin Keith, of East Bridgewater, where 
she died ; Lydia, born Dec. 13, 1818, married 
Joshua T. Ryder, of West Bridgewater, and 
died in East Bridgewater; Harriet, born Nov. 
14, 1820, married Lucius Alden, of Bridge- 
water, and died in East Bridgewater; Charles, 
born Jan. 23, 1823, died in infancy; Charles 
Edward, born June 1, 1824, was a shoe cutter 
by trade, and during the Civil war served as 
a captain in a Massachusetts regiment at Rich- 



1268 



SOUTHEASTER NT MASSACHUSETTS 



mond, Va., and died in West Bridgewater in 
1901 (he married Lucy T. Howard) ; Eliza- 
beth, born June 2, 1827, married Peter Daltoii, 
of North Bridgewater, and died in Brockton ; 
Mary Porter, born June 9, 1831, married James 
S. Allen, of East Bridgewater, where she died 
in 1870; Dorcas Ann, born Feb. 11, 1834, mar- 
ried George L. Dunbar, of East Bridgewater, 
and died there in 1890; Rodney, born May 13, 
1837, a shoe cutter by trade, married Hannah 
G. Reed, and died in East Bridgewater in 
1904; Newton, born April 13, 1839, married 
Martha Fay, was a linen importer in New 
York, and died in Boston in 1902; and George, 
born March 9, 1841, is mentioned below. 

Deacon Charles Churchill was a shoe cutter 
by trade, and was recognized as a fine mecha-nic. 
He operated a shop of his own, where he was 
engaged in the manufacture of shoes, and when 
not thus employed followed his trade in the 
various shops of the neighborhood. Being a 
very conscientioiis and painstaking workman, 
he was frequently called upon to do cutting, 
especially of fine calfskins, by the other shoe- 
makers of the community. Of an industrious 
nature, and possessing a genial and kindly 
manner, he commanded and enjoyed the respect 
and esteem of the entire community. In his 
political faith he was first an old-line Whig, 
and later a Republican. Both he and his wife 
•were devout Christians, early in life becoming 
members of the Congregational Chiirch, and in 
1826, upon the organization of the society 
styled "The Union Trinitarian Society of East 
and West Bridgewater,'' both became members, 
Mr. Churchill being one of the nine original 
petitioners who applied for authority to organ- 
ize the society. In October, 1839, he was 
chosen deacon of the society, and continued 
faithfully to serve in that capacity until his 
death, which occurred in West Bridgewater 
Aug. 6, 1864, when he was aged seventy-three 
years. He was survived by his wife, who at the 
time of her death in Brockton, in 1888, was 
the last of the original members of the society 
in which she had been a faithful and con- 
scientious worker. 

(VIII) George Churchill, youngest child of 
Deacon Charles and Dorcas Pratt (Hawes) 
Churchill, was born March 9, 1841, in West 
Bridgewater, Mass., and in the district schools 
of his native town acquired his education. Be- 
ing one of a large family of children, and his 
father in poor health, young Churchill was 
but fourteen years old when he left school and 
began earning his own way by pegging shoes 
for his brother-in-law, James S. Allen, in East 
Bridgewater, for which services he received 



fourteen cents per day. After remaining with 
Mr. Allen some time he returned home and 
worked in his father's .shop, where he was soon 
able to make six pairs of boys' shoes complete 
per day. Here he remained about two years, 
and then entered the shop of the late Charles 
Edward Howard, in West Bridgewater, where 
he was employed in the stitching department, 
of which he was soon made foreman. During 
his first year's service he received ten cents 
per hour, the second twelve and a half, and 
the third fifteen. He continued as foreman in 
this shop until he was twenty-one years old, 
when he located in North Bridgewater, now 
Brockton, and entered the shoe factory of the 
late Martin L. Keith, in whose employ he 
remained about two years, or until he enlisted 
for service in the Union army, during the 
Civil war. In July, 1864, upon the call of 
the governor of the State for four thousand 
men to do garrison duty in the forts in and 
around Washington, Mr. Churchill responded, 
enlisting for one hundred days, and was mus- 
tered into service July 14, 1864, in Capt. Uriah 
Macoy's company. This company was later 
located in Indianapolis, Ind., and, although 
not actively engaged in any battles, did valu- 
able service on guard duty. Mr. Churchill was 
mustered out Nov. 30, 1864, and on his return 
to North Bridgewater engaged in the shoddy 
business for a short time, after which he en- 
tered the stitching room of the late Gardner 
J. Kingman's shoe factory, where he remained 
about a year and a half. He then purchased 
and conducted for some time the shoe finishing 
business, with steam power, of the late Daniel 
Noyes Keith. In 1878, in company with the 
late William E. Whitman and the late Lucius 
F. Alden, under the firm name of Whitman, 
Churchill & Alden, he engaged in the manufac- 
ture of shoes in Campello. At the expiration 
of five years Mr. Whitman retired from the 
business, his interest being purchased by his 
partners. The firm then became Churchill & 
Alden, and in 1889, the business having out- 
grown their factory accommodations, they pur- 
chased the large plant on Main street known 
as the Copeland factory, to which they have 
since made several additions and many im- 
provements, making it one of the most modern 
and up-to-date plants in the city. This enter- 
prising and progressive firm invented and holds 
the patents on the well known "Ralston Health 
Shoe," which has an extensive sale throughout 
the country, and which shoe the firm has been 
manufacturing since 1899. In 1900 Frank S. 
Farnuin and Sto]ihen B. Alden became mem- 
bers of the firm, and in 1903 the business was 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1269 



incorporatetl under tho laws of Massachusetts 
as the Churchill & Alden Company, with the 
following ofhcers: (iei)ri;e Churchill, jiresi- 
dent ; Lucius F. Alden, vice president ; Stephen 
B. Alden, treasurer; and Frank S. Farnuni, 
secretary. Mr. Lucius F. Alden died in Brock- 
ton Dec. 28, 1903, in the sixtieth year of his 
age, his son, Stephen B. Alden, treasurer of 
the concern, taking his place in the corpora- 
tion. The company give employment to sev- 
eral hundred hands, and their shoes, which have 
attained an excellent reputation for quality, 
style and durability, have met with a steady 
and increasing demand. 

Mr. Churchill has long been identified with 
the financial interests of Brockton, having 
served as a director of the Home National 
Bank for a number of years, and he is also an 
incorporator of the Brockton Savings Bank. 
He has been a prominent member of the Brock- 
ton Shoe Manufacturers' Association since it 
was formed; and is also a valued member of 
the Commercial Club, which numbers among 
its membership the leading business and pro- 
fessional men c^f the city. Politically he is a 
stanch believer in Republican principles, and 
upon the inauguration of the first municipal 
government of the city of Brockton in 1882 
he represented Ward Three in the board 
of aldermen. In religious faith he is a Con- 
gregationalist, and is an active and prominent 
member of the South Congregational Church 
of Campello. 

Mr. Churchill has been twice married. His 
first wife was Harriet A. Hayward, daughter 
of Otho Hayward (born April 3, 17'J6, mar- 
ried in 1824) and Rowena (born Aug. !). 1800, 
daughter of Galen Howard and gramldaughter 
of Jonathan Howard). Mrs. Churchill de- 
scended from (I) Thomas Hayward, who came 
from England and settled at Duxbury before 
1638, and became one of the original pro- 
prietors and first settlers of Bridgewater ; 
through (II) Deacon Joseph Havward, whose 
third wife was Hannah Mitchell : (III ) Thtmias 
Hayward, who married Bethiah Waldo; (IV) 
Edmund Hayward, who married Anna Snell; 
(V) Waldo Hayward, who married Lucy Bart- 
lett, and their son (VI) Otho, born in 1796. 
Mrs. Churchill, who was an active member of 
the South Congregational Church, passed away 
in Brockton Oct. 24, 1905. She was the mother 
of two daughters: Cornelia Augusta, who mar- 
ried Frank E. L. Gurney, iu.structor in Latin, 
astronomy and algebra in the State normal 
school at Bridgewater, and had one son, Stud- 
ley Churchill, who died in infancy ; and Mary 
Porter, who married Frank S. Farnum, sec- 



retary of the Churchill & Alden ('ompany, and 
has two daughters, Meredith Churchill and. 
Elizabeth Farnum. On Sept. 30, 1909, Mr. 
Churchill married (second) Mrs. Mary A. 
(Allen) Humphrey, of Brockton, where for a 
number of years she was principal of the Grove 
school, and where she has been prominent in 
the educational and social life of the city. 

As a business man and citizen Mr. Churchill's 
uniform courtesy, democratic manners and per- 
sonal integrity are well established, and beyond 
the circle of his commercial life he is a valu- 
able and active factor in the community. He 
is a shrewd, farseeing business man, and his 
usefulness as a citizen extends outside his busi- 
ness sphere into channels of beneficence, al- 
though his acts of charity are seldom known 
except to the recipients. His sterling qualities 
have won him the respect of the entire com- 
munity. 

WETHERELL (Fall River family). The 
name and family of Wetherell is one early in 
what was ancient Taunton, the family becom- 
ing quite numerous in that part of Taunton 
that later became the town of Norton. The 
Taunton settler, William Wetherell, was there 
as early as 1643, and, says tradition, he came as 
a cabin boy. Savage thought him possibly a 
nephew of Rev. William Wetherell, M. A., of 
Maitlstone, England, schoolmaster, who came to 
this country in the spring of 1634-35. He 
graduated from Corpus Christi College, Cam- 
bridge, in 1619, and settled at Charlestown, 
where he taught the grammar school. He lived 
later at Cambridge and in 1644 became pastor 
of the church at Scituate and continued in it 
until the time of his death. 

Of the Taunton William Wetherell it is 
written : "Large as was the territory of Taun- 
ton, it had settlers in its almost every part. 
Winneconnet Pond on the north had its attrac- 
tions, and William \\'ethereirs name has come 
ilciwn through many generations as the lionored 
ancestor of numerous descendants and the first 
l)crmanent settler on the easterly side of the 
pond, in that part of Cohannet purchase. This 
was in 1669. He was a man of some impor- 
tance in town affairs, served as constable in 
1662 and 1676; was deputy in 1671 and 1685, 
and one of the selectmen in 1685. Living on 
the main road from Taunton to Boston, he 
sometimes entertained travellers. According 
to an old deed in possession of one of his de- 
scendants, he was eldest sergeant in Capt. 
Gorham's company in the great Xarragansett 
S\vampfitt." This William Wotherell's son 
William lived at the place where his father is. 



1370 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



supposed to have first "pitched" his habitation 
within the limits of Norton, of which town he 
was the first settler. From the first William 
through his son William descended a line of 
William Wetherells down to perhaps the pres- 
ent time. Another line of this family came 
through John Wetherell, son of the first Wil- 
liam, through John's son John. John, the 
elder, settled at the place in comparatively 
recent years known as the Thomas Copeland 
estate. He was an original member of the 
Notion church, one of the first board of select- 
men, and one of the leading men of the town. 
His son John, who was horn Oct. 8, 1688, is 
said to have been the first child born within 
the limits of Norton. Jeremiah Wetherell, son 
of William and grandson of the first William, 
lived for a time in the east part of the town, 
and afterwards moved to Taunton. 

It is from the foregoing source came the 
Taunton-Fall River Wetherells, the head of the 
special familv here considered being the late 
Thomas Wetherell of Taunton, whose son Orin 
Bradford Wetherell has for so many years been 
one of the leading manufacturers of Fall Eiver 
and one of its suisstantial citizens. 

Orin Bradford Wetherell. son of Thomas 
and Caroline (Smith) Wetherell (the latter 
the daughter of AVilliam Smitli, of Taunton), 
was born Feb. 14, 1830, in Taunton, 
Mass. After his school days were over he 
learned the shoemaking trade, mastering it and 
becoming an expert in the business. An am- 
bitious man, be saw, in the early fifties, an 
opportunity he thought to better his condi- 
tion, and going to Stougliton, Mass., lie tliere 
entered the employ of Martin Wales, a leading 
shoe manufacturer of tiiat place. Some years 
later from tliat point, the time in his life began 
which led to the great success he attained, this 
occurring in the year 18.58, when a proposition 
came to him from his brother, Daniel Weth- 
erell. for their association in an enterprise 
which involved a pronounced change from that 
he had been following. Among the many 
problems unmastered in the early days of cot- 
ton manufacturing at Fall River, the now 
great cotton manufacturing point of New Eng- 
land, was the serious one of providing a cover- 
ing for the top rolls used in spinning, that 
would produce results commensurate with the 
needs of yarn making. Various expedients 
were made iise of without the real difficulty 
being surmounted. At this juncture, word 
came to Fall River that his uncle, Daniel H. 
Wetherell, who was c(uinected with the Hope- 
well mill at Taunton, was an expert in the mat- 
ter which was perplexing Fall Eiver manufac- 



turers, and he was solicited to come thither by 
the agent of the Metacomet Manufacturing 
Company to apply his knowledge to the cover- 
ing of rolls, on the promise of a lucrative trade. 
By this act Daniel H. Wetherell became the 
first maker of roller coverings in Fall Eiver, 
and perhaps in the country, and laid the foun- 
dation of an industry witli which the family 
name has ever since been associated. From 
Mr. Wetherell's designs and ideas almost all 
of the machinery now used in roller establish- 
ments has been made. In time assistance be- 
came necessary, and a nephew, another Daniel 
Wetherell, came to Fall Eiver for that purpose, 
and lie. in time becoming proficient, on the 
death of the uncle succeeded him in the busi- 
ness. The latter's growth was coincident with 
the development of cotton manufacturing here. 
The time had now arrived when the younger 
Daniel Wetherell needed assistance and it was 
at this period when Mr. Orin Bradford Weth- 
erell, as alluded to in the foregoing, became 
associated with his brother, Daniel, in a part- 
nership in tiie business, the style of firm be- 
coming D. & 0. B. Wetherell, the junior mem- 
ber removing to Fall River, which has ever 
since been his home and field of labor. Here, 
for fifty or more years, he has prosecuted his 
enterprise with effort, enterprise and that rare 
good judgment that has lirought him ileserved 
success, l)ringing him both position and means 
in the city of his adoption. 

The senior member of the firm died in 1893, 
and at that time Mr. Howard B. Wetherell, son 
of the junior memlvr of the old firm, became 
his s\iccessor. this firm name then clumging to 
O. B. Wetherell & Son. and in l!)0(i incorpor- 
ating as the 0. B. Wetherell & Son Company. 
Besides carrying on their own business, the 
0. B. Wetherell & Son Company have a large 
interest in the Davis & McLane Manufacturing 
Com])any. a corporation operating in the same 
line of business, which entitles them to the 
claim of being one of the largest concerns for 
covering rolls in the country. 

The policy of the 0. B.' Wetherell & Son 
Company and its predecessors toward their 
employees has been such that to them labor 
troubles are unkno^vn as affecting their busi- 
ness. Men are growing gray in their service. 

The senior Mr, Wetherell. notwithstanding 
the close application through the long period 
citeil to active and arduous business, has taken 
time for enjoyment and interest in clean sport 
as a diversion. He likes a speedy horse. He 
has ever taken a praiseworthy interest in the 
advancement and prosperity of Fall River, and 
his influence has been cast in that direction for 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1271 



the best interests of the city aud welfare of its 
people. His political affiliations Have been 
with the Republican party, though he has never 
aspired to office, caring nothing tor political 
preferment. He is a member of King Philip's 
Lodge, A. F. and A. M., at Fall River, Fall 
River Chapter, R. A. M., and Fall River Coun- 
cil, R. & S. M. The family have always at- 
tended the First Baptist Church at Fall River. 
In 1865 Mr. Wetherell was married to Miss 
Hannah M. Barney of Warren, R. I., daugh- 
ter of William P. "and Charlotte (t'hampliu) 
Barney. Their only child is the son, Howard 
Bradford Wetherell, alluded to above. 

WILLIAM CROWELL PARKER, one of 
the best known members of the Bristol county 
bar, is a descendant in the eighth generation 
from William Parker, being a member of one 
of the oldest families of southeastern Massa- 
chusetts. 

This New Bedford Parker family is a branch 
of the early Cape Cod stock, whose pro- 
genitor, William Parker, was among the early 
inhabitants of Scituate, and who with others 
in 1640 removed to Mattakeese, there settling 
on a tract of land granted the September pre- 
vious. Mr. Parker linally settled in the town 
of Falmouth, where he resided until the time 
of his death. On Nov. 13, 1651, he married 
Mary, daughter of Humphrey Turner; at his 
•death he left several sons, among whom was 
Robert. 

From this (I) William Parker the lineage 
of William Crowell Parker, of New Bedford, is 
through Robert, Joseph, Benjamin. Benjamin 
(2), Sylvanus and William Crowell Parker. 
These generations in detail and in the order 
named follow. 

(II) Robert Parker, whom Savage has of 
Barnstable, married Jan. 28, 1657, Sarah 
James, and to them came cliildren : Mary, born 
April 1, 1658; Smith, June 30, 1660; Alice, 
Jan. 20, 1662; and Jane, in March, 1664. To 
the father's second marriage, this time with 
Patience, daughter of Henry Cobb, came chil- 
dren : Thomas, born Aug. 24. 1669 (?) ; Dan- 
iel, April 18, 1670 (?) ; Joseph, Feb. 16, 1671- 
72; Benjamin, March 15. 1674; Hannah, in 
April, 1676: Sarah, in 1678; Elizabeth, in 
1680; and Alice (2), Sept. 15. 1681. 

(III) Joseph Parker, born Feb. 16, 1671-72, 
married June 30, 1698, Mercy Whiston. Mr. 
Parker and his wife were original members of 
the church at Falmouth in 1707, both being 
residents of the town in 1708. Their children 
were : Joseph, bom April 23, 1699 ; John, 
Sept. 11, 1700; Benjamin, Feb. 16, 1703; 



Timothy, Nov. 27, 1703; Seth, Sept. 20, 1705; 
Silvanus, Sept. 11, 1707; and Mercy, May 21, 
1709. 

(IV) Benjamin Parker, son of Joseph and 
Mercy (Winston) Parker, born Feb. 16, 1702, 
married Hannali, and had : Susanna, born iu 
1727; Ann, 1732; Sarah, 1733; Benjamin, 
Feb. 26, 1736; Hannah, 1738; Job, Nov. 10, 
1741 (who was ordained deacon June 14, 
1786, and died May 7, 1812) ; George, May 27, 
1745; and Nathan, March 12, 1748. 

(\') Benjamin Parker (2), son of Benja- 
min, was the next in this line. • He and his 
son Sylvanus Parker both lived in Falmouth, 
from which place William C. Parker, son of 
Sylvanus, came to New Bedford when a young 
man. 

(VI) Sylvanus Parker, son of Benjamin 
(2), born in Falmouth, married Rebecca, 
daugliter of Isaiah and Lucy Hatch. 

(VII) William Crowell Parker, born in 
1813, died in 1876. He married July 6, 
1837, Huldah Nash Potter (see Potter fam- 
ily), and they had children as follows; Mary 
E., born April 16, 1838, married Nov. 11, 
1862, Daniel K. Prescott; John H.. born Jan. 
27, 1841, is living in Cleveland, Ohio; Lucy 
K., born Dec. 29, 1842, married May 17, 1866, 
Fred T. Keith; Sarah T. was born April 6, 
1845; Dora D. was born July 6, 1847; Wil- 
liam C. was born Feb. 19, 1850; Harriet B., 
born Sept. 14, 1852, married June 1, 1875, 
Herbert J. Brownell ; Frank C, born May 12, 
1859, married Oct. 12, 1884, Susan Sherman, 
daughter of Charles R. and Julia E. Sherman, 
and lives in Springfield. Mass. The father 
of this family came to New Bedford when a 
young man, learned the trade of painter and 
was for many years one of the leading men in 
that line in the town. He was a member of 
the North Congregational Church. 

(VIII) William Crowell Parker, si.xth child 
and second son of William C, born Feb. 19, 
1850, obtained his early education in the New 
Bedford public schools. He began to read 
law in the offices of Barney & Knowlton, at- 
tended the Albany (N. Y.) Law School one 
year, and was admitted to the bar of Massa- 
chusetts in 1876, since when he has success- 
fully followed the general practice of his pro- 
fession in New Bedford. He has had but one 
law partner, Robert F. Raymond, with whom 
he was associated in 1883 84. Mr. Parker hag 
long been a prominent Republican. For sev- 
eral years he was a member of the New Bed- 
ford common council. In 1872. when but 
twenty-two years old, he was elected to the 
Massachusetts Legislature, in which he served 



127^ 



SOUTH EASTEKX MASSACHUSETTS 



in 1873 and 1.S74, having been reelucted. He 
was the youngest member of that body. In 
1873 he was a member of the Labor com- 
mittee, and at the close of tliat session was ap- 
pointed a member of the special committee to 
investigate the accounts of county officers, of 
which .he was made secretary. He drew the 
report of the committee which was submitted 
to the Legislature. In 1878 and again in 1880 
Mr. Parker served as city solicitor of New 
Bedford. 

Mr. Parker has made a most gratifying suc- 
cess in his profession. Having had but one 
partner during liis career of over thirty years 
at tiie bar, lie has been both counselor and ad- 
vocate to his large clientele. As a student he 
was in the office and under the preceptorship 
of two of the best known and most successful 
trial lawyers of the Bristol county bar; and it 
has been as an advocate in the trial of civil 
cases that Mr. Parker has made his most pro- 
"nounced successes. He has in the truest sense 
been the architect of his own fortune and 
prosperous legal career. 

On Sept. 14, 1882, Mr. Parker married Ab- 
bie G. Tallman, daughter of William Tallman, 
Jr., of New Bedford. He is a member of the 
North Congregational Church and chairman 
of its hoard of trustees, and his social connec- 
tions are with the Dartmouth and Country 
Clubs and the IJoyal Arcanum. 

WILBUR. Since IfiSO there have dwelt on 
their farm in what is now Somerset, Mass., six 
generations of Wilburs. The family name has 
been variously spelled Wildbore, Wilbore. Wil- 
bour, Wilbor, Wilber. Wilbar, and Wilbur. The 
American ancestor, (I) Samuel Wildbore, is of 
record in the First Church of Boston as fol- 
lows: "Samuel Wildbore, with his wife, Ann, 
was admitted to this church Dec. 1, 1633." 
His wife Ann was a daughter of Thomas 
Bradford, of Dorchester, in the south part of 
York. England. Samuel Wildbore married 
(second) Elizabeth, who was admitted to the 
church Nov. 10, lfi4.5. He was made a free- 
man in 1(534. He bought land largely in the 
town of Taunton, and removed thither with his 
family. He, with others, embraced the doc- 
trines of Cotton and Wheelwright, was ban- 
ished in 1637, fled to Providence, and under 
advice of Roger Williams ])urchased from the 
Indians the island of Aquidneck, to which he 
removed in 1638. In 1645 he returned to Bos- 
ton, maintaining also a home in Taunton. He 
with some associate built and put in operation 
an iron furnace in that part of Taunton which 
is now Ravnham, said to have been the first 



built in New England. He was a man of 
wealth for that ]ienod, e.xerting a wide influ- 
ence in each of the places where he dwelt. He 
ilicd in 1656. His four sons were: Samuel, 
.loseph, William and Shadrach. These sons 
spelknl the name Wilbor. 

(II) William Wilbor, third son of Samuel, 
settled in Portsmouth, R. I., on lands of his 
father. His wife's name is not known, but of 
his nine children, 

(III) Daniel Wilbor, born in Portsmouth, 
R. I., in 1666, was the first settler of the name 
in Swansea, now Somerset, on lands purchased 
by his father in 1680. He was then fourteen 
years old. and inherited the property upon his 
father's death, in 1710. His wife's name was 
Mary Barney. 

(iV) Daniel Wilbor (2), son of Daniel and 
Mary, born March 31, 1697, was a prominent 
man and held various town offices. He mar- 
ried Ann Mason and had Daniel and Elizabeth. 
His death occurred in June, 1759. 

(V) Daniel Wilbor (3), born in what is 
now Somerset April 26, 1749, died March 2, 
1821. He married Mary Barnaby. of Free- 
town, who died Dec. 21, 1826. Children: 
Daniel, ,1 nines, Ambrose, Elizabeth, Barnaby, 
Mary, William, Hanan and Anna. Ambrose 
and Anna died in infancy, the rest living to- 
old age. 

(VI) Daniel Wilbor (4), born Jan. 28, 
1773. died Feb. 24, 1844. He married Sarah, 
daughter of Zephaniah Sherman, of Somerset, 
born ill January. 1779, died Feb. 11, 1860. 
Children: Ambrose B., Elizabeth (married 
Oliver MasoiO. Daniel (died aged eight years), 
jMarv B., Daniel (2) and Sarah. 

(VII) Daniel Wilbur (5), the fifth of that 
name in direct succession, was born Nov. 14, 
1818, upon the land where his forefathers had 
made their home, and he died there June 19, 
1896. He was educated in the public schools, 
reared a farmer and pursued that vocation all 
his life. Daniel Wilbur's thought and energy 
were by no means confined to the tilling of the 
soil. He had an active brain, a very retentive 
memory, and was a sound logician. He had 
read widely and thoroughly ; and no topic of 
general conversation found him without some 
knowledge of the subject, or correlated facts. 
His services were always much sought in local 
affairs, as selectman of his town, as delegate to 
conventions, chairman of town meetings and 
of public gatherings of all kinds. He was a 
member of the State Legislature in 1843 and 
was returned to that body in 1879. In 1854 
he was in the State Senate and was a member 
of the committee on Engrossed Bills and chair- 






^U' 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1273 



man of the cominitlue on Capital Punishment. 
Mr. Wilbur's servit'es were aUo sought by the 
tinani-ial and nuuuil'actiiring institution.^ of Fall 
River, whieh from the enhnenee on which he 
dwelt he liad seen develop from a small hamlet 
of less than 2,000 inhabitants to a city of about 
100,000 souls. He was president of the iS'a- 
tional Union Bank and a director of the Wam- 
panaug Mills and of the Slade Mills. In the 
death of Daniel Wilbur the community lost a 
good citizen, a man upright, honest and true, 
one respected and trusted by all who knew him, 
a man who did his own thinking from premises 
which he had himself investigated, and whose 
conclusions were his honest convictions and the 
basis of his actions in all matters. He was 
president of the board of trustees of the South 
Somerset M. E. Church. 

On Feb. 3, 1845, Mr. Wilbur married Nancy 
0. Slade, daughter of John and Rachel (Hor- 
ton) Slade. She was born in September, 
1822, and died March 22, 1860. Their chil- 
dren were : Daniel, born Nov. 13, 1845, is men- 
tioned below ; Angelina, born Nov. 13, 1847, 
died Nov. 30, 1848; William Barnaby, born 
June 30, 1850, died unmarried Sept. 3, 18y3; 
and Roswell Everett, born Jan. 21, 1854, died 
Sept. 20, 1876. On Oct. 31, 1861, Mr. Wil- 
bur married (second) Sarah E. Mason, daugh- 
ter of John Mason, of Swansea. She was 
born in 1833 and died Aug. 2, 1896, the mother 
of children as follows : Henry E., born March 
31, 1864, married Sept. 22, 1886, Jennie Bush- 
nell and resides in Swansea ; Sarah S., born 
March 18, 1870, married Rufus P. W'alker, of 
Fall River, and they have one child, Janet 
Elizabeth. 

(VIII) Daniel Wilbuh (6), son of Daniel 
and Nancy 0. (Slade) Wilbur", was born at the 
old homestead in Somerset. He was educated 
in the public schools, the East Greenwich 
Academy and Scholfleld's Business College, in 
Providence, R. I. After his marriage Mr. 
Wilbur lived for a year in the house across the 
street from his present home, for four years 
in the old house on the home farm, for twenty- 
five years on the farm on Brayton avenue, 
where William W'. Slade now lives, and since 
October, 1898, has resided on the old home- 
stead. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Wilbur has 
served his town faithfully as a member of the 
school committee, for ten years as selectman, 
and thirteen years as register of voters. He 
' is a member of the board of trustees of the 
South Somerset M. E. Church, and of Fall 
River Lodge, No. 219, I. 0. 0. F. 

On Dec. 24, 1868, Mr. Wilbur married Mar- 



ion K. Brown, daughter of Marcus A. and 
Maria Frances (Wilbur) Brown. To them 
was horn one daughter. Bertha Fraiues, on 
Sept. 7, 1871. Slie married June 5, 1889, 
William Henry Pearse, son of William G. 
Pearse, of Swansea, and tliey had two children: 
Elizabeth Wilbur, born Aug. 29, 1890, who 
died Oct. 17, 1911; and William Henry, born 
Dec. 3, 1891. Mrs. Pearse died May 28, 1902. 
To the memory of Roswell Everett Wilbur, 
born Jan. 21, 1854, died Sept. 20, 1876. we 
ap])end the following beautiful tribute by a 
committee of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity, 
of which he was a member: 

In Memoriam. 

W'ith sorrow do we record the death of our 
brother, Roswell E. Wilbur, who died at. his 
home in Somerset, Mass., on the 20th of Sep- 
tember, 1876. He entered college in the class 
of 1876, and continued as a member until the 
beginning of his senior year, when the disease 
which finally terminated his life compelled him 
to relinquish the studies he had so ardently 
pursued. In his college course he distin- 
guished himself by the breadth and accuracy of 
his scholarship. He had a clear, well balanced 
mind, which bespoke for him a brilliant career. 

But. above all, do we feel compelled to speak 
of those graces of character which shone so 
clearly during his entire college course. Pure, 
unselfish, kind and considerate, he made friends 
of all who came in contact w'ith him. 

None knew him but to love him 
None loved him but to praise. 

We the members of this society, who liave 
been called upon to mourn the loss of his cher- 
ished classmates, Lincoln and Greene, deeply 
feel our great bereavement. To his family, 
bowed down with grief, we bear our warmest 
sympathies. May He who brightened your 
home so many years with so kind a brother and 
dutiful a son grant you consolation in your 
hour of trial. 

Charles V. Chapin, 
Benj. W. Steele, 
Charles T. Aldrich, 
Committee for the Chapter. 

MARCUS AURELIUS BROWN, son of 
William and Preelove (W^ood) Brown, was 
born Dec. 19, 1819, in Swansea, Mass., near 
what is now Cole's Station. He came from an 
old New England family of consequence in the 
days of the first settlements. From old rec- 
ords and historical documents we ascertain that 

(I) John Brown, the first of this line of 



1274 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Browns, had acquaintance with the Pilgrims 
in Leyden, Holland, before the sailing of the 
"Mayflower," in 1620, in which vessel he prob- 
ably was tinancially interested. He was orig- 
inally from England, where he was born in 
ISTl, but we cannot definitely trace the family 
in that country. The exact year of his coming 
to America is unknown, but in 1G36 he was 
living in Duxbury, and in 164ii in Taunton. 
He was a man of importance in public atfairs, 
and one of the leading men of Plymouth 
Colony. He was assistant for seventeen years 
from 1636, and served as commissioner of the 
United Colonies for twelve years from 1644, 
and died in Swansea, near Rehoboth, where he 
had large estates. Savage gives the date of his 
death as April 10, 1662, and says that his will, 
made three days before his death, provides for 
the children left to his care by his son John, 
and names his wife Dorothy and son James 
executors. This is doubtless the correct date 
of his death, as his wife Dorothy died Jan. 27, 
1673 or 1674, aged ninety years. 

(II) John Brown, born in 1636, died in Re- 
hoboth in 1660. He married a daughter of 
William Buckland, and had five children, John, 
Joseph, Nathaniel, Lydia and Hannah, whom 
he left, as above mentioned, to the care of his 
father. He was a strict Puritan and a devout 
man, standing high in community and Colony 
affairs. 

(III) John Brown was born about 1657 in 
Rehoboth, married Ann Dennis, of Norwich, 
Conn., and had two children, John and Sam- 
uel. He died in 1724. He was a man of posi- 
tive nature, unflinching in the discharge of 
everything he deemed a duty. It is said of him 
that he was so enraged at his son (John) v^en 
he joined the Baptist Church that, supposing 
the latter's residence to be partially on his 
land, he was going to pull the part to which 
he laid claim away from the other, thus aiming 
to destroy the house, but a survey made to 
ascertain the fact showed that no portion of tlie 
house touched his land. Whether the tradi- 
tion be true or false, it tells the character of 
the men of that perilous pioneer period. Ath- 
letic, strong-minded and positive in character, 
they were well fitted to develop civilization 
from the unpromising and savage surround- 
ings, and to contend ably witli its foes. Among 
these settlers the Brov^Tis were leaders, and 
their different generations were prominent in 
church and local matters. From 1672 to 1692 
the deputy for several years was a Brown. 

(IV) John Brown was horn April 23, 1675, 
in Swansea. He married Abigail, daughter 
of James Cole, July 2, 1696, and died April 



23, 1752, leaving at least one son, John. The 
lands bequeathed to Mrs. Brown by her father 
were transmitted from the time of their pur- 
chase from the Indians to generation after gen- 
eration for more than two centuries, and never 
were conveyed by deed until their purchase by 
H. A. Gardner. 

(V) John Brown was also prominent, held a 
captain's commission, and was an earnest and 
consistent man. We extract from church rec- 
ords in Swansea: "The Church of Christ, in 
Swansea, soon after December, 1719, built a 
new meeting-house on land given said church 
by Capt. John Brown and WiJliam Wood for 
that purpose." "Lieut." John Brown was 
born in Swansea in 1700, and married in 1722 
Lydia, daughter of Joseph Mason; she was 
born in Swansea in 1704. They had five chil- 
dren, of whom one was William. John Brown 
was a large farmer, owning slaves, was well-to- 
do, and was honored with various offices. He 
is recorded as Lieut. John Brown. We extract 
again from the church records: "June 14, 1753, 
James Brown was on a committee to receive in 
behalf of the church a deed of some land which 
our beloved brother, John Brown, proposes to 
give to said church for its use and benefit for- 
ever." He died ^lav IS, 1754. His wife died 
Feb. 17, 1747. 

(VI) William Brown was born April 14, 
1729, in Swansea, was a farmer, and much em- 
ployed in public matters; he surveyed land for 
years, settled many estates, was a man of dis- 
tinction and ability, and much esteemed by his 
townsmen. He owned a handsome property in 
land and slaves. He married in 1753 Lettiee 
(daughter of Hezekiah ) Kingsley, who was 
born in 1732. They had eight children: Eliza- 
beth, wlio married Edward Gardiner (they 
were grandparents of Mrs. Marc\is A. Brown) ; 
Joseph, who died aged twenty, a British pris- 
oner on one of the terrible prison ships : Lura- 
nclla, who married Reuben Lewis; Amy; Betty, 
who married Aaron Cole : Mary, who married 
Benjamin Butterworth ; Sarah ; and William. 
Mr. Brown died in 1805. His wife survived 
him two years. 

(VII) William Brown. Jr., was born on the 
old homestead in Swansea, a short distance 
south of Cole's Station, Sept. 13, 1776. He 
was reared a farmer, inherited the entire landed 
estate of his father (about 140 acres) and de- 
voted himself to agriculture. He was an unas- 
suming, hard-working man, very social, with a 
remarkable memory — a faculty possessed by 
many of the family in a large degree. He 
could repeat whole chapters from the Bible, and 
had no need to refresh his memory of any event 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1275 



by memoranda. In 1799 he married Freelove, 
daughter of Aaron and Freelove (Mason) 
Wood, of Swansea. She was born Sept. 'ZS, 
1780. They had nine children who attained 
mature years: Marcia W., born March 2'6, 
1803; Gardner, March 18, 1805; Nathan W., 
July 2-4, 1807; Mary A., Nov. 21, 1809; Sam- 
uel, Oct. 2(5, 1811; Aaron, Oct. 31, 1813; Ma- 
son, Jan. 12, 181G; Betsy. Feb. 12, 1817 (Mrs. 
Charles B. Winslow) ; and Marcus A., Dec. 12, 
1819. Nathan W., Gardner and Samuel were 
seafaring men. Gardner became captain, and 
<iied in Swansea in May, 1868. The others 
were young men of promise, but died at an 
€arly age. Mason was a farmer and was a 
^reat reader; of strong memory, he was well 
versed in liistoric and geuealogic lore, and was 
held in high repute by the conmiunity ; he died 
Dec. 9, 1882. Mr. William Brown held a high 
place in the esteem of the community. Al- 
though a plain, unostentatious man, he was of 
strongly marked honesty and fixed principles. 
He was a Whig, but never sought office. In re- 
ligion he was independent, but rather skepti- 
cal ; but he never argued with others and con- 
sidered every other person entitled to freedom 
of belief and action. He died April 8, 1840. 
Mrs. Brown died Nov. 14, 1855. They, like 
their American ancestors of each generation, 
are buried in the cemetery in North Swansea. 
( VIII) Marcus A. Brown stayed on the farm 
until he was twenty-four, managing the farm 
after his father's death. He had limited edu- 
cational advantages at the common schools in 
summer until nine years old and in winter until 
lie was fifteen, spending his last term at Warren 
Academy. He then learned the mason's trade, 
at which he worked several years. He then 
purchased a farm of forty acres in Somerset 
and lived there eight years, selling it after six 
years, however. His whole residence in Somer- 
set covered seventeen years, during which time 
he followed his trade after giving up farming. 
He passed two years in Maine, working as a 
mason. He married Dec. 7, 1847, Maria Fran- 
ces, daughter of David and Sarah Wilbur. She 
■was born in Warwick, R. I.. July 10, 1828. 
Like her husband, Mrs. Brown was the young- 
est of her parents' family. Her paternal 
grandparents were residents of that part of 
Swansea now Somerset, and resided about one 
mile west of the village. Their children were 
James, Ruth, Phebe, Peleg, Chloe. Patience, 
Polly, Thomas and David. David Wilbur was 
a machinist. He married Sarah, daughter of 
Edward and Elizabeth Gardner, and had chil- 
dren as follows: Sarah G. (Mrs. Charles F. 
Brown), Harriet G., David G., Thomas B., 



Peleg N., Caroline A. and Maria F. Mr. Wil- 
bur lived in Pawtuxet, R. I., and died in 1837, 
aged fifty-three years. His wife died in 1856, 
aged seventy-two. Mr. and Mrs. Brown had 
two children: Marion F., born Sept. 14, 1848, 
married Daniel Wilbur, Jr., and had one child. 
Bertha F. ; and Clarence A., born June 3, 
1850, married Emma L. Frost. 

Mr. Brown removed to Fall River in 1866, 
and ever afterward resided in the house he 
then purchased. He worked steadily and 
faithfully at his trade until obliged by failing 
health to relinquish it in 1873. He was an 
honest, modest man ; held the even tenor of an 
industrious, hard-working life, and was a law- 
abiding citizen, caring not for nor meddling 
with official honors, supporting, however, the 
Whig and Republican tickets. He w-as success- 
ful in business and enjoyed the esteem of his 
acquaintances, and he was ever a useful mem- 
ber of society. 

(IX) Clarence A. Brown, born June 3, 1850, 
married Emma L. Frost, and they have had 
four children, born as follows: Marcus R., Jan. 
30, 1881 (married Oct. 21, 1911, Helen B. 
Winward. of Fall River, Mass.) ; Dana F., May, 
1884: Ray Wilbur, August, 1886; and Lois 
Maria, January, 1889. 

Mr. Brown was in the dry goods business un- 
til 1882. From that time until 1901 he was 
bookkeeper at the Conanicut Mill, of which he 
was superintendent from 1901 to 1907, since 
which year he has been treasurer. 

HORATIO BARROWS, during his lifetime 
a well-known, enterprising, progressive and 
public-spirited citizen of Middleboro, where for 
years he was engaged in the shoe manufactur- 
ing business as a member of the firm of Leonard 
& Barrows, was born at Carver, Plymouth 
Co., Mass., May 12, 1824, a descendant of 
James Barrows, whose advent in that locality 
dates to the early part of the eighteenth cen- 
tury. 

James Barrows, a descendant of John Bar- 
rows, the first of the name in New England, 
is of record in Plympton, Mass., Nov. 3, 1726, 
the date of his marriage with Tabitha Rickard. 
Their children were : Lydia Keziah, born 
1732; James, 17.34; Ebenezer, 1736; Eleazer, 
1738: Andrew, 1748; and George, 1751. 

Andrew Barrows, son of James and Tabitha 
(Rickard) Barrows, born in 1748, married 
Sarah Perkins, and their children were : 
Joshua, born in 1772; James, born in 1773; 
Andrew, born in 1775; Ezra, born in 1777; 
Sarah, bom in 1779, who married Jabez Sher- 
man ; Mary, bom in 1781, who married Thomas 



1276 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Tilson; Hannah, born in 1784, who married 
Thomas Cobb; Elizabeth, born in 1785; Loth- 
rop, born in 1788; George, born in 1790; 
Charles, born in 1793; and John, born in 1796. 

Charles Barrows, son of Andrew and Sarah 
(Perkins) Barrows, born in 1793, married 
Mary Cobb, and they lived in Carver, ]\Iass. 
Their children were : Charles, born in 1815 ; 
James, born in 1821; Horatio, born in 1824; 
and Mary Ann, born in 1830. 

Horatio Barrows, son of Charles and Mary 
(Cobb) Barrows, was born May 12, 1824, in 
Carver, Mass. He acquired his education at 
the Peirce Academy, of Middleboro, and his 
father being a carpenter he learned the trade 
nnder him, and was for a period occupied in 
constructing houses, etc. His last work in this 
line was in the year 1853, when was com- 
pleted the house that was soon to be occupied 
by himself and others as a place for the manu- 
facture of shoes, and which later was the place 
of business of the late Thomas W. Peirce. 
Along in 1853 was founded the firm of Messrs. 
Perkins, Leonard &- Barrows, for the purpose 
of manufacturing shoes. This firm was com- 
posed of Noah C. Perkins, Charles E. Leonard 
and Horatio Barrows. Some years later a 
change in the firm came about when in April, 
1860, Messrs. Leonard and Barrows disposed 
of their interests to ilr. Perkins and pur- 
chased what was subsequently known as Mur- 
dock's block, at which time came into the firm 
the late Calvin D. Kingman, the style then be- 
coming Leonard, Barrows & Co. This so con- 
tinued for five years, when the connection was 
dissolved, Leonard tV- Barrows continuing the 
business. They made e.xtensive additions 
and improvements in their manufactory, add- 
ing a basement and another story, introduced 
steam power, etc. These premises they occu- 
pied until their constantly increasing business 
made it necessary to find more commodious 
quarters. Tn 1874 they erected the building 
on Centre street into which they removed the 
business, and which in iiuire recent years was 
occupied by Jlr. Charles E. Leonard, though 
the firm name and interest continued the same. 
Along in the middle eighties this establishment 
was a leading one in its line in Plymouth 
county, giving employment to from two hun- 
dred to two hundred fifty operatives. In the 
early stages of the bTisiness its trade was 
largely with the South, but the breaking out 
of the Civil war destroyed that market. A new 
market for the product was found in the West, 
and the making of ladies' shoes became a 
specialty. 

As just intimated, in the change of terri- 



tory it was found a change in the line of work 
was necessary, and the creation of business in 
a new section and the change in the character 
of the product was not to come about without 
considerable effort and thought on the part of 
those at the head of the concern. Much of 
this work fell to Mr. Barrows, who was pos- 
sessed of that quality of mind which proved 
equal to the undertaking, he most successfully 
accomplishing the end in view. In establish- 
ing the new market it was necessary for Mr. 
Barrows to travel considerably through the 
West, and he evidently so impressed the busi- 
ness men of that section with whom he came 
in contact, and was so honorable in all of his 
business transactions, so prompt in the fulfill- 
ment of all obligations, orders, etc., as to es- 
tablish both at home and out through the 
country a high reputation for his house which 
in time enabled them to manufacture goods 
to order to the full capacity of their factory 
without personal solicitation. 

Mr. Barrows was so devoted to his business 
that he was only in a manner identified with 
politics and public afl^airs. He was chair- 
man of the committee for the construction of 
the town house, for which his earlier training 
and intelligence as a carpenter and builder 
so admirably fitted him. It is to his labor and 
perseverance that the town is largely indebted 
for the fine structure which it now enjoys. 
The architect and contractor having died 
early in the process of the work of erecting 
the building, Mr. Barrows took upon himself 
the task of superintending the work. 

Mr. Barrows was a member of the Central 
Congregational Church at Middleboro, and a 
most useful citizen, highl}' esteemed and re- 
spected. In his death the town lost not only 
one of its mo.st active business men, but an 
enterprising, public-spirited citizen, who when 
not the pioneer of some business improvement 
was always a ready champion of such work. 

In 1854 Mr. Barrows was married to Abbie 
M., daughter of Benjamin and Waitstill (Mur- 
dock) T.eonard, of Middleboro. One child. 
Fletcher Lawton, horn July 15, 1871, blessed 
the marriage. Mr. Barrows died at his home 
in Middleboro May 24, 1883, and at that time 
one of his business associates and friends paid 
him the following tribute : 

"Possessing an ambition and enterprise 
above that of most young men with his sur- 
roundings, he left his native town and came to 
Middleboro, where as a carpenter he worked 
at his trade for some years. This offered in 
prospect only hard work, and at last only a 
competency, and the same spirit which drew 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1277 



him from his eiirly luinie now Iml him to luave 
liis trade and oommence the iiianufacture of 
shoes. With slight exceptions his business 
was uniformly successful, and from small be- 
ginnings grew to be the largest in town and 
among the largest in the county. 

"Schooled from early youth to habits of 
industry and economy, he ever retained them, 
and these with a successful business made 
him a wealthy man. Shrewd in his dealings, 
reliable in his promises, of good judgment, a 
constant reader, he kept well posted on all the 
leading subjects of his day, and was one of 
our most prominent and reliable citizens. 
Slow to reach ('onclusions, yet firm in his con- 
victions when formed, no opposition or dif- 
ficulties seemed to move him from his fixed 
purposes. Our magnificent town house is a 
monument to his taste and judgment, and to 
his persevering push through difhculties and 
•opposition. He was long a member of the 
Congregational Church, was a quiet man in all 
ways, and dearly loved liis home. To make it 
beautiful and attractive to his wife and son, 
whom he loved tenderly, was his constant 
study." 

Mrs. Barrows died Aug. 15, 1898, and was 
hiid to rest beside her husband in the family 
vault in Nemasket Hill cemetery. 

Fletcher Lawtox Barrows, son of Hora- 
tio, was born July 15, 1871, and was twelve 
years old when his father died. He was edu- 
cated in the public and high schools of Mid- 
dleboro, and Bristol Academy, at Taunton. 
He is a member of the manufacturing firm of 
Leonard & Barrows, being associated with his 
cousins, Charles M. and Arthur H. Leonard, 
under the old firm name of Leonard & Bar- 
rows. Mr. Barrows is a young man of good 
business qualifications, enterprising and pro- 
gressive. He is an entliusiastic automobilist 
and was the first in the town to own a ma- 
chine, since then having owned several fine 
ones. He is an active member of several auto- 
mobile clubs. On July .3, 1902. in Boston, he 
married Grace Elizabeth Patton, born at 
Louisville, Ky., daughter of J. Alexander and 
Caroline Gilman (Van Home) Patton. Mrs. 
Barrows is descended from an old Kentucky 
family of Eevolutionary stock. She was edu- 
cated in Massachusetts, principally at Boston, 
and taught school for a short period. Later 
she was a civil service examiner at the State- 
house in Boston. She was one of the organiz- 
■ers of the District Nursing Association, of 
Middleboro : and is a member of the Cabot 
Club, of Middleboro, and Xemasket Chapter, 
D. A. R., of which she is registrar. She is a 



woman of broad niuul, culture and reliuenieut. 
Jjike her husband she is fond of outdoor life, 
and enjoys automobiling. Mr. and Mrs. Bar- 
rows have one son, Fletcher Lawton, Jr., born 
Dec. 29, 1909. 



Leoxakd (Middleboro family). From the 
early settling of southeastern Massachusetts the 
Leonards have played a conspicuous part in 
the development of this section. The name, 
one ancient and honorable in old England, 
has continued such through the New World. 
It has been said that our ancient Taunton 
Leonards are of the family of Lennard, Lord 
Dacre, one of the distinguished families of the 
nobility in the United Kingdom, and descend- 
ed in two lines from Edward III. through two 
of his sons, John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, 
and Thomas Plantagenet, Duke of Gloucester. 

The two Leonard brothers who first came to 
Xew England are said to have come from Pon- 
typool, in Wales, a place celebrated for its 
working of iron, in which line of effort the 
immigrants are believed to have been engaged. 
The Leonards, James and Henry, were con- 
nected with the forges early established at 
Braintree. They finally settled at Raynham, 
a part of ancient Taunton, where they built 
the first iron-works in the Old Colony, which 
forge was the great joint stock company of 
that vicinity. Much lias been said elsewhere 
of the Leonards as a family in connection with 
the iron interests of not only this section but 
of the country in general and will be omitted 
here, as will also their conspicuity in the pub- 
lic affairs in the region of Massachusetts al- 
luded to, leaving the reader to see it there, the 
intention being in this article to refer to the 
ancient Taunton-Middleboro fam^iy in the 
line of the late Benjamin Leonard of that 
town, one of whose sons, Charles E. Leonard, 
Esq., was long identified with the manufacture 
of shoes ; and he and his sons Charles M. and 
Arthur H. Leonard, both of whom were for 
years business associates of the father, are sub- 
stantial men of Middleboro to-day. This 
younger generation is descended in the eighth 
generation from James Leonard, of the old 
Raynham forge, from whom their line of de- 
scent is through Benjamin, Joseph, Capt. 
Philip, Benjamin (2), Benjamin (3) and 
Charles E., which generations in detail and 
in the order named follow. 

(I) James Leonard, the immigrant settler 
at Taunton, was dead in 1691. To him and 
his wife Margaret (who survived him and died 
about 1701) were born children as follows: 



1278 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Thomas, born Aug. 3, 1641 ; James, born about 
1643; Abigail; Eebecca ; Joseph, born about 
1655 ; Benjamin ; Hannah, and Uriah. 

(II) Benjamin Leonard married Jan. 15, 
1678-79, Sarah Thresher, and their children 
were: Sarah, born May 21, 1680; Benjamin, 
Jan. 25, 1682; Hannah, Nov. 8, 1685 (died 
early) : Jerusha, June 25, 1689; Hannah (2). 
Dec. 8, 1691: Joseph, Jan. 22, 1692-93; and 
Henry,' Nov. 8. 1695. 

(III) Joseph Leonard, born Jan. 22, 1692- 
93, married, and among his children was a 
son, Philip. 

(IV) Capt. Philip Leonard lived in Taun- 
ton and Middleboro, Mass. He married Jan. 
6, 1737-38, Mary, born in Middleboro, daugh- 
ter of Josiah and Mehetabel (Deane) Eich- 
mond, and a descendant of John Richmond, 
who came to America from Ashton Keynes, 
Wiltshire, England, and was one of the pur- 
chasers of Taunton, 1637, her lineage being 
through John (2), Edward and Josiah Rich- 
mond. The children of Capt. Philip and 
Mary (Richmond) Leonard were: Sarah, who 
married Elkanah Leonard ; Molly, born June 
16, 1748, who married Samuel Wood and (sec- 
ond) Cornelius Tinkham : Philip: Benjamin, 
born Dec. 4, 1745; George, born July 17, 1753, 
who married Mary Allen, of Middleboro; 
Phebe, who married Benjamin Paddock ; 
Chloe, born April 25, 1758, who married 
Eliphalet Elmes; Samuel, who married Su- 
sanna Ripley; and Ephraim, who married Mary 
Pratt. 

(V) Benjamin Leonard (2), born Dec. 4, 
1745, married Dec. 11, 1770, Hannah Pratt, 
and their children of Middleboro record were : 
Daniel, born July 21, 1771 ; Andrew, March 

3, 1774; Abner, July 10, 1776; Olive, Feb. 
13, 1779; Oeorge, Aug. 17, 1781; Benjamin, 
March 4, 1784; Hannah, Feb. 16, 1787; and 
Zebulon, July 6, 1790. 

(VI) Benjamin Leonard (3), born March 

4, 1784, married (intentions published Dec. 
20, 1818) Waitstill Murdock, and their chil- 
dren were: Catherine, born Dec. 5, 1819; 
Mahala, born July 26, 1822; Benjamin Frank- 
lin, born July 18, 1825; Charles E.; and Abi- 
gail M., born July 13, 1833. 

(VII) Abigail M. Leor.ard. born in Middle- 
boro ,Tuly 13, 1833, maiTiod Horatio Barrows, 
of Middleboro, and to this union was bora one 
s(m, Fletcher Lawton Barrows. 

BURT (Taunton family). Since the very 
founding of the ancient and historic town of 
Taunton, at one time a part of the Old Colony, 
for now some two hundred and seventy years. 



the name of Burt has been identified with 
Taunton's history and with that of a number 
of other towns created out of its territory; 
and the family in general has been one of sub- 
stantial men and women, useful in all that 
pertains to good citizenship. 

The town of Berkley was created in 1735 out 
of territory from Dighton and Taunton, the 
town of Dighton having been previously taken 
from Taunton. Into the new town of Berkley 
fell a number of Burts. At the first town 
meeting, held May 12. 1735, three of the Burt 
name were chosen to offices in the new town, 
Abel Burt as clerk. John Burt as one of the 
selectmen, and Joseph Burt as assessor. 
These three, too, were active in the prelimi- 
nary work of building a meetinghouse and 
looking after the calling of a minister. With- 
out a knowledge of the antecedents of these 
Berkley Burts, it would seem that they were of 
the Richard Burt family, as all bear the same 
Christian names as the children of the second 
Richard Burt, of Taunton, he having a son 
Abel, who was born Dec. 5, 1657, and was, 
perhaps, the Abel Burt who married in Taun- 
ton June 26, 1685, Grace Andrews, and be- 
came actively identified with the town's in- 
terests. Berkley has since been the continuous 
home of a branch of the Taunton Burts. An 
Abel Burt of Berkley was sent by his fellow 
townsmen to Boston in 1761, to assist in hav- 
ing Taunton remain the shire town of the 
county. Stephen, Daniel C. and T. Preston 
Burt have served the town in capacity of town 
clerk since the adoption of the State constitu- 
tion, and Simon. Abner. Sbadrach. Dean and 
Tamerlin Burt have all been selectmen of 
Berkley under the State constitution; and the 
last named represented the town in the State 
Assembly. Berkley has the reputation of hav- 
ing, perhaps, a greater representation in the 
colleges than its sister towns, of having more 
college-bred men. Among these was the late 
Rev. Daniel Burt, who was graduated from 
Brown University with the class of 1828. He 
was the son of Dean and Polly (Crane) Burt,, 
and was born in Berkley in 1808. He sus- 
tained acceptably the relation of pastor with 
many churches during his long life. It was 
his privilege to have been a classmate of the 
afterward distinguished Hon. LaFavette S. 
Foster and of the Et. Rev. DeWolfe Howe. 

(I) Among the early settlers of Taunton 
were Richard and James Burt. Richard ap- 
pears as one of the forty-six original purchas- 
ers in 1639, while James is first mentioned as 
a surveyor of roads in 1645. They were prob- 
ably brothers. From this James Burt is de- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1279 



ecended Hou. Tliomas Preston Burt, a iiativo 
of Berkley, but now a citizen of Taunton. 
James Burt took the oath of fidelity in 1G75, 
but does not appear to have been admitte<l a 
freeman. He probably was not wholly in 
accord with the prevailing religious opinions 
here, for he was probably a strong friend of 
Francis Doughty, the minister wiio was com- 
pelled to go away from Taunton for opposing 
the formation of the First Church there. It 
is also significant that several generations of 
James Burt's descendants were stanch adher- 
ents of the Church of England. His home 
lands were on the westerly side of Taunton 
river. He also owned other lands, some of 
which were at Sandy Hill. In 1668 he was 
one of the proprietors of Taunton North 
Purchase, comprising the towns of Easton, 
Mansfield and the larger part of Norton ; and 
in 1672 of the South Purchase, consisting of 
the present town of Dighton. His wife Anna 
died Aug. 17, 1665. Their children were : 
James, born probably in 1659; Thomas; 
Rachael, who married Dec. 8, 1686, Aaron 
Knap, of Taunton; and Hannali, who married 
a Hathaway. 

(II) James Burt (2), son of James and 
Anna, born about 1659, married Sept. 2, 1685, 
Mary Thayer, daughter of Nathaniel Thayer, 
of Taunton. They had children : James, born 
in 1686; Thomas, born in March, 1689; Na- 
thaniel, born in September, 1692 ; William, 
born in 169 — ; Mary, born in 1696 ; Mehitabel ; 
Tabitha; Abigail; and Charity. James Burt 
was one of the largest land owners in Taunton. 
His home farm at Sandy Hill was located on 
both sides of the great river, and each of his 
sons were settled on a farm of one hundred 
acres or more. He died June 10, 1743, aged 
according to the grave.stone eighty-four years, 
and was buried in the Plain cemetery. 

(III) Thomas Burt, son of James (2), born 
in 1689, was among the first settlers on the 
Segreganset river, where a large tract of land 
was given him by his father. His house was 
located on Burt street, which takes its name 
from the family. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Daniel Axtell. of Dighton, and 
granddaughter of Elder William Pratt, of 
South Carolina. He died March 29, 1774, his 
wife Elizabeth July 15, 1772. Their children 
were: Thomas, born 1733; Daniel, born 1735; 
Henry, born 1736; William; Peter, born Sept. 
3, 1741; and Jemima. 

(IV) Thomas Burt (2), son of Thomas, 
born in 1733, died July 28, 1800. He lived on 
Burt street, near where the upper Bristol road 
crossed the Segreganset river. He was a man 



of unusual size and strength, and was signifi- 
cantly called "Long Thomas" to distinguish 
him from others of the same name. He mar- 
ried (ilrst) Molly Tisdale, who died Oct. 5, 
1774, in her thirtieth year, and (second) Zil- 
pha Haskins, who .'survived him and died Feb. 
11. 1818, in her fifty-eighth year. His chil- 
dren were: Molly, born Oct. 5, 1774, who died 
April 17, 1775; Thomas, born Feb. 20, 1779; 
Molly (2), born May 28, 1780; Peter, born 
March 15, 1782, who died March 10, 1858; 
Ezeral (or Ezekiel), born June 18, 1784; Jo- 
.scph, born June 11, 1786; Ebenezer, born July 
15, 1788; Zilpha, born Oct. 4, 1790; and Sib- 
bil, born Sept. 5, 1792. 

(Y) Thomas Burt (3), son of Thomas (2), 
born Feb. 20, 1779, died in Berkley. His will, 
dated Aug. 30, 1837, mentions his wife Pru- 
dence. His children were : Thomas, born in 
1804; John 0.; Silas; Louisa, who married 
Eben McCumber ; Emmeline, who married John 
C. Crane; and Salina, who married Caleb Ful- 
ler. Thomas Burt was a ship carpenter in 
New Bedford and walked the twenty miles 
from his home every Monday morning and 
Saturday afternoon. 

(VI) Thomas Burt (4), son of Thomas 
(3) and Prudence, born in 1804, engaged in 
farming in Berkley all his life. He married 
Matilda M. Burt, and had four children: 
Adrianna, who died in 1863; Ellen M.; 
Thomas Preston, born July 20, 1844; and 
Julia Rebecca, born in 1846. 

(VII) Thomas Preston Burt, son of 
Thomas (4) and Matilda M. Burt, was born 
July 20, 1844, in Berkley, Bristol Co., this 
State. He attended the public schools of his 
native town and furthered his studies in the 
Myricksville x\cademy at Taunton. While yet 
in his teens, on Aug. 18, 1862, he cast his lot 
with those who were at the front, in the field 
in the defense of the Union, enlisting in Com- 
pany C, 22d Mass. V. I., for a term of three 
years. He shared the fortunes of war with his 
company and regiment until his discharge for 
disability in the month of September, 1864, 
having been wounded in the battle of Spott- 
sylvania Courthouse in May previous (1864). 
Returning home from the field with an hon- 
orable war record, Mr. Burt when sufficiently 
recovered began a career in civil pursuits that 
has been most creditable and honorable, not 
less so than his military life was patriotic and 
gallant. From 1866 to 1878 he was the 
efficient clerk and treasurer of his town, Berk- 
ley. He became a merchant of Taunton, first 
as a member of the firm of H. A. Dean & Co. 
After an experience of some two years he with- 



1280 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



drew from tlie fir^n named and joined Messrs. 
T. L. & J. H. Church in tlie coal business. 
Eemaining so engaged for about five years, he 
in 1875 cast his fortunes with tlie firm of 
Staples & Phillips, continuing with them as 
long as they were in business and with their 
successors, the Staples Coal Company, with 
■which concern he remained for perhaps one 
year, dropping out of active work then owing 
to impaired health. Having recuperated his 
health sufficiently he again entered the service 
of the Staples Company in 1896 as master of 
transportation, continuing thus for two years, 
and has since acted as cashier. 

On Oct. 2:5. 1878, Mr. Burt was married to 
C. Augusta Hack, daugliter of Nathan E. and 
Cordania Hack, of Taunton. They have chil- 
dren: Chester Fobes and Maud Matilda. Fra- 
ternally Mr. Burt is a member of Ionic Lodge, 
A. F. & A. M. ; St. Mark's Chapter, R. A. M. ; 
and William H. Bartlett Post, No. 3, G. A. R., 
all of Taunton. In 18!).5 and 1896 Mr. Burt 
was the representative from Taunton in the 
lower house of the Massachusetts Assembly. 

ELLEEY CUSHING DEAN, founder and 
president of the Dean-Penney Company, suc- 
cessors of A. C. Thompson & Co., manufac- 
turers of and dealers in builders' supplies and 
proprietors of a planing and molding mill in 
Brockton, is one of the successful and enter- 
prising business men of that city. Mr. Dean 
was born Jan. 31, 1863, in Seekonk, Mass.. son 
of David W. and I^mily F. (Gushing) Dean, 
both of whom descended from old New Eng- 
land ancestry. 

(I) John and Walter Dean, son of William 
Dean, of the parish of Chard, Somersetshire, 
England, came with their wives to New Eng- 
land, tarried, perhaps, for a time at Dorches- 
ter, and in 1637 went to Cohannet, now Taun- 
ton, of which town both of them were original 
purchasers; both were men of prominence, Wal- 
ter being selectman for some twenty years, rep- 
resentative to the General Court and a deacon 
in the church ; both took up farms on the west 
bank of Taunton Great River. The Christian 
name of John Dean's wife was Alice, and their 
children were: John, Thomas, Israel, Isaac, 
Nathaniel and Elizalieth. The wife of Walter 
was Eleanor Strong, daughter of Richard 
Strong, and sister of Elder John Strong, who 
came with her to America in 1630, and their 
children were: Joseph, Ezra. Benjamin and 
Abigail. 

(II) Joseph Dean, son of Walter, was of 
Taunton in 1684, a "cordwainer." He was of 
Dighton in ]7'i8. He was styled deacon and 



was the first town clerk of Dighton. He died 
Jan. 10, 1729, his wife Mary surviving him. 
By will of Dec. 23, 1728, he bequeaths to wife, 
to son Joseph, to sons James and Samuel, to 
grandson Josej)li, to daughter Sarah Read, and 
to grandchildren — children of Sarah Read. His 
children were: Joseph; Samuel; James, who 
married Mary Williams, and died about 1750; 
Sarah, who married Joseph Read, of Freetown ; 
and Esther, born in 1694, who died in 1707. 

(III) Joseph Dean (2) of Raynham, son of 
Joseph, by will of Nov. 24, 1801, bequeaths to 
wife Mary land in Raynham, to son David land 
in Taunton, to granddaughters Katy and Lucy 
(children of Sarah Williams), to granddaugh- 
ter Abigail (wife of Isaac King), to daughter 
Hannah (wife of Seth Jones), to daughter 
Bathsheba (wife of John Carver), and to 
daugliter Elizalieth (wife of John Gilmore) ; 
appointed his sons Joseph and David executors 
of his will. 

(IV) David Dean, son of Joseph (2), born 
about 1762. married Oct. 18. 1792, Hannah 
Hall, born March 21, 1763, a direct descend- 
ant of George Hall, who, it is said, came from 
Devonshire, England, in 1636-37, was a pro- 
])rietor at Du.xbury, and soon went to Taunton, 
from whom her lineage is through .lohn Hall, 
John Hall (2) and Philip and Hannah 
(Leach) Hall. David and Hannah (Hall) 
Dean had two sons and two daughters, namely : 
Hannah K., born May 19, 1793, married Abi- 
zah Dean; Roby, born May 4, 180L married 
David Arnold, of Norton. Kans. ; Nahum, born 
Oct. 8. 1796. died Sept. 24, 1830. married 
Amelia (or Millie K.) Robins; Philip Sidney 
was born Nov. 8, 18(14. David Dean engaged 
exclusively in farming. 

(V) Philip Sidney Deane, son of David, was 
born in Taunton. JIass.. Nov. 8. 3804. and died 
in 1845. He was educated in his native town, 
and added the final "e" to the family name, 
making it "Deane." He was a farmer. He 
married Mary Dyer Bates, daughter of Elisha 
Bates, of Weymouth. Mass. They had four 
sons and two daughters: Nahum, born Jan. 
27, 1833, married Hannah M. Crapo, and re- 
sides in Providence: Caroline, liorn in 1835, 
married Horace JIann ; David Weston was born 
in 1S37; Cammilius J., born in 1839, married 
Lenora Hail : Martha, born in 1841, married 
George Horn ; and John M., born in 1844, mar- 
ried Kate Staples, and resides in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts. 

■(VI) David Weston Dean, son of Philip 
Sidney, was born April 12, 1837. in North 
Taunton, on tlie bor(ler of the town of Rayn- 
ham. Mass. Jlr. Dean was engaged in farming 





^ , ^v^2t^i^,^-t_- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1281 



and teaming, and being of a very energetic 
make-up was very industrious. As a result of 
overwork he died Nov. 8, 1868, in Seekonk, 
Mass., in the tliirty-second year of his age. 
Some years prior to his death he began farm- 
ing and lumbering in Seekonk. On Dec. 11, 

1859, he married Emily F. Gushing, daughter 
of Charles C. and Mary (Barney) Cushing, of 
Seekonk. She is a typical New England 
woman, thrifty, independent, and after her 
husband's death she kept her family of four 
children together, although at times it was a 
hard struggle, but she would never accept help 
from outside sources, and now in her declining 
years is residing in Brockton, happily sur- 
rounded by her children and grandchildren. 
To David W. Dean and wife were born chil- 
dren as follows; Gertrude, born Sept. 21, 

1860, married Charles S. Alexander, and re- 
sides in Brockton; EUery Cushing, born Jan. 
31, 1863, is mentioned below; Walter Everett, 
born Oct. 5, 1866, resides in Brockton, where 
he is a floor walker in the dry goods store oi 
James Dyce & Co. ; and Zua Weston, born 
March 29, 1869, is the wife of Joseph D. Don- 
avan, of Rockland, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Ellery Cushing Dean was born Jan. 
31, 1863, in Seekonk, Mass. His father dying 
when he was but five years of age, he went to 
live with his grandmother at Raynham, where 
he attended school for three years. His edu- 
cational advantages were limited, as, being the 
eldest boy in the family, he was obliged to go 
to work when quite young. However, the 
amount of schooling which he received has 
been so well supplemented by private study 
that he has been able to meet his associates in 
both business and social circles on an equal 
footing. In 1871 he came to North Bridge- 
water, now Brockton, where he acquired ad- 
ditional schooling, and at the age of fourteen 
years he entered the employ of the Western 
Union Telegraph Company as a messenger 
boy, spending about three years in this em- 
ployment. He then engaged in wood turning 
on his own account, in a small way, making 
window screens, doors, etc., by means of a 
small foot-power machine. He had been in 
this business but about six months when he at- 
tracted the attention of the late A. Cranston 
Thompson, who perceived the energy and 
thrift of the young man, and hired him, and 
in a short time he had made himself a valu- 
able employee in the latters planing and 
molding mill. By close application to his 
work he readily acquired a thorough knowl- 
edge of the details of the business, and at all 
times displayed a willingness to perform ser- 

81 



vices which were not required of liim, and as a 
consequence in 1893 he became Mr. Thomp- 
son's partner, the firm then becoming known 
as A. C. Thompson & Co. Mr. Dean continued 
the junior member of this firm until the re- 
tirement of Mr. Thompson, during which time 
he attended to the buying and selling. This 
firm was the largest of its kind in Plymouth 
( ounty, and the business grew steadily until 
they employed three times as many hands as 
were required before Mr. Dean became con- 
nected with the business, using three carloads 
of lumber a week, where before hardly one was 
required. Mr. Dean's early training in the 
telegraph business has been invaluable to him, 
inculcating habits of promptness and accuracy. 
His early lessons from his mother, to which he 
attributes much of his success, his inherited 
prudence and natural ability, have given him 
unusual strength as a business man. Upon 
the retirement of Mr. Thompson, Feb. 1, 1905, 
Justin B. Penney became associated with Mr. 
Dean in the business, which was at once in- 
corporated under the laws of Massachusetts as 
the Dean-Penney Company, with a capital 
stock of $20,000, of which Mr. Dean has since 
been president. This enterprising concern has 
greatly increased and expanded the business, 
and nQw gives employment to about twenty- 
five skilled mechanics. 

Fraternally Mr. Dean is a member of vari- 
ous organizations, holding membership in 
Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; Massasoit 
Lodge, No. 69, I. 0. 0. F. ; and Pequot Tribe, 
No. 35, I. 0. R. M., of which he is past 
sachem. He is also a member of the Brockton 
Automobile Club, while his interest in the 
commercial success of the city is shown by his 
membership in the Board of Trade. In poli- 
tics he is a Republican, with independent ten- 
dencies in city and county affairs. He gives 
no time to party work, his own business re- 
quiring all his attention. In religious matters 
he is liberal, though he fully appreciates the 
good that is done by the various church so- 
cieties. 

On Nov. 25, 1885, Mr. Dean was united in 
marriage to Lucy W. Beals, daughter of 
Charles Beals, of Sharon, Mass., and they have 
two children : Albert David, employed by the 
Dean-Penney Company, married June 12, 
1911, Alice L. McDavitt, of Brockton; and 
Martha Wilhelmina is at home. 



Cushing. Mrs. Emily F. (Cushing) Dean, 
mother of Ellery C. Dean, is a direct descend- 
ant of Matthew Cushing, who with his wife 
and five children came from Hingham, Eng- 



1282 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



land, in the autumn of 1638 in the ship "Dili- 
gence," landing at Boston, thence going to 
Hingliani. The Cushing family in England 
is traceable several generations before either 
Pilgrim or Puritan sailed for America. A 
Thomas Cushing owned land in Hingham, 
England, and elsewhere in the fifteenth cen- 
tury. From Matthew Cushing the descent of 
Mrs. Dean is through John Cushing, Matthew 
Cushing (2), Josiah and Mehetabel (King) 
Cushing, Jacob and Elizabeth Cushing, Capt. 
Joseph and Sybil (Ormsbee) Cushing and 
Capt. Charles C. and Mary (Barney) Cushing. 

ELNATHAN TABER SAMPSON, one of 
the representative citizens of Brockton, where 
he is successfully engaged in business as a 
mason contractor, and senior member of the 
firm of E. T. & N. W. Sampson, undertakers 
and embalmers, is a worthy descendant of one 
of New J]ngland's earliest settled families, 
being in the eighth generation direct from 
Henry Sampson, who came from England as 
a passenger on the "Mayflower"' in 1620, and 
was thus one of the first settlers of Plymouth 
Colony. A record of this brancli of the Samp- 
son family follows, the generations being given 
in chronological order. 

(I) Henry Sampson (name spelled without 
the "p" in nearly all the records down to a late 
period, but now almost universally appears 
with a "p"), a kinsman of Edward Tilley, and 
his wife, came with them in the company of 
Pilgrims in the world renowned "Mayflower," 
1080. He was too young to sign the compact 
of Nov. 11th, but was, however, enumerated 
in the assignment of land, 1623, and in the 
division of cattle, 1627. He was admitted a 
freeman of Plymouth Colony in 1627, and in 
that same year was a volunteer in the Pequot 
war. He early removed to Duxbury, probably 
with the first settlers of that town. On Feb. 
6, 1635-36, be married Ann Phimmer. He 
was one of the original proprietors of Bridge- 
water in 16-1.1, but did not remove thither. In 
1661 he was constable of Duxbury, an office 
then of high trust and responsibility, and none 
were elected to it but men of good standing. 
He died Dec. 24, 1684. His will of 24th of 
10th month, 1684, bequeaths to Stephen. John, 
James, Caleb, Elizabeth (wife of Robert 
Sprout), Hannah (wife of Josiah Holmes), 
Mrs. John Hammond or Hanmore, Mary (wife 
of John vSummers) and Dorcas (wife of 
Thomas Bonney). 

(II) Stephen Sampson, son of Henry of 
Plymouth and Duxbury, born in the latter 
town, married Elizabeth and lived in Duxbury, 



'where he served as constable, then an im- 
portant office. He died probably in the winter 
of 1714-1.5, as his widow Elizabeth was ap- 
pointed his administratrix Jan. 31, 1714-15, 
and the estate was divided June 20, 1716. 
His two eldest sons, Benjamin and John, bad 
by deed from their father, in his lifetime, one 
half of his lands in Dartmouth. They were 
to have the homestead in Duxbury after their 
mother's decease. Six other children, Cor- 
nelius, Hannah, Mary, Elizabeth, Dorcas and 
Abigail, share among them the other half of 
his lands in Dartmouth. His children there- 
fore were: Benjamin, born in 1686; John, 
born May 17, 1688, who married Priscilla 
Bartlett ; Cornelius, likely removed to Men- 
don ; Hannah, who married Robert Tyler, of 
Mendon ; Mary; Elizabeth, who married Jona- 
than Thayer, of Mendon ; Dorcas, and Abigail. 

(Ill) Benjamin Sampson, son of Stephen 
and Elizabeth, born in 1686, in Duxbury, mar- 
ried March 1!), 1716, Rebecca Cook, born Nov. 
19, 1688, daughter of Jacob and Lydia Cook, 
of Kingston, Mass., granddaughter of Jacob 
Cook and great-granddaughter of Francis 
Cook, who came over in the "Mayflower," 1620. 
Not long after his marriage Benjamin Samp- 
son settled in Kingston. He became the com- 
mon ancestor of the Sampsons of that town. 
In his will he calls himself "merchant," and 
is elsewhere styled "gentleman." He appears 
to have been a man of property and standing. 
His will, dated Feb. 20, 1750-51, proved May 
1, 17.")8, provides for wife Rebecca; grandson 
Micah Sampson, a minor; elder son Cornelius, 
"merchant'"; younger son Benjamin; and 
daughter Deborali Veazie, wife of Rev. Mr. 
Samuel Veazie. Mr. Sampson died, according 
to inscription on gravestone, April 19, 1758, 
in his seventy-second year. His widow Re- 
becca died April 14, 1769, in her eighty-first 
year. Their children were: Micah, born in 
1717; Deborah, born about 1720, who married 
Rev. Samuel Veazie, of Duxbury ; Cornelius, 
born about 1724, who married Desire Crocker; 
Rebecca, born April 27, 1726; Benjamin, born 
Feb. 11, 1728-29, who married (first) Deborah 
Cushing and (second) Esther Weston; and 
Josiah. born in October, 1731. 

(1"\') Micah Sampson, son of Benjamin and 
Rebecca (Cook), born in 1717, died intestate 
Oct. 11, 1740. He was a "trader" in King- 
ston. His father, Benjamin Sampson, gentle- 
man, of Kingston, and Deborah Sampson, 
widow, were Nov. 25. 1740, appointed admin- 
istrators. His inventory, dated Dec. 1, 1740, 
amounted to 1,651 pounds, 8 shillings, 6 pence. 
He left a young son Micali. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1283 



(V) Micah Sainpon (2), son of Micah, 
duriiij; tlie Kevolutiun was a corporal iu Capt. 
William Crookei's company, stationed in Fal- 
mouth (now Portland), Maine, for seacoast 
defense, from July 17th to Dec. 31, 1775; also 
through the months of March, April, May, 
September, October, and November, 1776; also 
January, February and March, 1777, and in 
tiie expedition against Penobscot, July, August 
and September, 1779. 

(VI) James Gardner Sampson, son of 
Micah (2), of Falmouth, Maine, probably born 
there, married (first) a Moody and had chil- 
dren, Joshua, Ann, Thankful and Benjamin. 
He married (second) Mary Pote, widow of 
Jeremiah Bucknam, and their children, all 
born in Falmouth, Maine, were: (1) George 
died in infancy. (2) George I., born July 
2, 1808, was a mason contractor in Boston 
for a number of years, later removing to 
Lewiston, Maine, where he died. (3) Abigail, 
born Aug. 24, 1810, married John Bucknam, 
of Eastport, Maine, where he was engaged in 
the fishing industry, and where they both died. 
(■1) James William was born June 21, 1812. 
(5) Clarissa, born April 23, 1814, married 
Stillman Leavitt, of Fairhaven, Mass., and 
she died in Whitman, Mass. (6) John, born 
Nov. 28, 1817, is mentioned below. (7) Han- 
nah M., born Jan. 31, 1819, married James 
R. Lawrence, of Fairhaven, where she died. 
(8) Benjamin B., born June 11, 1825, was a 
veteran of the Civil war, serving in many of 
the leading battles, and was later engaged as 
a teaming contractor in Fall River, Mass., 
where he died. The father of these children 
was by trade and occupation a ship carpenter, 
and lived in and near Portland, Maine. He 
worked in the shipyards of Falmouth, Maine, 
and was killed by falling from a staging at 
the shipyards. His wife survived him, dying 
at Fairhaven, Massachusetts. 

(VII) John Sampson, son of James Gard- 
ner and Mary (Pote-Bucknam), was born 
Nov. 28, 1817, in Falmoutli, Maine. After 
attending the district schools of his native 
town he engaged in farming, and for several 
years also followed the sea. As a young man 
he went to Boston, where he learned the trade 
of mason with his brother George I., who was 
then extensively engaged in contracting in that 
city. He eventually settled in Fairhaven, 
Mass., where he established himself as a mason 
contractor, in which business he continued 
successfully engaged until his death, which 
occurred Feb. 17, 1866. of heart disease, in 
the forty-ninth year of his age. Mr. Samp- 
son was an active member of the Methodist 



Episcopal Church, early becoming a Christian, 
and led a moral, upright life. He married 
Elizabeth Eldridge Taber, daughter of Klna- 
than and Mercy (Washburn) Tabor, of Acush- 
net, Mass., who survived her husband, and re- 
sides at the old homestead at Fairhaven, Mass. 
Mrs. Sampson is also a member of one of New 
England's earliest settled families, being a di- 
rect descendant in the eighth generation, 
through Elnathan (2) and Mercy (Washburn) 
Taber (VII) (who were married Oct. 6, 1808), 
Elnathan (born April 15, 1762) and Bathsheba 
(Skiff) Taber (VI) (who were married Oct. 
10, 1784), Joseph and Elizabeth (Delano) 
Taber (V), Benjamin (born Dec. 2, 1706) and 
Susanna (Lewis) Taber (IV) (married Dec. 
5, 1729), Joseph (March 7, 1679-1752) and 
Elizabeth (Spooner) Taber (III) (married 
May 28, 1701-02), Thomas (1646-1732-33) 
and Mary (Thompson) Taber (II) (who were 
married in June, 1672 ; she was his second 
wife) of Philip Taber (I), who was in Water- 
town as early as April, 1634, when he contrib- 
uted to the building of the fort, and was made 
freeman May 14th of that year. He was one- 
of the proprietors of Yarmouth, January, 
1638-39, and among the first settlers there;: 
was deputy to Plymouth, 1639-40. He was 
later at New London, then at Portsmouth — 
representative in Providence in 16()1, and still 
later at Tiverton. 

(V) Joseph Taber, born Feb. 28, 1731-32,. 
married Feb. 24, 1759, Elizabeth Delano. 
Their children were : Archilus, born Oct. 13, 
1759, who married March 17, 1781, Mary 
Maxon ; Elnathan, born April 15, 1762; Rich- 
ard, born Aug. 29, 1764, who married April 
27, 1786, Lydia Foster; Lewis, born May 10, 
1767; Sanford, born Sept. 4, 1769, who mar- 
ried June 1, 1795, Susanna Adams; and 
Peleg, born Dec. 14, 1771, who married Feb. 
12, 1795, Peggy Taber. 

To Mr. and Mrs. John Sampson were born 
children as follows : Elnathan T. is mentioned 
below ; Martha is unmarried and resides at 
home; James G. died in infancy; John died in 
infancy ; Annie Elizabeth is the wife of Frank 
Rand, of Fairhaven, Mass. ; Emma is unmar- 
ried, and resides at home; Rebecca T. mar- 
ried Clarence Braley, and died in New Bed- 
ford, Mass.; Clara died in infancy; Carrie F. 
married Andrew J. Bisbee, of Midilleboro, 
Mass., where she died. 

(VTII) Elnathan Taber Sampson, son of 
John and Elizabeth Eldridge (Taber), was 
born June 30, 1847, in Fairhaven, Mass., and 
after attending the district schools of his na- 
tive town became a student at the East Green- 



1284 SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 

wich (R. I.) Academy, at which institution with one son, Norman Williams Sampson, who 

he remained for three terms. While he was was horn July 24, 1881, in Brockton; he was 

yet a student at school liis spare time was graduated from the higli school of his native 

spent in assisting his father at the mason's city and later from the College of Embalming 

trade, and with him lie early acquired a knowl- of Boston, and in 1903 established himself in 

edge of the business. After finishing his the undertaking business in his native town 

schooling he continued to follow the mason's as a member of the firm of E. T. & N. W. 

trade, being employed in his native town, at Sampson ; he married Ella E. McLeod, daugh- 

Fall River, and at New Bedford until 1870, ter of Kenneth McLeod, of Brockton. 

in which year he came to North Bridgewater 

(now Brockton), Mass. Here he also engaged (I) Gov. William Bradford, of the "May- 
at his trade, being for twelve years foreman flower," 1620, and Plymouth Colony, married 
for Davis R. Eldred, who was then extensively (second) Alice Carpenter-Southworth. 
interested in mason contracting. In 1882 (II) William Bradford married Alice Rich- 
Mr. Sampson engaged in business in partner- ards. 

ship with Noah ]'. Applcton, under the firm (HI) John Bradford, of Kingston, married 
name of Sampson & Appleton, and they did Mercy, daughter of Joseph Warren and grand- 
mason contracting for a period of about twelve daughter of Richard Warren, of the "May- 
years, at the end of which time the partnership flower," 1620. 

was dissolved. Mr. Sampson has since been (IV) Samuel Bradford, of Plympton, mar- 
successfully engaged in business on his own ried Sarah Gray. 

account, during which time he has built a (V) John Bradford (2), of Plympton, mar- 
number of residences and public buildings, ried Elizabeth Holmes. 

among them the Central fire engine house on (VI) Oliver Bradford, of Plympton, mar- 
Pleasant street. He has also done much sub- ried Sarah Chipman, a direct descendant of 
contracting in the construction of many of John Howland, of the ''Mayflower," 1620. He 
Brockton's large business blocks, and has been removed to tliat part of Fairhaven that became 
engaged in the real estate business, having Acushnett Their children were: Abigail, born 
erected several houses for sale and for invest- in 1782; Seth C, born in 1783; Valentine, 
ment. born in 1785; Matilda, born in 1787; Marl- 
Mr. Sampson is a member of various frater- boro, born in 1780; Melvin, born in 1791; 
nal bodies, among them being Paul Revere George, born in 1793; Priscilla, and Aaron 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; Brockton Council, No. Wing. 

848, Royal Arcanum, and Loyal Lodge, No. (VII) Marlboro Bradford married Dorothy 

96, American Benefit Society. In political Tripp, of Long Plain, and lived in Fairhaven. 
faith he is a stanch Republican, and in 1889 

served as a member of the common council POTTER. The name Potter, which has 
from Ward Seven. For several years he was a had numerous reju-esentatives in southeastern 
director of the Security Cooperative Bank of Massachusetts and the neighboring State of 
Brockton. He has been very active in the Rhode Island, stands for much in good and 
work of the Central Methodist Episcopal progre.ssive citizenship wherever known. 
Church, of which he and his family are mem- (I) Nathaniel Potter, who was born in 
bers. He has been a member of the official England and who died before 1644, was the 
board of the church for a period of nearly progenitor of a numerous branch of the fam- 
forty years, was superintendent of the Sunday ily. He was admitted an inhabitant of the 
school for fifteen years, was also class leader Island of Aquidneck April 30, 1639. He and 
for nearly twenty years, and for several years twenty-eight others signed the following corn- 
has also served as trustee and steward of the pact : "We whose names are underwritten do 
church. He has also taken an active interest acknowledge ourselves the legal subjects of his 
in the work of the Young Men's Christian Majesty. King Charles, and in his name do 
Association, and for several years was a direc- hereby bind ourselves into a civil body poli- 
tor of the same. ticke unto his laws according to matters of 
On Jan. 26. 1871. Mr. Sampson was united justice." His wife Dorothy, born in 1617. 
in marriage to Nancy B. Williams, daughter died in 1696. Their children were : Nathaniel, 
of Frederick and Deborah (Bradford) Wil- born in Portsmouth in 1637; and Ichabod. 
liams, of Fairhaven. Mass.. the latter a direct (II) Nathaniel Potter, son of Nathaniel 
descendant of Gov. William Bradford, of Ply- and Dorothy, born in 1637, married Elizabeth 
mouth Colony. This union has been blessed Stokes. He was of Portsmouth, R. I., and 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1285 



Dartmoutli, Mass., in which latter place all 
his children were born : Stokes, John, Na- 
thaniel, William, Benjamin, Samuel, Ichabod, 
Marv, Rebecca, Elizabeth, Katherine and 
Rutli. He died Oct. 20, 1704, and his wife 
in the same year. 

(III) Ichabod Potter, son of Nathaniel and 
Elizabeth (Stokes), married Eleanor, and 
their children, all born in Dartmouth, were: 
Rebecca, born in 1710; George, 1714; Jona- 
than, 1716: Elizabeth, 1718; Stokes, 1720; 
Ichabod, 1722: and Sarah, 1735. 

(IV) Jonathan Potter, son of Ichabod and 
Eleanor, born Nov. 14, 1716, married Sept. 
28, 1740, Rebecca Southward, daughter of 
John Southward, and their children (the first 
six born in Massachusetts, the last two in 
Rhode Island) were: Peleg, Wesson, Preston, 
Lucy (born in 1753), Sarah, Jonathan (born 
July 19, 1756), Thomas, and Philip (born 
Dec. 29, 1757). 

(V) Peleg Potter, eldest son of Jonathan 
and Rebecca (Southward), married March 12, 
1761, Theodate Tripp. Their children were: 
Noah, Pardon, Benjamin (born Sept. 32, 
1764), Southward (born Aug. 7, 1775), Ste- 
phen, Betsy, Rebecca. Cynthia, Theodate and 
Charlotte. 

(VI) Pardon Potter, second son of Peleg 
and Theodate (Tripp), married Huldah Nash, 
and their children were: (1) Lydia, born Jan. 
24, 1795, married March 21, 1816, John P. 
West; she died Nov. 18, 1857. (2) Peleg, 
born in New Bedford March 9, 1802, died 
Jan. 24, 1872. He married Hannah N. 
Parker, daughter of Sylvanus and Rebecca 
(Hatch) Parker. (3) Pardon, Jr., born 
July 11, 1807, died April 1, 1873. He mar- 
ried (first) Sarah Bassett and (second) 
Sophia Nickerson. (4) Huldah N., born in 
New Bedford Jan. 20, 1814, married July 6, 
1837, William C. Parker, born in 1813, died 
in 1876, son of Sylvanus and Rebecca (Hatch) 
Parker, of Falmouth (see Parker family). 



(V) Wesson Potter, son of Jonathan and 
Rebecca (Southward), married Mary Kirby, 
and lived at Westport, Mass., where all his 
children were born. His children were : Edith, 
born in 1793; Jonathan, 1795; Pardon, July 
26, 1799; Thomas P., July 26, 1799; Asa, 
1801; Sylvia, 1803; Nancy, 1807; and Han- 
nah, 1809. 

(VI) Jonathan Potter, son of Wesson and 
Marv (Kirbv), was born June 26, 1795, and 
died' Nov. 17, 1842. On Feb. 5, 1816, he 
married C^Tithia Howard, born 1795, died 
1887, daughter of Daniel and Grace Howard. 



Their cliildren were: Andrew H., born in 
Westport, Mass., Jan. 20, 1817: Warren 
Bailey, born Nov. 4, 1821; Cynthia Ann, born 
in New Bedford Sept. 30, 1823, who married 
Joseph R. Read ; and Harriet Newell, born 
in New Bedford Dec. 8, 1827, who married 
John H. Perry. 

(VII) Andrew Howard Potter, son of 
Jonathan and Cynthia (Howard), was born 
Jan. 20, 1817. He was educated in the public 
schools of New Bedford, whither his parents 
moved in 1824. Being the eldest son, the 
responsibility of helping support the family 
in a measure fell upon his shoulders at a very 
early time in his life, and his opportunities 
for acquiring an education were thus some- 
what curtailed. After leaving school he en- 
tered the employ of Oliver Swain in his boot 
and shoe store on Union street, where he re- 
mained for a time. Later he entered a dry 
goods store, where he worked for about one 
year. In 1837, when twenty years of age, he 
became a member of the firm of Potter, Taber 
& Read, with which he remained for about a 
year also. Following this he established him- 
self in the outfitting business near Shepards 
Lane, on Water street, as a member of the 
firm of Pope & Potter, his partner being 
George W. Pope. This business was continued 
for one or two years. He later established the 
firm of A. H. Potter & Co.. outfitters, at No. 
28 South Water street, in the old shop and 
building, his partners being Simeon Doane 
and Theodore B. W^illiams. This firm con- 
tinued to do a large and successful business 
for many years. Mr. Potter subsequently be- 
came a member of the firm of Doane, Swift 
& Co., merchant tailors, located at Nos. 51 and 
53 Union street, and at Nos. 1 and 3 North 
Water street, and continued a member of this 
firm and in this business until about 1874, 
when he established the New York Express 
at No. 19 Commercial wharf, under the name 
of Potter & Co. This was continued for two 
or three years. He took a deep interest in 
the success of hi.s brother, Warren B., and 
established him in the drug business on 
County street, later becoming a silent partner 
in the firm of Weeks & Potter, whom he helped 
in a financial way to establish themselves at 
No. 154 Washington street, Boston, making 
great personal sacrifices to aid in the inception 
of this enterprise. He continued as a silent 
partner of this firm for many years. By 
nature generous and large-hearted, his hand 
was ever extended to those in need of assist- 
ance and especially was this so in his own 
family. He was a man of most genial tem- 



1286 



SOUTHBASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



perament, sociable and companionable, and 
possessed a large circle of friends. He was a 
member of the Merchants' Club, wliich later 
became the Wamsutta, tiirougliout his life, 
and derived much enjoyment from his con- 
nection with it. Thougli not a member of any 
church, his life was governed by the highest 
principles. He died May 15, 1899. 

On Sept. 8, 1845, Mr. Potter married (first) 
Mary T. Collins, born in 1826, died in 1854. 
He married (second) Dec. 11, 1857, Sarah 
M. B. Denham, born in 1838, daughter of 
Tilson Bourne and Rachel Gilbert (Leach) 
Denham. To the first marriage were born : 
James Walter. Sept. 10, 1846; Frank Morti- 
mer, Sept. 30, 1848; Mary Emma, May 28, 
1851; and Harriet Louise. March 2, 1853. To 
the second marriage: Hettie, June 13, 1859 
(married Oct. 11. 1882. John Baker Swift. 
M. D., son of William and Martha E. (Phelps) 
Swift; tliey live at No. 465 Beacon street, Bos- 
ton, Mass.) ; Grace Howard. April 5, 1861 
(married Edward Cuddy) ; and Fanny Motley, 
Sept. 5, 1864 (married Everet L. Brown, of 
Perth Amboy, born in Jersey City). 

Mrs. Sarah M. B. (Denham) Potter traces 
her line from 

(I) John Denham, who was at Plymouth 
in 1633, was a deacon in 1639, and the same 
year a representative, and several times after. - 
He was one of the first purchasers of Dart- 
mouth. He married Abigail, and died March 
2, 1668, aged eighty years. The name is vari- 
ously spelled, Denham, Danham, Dunhame, 
and Donham, in old records. 

(II) Josepli Denham, of Plymouth, eighth 
son of John, was of Plymouth. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1657. He married (first) 
in 1657 Mercy, daughter of Nathaniel Morton, 
who died Feb. 19, 1667, and (second) Aug. 
20, 1669, Esther Worm well. 

(III) Eleazer Denham, born in 1662, eld- 
est son of Joseph, was of Plymouth, and was 
made a freeman in 1689. He married Bath- 
eheba. 

(IV) Israel Denham, third son of pjleazer, 
was born at Plympton in 1689. " He married 
Joanna Rickard. 

(V) Sylvanus Denham, eldest son of Israel, 
born at Plympton in 1714, married Rebecca, 
daughter of Al)cl Crocker. He was prominent 
in church affairs and died in 1796. 

(VI) Silas Donham, eldest son of Sylvanus, 
was born at Plympton March 28, 1749. He 
served in the 1st Massachusetts Regiment in 
1775, enlisting again in 1776 for service at 
Fort Edward ; served forty days in Rhode 
Island in 1781. It is said he never in his 



whole life showed a symptom of fear. He 
married in 1773 Mary Tilson, and died July 
23, 1815. 

(^'11) Tilson Denham, second son of Silas, 
born at Plvmpton, Mass., Dec. 28, 1786, served 
in the Rochester militia in 1813-14. In 1817 
he removed to New Bedford, wiiere he became 
interested in military affairs. He was a baker 
by trade, made crackers and later fancy bread, 
and sent out wagons all over the country to 
supply his trade. He had much local celebrity 
as a singer and a teacher of singing. He was 
an assessor of New Bedford in 1856. On Nov. 
19, 1809, Mr. Denham married Anna Jenney, 
daughter of Paul Biankinsliip, of Rochester. 
He died July 14, 1875. 

(VIII) Tilson Bourne Denham, eldest son 
of Tilson, was born at Rochester, Mass., April 
8, 1813, and married Oct. 9, 1836, Rachel 
Gilbert, daughter of Giles Leach, of Easton, 
Mass. He was engaged as a baker at New 
Bedford during the ]3almy days of the whale 
fishery and the California gold excitement of 
1849, and made ship bread. He had gone into 
business when twenty years of age, and became 
very successful, liis business becoming very e.x- 
tensive. He formed a partnership with a Mr. 
Sayer, of Newport. He used a horse in pro- 
pelling the machinery in the mixing and 
kneading of the dough, and later used steam, 
being the first to use steam for the purpose 
in this section. He was self-made, possessing 
a keen intellect and quick perceptions, and was 
a great reader. Of quiet disposition, he was 
thoughtful and high principled, a just man 
first and generous afterward. A sturdy New 
Englander of the best type, he took his share 
of responsibility in the management of public 
affairs. The incorporation of New Bedford 
as a city, in 1847, was due partially to his 
exertions, he iieing one of the few who at that 
time considered the change desirable or ad- 
visable. He held several city offices, being one 
of the assessors at large from 1859 to 1867, 
inclusive, and chairman of the board during a 
portion of that time. He held various other 
positions of trust and responsibility, such as 
health officer (in tlie years 1869 and 1870). 
He was a representative in the State Legisla- 
ture in 1854-55. His children were: Thomas 
Mendel, born Feb. 2, 1836; Sarah M. B., born 
Feb. 13. 1838: Giles L., who lives in Flint, 
Mich. : Joanna Blankensjiip, born May 24, 
18 — ; Edward, born in 1850; and Joanna and 
Frederick, twins. 



(VII) Warren Bailey Potter, son of Jona- 
than and Cynthia (Howard), born in New 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1287 



Bedford Nov. 4, 1821, married April 11, 1848, 
Sarah E. Kempton, born in 1824, daughter of 
Ezra S. Kempton. They liad one daughter, 
Hattie Perry, born in New Bedford Mareli 
5, 1849, died July 26, 1852. Mr. Potter's 
parent? took up their residence in New Bed- 
ford, Mass., in 1824, and there he resided 
until his fifteenth year, obtaining his educa- 
tion in the public schools. At that age he 
was engaged to Joseph Balch, druggist. Provi- 
dence, then a leading man in his business, and 
served two years. Removing then to New 
Bedford, he was engaged with Drs. Stone and 
Mackie, where he followed the drug business 
for three years, perfecting himself thoroughly 
in all branches. At this period whaling was at 
its height, and it proved an attraction few 
joung men could resist. Mr. Potter shipped 
on the bark "Peri" for a cruise in the Indian 
ocean, and made a second voyage on the north- 
west coast in the ship "South America." On 
his return to New Bedford Mr. Potter reen- 
tered the drug business as a proprietor, and 
in this he secured a speedy and pronounced 
success. In 1851, in conjunction with Andrew 
G. Weeks, he established in Boston, at No. 154 
Washington street, the firm of Weeks & Potter, 
wholesale druggists, which firm was in exist- 
ence for about fifty years, and enjoyed great 
prosperity, as well as having a marked in- 
fluence in the trade. The firm was completely 
"burned out in 1864, 18?2, and partially in 
1879. Mr. Potter founded the Potter Drug 
& Chemical Company Jan. 1, 1883, a firm well 
known throughout the United States and 
through most countries of the world. 



(III) Samuel Potter, son of Nathaniel and 
Elizabeth (Stokes), born in Dartmouth, Mass., 
in January, 1675, died in 1748. He married 
SaraJi Benton, born in 1681. Their children, 
all born in Dartmouth, were : Aaron, born 
1701; Nathaniel, 1703; Fear, 1705; Mary, 
1709; Elizabeth, 1711; Benjamin and Samuel, 
Jr., twins, Sept. 23, 1714; and Job, 1717. 

(IV) Nathaniel Potter, son of Samuel and 
Sarah (Benton), born Sept. 9, 1703, married 
March 10, 1726. Serviah Cndworth. Their 
<?hildren, all of Dartmouth birth, were : Free- 
love, born 1729; Ephraim, 1731; Phebe, 1733; 
Abner, 1736; Patience, Nov. 8, 1740. 

(V) Abner Potter, son of Nathaniel and 
Serviah (Cndworth), born Nov. 23, 1736, 
died April 23, 1834. He married Patience 
Macomber, and their children, born in West- 
port and Dartmouth, were: Freelove; Na- 
thaniel, horn in 1760; Margaret, 1763; Eph- 
raim, 1771; Abner, Jr., 1767 (died 1769); 



x\bner, Jr. (2), 1773; Philip, 1775; John, 
1778; and Joshua, 1782. 

(VI) John Potter, son of Abner and 
Patience (Macomber), born Sept. 30, 1778, 
died Jan. 8, 18—. On Jan. 2, 1803, he mar- 
ried Rhoda Potter, and their children were: 
Ira, born 1803; John Avery, 1805; Ezra, 
1807; Ruth, 1809; Andrew, 1811; Ira (2), 
1813; Andrew B., 1816; Ruth (2), 1818; 
Rhoda Ann, 1820; Abner, 1822; and Patience, 
1825. 

(VII) Ezra Potter, son of John and Rhoda 
(Potter), born Feb. 21, 1807, married in 
1831 Sylvia Bent, born 1813, died 1858, 
daughter of Joseph and Ruth (Hall) Bent, of 
Carver, Mass. He died Oct. 2, 1879. The 
children, all born in New Bedford, were: 
Ezra Frank, born Nov. 25, 1833, died May 2, 
1874; Sylvia Ann was born Oct. 18, 1835; 
William Fearing, born Nov. 5, 1837, married 
July 28, 1887, Alice Maud Nelson, daughter 
of Francis N. and Ruth B. (Easton) Nelson; 
Ellen Maria, born Feb. 15, 1839, died Feb. 25, 
1877; Lucy Emeline, born Nov. 1, 1843, mar- 
ried George Hall ; Charles Warren, born Jan. 
24, 1846, married Nov. 18, 1872, Alice Tucker 
Lapham; Edward Kellon, born May 15, 1848, 
married June 5, 1873, Mary E. Hepburn; 
Carrie Elizabeth, born June 28, 1853, mar- 
ried June 3, 1874, E. F. Chase. 

(VIII) William F. Potter, son of Ezra 
and Sylvia (Bent), was born in New Bedford 
Nov. 5, 1837. He was educated in the public' 
schools and graduated from the New Bedford 
high school. As a young man he entered the 
employ of Wood & Brownell, grocers, who oc- 
cupied the building where D. B. Folger's store 
now is located, and a few years later he pur- 
chased the grocery business of William F. 
Drown. In 1865 he establislied the wholesale 
grocery business on Union street, in the build- 
ing between Front street and the railroad 
tracks, where for forty-two years, or until his 
death, he enjoyed a large and profitable trade. 
This business be built up entirely, meeting the 
competition of such firms as I. D. Ilall and 
later DriscoU, Church & Hall, etc. He was 
tiie senior member of the present firm of 
William F. Potter & Co., and the high stand- 
ing and success of the firm were due to the 
energy and enterprise as well as the probity 
of its founder. In the largest and best ac- 
cepted meaning, Mr. Potter was a self-made 
man. Fond of books and a great reader, he 
was in a large measure a self-educated man. 
He was a member of the Masonic fraternity, 
and of the New Bedford Protecting Society 



1288 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



until about a year before his death, when he 
resigned. 

Mr. Potter served as a councilman in 1874. 
He was a Republican in politics. He was an 
attendant and supporter of Grace Church. 
Socially he was a member from the first of 
the Wamsutta Club and the Brooks Club, and 
of the old Dartmouth Historical Society. 

On July 28, 1887, Mr. Potter married Alice 
Maud Nelson, daughter of Francis X. and 
Ruth B. (Easton) Nelson, she a daughter of 
John Easton, of Newport, R. I. They had 
one daughter, Ruth Nelson, born July 17, 
1888, who died Sept. 20, 1892. Mr. Potter 
died May 31, 1905, leaving the record of a 
well-spent and useful life. 

WINSLOW. The Fall River Winslow fam- 
ily, the head of which was the late Capt. Al- 
bert Winslow, long one of the substantial and 
highly respected citizens of Fall River, at one 
time a member of the common council and 
city marshal, is a branch of the earlier Ply- 
mouth family, one of the ancient, prominent 
and historic families of the Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts. 

(I) Kenelm Winslow, son of Edward and 
Magdalene (Ollyver) Winslow, of Droitwich, 
Worcestershire, England, born there April 29, 
1599, came to Plymouth, probably in 1629, 
with his brother Josiah, and was admitted 
freeman Jan. 1, 1632-33 ; removed to Marsh- 
field in 1641, having previously received a 
grant of land there. He was one of the 
twenty-six original proprietors of Assonet 
(Freetown), Mass., in 1659. He was deputy 
or representative to the General Court. 1642- 
44 and 1649-53, eight years. He married in 
June. 1634, Eleanor, widow of John Adams, 
of Plymouth, and died Sept. 13, 1672, at 
Salem, Mass., where he had gone on business. 
She survived him, and died at Marshfield, 
where she was buried Dec. 5, 1681. Their 
children were: Kenelm, Eleanor (or Ellen), 
Nathaniel and Job. 

(II) Lieut. Job Winslow, son of Kenelm, 
born about 1641, married Ruth. About 1666 
he settled at Swansey, where at the breaking 
out of King Philip's war, in 1675, his house 
was burned. He was in Rochester about 1680, 
but soon removed to Freetown, where he was 
selectman in 1686, town clerk in 1690, assessor 
in 1691, 1701-07 and 1711. He was deputy 
to the General Court in 1686, and representa- 
tive in 1692 at the first General Court in Mas- 
sachusetts, under the charter of William and 
Mary. He died July 14, 1720. Ilis wife, 
Ruth, survived him. His children, the births 



of the first six of Swansey record, were: Wil- 
liam, Oliver, Ruth, Richard, Hope, Job, Jo- 
seph, James, Mary, George, Jonathan, John 
and Elizabeth. 

(III) Dr. Richard Winslow, son of Lieut. 
Job, born March 6, 1680, in Swansey, removed 
with his father to Freetown, where he after- 
ward resided. He was a practicing physician, 
and died in 1728. His wife, Hannah, sur- 
vived him. Their children, all born in Free- 
town, were : Richard, Hezekiah, Sarah, Wil- 
liam, Hannah and Edward. 

(IV) William Winslow, son of Dr. Richard, 
born Sept. 24, 1718, in Freetown, Mass., mar- 
ried July 7, 1743, Elizabeth Merrick, and 
their children were: Luther, Frederick, Mercy, 
Merrick, John, Isaac and William. 

(V) Luther Winslow, son of William, born 
June 7, 1747, married (first) Aug. 23, 1773, 
Lucy White, born Feb. 7, 1750, and to them 
were born children: Luther, June 19, 1774; 
Frederick, Nov. 24, 1775 (married Mercy Val- 
entine), and Merrick, May 21, 1777. He was 
thrice married after the death of his wife 
Lucy, which occurred Oct. 30, 1779, in Free- 
town, and had seven more children. He died 
Feb. 21, 1831, in that part of Freetown which 
became Fall River. 

(VI) Capt. Frederick Winslow, son of Lu- 
ther, born Nov. 24, 1775, in that part of Free- 
town now Fall River, Mass., married there in 
October, 1804, Mercy, born April 27. 1782, 
daughter of William and Sybil (Winslow) 
Valentine, of Freetown. Mr. Winslow lived in 
Fall River, where he died Jan. 29, 1859. He 
was a sea captain of considerable note. His 
wife died Dee. 21, 1833. Their children were: 
Rowena, born Feb. 25, 1806, died unmarried 
Sept. 17, 1888; George, born Nov. 14, 1808, 
married Ruth Ricketson, and was drowned in 
September, 1841, in Long Island sound ; Fred- 
crick, born Sept. 8, 1811, married (first) 
Lydia Pierce and after her death Clarissa Bor- 
den, and he died March 12, 1894, in Fall 
River; Lucy, born Aug. 31, 1816, died March 
29. 1893, unmarried ; Albert was born June 2, 
1820; William, born Feb. 7. 1824, married 
(first) Mrs. Annie Read and (second) Mrs. 
Olivia Eaton (he died in Oakland, Cal., Dec. 
5, 1908). 

(VII) Capt. Albert Winslow, son of 
Frederick and Mercy (Valentine) Winslow, of 
Freetown, was born on what is now North 
Main street, Fall River, Mass., June 2, 1820. 
His father being a sea captain, Albert in early 
youth began a seafaring life, in which he con- 
tinued until not far from 1860. He first shipped 
as cabin boy in liis father's ship "Row- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1289 



ena," of whioli Ednimul ]{ead was master. 
The "Kowena,"" which was iiaiiit'd for Capt. 
Frederick Winslow's elder daugliter, sailed 
from Providence with a crew of fifteen men, 
iu ballast, for Mobile, Ala., where they loaded 
1,000 bales of cotton for Liverpool. On the 
return trip a cargo of general merchandise 
was brought to New York, the entire trip con- 
suming six months. After this voyage Albert 
was for a short period in attendance at the 
Middleboro Academy, then was for a period at 
school in the town of Killingly, Conn., and 
next for a time engaged in teaching school, 
at Fall River and Freetown. His love for the 
water led him again to life upon the deep, this 
time making voyages of some considerable 
length, with cargoes of cotton, and returning 
from abroad with general merchandise; one 
of these voyages required a year's time. Fol- 
lowing his voyage on the "Rowena" he sailed 
with Capt. Job Collins, of Somerset, on the 
bark "Pilgrim,"' on a twelve months' whaling 
cruise. After a fair voyage lie shipped as boat 
steerer on the bark "Otranto," of New Bed- 
ford, Captain Coggeshall, for the Indian 
Ocean. After a two years' voyage he returned 
as second mate. Later he reshipped as mate. 
At the age of twenty-nine he made a voyage 
in the same ship as master. In 1849 he was 
allured to California in quest of the yellow 
metal. 

While Captain Winslow was a native of Fall 
River he did not take up his residence within 
the city limits until 1854:, from which time, 
when a full-fledged citizen, he served variously 
in public capacities. He was elected a member 
of the common council from Ward Six in the 
first city government — that of 1854, and at the 
time of his death he was the only surviving 
member of that body. In 1867 and 1868 he 
served most efficiently in the capacity of city 
marshal. For a number of years perhaps a 
little earlier he had been occupied as a grocer, 
doing business for a half dozen or more years 
at Pine and Rock streets. On the expiration 
of his term as marshal he retired from active 
pursuits, devoting his attention solely to the 
management of his private interests. 

Captain Winslow was a member of many 
years' standing of the First Christian Church 
at Fall River. He was a member of the Forty 
Niners Association, and a director of the Five 
Cents Savings Bank, as he had been of the 
Second National Bank before it went out of 
existence. 

Captain Winslow was a conservative man, of 
honest purposes and straightforward actions, 
upon whose word all could depend. He pos- 



sessed a splendid memory and a fund of infor- 
mation which made him at all times an inter- 
esting conversationalist and an agreeable com- 
panion. 

On May 16, 1849, Captain Winslow was 
married to Permela Cliace, of Assonet, born 
Dec. 18, 1820, daughter of George and Amy 
(Hathaway) Chace. She died Oct. 18, 1902, 
in the eighty-second year of her age. Mrs. 
Winslow was a member of the First Christian 
Church, as are all the members of the family. 
Captain Winslow died, after an illness of only 
eight days, July 18, 1908, at No. 203 Rock 
street, where he had his home for nearly a half 
century, and though he had reached the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-eight years, one month, 
sixteen days, he retained all his faculties until 
the last. Captain Winslow and wife had the 
following children : Hope, born Feb. 14, 1850 ; 
Amelia, born Dec. 3, 1851; Ella Frances, born 
May 19, 1853; Frederick, born July 22, 1855 
(died Oct. 15, 1888, unmarried; he was a 
bookkeeper in the King Philip Mill at Fall 
River) ; and Albert, born March 2, 1857. The 
last named is connected with the Fall River 
Iron Works Company as bookkeeper. He mar- 
ried Effie Buffinton, of Fall River, daughter 
of Edward P. and Comfort (Taber) Buffinton, 
and they have had children born as follows: 
William Valentine, xVug. 16, 1888; Marion 
Buffinton, May 25, 1891; Lester Chace, April 
18, 1893; Ruth, Jan. 19, 1895; Mildred, 
March 28, 1896 ; Edward Taber, April 10, 
1897; Charles Churchill and Thomas Cheet- 
ham, twins, June 7, 1899 (the former dying 
Aug. 18, 1899, the latter Sept. 29, 1899) ; 
Richard Kenelm, Nov. 18, 1900 (died Oct. 3, 
1901); Merrill Seward, March 3, 1904. 

BOURNE. The Bourne family of south- 
eastern Massachusetts is descended from 

(I) Thomas Bourne, "the eldest of the 
Marshfield settlers and a patriarch on its 
Eden," who appears at Plymouth in 1637. a 
freeman of that Colony of Jan. 2, 1638. 
Judge Savage says he may probably have come 
from the County of Kent, bringing family. 
"His home lands were situated adjoining the 
estates of his sons-in-law, Josiah Winslow, Sr., 
and Robert Waterman, to whom he gave of his 
own lands liberally." He was also a large 
land holder in the south part of the Colony. 
"He was a man of substance and repute." His 
wife Elizabeth was buried July 18, 1660, aged 
seventy years. He was buried May 11, 1664, 
at the age of eighty-three years. His will, 
probated June 9, 1664, made his son John 
right heir and executor, and bequeathed to 



1290 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



him, to daughters Martha Bradford, Anne 
Smith, Margaret Winslow and Lydia Tilden ; 
to Nathaniel Tilden, to John, Thomas, Jo- 
seph and Robert Waterman ; and to Mr. Arnold. 
His children were: John, Martha, who mar- 
ried (first) John Bradford, son of Governor 
Bradford, and (second) Thomas Tracy; Eliza- 
beth, who married Thomas (Robert ?) Water- 
man ; Anne, who married Nehemiah Smith ; 
Margaret, who married Josiah Winslow, broth- 
er of Governor Winslow ; and Lydia, who mar- 
ried Nathaniel Tilden. 

(II) John Bourne, son of Thomas, born 
perhaps in England, married July 18, 1645, 
Alice, daughter of Thomas Besbedge or Bes- 
beech (the second marriage on the town book). 
Mr. Bourne succeeded to the homestead, which 
in 1854 and later was in the possession of the 
then venerable John Bourne, a descendant in 
the fifth generation of the immigrant Thomas 
and a Revolutionary patriot who entered the 
service at the commencement of the struggle 
and was a prisoner of war when peace was 
declared ; he died in October, 1859, in the 
101st year of his age. The children of John 
and Alice Bourne were : Elizabeth, born in 
1646: Thomas, in 1647; Alice, in 1649; Ann, 
in 1651: Martha, in 1653; Mary, in 1660; 
and Sarah, in 1663. 

(III) Thomas Bourne, son of John, born 
Oct. 27, 1647, married (first) April 16, 1681, 
Elizabeth, daughter of John and Anice (or 
Annis) (Pabodie) Rouse, of Marshfield, the 
latter daughter of John and Isabel Pabodie, 
original settlers of Duxbury. She died April 
9, 1701, and he married (second) Nov. 23, 
1702, Elizabeth Holmes, who died April 2, 
1707. His children were : John, born June 8, 
1685, who married Abigail Collamore, of Scit- 
nate: Elizabeth, who died April 14, 1689; 
George, born 29th of 3d month. 1690; and 
Jedediah and Josiah (twins), born 29th of 
10th month, 1692. 

(lA') Josiah Bourne, son of Thomas and 
Elizabeth (Rouse) Bourne, was born 2!]th of 
10th month, 1692, in JIarshfield. Pembroke 
and Hanson were formerly the western part 
of Duxbury. Pembroke was incorporated in 
1712. For some seventy-five years before the 
incorporation of Hanson it was styled the 
West Precinct of Pembroke and was so estab- 
lished May 19. 1746. Hanson was incorpo- 
rated Feb." 22. 1820. "Josiah Bourne, great- 
grandson of Thomas Bourne, one of the first 
settlers in Marshfield, bought a large tract in 
the extreme southern part, next to the 'Great 
Cedar Swamp,' 'with ye house on it,' and 
traces of its location can still be seen. It is 



said of him that he was of small stature, a 
man of good practical sense, determination, 
and perseverance, who made the hills and val- 
leys laugh and shine with their abundance. 
He had thfee sons and five daughters, whose 
descendants are scattered over various parts 
of the country." ["History of Hanson," E. 
B. K. Gurney.] 

(V) Ebenezer Bourne, son of Josiah, born 
Jan. 11, 1724, in Pembroke, Mass., married 
April 5, 1744. Abigail, daughter of Andrew 
and Mercy (Oldham) Newcomb, of Scituate 
and Truro, Mass.. of the latter of which places 
Andrew Newcomb was one of the proprietors 
and became a man of prominence, holding in 
1719 the position of moderator of town meet- 
ings, that of selectman in 1720, 1721 and 
1722, and that of grand juror in 1730. 

Mr. Bourne died in Pembroke, Mass., in 
1759. His wife survived him many years, 
dying Dec. 10, 1821. at the home of her son 
Abner Bourne, in Middleboro, Mass., aged one 
hundred years, six months, three days. Their 
children were: Newcomb, born Jan. 19, 1745, 
married Abigail Cushman. and removed to Ver- 
mont, but died in Middleboro; Abner was 
born Oct. 23, 1747; Relief, born July 19, 
1749, married Joseph Pratt, of Cohasset; 
Lemuel, born Jan. 1, 1751, married Zebiah 
Wheelwright, of Cohasset ; and Mary married 
John Smith, and removed to Bangor, Maine. 

(VI) Deacon Abner Bourne, son of Eben- 
ezer, born Oct. 23, 1747, married Mary, daugh- 
ter of Haviland Torrey, of Pembroke, Mass. 
Mr. Bourne was for many years deacon of 
the First Congregational ('hurch in Middle- 
boro, Mass. During the war of the Revolution 
he was captain of a company in active service 
in Rhode Island. He died in Middleboro, 
Mass., March 25. 1806. His children were: 
William, born 30th of 12th month. 1768; 
Abigail. 20th of 11th month. 1770; William 
(2); 1773; Abner, 1774; Sarah. 1777: Abner 
(2), Dec. 4. 1780; Betsev. 1784; and Joseph, 
1788. 

(VII) Abner Bourne (2), son of Abner 
and Mary (Torrey), born Dec. 4, 1780, mar- 
ried Nov. 28, 1801, Abigail Williams, a native 
of Taunton. He died in Boston June 24, 
1840, and his widow June 15, 1845, at the 
age of sixty-four years. The remains of both 
rest in the Oak Grove cemetery in New Bed- 
ford. He is said to have started the first 
cotton factory in Maine. His children were: 
Biancv Jane, born March 20, 1806 ; James 
W., born in Boston Sept. 10, 1810 ; George A., 
born in Boston Jan. 12, 1814; and Ann Maria, 
b(n-n in Boston Sept. 14, 1815. 



SOUTHEASTEUX iMASSACIIUSETTS 



1291 



(Vlll) George A. Bourne, son of Ahner and 
Abigail (Williams), was born Jan. 12, 1814, 
in the city of Boston, where at the age of 
eighteen years he entered the business of a 
money broker. In the year 1835 he came to 
New Bedford, and engaged in the book and 
stationery business in the store now on Union 
street, which in the late nineties was occupied 
by F. S. Brightman. There he remained 
until 1840, when he removed to a store in the 
Liberty Hall building, on the corner of Pur- 
chase and William streets. There he carried 
•on business until 1850, when, in company with 
•the late Charles Almy, he engaged in the auc- 
tion business. The firm continued a few years, 
and at its dissolution Mr. Bourne devoted him- 
self to the real estate agency and the business 
•of an auctioneer on Water street, in which 
vocation he remained until his retirement 
■some years before his death. He was located 
•at various times on Water street, at the Four 
Corners, at the corner of Second and Wil- 
liam streets, and in the building on Second 
street which at the time of his death was 
occupied by his son. He was largely instru- 
mental in the building up of Nonquitt and in 
ihe erection of the hotel at that place. His 
business career was one of success and he re- 
"tired before life had lost its zest. 

Mr. Bourne was a good specimen of the 
■careful, industrious business man and citizen. 
He was popular for his pleasant nature, and 
respected for his character. While he took 
much interest in public affairs he held office, 
if we mistake not, but one year. He was a 
member of the common council in 1856, hav- 
ing been elected greatly to his surprise, on 
an Anti-Know-Xothing ticket, and was presi- 
dent of the council. He was a director of the 
Protecting Society in 1844-45, and was prob- 
ably a member longer than this. He was 
■captain of the city guards in 1852, on the 
■organization of that company, and for some 
jears thereafter. He was also a major in the 
Massachusetts militia. In his earlier life he 
was a member of Acushnet Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., 
and held all the principal offices in the lodge. 
He was one of the trustees of the New Bedford 
Institution for Savings. He was treasurer of 
the Unitarian Society for about twelve years. 

Soon after Mr. Bourne came to New Bed- 
ford in 1835 he was married to Lucy Randall, 
who was born Aug. 13, 1818, daughter of 
Levi Standish, and the marriage was blessed 
with children as follows: George Abner, born 
July 19, 1840; Marv Randall Ellis, Aug. 21, 
1842; William Standish, March 25, 1845; 
Charles Henry, Feb. 10, 1847: Marv Randall 



lOUis (2), June 2, 1848; Louise Thompson, 
Aug. 22, 1850; Angeline Wright, May 5, 
1852; Abner, Jan. 28, 1855; Standish and 
Williams, July 25, 1856; Ann Maria, Oct. 6, 
1859; and Edmund Wright, July 23, 1861. 

(IX) Standish Bournk, son of George A. 
and Lucy R. (Standish), was born in New 
Bedford July 25, 1856. He was educated in 
the Xew Bedford public and high schools, and 
in Edward A. H. Allen's private school. At 
the age of eighteen he left school and went 
into business with his father, becoming a mem- 
ber of the firm in 1881, under the name of 
George A. Bourne & Son. This partnership 
continued until about 1889, when Mr. Stand- 
ish Bourne became sole owner. The business 
increased fivefold, becoming the largest of its 
kind not only in New Bedford but in south- 
eastern Massachusetts. In the real estate 
department especial attention was given to the 
auctioning of real estate. Mr. Bourne had 
one of the largest storage warehouses in this 
part of the State. He was one of the organ- 
izers and a director of the Safe Deposit and 
Trust Company ; he was formerly a member of 
the Protecting Society ; was a trustee of the 
New Bedford Institution for Savings, and was 
a trustee of the Five Cents Savings Bank. In 
politics he was a stanch Republican, but was 
never active in party work. Socially he was 
a member of the Wamsutta Club, of which he 
was a director for about nine years. For 
thirteen years he was treasurer of the Uni- 
tarian Society, succeeding his father in that 
position. He died Aug. 8, 1911. 

Mr. Bourne married Clara T. Simmons, 
daughter of Benjamin Franklin and Harriet 
(Mosher) Simmons, and three children blessed 
this union, namely : W'illiams Standish, who 
married Kate D. Rhodes ; Helen Wendell, who 
married Frederick Rowland Taber, and has 
a daughter, Helen Bowen Taber; and Clara 
T. Mrs. Bourne died Jan. 8, 1888. 

(IX) Edmuxd Weight Bourne, son of 
George A. and Lucy R. (Standish) Bourne, 
was born July 23, 1861, in New Bedford, 
Mass. He acquired his early education in the 
public schools of his native city and at the 
New Bedford high school. He then furthered 
his studies in the New Bedford Friends' 
Academy. He still later, in the way of 
preparation for business, took a course of 
study in a Boston commercial college. His 
studies through with, he engaged in hanking 
in Kiowa, Kans., and Albuquerque, N. Mex. 
Returning to Xew Bedford he was in 1889 
made cashier of the New Bedford Safe De- 
posit and Trust Company, a relation he has 



1292 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



since sustained to it. Mr. Bourne is a member 
of the Wamsutta and Dartmouth Clubs of 
New Bedford. 

On Oct. 20, 1898, Mr. Bourne married 
Emma C. Taber, and their children are: 
Standish Taber, born Feb. 13, 1900 ; Catharine 
Howland, Dec. 31, 1901; Richard Williams, 
July 29, 1903; and Edmund Wright, Jr., June 
26, 1905. 



Mrs. Lucy Randall (Standish) Bourne was 
a direct descendant of Capt. Myles Standish, 
from whom her descent is through Alexander, 
Ebenezer, Zachariah, Ebenezer (2), Shadrach 
and Levi. These generations somewhat in 
detail and the order named follow. 

(I) Myles Standish, of Plymouth and Dux- 
bury, came in the "Mayflower" in 1620, with 
his wife Rose, who died Jan. 29, 1621. He 
early became a leading man of Plymouth 
Colony. He was chosen captain at a general 
meeting, held in February, 1621, to establish 
military arrangements, and vested with the 
command. He conducted ,all the early expedi- 
tions against the Indians, and continued in the 
military service of the Colony during his whole 
life. He was also prominent in the civil 
affairs of the Colony, was for many years as- 
sistant, one of the governor's council, etc. He 
died Oct. 3, 16.56. It is supposed that he was 
born about 1586. Captain Standish early went 
to live across the bay from Plymouth, in what 
is now called Duxbury, and the hill rising 
abruptly from the waters of Plymouth bay, 
upon wliich he built his house and lived the 
remainder of his life, has been called Cap- 
tain's Hill to this day, and here in his memory 
has been erected the Myles Standish monu- 
ment. His children were: Alexander, Charles, 
John, Myles, Josiah, Lora and Charles G. 

(II) Alexander Standish. of Duxliury, was 
admitted to the freedom of the Colony in 
1618: was third clerk of Duxbury 1695-1700. 
He married (first) Sarah, daughter of John 
Alden, and (second) Desire, double widow of 
Israel Holmes and William Sherman, and 
daughter of Edward Doty. He died in Dux- 
bury, in 1702. Desire "died in 1723. His 
children were: Miles, Ebenezer, Lnrah. Lydia, 
Merey, Sarah, Elizabeth (all born to the' first 
marriage), Thomas, Desire, Ichabod and 
David. 

(III) Ebenezer Standish, born in 1672, and 
of Plymouth, married Hannah, daughter of 
Samuel Sturtevant. of Plymouth. He died 
March 19, 1755. and she Jan. 23, 1759. Their 



children were: Zachariah, Moses, Hannah, 
Zerviah, Sarah, Ebenezer and Mercy. 

(IV) Zachariah Standish, born Oct. 12, 
1698, and of Plympton, Mass., married Abi- 
gail, daughter of Ebenezer Whitman, of 
Bridgewater, Mass. Mr. Standisb died in 
Plympton March 30, 1770. Mrs. Standish 
died there Aug. 3, 1778, at the age of seventy- 
four years. Their children were: Ebenezer, 
Hannah, Sarah, Abigail, Peleg and Zachariah. 

(V) Ebenezer Standish (2), born Oct. 16, 
1721, married Averick, daughter of ftaac 
Churchill, and their children were : Mary, 
Ebenezer, Averick and Shadrach. The father 
died Nov. 28. 1717. 

(VI) Shadrach Standish, born in 1745 (or 
1746), of Plympton, Mass., married in 1771 
Mary, daughter of David Churchill, who died 
in 1827. Mr. Standish marched on March 
21, 1777, in Capt. Thomas Sampson's com- 
pany, of Col. Thomas Lothrop's regiment, in 
Brig. Joseph CHishing's brigade, on the alarm 
to march to Bristol. R. I., and again in 1781 
marched to Rhode Island, as a member of the 
same company. Col. Theodore Cotton's regi- 
ment of militia, in obedience to the resolve of 
the General Court of Massachusetts on the 
28th of February, 1781. Mr. Standish died 
in 1837. The children born to Shadrach 
Standish and wife were: Averick (nuirried 
John Avery Parker), Ellis, Jane, Shadrach, 
Levi, Abigail, Mary and Sarah. 

(VII) Levi Standish, born in 1779, and of 
Westport, Mass., married about 1805 Lucy 
Randall, and their children were : John Avery, 
Angeline and Lucy Randall (married George 
A. Bourne). 

COOK (Whitman family). For many years 
this name has been well and honorably known 
in Whitman, the family being representatives 
of the oldest of the Old Colony, they being 
descendants of a number of the Mayflower 
Pilgrims and as well of later arrivals, among 
the former being Francis Cooke, Stephen Hop- 
kins, George Soule and Gov. William Bradford, 
all signers of the "Mayflower'' compact. 

There follows in chronological order from 
Francis Cooke the Cook lineage and some 
family history of the progressive shoe manu- 
facturer, the present Miller Cook, of Whitman. 

(I) Francis Cooke, an Englishman, was with 
the Pilgrims at Leyden and married in Hol- 
land, his wife, Hester, being a Walloon, a mem- 
ber of the church. He and his son John came 
in the "Mayflower,"' 1620, and he was one of 
the signers of the compact. ITis wife Hester 
and children Jacob, Jane and Hester came in 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1293 



the "Ami," in July, lH'i'o, and in the division 
of land made the following spring Mr. Cooke 
received two acres on the south side of 
the brook, toward the bay, and four 
acres toward Strawberry Hill. He settled 
at Plymouth. His name is found on 
the list of freemen dated 1633, with which 
the first order of court orders begins. His 
name is of frequent record in connection with 
the affairs of the early and later settlement. 
He was probably a husbandman after he came 
to Plymouth, as there is no evidence that he 
had a trade and both of his sons became 
farmers. His frequent service on the grand 
inquest and trial juries and as a surveyor of 
liighways makes it clear that he was a man 
of sound judgment and had the respect and 
confidence of the community. He died April 
7, 1663. The children of Francis Cooke and 
his wife Hester were: John, born in Holland, 
who married Sarah, daughter of Richard War- 
ren, of the "Mayflower" ; Jane, born in Hol- 
land, who married Experience Mitchell ; Jacob, 
born in Holland about 1618; Hester, who mar- 
ried Richard Wright ; and Mary, born at Ply- 
mouth, Mass., who married John Thomson. 

(II) Jacob Cooke, son of Francis, born about 
1618 in Holland, married (first) after June, 
1646, Deborah, daughter of Stephen Hopkins, 
who came in the "Mayflower" in 1620, and 
was one of the signers of the compact. He 
married (second) in November, 1669, Eliza- 
beth (Lettice) Shurtleff. His children were: 
Elizabeth, born Jan. 16, 1648; Caleb, born 
March 29, 1651; Jacob, born March 26, 1653; 
Marv, born Jan. 12, 1658; Martha, born March 
10, 'l660; Francis, born Jan. 5, 1663; and 
Ruth, born Jan. 17, 1666. The father, as 
stated, was a farmer. He died in 1676, and 
his widow remarried. 

(III) Francis Cooke (2), son of Jacob, born 
Jan. 5, 1663, married Elizabeth Latham, and 
in his will, proved in 1732, he mentions his son 
Caleb, the children of Robert, his deceased son, 
his daughter Elizabeth, and the children of his 
deceased son Francis. 

(IV) Robert Cook, son of Francis (3), mar- 
ried Abigail, and their children were: Charles, 
born in 1717; Nathaniel, born in 1719 ; Robert, 
born in 1721 ; and Sarah, born in 1724. In 
the father's will, which was proved in 1731, 
he names his sons Charles, Xathaniel, Robert, 
Francis and Simeon, and appoints his brother, 
Caleb Cook, as executor. 

(V) Nathaniel Cook, son of Robert, born 
in 1719, married and had children: Isaac, 
Levi and Mary. The father died in 1760. 

(VI) Levi Cook, son of Nathaniel, bom in 



Kingston, reniovcd to the town of Abington, 
Mass., not long before the Revolution, as early 
as 1772 or 1773. He was a blacksmith by 
trade. He married Sarah, daughter of Joshua 
Poole, and had a large family of 6hildren: 
John, Susanna, Levi, Nathaniel, Mary, Peleg, 
Deborah, Asa, Isaac, Robert, Randall and 
Thomas Jefferson. The father performed serv- 
ice in the Revolution as a private of Lieut. 
Benjamin Bates's company, marched with that 
company from Abington to Tiverton, R. I., on 
the alarm there of July 30, 1780, and was 
discharged from service Aug. 9, 1780. Levi 
Cook was also a member of Captain Soper's 
company, which served in the defense of the 
seacoast from July to September, 1785, under 
the direction of field officers of the 1st Ply- 
mouth County Regiment. 

(VII) Nathaniel Cook, son of Levi, was born 
in 1785 in the south part of the town of Abing- 
ton, Mass., where he grew to manhood. He 
learned the trade of blacksmith, which he fol- 
lowed, also following farming on a tract of land 
which he himself owned. He spent his entire 
life in his native town and died there March 
27, 1864, at the age of seventy-nine years. He 
married (first) in November, 1807, Mary Gur- 
ney, who passed away Jan. 23, 1826, leaving 
seven children, viz.: Mary, born in 1808, who 
died in 1812 ; Nathaniel, born March 11, 1811; 
Mary (2), born Aug. 15, 1813; Anna, born 
April 22, 1816, who died July 22, 1844; Mil- 
ler, born Feb. 3, 1819; Henry, born May 12, 
1821 ; and Svlviah G., born Jan. 23, 1826, who 
died in 182(3. On March 5, 1827, Mr. Cook 
married (second) Hasadiah (Cole) Morse, a 
widow, who was born in 1800 and passed away 
in 1887. Six children were born to this mar- 
riage, viz. : Isaac, born Dec. 30, 1827 ; Susan, 
Dec. 2, 1830 (who died April 11, 1833); 
Bartlett, Nov. 18, 1832; Susan C, Aug. 15, 
183- ; Frederick, Dec. 31, 183- ; George W., 
June 19, 1843 (the only one living of the 
family, he now makes his home in Abington, 
Massachusetts). 

(VIII) Miller Cook, son of Nathaniel and 
Mary (Gurney) Cook, was born in South 
Abington Feb. 3, 1819, and there grew to man- 
hood and learned the trade of shoemaker, fol- 
lowing this trade in Whitman all his life. 
He was a man highly respected in ftie com- 
munity, and was noted for his industry, hon- 
esty and good citizenship. He passed away at 
his home Nov. 20, 1898, at the age of seventy- 
nine years. He married in Whitman, Mass., 
Roxanna H. Harding, daughter of Thomas 
Harding. She was a true wife and mother 
and much devoted to her home and family, and 



1294 



SOUTHEASTEKX MASSACHUSETTS 



was a good church nioniber. She died at her 
home in Whitman March 28, 1903, at the ripe 
age of eighty-two years, and was laid to rest 
beside her husband, in Colebrook cemetery. 
Their children were: Silvia, who married 
Frank Harding; Miller, Jr.; Henry W., who 
died in young manhood ; Alonzo W., who died 
in 1908; Eliza Ann, who married William H. 
Swan, of Whitman ; and three who died young. 
(IX) Miller Cook, Jr., son of Miller and 
Eoxanna H. (Harding) Cook, was born in 
South Abington, now the town of WhitniiUi, 
Oct. 19, 1842, and was educated in the public 
and high schools there. He was still in his 
teens when he started to learn the trade of 
shoemaker with his father. Later he found 
emplojTuent with John Hobart at the shoe 
trade, and from him went into the employ of 
the firm of Burrage & Reed, where he con- 
tinued for some time. Subsequently he started 
in business for himself at Whitman, and be- 
gan to manufacture shoes, having for a part- 
ner John Bickford, the birsiness being con- 
ducted under the firm name of Cook & Bick- 
ford, which continued for a year or so, when 
Mr. Cook bought his partner's interest and con- 
ducted the business alone for .«ome time. He 
gave this up to become superintendent of the 
shoe business of Eecd & Closson, continuing 
with them, for some time, after which he en- 
gaged in the manufacture of shoes for , Lang- 
ley & Smith, of Boston, employing over two 
hundred hands and manufacturing in the orig- 
inal factory now owned by the Commonwealth 
Shoe & Leather Company, of Whitman. He 
had as a partner John Jf. Penniman, but later 
sold out his business, and in 1883 erected the 
Cook factorv. Here he manufactured shoes for 
some time for T. A. Whicher & Co., the Old 
Colony Boot & Shoe Company, and later the 
Smith & Stoughton Company. He afterward 
became engaged with the Bay State Shoe & 
Leather Company, of Xew York, after which 
for five years he was with the Commonwealth 
Shoe & Leather Company, and then with the 
C. A. Eaton Company, of Brockton, with whom 
he continued until July, 190,5, at which time 
he accepted the position of general superin- 
tendent of the W. H. McElwain Company, 
which concern is one of the largest manufac- 
turers of men's shoes in the world. He has 
charge of the manufacturing end, being me- 
chanical advLser of all their factories, and for 
the last six years has filled that position of 
trust and responsibility with credit and ability. 
Mr. Cook knows all the details of the shoe busi- 
ness, having been engaged in it for more than 
half a century, and is one of the most skilled 



and best known men in the shoe trade. He 
is well known for his honorable dealings, and 
is well liked and respected by his employers and 
those under him as well. 

^Ir. Cook is a stanch Mason, a member of 
Puritan Lodge, Pilgrim Chapter, Abington 
Council, and Old Colony Commandery, and 
also belongs to Aleppo Temple, Order of the 
Mystic Shrine, at Boston. He is a Republican 
in politics, but has never sought public office; 
and is a good citizen, finding his keenest de- 
light in his home and family. He resides 
in a comfortable home on South avenue. Whit- 
man. He was park commissioner at Whitman 
for one year. 

In ISliO Mr. Cook married Martha I. Sharpe^ 
daughter of Elbridge Sharpe, and grand- 
daughter of Gibbons Sharpe. Mrs. Cook is- 
also a descendant of one of the oldest families- 
of ^Massachusetts. Three children were born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Cook, namely : Mabel Jo- 
sephine married J. S. Capen, treasurer of the 
Converse Rubber Company, and resides at 
Stoughton, Mass. ; they are the parents of two^ 
daughters, Gertrude, born Sept. 3, 1899, and 
Annie Josephine, born Aug. 6, 1906. Henry 
W. is mentioned below. Frederick C, born 
March 1, 187,5, was graduated from the Whit- 
man High School, and is now a traveling sales- 
man for the W. H. ]\IcElwain Company; he 
resides at home, unmarried. 

(X) Henry W. Cook, son of Miller Cook, 
Jr., was born at Whitman Sept. 9, 1872, and 
there attended the public schools. He fitted 
for college at the Thayer Academy, in South 
Braintree, and then entered Amherst College, 
becoming a member of the class of 189(5. He 
had early experience in the shoe business with 
his father, and then built the factory and es- 
tablished the Commonwealth Shoe & Leather 
Company's business in Gardiner, Maine, where 
he remained three years. He was next made 
general manager of the C. A. Eaton Com- 
pany's factories at Brockton, Mass., and Au- 
gusta, i^Iaine, after which he became vice 
president of the A. E. Nettleton Shoe Com- 
pany, having charge of their factories, and he 
makes his home in Syracuse, N. Y. He mar- 
ried Grace Rowe, of Xewton Center, on June 
11. 1902. and they have two children, Robert 
Stansfield, born Oct. fi, 1906, and Frances Kel- 
logg, born July 4, 1909. 

HOX. CHARLES FRANCIS SWIFT (de- 
ceased), who for over fifty years was editor 
and proprietor of the Yarmouth Register, was 
one of the most widely known men on the 
Cape. He was a native of Barnstable county. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1295 



born iu the town of Falmouth June IS, 1835, 
and was descended from one of the oldest and 
best known families of Cape Cod. 

(I) William Swift, the founder of the family 
in New England, was a native of Bocking, 
County of Essex, England, and came to New 
England in 1634, stop])ing first at Watertown, 
of which he was a proprietor iu 1636. He 
sold his property there in 1637 and removed 
to Sandwich, where he spent the remainder of 
his life and where he died about 1641. His 
wife Joan bore him two children, William and 
Hannah, and after the death of her husband 
she married Daniel W^ing, Nov. 5, 1642. She 
died Jan. 31, 1664. 

(II) William Swift (2), son of William, 
born in England, came to the New World with 
his parents and settled at Sandwich, Barn- 
stable countv. He represented his town in 
the General Court, 1673, 1674, 1677 and 1678. 
He died in the latter part of 1705. To him 
and his wife Ruth were born the following 
children: William, born A\ig. 28, 1654; 
Ephraim, born June 6, 1656; Mary, born April 
7, 1659; Samuel, born Aug. 10, 1662; Josiah; 
Jireh ; Temperance ; Esther, and Dianah. 

(III) William Swift (3), son of William 
(2), born Aug. 28, 16.")4, was a carpenter by 
occupation and made his home at Sandwich, 
where he died in 1701. To him and his wife 
Elizabeth were born children as follows: Wil- 
liam, Jan. 24. 1679; Benjamin, 1682; Joseph, 
November, 1687; Samuel, December, 1690; 
Joanna. March 9, 1692 (married Thomas Gibbs, 
of Sandwich) ; Thomas, December, 169- ; 
Elizabeth (married John Gibbs in November, 
1716) and Thankful (married Benjamin 
Morey, Nov. 3, 1715), twins, Jan. 11, 1696; 
Josiah ; and Ebenezer. 

(IV) William Swift (4), son of William 
(3), born Jan. 24, 1679. married Lvdia. 

(V) William Swift (5), son of William (4) 
and Lydia Swift, born in 1719 in Falmouth, 
Mass., married for his first wife, Nov. 29, 1744, 
Dorcas Hatch, of Falmouth. On Sept. 1, 1772, 
he married (second) Mehitabel Hallett, and 
died Aug. 7, 1809. Children: Solomon, born 
Oct. 15, 1745; William, born Feb. 17, 1747; 
John, who died on a pri.son ship while serving 
in the Revolutionary war; Thomas, who also 
died on a prison ship during the Revolution; 
Mary, who married Richard Weeks ; Job, born 
in 1759; Jethiro (all these born to the first 
marriage) : Hallett, born in 1774; Lydia, who 
married Walter Turner, Sept. 5, 1799 ; and 
John, born Julv 10. 1780. 

(YI) William Swift (6), born Feb. 17, 1747, 
married Oct. 6, 1773, Martha Eldred, of Fal- 



mouth, born Sept. 12, 1752. They made their 
home in Falmouth. On Nov. 6, 1825, he mar- 
ried (second) Patience Price, born in 1763, 
who died July 4, 1837. His children were 
all born to the first union, as follows: Elijah, 
Aug. 16, 1774; Phebe, June 12, 1776 (mar- 
ried Solomon Crowell) ; John, Aug. 5, 1778; 
Reuben Eldred, Sept. 12, 1780; Thomas, 
April 24, 1783; Emma Ann, Aug. 8, 1785 
(married David W. Gillison and, second. Rev. 
Mr. Boyd) ; Lucv Smith, Oct. 12, 1787 (mar- 
ried Dec. 22, 1808, Nathaniel Nye) ; William, 
Feb. 13, 1790; Martha, Sept. 17, 1792 (mar- 
ried Feb. 25, 1813, Nathaniel Nye) ; Ezekiel 
Eldred, Aug. 10, 1796. 

(VII) John Swift, son of William (6) and 
^lariha (Eldred) Swift, born Aug. 5. 1778, 
married June 28, 1797, Mehitable Robinson, 
who was born in 1782 at Monomascoag, Mass. 
He died Oct. 7, 1843, she in 1845. Children: 
Micah Robinson, born Dec. 24, 1798; Elijah, 
Oct. 12, 1800; Joseph, Sept. 22, 1802; Chloe 
Price, July 15, 1804 (married Sept. 15, 1825, 
Capt. Isaac H. Hamblin) ; John, Feb. 12, 
1806; Emma Ann Gillison, June 7, 1808 (died 
March 7, 1809); Mehitable, June 20, 1810; 
Phebe Crowell, March 15, 1812 (married 
Abishai Pease) ; Lucy Nye, May 24, 1813 
(married Perry Freeborn) ; Jane Nye, Sept. 

17, 1815 (married William Freeborn) ; Jotham 
Sewell, May 13, 1818 ; Harriet Frances, March 
30, 1821 (died Sept. 30, 1849). 

(VIII) Micah Robinson Swift, son of John, 
born Dec. 24, 1798, married Dec. 1, 1822, Han- 
nah Chadwick, born July 16, 1799. She died 
June 22, 1885. They had children as follows: 
Ephraim Chadwick, born Dec. 13, 1823, who 
died .Tuly 22, 1824; Charles Francis, bom June 

18, 1825: and Micah Robinson, Jr., born Nov. 
4, 1827, who died Jan. 15, 1852. 

(IN) Charles Francis Swift, son of Micah 
R., received his education in the local public 
schools at Falmouth and at the academy of 
his native town. While still at school he en- 
tered the Yarmouth Register printing office, 
at the age of sixteen years, and learned some- 
thing of that art, and in 1847 he became as- 
sociate editor of the Yarmouth Register, in 
1850 becoming its editor. For a period of 
fifty-two years he continued to fill that posi- 
tion. The length of his connection with that 
paper, and the dignity and ability with which 
he discharged his responsibilities, under the 
most trying circumstances, made him a notable 
figure all over the State. He was a strong anti- 
slavery man and fought many hard battles 
with his pen in defense of the Union, up- 
holding its independence. He was one of the 



1296 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



founders of the Republican party on the Cape 
and fought its battles for over half a century. 
He took a deep interest in his town and county 
and wrote a history of Yarmouth. In public 
life he was always quite active personally and 
filled many positions of trust and honor. In 
1851 he was elected county treasurer, and was 
reelected to that office. In 1851 he was elected 
a member of the State Senate, and again in 
1858 ; he served on the committees on Fisheries, 
Election Laws and Libraries, and was ap- 
pointed chairman of the joint special com- 
mitfee on the Pilotage Laws. For a short time 
in 1859 he held the office of register of Probate. 
He was a member of the executive council of 
the State in 1860, and years afterward, in 
1880, he was elected a member of the State 
Legislature from the Third district in the 
county; he was reelected in 1881. He served 
as chairman of the committee on Prisons, and 
on the Library committee, and during his last 
term was a member of the joint special com- 
mittee for the Revision of the Laws of the 
Commonwealth. He was one of the first mem- 
bers of the Yarmouth Public Library Associa- 
tion and was its president for ten years. He 
was president of the Cape Cod Historical So- 
ciety from its organization, and served two 
years as president of the Barnstable County 
Agricultural Society. He was collector of cus- 
toms for the Barnstable district for a period 
of fourteen years. A man who did his full 
duty as he saw it, intelligent. and capable be- 
yond the ordinary, and with a keen sense of 
his responsibility toward his fellow men, he 
was known and respected to an unusual degree. 
He was independent in his actions and was 
a fighter for what he considered the right. Mr. 
Swift died at his home in Yarmouth, Mass., 
May 1, 1903, and was buried in Woodside 
cemetery, Yarmouth. 

On April 24, 1851, Mr. Swift married Sarah 
Ann Munroe, born Aug. 4, 1826, daughter 
of John and Nancy (Phinney) Munroe, of 
Boston and Barnstable, respectively. Mrs. 
Swift is still living, residing at the homestead 
with her daughter, who is tenderly caring for 
her in her declining years. Children as follows 
were born to this union : Hannah Chadwick, 
born March 7, 1852, married Frank E. Chase, 
of Grand Rapids, Mich. ; Francis Munroe, 
born Dec. 18, 1853, married April 6, 1881, 
Hattie B. Small, and has three children, 
Catharine Munroe, Dorothy Campbell and Ada 
Francis (Francis M. Swift is in the railway 
mail service) ; Frederick Crosby was born Dec. 
18, 1855; Theodore Winthrop, born June 24, 
1861, is post office inspector and resides in 



Winthrop (he married Mattie Gross, and they 
have one child, Julia Gross) ; Caroline Mun- 
roe, born March 7, 1863, resides at home (she 
has been a teacher) ; Sarah Munroe is an of- 
ficial stenographer at Boston ; Charles Warner, 
born Dec. 26, 1866, is successor to his father 
as editor of the Register (he married Anna 
Manley and has one child, Charles Francis, 
2d) ; John Munroe, born Jan. 8, 1873, died 
Sept. 6, 1873. 

(X) Frederick Crosby Swift, son of Hon. 
Charles Francis Swift, was born in Yarmouth 
Dec. 18, 1855. He attended the public and 
high schools there and graduated from the high 
school, afterward taking up the study of law 
in the office of Judge Joseph M. Day, where 
he spent three years. He next spent two years 
at the law school of Boston University, and 
was admitted to the Barnstable county bar in 
October, 1880. Beginning the practice of his 
profession at Yarmouth Port, he formed a part- 
nership a few years later, in 1889, with the 
law firm of Blackmar & Sheldon, of No. 246 
Washington street, Boston, retaining his office 
in the town of Yarmouth. During his father's 
term in the Legislature in 1881 and 1882 Judge 
Swift filled the editorial chair, conducting the 
Register. In 1883 he was elected commissioner 
of insolvency for Barnstable county and was 
reelected to that office twice. He is a mem- 
ber and president of the board of trustees of 
the Yarmouth Public Library, a director of 
the Barnstable County Mutual Fire Insurance 
Company, and was secretary of the Agricultural 
Society thirteen years. He was appointed judge 
of the District court in 1893, which office lie 
now holds. Judge Swift is well known and 
most highly respected, possessing a degree of 
sound common sense and legal ability which has 
won him substantial honors in his profession. 
Like his father he is a stanch Republican, and 
popular in the party. 

Judge Swift married Stella N*. Hobbs, and 
they have one child, Paul Munroe. 

HON. WILLIAM JOHNSON BULLOCK, 
former State senator and former mayor of 
New Bedford, president of the State Pliarma- 
ceutical Association, and one of the best 
known and most popular citizens and business 
men of New Bedford, is a native of Fall River, 
Ma^s., born Jan. 31, 1861, a direct descendant 
of Richard Bullock, who died at Rehoboth, 
Mass.. in 1667. 

Hubbard M. Bullock, father of Hon. Wil- 
liam J. Bullock, was born in New Hampshire. 
He settled in Fall River, wliere for some years 
he was connected with the police force as 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



1297 



captain, and later removed with his family to 
Franklin, Mass., where he was engaged at vari- 
ous occupations, principally railroad construc- 
tion and his trade of stonemason. In time 
he became associated with George H. Chapin, 
of Boston, in the real estate business at Frank- 
lin. He died in 1901, and was buried in Oak 
Grove cemetery. New Bedford. He married 
Myra Packard, who survives. Their children 
were: William Johnson; Mina, who married 
William Judd ; Ida, who married Frederick 
Barton, of Providence, R. I.; and Elizabeth, 
who married George Steere, and resides at 
Providence. 

William Johnson Bullock attended the pub- 
lic schools of Fall River and was still young 
when the family removed to the town of 
Franklin, Mass. There he began work at an 
early age, at railroad construction, in the 
building of the double track railroad from 
Franklin to Walpole for the New England 
Eailroad Company. Young Bullock drove a 
team. Later lie went to Canada,' locating at 
West Farnham, Quebec, where he worked for 
two years in a sugar beet factory. Thence go- 
ing to New York, he shipped before the mast 
on a schooner, and was engaged in the coast- 
wise trade. Among his shipmates was Arthur 
Crowley, who is now a member of the firm of 
Crowley Brothers, well known ship owners. 
He rose to the position of mate and his voy- 
ages were made in the interest of the New 
England and West Indies trade. He later 
sailed on steamships engaged in the coal trade. 
After giving up the sea he located again in 
Fall River and here he began the study of 
pharmacy in 1882, under Dr. J. B. Shagnon, 
attending courses of lectures on pharmacy. He 
continued in the drug business in Fall River 
until 1887, when he came to New Bedford 
and became clerk in the drug store of William 
K. Christian, on Acushnet avenue. In 1888 
he started into business for himself, becoming 
associated with Henry A. Leonard under the 
firm name of Henry A. Leonard & Co. In 
1890 he formed a partnership with Patrick 
,W. Waldron, their store being located on 
Fourth and Potomac streets. Here business 
was conducted until the death of Mr. Waldron, 
in 1897, since which date Mr. Bullock has car- 
ried on the business alone. 

Aside from his business cares Mr. Bullock 
has found time to devote to public life. His 
debut in politics was made in 1897, when he 
was elected to the common council to succeed 
Mr. Waldron, his business partner, who had 
died shortly after taking office. In the fall 
of the same year Mr. Bullock was elected to 

82 



tiie lower house of the Massachusetts Assem- 
l>ly and for six years gave the city able and 
judicious service. In 1904 he succeeded Hon. 
Rufus A. Soule, now collector for the New 
Bedford port, as State senator. While in the 
Senate he served on important committees, 
among others being chairnuin of the commit- 
tees on Rules, Public Health in Cities, and 
Fisheries and Game. Senator Bullock in Novem- 
ber, 1907, became the nominee of the Independ- 
ent Citizens' party for the office of mayor of 
New Bedford, and in the election that followed 
in December he was elected by the "over- 
whelming plurality of 1,140 votes over his op- 
])onent, Tiiomas Thompson, a fourth time 
candidate for that office." Not only did Mr. 
Bullock secure a large plurality over his most 
formidable opponent (there being three can- 
didates in the field), but he had a majority 
over all. Mr. Bullock has the distinction of 
having polled the largest vote ever given up 
to that time to a candidate for mayor in New 
Bedford. On Dec. 1, 1908, Mayor Bullock 
was reelected as chief executive officer of New 
Bedford by a plurality of 1,620. 

Mayor Bullock was a successful executive, 
many improvements of inestimable value to 
the city marking his administration. He takes 
a deep interest in his city, its people and in- 
stitutions. He is a Republican in national 
politics. Fraternally he belongs to New Bed- 
ford Lodge, No. 73, B. P. 0. E., New Bedford 
Aerie, No. 647, F. 0. E., and the Improved 
Order of Red Men. He is a member of the 
State Pharmaceutical Association, of which he 
is president, and of which for the past ten 
years he has been a delegate to the national 
organization. He attends the Episcopal 
Church. 

In 1889 Mr. Bullock married Ruea M. 
Howk, of Mount Pleasant, Mich. They have 
no children. 

Mr. Bullock is a man of genial personality, 
who is popular with all classes, and who has 
the confidence of the people — a confidence 
well justified by his long and honorable career 
in public life. 

CAPT. STURGIS CROWELL, who died 
Aug. 30, 1911, was at the time of his death 
the oldest ciiizen of South Yarmouth, Mass., 
where he was living retired. He was for over 
forty years a seafaring man, and during 
twenty years of that time he was master. He 
rounded Cape Horn nearly twenty times. A 
native of the town of Yarmouth, he was born 
Aug. 13. 1822, and descended from a very old 
and well-known family of Cape Cod. 



1298 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



(I) Yelverton Crowell, the founder of this 
brancli of the family on the Cape, is supposed 
to liave come from England and the name on 
the Plymouth records is Yelverton Crowe. 
There was also a John Crowe who settled at 
Yarmouth, but there is no record to show that 
they were brothers. Yelverton Crowe settled 
in the town of Ya7'mouth in 1640. He owned 
land at West Yarmouth, jtart of which is still 
in the family name. His death occurred Oct. 
24, 1683. His wife Elizabeth died in Novem- 
ber, 1703, in West Yarmouth. Their children 
were: John, born in 1642, who married Han- 
nah ; Edward, who married Mary Lothrop ; 
Samuel, who married Hannah; Thomas, born 
in 1749, who married Deborah; and P]lizabeth, 
twin of Thomas, who married Samuel Mat- 
thews. 

(II) John Crowell, son of Yelverton, was 
born in 1642. He lived in West Yarmouth, 
and died Feb. 28. 1731-32. His wife, Han- 
nah, died Oct. 5, 1753. Their children were: 
Elizabeth, born Aug. 3, 1682, married Benja- 
min Lewis ; Jabez married Lydia Gross ; De- 
liverance married Caleb Cook : Hannah mar- 
ried James Lovell ; John married Olive Gross; 
Susannah married John Berry ; Experience 
married Thomas Crowell ; Joseph married 
(first) Sarah Howes and (second) Annie Hal- 
lett ; Mary married Nathan Atkins; Reliance 
married a Mr. Hatch ; Mercy married Edward 
Downs; Rachel married John Cowen ; Eph- 
raim, born Nov. 14, 1706, married Rose Gor- 
ham. 

(III) Epliraim Crowell, son of John, was 
born Nov. 14, 1706, and lived in West Barn- 
stable. He married March 4, 1731, Rose Gor- 
ham, who died March 19, 1781. He died in 
September, 179.5. Their children were: 
Simeon, born in 1731 (married Sarah Hallett 
Jan. 17, 17.57) ; John (married Annie White) ; 
Betty; Hannah (married Abner Crowell); 
Annie (married David Matthews) ; Thankful 
(married Daniel Crowell); Ephraim; Henry, 
who died May 18, 1760, aged thirteen years; 
and Benjamin. 

(IV) Simeon Crowell, son of Ephraim, was 
born in West Yarmouth Oct. 17, 1731. He 
married Jan. 17, 1757, Sarah Hallett, and 
their children were: Elkanah, born Nov. 19, 
1757, married Bethia Hallett; Isaiah, born 
Aug. 10, 1762, died Sept. 20, 1862, aged 100 
years, one month, eleven days; Desire married 
(first) John Lewis and (second) Thomas 
Shivrock ; Mehitable married Samuel Taylor. 

(V) Elkanah Crowell, son of Simeon, born 
in the town of Yarmouth Nov. 19, 1757. mar- 
ried Bethia Hallett, who was born Feb. 5, 



1763. He enlisted during the Revolution, 
serving first in the company of Capt. Elisha 
Hedges, Col. Nathaniel Freeman's regiment; 
marched from home Sept. 27, 1777; served one 
month, four days, on secret expedition to 
Rhode Island; also private in Capt. Lot 
Crowell's company. Col. Nathaniel Freeman's 
regiment, service thirteen days, on alarm at 
Dartmouth and Falmouth, in September, 1778. 
The children of Elkanah Crowell were: Pa- 
tience, born March 12, 1783, married Joshua 
Hallett; Joshua, born Nov. 15, 1785, died at 
sea; Rachel, born Feb. 20, 1788, married John 
Hallett; Betsey, born Nov. 8, 1790, married 
Sears Hallett ;"Elkanah, born March 12, 1793, 
married Eliza Bacon; Sally, bom July 24, 
1795, married William Libby; Dorcas, bom 
Nov. 2!), 1797, married Timothy Lewis, Jr.; 
Polly H., born Aug. 2, 1800, married Benja- 
min Berry ; and Simeon, born June 28, 1803, 
married Fanny Hallett. 

(VI) Elkanah Crowell (2), son of Elkanah, 
was born in Yarmouth March 12, 1793, and 
made his home in West Yarmouth. He fol- 
lowed a seafaring life for many years, being en- 
gaged in the coastwise trade, and was master of 
coasters engaged in trade and barter along the 
New England coast from New York, Phila- 
delphia, etc., going as far south as Virginia. 
He sailed the coaster "Wankinco," which was 
built at Wareham. He lived to the age of 
ninety-two years, dying in West Yarmouth 
Dec. 30, 1885, and was buried in the West 
Yarmouth cemetery. In politics he was a 
Whig, later a Republican. He was an attend- 
ant of the Congregational Church. He mar- 
ried Dec. 7, 1820, P'liza Bacon, born Dec. 6, 
1799, daughter of Oris and Abigail (Sturgis) 
Bacon. Their children were : Sturgis, born Aug. 
13, 1822, married (first) Emily Baker, aiiJ 
(second) Susan J. Baker; Joshua, born Sept. 
10, 1824, married Survina E. Cook Dec. 16, 
1847, and died at Monticello. Wis., Oct. 29, 
1865; Francis, born Sept. 27, 1826, died in 
West Yarmouth Nov. 23, 1905 (he was a gold 
prospector in Australia, but lost his e3'esight 
and returned to make Ids home in West Yar- 
mouth) ; Elkanah, born Feb. 2, 1829, married 
Susan Crowell Jan. 18, 1853 ; Isaiah, born 
July 4. 1832, married Mercy B. Crowell Feb. 
24, "1857, and died in West Yarmouth May 30, 
1908 (she died June 25, 1908); Eliza Ann. 
born Oct. 19, 1834, married Francis K. Studley 
Feb. 9, 1858, and resides at Monroe, Wis.; Abi- 
gail Bacon, born Dec. 14, 1836. died unmarried 
Oct. 16. 1903; Oris Bacon, born Aug. 16, 
1839, who died June 28, 1901, in West Yar- 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



1299 



mouth, iiiarriod"May 14, 1867, Adeline F. 
Wood. 

(VII) Stui-gis C'rowoU, son of Elkanah (3), 
obtained liis education in the local school. He 
took up a seafaring life at the early age of ten, 
going as cook witii his father on the coaster 
"Wankinco" in the year 1832 to Cape Ann, 
where tliey loaded fish for Boston and New 
York. He continued as cook on his father's 
vessel until 183-1, and worked in other capaci- 
ties until his father sold that vessel. When 
thirteen years of age he shipped on board the 
topsail schooner "Convoy," Zadock Crowell, 
master, going to Halifax, N. S., with a load of 
tisli and returning with a load of plaster. He 
stayed on that schooner during 1835-:36-:57, and 
his next vessel was a sloop of wliich Bcnjaniin 
Crowell was master, going from Boston to Nor- 
wich, Conn., where lundjer was loaded for 
Chatham, Mass. In 18.38 lie shipped before 
the mast on the "Fancy," Capt. Lysander 
Chase, master, and sailed from Boston to New 
York with a load of dry goods. Returning 
home he spent that winter at school and the 
following spring shipped on the schooner 
"Star,'" and also sailed on the brig "Josephine" 
and other vessels engaged in the coastwise 
trade. In 1849 he became mate on the ship 
"Angelique," Captain Windsor, owner, and 
made his first trip around the Horn from New 
York to San Francisco, and he sailed on that 
vessel, also the "Boston Light," of which he 
became master in the year 1861, the owner 
being Henry S. Hallett, of Boston. He sailed 
for that owner for a number of years. His 
first trip as master was from New Y^ork to San 
Francisco, from there to Honolulu and to 
McKean Island, from there to Mauritius (Isle 
of France). He sailed on the same vessel from 
Pert Louis, Mauritius, in 1862, to Calcutta, 
and then to Ilong Kong, from there to Wham- 
poa, and finally to Bombay. Because of the 
Civil war and the Rebel ships capturing Amer- 
ican vessels in the Pacific ocean, he was in- 
structed bv his owner to dispose of his vessel, 
the "Boston Light." at Bombay, in 1863. which 
he did, selling her for £.5,000 and re- 
turning home by steamer. He again became 
master, of the ship "Volunteer," William F. 
Weld, owner. He made another voyage from 
New York to San Francisco, and while round- 
ing the Horn lost his rudder and drifted about 
for thirty days. After arriving at San Fran- 
cisco he sailed thence to Mazatlan, and then 
back to New York, and from there to Altata, 
Mexico. He then turned the "Volunteer" 
over to his mate, and became master of the ship 
"Orpheus," William F. Weld, of Boston, owner. 



and in 1865 he nuide his next voyage from 
.New York to San Francisco, from there sail- 
ing to Hong Kong, from there to Batavia, and 
back to New York. In 1868 he made his next 
trip from New York to San Francisco with a 
load of wheat, and sailed from there to Hong 
Kong, from that port to Manila, thence re- 
turning to New York. He again sailed for 
San Francisco in 1869, from there to Mazatlan, 
Mexico, and from there to Altata, Me.xico, re- 
turning thence to New Y'ork. In 1870 he be- 
came master of the ship "Belvidcre," under the 
same owner. He sailed from Boston to St. 
John's, Newfoundland, and from that port to 
Liverpool, returning to Savannah, Ga., where 
he loaded cotton for Liverpool. He shipped 
19,000 bales of cotton, the largest shipment 
ever made on a vessel up to that time. Sailing 
back to Liverpool with his freight, he went 
from there to Manila, Philippine Islands, and 
while there, in 1872, a mutiny broke out 
among the crew, and he found it necessary to 
discharge them and ship Malays to take the 
ship home. After this voyage he retired from 
the sea and settled down to quiet life at South 
Yarmouth, where for upwards of thirty years 
he lived retired. He made his home with his 
wife and daughters. Captain Crowell had a 
creditable record for honesty and integrity. 

On June 24, 1858, Mr. Crowell married 
(first) Emily Baker, daughter of Elisha and 
Polly Baker, and they had one child, Elisha 
Baker, who died at the age of thirteen years. 
He married (second) Nov. 17, 1874, Susan 
J. Baker, born in Hudson, N. Y., daughter of 
Freenutn and Patience N. (Baker) Baker, and 
granddaughter of Freeman and Rebecca 
(Eldridge) Baker and of John and Patience 
(Nickerson) Baker. Mrs. Crowell is a woman 
of refinement and much devoted to her home. 
The children of the second union are: (1) 
Alice M., who was educated in the public and 
high schools of Y'^armouth and Hyannis State 
normal school, was a student in tlie first class 
of that school, graduating in 1901, after which 
she taught school in the Pennsylvania School 
for the Blind at Philadelphia for two years. 
In 1!)03 she entered Cornell I'niversity, and 
graduated with the degree of B. A. in 1906, 
during this time teaching the model school at 
Willimantic, Conn., for one year. After leav- 
ing Cornell she became a teacher in the Hyan- 
nis high school until 1909, wlien because of the 
illness of her father she gave up teaching, and- 
has since devoted her time and attention to 
the care of her father. (2) Annie S. attended 
the public and high school of Yarmouth, also 
the State normal school at Hvannis, graduat- 



1300 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



ing in 1902. In 1905 she became a student 
at Columbia University and took the degree 
of B. S. in 1906. She is now a teacher in the 
Hyannis State normal school. 

Captain Crowell was the oldest living man 
in the town of Yarmouth, and as such held the 
gold-headed walking cane given by the Post 
of Boston — one to the oldest living man in 
each town in New England. The Captain was 
one of the last surviving sea captains who were 
the pride of American commerce fifty years 
ago. 

(VII) Capt. Elkanah Crowell, son of El- 
kanah (2) and brother of Capt. Sturgis Cro- 
well, of South Yarmouth, was born in West 
Yarmouth, Mass., Feb. 2, 1829. He attended 
the local school and worked at home until he 
was seventeen, when he made his first sea 
voyage on the eighty-ton schooner owner by his 
father, the "Wankinco," which was commanded 
by Capt. Zadock Crowell. He went in her as 
cook. She was engaged in trade and barter 
along the Atlantic coast, and after staying 
with her for two years, he was in 1848 with 
the schooner "Susan," owned by Capt. Henry 
Bray of Yarmouth. He went as mate of the 
vessel, from Boston for Alexandria, Va., and 
bound into New York. The Captain proceeded 
to the West Indies, where he was taken sick 
and died. Captain Crowell returned from New 
York and attended school during that season, 
and in IS'iO he shipped before the mast, ship- 
ping with nine other Cape Cod boys on the 
ship ''Herbert," Capt. Bangs Hallett, and 
making the trip to San Francisco with general 
freight. From there she sailed to Calcutta, 
Captain Crowell returning to Boston as second 
officer on the ship. He then went as second 
mate on the bark "What Cheer," of Providence, 
and was on her two years on different voyages 
to the straits. In 1853 he became first mate 
of the clipper ship "Spitfire," owned by Gray 
& Stanwood, of Boston. She made the trip 
to San Francisco, thence to Callao and back 
again to Hampton Roads and New York. In 
1854 Ca])tain Crowell became mate of the "Bos- 
ton Light," owned by Henry S. Hallett, Cap- 
tain Callagen, master. They made the voyage 
to San Francisco, thence to Sydney, Australia, 
Hong Kong and Shanghai, returning to New 
York with a load of tea. In 1856 he became 
commander of the "Boston Light," sailing to 
Melbourne, Australia, thence to Calcutta, and 
continued master of that ship four years, dur- 
ing which time he was engaged in the East 
India and China trade, carrying freight and 
passengers to San Francisco. He returned 
home in 1860, and then became master of the 



ship "Fair Wind," of which he was captain 
imtil 1865. She was owned by Henry S. Hal- 
lett, of Boston. He made the trip to San 
Francisco to engage in the China trade, and 
then returned home to become part owner of 
the schooner "C. E. Rosenberry," in which 
he followed the Atlantic coast trade for two 
years and lost her in the Gulf of Mexico. 
He then, in July, 1867, became master of the 
ship "National Eagle," of Boston, making the 
voyage from New York to San Francisco and 
return, coming back in July, 1868. In 1869 
he took charge of the ship "Galatea," owned 
by William F. Weld & Co., of Boston, in which 
he went to San Francisco, thence to Hong 
Kong, and then to Iloilo, Philippine Islands, 
from there returning to New York. Then he 
bought an interest in the ship "Carrie Read," 
which was owned by Samuel G. Read, of Bos- 
ton, and became its master in January, 1871, 
and in her he made continuous voyages, in 
1876 going to India, China, etc., and selling 
her in Liverpool. Returning home he with 
Capt. William H. Besse, of Wareham, built the 
bark "G. C. Toby," at Bath, Maine, and com- 
manded her for six years, going to the Pacific 
coast, thence to China, Japan and other far 
eastern ports. On this ship Captain Crowell 
took the first cargo of railroad material to 
Otarunai, a port on the island of Yesso, Japan, 
comprising twenty miles of railroad material, 
engines, locomotives, etc. She was the first 
American sailing vessel that ever entered that 
port. After returning home he made a trip 
on the steamer "George S. Homer," in which 
he had an interest, and made the voyage to 
the Pacific coast, returning to New York in 
1884. His last voyage to sea as commander 
was in the "George S. Homer." He retired 
from the sea and returned home to West Yar- 
mouth, wiiere he became interested in the busi- 
ness affairs of the town. He succeeded Peleg 
Akin as vice president of the Savings Bank 
of South Yarmouth when Mr. Akin became 
its president ; on the death of Dr. Pitcher, of 
Hyannis, Mr. Crowell succeeded him as vice 
president of the National Bank of Hyannis, 
which position he fills to-day. In 1894 he 
located at Hyannis, moving his 'house to that 
town, and there he now resides. 

In politics Captain Crowell is a stanch Re- 
publican, and has served the town of Yarmouth 
in the State Legislature, being elected in 1892, 
served two years, being reelected in 1893. He 
served on the committee on Prisons and com- 
mitee on the State House. The Captain at- 
tends the Universal ist Church and is a mem- 
ber of the Boston Marine Association, having 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 1301 

filled all the offices, including those of presi- (VI) Zenas Crowell (2), son of Zenas, mar- 
dent and treasurer. ried Jerusha Lewis, and their children were: 

Captain Crowell married Jan. 18, 1853, in Pauline, born Sept. 28, 1815, is deceased; 

West Yarmouth. Susan, daughter of Zenas and Julia Ann, born July 15, 1817, married El- 

Jerusha (Lewis) Crowell. She died Feb. 28, nathan Baker Feb. 9, 1841, and died Feb. 13, 

1!)08, at her home in Hyannis, after a mar- 1890; Henrietta, born Jan. 6, 1819, married 

ried life of fifty-five years. She was buried Ebenezer Baker June 19, 1838, and died June 

in Hyannis cemetery. A true wife and mother, 9, 1872; Zenas Edwin, born Dec. 3, 1820, 

she was much beloved by all and her loss was married Teresa Eldredge Nov. 26, 1842, and 

greatly felt. To this couple were born three died May 10, 1886; Almond, born Nov. 5, 

children: One born Feb. 9, 1861, at sea, died 1822, married Eleanor Hallett Nov. 28, 1849, 

the same year; Emily C, born May 24, 1863, and was lost at sea in March, 1864; Eugene, 

was married March 8, 1887, to Dr. Edward born Nov. 19, 1824, married Betsey Lewis July 

Everett Hawes, of Hyannis, where they re- 30, 1847, and died Sept. 28, 1852; Milton, 

side; Elkanah Lincoln, born Nov. 29, 1865, born Nov. 24, 1829, married Sarah R. Sears 

died Jan. 29, 1867. in July, 1857, and died Dec. 7, 1891 ; Susan, 

Mrs. Elkanah Crowell was also a descendant born Oct. 30, 1831, married Elkanah Crowell, 

of (I) Yelvertoii Crowell through his son Jan. 18, 1853, and died Feb. 28, 1908; a 

(II) Thomas, born May 9, 1649, who married child born Sept. 28, 1833, died Sept. 28, 1833; 
Deborah, their children being: Isaac (mar- Octavius, born Jan. 25, 1835, died Oct. 15, 
ried Ruth), Yelverton and Jonathan (twins), 1838; Mary Sears was born July 10, 1837; 
Mary (who married Nathan Bassett), Seth a child, twin to Mary Sears, died July 10, 
(married Mercy Nickerson), Deborah (who 1837; Octavius (2), born July 7, 1840, mar- 
married Ebenezer Parker), Thomas (married ried Melissa Sherman Jan. 31, 1876, and died 
E.xperience Crowell), Thankful (who married Jan. 9, 1903; a son born Aug. 2, 1843, died 
John Lewis), Ebenezer (born May 30, 1698, Sept. 22, 1843. 

died 1771; married Mary Gorham in 1724),  

and Elisha (born April 22, 1700, who mar- 
ried first, Alice Godfrey and second, Remera- (VII) Isaiah Crowell, son of Elkanah (2) 
ber Luce). and Eliza (Bacon) Crowell, and brother of 

(III) Ebenezer Crowell, son of Thomas, Capts. Sturgis and Elkanah Crowell, was born 
born May 30, 1698, married July 2, 1724, in West Yarmouth July 4, 1832. He attended 
Mary Gorham, and died Aug. 18, 1771. Their the local school of his district, from the age 
children were: James, born June 11, 1725; of ten until he was seventeen, only attending 
Temperance, who married Joseph Crowell ; Eb- winter school. Like his brothers Sturgis and 
enezer, who died Jan. 7, 1753; Daniel, who mar- Elkanah, he began a seafaring life early, go- 
ried Thankful Crowell ; Desire, who married ing as cook at the age of sixteen in his father's 
Josiah Thatcher; Edmond, who married Me- vessel, the "Wankinco," under Capt. Zadock 
hitabel Baxter; Duty, who married Edmund Crowell. This was in 1848, and later he sailed 
Bray ; Thankful, who married Elnathan Lewis; before the mast in the same vessel. In 1850 
(iorham, born June 4, 1747; and Mercy, who be shipped before the mast on the bark 
married Stephen Crowell. "Eagle," Capt. Joshua Crowell, his brother, 

(IV) Gorham Crowell, son of Ebenezer, was being master. In 1851 he shipped on the 
born in West Yarmouth June 4, 1747. He brig "China," Capt. Abel Oliver, master, and 
married Dec. 29, 1769, Bethiah Bray, who in June of the same year he shipped on the 
died Jan. 27, 1830. He died Aug. 22, 1819. bark "Messenger" under Capt. Freeman Doane. 
Their children were : Zenas, born Aug. 26, They sailed from New London, Conn., to 
1771, married Susanna Bliss Jan. 22, 1795; Honolulu, with a load of barrel staves, re- 
Mary married Thomas Crowell; Betsey mar- turning to New London with a load of whale- 
ried Winthrop Sears; Ebenezer was drowned; bone, value of the cargo being over $1,000,000. 
Bethiah married (first) Jacob Parker and (sec- In 1852 he beeame second mate of the bark 
ond) Hartson Hallett; Gorham married Let- "Palmento," Capt. John Howland, making the 
tice Taylor; David married Desire Hallett; voyage to England and to Antwerp, and re- 
George died young; George (2) married Olive turning to Boston. In October, 1852, he 
Hallett; one daughter died young. shipped as second mate on the ship "Alex- 

(V) Zenas Crowell, son of Gorham, was ander," under Capt. Alexander Baxter, sailing 
born Aug. 26. 1771. He married Jan. 22, from Boston to Melbourne, Australia, with a 
1795, Susanna Bliss. general cargo, and from there to Calcutta, 



1302 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



where they loaded rubber and linseed oil. They 
returned by way of Cape Horn to Boston, 
where they arrived in November, 1853. On 
Feb. 2, 1854, he became second officer, at 
$70 per month, of the ship "Neptune," the 
largest clipper ship in the American waters, 
her capacity being 1,800 tons. She was com- 
manded by Captain Paterson, and sailed from 
New York to San Francisco in ninety-seven 
days. He next shipped at San Francisco as 
second mate on the ship "Charmer," Capt. 
Isaac Lucas, sailing to New York, carrying 
the first load of wheat ever shipped from the 
Golden Gate to New York. In October, 1855, 
he became first officer on the '"Charmer," sail- 
ing to Hong Kong and then to Canton, China, 
where they loaded tea and mattings, arriving 
in New York in January, 1857. The follow- 
ing June he shipped on the ship '"Contest," 
Capt. Winthrop Sears, sailing from New York 
to San Franci-sco and from there to Callao, 
wliere they loaded for Manila, in September, 
1858, rounding "the Capo of Good Hope, and 
going on to St. Helena, arriving in Boston in 
August, 1859. His next voyage was as mate 
of the ship ".John Tucker,"" in 1859, to San 
Francisco, where they landed in April, I860, 
sailed from there to Callao and the Chincha 
islands, loaded guano and returned to Balti- 
more. He .shipped as mate in 1861 on the 
bark "Eagle," Capt. Charles F. Baker, and 
sailed in May, 1861, from New York to Cu- 
racao. After his return he became a mate 
on the school ship "ilassachusetts," sailing 
along the Atlantic coast. He then became first 
mate on the "Fairwind,"' his brother Capt. 
Elkanah being master, and he continued on 
that ship imtil 1865, when he became mate 
on the ship "Hornet," Captain Harding, which 
was his last trip to sea. He gave up the sea- 
faring life in 1865, and settled down in South 
Y^armouth, engaging in the general store busi- 
ness. He formed a partnership with Ezekiel 
H. Matthews and they conducted the business 
successfully for some time. Then he removed 
to West Yarmouth, where he conducted a gen- 
eral store until 1892, at which time he sold 
out and retired, however continuing to reside 
in West Yarmouth, where his deatli occurred 
May 30, 1908. 

Mr. Crowell was a man well known and 
respected. Domestic in his tastes and devoted 
to his home and family, he was deeply mourned, 
and his death was a great loss to all who knew 
liim. He was a Bepublican in politics and 
served on the school committee for several 
years. He was also postmaster of West Yar- 
mouth for some time, and served as road com- 



missioner. He was buried in Woodside cem- 
etery, in West Yarmouth. 

Mr. Crowell married Feb. 24, 1857, Mercy 
Baker Crowell, daughter of Capt. Zadock and 
Mercy D. (Baker) Crowell. She died June 
25, 1908, after a happy married life of fifty- 
one years. She was also buried in the Wood- 
side cemetery. Both were members of the 
Congregational Church, and Mr. Crowell was 
superintendent of the Sunday school, also 
treasurer and trustee of the society. Their 
children were: Lewis Francis died in infancy; 
Francis Bacon died young :" Jo.sliua F. resides 
in West Yarmouth; Amelia Hall died in in- 
fancy; Thomas S. resides in Yarmouth Port; 
one child died in infancy: Isaiah W. resides 
in Winthrop, Massachusetts. 

FRANKLIN GIFFORD ARNOLD, of 
Swansea, Mass., is a descendant of two of the 
oldest families of Rhode Island, tracing his 
lineage from Gov. Benedict Arnold and Sur- 
geon John Greene. His Arnold line is as fol- 
lows : 

(I) Gov. Benedict Arnold, of Rhode Island. 

(II) Caleb Arnold, born Dec. 19, 1644, died 
Feb. 9, 1719. On June 10, 1666, he married 
Abigail Wilbur. 

(III) Samuel Arnold was born in 1679. 

(IV) Joseph Arnold, son of Samuel, died 
in 1776. He married Abigail Gifford Nov. 23, 
1732, and (secoml) Hannah Gilford in August, 
1737. 

("\') Edm^md Arnold married Abby Himes, 
and their children were: Edmund, Mai"}-, 
Jolui, Charles, Joseph, Nabby, JIannah, Samuel, 
Sheffield and Dorcas. 

(YI) John Arnold, born in North Kingston, 
R. I., in 1778. married in 1800 Sarah Sher- 
man, who was born in 1771, and died in 1841. 
Their children were all born in Exeter, R. I., 
as follows: Ahbv, March 1, 1801; Lucv, May 
27, 1802: George, Nov. 26, 1803: Edmunfl. 
Feb. 13, 1805; Marv. July 23, 1806; .Tohn. 
Jan. 9, 1809 ; Martha," April" 10, 1811 : Stephen, 
Feb. 18, 1813; Sarah A.^ March" 31, 1815. 
John Arnold spent the early part of his life 
in Exeter, lint passed his last years with his 
son Edmund, at Portsmouth, R. I., and later 
in Swansea, where he died in June, 1865. His 
wife preceded him to the grave by many years. 

(VTI) Deacon Edmund Arnold was born in 
Exeter, R. I., Feb. 13, 1805, and spent his 
boyhood and early school days there. From 
1832 to 18()5 he resided on the big Hoppin 
farm in Portsmouth, R. I., in 1865 removing 
to Swansea and buying a farm on Gardners 
Neck, a half mile soutli of the village of Swan- 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



130;5 



sea. A few years before his deatli he removed 
to that village. He was active iu the atfairs 
of the Christian Church, in both Portsmouth 
and Swansea, and for many years was deacon 
of the church in Swansea; he always took great 
interest in the town affairs. On Jan. 1, 18.'ia, 
he married, iu Coventry, R. 1.. Sally Jenckes 
Greene, born June 18, 1812, who died Aug. 17, 
1864. His death occurred Mav 27, 1893. The 
record of their children is as follows: James 
E., born July 29, 1833, died Sept. 13, 1874, 
married Mary M. Dawley ; Samuel Greene, 
born Feb. 9, 183.J, is mentioned below; Wil- 
liam H., born April 22, 1837, now residing 
in Xewport, E. I., married Ainarintha Tall- 
man and (second) Ruth Hazard; John H., 
born April 4, 1839, married Lois Anthony, re- 
sides in Cambridge, Mass., and is librarian 
at Harvard Law School ; Sarah G., born April 
26, 1841, died May 29, 1899, married Charles 
Field; Abby M. was born March 26, 1844; 
Willard X., born Jan. 14, 1846, married 
Amanda Eggleston and resides in Fall River; 
George A., born Feb. 26, 1850, died Dec. 29, 
1894, married Emma Veazie ; Mary S., born 
June 9, 1856, died Feb. 23, 1868. 

(VIII) Samuel Greene Arnold, son of Dea- 
con Edmund Arnold, was born in Portsmouth, 
E. I., Feb. 9, 1835. In 1856 he married Han- 
nah H. GifFord, daiighter of George Gifford. 
For a number of years Mr. Arnold engaged 
in farming in Portsmouth, removing thence 
to the Hillside Stock Farm, in Swansea, owned 
by the late Frank S. Stevens. He remained 
there, managing the farm, for seven years, go- 
ing thence to the Thomas Wood place, at that 
time owned by Leander Gardner. After six 
jears he removed to the place ju.st south of 
the village, on the Fall River road, where he 
resided the rest of his life, m-ing Jan. 5, 1902. 

In March, 1891, Mr. Arnold was elected 
selectman and continued to serve in that office 
until March, 1901. He was chairman of the 
board from 1896 to 1901. In the spring of 
1901 he was chosen sealer of weights and mea- 
sures. Mr. Arnold was a charter member of 
Oakland Lodge, Xo. 32, I. 0. 0. F., South 
Portsmouth, E. I., and helped to build the 
hall for the society. He was also a charter 
member of Dorothy Brown Rebekah Lodge 
of Swansea. The children of Samuel Greene 
and Hannah H. (Gifford) Arnold were: 
Franklin Gifford, Arthitr E., Lois E. (mar- 
ried John Wood), Abby A. (deceased, married 
Preston H. Gardner) and Charles (who died 
in infancy). 

(IX) Franklin Gifford Arnold, born Sept. 
11, 1858, in Portsmouth, R. I., married Dec. 



14, 1881, Angeline Haile Wood, daughter of 
Nathan M. and Abby M. (Kingsley) Wood. 
The following children were born to them: 
Ednuind Kingsley, June 27, 1884 (graduated 
from Brown University, 1904, taught in 
Bridgeport, Coiiii., and was teacher of Latin 
and instructor in athletics in college in Hon- 
olulu; he is now in the hardware business in 
Providence, R. I.) ; Mary Wood, Oct. 30, 1886 
(graduated at Pembroke in 1908 and is en- 
gaged as teacher in the Derbv Academy, Hing- 
ham, Mass.) ; Preston Franklin, Oct. 24, 1893; 
Isabel Greene, July 24, 1895. 

(1X1 Arthur Edmund Arnold married 
Eloise Kingsley Wood, daughter of Nathan M. 
and Abby M. (Kingsley) Wood. Their chil- 
dren are: Howard Samuel, born July 13, 
1889; Abbv Almy, Dec. 10, 1891; Nathan 
Wood, Feb." 14, 1893; George Albert, Oct. 3, 
1894. 



Green'E. Mr. Arnold's Greene lineage is as 
follows: (I) John Greene, an English sur- 
geon, son of Richard and Mary (Hooker) 
(ireene, grandson of Richard Greene and great- 
grandson of Robert Greene, was born on his 
fathers estate at Bowridge Hill, in the parish 
of Gillingham, County of Dorset, England, 
about 1590. His forefathers had been residents 
of Bowridge Hill for nearly a hundred years 
before him, and Robert Greene it seems probable 
was descended from a younger branch of the 
powerful and wealthy family of Greenes of 
Northamptonshire. This Surgeon John Greene 
had early removed to Sarum (Salisbury), the 
county town of Wiltshire, where, at St. 
Thomas's Church, Nov. 4, 1619, he was mar- 
ried to Joanne Tattershall, wdio was the mother 
of all his children, seven in number, and all 
of whom were baptized at St. Thomas's Church. 
Mr. Greene here lived and followed his profes- 
sion for sixteen years, when, in 1635, with 
his wife and six children, he sailed in the 
ship "James" for New England, arriving in 
Boston June 3d of that year. He first settled 
in Salem, where he was associated with Roger 
Williams, purchasing or building a house there, 
but soon after Mr. Williams's flight from Salem 
(1636) he sold it, and joining Williams at 
Providence secured his home lot No. 15, on 
the main street. Surgeon Greene was one of 
the eleven men baptized by Roger Williams 
and one of tlie twelve original members of the 
First Baptist Church on the continent, or- 
ganized at Providence, R. I. He was the first 
])rofessional medical man in Providence Plan- 
tations. Mrs. Joanne Greene died soon after 



1304 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



the family's removal to Rhode Island and 
Surgeon Greene married (second) Alice Dan- 
iels, a widow, and in 1643-4:3 they removed to 
Warwick, E. I. After the death of his wife 
Alice, he married (third) in London, Eng- 
land, about 1644, Phillipa, wiio returned with 
him to Warwick, E. I., in 1646. The third 
Mrs. Greene died March 11, 1687, in Warwick. 

Surgeon Greene made the first purchase 
by the English of land in Warwick, E. I., to 
whom was deeded the tract of land (700) acres, 
Oct. 11, 1642, called Occupasuetuxet by the 
chief sachem of the Narragansetts and the 
local sachem of Pawtuxet, and upon it was 
an actual resident in September, 1644. His 
family held it for 130 and more years, when 
it was sold, Oct. 6, 1762, by his great-great- 
grandchildren. Surgeon Greene was a promi- 
nent man in the public affairs of the town and 
Colony and enjoyed the confidence and respect 
of his associates through a long and active po- 
litical life, holding office almost continuously 
until the summer before his death, when ho 
declined to accept the office of commissioner. 
He died and was buried at Conimicut, Warwick, 
the first week in January, 1659. His children 
were: John, Peter, Eichard, James, Thomas, 
Jane and Mary. 

(II) James Greene, "of Potowomut," was 
baptized June 21, 1626, and came to New P^ng- 
land with his parents. He married (first) 
about 1658 Deliverance, born in 1637, daughter 
of Eobert Potter and wife Isabel. (Eobert 
Potter was the ancestor of Bishop Potter, of 
New York and Pennsylvania.) She died in 
1664, and he married (second) Aug. 3, 1665, 
Elizabeth, daughter of John and Susannah 
Anthony, of Portsmouth, E. I. She died in 
1698. James Greene was made a freeman 
of Warwick and Providence Plantations in 
1647, and resided at Old Warwick. He was 
a member of the General Assembly of the 
Colony, being commissioner under the first 
charter and deputy and a.ssistant under the 
second (1663) for ten years, between 1660 and 
1675. He was considered a man of much prac- 
tical sagacity. On the outbreak of the Indian 
war, 1675-76, the inhabitants of Warwick loft 
the town and Mr. Greene fled to Portsmouth, 
and in 1684, having made purchases of War- 
wick land, he removed to Potowomut, where 
was an ancient mill, and built his home on 
the hill near the west bank of the river, over- 
looking the beautiful lake which furnished the 
water power for the forge which his grandsons 
(sons of Jabez) established for making anchors 
and other forms of iron work. This became 
a notable industry in Colonial times and in the 



early days of the Eepublic. The interests of 
the forge "were enhanced by the revival after 
peace existed between England and her eman- 
cipated colonies, and this became the pioneer 
of the more extensive works on the Pawtuxet 
river, near the western border of the Warwick, 
known as 'the Forge'." The place at Potow- 
omut, where James Greene resided until his 
death, was the birthplace of Ms great-grand- 
son, tiie highly distinguished Nathaniel Greene, 
of the Eevolutiouary army, and the residence 
of his descendants for more than two hundred 
years. He died "at his mansion in Potow- 
omut," April 27, 16',)8, in the seventy -second 
year of his age. The children of the first 
marriage of James Greene were: James, Mary, 
Elisha and Sarah; and of the second marriage: 
Peter, Elizabeth, John, Jabez, David, John and 
Susanna. 

(III) James Greene (2), son of James, was 
born June 1, 1649. and married Jan. 29, 
1688-89, Mary, daughter of Capt. John and 
Margaret Fones, of Newport, Jamestown and 
Kingstown, ho a prominent planter of Kings- 
town. Mr. Greene resided at Nassauket, in 
the town of Warwick, E. I., where he built a 
home in the year 1687 that was still stand- 
ing in 1887. He was admitted a freeman 
of the Colony June 26, 1683. He was deputy 
from Warwick in 1696. He died March 12, 
1712, and was buried in his father's burial 
ground at Old Warwick. His widow died 
March 30, 1731. Their children were: Fones, 
James, Mary, Daniel, Elisha, Deliverance, 
Mary (3), John, Jeremiah and Samuel. 

(IV) Fones Greene, born March 23, 1689- 
90, married (first) March 15, 1710-11, Dinah, 
daughter of Sampson and Dinah Batty (or 
Beatty), of Jame^own, R. I. She was drowned 
]\Iarch 31, 1710-11, only six days after her 
marriage, by the u])setting of a boat in going 
from Newport to Jamestown. He married 
(second) Feb. 39, 1713, Eebecca, daughter of 
Henry and Eebecca Tibbitts, of North Kings- 
town, E. I., who died Feb. 18, 1765, in the 
seventy-first year of her age. He was deputy 
from Warwick in May, 1734. He resided in 
tlio house which ho inherited, which was built 
by his father in 1687. He died July 29, 1758. 
His children were: James, born Dec. 3, 1713; 
Dinah, born Dec. 24, 1715; Job, born Aug. 
8, 1717; Thomas, born Nov. 32, 1719; Mary, 
born March 18, 1723; and Fones, born July 29, 
1727. 

(V) Job Greene, born Aug. 8, 1717, mar- 
ried May 30, 1745. Mercy, born Oct. 31, 1725, 
daughter of William and Sarah (Medbury) 
Greene, of Old Warwick. Mr. Greene was a 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



1305 



farmer and owned and resided at the Fones 
Greene farm in Coventry. The house which 
he built was occupied by his descendants for 
about one hundred and iifty years. Mr. Greene 
was prominent in military affairs during the 
Revolution. He died March 21t, 17'J8, in his 
eighty-first year. His widow died April 8, 
ISUO, in her sevenly-fiftli year; both were 
buried on the old farm nearly opposite the 
old house. Their children were: Job, born 
Aug. 7, 1746; Mary, born in 1747, who died 
when young; William, born Jan. 15, 1748; 
Mary, born Feb. 15, 1752; Fones, born Sept. 
6, 1754; Stephen, born Jan. 9, 1757; Rebecca, 
born in 1759; Mercy, born in 1762; Daniel, 
born in 1764, who died when young; John, 
born March 15, 1767; Samuel, born April 13, 
1769; and Nancy, mentioned in her father's 
will. 

(VI) Samuel Greene, born April 13, 1769, 
died March 16, 1865. On July 14, 1793, he 
married Barbara Sheldon, daughter of Capt. 
James Sheldon. She was born Aug. 24, 1770, 
and died March 12, 1843. Children: Nabby 
Ann, born May 5, 1794; James S., Feb. 25, 
1800; John W., May 10, 1802; Samuel W., 
May 18. 1804; Xabby Ann (2), July 2, 1806; 
Sally Jenckes, June" 18, 1812. Mr. Greene's 
second marriage was to Mary Lippitt. He 
lived in Coventry, R. I., and engaged in farm- 
ing all his life. He was very active in the 
affairs of that town, holding many of the town 
offices. 

(VII) Sallv Jenckes Greene, born in Coven- 
trv, R. I., J^me 18, 1812, married Jan. 1, 1832, 
Deacon Edmund Arnold, and they became the 
parents of 

(VIII) Samuel Greene Arnold, father of 

(IX) Franklin Gift'ord Arnold. 

CORNELIUS FRANCIS BRADFORD, 

late of Plymouth, for years a member of the 
firm of Bradford & Morton and later of Brad- 
ford, Kyle & Co., was long prominent in the 
industrial life of his town and a substantial 
man of his community. His keen foresight 
and ability were the principal factors in the 
building up of the business with which he was 
identified and which was so successful. Mr. 
Bradford was born in Plymouth March 4, 
1845. This Plymouth Bradford family de- 
scends from a Maine branch of the ancient 
Gov. William Bradford family of PhTnouth. 
From Gov. William Bradford, of the "May- 
flower," 1620, the descent of Cornelius Francis 
Bradford of Plymouth is through Maj. Wil- 
liam, Israel, Joshua, CorneJius, Cornelius (2) 
and Capt. Joseph M. Bradford. These genera- 



tions in the order named and in detail follow. 

(I) Gov. William Bradford of the Ply- 
mouth Colony was born in 1588, son of Wil- 
liam and Alice (Hanson) Bradford, of Auster- 
field, England, and grandson of William 
Bradford. His father dying in 1591, he was 
then cared for by his grandfather Bradford 
until his death in 1596, and later Dy his ulicle 
Robert Bradford, the latter of whom was a 
resident of the village of Scrooby, England. 
He united with the church where Revs. Clif- 
ton and Robinson preached and was soon one 
of the "Separatists," and became a leader 
among them. In time he went with the com- 
munity which migrated to Holland and was 
one of the most influential among them. He 
married in Amsterdam, Holland, Dec. 9, 1613, 
Dorothy May, he being at the time twenty- 
three and she sixteen. In 1620 they went to 
England and in September of that same year 
sailed from Plymouth, with the first company 
of Pilgrims in the "Mayflower," and reached 
Cape Cod harbor in New England in Novem- 
ber following. While they were at anchor, 
and when Mr. Bradford was absent, his wife 
Dorothy fell overboard and was drowned. He 
subsequently married (second) Mrs. Alice 
Southworth, widow of Edward, and daughter 
of Alexander Carj^enter, of Wrentham, Eng- 
land. 

From the very beginning of affairs at Ply- 
mouth Mr. Bradford's part in the fortunes of 
the community was important and powerful. 
Soon after the first governor — William Carver 
— died, Bradford was elected to the office, 
which he held -by annual election until his 
death, excepting the vears 1633, 1634, 1636, 
1638 and 1644. He died May 9, 1657. His 
widow Alice died March 26, 1670. His chil- 
dren, the eldest only born to his first wife, 
were: John; William, born June 17, 1624; 
Mercy; and Joseph, born in 1630. 

(li) Maj. William Bradford (2), son of 
Gov. William, born June 17, 1624, married 
(first) Alice, daughter of Thomas Richard, of 
Weymouth, who died in 1671, aged forty-four 
years, and he married (second) Widow Wis- 
well, and (third) Mrs. Mary, daughter of 
John Atwood, of Plymouth, and the widow of 
Rev. John Holmes, of Duxbury. She died in 
1714-15. Mr. Bradford removed to Kingston, 
Mass. ; was assistant, deputy governor, and 
chief military officer of Plymouth Colony. He 
died Feb. 20, 1693. His children were: John 
(born Feb. 20, 1653), William (born March 
11, 1655), Thomas, Samuel, Alice, Hannah, 
Mercy, Meletiah, Mary, Sarah, Joseph, Israel, 
David, Ephraim and Hezekiah. 



1300 



SOUTHEASTEEX MASSACHUSETTS 



(III) Israel Bradford, son of Maj. William, 
married Sarah Bartlett, of Duxbury, daughter 
of Benjamin and Sarah (Brewster) Bartlett, 
granddaughter of Kobert and Mary (Warren) 
Bartlett, and great-granddaughter of Kiehard 
Warren and of Elder William Brewster, of the 
"Mayflower." Israel and Sarah Bradford 
lived in Kingston, and their children were : 
Euth, born Dec. 11, 1703, who died in that 
year; Bathsheba, born Nov. 8, 1704; Ben- 
jamin, born Oct. 17, 170.5: Abner, born Dec. 
25, 1707; Joshua, born June 23, 1710; Icha- 
bod, born Sept. 22, 1713; and Elisha, born 
March 26, 1718. 

(IV) Joshua Bradford, son of Israel, born 
June 23, 1710, married Hannah, daughter of 
Elisha Bradford and his wife Hannah (Cole), 
and who was half-sister to the mother of tlie 
famous "Deb (Bradford) Sampson," who 
under the feigned name, Robert Shurtleff, 
served three years as a private soldier in the 
army of the Revolution, and was badly wound- 
ed in the skirmish at Tarrytown, carrying in 
her body the bullet through life. Joshua 
Bradford removed from Kingston to what 
later became Friendsliip, Maine, and was there 
killed by the Indians May 27, 1756, and their 
children carried to Canada, where they re- 
mained in captivity until Quebec was taken 
by General Wolfe ; they then returned to their 
Maine home. The children of Joshua and 
Hannah Bradford were : Cornelius, born Dec. 
10, 1737: Sarah, born Oct. 16, 1739: Rachel, 
born Jan. 28, 1741; Mary and Meletiah 
(twins), born March 16, 1744; Joshua, born 
April 2, 1746, who married Martha Jameson 
and died May 9, 1827 : Hannah, born March 
9, 1748; Joseph, born March 19, 1751; Ben- 
jamin, born May 28, 1753: and Elisha, born 
Oct. 15, 1755; and possibly Winslow. 

(V) Cornelius Bradford, son of Joshua, 
born Dec. 10, 1737, married and lived in 
Friendship or Cushing, Maine. His children 
were: Joshua; Josephus, born Feb. 10, 1768, 
who lived in Cushing, Maine; Frederick; 
James, and Cornelius. 

(VI) Cornelius Bradford (2), son of Cor- 
nelius, is reported to have been cast away on 
Grand Manan Island and tliere perished. He 
married Mary Nye. 

(VII) Capt. Joseph Morey Bradford, of 
Falmouth, son of Cornelius (2) and Mary 
(Nye) Bradford, born Sept. 2, 1812,' married 
March 28. 1839, Anna Roberson Raymond, 
born Dec. 12, 1820, daughter of George and 
Priscilla (Shaw) Raymond, he a direct de- 
scendant of one of the three Raymonds — Rich- 
ard, John and Capt. William — who were early 



at Salem and Beverly; and she through her 
mother of Abraham Sampson, supposedly 
brother of Henry Sampson, who came in the 
■•Maytlower,"' 1620; from whom her descent is 
through George and Elizabeth Sampson of 
Plympton, William and Joanna (Vaughan) 
Sampson, of Plympton and Middleboro, Zil- 
pha (Sampson) and Joseph Bryanr, of Plymp- 
ton, and Ruth (Bryant) and William Shaw, 
of Middleboro. Capt. Joseph M. Bradford 
died Oct. 15, 1851, at Zanesville, III., where 
his wife died Feb. 6, 1852. They had children 
as follows: Adreanna, born Dec. 23, 1839, 
died March 17, 1850; Joseph Edgar, born Jan. 

7, 1841, died Oct. 14, 1851; Cornelius Fran- 
cis, born March 4, 1845, is mentioned below; 
Seth Russell, born Aug. 18, 1846, died Feb. 

8, 1847: Anna Roberson, born April 23, 1848, 
died Aug. 24, 1849 ; George Russell, born Feb. 
15, 1850, died Feb. 21, 1857. 

(VIII) Cornelius Francis Bradford, son of 
Capt. Joseph M. and Anna R. (Raymond) 
Bradford, was born March 4, 1845, in Ply- 
)nouth, Mass., and at the age of two years, on 
the removal of his parents to the West, was 
taken with them. There at Zanesville, 111., he re- 
mained until six years of age, when he re- 
turned to Plymouth to make his home with his 
grandparents, George and Priscilla Raymond; 
and here in the public schools of Plymouth he 
acquired his education. His school days at an 
end, he for a time worked at shoemaking, then 
for a short time he was employed in a tack 
factory. The following decade he was in the 
employ of his uncle Charles Raymond, a 
dealer in furniture. His experience in that 
line of work led him to engage in business for 
himself and in that same line of work he was 
engaged on liis own account in the operation of 
a pattern and repair shop located on Middle 
street in Plymouth. Following this, which 
had covered a period of twelve years, he again 
worked for others, this time entering the Ply- 
mouth Mills. But his time apparently was 
soon at hand — that time when he was to find 
that vocation for which he seemed fitted or at 
least which was to prove remunerative to him 
— to bring a reward for honest efforts put 
forth — for in 1890, as a partner with John 
Scott, he engaged in the manufacture of in- 
sulated electric wire, which was the beginning 
of an enterprise that has since become exten- 
sive and lucrative — the manufacture of insu- 
lated electric wire. It was but a few months 
after this enterprise was put on foot until the 
interests of Mr. Scott were transferred to Ed- 
win L. Edes and they continued under the 
firm name of Bradford & Edes. Later on an- 



£ 




U^, A^a^/^^'^ 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1307 



other change came, Mr. Edes retiring and 
Nathaniel Morton taking his place, the firm 
name then becoming Bradford & Morton. 
Subsequently William S. Kyle became an in- 
terested party and on his taking hold the style 
of lirm was again changed to suit conditions, 
and that of Bradford, Kyle & Co. adopted. The 
enterprise is one of the notable industries of 
Plymouth and of great beueiit to the com- 
munity. Mr. Bradford's connection with it 
continued until his deatli, which occurred 
March 3, 1908. 

It is but just to the senior member of the 
firm of Bradford, Kyle & Co. to credit him 
with much of the progress made and success 
:ittained by this now extensive plant, as he was 
one of the founders of the business and 
steadily gave to its fostering and building up 
his best efforts, and, what is still more, his 
inventive genius, for he was the inventor of all 
the machinery used in the plant to cover the 
wire for electrical purposes, and which is pat- 
ented. His sound judgment, his business abil- 
ity and good manageiuent were evidenced in 
the success of the enterprise in question. 

Mr. Bradford was a charter member of the 
Plymouth Yacht Club, and in this line was a 
recognized authority, he himself having built 
some eight or more yachts. His political affili- 
ations were with the Republican party. He 
belonged to the Baptist Church, to whicli he 
gave a liberal support. Mr. Bradford was a 
member of the various Masonic bodies, holding 
membership in the lodge and chapter at Ply- 
mouth, and in the commandery at Abington, 
Mass. For a number of years he was also a 
member of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. He is buried in Oak Grove cemetery, at 
Plvmouth. 

On Oct. 4, 1866, Mr. Bradford was married 
to Mary E. Fuller, daughter of George and 
Mary (Thomas) Fuller, of Plymouth, and to 
them were born five children, four of whom, 
however, died young. The survivor. Anna 
Roberson Bradford, married Adoniram J. 
Smith, of Plymouth, who is proprietor of the 
Plymouth Garage, and they have had four 
cliildren, Leslie Bradford, Ellen Porter, Ber- 
tram Fuller (who died in infancy) and Ber- 
tram Fuller (2). 



Fuller. (I) Samuel Fuller came in the 
^'Mayflower" in 1620. He was married three 
times, to Elsie Gleslock (whom he married in 
England), Agnes Carpenter and Bridget Lee, 
respectively. 

(II) Samuel Fuller (2), son of Samuel, 



married Elizabeth and resided in Middleboro, 
i^Iass. They had children: Mercy, who mar- 
ried Daniel Cole; Samuel; Experience, who 
iiuirried dames Wood; John; Elizabeth, who 
married Samuel Eaton; Hannah, who married 
Isaac Lewis; and Isaac. 

(III) Samuel Fuller (3), son of Samuel 
(2), borni in 1659, in Middleboro, lived in 
I'lym))ton. He married Mercy Eaton, and 
their children were ijorn as follows: Nathaniel, 
in 1687; Samuel, 168'J ; William, 1691; Seth, 
1692; Ebenezer, 1695; Benjamin, 1696; Eliza- 
beth, 16_97j John, 1698; Ja'bez, 1700. 

(IV) Jabez Fuller, son of Samuel (3), bom 
in 1700, in Middleboro, married in 1724 Deb- 
orah Soule, of Plympton. 

(V) John Fuller, son of Jabez, married 
Rebecca Robbins, of Carver, and their children 
were James, John and Eleazer. 

(VI) Eleazer Fuller, son of John, resided 
in Kingston. He married Sally Drew, and 
they had children as follows : Alexander, 
(Jeorge, Samuel, Hiram, Eliza, Rebecca (mar- 
ried John Battles), Hannah Drew (married 
Philip Washburn) and Sarah (married Thom- 
as Staples). 

(\'II) George Fuller, son of Eleazer, was 
bom in Kingston and settled in Plymouth. 
He was a blacksmith by occupation, having a 
shop on Sandwich street, Plymouth, and fol- 
lowed that trade all his life. He had Lyman 
F. Tripp as a partner, and they were very suc- 
cessful. Mr. Fuller took a deep interest in 
town affairs and was a well known man of hia 
day in the town. He lived retired for sev- 
eral years before his death, which occurred at 
his home in Plymouth Jan. 12, 1908, aged 
eighty-six years. Fishing was his favorite rec- 
reation, in 1845 he married Mary Thomas, 
daughter of Joab Thomas, of Plymouth. She 
preceded Mr. Fuller to the grave many years, 
dying Nov. 23, 1881, and both were buried in 
Oak Grove cemetery. They had two children, 
Mary "E. and Alice Drew; the latter, born in 
1854, resides in Plymouth, unmarried. 

(VIII) Mary E. Fuller, born in Plymouth, 
daughter of George and Mary (Tliomas), mar- 
ried Cornelius Francis Bradford. 

FRANK FONTNEAU, one of the founders 
and the first president of the Fontneau & Cook 
Company, of Attleboro, and for forty years 
engaged in business as a manufacturer of jew- 
elry, was born in Gregory, Canada, April 3, 
1851, son of Godfrey Fontneau, who in 1861 
came with his family to the town of Attleboro. 

From the age of ten years Frank Fontneau 
lived in Attleboro, was educated there, and 



1308 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



learned his trade witli the okl reli.able finii of 
Bliss & Dean, in 1869, at the age of eighteen 
years, becoming assistant foreman of their fac- 
tory. He remained with them in that capacity 
for thirteen years, earning a high reputation 
as a fine chainmaker, expert designer and in- 
ventor. In 1895 he engaged in business for 
himself, the development of which ventvire 
culminated in 1899 in the fonnatioii of the 
Fontneau & Cook Company, which is counted 
among the progressive and growing concerns 
that are contributing much to the prestige and 
renown of Attleboro in the jewelry manufac- 
turing industry. Mr. Fontneau was the in- 
ventor and designer for the company, and 
among his inventions may be mentioned brace- 
lets, a tea strainer, a cigar cutter, chains, a 
suspender attachment, and a comb attachment. 

Mr. Fontneau passed away Sept. 10, 1910. 
He was a prominent worker in St. John's par- 
ish and had been connected with it ever since it 
started. He was a member of the Knights of 
Columbus, the Elks, Ancient Order of United 
Workmen. Red Men, Holy Name Society, Xew 
England Manufacturing Jewelers" and Silver- 
smiths" Association, and of the \A'arwick Club. 

On July 3, 1881, Mr. Fontneau married 
(first) Frances Isabel Clinton, of Providence, 
daughter of Thomas and Isabel (Young) 
Clinton. Mrs. Fontneau died Jan. 4. 1894, 
aged thirty-five years. Their children were : 
(1) Francis G., born May 7, 1882, is now 
president of the Fontneau & Cook Company. 
He married Cora LaFleur, and they have two 
daughters, Corrinne H. and Isabel 51. (2) 
Isabel M., born March 8, 1884, married James 
H. O'Neil, and resides in Providence. R. I. 
Thev have four children, Isabel F.. Eileen F., 
Frank F. and Edward F. (3) Ida, born Pec. 
2.5, 188f), married Michael E. Barrett, and lias 
two children, Ida F. and Edwin F. (4) Xel- 
son C. was born May 11. 1891. (o) Eileen 
M. was born Jan. 25, 1893. On Jan. 15, 1897, 
Mr. Fontneau married for his second wife 
Fallen McCormick, of .Attleboro, adojited daugh- 
ter of James McCormick. 

JAMES ALBERT ROARTY, president and 
treasurer of the J. A. Roarty Company, manu- 
facturers of shoe trimmings, and dealers in 
sole leather and uppers, former councilman 
and alderman, and one of the best known citi- 
zens of Brockton, was born in the town of 
Rockland, only son of the late James and Han- 
nah D. (Merry) Roarty. 

The Roarty family originated in Scotland, 
but for generations lived in the Xorth of Ire- 
land. James Roarty, the father, was born in 



Dunglow, County Donegal, Ireland, Xov. 22, 
1822, one of the six children of John and 
Sarah (Glackin) Roarty. When only twelve 
years of age he began to learn the tailor's trade, 
working in Ireland and Scotland, until at the 
age of nineteen, when, having heard of the 
wider opportunities offered in the New World, 
he took passage on a small schooner for St. 
John, Xew Brunswick. On landing he found 
no employment there, and started out to hunt 
a place where his services were needed. He 
walked forty-five miles to Eastport, Maine, and 
there embarked on a lumber schooner for Phil- 
adelphia, paying for his passage by making 
clothes for the captain. He arrived in Phil- 
adelphia in 1842, and soon found work at his 
trade. After some little time he tried to enlist 
in either the army or the navy, but all his ap- 
plications were unsuccessful. He shipped for 
Boston, and arrived there early in the fall, 
securing good employment at his trade. He 
next located in North Bridgewater (now 
Brockton), where he worked at tailoring, and 
where he also attended night school, gaining a 
good education through close application. In 
March, 184(1, he went to East Abington, now 
the town of Rockland, where he was employed 
until that summer proved to be a dull season, 
and he returned to Ireland intending to remain 
there. After six months in his old home the 
recollection of tlie stir and bustle of the New 
World lured him. and he again embarked for 
.\merica, this time sailing for New York, from 
which city he proceeded to Boston. Later 
he came to Rockland, and worked for Samuel 
Ellis for a short time, and then rented a va- 
cant store at Torrey's Corner, and started in 
business for himself, carrying on his tailor 
shop for about nine years. His thorough work, 
his industry and his integrity won him pros- 
))erity, and in 1859 he paid a three-months 
visit to Ireland, Scotland and England. After 
his return to America he devoted himself to 
the real estate business, buying land and build- 
ing and renting houses, and he developed a 
most profitable business, becoming one of the 
largest real estate holders in the town. After 
bis marriage he purchased the old Isaiah Jen- 
kins place on South Liberty street, where he 
lived for twenty-five years. He then spent a 
year in Maine, and on his return to Rockland 
erected his comfortable home on Howard street, 
where he was living at the time of his death, 
which occurred Jan. fi, 1910. His remains 
were interred in Mount Pleasant cemetery, 
Rockland.. On Nov. 24, 1847, Mr. Roarty 
married Hannah D. Merry, of Anson, Maine, 
and they had three children, two daughters 



SOrTHKASTKKX ISIASSACHUSETTS 



1309 



who both died young, and danies Albert. In 
politics Mr. Koarty was a Democrat, and al- 
ways interested in town affairs. Mrs. Koarty 
died Oct. 31, 1905, and is buried in Mount 
Pleasant cemetery at Rockland. 

James Albert Eoarty was educated in the 
public schools of Eockland, and in his boyhood 
became interested in the shoe business. He 
learned the trade of cutter, and worked at that 
occupation for several years, in time rising to 
the position of foreman of the cutting room in 
the shoe factory of Canterbury c<: Haskell, of 
East Weymouth. In 1884, with the small cap- 
ital of one hundred dollars, he began business 
for himself in the scrap leatiier line, making 
siioe trimmings, and later he added uppers and 
sole leather to his stock. By close attention to 
business, and by his thorough knowledge of the 
needs of the shoemaker, he was able to build 
up a very extensive business. In 1903 the 
business was incorporated under the laws of 
the State of Maine as the J. A. Eoarty Com- 
pany, Mr. Eoarty becoming president and 
treasurer of the corporation, his son Percy D. 
Eoarty and Henry J. Glenn being admitted to 
the business. In 1908 they moved to the 
Ajiglim building at No. 93 Centre street, occu- 
pying two floors, where now to meet the re- 
quirements of their fast increasing trade eighty 
hands are kept constantly employed. Besides 
supplying the local trade, their goods are 
shipped in large quantities to England and 
other countries of tlie Old World. Mr. Eoarty 
is a tliorough business man, and by keen fore- 
sight and executive ability has kept abreast 
of the times, and even, it would really seem, a 
little in advance. In addition to his indus- 
trial interests Mr. Eoarty has acquired valua- 
ble real estate holdings, owning his beautiful 
home on Xewbury street, Brockton, and other 
desirable property. He has taken a twenty 
years' lease of the First Parish building owned 
by the First Congregational Church of Brock- 
ton, this building being situated on Main 
street, and in 1911 took a lease of the ''Hotel 
Belmont" in Brockton. Outside of Brockton 
he owms excellent properties in the towns of 
Weymouth and Eockland. His enterprise and 
progressive ideas have made him successful in 
all his undertakings and have led him into 
profitable fields of investment. 

In political matters Mr. Eoarty is a Eepidi- 
lican and has always taken considerable inter- 
est in the support of the party and its princi- 
ples. In 1900 he was elected, from Ward Two, 
a member of the common council of Brockton, 
and served two years in that body. In 1902 
he was elected a mendier of the hoard of alder- 



lucn, on which he served two terms. He has 
often been solicited by his party to become a 
candidate for nuiyor, but has declined the 
honor. Anything he can do to really advance 
the interests of his adopted city, however, he 
is willing to undertake, and he is a member of 
the Board of Trade and of the Commercial 
Club. Fraternally he is well known in both 
the Masonic and Odd Fellows fraternities, be- 
longing to Orphans Hope Lodge, A. F. & A. 
M., of East Weymouth ; to Pentalpha Chapter, 
E. A. M., of the same place ; to Brockton Coun- 
cil, E. & S. M. ; Bay State Commandery, K. 
T., of Brockton, and Aleppo Temple, A. A. 
O. X. M. S., the latter of Boston. As an 
Odd Fellow he holds membership in Massa- 
soit Lodge, at Brockton, of which he is a past 
noble grand, and he also belongs to the En- 
camjiment and to the Grand Lodge of the 
State. For several years he was an active 
member of the National Lancers, and he is a 
member of the Ancient and Honorable Artil- 
lery Company of Boston. When the latter 
organization visited England in 1896 he was 
honored by receiving the autograph of the late 
King Edward "\'II., then Prince of Wales. 

On Hec. 18. 1884, Mr. Eoarty married at 
East Weymouth, Marcia E. Dyer, a native of 
East \\'eyniouth, daughter of Deacon Charles 
and Annie Brewster (Joslyu) Dyer. Mrs. 
Eoarty is an active member of the Woman's 
Club of Brockton and of the Ladies' Aid to the 
Brockton Commercial Clui). She and her 
husljand attend the First Congregational 
Church of Brockton. They are the parents of 
three children: Percy Daggett, who was edu- 
cated in the public and high schools of Brock- 
ton and is now associated with his father in 
l)usiness, married Bessie Daniels, of Avon, and 
they have one son, Forest Albert; Hazel A. 
graduated from the Brockton higli school and 
latei' from Dean Academy, at Franklin, Mass.; 
Marguerite B. is attending school in Brock- 
ton. 

HATHAWAY. This name in early times 
was written as it was usually pronounced, 
Hodaway. According to Swift's Barnstable 
four of the name came over: Arthur, who set- 
tled in Marshfield. and afterward removed to 
Dartmouth: John and Joseph, of Taunton; 
and John, of Barnstable. J. D. Baldwin, in 
the N. E. H. and G. Eegister, Vol. XXXII, 
page 92, has (I) Arthur Hathawav coming to 
America in 1630 from one of the Welsh coun- 
ties of Great Britain and settling in Plymouth 
and appearing to have remained there: gives 
him a son. Arthur. Jr., whom he has nuirrying 



1310 



SOUTIIEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



in Duxbury in November. 1652, Sarah Cook; 
there two of their children were born, and 
thence they removed to Dartmouth soon after 

1655. It is with some of the descendants of 
Arthur Hathaway, the Dartmouth settler, this 
article is to deal. It should be borne in mind 
that Dartmouth originally was about thirteen 
miles square and included the present towns 
of Dartmouth, Westport, New Bedford and 
Fairhaven. It was bought of the Indians in 
165.3. At the division of Dartmouth in 1787 
'New Bedford and Fairhaven formed the town- 
ship or town of New Bedford and Fairhaven 
bearing the name New Bedford. They were 
divided into separate townships or towns in 
1812. New Bedford, the metropolis, as it 
were, of Dartmouth, takes its date from 1761, 
when the first house east of the county road 
was built by John Lowden ; nearly a hundred 
years prior to this, however, the settlement of 
Dartmouth had been made at Russells Mills 
by the Russells, Ricketsons, Slocunis, Smiths 
and others ; and at Acushnet on the east side 
of the river by the Popes, Tabers and Jenneys. 
It may be of interest, too, to note here that all 
of the original purchasers of Dartmouth were 
passengers in the '"Mayflower," but no names 
of those who came in that vessel were among 
the early settlers there. Out of the thirty-six 
original purchasers of the town, its owners in 
1652, perhaps only five or six became settlers. 
The lands were taken up mostly by Friends or 
Quakers, not particularly identified with the 
Puritans. This much for the early home 
country of the Hathaways. 

(II) Arthur Hathaway. Jr., was in Marsh- 
field in 1643, and in what is now Plympton in 

1656. In 1660 he and Sergeant Shaw were 
appointed by the court of Plymouth to put 
those who had lands in Dartmouth in some 
way for the levying and paying of the tax 
levied upon Cushna. In 1664, on the incor- 
poration of the town, he was on the grand in- 
quest, and had previously been appointed to 
such. He was many times selectman, etc., 
from 1664 till 1684, his name disappearing 
from the r^tords in 1688. He married Nov. 
2, 1652,, 'Sarah, daughter of John Cook, he of 
the "Mayflower" (married Sarah, daughter of 
Richai4] Warren, of the "Mayflower"). Their 
children were: John, born Sept. 17, 1653; 
Sarah, born Feb. 28, 1656; Thomas: Jona- 
than, born in 1671; Mary (married a Ham- 
mond) ; Lydia (died June 23, 1714) : and 
Hannah (nuirried a Cadman). 

'i'be Hatliaway name has been perpetuated 
here throuirli the three sons of the settler, John, 
Thomas and Jonathan. Of these. 



(III) John Hathaway married (first) 
March 15, 1682-83, Joanna Pope, daughter of 
Thomas and Sarah (Jenny) Pope. She died 
Dec. 25, 1695, and he married (second) Sept. 
29, 1696, Patience, maybe Jenny. His cliil- 
dren were: Sarah, born Feb. 24, 1683, who 
married Oct. 11, 1709, John Cannon; Joanna, 
born Feb. 28, 1685, who married Elkana Black- 
well; John, born March 18, 1687, who married 
Nov. 18, 1714, Alice Launders; Arthur, born 
April 2, 1690; Hannah, born Feb. 16, 1692; 
Mary, born June 4, 1G94 (all born to the first 
marriage) ; Jonathan, born June 23, 1697, 
who married Abigail Nye, of Sandwich ; Rich- 
ard, born May 21, 1699, who married Deb- 
orah Doty; Thomas, born Feb. 5, 1700; Hun- 
newell, born April 21, 1703; Mary; Abia 
(son), born Oct. 21, 1705, who married Mary 
Taber; Elizabeth, born May 6, 1708, who died 
unmarried : Patience, born April 21, 1710, 
who married Dec. 10, 1730, Reuben Peckham, 
of Rhode Island; Benjamin, born Jan. 10, 
1713, who married (first) Elizabeth Rich- 
mond and (second) Mary Hix: James, born 
Jan. 24, 1713-14, who married ; Ebenezer, born 
May 12, 1717, who married Sept. 10, 1741, 
Ruth Hatch. 

. (Ill) Thomas Hathaway, the second son of 
the settler, married Hepzibeth Starbuck, of 
Nantucket,, daughter of Nathaniel and Mary, 
the great preacher. Mr. Hathaway died in 
1748. Their children were: Antipas, born Oct. 
5, 1698, married Sept. 13. 1729, Patience 
Church, of Freetown; Apphiah, born May 13, 
1701, married Oct. 18, 1718, Adam Mott, son 
of Jacob Mott, of Portsmouth, R. I. : Eliza- 
beth, born Oct. 18, 1706, married June 27, 
1727, John Clerk, of Rhode Island: Mary, 
born Oct. 3, 1709, married Nov. 7, 1734, 
Thomas Kempton : Thomas, horn Dec. 5, 1711, 
married Jan. 25, 1750, Lois Taber; Nathaniel, 
born June 23, 1715, is not mentioned in the 
will; Hepzibeth, born March 18, 1718, married 
Samuel Wing, of Sandwich ; Jethro, born in 
July, 1720, married Sept. 3, 1741, Hannah 
West; Pernal, born June 3, 1703, died Oct. 6, 
1715. 

Thomas Hathaway was a Quaker. By his 
will, dated April 5, 1742, probated May 3, 
1748, he gives to his tliree sOns, Antipas, 
Thomas and Jethro, and to his daughters, 
Apphiah Mott, Elizabeth Clerk, Mary Kemp- 
ton and Hepzibeth Wing. Nathaniel seems to 
have died. 

Mary Starbuck, mother of Hepzibeth (Star- 
buck) Hathaway, was the daughter of Tris- 
tram Coffin, and was married at seventeen 
years of age. She was accu.«tomed to attend 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



1311 



town meetings and took an active part, "was a 
Deborah among the people, for little of moment 
was done witliout her"'"; "usually began her 
remarks with some allusion to her husband as 
'my husband thinks.' '"' In 1701, during a re- 
ligious visit of the celebrated English preacher, 
John Richardson, she was converted to Quaker- 
ism and became a "mighty instrument" 
through which large numbers were brouglit 
into the faith. 

Tristram Coflfin was the son of Peter and 
Joan, born in Brayton, Devonshire, England ; 
married Dionis Stevens; immigrated in 1642 
and